About State CDBG: Who Can Apply?

Eligible applicants are units of general local government, that is, Municipalities and Parishes excluding the following entities: Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Bossier city, Terrebonne Parish, Jefferson Parish (including Grand Isle, Gretna, Harahan, Jean Lafitte and Westwego), Kenner, Lafayette Parish, Lake Charles, Monroe, New Orleans, St. Tammany Parish (including Abita Springs, Covington, Madisonville, Mandeville, Pearl River, and Sun), Shreveport, Slidell and Thibodaux.

(UGLG's in .pdf)  

(UGLG's in .html)

Restrictions on Applying for Grants: Under the FY 2012-2013 program years, each eligible applicant could apply for one public infrastructure grant with the following exception. The most recent Annual Action Plan provides for municipalities with a population of more than 25,000 and parishes that have an unincorporated population of more than 25,000 to submit two applications for public infrastructure with a combined maximum request of 2.0 million dollars. Each application could not exceed the maximum allowed.  According to 2000 census, the 21 parishes and 1 municipality are; 

Acadia Parish
Ascension Parish
Bossier Parish
Caddo Parish
Calcasieu Parish
Iberia Parish
Lafourche Parish
Livingston Parish

City of New Iberia
Ouachita Parish
Plaquemines Parish
Rapides Parish
St. Bernard Parish
St. Charles Parish
St. John the Baptist Parish

St. Landry Parish
St. Martin Parish
Tangipahoa Parish
Vermilion Parish
Vernon Parish
Washington Parish

Eligible applicants can apply for an Economic Development grant, a Demonstrated Needs grant or a LaSTEP grant in addition to applying for a Public Infrastructure grant.

Municipalities may be funded for one Demonstrated Needs project every other program year. Parishes may be funded every program year only if the project involves a different (sewer, water, gas) system from the previous year.

Municipalities and parishes will not be eligible to receive funding unless past CDBG programs have been completed and closed, with some exceptions.