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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsEarly Start Program  
Award Amount (LAC 28:IV.1401) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)). 

This rulemaking will amend Section 1405 of LASFAC’s 
Scholarship/Grants rules for the Early Start Program to 
provide a different award amount for students enrolled at 
Louisiana Technical College campuses beginning with the 
spring semester of 2011.  

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that 
these emergency rules are necessary in order to prevent 
imminent financial peril to the welfare of the affected 
students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 30, 
2010, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 
(SG11127E) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education  

Scholarship and Grant Programs 
Chapter 14. Early Start Program  
§1401. General Provisions  

A - D. … 
E. Award Amount 

1. The Early Start Program will pay postsecondary 
institutions, except for campuses of the Louisiana Technical 
College beginning with the spring semester of 2011, $100 
per college credit hour, not to exceed $300 per course, for 
each course in which a student enrolled in a Louisiana public 
high school is eligible to enroll.  

2. Beginning with the spring semester of 2011, the 
Early Start Program will pay $50 per credit hour, not to 
exceed $150 per course, for students enrolled at campuses of 
the Louisiana Technical College. 

3. The award amount shall not be paid on behalf of 
students enrolled in nonpublic high schools or in home 

school; however, beginning with the 2008-2009 academic 
year (college), the program allows participating eligible 
Louisiana postsecondary institutions to enroll eligible 11th 
and 12th grade Louisiana nonpublic high school and home 
school students at the same rate as the award amount that 
funding is provided for public high school students at these 
institutions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 17:3048.5.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2609 (December 2007), amended LR 34:240 (February 
2008), LR 35:231 (February 2009), LR 37: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1012#037 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsJohn R. Justice  
Grant Program (LAC 28:IV.Chapter 20) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)). 

This rulemaking will create a new Chapter 20 in the 
commission’s Scholarships/Grants rules to provide for the 
administration of the John R. Justice Student Grant Program 
by the commission in accordance with a federal grant from 
the U.S. Department of Justice. The John R. Justice Student 
Grant Program will provide for student loan repayment 
beginning with the 2010-11 academic year for qualified 
prosecutors and public defenders in the state with the least 
ability to pay. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance to effectively 
administer the programs. A delay in promulgating rules 
would have an adverse impact on the financial welfare of the 
eligible candidates. LASFAC has determined that these 
Emergency Rules are necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected recipients. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 30, 
2010, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 
(SG11126E) 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2760 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education  

Scholarship and Grant Programs 
Chapter 18. John R. Justice Student Grant Program 
§2001. General Provisions  

A. The John R. Justice Student Grant Program (JRJ 
Grant) is administered by the Louisiana Student Financial 
Assistance Commission (LASFAC) in accordance with a 
federal grant from the United States Department of Justice.  

B. Description, History and Purpose. The JRJ Grant is 
administered in accordance with the federal John R. Justice 
Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 
3797cc-21, to encourage qualified lawyers to choose careers 
as public defenders and prosecutors and to continue in that 
service.  

C. Effective Date. The JRJ Grant will be administered by 
LASFAC beginning with the 2010-2011 federal fiscal year.  

D. Award Amount. Each calendar year, twelve 
prosecutors will receive awards of $5,000 each. Each 
calendar year, six public defenders will receive awards of 
$10,000 each. One public defender and two prosecutors will 
be selected for participation from each of the First, Second, 
Third, and Fifth Louisiana Circuit Court of Appeal Districts. 
Two public defenders and four prosecutors will be selected 
for participation from the Fourth Louisiana Circuit Court of 
Appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
§2003. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 
Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)―gross income minus any 
deductions allowed under the federal income tax code (Title 
26, United States Code). 

Eligible Loan―an educational loan which is not paid in 
full and which was made under either the Federal Stafford 
Loan, Federal Graduate PLUS Loan, Federal Consolidation 
Loan, or Federal Perkins Loan program.  

Federal Fiscal Year―October 1 to the following 
September 30.  

Full Time―works at least 30 hours per week as a 
prosecutor or defense attorney. 

Least Ability to Pay―have the lowest differential 
between AGI and 150 percent of the poverty level for a 
family of the lawyer’s size among eligible applicants. 

Licensed―holding a current license to practice law in 
the state of Louisiana. 

Poverty Level―poverty guidelines as issued by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services. 

Prosecutor―a lawyer who is a full-time employee of 
the state or of a unit of local government (including tribal 
government) who prosecutes criminal or juvenile 
delinquency cases at the state or unit of local government 
level (including supervision, education, or training of other 
persons prosecuting such cases).  

Public Defender―a lawyer who: 
a. is a full-time employee of the state or with a unit 

of local government (including tribal government) who 
provides legal representation to indigent persons in criminal 
or juvenile delinquency cases including supervision, 
education, or training of other persons providing such 
representation; or 

b. who is a full-time employee of a nonprofit 
organization operating under a contract with the state or with 
a unit of local government who devotes substantially all of 
the employee’s full-time employment to providing legal 
representation to indigent persons in criminal or juvenile 
delinquency cases including supervision, education, or 
training of other persons providing such representation; or 

c. who is employed as a full-time federal defense 
lawyer in a defender organization pursuant to 18 
U.S.C.A.2006A(g) that provides legal representation to 
indigent persons in criminal or juvenile delinquency cases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
§2005. Eligibility 

A. To establish eligibility, a lawyer must: 
1. be employed full time as a public defender or 

prosecutor for at least one year as of December 31 of the 
year preceding the award; and 

2. not be in default on any educational loan; 
3. complete and submit an application by the deadline; 
4. have the least ability to pay his student loans; 
5. authorize LOSFA to access records held by any 

third party that will verify information provided on the 
application. 

B. Upon notice from LOSFA that he must do so, the 
applicant must provide: 

1. information necessary to substantiate information 
included on the application, including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

a. paycheck stubs for the two months immediately 
preceding the application date; and 

b. federal tax returns for the most recent tax year; 
and 

c. statements from all student loan holders 
evidencing the required monthly payments on his student 
loans; 

2. a letter from his current employer verifying that the 
employer is an eligible employing entity under the John R. 
Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act and 
recommending the applicant for participation in the 
program; 

3. a completed John R. Justice Student Loan 
Repayment Program Service Agreement. 

C. Qualified lawyers are required to apply for 
participation each year. Prior year recipients will be given 
priority for participation in the program in the second and 
third year of the service obligation, provided the recipient 
continues to meet the requirements of §2005.A.1-4 and B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
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§2007. Applicable Deadlines 
A. Application Deadline 

1. Applicants must complete and submit the on-line 
application each calendar year no later than the deadline 
published by LOSFA. 

2. Applications received after the deadline will not be 
considered unless there are insufficient qualifying 
applications received by the deadline to make awards for all 
eighteen grants. 

3. In the event there are insufficient applications to 
award 18 grants, a second deadline will be announced. 

4. In the event 18 grants cannot be awarded after a 
second application deadline has passed, LOSFA shall inform 
LASFAC and distribute the available remaining funds as 
directed by LASFAC. 

B. Documentation Deadline. An applicant from whom 
documentation is requested must provide the required 
documentation within 45 days from the request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
§2009. Service Agreement 

A. An applicant who has been selected for participation 
must complete a John R. Justice Student Loan Repayment 
Program Service Agreement prior to the disbursement of any 
funds to his student loan holder.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
§2011. Responsibilities of LOSFA 

A. LOSFA shall: 
1. evaluate documentation provided by applicants to 

substantiate the information provided on the application; 
2. select program participants based on the 

documentation provided and the applicants’ ability to pay 
student loans.; 

3. maintain program service agreements; 
4. pay program funds to the program participant’s 

eligible student loan holder with instructions that the funds 
are to be used to reduce the outstanding principal amount 
due on the loan(s); 

5. maintain a secure database of all information 
collected on recipients and former recipients, including 
name, address, social security number, name of the 
institution(s) to which funds were disbursed, and amounts 
disbursed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 
§2013. Responsibilities of LASFAC 

A. LASFAC shall: 
1. promulgate administrative rules in accordance with 

the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act and in 
accordance with a federal grant from the United States 
Department of Justice to administer the John R. Justice 
Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 
3797cc-21 in Louisiana; 

2. upon being informed by LOSFA that 18 grants 
cannot be awarded after a second application deadline has 
passed, establish a formula for apportionment of available 
remaining funds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1012#036 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Taxation 
(LAC 61:V.101, 703, 901, 907, 1103,  

1305, 1307, 1503, 2503, 3101, and 3501) 

The Louisiana Tax Commission, at its meetings on 
September 28, 2010, October 26, 2010 and November 16, 
2010, exercised the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to its authority 
under R.S. 47:1837, adopted the following additions, 
deletions and amendments to the Real/Personal Property 
Rules and Regulations. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary in order for ad valorem 
tax assessment tables to be disseminated to property owners 
and local tax assessors no later than the statutory valuation 
date of record of January 1, 2011. Cost indexes required to 
finalize these assessment tables are not available to this 
office until late October 2010. The effective date of this 
Emergency Rule is January 1, 2011. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Part V.  Ad Valorem Taxation 

Chapter 1.  Constitutional and Statutory Guides to 
Property Taxation 

§101. Constitutional Principles for Property Taxation 
A. - E.1. … 
F. Homestead Exemptions 

1. General Provisions 
a. - d. … 
e. No homestead exemption shall be granted on 

bond for deed property. However, any homestead exemption 
granted prior to June 20, 2003 on any property occupied 
upon the effective date of this Paragraph* by a buyer under a 
bond for deed contract shall remain valid as long as the 
circumstances giving rise to the exemption at the time the 
exemption was granted remains applicable (see 
Constitutional Article 7, §20.(A)(7)). 

1.f. - 3.h. … 
G. Special Assessment Level 

1. - 1.d. … 
2. Any person or persons shall be prohibited from 

receiving the special assessment as provided in this Section 
if such person's or persons' adjusted gross income, for the 
year prior to the application for the special assessment, 
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exceeds $65,891 for tax year 2011 (2012 Orleans Parish). 
For persons applying for the special assessment whose filing 
status is married filing separately, the adjusted gross income 
for purposes of this Section shall be determined by 
combining the adjusted gross income on both federal tax 
returns. 

3. – 9. . . . 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 15:1097 (December 1989), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:477 (March 
1998), LR 26:506 (March 2000), LR 31:700 (March 2005), LR 
32:425 (March 2006), LR 33:489 (March 2007), LR 34:673 (April 
2008), LR 35:492 (March 2009), LR 36:765 (April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Watercraft 
§703. Tables―Watercraft 

A. Floating Equipment―Motor Vessels 
 

Table 703.A 
Floating Equipment―Motor Vessels 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2010 0.993 1 94 .93 
2009 0.985 2 87 .86 
2008 1.013 3 80 .81 
2007 1.053 4 73 .77 
2006 1.111 5 66 .73 
2005 1.162 6 58 .67 
2004 1.250 7 50 .63 
2003 1.293 8 43 .56 
2002 1.315 9 36 .47 
2001 1.323 10 29 .38 
2000 1.334 11 24 .32 
1999 1.358 12 22 .30 
1998 1.362 13 20 .27 

 
B. Floating Equipment―Barges (Non-Motorized) 
 

Table 703.B 
Floating Equipment―Barges (Non-Motorized) 

Cost Index 
Average 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2010 0.993 1 97 .96 
2009 0.985 2 93 .92 
2008 1.013 3 90 .91 
2007 1.053 4 86 .91 
2006 1.111 5 82 .91 
2005 1.162 6 78 .91 
2004 1.250 7 74 .90 
2003 1.293 8 70 .89 
2002 1.315 9 65 .85 
2001 1.323 10 60 .79 
2000 1.334 11 55 .73 
1999 1.358 12 50 .68 
1998 1.362 13 45 .61 
1997 1.374 14 40 .55 
1996 1.396 15 35 .49 
1995 1.418 16 31 .44 
1994 1.469 17 27 .40 

Table 703.B 
Floating Equipment―Barges (Non-Motorized) 

Cost Index 
Average 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

1993 1.510 18 24 .36 
1992 1.539 19 22 .34 
1991 1.558 20 21 .33 
1990 1.589 21 20 .32 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:924 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:204 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:479 (March 1998), LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 
(March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), 
LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 30:487 (March 2004), LR 31:715 
(March 2005), LR 32:430 (March 2006), LR 33:490 (March 2007), 
LR 34:678 (April 2008), LR 35:492 (March 2009), LR 36:772 
(April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Oil and Gas Properties 
§901. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Oil and Gas Properties 
A. - B.3. … 
C. Explanations 

Inactive Wells―wells that are shut-in. Shut-in status 
becomes effective on the date the application for shut-in 
status is filed, consistent with the Louisiana Department of 
Conservation requirements. 

Injection Wells―wells completed as single or wells 
reclassified by the Louisiana Department of Conservation 
after a conversion of another well. Wells are used for gas and 
water injection for production purposes, also used for 
disposal wells. 

Multiple Completions―wells consisting of more than 
one producing zone. Deepest or primary completion may or 
may not be the base well number depending upon the 
Louisiana Department of Conservation permits and 
classification. 

Production Depth―the depth from the surface to the 
active lower perforation in each producing zone in which the 
well is completed. As an example, a well completed in three 
separate zones is a triple completion and will have three 
different production depths as determined by the depth of the 
active lower perforation for each completion. 

Single Completions― 
a. well originally completed as a single; 
b. well reclassified by the Louisiana Department of 

Conservation after a conversion of multiple completed well 
to a single producing zone. 

Water Wells―wells used for production purposes only, 
both fresh and salt water supply. 

D. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2763 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 2:359 (November 1976), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 
(February 1982), LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 17:1213 (December 
1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:717 (March 2005), LR 33:492 
(March 2007), LR 35:495 (March 2009), LR 36:773 (April 2010), 
LR 37: 
§907. Valuation of Oil, Gas, and Other Wells 

A. - A.7. … 
1. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1―North 

Louisiana 
 

Table 907.A.1 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1―North Louisiana 

Producing Depths 
Cost―New 

By Depth, Per Foot 
15% of Cost―New 
 By Depth, Per Foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0-1,249 ft. 35.22 123.24 5.28 18.49 

1,250-2,499 ft. 31.79 90.62 4.77 13.59 
2,500-3,749 ft. 24.99 60.01 3.75 9.00 
3,750-4,999 ft. 34.55 59.80 5.18 8.97 
5,000-7,499 ft. 40.64 58.37 6.10 8.76 
7,500-9,999 ft. 89.09 78.67 13.36 11.80 

10,000-12,499 ft. 259.81 95.44 38.97 14.32 
12,500-14,999 ft. N/A 144.11 N/A 21.62 
15,000-Deeper ft. N/A 164.33 N/A 24.65 
 
2. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 2―South 

Louisiana 
 

Table 907.A.2 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 2―South Louisiana 

Producing Depths 
Cost―New 

By Depth, Per Foot 
15% of Cost―New 
By Depth, Per Foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0-1,249 ft. 270.74 122.43 40.61 18.36 

1,250-2,499 ft. 93.49 203.50 14.02 30.53 
2,500-3,749 ft. 91.29 162.24 13.69 24.34 
3,750-4,999 ft. 80.48 129.79 12.07 19.47 
5,000-7,499 ft. 109.94 147.42 16.49 22.11 
7,500-9,999 ft. 149.98 154.35 22.50 23.15 

10,000-12,499 ft. 204.52 201.77 30.68 30.27 
12,500-14,999 ft. 268.28 261.04 40.24 39.16 
15,000-17,499 ft. 434.55 349.49 65.18 52.42 
17,500-19,999 ft. 530.58 495.04 79.59 74.26 
20,000-Deeper ft. 283.32 743.21 42.50 111.48 

 
3. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3―Offshore 

State Waters 
 

Table 907.A.3 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells;  

Region 3―Offshore State Waters* 

Producing Depths 
Cost―New 

By Depth, Per Foot 
15% Of Cost―New 
By Depth, Per Foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 -1,249 ft. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

1,250 -2,499 ft. 1357.13 991.64 203.57 148.75 
2,500 -3,749 ft. 697.85 762.11 104.68 114.32 
3,750 -4,999 ft. 996.11 698.83 149.42 104.82 
5,000 -7,499 ft. 495.70 647.26 74.36 97.09 
7,500 -9,999 ft. 628.47 612.50 94.27 91.88 

10,000 -12,499 ft. 711.48 620.87 106.72 93.13 
12,500 -14,999 ft. 618.79 604.21 92.82 90.63 
15,000 -17,499 ft. 426.50 626.93 63.98 94.04 
17,500 - 19,999 ft. N/A 599.36 N/A 89.90 
20,000 - Deeper ft. N/A 942.14 N/A 141.32 

 

B. The determination of whether a well is a Region 2 or 
Region 3 well is ascertained from its onshore/offshore status 
as designated on the Permit to Drill or Amended Permit to 
Drill form (Location of Wells Section), located at the 
Department of Natural Resources as of January 1 of each tax 
year. Each assessor is required to confirm the 
onshore/offshore status of wells located within their parish 
by referring to the Permit to Drill or Amended Permit to 
Drill form on file at the Department of Natural Resources. 

1. Parishes Considered to be Located in Region I 
 

Table 907.B.1 
Parishes Considered to be Located in Region 1 

Bienville DeSoto Madison Tensas 
Bossier East Carroll Morehouse Union 
Caddo Franklin Natchitoches Webster 
Caldwell Grant Ouachita West Carroll 
Catahoula Jackson Red River Winn 
Claiborne LaSalle Richland   
Concordia Lincoln Sabine   

NOTE: All wells in parishes not listed above are located in 
Region 2 or Region 3. 
 

2. Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 
 

Table 907.B.2 
Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

Year Beginning 
Serial Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

17 Year Life 
Percent Good 

2010 240636 Higher 96 
2009 239277 240635 91 
2008 236927 239276 87 
2007 234780 236926 82 
2006 232639 234779 77 
2005 230643 232638 73 
2004 229010 230642 68 
2003 227742 229009 62 
2002 226717 227741 57 
2001 225352 226716 51 
2000 223899 225351 46 
1999 222882 223898 40 
1998 221596 222881 35 
1997 220034 221595 31 
1996 218653 220033 28 
1995 217588 218652 25 
1994 216475 217587 21 
1993 Lower 216474 20 * 
VAR. 900000 Higher 50 

*Reflects residual or floor rate. 
 
NOTE: For any serial number categories not listed above, use 
year well completed to determine appropriate percent good. If 
spud date is later than year indicated by serial number; or, if 
serial number is unknown, use spud date to determine 
appropriate percent good. 
 

Table 907.B.3 
Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

Horizontal Wells 

Year Beginning 
Serial Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

11 Year Life 
Percent Good 

2010 240636 Higher 93 
2009 239277 240635 86 
2008 236927 239276 78 
2007 234780 236926 70 
2006 232639 234779 62 
2005 230643 232638 54 
2004 229010 230642 45 
2003 227742 229009 37 
2002 226717 227741 30 
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Table 907.B.3 
Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

Horizontal Wells 

Year Beginning 
Serial Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

11 Year Life 
Percent Good 

2001 225352 226716 25 
2000 223899 225351 22 
1999 Lower 223898 20 * 

*Reflects residual or floor rate. 
 
NOTE: This table is to be used for wells drilled with a 
minimum of 80 degrees deviation from vertical for a distance 
of at least fifty feet consistent with Marshall and Swift life 
expectancy guidelines for Petroleum and Natural Gas 
exploration and production. 
 

C. Surface Equipment 
1. Listed below is the cost-new of major items used in 

the production, storage, transmission and sale of oil and gas. 
Any equipment not shown shall be assessed on an individual 
basis. 

2. All surface equipment, including other property 
associated or used in connection with the oil and gas 
industry in the field of operation, must be rendered in 
accordance with guidelines established by the Tax 
Commission and in accordance with requirements set forth 
on LAT Form 12-Personal Property Tax Report―Oil and 
Gas Property. 

3. Oil and gas personal property will be assessed in 
seven major categories, as follows: 

a. oil, gas and associated wells; 
b. oil and gas equipment (surface equipment); 
c. tanks (surface equipment); 
d. lines (oil and gas lease lines); 
e. inventories (material and supplies); 
f. field improvements (docks, buildings, etc.); 
g. other property (not included above). 

4. The cost-new values listed below are to be adjusted 
to allow depreciation by use of the appropriate percent good 
listed in Table B.2 of this Section. The average age of the 
well/lease/field will determine the appropriate year to be 
used for this purpose. 

5. Functional and/or economic obsolescence shall be 
considered in the analysis of fair market value as 
substantiated by the taxpayer in writing. Consistent with 
Louisiana R.S. 47:1957, the assessor may request additional 
documentation. 

6. Sales, properly documented, should be considered 
by the assessor as fair market value, provided the sale meets 
all tests relative to it being a valid sale. 

 
Table 907.C.1 

Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

Actuators—(See Metering Equipment)   
Automatic Control Equipment—(See Safety Systems)   
Automatic Tank Switch Unit—(See Metering Equipment)   
Barges - Concrete—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Barges - Storage—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Barges – Utility—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Barges - Work—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Communication Equipment—(See Telecommunications)   
Dampeners—(See Metering Equipment - "Recorders")   

Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

DESORBERS—(No metering equipment included): 
 125# 
 300# 
 500# 

 
109,990 
121,270 
138,000 

Destroilets—(See Metering Equipment – "Regulators")   
Desurgers—(See Metering Equipment – "Regulators")   
Desilters—(See Metering Equipment – "Regulators")   
Diatrollers—(See Metering Equipment – "Regulators")   
Docks, Platforms, Buildings—(Assessed on an individual 
basis) 

  

Dry Dehydrators (Driers)—(See Scrubbers)   
Engines-Unattached—(Only includes engine & skids): 
 Per Horsepower 

 
350 

Evaporators—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Expander Unit—(No metering equipment included): 
 Per Unit 

 
40,350 

Flow Splitters—(No metering equipment included): 
 48 In. Diameter Vessel 
 72 In. Diameter Vessel 
 96 In. Diameter Vessel 
 120 In. Diameter Vessel 

 
19,640 
26,020 
39,880 
56,660 

Fire Control System—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Furniture & Fixtures—(Assessed on an individual basis) 
 (Field operations only, according to location.) 

  

Gas Compressors-Package Unit—(skids, scrubbers, 
cooling system, and power controls. No metering or 
regulating equipment.): 
 50 HP and less – Per HP 
 51 HP to 100 HP – Per HP 
 101 HP and higher – Per HP 

 
 
 

1,500 
1,290 
940 

Gas Coolers—(No metering equipment); 
 5,000 MCF/D 
 10,000 MCF/D 
 20,000 MCF/D 
 50,000 MCF/D 
 100,000 MCF/D 

 
31,000 
34,910 
108,590 
246,360 
403,480 

Generators—Package Unit only -(No special installation) 
 Per K.W. 

 
230 

Glycol Dehydration-Package Unit—(including pressure 
gauge, relief valve and regulator. No other metering 
equipment.): 
 Up to 4.0 MMCF/D 
 4.1 to 5.0 MMCF/D 
 5.1 to 10.0 MMCF/D 
 10.1 to 15.0 MMCF/D 
 15.1 to 20.0 MMCF/D 
 20.1 to 25.0 MMCF/D 
 25.1 to 30.0 MMCF/D 
 30.1 to 50.0 MMCF/D 
 50.1 to 75.0 MMCF/D 
 75.1 & Up MMCF/D 

 
 
 

21,760 
24,270 
46,780 
65,080 
88,590 
115,200 
218,810 
244,430 
304,070 
350,850 

Heaters—(includes unit, safety valves, regulators and 
automatic shut-down. No metering equipment.): 
Steam Bath—Direct Heater: 
 24 In. Diameter Vessel - 250,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 30 In. Diameter Vessel - 500,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 36 In. Diameter Vessel - 750,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 48 In. Diameter Vessel - 1,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 60 In. Diameter Vessel - 1,500,000 BTU/HR Rate 
Water Bath—Indirect Heater: 
 24 In. Diameter Vessel - 250,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 30 In. Diameter Vessel - 500,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 36 In. Diameter Vessel - 750,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 48 In. Diameter Vessel - 1,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 60 In. Diameter Vessel - 1,500,000 BTU/HR Rate  
Steam—(Steam Generators): 
 24 In. Diameter Vessel - 250,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 30 In. Diameter Vessel - 450,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 36 In. Diameter Vessel - 500 to 750,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 48 In. Diameter Vessel - 1 to 2,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 60 In. Diameter Vessel - 2 to 3,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 
 72 In. Diameter Vessel - 3 to 6,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 

 
 
 

7,540 
9,480 

11,460 
16,960 
20,930 

 
6,440 
8,830 

11,520 
16,310 
20,870 

 
8,250 

10,290 
15,440 
17,720 
20,060 
31,690 
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Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

 96 In. Diameter Vessel - 6 to 8,000,000 BTU/HR Rate 38,070 
Heat Exchange Units-Skid Mounted—(See Production 
Units) 

  

Heater Treaters—(Necessary controls, gauges, valves and 
piping. No metering equipment included.): 
Heater - Treaters - (Non-metering): 
 4 x 20 ft. 
 4 x 27 ft. 
 6 x 20 ft. 
 6 x 27 ft. 
 8 x 20 ft. 
 8 x 27 ft. 
 10 x 20 ft. 
 10 x 27 ft. 

 
 
 

16,490 
21,230 
22,230 
27,950 
35,610 
41,690 
47,080 
55,380 

L.A.C.T. (Lease Automatic Custody Transfer) – See 
Metering Equipment) 

 

JT Skid (Low Temperature Extraction) - (includes safety 
valves, temperature controllers, chokes, regulators, 
metering equipment, etc. - complete unit.): 
 Up to 2 MMCF/D 
 Up to 5 MMCF/D 
 Up to 10 MMCF/D 
 Up to 20 MMCF/D 

 
 
 

40,930 
58,480 
140,340 
233,900 

Liqua Meter Units—(See Metering Equipment)   
Manifolds—(See Metering Equipment)   
Material & Supplies-Inventories—(Assessed on an 
individual basis) 

  

Meter Calibrating Vessels—(See Metering Equipment)   
Meter Prover Tanks—(See Metering Equipment)   
Meter Runs—(See Metering Equipment)   
Meter Control Stations—(not considered Communication 
Equipment) - (Assessed on an individual basis) 

  

Metering Equipment 
 Actuators—hydraulic, pneumatic & electric valves 
 Controllers—time cycle valve - valve controlling device 
(also known as Intermitter) 
 Fluid Meters: 
 1 Level Control 
 24 In. Diameter Vessel - 1/2 bbl. Dump 
 30 In. Diameter Vessel - 1 bbl. Dump 
 36 In. Diameter Vessel - 2 bbl. Dump 
 2 Level Control 
 20 In. Diameter Vessel - 1/2 bbl. Dump 
 24 In. Diameter Vessel - 1/2 bbl. Dump 
 30 In. Diameter Vessel - 1 bbl. Dump 
 36 In. Diameter Vessel - 2 bbl. Dump 

 
6,370 
1,990 

 
 
 

4,850 
6,260 
8,650 

 
4,560 
5,500 
6,910 
9,300 

 L.A.C.T. & A.T.S. Units: 
 30 lb. Discharge 
 60 lb. Discharge 
 Manifolds—Manual Operated: 
 High Pressure 
 per well 
 per valve 
 Low Pressure 
 per well 
 per valve 

 
30,640 
34,910 

 
 

24,040 
8,120 

 
11,630 
3,860 

 Manifolds—Automatic Operated: 
 High Pressure 
 per well 
 per valve 
 Low Pressure 
 per well 
 per valve 

NOTE: Automatic Operated System includes 
gas hydraulic and pneumatic valve actuators, 
(or motorized valves), block valves, flow 
monitors-in addition to normal equipment found 
on manual operated system. No Metering 
Equipment Included. 

 
 

43,450 
14,330 

 
31,000 
10,470 

Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

Meter Runs—piping, valves & supports – no meters: 
 2 In. piping & valve 
 3 In. piping & valve 
 4 In. piping & valve 
 6 In. piping & valve 
 8 In. piping & valve 
 10 In. piping & valve 
 12 In. piping & valve 
 14 In. piping & valve 
 16 In. piping & valve 
 18 In. piping & valve 
 20 In. piping & valve 
 22 In. piping & valve 
 24 In. piping & valve 
 Metering Vessels (Accumulators): 
 1 bbl. calibration plate (20 x 9) 
 5 bbl. calibration plate (24 x 10) 
 7.5 bbl. calibration plate (30 x 10) 
 10 bbl. calibration plate (36 x 10) 
 Recorders (Meters)—Includes both static element and 

tube drive pulsation dampener-also one and two pen 
operations. 

 per meter 
 Solar Panel (also see Telecommunications) 
 per unit (10' x 10') 

 
6,550 
7,360 
8,880 

12,390 
18,620 
24,800 
31,000 
42,220 
55,140 
68,300 
88,770 
111,870 
136,950 

 
3,800 
4,090 
5,730 
7,130 

 
 
 

2,630 
 

350 
Pipe Lines—Lease Lines 
 Steel 
 2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 2 1/2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 3 & 3 1/2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 4, 4 1/2 & 5 In. nominal size - per mile 
 6 In. nominal size - per mile 
 Poly Pipe 
 2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 2 1/2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 3 In. nominal size - per mile 
 4 In. nominal size - per mile 
 6 In. nominal size - per mile  

 
 

19,060 
25,670 
32,740 
56,310 
82,680 

 
10,470 
14,090 
18,010 
30,930 
45,430 

 Plastic—Fiberglass 
 2 In. nominal size - per mile 
 3 In. nominal size - per mile 
 4 In. nominal size - per mile 
 6 In. nominal size - per mile 

NOTE: Allow 90% obsolescence credit for 
lines that are inactive, idle, open on both ends 
and dormant, which are being carried on 
corporate records solely for the purpose of 
retaining right of ways on the land and/or due to 
excessive capital outlay to refurbish or remove 
the lines.  

 
16,260 
27,840 
47,840 
70,230 

Pipe Stock—(Assessed on an individual basis)   
Pipe Stock - Exempt—Under La. Const., Art. X, §4 (19-C)   
Production Units: 
 Class I - per unit - separator & 1 heater – 500 MCF/D 
 Class II - per unit - separator & 1 heater – 750 MCF/D 

 
20,580 
27,420 

Production Process Units—These units are by specific design 
and not in the same category as gas compressors, liquid and 
gas production units or pump-motor units. (Assessed on an 
individual basis.) 

  

Pumps—In Line 
 per horsepower rating of motor 

 
290 

Pump-Motor Unit—pump and motor only 
 Class I - (water flood, s/w disposal, p/l, etc.) 
 Up to 300 HP - per HP of motor 
 Class II - (high pressure injection, etc.) 
 301 HP and up per HP of motor 

 
 

350 
 

410 
Pumping Units-Conventional & Beam Balance—(Unit value 
includes motor) - assessed according to API designation. 
 16 D 
 25 D 
 40 D 
 57 D 
 80 D 

 
 

6,730 
12,630 
15,790 
21,050 
35,140 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2766 

Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

 114 D 
 160 D 
 228 D 
 320 D 
 456 D 
 640 D 
 912 D 

NOTE: For "Air Balance" and "Heavy Duty" 
units, multiply the above values by 1.30.  

36,550 
49,180 
53,390 
67,480 
80,110 
97,010 
102,620 

Regenerators (Accumulator)—(See Metering Equipment)   
Regulators: 
 per unit 

 
2,690 

Safety Systems 
 Onshore And Marsh Area 
 Basic Case: 
 well only 
 well & production equipment 
 with surface op. ssv, add 
 Offshore 0 - 3 Miles 
 Wellhead safety system (excludes wellhead actuators) 
  per well 
  production train 
  glycol dehydration system 
  P/L pumps and LACT 
 Compressors 
 Wellhead Actuators (does not include price of the valve) 
 5,000 psi 
 10,000 psi and over 

NOTE: For installation costs - add 25% 

 
 
 

5,380 
6,200 
9,300 

 
 

15,500 
38,760 
23,280 
54,260 
34,090 

 
3,860 
5,790 

Sampler—(See Metering Equipment - "Fluid Meters")   
Scrubbers—Two Classes 
 Class I - Manufactured for use with other major 
equipment and, at times, included with such equipment as 
part of a package unit. 
 8 In. Diameter Vessel 
 10 In. Diameter Vessel 
 12 In. Diameter Vessel 
 Class II - Small "in-line" scrubber used in flow system 
usually direct from gas well. Much of this type is "shop-
made" and not considered as major scrubbing equipment. 
 8 In. Diameter Vessel 
 12 In. Diameter Vessel 

NOTE: No metering or regulating equipment 
included in the above. 

 
 
 
 

3,270 
4,680 
5,320 

 
 
 

1,520 
1,990 

Separators—(No metering equipment included) 
Horizontal—Filter /1,440 psi (High Pressure)  
 6-5/8” OD x 5’-6” 
 8-5/8” OD x 7’-6” 
 10-3/4” OD x 8’-0” 
 12-3/4” OD x 8’-0” 
 16” OD x 8’-6” 
 20” OD x 8’-6” 
 20” OD x 12’-0” 
 24” OD x 12’-6” 
 30” OD x 12’-6” 
 36” OD x 12’-6” 

 
 

4,790 
5,210 
7,310 
9,820 
15,790 
23,330 
24,560 
33,100 
48,300 
57,420 

Separators—(No metering equipment included) 
Vertical 2—Phase /125 psi (Low Pressure) 
 24” OD x 7’-6” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
Vertical 3—Phase /125 psi (Low Pressure) 
 24” OD x 7’-6” 
 24” OD x 10’-0” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 42” OD x 10’-0” 
Horizontal 3—Phase /125 psi (Low Pressure) 
 24” OD x 10’-0” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 42” OD x 10’-0” 

 
 

5,440 
5,840 
12,220 

 
5,730 
6,490 
9,010 
12,810 
14,850 

 
8,480 
10,870 
11,870 
18,940 

Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

Vertical 2—Phase /1440 psi (High Pressure) 
 12-3/4” OD x 5’-0” 
 16” OD x 5’-6” 
 20” OD x 7’-6” 
 24” OD x 7’-6” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 42” OD x 10’-0” 
 48” OD x 10’-0” 
 54” OD x 10’-0” 
 60” OD x 10’-0” 
Vertical 3 - Phase /1440 psi (High Pressure) 
 16” OD x 7’-6” 
 20” OD x 7’-6” 
 24” OD x 7’-6” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 42” OD x 10’-0” 
 48” OD x 10’-0” 
Horizontal 2—Phase /1440 psi (High Pressure) 
 16” OD x 7’-6” 
 20” OD x 7’-6” 
 24” OD x 10’-0” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 42” OD x 15’-0” 
 48” OD x 15’-0” 
Separators—(No metering equipment included)  
Horizontal 3—Phase /1440 psi (High Pressure) 
 16” OD x 7’-6” 
 20” OD x 7’-6” 
 24” OD x 10’-0” 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 15’-0” 
Offshore Horizontal 3—Phase /1440 psi (High Pressure) 
 30” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 10’-0” 
 36” OD x 12’-0” 
 36” OD x 15’-0” 
 42” OD x 15’-0” 

 
3,220 
4,790 
9,120 
11,050 
16,840 
21,810 
34,910 
41,170 
62,330 
77,950 

 
5,610 
9,820 
11,400 
17,600 
22,520 
36,720 
42,570 

 
5,500 
8,830 
12,050 
18,540 
23,510 
47,710 
55,020 

 
 

8,480 
9,480 
13,800 
19,640 
28,300 
31,630 

 
40,750 
38,890 
56,430 
58,890 
91,390 

Skimmer Tanks—(See Flow Tanks in Tanks section)   
Stabilizers—per unit 6,020 
Sump/Dump Tanks—(See Metering Equipment -"Fluid 
Tanks") 

  

Tanks—No metering equipment 
 Flow Tanks (receiver or gunbarrel) 
 50 to 548 bbl. Range (average tank size - 250 bbl.) 
 Stock Tanks (lease tanks) 
 100 to 750 bbl. Range (average tank size – 300 bbl.) 

Per Barrel* 
 

37.70 
 

29.30 
 Storage Tanks (Closed Top) 
 1,000 barrel 
 1,500 barrel 
 2,000 barrel 
 2,001 - 5,000 barrel 
 5,001 - 10,000 barrel 
 10,001 - 15,000 barrel 
 15,001 - 55,000 barrel 
 55,001 – 150,000 barrel 
 Internal Floating Roof 
 10,000 barrel 
 20,000 barrel 
 30,000 barrel 
 50,000 barrel 
 55,000 barrel 
 80,000 barrel 
 100,000 barrel 
 *I.E.: (tanks size bbls.) X (no. of bbls.)  
   X (cost-new factor.) 

 
24.90 
22.00 
21.40 
19.70 
18.40 
17.30 
12.10 
9.20 

 
35.50 
24.10 
17.90 
15.90 
15.30 
13.50 
11.80 

Telecommunications Equipment 
 Microwave System 
 Telephone & data transmission 
 Radio telephone 

 
46,780 
3,510 
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Table 907.C.1 
Surface Equipment 

Property Description 
$ Cost 
New 

 Supervisory controls: 
 remote terminal unit, well 
 master station 
 towers (installed): 
 heavy duty, guyed, per foot 
 light duty, guyed, per foot 
 heavy duty, self supporting, per foot 
 light duty, self supporting, per foot 
 equipment building, per sq. ft. 
 solar panels, per sq. ft. 

 
10,000 
22,810 

 
580 
40 
590 
120 
180 
60 

Utility Compressors 
 per horsepower - rated on motor 

 
770 

Vapor Recovery Unit—No Metering Equipment 
 60 MCF/D or less 
 105 MCF/D max 
 250 MCF/D max 

 
20,470 
29,230 
38,600 

Waterknockouts—Includes unit, backpressure valve & 
regulator, but, no metering equipment. 
 2’ diam. x 16’ 
 3’ diam. x 10’ 
 4’ diam. x 10’ 
 6’ diam. x 10’ 
 6’ diam. x 15’ 
 8’ diam. x 10’ 
 8’ diam. x 15’ 
 8’ diam. x 20’ 
 8’ diam. x 25’ 
 10’ diam. x 20’ 

 
 

5,550 
8,300 
11,460 
18,770 
21,690 
27,190 
31,220 
34,620 
38,540 
45,320 

 
Table 907.C.2 

Service Stations 
Marketing Personal Property 

*Alternative Procedure 
Property Description $ Cost New 

Air and Water Units: 
Above ground 
Below ground 

 
1,170 
490 

Air Compressors: 
1/3 to 1 H.P. 
1/2 to 5 H.P. 

 
1,560 
2,630 

Car Wash Equipment: 
In Bay (roll over brushes) 
In Bay (pull through) 
Tunnel (40 to 50 ft.) 
Tunnel (60 to 75 ft.) 

 
41,920 
65,070 
141,640 
189,550 

Drive On Lifts: 
Single Post 
Dual Post 

 
7,660 
8,620 

Lights: 
Light Poles (each) 
Lights - per pole unit 

 
780 
860 

Pumps: 
Non-Electronic - self contained and/or remote 
controlled computer 

Single 
Dual 

Computerized - non-self service, post pay, pre/post 
pay. self contained and/or remote controlled dispensers 

Single 
Dual 

 
 
 

3,310 
4,930 

 
 

5,600 
7,550 

Read-Out Equipment (at operator of self service) 
Per Hose Outlet 

 
1,230 

Signs: 
Station Signs 

6 ft. lighted - installed on 12 ft. pole 
10 ft. lighted - installed on 16 ft. pole 

Attachment Signs (for station signs) 
Lighted "self-serve" (4 x 11 ft.) 
Lighted "pricing" (5 x 9 ft.) 

High Rise Signs - 16 ft. lighted - installed on: 
1 pole 

 
 

3,700 
6,770 

 
3,080 
3,160 

 
11,210 

Table 907.C.2 
Service Stations 

Marketing Personal Property 
*Alternative Procedure 

Property Description $ Cost New 
2 poles 
3 poles 

Attachment Signs (for high rise signs) 
Lighted "self-serve" (5 x 17 ft.) 
Lighted "pricing" (5 x 9 ft.)  

14,660 
16,400 

 
5,960 
3,160 

Submerged Pumps—(used with remote control 
equipment, according to number used - per unit) 

 
3,310 

Tanks—(average for all tank sizes) 
Underground - per gallon 

 
1.90 

 
NOTE: The above represents the cost-new value of modern 
stations and self-service marketing equipment. Other costs 
associated with such equipment are included in improvements. 
Old style stations and equipment should be assessed on an 
individual basis, at the discretion of the tax assessor, when 
evidence is furnished to substantiate such action. 
*This alternative assessment procedure should be used only 
when acquisition cost and age are unknown or unavailable. 
Otherwise, see general business section (Chapter 25) for 
normal assessment procedure. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 
1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), 
LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:480 (March 1998), LR 25:313 
(February 1999), LR 26:507 (March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 
2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 
30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:717 (March 2005), LR 32:431 (March 
2006), LR 33:492 (March 2007), LR 34:679 (April 2008), LR 
35:495 (March 2009), LR 36:773 (April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 11. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment 
§1103. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment Tables 

A. Land Rigs 
 

Table 1103.A 
Land Rigs 

Depth "0" to 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
3,000 684,300 102,600 
4,000 788,700 118,300 
5,000 1,056,700 158,500 
6,000 1,440,800 216,100 
7,000 1,899,600 284,900 

Depth 8,000 to 10,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
8,000 2,397,400 359,600 
9,000 2,904,500 435,700 

10,000 3,397,200 509,600 
Depth 11,000 to 15,000 Feet 

Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 
  $ $ 

11,000 3,857,400 578,600 
12,000 4,273,200 641,000 
13,000 4,638,600 695,800 
14,000 4,953,200 743,000 
15,000 5,222,900 783,400 
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Table 1103.A 
Land Rigs 

Depth 16,000 to 20,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
16,000 5,459,200 818,900 
17,000 5,679,700 852,000 
18,000 5,907,800 886,200 
19,000 6,172,800 925,900 
20,000 6,510,000 976,500 

Depth 21,000 + Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
21,000 6,960,600 1,044,100 

25,000 + 7,571,400 1,135,700 
Barges (Hull)—Assess Barges (Hull) at 25 percent of the 
assessment for the rig value bracket, and add this to the proper 
rig assessment to arrive at total for barge and its drilling rig. 
 
Living quarters are to be assessed on an individual basis. 
 

B. Jack-Ups 
 

Table 1103.B 
Jack-Ups 

Type Water Depth 
Rating 

Fair Market 
Value Assessment 

IC  0-199 ft. $ 50,000,000 $ 7,500,000 
  200-299 ft.  100,000,000  15,000,000 
   300 ft. and Deeper  200,000,000  30,000,000 
        

IS  0-199 ft. $ 15,000,000 $ 2,250,000 
  200-299 ft. $ 25,000,000 $ 3,750,000 
  300 ft. and Deeper $ 30,000,000 $ 4,500,000 
        

MC  0-199 ft.  $ 5,000,000 $ 750,000 
  200-299 ft. $ 10,000,000 $ 1,500,000 
  300 ft. and Deeper $ 40,000,000 $ 6,000,000 
        

MS  0-249 ft. $ 10,500,000 $ 1,575,000 
  250 ft. and Deeper $ 20,670,000 $ 3,100,500 

IC - Independent Leg Cantilever 
IS - Independent Leg Slot 
MC - Mat Cantilever 
MS - Mat Slot 
C. Semisubmersible Rigs 
 

 Table 1103.C 
Semisubmersible Rigs 

Water Depth Rating Fair Market Value Assessment 
 0- 800 ft.  $ 45,700,000  $ 6,855,000 

 801-1,800 ft.  $ 81,875,000  $ 12,281,300 
 1,801-2,500 ft.  $ 150,000,000  $ 22,500,000 

2,501 ft. and Deeper  $ 400,000,000  $ 60,000,000 

 
C.1. - C.3.b.i. … 
D. Well Service Rigs Land Only 
 

Table 1103.D 
Well Service Rigs Land Only 

Class Mast Engine 

Fair 
Market 
Value 

(RCNLD) 

Assessment 

I 72’ X 125M# 
75’ X 150M# 

6V71 180,000 27,000 

Table 1103.D 
Well Service Rigs Land Only 

Class Mast Engine 

Fair 
Market 
Value 

(RCNLD) 

Assessment 

II 96’ X 150M# 
96’ X 180M# 
96’ X 185M# 
96’ X 205M# 
96’ X 210M# 
96’ X 212M# 
96’ X 215M# 

8V71 230,000 34,500 

III 96’ X 240M# 
96’ X 250M# 
96’ X 260M# 

102’ X 215M# 

8V92 300,000 45,000 

IV 102’ X 224M# 
102’ X 250M# 
103’ X 225M# 
103’ X 250M# 
104’ X 250M# 
105’ X 225M# 
105’ X 250M# 

12V71 340,000 51,000 

V 105’ X 280M# 
106’ X 250M# 
108’ X 250M# 
108’ X 260M# 
108’ X 268M# 
108’ X 270M# 
108’ X 300M# 

12V71 
12V92 

432,000 64,800 

VI 110’ X 250M# 
110’ X 275M# 
112’ X 300M# 
112’ X 350M# 

12V71 
(2) 8V92 

485,000 72,800 

VII 117’ X 215M# (2) 8V92 
(2) 12V71 

515,000 77,300 

 
D.1. - E.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:939 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), 
LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 24:487 (March 1998), LR 25:315 (February 
1999), LR 26:508 (March 2000), LR 27:426 (March 2001), LR 
28:519 (March 2002), LR 30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:718 (March 
2005), LR 32:431 (March 2006), LR 33:493 (March 2007), LR 
34:683 (April 2008), LR 35:497 (March 2009), LR 36:778 (April 
2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 13. Pipelines 
§1305. Reporting Procedures 

A. - B. … 
C. Use schedules adopted by the Tax Commission and 

report cost per mile, calculate and extend "total replacement 
cost". 

D. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:940 (November 1984), LR 17:1213 
(December 1991), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax 
Commission, LR 24:488 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 
1999), LR 26:508 (March 2000), LR 35:498 (March 2009), LR 
36:778 (April 2010), LR 37: 
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§1307. Pipeline Transportation Tables 
A. Current Costs for Other Pipelines (Onshore) 
 

Table 1307.A 
Current Costs for Other Pipelines 

(Onshore) 
Diameter (inches) Cost per Mile 15% of Cost per Mile 

2 $ 168,280 $ 25,240 
4 196,690 29,500 
6 229,900 34,490 
8 268,710 40,310 
10 314,080 47,110 
12 367,100 55,070 
14 429,080 64,360 
16 501,520 75,230 
18 586,190 87,930 
20 685,160 102,770 
22 800,830 120,120 
24 936,030 140,400 
26 1,094,060 164,110 
28 1,278,760 191,810 
30 1,494,650 224,200 
32 1,746,980 262,050 
34 2,041,920 306,290 
36 2,386,650 358,000 
38 2,789,580 418,440 
40 3,260,540 489,080 
42 3,811,000 571,650 
44 4,454,400 668,160 
46 5,206,410 780,960 
48 6,085,390 912,810 

NOTE: Excludes river and canal crossings 
 

B. Current Costs for Other Pipelines (Offshore) 
 

Table 1307.B 
Current Costs for Other Pipelines 

(Offshore) 
Diameter (inches) Cost per Mile 15% of Cost per Mile 

6 $ 958,220 $ 143,730 
8 969,000 145,350 
10 978,300 146,750 
12 995,790 149,370 
14 1,021,480 153,220 
16 1,055,370 158,310 
18 1,097,450 164,620 
20 1,147,730 172,160 
22 1,206,210 180,930 
24 1,272,890 190,930 
26 1,347,760 202,160 
28 1,430,820 214,620 
30 1,522,090 228,310 
32 1,621,550 243,230 
34 1,729,210 259,380 
36 1,845,060 276,760 
38 1,969,110 295,370 
40 2,101,360 315,200 
42 2,241,800 336,270 
44 2,390,450 358,570 
46 2,547,280 382,090 
48 2,712,320 406,850 

 
C. Pipeline Transportation Allowance for Physical 

Deterioration (Depreciation) 
 

Table 1307.C 
Pipeline Transportation Allowance for Physical 

Deterioration (Depreciation) 
Actual Age 26.5 Year Life Percent Good 

 1 98 

Table 1307.C 
Pipeline Transportation Allowance for Physical 

Deterioration (Depreciation) 
Actual Age 26.5 Year Life Percent Good 

 2 96 
 3 94 
 4 91 
 5 88 
 6 86 
 7 83 
 8 80 
 9 77 
10 73 
11 70 
12 67 
13 63 
14 60 
15 56 
16 52 
17 48 
18 44 
19 39 
20 35 
21 33 
22 30 
23 28 
24 26 
25 25 
26 23 

27 and older 20 * 
* Reflects residual or floor rate. 
 
Note: See §1305.G (page PL-3) for method of recognizing 
economic obsolescence. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:941 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), amended by the Department 
of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:489 (March 1998), LR 
25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:426 
(March 2001), LR 31:719 (March 2005), LR 32:432 (March 2006), 
LR 33:494 (March 2007), LR 34:684 (April 2008), LR 35:499 
(March 2009), LR 36:778 (April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 15. Aircraft 
§1503. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) Table 

A. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 
 

Table 1503 
Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
(20 Years) 

Year Index 
Effective 

Age 
Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2010 0.993 1 97 .96 
2009 0.985 2 93 .92 
2008 1.013 3 90 .91 
2007 1.053 4 86 .91 
2006 1.111 5 82 .91 
2005 1.162 6 78 .91 
2004 1.250 7 74 .90 
2003 1.293 8 70 .89 
2002 1.315 9 65 .85 
2001 1.323 10 60 .79 
2000 1.334 11 55 .73 
1999 1.358 12 50 .68 
1998 1.362 13 45 .61 
1997 1.374 14 40 .55 
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Table 1503 
Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
(20 Years) 

Year Index 
Effective 

Age 
Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

1996 1.396 15 35 .49 
1995 1.418 16 31 .44 
1994 1.469 17 27 .40 
1993 1.510 18 24 .36 
1992 1.539 19 22 .34 
1991 1.558 20 21 .33 
1990 1.589 21 20 .32 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:206 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 
(March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), 
LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 
(March 2005), LR 32:433 (March 2006), LR 33:495 (March 2007), 
LR 34:685 (April 2008), LR 35:499 (March 2009), LR 36:779 
(April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 25. General Business Assets 
§2503. Tables Ascertaining Economic Lives, Percent 

Good and Composite Multipliers of Business 
and Industrial Personal Property 

A. Suggested Guideline For Ascertaining Economic 
Lives of Business and Industrial Personal Property. The 
following alphabetical list includes most of the principal 
activities and types of machinery and equipment used in 
business throughout this state. The years shown represent an 
estimate of the average economic life of the equipment as 
experienced by the particular business or industry. The 
actual economic life of the assets of the business under 
appraisal may be more or less than the guidelines shown. 
The assessor must use his best judgment in consultation with 
the property owner in establishing the economic life of the 
property under appraisal. 

1. Suggested Guidelines for Ascertaining Economic 
Lives of Business and Industrial Personal Property 

 

Table 2503.A 
Business Activity/Type of Equipment 

Average 
Economic 

Life in Years 
Agricultural Machinery & Equipment 
 Feed Mill Equipment (Production Line) 

10 
20 

* * * * * * 
Hospital and Nursing Home Equipment 12 
 High Tech (Computer Driven) Equipment 5 
Hotel F&F 10 

* * * * * * 
*If acquisition cost and age of service station 

equipment are not available, see Chapter 9, Table 
907.B-2 for alternative assessment procedure. 

  

 

B. Cost Indices 
 

Table 2503.B 
Cost Indices 

Year Age 
National Average 

1926 = 100 January 1, 2010 = 100* 
2010 1 1457.4 0.993 
2009 2 1468.6 0.985 
2008 3 1427.3 1.013 
2007 4 1373.3 1.053 
2006 5 1302.3 1.111 
2005 6 1244.5 1.162 
2004 7 1157.3 1.250 
2003 8 1118.6 1.293 
2002 9 1100.0 1.315 
2001 10 1093.4 1.323 
2000 11 1084.3 1.334 
1999 12 1065.0 1.358 
1998 13 1061.8 1.362 
1997 14 1052.7 1.374 
1996 15 1036.0 1.396 
1995 16 1020.4 1.418 
1994 17 985.0 1.469 
1993 18 958.0 1.510 
1992 19 939.8 1.539 
1991 20 928.5 1.558 
1990 21 910.2 1.589 
1989 22 886.5 1.632 
1988 23 841.4 1.719 
1987 24 806.9 1.793 
1986 25 795.4 1.819 
1985 26 787.9 1.836 

*Reappraisal Date: January 1, 2010 – 1446.5 (Base Year) 
 

C. … 
* * * 

D. Composite Multipliers 2011 (2012 Orleans Parish) 
 

Table 2503.D 
Composite Multipliers 

2011 (2012 Orleans Parish) 

Age 
3 

Yr 
5 

Yr 
6 

Yr 
8 

Yr 
10 
Yr 

12 
Yr 

15 
Yr 

20 
Yr 

25 
Yr 

1 .70 .84 .86 .89 .91 .93 .94 .96 .97 
2 .48 .68 .72 .78 .83 .86 .89 .92 .94 
3 .34 .53 .58 .68 .77 .81 .86 .91 .94 
4 .17 .36 .43 .57 .71 .77 .83 .91 .93 
5   .26 .33 .48 .64 .73 .81 .91 .92 
6   .21 .22 .38 .57 .67 .79 .91 .91 
7     .21 .33 .49 .63 .78 .90 .90 
8       .28 .39 .56 .71 .89 .89 
9       .26 .32 .47 .64 .85 .88 
10         .28 .38 .57 .79 .87 
11         .27 .32 .49 .73 .86 
12           .30 .42 .68 .85 
13           .27 .35 .61 .82 
14             .32 .55 .77 
15             .29 .49 .73 
16             .28 .44 .68 
17               .40 .65 
18               .36 .59 
19               .34 .52 
20               .33 .47 
21               .32 .44 
22                 .42 
23                 .41 
24                 .36 
25                 .36 
26                 .35 
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1. Data sources for tables are: 
a. Cost Index―Marshall and Swift Publication Co.; 
b. Percent Good―Marshall and Swift Publication 

Co.; 
c. Average Economic Life―various. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 10:944 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:207 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:317 
(February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 
2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 
30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 (March 2005), LR 32:433 (March 
2006), LR 33:496 (March 2007), LR 34:686 (April 2008), LR 
35:500 (March 2009), LR 36:780 (April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 31. Public Exposure of Assessments; Appeals 
§3101. Public Exposure of Assessments, Appeals to the 

Board of Review and Board of Review Hearings 
A. - G. … 
H. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

the procedure for inspection of assessment lists in Orleans 
Parish shall be as follows. 

1. The assessor shall prepare and make up the lists 
showing the assessment of immovable and movable property 
in Orleans Parish. The lists shall be exposed daily, except 
Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays, for inspection by the 
taxpayers and other interested persons during the period of 
August 1 through August 15 of each year unless August 15 
falls on a weekend or a legal holiday, when the period shall 
extend until the next business day. The assessor shall give 
notice of such exposure for inspection in accordance with 
rules and regulations established by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission. On or before the tenth business day after the 
completion of public inspection, the assessor shall certify his 
rolls to the Board of Review. 

2.a. The Board of Review shall consider all written 
complaints in which the taxpayer has timely filed the reports 
as required by R.S. 47:2301 et seq. and R.S. 47:2321 et seq., 
and which have been: 
 i. filed on the complaint form provided by the 
board, through the Office of the Assessor; 
 ii. completed in conformity with the requirements 
of the Board of Review; 
 iii. received by the Office of the Assessor, no later 
than three business days after the last date on which the lists 
are exposed. 

b. Any complaints received by the assessor’s office 
shall be forwarded to the Board of Review within seven 
business days after the last date in which the lists are 
exposed. 

3. The Board of Review shall convene hearings on or 
before September 15. The board may appoint one or more 
board members as hearing officers, who may conduct all 
required public hearings of the board with or without the 
presence of the other members, provided that no final action 
may be taken unless a quorum of the Board of Review is 
present. The board may make a determination to increase or 

decrease the assessment of real or personal property made by 
the assessor in accordance with the fair market or use 
valuation as determined by the board. 

4. The Board of Review shall certify the assessment 
list to the Louisiana Tax Commission on or before October 
20 of each year. 

I. - K. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA-
Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:512 (March 2000), LR 30:492 
(March 2004), LR 32:435 (March 2006), LR 33:498 (March 2007), 
LR 34:688 (April 2008), LR 35:501 (March 2009), LR 36:781 
(April 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 35. Miscellaneous 
§3501. Service Fees―Tax Commission 

A. The Tax Commission is authorized by R.S. 47:1838 to 
levy and collect fees on an interim basis for the period 
beginning on July 1, 2010, and ending on June 30, 2014, in 
connection with services performed by the Tax Commission 
as follows: 

A.1. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1835 and R.S. 47:1838. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 19:212 (February 
1993), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:494 (March 
1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 (March 2000), LR 
28:521 (March 2002), LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 31:724 (March 
2005), LR 32:439 (March 2006), LR 33:502 (March 2007), LR 
35:501 (March 2009), LR 37: 

 
James D. “Pete” Peters 
Chairman 

1012#079 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXIII.1301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XXIII.1301 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states:“The secretary is directed 
to utilize various cost containment measures to ensure 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed the 
level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not limited 
to precertification, preadmission screening, diversion, fraud 
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control, utilization review and management, prior 
authorization, service limitations, drug therapy management, 
disease management, cost sharing, and other measures as 
permitted under federal law.”This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the Program of All Inclusive Care for 
the Elderly (PACE) to: 1) remove the requirement that 
eligibility decisions be approved by the state administering 
agency; 2) revise PACE disenrollment criteria; 3) allow for 
service area specific rates instead of one statewide rate; and 
4) clarify when the obligation for patient liability begins 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 5). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for a PACE organization to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). Due to a 
continuing budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
PACE organizations to further reduce the reimbursement 
rates. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$171,289 for state fiscal year 2010-2011.  

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Program 
of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXIII.  All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1301. Payment 

A. - J.3. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the monthly capitated amount paid to a PACE 
organization shall be reduced by_2 percent of the capitated 
amount on file as of July 31, 2010.  

L. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the monthly capitated amount paid to a PACE 
organization shall be reduced by_3.09 percent of the 
capitated amount on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:250 (February 2004), amended LR 
33:850 (May 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#010 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Ambulatory Surgical Centers 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XI.7503) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.7503 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory 
surgical centers to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
paid for ambulatory surgical services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 10). As a result of a budgetary shortfall 
in state fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory surgical 
centers to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.7503 as a result of the 
promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule governing 
ambulatory surgical centers (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11).  
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Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has now determined that it is necessary to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for ambulatory surgical services. 
This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$43,433 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ambulatory surgical centers to reduce the reimbursement 
rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 11.  Ambulatory Surgical Centers 

Chapter 75. Reimbursement 
§7503. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for surgical services provided by 
an ambulatory surgical center shall be reduced by 4.4 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement for surgical services provided by 
an ambulatory surgical center shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee amounts on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1889 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2278 (October 2010), 
LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#024 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration 

(LAC 50:V.2503 and 2713) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:V.2503 and adopt §2713 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
repromulgated all of the Rules governing the 
disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment methodology 
in LAC 50:V.Chapters 25 and 27 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 34, Number 4). The department amended the 
provisions governing disproportionate share hospital 
payments to provide for a supplemental payment to hospitals 
that enter into an agreement with a state or local 
governmental entity for the purpose of providing healthcare 
services to low income and needy patients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 1). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the January 
20, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
secure new federal funding and to promote the public health 
and welfare of uninsured individuals by assuring that 
hospitals are adequately reimbursed for furnishing 
uncompensated care.  

Effective January 18, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing disproportionate share hospital 
payments to provide for a supplemental payment to hospitals 
that participate in the Low Income and Needy Care 
Collaboration. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH–MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Medical Assistance Program–Hospital Services 
Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 25. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment 
Methodologies 

§2503. Disproportionate Share Hospital Qualifications 
A. - A.5. ... 

6. effective September 15, 2006, be a non-rural 
community hospital as defined in §2701.A.;  

7.  effective January 20, 2010, be a hospital 
participating in the Low Income and Needy Care 
Collaboration as defined in §2713.A.; and 

8. effective July 1, 1994, must also have a Medicaid 
inpatient utilization rate of at least 1 percent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:655 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 
§2713. Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration 

A. Definitions 
Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration Agreement—

an agreement between a hospital and a state or local 
governmental entity to collaborate for purposes of providing 
healthcare services to low income and needy patients. 

B. In order to qualify under this DSH category in any 
period, a hospital must be party to a Low Income and Needy 
Care Collaboration Agreement with the Department of 
Health and Hospitals in that period. 
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C. DSH payments to Low Income and Needy Care 
Collaborating Hospitals shall be calculated as follows. 

1. In each quarter, the department shall divide 
hospitals qualifying under this DSH category into two pools. 
The first pool shall include hospitals that, in addition to 
qualifying under this DSH category, also qualify for DSH 
payments under any other DSH category. Hospitals in the 
first pool shall be eligible to receive DSH payments under 
§2713.C.2 provisions. The second pool shall include all 
other hospitals qualifying under this DSH category. 
Hospitals in the second pool shall be eligible to receive DSH 
payments under §2713.C.3 provisions. 

2. In each quarter, to the extent the department 
appropriates funding to this DSH category, hospitals that 
qualify under the provisions of §2713.C.2 shall receive 100 
percent of the total amount appropriated by the department 
for this DSH category.  

a. If the net uncompensated care costs of these 
hospitals exceed the amount appropriated for this pool, 
payment shall be made based on each hospital’s pro rata 
share of the pool.  

i. The pro rata share shall be calculated by dividing 
the hospital’s net uncompensated care costs by the total of 
the net uncompensated care costs for all hospitals qualifying 
under §2713.C.2 and multiplying by the amount 
appropriated by the department.  

b. If the amount appropriated for this DSH category 
exceeds the net uncompensated care costs of all hospitals 
qualifying under §2713.C.2, payment shall be made up to 
each hospital’s net uncompensated care costs.  

c. Any amount available after all distributions are 
made under §2713.C.2 provisions shall be distributed subject 
to the provisions in §2713.C.3. 

3. In each quarter, to the extent distributions are 
available, and after all distributions are made under 
§2713.C.2 provisions, distributions under §2713.C.3 
provisions shall be made according to the following terms.  

a. If the net uncompensated care costs of all 
hospitals qualifying for payment under §2713.C.3 provisions 
exceed the amount available for this pool, payment shall be 
made based on each hospital’s pro rata share of the pool. 
 i. The pro rata share shall be calculated by 
dividing its net uncompensated care costs by the total of the 
net uncompensated care costs for all hospitals qualifying 
under §2713.C.3.  

b. If the amount available for payments under 
§2713.C.3 exceeds the net uncompensated care costs of all 
qualifying hospitals, payments shall be made up to each 
hospital’s net uncompensated care costs and the remaining 
amount shall be used by the department to make 
disproportionate share payments under this DSH category in 
future quarters.  

D. In the event it is necessary to reduce the amount of 
disproportionate share payments under this DSH category to 
remain within the federal disproportionate share allotment in 
any quarter, the department shall calculate a pro rata 
decrease for each hospital qualifying under the provisions of 
§2713.C.3. 

1. The pro rata decrease shall be based on a ratio 
determined by: 

a. dividing that hospital’s DSH payments by the 
total DSH payments for all hospitals qualifying under 
§2713.C.3 in that quarter; and  

b. multiplying the amount of DSH payments 
calculated in excess of the federal disproportionate share 
allotment.  

2. If necessary in any quarter, the department will 
reduce Medicaid DSH payments under these provisions to 
zero for all applicable hospitals. 

E. After the reduction in §2713.D has been applied, if it 
is necessary to further reduce the amount of DSH payments 
under this DSH category to remain within the federal 
disproportionate share allotment in any quarter, the 
department shall calculate a pro rata decrease for each 
hospital qualifying under §2713.C.2. 

1. The pro rata decrease shall be based on a ratio 
determined by: 

a. dividing that hospital’s DSH payments by the 
total DSH payments for all hospitals qualifying under 
§2713.C.2 in that quarter; and 

b. multiplying the amount of DSH payments 
calculated in excess of the federal disproportionate share 
allotment.  

2. If necessary in any quarter, the department shall 
reduce Medicaid DSH payments under these provisions to 
zero for all applicable hospitals. 

F. Qualifying hospitals must submit costs and patient 
specific data in a format specified by the department. Costs 
and lengths of stay will be reviewed for reasonableness 
before payments are made. 

G. Payments shall be made on a quarterly basis, 
however, each hospital’s eligibility for DSH and net 
uncompensated care costs shall be determined on an annual 
basis. 

H. Payments to hospitals qualifying under this DSH 
category shall be made subsequent to any DSH payments for 
which a hospital is eligible under another DSH category.  

I. Aggregate DSH payments for hospitals that receive 
payment from this category, and any other DSH category, 
shall not exceed the hospital’s specific DSH limit. If 
payments calculated under this methodology would cause a 
hospital’s aggregate DSH payment to exceed the limit, the 
payment from this category shall be capped at the hospital’s 
specific DSH limit. The remaining payments shall be 
redistributed to the other hospitals in accordance with these 
provisions.  

J. If the amount appropriated for this DSH category 
exceeds the specific DSH limits of all qualifying hospitals, 
payment will be made up to each hospital’s specific DSH 
limit and the remaining amount shall be used by the 
department to make disproportionate share payments under 
this DSH category in future quarters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Center for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
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Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#120 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Dental ProgramReimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50: XV.6903 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services in the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT) Program to reduce the reimbursement 
fees (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for EPSDT dental services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates. In addition, this Emergency Rule 
also amended the provisions governing the covered services 
and reimbursement methodology for the EPSDT Dental 
Program to include an additional dental procedure 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XV.6905 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing EPSDT dental services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for EPSDT 
dental services to further reduce the reimbursement rates. 
This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$1,270,746 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for EPSDT dental services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis and Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental Services 
§6905. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for EPSDT dental services 
shall be reduced to the following percentages of the 2009 
National Dental Advisory Service Comprehensive Fee 
Report 70th percentile, unless otherwise stated in this 
Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the following oral evaluation 
services: 

a. periodic oral examination; 
b. oral examination—patients under three years of 

age; and 
c. comprehensive oral examination—new patient; 

2. 65 percent for the following annual and periodic 
diagnostic and preventive services: 

a. radiographs—periapical, first film;  
b. radiograph—periapical, each additional film; 
c. radiograph—panoramic film; 
d. prophylaxis—adult and child; 
e. topical application of fluoride—adult and child 

(prophylaxis not included); and 
f. topical fluoride varnish, therapeutic application 

for moderate to high caries risk patients (under 6 years of 
age); 

3. 50 percent for the following diagnostic and 
adjunctive general services: 

a. oral/facial images; 
b. non-intravenous conscious sedation; and 
c. hospital call; and 

4. 58 percent for the remainder of the dental services. 
F. Removable prosthodontics and orthodontic services 

are excluded from the August 1, 2010 rate reduction. 
G. Effective for dates of service on and after December 

1, 2010, the reimbursement fees for EPSDT dental services 
shall be reduced to the following percentages of the 2009 
National Dental Advisory Service Comprehensive Fee 
Report 70th percentile, unless otherwise stated in this 
Chapter: 

1. 67.5 percent for the following oral evaluation 
services: 

a. periodic oral examination; 
b. oral Examination-patients under 3 years of age; 

and  
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c. comprehensive oral examination-new patients; 
2. 63.5 percent for the following annual and periodic 

diagnostic and preventive services: 
a. radiographs-periapical, first film; 
b. radiographs-periapical, each additional film; 
c. radiographs-panoramic film; 
d. diagnostic casts; 
e. prophylaxis-adult and child; 
f. topical application of fluoride, adult and child 

(prophylaxis not included); and  
g. topical fluoride varnish, therapeutic application 

for moderate to high caries risk patients (under 6 years of 
age);  

3. 73.5 percent for accession of tissue, gross and 
microscopic examination, preparation and transmission of 
written report; 

4. 70.9 percent for accession of tissue, gross and 
microscopic examination, including assessment of surgical 
margins for presence of disease, preparation and 
transmission of written report; 

5. 50 percent for the following diagnostic and 
adjunctive general services: 

a. oral/facial image; 
b. non-intravenous conscious sedation; and 
c. hospital call; and  

6. 57 percent for the remainder of the dental services. 
H. Removable prosthodontics and orthodontic services 

are excluded from the December 1, 2010 rate reduction. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1138 (June 2007), amended LR 34:1032 
(June 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1890 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:2040 (September 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#021 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Health ServicesEarlySteps Reimbursement Rate 

Reduction (LAC 50:XV.7107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.7107 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 

and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds during the 
2008 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) health services to 
increase the reimbursement rates paid for certain services 
rendered to infants and toddlers in the EarlySteps Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 1). As a result of a 
budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for certain EPSDT health services 
rendered in the EarlySteps Program. This action is being 
taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance 
programs. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $69,374 for state fiscal year 
2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment health services provided through 
the EarlySteps Program to reduce the reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services to Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 71. Health Services 
§7107. EarlySteps Reimbursement 

A. - B.2.e. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for certain Medicaid-covered 
health services rendered in the EarlySteps Program shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the rate in effect on November 30, 
2010.  

1. The following services rendered in the natural 
environment shall be reimbursed at the reduced rate: 

a. audiology services; 
b. speech pathology services; 
c. occupational therapy; 
d. physical therapy; and 
e. psychological services. 

2. Services rendered in special purpose 
facilities/inclusive child care and center-based special 
purpose facilities shall be excluded from this rate reduction. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:800 (April 2004), amended LR 31:2030 
(August 2005), LR 35:69 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#023 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XI.6901 and 6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.6901 and 
§6903 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for end stage 
renal disease (ESRD) facilities to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9). As a result 
of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ESRD facilities to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 

provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.6901-6903 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for ESRD 
facilities to further reduce the reimbursement rates. This 
action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs. It is estimated that implementation of 
this Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $262,105 for state 
fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for end stage renal disease facilities to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 9.  End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 

Chapter 69. Reimbursement 
§6901. General Provisions 

A. End stage renal disease (ESRD) facilities are 
reimbursed a hemodialysis composite rate. The composite 
rate is a comprehensive payment for the complete 
hemodialysis treatment in which the facility assumes 
responsibility for providing all medically necessary routine 
dialysis services. 

B. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rates in effect on November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1022 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1891 (September 2009), LR 36:2040 (September 
2010), LR 37: 
§6903. Medicare Part B Claims 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities for Medicare 
Part B claims shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates in 
effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities for Medicare 
Part B claims shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in 
effect on November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1891 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2040 (September 
2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
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Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#020 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Forensic Supervised Transitional Residential and  
Aftercare Facilities Minimum Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 72) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 48:I.Chapter 72 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:31. This Emergency Rule is promulgated 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 332 of the 2008 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the Department of Health and Hospitals 
to adopt provisions governing the licensing standards for 
forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities. Forensic supervised transitional residential and 
aftercare facilities shall provide care and services to clients 
referred by state forensic hospitals or state forensic inpatient 
psychiatric units currently operated by the department. In 
compliance with the directives of Act 332, the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which adopted 
provisions governing the minimum licensing standards for 
forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 6). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the July 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to clarify the criteria for 
clients served by these facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the September 20, 2010 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to ensure 
continued access to services in a setting that protects the 
public as well as provides a controlled environment for 
individuals who are not capable of living independently and 
need structure in order to function adequately.  

Effective January 19, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts 
provisions governing forensic supervised transitional 
residential and aftercare facilities. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part 1.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 72. Forensic Supervised Transitional 

Residential and Aftercare Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§7201. Introduction 

A. These rules and regulations contain the minimum 
licensure standards for Forensic Supervised Transitional 
Residential and Aftercare (FSTRA) facilities, pursuant to La. 
R.S. 28:31-28:37. These licensing regulations contain core 
requirements as well as module specific requirements, 
depending upon the services provided by the Forensic 
Supervised Transitional Residential and Aftercare facility 
provider. The modules to be licensed under an FSTRA 
license are: 

1. Secure Community Supervised Transitional/ 
Residential Facility; and 

2. Secure Forensic Facility. 
B. A Forensic Supervised Transitional Residential and 

Aftercare facility serves clients referred by state forensic 
hospitals or state forensic inpatient psychiatric units operated 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, including 
persons who are court ordered and persons who are on court 
ordered conditional release status. An FSTRA facility shall 
operate seven days per week, 24 hours a day.  

C. The care and services to be provided through 
arrangement or by the FSTRA facility shall include, but are 
not limited to the following: 

1. behavioral health services; 
2. nutritional services; 
3. medication management;  
4. assistance with independent living skills; 
5. recreational services; and  
6. transportation services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7203. Definitions 

Administrator—the person responsible for the on-site, 
daily implementation and supervision of the overall facility’s 
operation commensurate with the authority conferred by the 
governing body.  

Behavior Management—techniques, measures, 
interventions and procedures applied in a systematic fashion 
to promote positive behavioral or functional change which 
fosters the client's self-control, and to prevent or interrupt a 
client's behavior which threatens harm to the client or others. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals. 

Forensic Clients—persons transitioned from a forensic 
facility established pursuant to R.S. 28:25.1(A) or (B). 

Forensic Supervised Transitional Residential and 
Aftercare Facility—a facility that provides supervised 
transitional residential and aftercare services to forensic 
clients, including persons who are court ordered or who are 
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on court ordered conditional release status. A forensic 
supervised transitional residential and aftercare facility shall 
provide clients, referred by state operated forensic 
facilities/hospitals and under court order or court ordered 
forensic conditional release, with individualized services to 
develop daily living skills and to prepare for vocational 
adjustment and reentry into the community. 

Forensic Psychiatrist—a physician, currently licensed to 
practice medicine in Louisiana, who: 

1. signs the order admitting the individual to the 
FSTRA facility; 

2. maintains overall responsibility for the client’s 
medical management; and 

3. is available for consultation and collaboration with 
the FSTRA facility staff. 

Licensee—the person, partnership, company, corporation, 
association, organization, professional entity, or other entity 
to whom a license is granted by the licensing agency and 
upon whom rests the ultimate responsibility and authority 
for the conduct of and services provided by the FSTRA 
facility.  

Secure Community Supervised Transitional/Residential 
Facility—a secure residential facility within the community 
that provides individualized services to persons who are 
under a court order or court ordered forensic conditional 
release and who are referred by a state forensic hospital or 
state forensic psychiatric unit. These services enable such 
persons to develop daily living skills and to prepare for 
vocational adjustment and reentry into the community.  

Secure Forensic Facility—a secure residential facility 
located on the grounds of a state hospital that provides 
individualized services, including personal care services and 
medication administration, to persons who are under a court 
order or court ordered forensic conditional release and who 
are referred by a state forensic hospital or state forensic 
psychiatric unit. These services prepare such persons for 
transition to a less restrictive environment before 
transitioning to the community.  

Treatment Plan—a comprehensive plan developed by the 
FSTRA facility for each client that includes the services each 
client needs. It shall include the provision of 
medical/psychiatric, nursing and psychosocial services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7205. Licensing Requirements  

A. Any person or entity applying for an FSTRA license 
shall meet all of the core licensing requirements contained in 
this Subchapter as well as module specific requirements, 
unless otherwise specifically noted herein.  

B. All facilities providing forensic supervised 
transitional residential and aftercare services shall be 
licensed by the department. An FSTRA facility shall not be 
established, opened, operated, managed, maintained, or 
conducted in this state without a license issued by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals. Each facility shall be 
separately licensed.  

C. The Department of Health and Hospitals is the only 
licensing authority for FSTRA facilities in the State of 
Louisiana. It shall be unlawful to operate an FSTRA facility 
without possessing a current, valid license issued by the 
department.  

D. Each FSTRA license shall: 
1. be issued only to the person or entity named in the 

license application; 
2. be valid only for the facility to which it is issued 

and only for the specific geographic address of that facility; 
3. be valid for one year from the date of issuance, 

unless revoked, suspended, or modified prior to that date, or 
unless a provisional license is issued;  

4. expire on the last day of the twelfth month after the 
date of issuance, unless timely renewed by the facility; 

5. not be subject to sale, assignment, donation, or 
other transfer, whether voluntary or involuntary; and  

6. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises at all times. 

E. In order for the FSTRA facility to be considered 
operational and retain licensed status, the facility shall meet 
the following conditions. 

1. The facility shall provide 24-hour, seven days per 
week supervision consisting of: 

a. at least three direct care staff persons during the 
day and two awake staff during the night; 

b. at least two direct care staff persons in each 
building and/or unit at all times when clients are present; and  

c.  a functional security system on all points of 
ingress and egress with 24-hour, seven days per week 
monitoring by awake staff. 

2. There shall be staff employed and available to be 
assigned to provide care and services to each client during 
all operational hours consistent with the behavioral health 
needs of each client.  

3. The FSTRA facility shall have provided services to 
at least two clients in the preceding 12 month period in order 
to be eligible to renew its license.  

F. The licensed FSTRA facility shall abide by and 
adhere to any state law, rules, policy, procedure, manual, or 
memorandums pertaining to such facilities.  

G. A separately licensed FSTRA facility shall not use a 
name which is substantially the same as the name of another 
such facility licensed by the department, unless the facility is 
under common ownership with other FSTRA facilities. 

H. No branches, satellite locations or offsite campuses 
will be authorized for an FSTRA facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
§7207. Initial Licensing Application Process  

A. An initial application for licensing as an FSTRA 
facility shall be obtained from the department. A completed 
initial license application packet for an FSTRA facility must 
be submitted to and approved by the department prior to an 
applicant providing services. An applicant must submit a 
completed initial licensing packet to the department, which 
shall include: 

1. a completed FSTRA facility licensure application 
and the non-refundable licensing fee as established by 
statute;  

2. a copy of the approval letter of the architectural 
facility plans from the Office of the State Fire Marshal and 
any other office/entity designated by the department to 
review and approve the facility’s architectural plans; 
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3. a copy of the on-site inspection report with 
approval for occupancy by the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal; 

4. a copy of the health inspection report with approval 
of occupancy from the Office of Public Health; 

5. a copy of the statewide criminal background checks 
on the following persons: 

a. all individual owners with a 5 percent or more 
ownership interest in the FSTRA facility entity; 

b. facility administrators; and  
c. members of the facility’s board of directors, if 

applicable; 
6. proof of financial viability, comprised of the 

following:  
a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 

licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$100,000;  

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $300,000; and 

c. worker’s compensation insurance.  
7. if applicable, Clinical Laboratory Improvement 

Amendments (CLIA) certificate or CLIA certificate of 
waiver; 

8. a letter-sized floor sketch or drawing of the 
premises to be licensed; and 

9. any other documentation or information required by 
the department for licensure.  

B. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete when 
submitted, the applicant will be notified of the missing 
information and will have 90 days from receipt of the 
notification to submit the additional requested information. 
If the additional requested information is not submitted to 
the department within 90 days, the application will be 
closed. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in becoming an FSTRA 
facility must submit a new initial licensing packet with a 
new initial licensing fee to start the initial licensing process.  

C. Once the initial licensing application packet has been 
approved by the department, notification of such approval 
shall be forwarded to the applicant. Within 90 days of receipt 
of the approval of the application, the applicant must notify 
the department that the FSTRA facility is ready and is 
requesting an initial licensing survey. If an applicant fails to 
notify the department within 90 days, the initial licensing 
application shall be closed. After an initial licensing 
application is closed, an applicant who is still interested in 
becoming a licensed FSTRA facility must submit a new 
initial licensing packet with a new initial licensing fee to 
start the initial licensing process.  

D. When issued, the initial Forensic Supervised 
Transitional Residential and Aftercare facility license shall 
specify the capacity of the facility.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7209. Types of Licenses 

A. The department shall have the authority to issue the 
following types of licenses: 

1. Full Initial License. The department shall issue a 
full license to the facility when the initial licensing survey 
finds that the facility is compliant with all licensing laws and 
regulations, and is compliant with all other required statutes, 

laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees. The license 
shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license 
unless the license is modified, revoked, or suspended.  

2. Provisional Initial License. The department shall 
issue a provisional initial license to the facility when the 
initial licensing survey finds that the facility is noncompliant 
with any licensing laws or regulations or any other required 
statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations or fees, but the 
department determines that the noncompliance does not 
present a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the 
individuals receiving services. The provisional license shall 
be valid for a period not to exceed six months.  

3. Full Renewal License. The department shall issue a 
full renewal license to an existing licensed FSTRA facility 
which is in substantial compliance with all applicable 
federal, state, departmental and local statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations and fees. The license shall be 
valid until the expiration date shown on the license unless 
the license is modified, revoked, or suspended.  

B. The department, in its sole discretion, may issue a 
provisional license to an existing licensed FSTRA facility 
for a period not to exceed six months for the following 
reasons. 

1. The existing facility has more than five deficient 
practices or deficiencies cited during any one survey. 

2. The existing facility has more than three validated 
complaints in one licensed year period. 

3. The existing facility has been issued a deficiency 
that involved placing a client at risk for serious harm or 
death.  

4. The existing facility has failed to correct deficient 
practices within 60 days of being cited for such deficient 
practices or at the time of a follow-up survey. 

5. The existing facility is not in substantial 
compliance with all applicable federal, state, departmental 
and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules regulations and 
fees at the time of renewal of the license.  

C. When the department issues a provisional license to 
an existing licensed FSTRA facility, the department shall 
conduct an on-site follow-up survey at the facility prior to 
the expiration of the provisional license, and shall issue 
written notice of the results of the follow-up survey.  

1. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
facility has corrected the deficient practices and has 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the department may issue a full license for the 
remainder of the year until the anniversary date of the 
facility license.  

2. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
facility has not corrected the deficient practices or has not 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the provisional license shall expire and the facility 
shall be required to begin the initial licensing process again 
by submitting a new initial license application packet and 
fee, if no timely informal reconsideration or administrative 
appeal is filed pursuant to this Chapter.  

a. At the sole discretion of the department, the 
provisional license may be extended for a period, not to 
exceed 90 days, in order for the FSTRA facility to correct 
the noncompliance or deficiencies. 

D. When the department issues a provisional license as a 
result of the initial licensing survey, the facility shall submit 
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a plan of correction to the department for approval, and shall 
be required to correct all such noncompliance or deficiencies 
prior to the expiration of the provisional license. The 
department shall conduct an on-site follow-up survey at the 
facility prior to the expiration of the provisional license and 
shall issue written notice to the provider of the results of the 
follow-up survey.  

1. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 
determined by the department to be corrected on a follow-up 
survey, a full license will be issued.  

2. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are not 
corrected on the follow-up survey, the provisional license 
shall expire and the provider shall be required to begin the 
initial licensing process again by submitting a new initial 
license application packet and fee.  

a. At the sole discretion of the department, the 
provisional license may be extended for an additional period, 
not to exceed 90 days, in order for the FSTRA facility to 
correct the noncompliance or deficiencies. 

E. The license for an FSTRA facility shall be valid for 
one year from the date of issuance, unless revoked, 
suspended, or modified prior to that time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7211. Licensing Surveys 

A. Prior to the initial license being issued to the FSTRA 
facility, an initial licensing survey shall be conducted on-site 
at the facility to assure compliance with licensing standards. 
The facility shall not provide services until the initial 
licensing survey has been performed and the facility found 
in compliance with the licensing standards. The initial 
licensing survey shall be an announced survey. 

B. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the FSTRA facility is compliant with all licensing laws, 
regulations and other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 
rules, regulations, and fees, the department shall issue a full 
license to the provider. 

C. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the FSTRA facility is noncompliant with any licensing laws 
or regulations, or any other required statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules or regulations, that present a potential 
threat to the health, safety, or welfare of clients, the 
department shall deny the initial license. 

D. Once an initial license has been issued, the 
department shall conduct licensing and other surveys at 
intervals deemed necessary by the department to determine 
compliance with licensing standards and regulations, as well 
as other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations, and fees. These surveys shall be unannounced.  

E. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any survey 
where deficiencies have been cited to ensure correction of 
the deficient practices.  

1. An acceptable plan of correction may be required 
from an FSTRA facility for any survey where deficiencies 
have been cited. 

2. If deficiencies have been cited, regardless of 
whether an acceptable plan of correction is required, the 
department may issue appropriate sanctions, including, but 
not limited to: 

a. civil monetary penalties; 
b. directed plans of correction; and 
c. license revocations.  

F. DHH surveyors and staff shall be: 
1. given access to all areas of the facility and all 

relevant files during any licensing or other survey; and  
2. allowed to interview any provider staff, or client as 

necessary to conduct the survey. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

28:31-28:37. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7213. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel 

A. An FSTRA facility license shall be valid only for the 
person or entity named in the license application and only 
for the specific geographic address listed on the license 
application.  

B. Any change regarding the FSTRA facility name, 
“doing business as” name, mailing address, phone number, 
or any combination thereof, shall be reported in writing to 
the department within five days of the occurrence. Any 
change regarding the facility name or “doing business as” 
name requires a change to the facility license and requires a 
$25 fee for the reissuance of an amended license.  

C. Any change regarding the facility’s key administrative 
personnel shall be reported in writing to the department 
within five days of the change. 

1. Key administrative personnel include the 
administrator, physician/psychiatrist and the registered nurse 
supervisor.  

2. The facility’s notice to the department shall include 
the individual’s: 

a. name; 
b. facility address; 
c. hire date; and 
d. qualifications.  

D. A change of ownership (CHOW) of the FSTRA 
facility shall be reported in writing to the department within 
five days of the change of ownership.  

1. The license of an FSTRA facility is not transferable 
or assignable. The license of an FSTRA facility cannot be 
sold.  

2. In the event of a CHOW, the new owner shall 
submit the legal CHOW document, all documents required 
for a new license, and the applicable licensing fee. Once all 
application requirements are completed and approved by the 
department, a new license shall be issued to the new owner.  

3. An FSTRA facility that is under license suspension, 
revocation, or denial of renewal may not undergo a CHOW.  

E. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 
accompanied by a $25 fee.  

F. An FSTRA facility that intends to change the physical 
address of its geographic location is required to have plan 
review approval, Office of State Fire Marshall approval, 
Office of Public Health approval, compliance with other 
applicable licensing requirements, and an on-site licensing 
survey prior to the relocation the facility.  

1. Written notice of intent to relocate shall be 
submitted to the licensing section of the department when 
plan review request is submitted to the department for 
approval. 
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2. The relocation of the facility’s physical address 
results in a new anniversary date and the full licensing fee 
shall be paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 367 
§7215. Renewal of License 

A. License Renewal Application. The FSTRA facility 
shall submit a completed license renewal application packet 
to the department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of 
the existing current license. The license renewal application 
packet shall include: 

1. the license renewal application; 
2. a copy of the current on-site inspection with 

approval for occupancy from the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal;  

3. a copy of the current on-site inspection report with 
approval of occupancy from the Office of Public Health; 

4. proof of financial viability, comprised of the 
following: 

a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 
licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$100,000;  

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $300,000; and 

c. worker’s compensation insurance; 
5. the license renewal fee; and  
6. any other documentation required by the 

department.  
B. The department may perform an on-site survey and 

inspection upon annual renewal of a license.  
C. Failure to submit a completed license renewal 

application packet prior to the expiration of the current 
license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the 
Forensic Supervised Transitional Client and Aftercare 
license. 

D. The renewal of a license or the denial of a renewal 
application does not in any manner affect any sanction, civil 
monetary penalty, or other action imposed by the department 
against the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7217. Denial of License, Revocation of License, Denial 

of License Renewal  
A. In accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, the department may: 
1. deny an application for a license; 
2. deny a license renewal; or  
3. revoke a license 

B. Denial of an Initial License 
1. The department shall deny an initial license when 

the initial licensing survey finds that the FSTRA facility is 
noncompliant with any licensing laws or regulations or with 
any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or 
regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 
safety, or welfare of the clients who will be served by the 
facility.  

2. The department may deny an initial license for any 
of the reasons in this Chapter that a license may be revoked 
or non-renewed.  

C. Voluntary Non-Renewal of a License 
1. If a provider fails to timely renew its license, the 

license expires on its face and is considered voluntarily 
surrendered. There are no appeal rights for such surrender or 
non-renewal of the license, as this is a voluntary action on 
the part of the provider.  

2. If a provider fails to timely renew its license, the 
facility shall immediately cease and desist providing 
services, unless the provider is actively treating clients, in 
which case the provider shall comply with the following: 

a. immediately provide written notice to the 
department of the number of clients receiving treatment at 
the FSTRA facility; 

b. immediately provide written notice to the 
prescribing physician and to the client or legal representative 
of the following: 
 i. notice of voluntary non-renewal; 
 ii. notice of closure; and 
 iii. plans for orderly transition of the client(s); 

c. discharge and transition of each client within 15 
days of voluntary non-renewal; and 

d. notify the department of the location where 
records will be stored and the contact person for the records. 

3. If an FSTRA facility fails to follow these 
procedures, the owners, managers, officers, directors, and 
administrators may be prohibited from opening, managing, 
directing, operating, or owning an FSTRA facility for a 
period of two years.  

D. Revocation of License or Denial of License Renewal. 
An FSTRA facility license may be revoked or may be denied 
renewal for any of the following reasons, including but not 
limited to: 

1. failure to be in substantial compliance with the 
FSTRA facility licensing laws, rules and regulations, or with 
other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, or 
regulations;  

2. failure to comply with the terms and provisions of a 
settlement agreement or education letter with or from the 
department, the Attorney General’s office, any regulatory 
agency, or any law enforcement agency;  

3. failure to uphold clients’ rights whereby deficient 
practices result in harm, injury, or death of a client; 

4. negligent or harmful failure to protect a client from 
a harmful act of an employee or other client including, but 
not limited to: 

a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 
extortion; 

b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation;  
e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity;  

5. failure to notify the proper authorities, as required 
by federal or state law, rules or regulations, of all suspected 
cases of: 

a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 
extortion; 

b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation;  
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e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity;  

6. knowingly making a false statement in any of the 
following areas, including but not limited to: 

a. application for initial license or renewal of 
license; 

b. data forms; 
c. clinical records, client records or facility records; 
d. matters under investigation by the department or 

the Office of the Attorney General; or 
e. information submitted for reimbursement from 

any payment source; 
7. knowingly making a false statement or providing 

false, forged, or altered information or documentation to 
department employees or to law enforcement agencies;  

8. the use of false, fraudulent or misleading 
advertising; 

9. fraudulent operation of an FSTRA facility by the 
owner, administrator, manager, member, officer or director; 

10. an owner, officer, member, manager, administrator, 
director or person designated to manage or supervise client 
care has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, or has 
been convicted of a felony, as documented by a certified 
copy of the record of the court. For purposes of these 
provisions, conviction of a felony includes a felony relating 
to any of the following: 

a. violence, abuse, or negligence of a person; 
b. misappropriation of property belonging to 

another person;  
c. cruelty, exploitation, or sexual battery of a person 

with disabilities;  
d. a drug offense;  
e. crimes of sexual nature; 
f. a firearm or deadly weapon; 
g. fraud or misappropriation of federal or state 

funds, including Medicare or Medicaid funds;  
11. failure to comply with all reporting requirements in 

a timely manner as required by the department; 
12. failure to allow or refusal to allow the department 

to conduct an investigation or survey, or to interview 
provider staff or clients; 

13. failure to allow or refusal to allow access to facility 
or client records by authorized departmental personnel; or  

14. cessation of business or non-operational status.  
E. If an existing FSTRA facility has been issued a notice 

of license revocation or suspension and the provider’s 
license is due for annual renewal, the department shall deny 
the license renewal. The denial of the license renewal does 
not affect in any manner the license revocation.  

F. If an FSTRA facility license is revoked or renewal is 
denied, (other than for cessation of business or non-
operational status) any owner, officer, member, director, 
manager, or administrator of such FSTRA facility may be 
prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating, or 
owning another FSTRA facility for a period of two years 
from the date of the final disposition of the revocation or 
denial action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

§7219. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 
Revocation and License Non-Renewal and 
Appeal of Provisional License 

A. Notice of a license denial, license revocation or 
license non-renewal shall be given to the provider in writing.  

B. An FSTRA facility has a right to an informal 
reconsideration of the license denial, license revocation, or 
license non-renewal. There is no right to an informal 
reconsideration of a voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a 
license by the provider. 

1. The FSTRA facility shall request the informal 
reconsideration within 10 calendar days of the receipt of the 
notice of the license denial, license revocation, or license 
non-renewal. The request for informal reconsideration shall 
be in writing and shall be forwarded to the department’s 
Health Standards Section.  

2. The request for informal reconsideration shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error.  

3. If a timely request for an informal reconsideration 
is received by the Health Standards Section, an informal 
reconsideration shall be scheduled and the facility will 
receive written notification of the date of the informal 
reconsideration. 

4. The facility shall have the right to appear in person 
at the informal reconsideration and may be represented by 
counsel. 

5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is the 
basis for the denial, revocation or non-renewal, shall not be a 
basis for reconsideration.  

6. The informal reconsideration process is not in lieu 
of the administrative appeals process.  

7. The facility will be notified in writing of the results 
of the informal reconsideration. 

C. An FSTRA facility has a right to an administrative 
appeal of the license denial, license revocation, or license 
non-renewal. There is no right to an administrative appeal of 
a voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
provider. 

1. The FSTRA facility shall request the administrative 
appeal within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the notice of 
the results of the informal reconsideration of the license 
denial, license revocation, or license non-renewal. The 
facility may forego its rights to an informal reconsideration, 
and if so, the facility shall request the administrative appeal 
within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the notice of the 
license denial, license revocation, or license non-renewal. 
The request for administrative appeal shall be in writing and 
shall be submitted to the DHH Bureau of Appeals.  

2. The request for administrative appeal shall include 
any documentation that demonstrates that the determination 
was made in error and shall include the basis and specific 
reasons for the appeal.  

3. If a timely request for an administrative appeal is 
received by the Bureau of Appeals, the administrative appeal 
of the license revocation or license non-renewal shall be 
suspensive, and the facility shall be allowed to continue to 
operate and provide services until such time as the 
department issues a final administrative decision.  

a. If the secretary of the department determines that 
the violations of the facility pose an imminent or immediate 
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threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a client, the 
imposition of the license revocation or license non-renewal 
may be immediate and may be enforced during the pendency 
of the administrative appeal. The facility shall be notified of 
this determination in writing.  

4. Correction of a violation or a deficiency which is 
the basis for the denial, revocation, or non-renewal, shall not 
be a basis for the administrative appeal. 

D. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the 
facility on a license denial, license non-renewal, or license 
revocation, the Bureau of Appeals shall conduct the hearing 
within 90 days of the docketing of the administrative appeal. 
One extension, not to exceed 90 days, may be granted by the 
Bureau of Appeals if good cause is shown. 

1. If the final agency decision is to reverse the license 
denial, the license non-renewal or the license revocation, the 
facility’s license will be re-instated or granted upon the 
payment of any licensing or other fees due to the department 
and the payment of any outstanding sanctions due to the 
department. 

2. If the final agency decision is to affirm the license 
non-renewal or the license revocation, the facility shall 
discharge any and all clients receiving services. Within 10 
days of the final agency decision, the facility shall notify the 
department’s licensing section in writing of the secure and 
confidential location of where its records will be stored.  

E. There is no right to an informal reconsideration or an 
administrative appeal of the issuance of a provisional license 
to a new FSTRA facility. A provider who has been issued a 
provisional license is licensed and operational for the term of 
the provisional license. The issuance of a provisional license 
to an existing FSTRA facility is not considered to be a denial 
of license, a denial of license renewal, or a license 
revocation.  

F. A provider with a provisional initial license or an 
existing provider with a provisional license that expires due 
to noncompliance or deficiencies cited at the follow-up 
survey, shall have the right to an informal reconsideration 
and the right to an administrative appeal regarding the 
deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey.  

1. The facility has five calendar days from the receipt 
of the department’s notice of the results of the follow-up 
survey to submit a written request for informal 
reconsideration of the follow-up survey findings.  

2. The informal reconsideration and the administrative 
appeal are limited to whether the deficiencies were properly 
cited at the follow-up survey.  

3. The correction of a violation, noncompliance, or 
deficiency after the follow-up survey shall not be the basis 
for the informal reconsideration or for the administrative 
appeal.  

4. The facility has five calendar days from the receipt 
of the department’s notice of the result of the informal 
reconsideration to submit a written request for an 
administrative appeal. If the facility chooses not to request 
an informal reconsideration, the facility may submit a 
written request for an administrative appeal within five 
calendar days of receipt of the notice of the results of the 
follow-up survey.  

G. A facility with a provisional license that expires under 
the provisions of this Chapter shall cease providing services 

and discharge clients unless the Bureau of Appeals issues a 
stay of the expiration.  

1. A stay may be granted by the Bureau of Appeals 
upon application by the provider at the time the 
administrative appeal is filed and only: 

a. after a contradictory hearing; and  
b. upon a showing that there is no potential harm to 

the clients being served by the facility.  
H. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by a 

facility with a provisional license that has expired under the 
provisions of this Chapter, the Bureau of Appeals shall 
conduct the hearing within 90 days of the docketing of the 
administrative appeal. One extension, not to exceed 90 days, 
may be granted by the Bureau of Appeals if good cause is 
shown.  

1. If the final agency decision is to remove all 
deficiencies, the facility’s license will be reinstated upon the 
payment of any licensing or other fees due to the department 
and the payment of any outstanding sanctions due to the 
department. 

2. If the final agency decision is to uphold the 
deficiencies and affirm the expiration of the provisional 
license, the facility shall discharge all clients receiving 
services. Within 10 days of the final agency decision, the 
facility shall notify the department’s licensing section in 
writing of the secure and confidential location of where 
records will be stored. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7221. Complaint Surveys  

A. The department shall conduct complaint surveys in 
accordance with R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq.  

B. Complaint surveys shall be unannounced surveys. 
C. An acceptable plan of correction may be required by 

the department for any complaint survey where deficiencies 
have been cited.  

D. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any 
complaint survey where deficiencies have been cited to 
ensure correction of the deficient practices. If the department 
determines that other action, such as license revocation, is 
appropriate, a follow-up survey may not be required. The 
facility will be notified of any action.  

E. The department may issue appropriate sanctions, 
including but not limited to, civil monetary penalties, 
directed plans of correction, and license revocations, for 
deficiencies and non-compliance with any complaint survey. 

F. DHH surveyors and staff shall be given access to all 
areas of the facility and all relevant files during any 
complaint survey. DHH surveyors and staff shall be allowed 
to interview any provider staff, client, or participant, as 
necessary or required to conduct the survey. 

G. An FSTRA facility which has been cited with 
violations or deficiencies on a complaint survey has the right 
to request an informal reconsideration of the validity of the 
violations or deficiencies. The written request for an 
informal reconsideration shall be submitted to the 
department’s Health Standards Section. The department 
must receive the written request within 10 calendar days of 
the facility’s receipt of the notice of the violations or 
deficiencies. 
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H. A complainant shall have the right to request an 
informal reconsideration of the findings of the complaint 
survey or investigation. The written request for an informal 
reconsideration shall be submitted to the department’s 
Health Standards Section. The department must receive the 
written request within 30 calendar days of the complainant’s 
receipt of the results of the complaint survey or 
investigation.  

I. An informal reconsideration for a complaint survey or 
investigation shall be conducted by the department as an 
administrative review. The facility or complainant shall 
submit all documentation or information for review for the 
informal reconsideration, and the department shall consider 
all documentation or information submitted. There is no 
right to appear in person at the informal reconsideration of a 
complaint survey or investigation. Correction of the 
violation or deficiency shall not be the basis for the 
reconsideration. The facility and/or the complainant shall be 
notified in writing of the results of the informal 
reconsideration. 

J. Except as provided in Paragraph K of this Section, the 
informal reconsideration shall constitute final action by the 
department regarding the complaint survey or investigation, 
and there shall be no right to an administrative appeal. 

K. In those complaints in which the department’s Health 
Standards Section determines that the complaint involves 
issues that have resulted in, or are likely to result in, serious 
harm or death to the client, the complainant or the provider 
may appeal the informal reconsideration findings to the 
Bureau of Appeals. 

1. The written request for administrative appeal shall 
be submitted to the Bureau of Appeals and must be received 
within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the results of the 
informal reconsideration. 

2. The hearing before the Bureau of Appeals is limited 
to the evidence presented at the informal reconsideration, 
unless the complainant or the facility has obtained additional 
evidence vital to the issues which he could not have with due 
diligence obtained before or during the informal 
reconsideration. 

3. The administrative law judge shall only make a 
determination on the administrative appeal, based on the 
evidence presented, as to whether or not the complaint 
investigation or survey was conducted properly or 
improperly. The administrative law judge shall not have the 
authority to overturn or delete deficiencies or violations, and 
shall not have the authority to add deficiencies or violations. 

4. If the administrative law judge determines that the 
complaint investigation or survey was not conducted 
properly, he shall designate in writing and with specificity 
the methods by which a re-investigation shall be conducted. 

5. No appeal shall lie from a re-investigation upon a 
prima facie showing that the re-investigation was conducted 
in accordance with the designations of the administrative 
law judge.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7223. Statement of Deficiencies  

A. The following statements of deficiencies issued by the 
department to an FSTRA facility shall be posted in a 
conspicuous place on the licensed premises: 

1. the most recent annual survey statement of 
deficiencies; and 

2. any subsequent complaint survey statement of  
deficiencies.  
B. Any statement of deficiencies issued by the 

department to an FSTRA facility shall be available for 
disclosure to the public 30 calendar days after the provider 
submits an acceptable plan of correction of the deficiencies 
or 90 calendar days after the statement of deficiencies is 
issued to the provider, whichever occurs first.  

C. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in this 
Chapter, a facility shall have the right to an informal 
reconsideration of any deficiencies cited as a result of a 
survey or investigation.  

1. Correction of the deficient practice, of the violation, 
or of the noncompliance shall not be the basis for the 
reconsideration.  

2. The informal reconsideration of the deficiencies 
shall be requested in writing within 10 calendar days of 
receipt of the statement of deficiencies, unless otherwise 
provided for in these provisions. 

3. The written request for informal reconsideration of 
the deficiencies shall be submitted to the Health Standards 
Section.  

4. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2009.11 et seq., and as provided in this Chapter 
for license denials, revocations, and non-renewals, the 
decision of the informal reconsideration team shall be the 
final administrative decision regarding the deficiencies. 
There is no administrative appeal right of such deficiencies.  

5. The facility shall be notified in writing of the 
results of the informal reconsideration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7225. Cessation of Business 

A. A facility that intends to close or cease operations 
shall comply with the following procedure: 

1. give 30 days advance written notice to the: 
a. department; 
b. forensic physician; and 
c. ordering court of any conditional release 

client(s); 
2. notify the department of the location where records 

will be stored and the contact person for the records; and 
3. provide for an orderly discharge and transition of 

all clients admitted to the facility. 
B. If an FSTRA facility fails to follow these procedures, 

the owners, managers, officers, directors and administrators 
may be prohibited from opening, managing, directing, 
operating or owning an FSTRA facility for a period of two 
years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Administration and Organization 
§7231. Governing Body 

A. Each provider shall have an identifiable governing 
body with responsibility for, and authority over, the policies 
and activities of the program/facility. 
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B. A provider shall have documents identifying the 
following information regarding the governing body: 

1. names and addresses of all members; 
2. terms of membership; 
3. officers of the governing body; and 
4. terms of office of any officers. 

C. When the governing body of a provider is comprised 
of more than one person, the governing body shall hold 
formal meetings at least twice a year. There shall be written 
minutes of all formal meetings and bylaws specifying 
frequency of meetings and quorum requirements. 

D. When the governing body is composed of only one 
person, this person shall assume all responsibilities of the 
governing body. 

E. Responsibilities of a Governing Body. The governing 
body of a provider shall: 

1. ensure the provider's compliance and conformity 
with the provider's charter or other organizational 
documents; 

2. ensure the provider's continual compliance and 
conformity with all relevant federal, state, local, and 
municipal laws and regulations; 

3. ensure that the provider is adequately funded and 
fiscally sound; 

4. review and approve the provider's annual budget; 
5. designate a person to act as administrator and 

delegate sufficient authority to this person to manage the 
provider (a sole owner may be the administrator); 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation with 
the administrator, written policies concerning the provider's 
philosophy, goals, current services, personnel 

practices, job descriptions and fiscal management; 
7. annually evaluate the administrator's performance 

(if a sole owner is not acting as administrator); 
8. have the authority to dismiss the administrator (if a 

sole owner is not acting as administrator); 
9.  meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 
10. inform designated representatives of the department 

prior to initiating any substantial changes in the services 
provided by the provider; and 

11. notify the Health Standards Section in writing at 
least 30 days prior to any change in ownership. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7233. Policy and Procedures 

A. An FSTRA provider shall establish procedures to 
assure written communication among staff to provide 
continuity of services to all clients. 

B. Direct care employees shall have access to 
information concerning clients that is necessary for effective 
performance of the employee's assigned tasks. 

C. Confidentiality and Security of Files. A provider shall 
have written procedures for the maintenance and security of 
records specifying who shall supervise the maintenance of 
records, who shall have custody of records and to whom 
records may be released.  

D. A provider shall allow designated representatives of 
the department, in the performance of their mandated duties, 
to inspect all aspects of a provider's functioning which 

impact on clients and to interview any staff member or 
client. 

1. A provider shall make any information or records 
that the provider is required to have and any information 
reasonably related to assessment of compliance with these 
requirements available to the department. 

2. The client's rights shall not be considered abridged 
by this requirement. 

E. Procedures shall address the following. 
1. Confidentiality of Records 

a. A provider shall maintain the confidentiality of 
all clients' records. Employees of the facility shall not 
disclose or knowingly permit the disclosure of any 
information concerning the client or his/her family, directly, 
or indirectly, to any unauthorized person. 

b. A provider may use material from records for 
teaching and research purposes, if names are deleted and 
other identifying information is disguised or deleted. 

2. Release of Information  
a. A provider shall obtain the client's or legal 

representative's written, informed permission prior to 
releasing any information from which the client or his/her 
family might be identified, except to the department. 

b. Identifying information may be given to 
appropriate authorities in cases of an emergency. 

c. The provider shall have a procedure by which 
representatives or family of clients is given an opportunity to 
receive information about the individual client in care of the 
facility. 

3. Publicity 
a. A provider shall have written policies and 

procedures regarding the photographing and audio or 
audiovisual recordings of clients. 

b. No client shall be photographed or recorded 
without the client's prior informed, written consent. Such 
consent cannot be made a condition for admission into, 
remaining in, or participating fully in the activities of the 
facility. 
 i. Consent agreements must clearly notify the 
client of his/her rights under this regulation, must specify 
precisely what use is to be made of the photograph or 
recordings, and are valid for a maximum of one year from 
the date of execution.  
 ii. Clients are free to revoke such agreements at 
any time, either orally or in writing. 

c. All photographs and recordings shall be used in a 
way that respects the dignity and confidentiality of the 
client. 

F. Personnel Policies. A provider shall have written 
personnel policies that include: 

1. a plan for recruitment, screening, orientation, 
ongoing training, development, supervision, and 
performance evaluation of staff members; 

2. written job descriptions for each staff position 
including volunteers; 

3. policies which provide for staff, upon offer of 
employment, to have a health assessment as defined in the 
provider's policy and procedures.  

a. These policies shall, at a minimum, require that 
the individual has no evidence of active tuberculosis and that 
staff shall be retested on a time schedule as mandated by the 
Office of Public Health. Test results dated within one year 
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prior to the offer of employment are acceptable for initial 
employment; 

4. an employee grievance procedure; 
5. abuse reporting procedures that require all 

employees to report any incidents of abuse or mistreatment 
whether that abuse or mistreatment is done by another staff 
member, a family member, a client, or any other person; and 

6. a written policy to prevent discrimination. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

28:31-28:37. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Admissions, Transfers and Discharges 
§7235. Admissions 

A. The facility shall have a clear and specific written 
description of admission policies and procedures. This 
written description shall include, but is not limited to the 
following: 

1. the application process and the possible reasons for 
the rejection of an application; 

2. types of clients suitable to the FSTRA facility; 
3. services offered and allowed in the facility; and 
4. the facility's house rules. 

B. Intake Evaluation 
1. An intake evaluation shall take place on the first 

day of admission and shall include the client’s: 
a. demographic data; 
b. family information; and 
c. psychiatric and social background. 

2. All of the facility’s rules and regulations shall be 
reviewed with the client. A complete clothing inventory shall 
be completed and the client shall be assigned to a room.  

C. Nursing Assessment  
1. The nurse shall complete a nursing assessment and 

review the client’s medication(s). The client’s medication 
administration records shall contain a detailed description of 
the client’s: 

a. medication; 
b. dosage(s) of medication; 
c. frequency medications should be taken; and  
d. ability to self-administer medications.  

D. Diagnostic Evaluation 
1. The diagnostic evaluation shall include examination 

of the medical, psychosocial, social, behavioral and 
developmental aspects of the client’s situation and reflect the 
need for services from an FSTRA facility.  

2. Each medical evaluation shall include: 
a. diagnoses; 
b. summary of medical findings; 
c. medical history; 
d. mental and physical functional capacity; 
e. prognosis; and 
f. physician's recommendations. 

E. An individualized plan of care for each client shall be 
developed upon admission and shall be revised to include 
recommended changes in the therapeutic plan. The plan to 
be followed in the event of emergency situations shall be 
specified in the plan of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

§7237. Mandatory Transfers and Discharges 
A. The administrator/director shall, in coordination with 

the client, forensic aftercare provider, Community Forensic 
Service, and state level forensic coordinator (as appropriate), 
assist in planning and implementing the mandatory transfer 
or discharge of the client when: 

1. the treatment plan goals and objectives are 
substantially met and a crisis relapse/prevention plan is 
developed and support systems are in place that allow the 
client to reside safely in a less restrictive environment; 

2. the client's physician certifies that the client’s 
physical condition necessitates transfer to a medical facility 
or psychiatric condition necessitates transfer to a higher 
level of care; or  

a. In this situation, plans for transfer must be made 
as soon as possible. 

3. the client's condition is such that he or she is: 
a. a danger to self or others; or 
b. is consistently disruptive to the peace and order 

of the facility, staff services, or other clients. 
B. Emergency Discharge. The provider shall 

immediately report to the Community Forensic Service, 
probation officer, state level forensic coordinator, and 
provider(s) of behavioral health services any program 
violations (i.e. illegal drugs, suspected or confirmed weapon 
possession or access, gross deterioration of behavior, or non-
compliance with medication). The provider in collaboration 
with the probation officer and community forensic staff, as 
appropriate, will be responsible for the relocation of the 
client to an appropriate secure placement. 

C. The facility shall initiate outpatient services for the 
client upon discharge and provide consultation to the client 
concerning where to obtain necessary medications, resources 
and follow-up outpatient behavioral health services. 

D. Discharge Records 
1. The following discharge information shall be 

recorded in the client's record: 
a. date of discharge; 
b. destination; and, 
c. reason(s) for leaving. 

2.  Discharge records shall be retained for at least 
three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Participation Requirements 
§7241.  Assessment, Service Coordination, and 

Monitoring 
A. Once the client is admitted, the FSTRA facility shall 

conduct an assessment to determine the needs of the client. 
The assessment shall be kept in the client's record and shall 
at a minimum, include: 

1. the client's interests, likes and dislikes; 
2. review of physical health, psycho-social status, and 

cognitive status and the determination of services necessary 
to meet those needs; 

3. a summary of the client's health needs, if any, 
including medication, treatment and special diet orders 
obtained from professionals with responsibility for the 
client's physical or emotional health; 
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4. a written description of the activities of daily living 
and instrumental activities of daily living for which the 
client requires assistance, if any, obtained from the client or 
the client's physician; 

5. recreational and social activities which are suitable; 
6. a plan for handling special emergency evacuation 

needs, if any; and 
7. additional information or documents pertinent to 

the client's treatment planning, such as guardianship papers, 
power of attorney, living wills, do not-resuscitate orders, or 
other relevant medical documents. 

B. Within 30 days after admission, the facility, with input 
from the client, shall develop a service plan using 
information from the assessment. 

C. The service plan shall be responsive to the client's 
needs and preferences. The service plan shall include: 

1. the client's needs; 
2. the scope, frequency, and duration of services and 

monitoring that will be provided to meet the client's needs; 
and 

3. staff/providers responsible for providing the 
services. 

D. The client's service plan shall be revised when a 
client's condition changes. The revised service plan shall be 
signed by the client and the designated facility staff. 

E. The service plan shall be monitored on an ongoing 
basis to determine its continued appropriateness and to 
identify when a client's condition or preferences have 
changed. A documented review of the service plan shall be 
made at least every quarter. However, changes to the plan 
may be made at any time, as necessary. 

F. All service plans and reviews shall be signed by the 
client and facility staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7243. Personal and Supportive Services 

A. The facility shall provide adequate services and 
oversight/supervision, including adequate security measures, 
around the clock as needed for any client. 

B. Medications 
1. The provider shall have clear written policies and 

procedures on medication assistance. 
2. The provider shall assist clients in the self-

administration of prescription and non-prescription 
medication as agreed to in their contract or service plan and 
as allowed by state statute/regulations. 

3. Assistance with self-administration of medications 
shall be limited to the following. 

a. The client may be reminded to take his/her 
medication. 

b. The medication regimen, as indicated on the 
container, may be read to the client. 

c. The dosage may be checked according to the 
container label. 

d. The staff may open the medicine container (i.e. 
bottle, mediset, blister pak, etc.) if the client lacks the ability 
to open the container. 

e. The client may be physically assisted in pouring 
or otherwise taking medications, so long as the client is 

cognitive of what the medication is, what it is for and the 
need for the medication. 

4. An employee that provides assistance with the self-
administration of medications to a client shall have 
documented training on the policies and procedures for 
medication assistance including the limitations of this 
assistance. Documentation shall include the signature of the 
employee. This training shall be repeated at least annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7245. Nutrition 

A. The facility shall provide three varied, appetizing 
meals a day, seven days a week. Meals shall take into 
account clients' preferences and needs. 

B. Menus shall be planned and written at least one week 
in advance and dated as served. The current week's menu 
shall be posted in one or more conspicuous places in the 
facility. 

C. The facility shall provide medically prescribed diets 
as ordered by the client’s physician. These menus shall be 
planned or approved by a registered dietician. 

D. The provider shall purchase and provide to the clients 
only food and drink of safe quality. The storage, preparation 
and serving techniques shall ensure that nutrients are 
retained and spoilage is prevented. Milk and milk products 
shall be Grade A and pasteurized. 

E. Staff shall be available in the dining area to provide 
supervision as needed. 

F. Written reports of inspections by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 
Services shall be kept on file in the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7247. Transportation Requirements 

A. The provider shall have the capacity to provide or to 
arrange transportation for the following: 

1. transportation to behavioral health services (i.e., 
community mental health center or addictive disorder 
clinic); and 

2. all other related medical appointments. 
B. The FSTRA facility must: 

1. have liability insurance coverage and have proof of 
such coverage; and 

2. conform to all state laws and regulations pertaining 
to drivers, vehicles and insurance. 

C. The number of occupants allowed in a car, bus, 
station wagon, van, or any other type of transportation shall 
not exceed the number for which the vehicle is designed. 

D. Provisions shall be made to accommodate clients who 
use assistive devices for ambulation. 

E. Each vehicle shall be maintained in good repair. 
F. If the center contracts with a commercial proprietor 

for transportation, it shall select one with a good reputation 
and reliable drivers. All rules established for transportation 
furnished by the center shall be observed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
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Subchapter E. Client Protection 
§7251. Client Rights 

A. A provider shall have a written policy on clients’ civil 
rights and the practices of the provider shall assure that no 
client of a facility shall be deprived of civil or legal rights, 
benefits or privileges guaranteed by law or the Constitution 
of the United States solely by reason of status as a client of a 
facility. A copy of these rights shall be posted conspicuously 
in the facility. 

B. In addition to the basic rights enjoyed by other adults, 
the provider's written policy on rights shall assure that 
clients shall be afforded the rights enumerated in R.S. 
28:171.  

C. The client shall receive, upon admission and during 
his/her stay, a written statement of the services provided by 
the facility and the charges for these services. 

D. The client shall be free from mental, emotional, and 
physical abuse and neglect and assured that no chemical 
restraints will be used. 

E. The facility shall ensure that records and other 
information about the client are kept confidential and 
released only with a client's expressed written consent or in 
accordance with Louisiana law. 

F. The facility shall ensure that the client: 
1. receives a timely response to a request from the 

administrator/director and/or staff; 
2. has access to private telephone communication; 
3. is able to send and receive mail promptly and 

unopened; 
4. is notified in writing by the provider when the 

facility's license status is suspended, revoked or limited, and 
to be informed of the basis of the licensing agency's action; 

5. is allowed to select a health care provider and 
arrange for the services, at his/her own expense, which are 
not available through the facility as long as the client 
remains in compliance with the conditions of his/her 
admission to the facility; 

6. is encouraged and assisted to exercise rights as a 
citizen;  

7. is allowed to voice grievances and suggest changes 
in policies and services to either staff or outside 
representatives without fear of restraint, interference, 
coercion, discrimination, or reprisal; 

8. is fully informed of all client rights and all rules 
governing client conduct and responsibilities; and 

9. is allowed to consult freely with counsel of their 
choice. 

G. Each client shall be fully informed of these rights and 
of all rules and regulations governing client conduct and 
responsibilities, as evidenced by written acknowledgment, 
prior to or at the time of admission and when changes occur.  

1. Each client's file shall contain a copy of the written 
acknowledgment which shall be signed and dated by the 
director or his/her designee, the client and/or representative. 

H. A provider shall establish and have written grievance 
procedures that include, but are not limited to: 

1. a formal process to present grievances; and 
2. a process to respond to grievances in a timely 

manner. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter F. Facility Responsibilities 
§7255. General Provisions 

A. Providers shall comply and show proof of compliance 
with all relevant standards, regulations and requirements 
established by state, local, and municipal regulatory bodies. 
It is the provider's responsibility to secure the approvals 
from the following entities: 

1. DHH, Health Standards Section; 
2. Office of Public Health; 
3. Office of State Fire Marshal; 
4. City Fire Department, if applicable; and 
5. the applicable local governing authority (e.g., 

Zoning, Building Department or Permit Office). 
B. The administrator/director or person authorized to act 

on behalf of the administrator/director shall be accessible to 
facility staff or designated representatives of DHH at all 
times. 

C. A provider shall have an administrative file that 
includes: 

1. the Articles of Incorporation or certified copies 
thereof, if incorporated, or partnership documents, if 
applicable; 

2. a current copy of the approved constitution and/or 
bylaws of the governing body; 

3. a current roster of the governing body membership 
which includes the members’ addresses; 

4. written policies and procedures approved by the 
owner/governing body that address the following: 

a. confidentiality and security of files; 
b. publicity; 
c. personnel; 
d. client's rights; 
e. grievance procedure; 
f. safekeeping of personal possessions, if 

applicable; 
g. clients' funds, if applicable; 
h. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
i. abuse and neglect; 
j. critical incidents; 
k. admissions and discharge procedures; and 
l. medication. 

5. the minutes of formal governing body meetings; 
6. an organizational chart of the provider; 
7. all leases, contracts and purchase-of-service 

agreements to which the provider is a party, which includes 
all appropriate credentials; 

8. insurance policies: 
a. every provider shall maintain in force at all times 

a comprehensive general business insurance policy or 
policies in an amount adequate to cover all foreseeable 
occurrences. The insurance shall include coverage for any: 
 i. personal or professional negligence, 
malpractice or misconduct by facility owners or employees;  
 ii. injuries received by any client while being 
transported by facility staff or third-party contractors; and  
 iii. injuries sustained by any client while in the 
facility; and  

b. the policies shall be without limitations or 
exclusions of any kind; and 
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9. copies of Incident/Accident Reports. 
D. An FSTRA facility shall maintain a personnel record 

for each employee. At a minimum, this file shall contain the 
following: 

1. the application for employment and/or résumé of 
education, training, and experience; 

2. evidence of a criminal history check prior to an 
offer of employment, in accordance with state law; 

3. evidence of applicable professional credentials or 
certifications according to state law; 

4. documentation of Tuberculosis test results and any 
other provider required medical examinations; 

5. documentation of three reference checks; 
6. annual performance evaluation; 
7. the employee's hire and termination dates; 
8. documentation of orientation and annual training; 

and 
9. documentation of a valid driver's license if driving 

or transporting clients. 
E. A provider shall not release an employee's personnel 

record without the employee's written permission, except as 
required by state law. 

F. A provider shall have a personnel record for each 
employee to be kept on the premises or at the corporate 
office. These records shall be made available and accessible 
to the survey staff within one hour of request by department 
surveyors.  

1. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format, and shall be retained and 
disposed of in accordance with state laws. 

2. A provider shall have sufficient space, facilities and 
supplies for providing effective record keeping services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7257. Core Staffing Requirements 

A. Each FSTRA facility shall be staffed to properly 
safeguard the health, safety and welfare of the clients, as 
required by these regulations. At a minimum, the following 
staff positions are required; however, one person may 
occupy more than one position. 
 B. Administrator/Director 

1. Each facility shall have a qualified 
administrator/director who is an on-site employee and is 
responsible for the day-to-day management, supervision and 
operation of the facility. 

2. During periods of temporary absence of the 
administrator/director, there shall be a responsible staff 
person designated to be in charge that has the knowledge and 
responsibility to handle any situation that may occur. 

3. There shall be a responsible staff person designated 
to be in charge on the premises of the FSTRA facility 24 
hours per day. 

4. The administrator/director shall be at least 21 years 
of age and have the responsibility and authority to carry out 
the policies of the facility. 

5. The administrator/director shall meet one of the 
following criteria upon date of hire: 

a. possess a bachelor’s degree plus one year of 
administrative experience in the fields of health care, 
behavioral health services, or forensics;  

b. possess an associate’s degree plus two years of 
administrative experience in the fields of health care, 
behavioral health services, or forensics; or 

c. in lieu of a degree, possess six years of 
administrative experience in health care, behavioral health 
services, or forensics. 

6. Documentation of the administrator/director’s 
qualifications shall be maintained on file at the facility. 

C. Nursing Services 
1. The facility shall provide a sufficient number of 

nursing service personnel consisting of registered nurses, 
licensed practical nurses and other staff to provide nursing 
care to all clients in accordance with the client’s treatment 
plan. 

2. Registered Nurse (RN). An FSTRA facility shall 
employ or contract with at least one RN who is responsible 
for the overall delivery and supervision of nursing services. 

a. The RN must be currently licensed by, and in 
good standing with, the state of Louisiana and must comply 
with all requirements, including continuing education 
requirements, as established by law or regulation. No 
individual who is unlicensed may be employed as an RN. 

b. The RN shall: 
 i. be on-site or available by telephone during the 
day time hours of the facility; 
 ii. develop policies and procedures related to the 
delivery of nursing services; and 
 iii. provide medication management through 
administration, supervision, education and training. 

3. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN). An FSTRA facility 
shall employ or contract with LPNs to meet the nursing 
needs of the clients. 

a. The LPN must be currently licensed by, and in 
good standing with, the state of Louisiana and must comply 
with all requirements, including continuing education 
requirements, as established by law or regulation. No 
individual who is unlicensed may be employed as a LPN. 

b. LPNs may administer medication and deliver 
nursing services as provided by Louisiana law or applicable 
regulations. 

D. Direct Care Staff 
1. An FSTRA facility must ensure that an adequate 

number of trained direct care staff is available to meet the 
needs of the clients in accordance with the client’s scheduled 
and unscheduled needs.  

2. Direct care staff may include care assistants, 
activities personnel, or other staff who clearly provide direct 
care services to clients on a regular basis. 

3. Direct care staff shall have the following 
qualifications: 

a. a minimum of a high school diploma and six 
months of experience working with adults with a serious and 
persistent behavioral health diagnosis; or 

b. two years of experience working with adults with 
a serious and persistent behavioral health diagnosis. 

3. An FSTRA facility shall have at least two direct 
care staff on duty when there is at least one client at the 
facility. 

4. An FSTRA facility shall demonstrate that sufficient 
staff are scheduled and available (working) to meet the 24-
hour scheduled and unscheduled needs of the clients. The 
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provider shall have at a minimum, one direct care staff 
person to every 15 clients. 

5. An FSTRA facility shall not share direct care staff 
with another licensed facility. (Staff cannot fill two staff 
positions on the same shift at different licensed facilities.) 

E. An FSTRA facility shall maintain a current work 
schedule for all employees, including relief workers, 
showing adequate coverage for each day and night. 

F. FSTRA facility professional staff shall be licensed 
and/or certified by, and in good standing with, the state of 
Louisiana. The license shall be unrestricted. Professional 
staff must comply with all requirements, including 
continuing education requirements, as established by law or 
regulation.  

G. Designated Recreational/Activity Staff. There shall be 
an individual designated to organize and oversee the 
recreational and social program of the facility. 

H. An FSTRA facility must provide, as needed, 
consultation(s) with a registered dietician. 

I. Staff Orientation and Training 
1. During the first week of hire and prior to providing 

services to clients, the provider shall provide a 20-hour 
documented orientation including, but not limited to the 
following:  

a. the policies and procedures of the facility, 
including program components; 

b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. training in proper fire and emergency safety 

procedures including: 
 i. CPR; 
 ii. the Heimlich Maneuver; 
 iii. first aid; 
 iv. crisis management; and 
 v. risk reduction; 

d. effective communication skills for forensic, 
behavioral health clients;  

e. confidentiality and HIPPA requirements;  
f. trainings and intervention programs as deemed 

appropriate and mutually agreed upon by Community 
Forensic Services and the state level forensic coordinator; 

g. client's rights; and 
h. procedures and requirements regarding the 

reporting of abuse, neglect and critical incidents. 
2. Orientation for direct care staff shall include an 

additional five days of supervised training. Training, at a 
minimum, shall include the following: 

a. training in client care services (ADL'S & IADL's) 
provided by the facility; 

b. infection control to include blood borne 
pathogens; 

c. crisis de-escalation and the management of 
aggressive behavior including acceptable and prohibited 
responses; and 

d. any specialized training to meet clients' needs. 
3. A new employee shall not be given sole 

responsibility for the implementation of a client's program 
plan until this orientation and training is completed. 

a. The staff member shall sign a statement 
certifying that such training has occurred and this shall be 
maintained in the staff members personnel file. 

4. Orientation and five days of supervised training 
shall meet the first year's annual training requirements. 

5. All direct care staff shall receive certification in 
adult first aid within the first 30 days of employment. 

J. Annual Training 
1. A provider shall ensure that each direct care worker 

participates in in-service training each year. Normal 
supervision shall not be considered as meeting this 
requirement. 

2. The provider shall document that direct care staff 
receives training on an annual basis in: 

a. the facility's policies and procedures; 
b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. client's rights; 
d. the procedures and legal requirements concerning 

the reporting of abuse and critical incidents; 
e. client care services (ADL'S & IADL'S); 
f. infection control to include blood borne 

pathogens; and 
g. any other areas that may require specialized 

training to meet clients' needs. 
3. All direct care staff shall have documentation of 

current certification in first aid. 
4. The administrator/director shall participate annually 

in at least 12 hours of continuing education in the field of 
behavioral health and specialized training in the population 
served and/or supervisory/management techniques. 

5. Each employee shall sign a statement of 
understanding certifying that annual training has occurred. 

K. An employee's Annual Performance Evaluation shall 
include his/her interaction with clients, family, staff, and 
other providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7259. Client Records 

A. An FSTRA facility shall maintain a separate record 
for each client. Such records shall be current and complete 
and shall be maintained in the facility or in a central 
administrative location readily available to facility staff and 
to the department.  

B. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format and shall be retained and 
disposed of in accordance with state laws. 

C. The facility shall have sufficient space, facilities, and 
supplies for providing effective record keeping services. 

D. The facility shall have a storage area that ensures the 
safeguarding of all client records and prevents loss from, 
including but not limited, to fire or water. 

E. Each record shall contain at least the following 
information: 

1. the client's identifying and personal information 
including: 

a. the client’s name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. sex; 
d. Social Security number; 
e. previous home address; and  
f. marital status, if applicable; 

2. dates of admission and discharge; 
3. names, addresses, and telephone numbers of 

responsible persons to be notified in case of accident, death 
or other emergency; 
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4. name, address, and telephone number of a 
physician and dentist to be called in an emergency; 

5. ambulatory status; 
6. the client's plan/authorization for routine and 

emergency medical care, as required; 
7. the client's written authorization for a representative 

and their name, address and telephone number, if applicable; 
8. the pre-admission assessment by a forensic 

physician and admission agreement; 
9. findings of the assessment and any special 

problems or precautions identified; 
10. the service plan, updates, and quarterly reviews; 
11. continuing record of any illness, injury or medical 

or dental care when it impacts the client's ability to function 
or the services he/she needs; 

12. a record of all personal property and funds which 
the client has entrusted to the facility; 

13. reports of any client complaints or grievances and 
the conclusion or disposition of these reports; 

14. incident reports; and 
15. written acknowledgments that the client has 

received clear verbal explanations and: 
a. copies of his/her rights and the house rules; 
b. written procedures for safekeeping of valuable 

personal possessions of clients; and 
c. a written statement explaining the client's rights 

regarding personal funds and the right to examine his/her 
record. 

F. All information and records obtained from or 
regarding clients shall be stored and kept confidential. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7261. Abuse and Neglect  

A. The provider shall have comprehensive written 
procedures concerning client abuse and neglect to include 
provisions for: 

1. training and maintaining staff awareness of abuse 
prevention, current definitions of abuse and neglect, 
reporting requirements and applicable laws; 

2. ensuring that regulations stipulated in this rule for 
reporting critical incidents involving abuse and neglect are 
followed; 

3. ensuring that the administrator/director completes 
an investigation report within 10 working days; 

4. ensuring that the client is protected from potential 
harassment during the investigation; 

5. disciplining staff members who abuse or neglect 
clients; and 

6. protecting clients from abuse inflicted by other 
clients or third parties, including but not limited to, criminal 
prosecution of the offending person and his/her permanent 
removal from the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31 – 28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7263. Critical Incidents  

A. A provider shall have written procedures for the 
reporting and documentation of unusual incidents and other 
situations or circumstances affecting the health, safety or 

well-being of a client(s) (i.e. death by unnatural causes, 
injuries, fights or physical confrontations, situations 
requiring the use of passive physical restraints, suspected 
incidents of abuse or neglect). 

1. Such procedures shall ensure timely verbal 
reporting to the director or designee and a preliminary 
written report within 24 hours of the incident. 

2. Copies of all critical incident reports shall be kept 
as part of the client's record and a separate copy shall be kept 
in the administrative file of the provider. 

B. Incident/Accident Report. When and if an incident 
occurs, a detailed report of the incident shall be made. At a 
minimum, the incident report shall provide documentation of 
the following: 

1. the circumstances under which the incident 
occurred; 

2. the date and time the incident occurred; 
3. the location where the incident occurred (bathroom, 

bedroom, street, lawn, etc.); 
4. immediate treatment and follow-up care; 
5. the names and addresses of witnesses; 
6. the date and time the family or representative was 

notified; 
7. any symptoms of pain and injury discussed with the 

physician; and 
8. the signatures of the staff completing the report, 

client, and director. 
C. When an incident results in the death of a client, 

involves abuse or neglect of a client or entails any serious 
threat to the client's health, safety or well-being, a provider 
shall: 

1. immediately report the incident verbally to the 
Administrator and submit a preliminary written report within 
24 hours of the incident;  

2. immediately notify the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Health Standards Section, and other appropriate 
authorities in accordance with state law, with written 
notification to the above agencies to follow within 24 hours 
of the suspected incident; 

3. immediately notify the family or the client’s 
representative, with written notification to follow within 24 
hours; 

4. immediately notify the appropriate law enforcement 
authority in accordance with state law; 

5. provide follow-up written reports to all of the 
persons and agencies identified in this §7261.C; 

6. take appropriate corrective action to prevent future 
incidents; and 

7. document its compliance with all of the above 
procedures for each incident and shall keep such 
documentation (including any written reports or 
notifications) in the client's file. A separate copy of all such 
documentation shall be kept in the provider's administrative 
file. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7265. Personal Possessions 

A. An FSTRA facility may, at its discretion, offer to 
clients the service of safekeeping their valuable possessions. 
The facility shall have a written statement of its policy. 
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B. If the facility offers such a service, a copy of the 
written policy and procedures shall be given to a client at the 
time of his/her admission. 

C. The facility shall give the client a receipt listing each 
item that it is holding in trust for the client. A copy of the 
receipt shall be placed in the client's record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31 – 28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7267. Client Funds 

A. The facility's admission agreement shall include the 
client's rights regarding personal funds and list the services 
offered and charges, if any. 

B. The provider shall offer safekeeping and management 
of a client’s funds. If a client chooses to entrust funds with 
the provider, the provider shall obtain written authorization 
from the client and/or his/her representative for the 
safekeeping and management of the funds. 

C. The provider shall: 
1. provide each client with an account statement on a 

quarterly basis with a receipt listing the amount of money 
the facility is holding in trust for the client; 

2. maintain a current balance sheet containing all 
financial transactions to include the signatures of staff and 
the client for each transaction; 

3. provide a list or account statement regarding 
personal funds upon request of the client; 

4. maintain a copy of each quarterly account statement 
in the client’s record; 

5. keep the funds received from the client in a separate 
interest-bearing account; and  

6. not commingle the clients’ funds with the facility’s 
operating account. 

D. The facility shall have and implement written policies 
and procedures to protect client funds. 

E. Unless otherwise provided by state law, upon the 
death of a client, the provider shall provide the executor or 
administrator of the client's estate or the client’s 
representative, as agreed upon in the admission agreement, 
with a complete account statement of the client's funds and 
personal property of the client being held by the provider. 

F. A client with a personal fund account managed by an 
FSTRA facility may sign an account agreement 
acknowledging that any funds deposited into the personal 
account by, or on the client’s behalf, are jointly owned by the 
client and his legal representative or next of kin. The account 
agreement must state that: 

1. the funds in the account shall be jointly owned with 
the right of survivorship; 

2. the funds in the account shall be used by, for or on 
behalf of the client; 

3. the client or the joint owner may deposit funds into 
the account; and 

4. the client or joint owner may endorse any check, 
draft or other monetary instrument to the order of any joint 
owner, for deposit into the account. 

G. If a valid account agreement has been executed by the 
client, upon the client’s death, the facility shall transfer the 
funds in the client’s personal fund account to the joint owner 
within 30 days of the client’s death. This provision only 
applies to personal fund accounts not in excess of $2,000.  

H. If a valid account agreement has not been executed, 
upon the client’s death, the facility shall comply with the 
federal and state laws and regulations regarding the 
disbursement of funds in the account and the properties of 
the deceased. The facility shall abide by the procedures of 
the Louisiana Department of the Treasury and the Louisiana 
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act for the handling of funds 
of a deceased client that remain unclaimed.  

I. The provisions of this Section shall have no effect on 
federal or state tax obligations or liabilities of the deceased 
client’s estate. If there are other laws or regulations which 
conflict with these provisions, those laws or regulations will 
govern over and supersede the conflicting provisions. 

J. A termination date of the account and the reason for 
termination shall be recorded on the client’s participation 
file. A notation shall read, “to close account.” The endorsed 
cancelled check with check number noted on the ledger 
sheet shall serve as sufficient receipt and documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7269. Contraband 

A. There shall be no contraband, illegal drugs, or 
controlled dangerous substances that are not prescribed to a 
client on the campus of the facility. Clients may be subjected 
to random periodic drug testing as a requirement for 
residency at the facility. A positive drug test will be reported 
to the attending psychiatrist and the applicable court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter G. Safety and Emergency Preparedness 
§7271. General Provisions 

A. An FSTRA facility shall have an emergency 
preparedness plan designed to manage the consequences of 
natural disasters or other emergencies that could disrupt the 
facility's ability to provide care and treatment or threatens 
the lives or safety of the clients and/or the community it 
serves. The emergency preparedness plan shall be made 
available, upon request or if mandated to do so, to local, 
parish, regional and/or state emergency planning 
organizations, the department and the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal. 

B. At a minimum, the emergency preparedness plan shall 
include: 

1. identification of potential hazards that could 
necessitate an evacuation, including internal and external 

disasters such as a natural disaster, acts of bioterrorism, 
weapons of mass destruction, labor work stoppage or 

industrial or nuclear accidents; 
2. emergency procedures for evacuation of the 

facility; 
3. procedures in the case of interruption of utility 

services in a way that affects the health and safety of 
clients; 

4. identification of the facility and an alternate facility 
to which evacuated clients would be relocated; 

5. the estimated number of clients and staff that would 
require relocation in the event of an evacuation; 

6. the system or procedure to ensure that medical 
charts accompany clients in the event of a client evacuation 
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and that supplies, equipment, records and medications would 
be transported as part of an evacuation; and 

7. the roles and responsibilities of staff members in 
implementing the disaster plan. 

C. An FSTRA facility shall conduct and document fire 
drills once per month, one drill per shift every 90 days, at 
varying times of the day. 

D. An FSTRA facility shall immediately notify the 
Health Standards Section and other appropriate agencies of 
any fire, disaster or other emergency that may present a 
danger to clients or require their evacuation from the facility. 

E. The facility shall have access to 24-hour telephone 
service, and shall either post telephone numbers of 
emergency services, including the fire department, police 
department, medical services, poison control and ambulance 
services or show evidence of an alternate means of 
immediate access to these services. 

F. General Safety Practices 
1. The facility shall not maintain any firearm or 

chemical weapon in the living units of the facility. 
2. The facility shall ensure that all poisonous, toxic 

and flammable materials are safely stored in appropriate 
containers labeled as to the contents. Such materials shall be 
maintained only as necessary and shall be used in a manner 
that ensures the safety of clients, staff and visitors. 

3. The facility shall ensure that an appropriately 
equipped first aid kit is available in the living units and in all 
vehicles used to transport clients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter H. Physical Environment 
§7275. General Provisions 

A. Location 
1. The area to be licensed as an FSTRA facility shall 

meet all of the licensing regulations established for FSTRA 
facilities. 

2. An FSTRA facility that is located within any other 
facility shall be secure and have its own identifiable staff, 
space and storage. The FSTRA facility shall have a separate 
entrance, separate dining area and separate common areas. 

B. General Appearance and Conditions  
1. Heating, cooling and ventilation systems shall 

permit comfortable conditions. 
2. Furniture in good repair shall be available to 

facilitate usage by the number of clients in the facility. 
3. The facility shall have sufficient space and 

equipment to accommodate the full range of program 
activities and services. 

4. The facility shall be flexible and adaptable for large 
and small groups and individual activities and services. 

5. There shall be sufficient office space to permit staff 
to work effectively and without interruption. 

6. There shall be adequate storage space for program 
and operating supplies. 

C. Interior Space 
1. Floors and steps shall have a non-slippery surface 

and be dry when in use by the clients.  
2. Doorways and passageways shall be kept clear to 

allow free and unhindered passage. 

3. The facility shall provide an appropriate controlled-
egress system on all required exit doors and doors leading to 
other areas of the facility unless prior approval of an 
alternative method for prevention of client elopement from 
the facility has been obtained from the authority (Office of 
the State Fire Marshal)having jurisdiction over such matters.  

4. All staff shall have a key to locked exit doors.  
5. All operable windows shall be equipped with a 

mechanism to limit exterior openings to prevent elopement. 
6. Windows used for ventilation to the outside and 

exterior doors used for ventilation shall be screened and in 
good repair.  

7.  The facility shall be constructed, equipped, and 
maintained in good repair and kept free of hazards. 

8. The facility shall have sufficient storage space for 
administration records, locked areas for medications, 
cleaning supplies (janitorial), food service (supplies) and 
lawn maintenance (equipment). 

9. There shall be evidence of routine maintenance and 
cleaning programs in all areas of the facility. 

10. The facility shall have an effective pest control 
program. Pest control services may be provided by 
maintenance personnel of the facility or by contract with a 
pest control company. If pest control chemicals are stored in 
the facility, they shall be kept in a locked location. 

11. The facility shall have an area for the safe and 
secure maintenance and storage of medical records and other 
facility files, records and manuals. 

D. Bedrooms 
1. Single rooms must contain at least 100 square feet 

and multi-bed rooms shall contain at least 80 square feet per 
bed, exclusive of fixed cabinets, fixtures, and equipment. An 
existing state hospital that converts a building, unit or wing 
to an FSTRA facility shall contain a minimum of 65 square 
feet per bed in a multi-bed room. 

2. Any client room shall not contain more than four 
beds. 

a. Beds shall be of solid construction, appropriate to 
the size and age of the client and have a clean, comfortable, 
non-toxic fire-retardant mattress that fits the bed.  

b. Cots or other portable beds are to be used in 
emergencies only. 

3. Rooms shall have at least a 7 1/2 foot ceiling height 
over the required area.  

a. In a room with varying ceiling heights, only 
portions of the room with a ceiling height of at least 7 1/2 
feet are allowed in determining usable space. 

4. There shall be at least three feet between beds. 
5. There shall be sufficient and satisfactory separate 

storage space for clothing, toilet articles and other personal 
belongings of clients. 

6. Doors to individual bedrooms shall not be equipped 
with locks or any other device that would prohibit the door 
from being opened from either side. 

7. The provider shall not use any room that does not 
have a window as a bedroom space. 

8. The facility shall provide sheets, pillows, 
bedspreads and blankets that are in good repair for each 
client. Linens not in good repair shall not be used. 

9. Each client shall have his/her own dresser or other 
adequate storage space for private use and designated space 
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for hanging clothing in proximity to the bedroom occupied 
by the client. 

10. The facility shall not have male and female clients 
at the same location. 

E. Bathrooms 
1. The number of toilets and hand-washing facilities 

shall be not less than one for each 13 clients. 
2. A facility shall have wash basins with hot and cold 

water, flush toilets, and bath or shower facilities with hot and 
cold water according to client care needs. 

3. Bathrooms shall be so placed as to allow access 
without disturbing other clients during sleeping hours. 

4. Each bathroom shall be properly equipped with 
toilet paper, towels, soap and other items required for 
personal hygiene, unless clients are individually given such 
items.  

a. Clients shall be provided individual items such as 
hair brushes and toothbrushes. 

5. Tubs and showers shall have slip proof surfaces. 
6. An FSTRA facility shall have toilets and baths or 

showers that allow for individual privacy, unless the clients 
in care require assistance. 

7. Toilets, wash basins and other plumbing or sanitary 
facilities in an FSTRA facility shall, at all times, be 
maintained in good operating condition and shall be kept 
free of any materials that might clog or otherwise impair 
their operation. 

8. The facility shall have separate toilet facilities for 
staff. 

F. Furnishings  
1. The facility shall be furnished so as to meet the 

needs of the clients. All furnishings and equipment shall be 
kept clean and in good repair. 

2. Adequate furniture shall be available and shall be 
appropriate for use by the clients in terms of comfort and 
safety. 

3. Furnishings must include tables and chairs 
sufficient in number to serve all clients.  

G. Kitchen 
1. An FSTRA facility that has a kitchen area shall 

meet all health and sanitation requirements and must be of 
sufficient size to accommodate meal preparation for the 
proposed number of clients. 

2. Kitchens used for meal preparations shall have the 
equipment necessary for the preparation, serving and storage 
and clean up of all meals regularly served to all of the clients 
and staff. All equipment shall be maintained in proper 
working order. 

3. An FSTRA facility's refrigerator(s) shall be 
maintained at a temperature of 45 degrees Fahrenheit or 
below. Freezers shall be maintained at a temperature of 0 
degrees Fahrenheit or below. Thermometers shall be 
provided for all refrigerators and freezers. The facility shall 
maintain logs of temperatures of the refrigerator and 
freezers. Abnormal temperatures shall be reported to 
management and arrangements made for repair/service. 

4. The facility shall ensure that all dishes, cups and 
glasses used by clients are free from chips, cracks or other 
defects and are in sufficient number to accommodate all 
clients. 

5. If food is prepared in a central kitchen and 
delivered to the facility, provisions shall be made and 
approved by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 
of Public Health, Sanitarian Services for proper maintenance 
of food temperatures and a sanitary mode of transportation. 

H. Medication Storage and Monitoring 
1. The facility shall have policies and procedures for 

the storage, administration and disposal of both prescription 
and over-the-counter medications.  

2. There shall be a designated secure area for the 
storage and preparation of medications.  

3. Medications that require refrigeration shall be 
stored in a separate refrigerator (not with food, beverages, 
etc.). 

4. The FSTRA shall have a process for monitoring the 
inventory and reconciliation of controlled substances. The 
process shall include the reporting of lost or missing 
medications in accordance with the Louisiana State Board of 
Pharmacy. 

5. Medications may be administered from a central 
area of the facility.  

I. Laundry  
1. An FSTRA facility shall provide for laundry 

services, either on-site or at an off-site location that is 
adequate to handle the needs of the clients. 

2. If on-site, laundry facilities shall be located in a 
specifically designated area and there shall be adequate 
rooms and spaces for sorting, processing, and storage of 
soiled material.  

3. Laundry rooms shall not open directly into client 
common areas or food service areas.  

4. Domestic washers and dryers that are for the 
exclusive use of clients may be located in client areas, 
provided they are installed in such a manner that they do not 
cause a sanitation problem. 

J. Water Supply 
1. An adequate supply of water, under pressure, shall 

be provided at all times. 
2. Clean sanitary drinking water shall be available and 

accessible in adequate amounts at all times. Disposable cups, 
if used, shall be stored in such a way as to prevent 
contamination. 

3. When a public water system is available, a 
connection shall be made thereto. If water from a source 
other than a public water supply is used, the supply shall 
meet the requirements set forth under the rules and 
regulations of the Office of Public Health (OPH).  

4. The facility shall have a plan and policy for an 
alternative water supply in the event of interruption of water 
supply and for the prolonged loss of water.  

K. All sewage shall be disposed of by means of either: 
1. a public system where one is accessible within 300 

feet; or  
2. an approved sewage disposal system that is 

constructed and operated in conformance with the standards 
established for such systems by OPH. 

L. Facility Exterior 
1. The provider shall maintain all areas of the facility 

that are accessible to the clients in good repair and free from 
any reasonably foreseeable hazard to health or safety. 
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2. All structures on the grounds of the facility shall be 
maintained in good repair. 

3. Garbage and rubbish stored outside shall be secured 
in noncombustible, covered containers and shall be removed 
on a regular basis. 

4. Fences shall be in good repair and constructed in 
such a way as to provide security. 

5. Areas determined unsafe, including steep grades, 
open pits, swimming pools, high voltage boosters or high 
speed roads shall be fenced or have natural barriers to 
protect clients. 

6. Clients shall have access to safe, suitable outdoor 
recreational space. 

7. The facility shall ensure that exterior areas are well 
lit at night. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter I. Secure Community Supervised 

Transitional/Residential Facility Module 
§7279. General Provisions 

A. Providers applying for the Secure Community 
Supervised. Transitional/Residential (SCSTR) Facility 
module under the FSTRA facility license shall meet the core 
licensing requirement as well as the following module 
specific requirements. 

B. A secure community supervised 
transitional/residential facility is a secure residential facility 
within the community that provides individualized services 
to develop daily living skills and to prepare for vocational 
adjustment and reentry into the community, to persons who 
are under a court-ordered forensic conditional release and 
who are referred by a state forensic hospitals or state 
forensic psychiatric unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7281. Operational Requirements 

A. Staff Requirements 
1. The FSTRA–SCSTR facility shall provide 24-hour, 

seven day per week “supervision” consisting of at least three 
direct care staff persons during the day, one of which must 
be a licensed nurse and at least two awake staff during the 
night. 

2. The FSTRA-SCSTR facility shall have a licensed 
nurse on call when there are no licensed nurses on duty at 
the facility. 

B. Admissions. The SCSTR facility shall: 
1. only accept clients referred by DHH state forensic 

facilities or those who are under a court-ordered forensic 
conditional release; 

2. admit only those clients who have the ability to self 
administer medications and provide for their own personal 
care needs;  

3. not admit more clients into care than the number 
specified on the FSTRA facility’s license; and 

4. provide contact information, including the 
telephone number and mailing address, for the appropriate 
state protection and advocacy organization. 

C. Medication Administration  
1. The facility shall have clear written policies and 

procedures on medication self-administration. 
2. The facility shall assist clients in the self-

administration of prescriptions and non-prescription 
medication according to the client’s service plan and as 
allowed by state laws and regulations. 

3. Assistance with self-administration of medication 
shall be limited to the following: 

a. the client may be reminded to take his/her 
medication; 

b. the medication regimen, as indicated on the 
container, may be read to the client; 

c. the dosage may be checked according to the 
container label;  

d. staff may open the medicine container (i.e. bottle, 
mediset, blister pack, etc.) if the client lacks the ability to 
open the container; and 

e. the client may be physically assisted in pouring 
or otherwise taking medications, so long as the client is 
cognitive of what the medication is, what it is for, and the 
need for the medication. 

4. An employee that provides assistance with the self-
administration of medications to a client shall have 
documented training on the policies and procedures for 
medication assistance including the limitations of this 
assistance. Documentation shall include the signature of the 
employee. This training shall be repeated at least annually. 

5. Medications shall be stored in a secure central 
location and not stored in the client’s own room. 

6. The facility may require the clients to come to a 
“medication” area to take their medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter J. Secure Forensic Facility Module 
§7285. General Provisions 

A. Providers applying for the Secure Forensic (SF) 
Facility module under the FSTRA facility license shall meet 
the core licensing requirement as well as the following 
module specific requirements. 

B. A secure forensic facility is a secure residential 
facility located on the grounds of a state hospital that 
provides individualized services, including personal care 
services and medication administration, to persons who are 
under a court order or court ordered forensic conditional 
release and who are referred by a state forensic hospital or 
state forensic psychiatric unit, in order to prepare such 
persons for transition to a less restrictive environment before 
transitioning to the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§7287. Operational Requirements 

A. The SF facility shall provide 24-hour, seven day per 
week “supervision” consisting of at least three direct care 
staff persons during the day and two awake staff during the 
night. There shall be at least two direct care staff persons in 
each building and/or unit at all times when clients are 
present. 
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1. The SF facility shall have an RN on duty during the 
day shift to oversee the nursing services of the facility. 

2. The SF facility shall have at least one licensed 
nurse on duty for each shift.  

3. The SF Facility shall provide for, either directly or 
through contract, a medical doctor on call. 

B. Admission  
1. The SF facility shall: 

a. admit clients who are under a court order or court 
ordered forensic conditional release and who are referred by 
a DHH state forensic facility; 

b. not admit more clients into care than the number 
specified on the FSTRA facility’s license; and 

c. provide contact information, including the phone 
number and mailing address, for the appropriate state 
protection and advocacy organization. 

C. Client Services 
1. The facility shall provide or coordinate, to the 

extent needed or desired by clients, the following services: 
a. assistance with activities of daily living and all 

instrumental activities of daily living; 
b. medication administration; 
c. opportunities for individual and group 

socialization;  
d. services for clients who have behavior problems 

requiring ongoing staff support, intervention, and 
supervision to ensure no danger or infringement of the rights 
of other clients or individuals; 

e. household services essential for the health and 
comfort of clients (e.g. floor cleaning, dusting, bed making, 
etc.); 

g. basic personal laundry services; and 
h. a program of recreational activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#121 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Adult Day Health Care 

(LAC 50:XXI.2103, 2107, 2301, 2503 and 2915) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XXI.2103, §2107, §2301, §2503, 
and §2915 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging 
and Adult Services amended the provisions governing the 
Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver to redefine and 
clarify the provisions of the waiver relative to the target 
population, the request for services registry, the 
comprehensive plan of care, and support coordination 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 10). The 
October 20, 2008 Rule also amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology to reduce the 
comprehensive ADHC rate paid to providers as a result of 
adding support coordination as a separate service since these 
services were traditionally reimbursed as part of the 
comprehensive ADHC rate. These provisions were 
repromulgated by the department in December 2008 to 
correct an error of omission in the publication (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 34, Number 12). 

The department now proposes to amend the Rule 
governing the ADHC Waiver to revise the provisions 
governing: 1) the program description; 2) the allocation of 
waiver opportunities; and 3) the provision of services and 
discharge criteria. This action is being taken to avoid federal 
sanctions for noncompliance with federal requirements for 
the provision of waiver services. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will not have a 
fiscal impact in the Medicaid Program for state fiscal year 
2010-2011. 

Effective January 1, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the Adult Day Health Care Waiver. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 3.  Adult Day Health Care 

Chapter 21. General Provisions 
§2103. Program Description 

A. An Adult Day Health Care Waiver program expands 
the array of services available to individuals with functional 
impairments, and helps to bridge the gap between 
independence and institutional care by allowing them to 
remain in their own homes and communities. This program 
provides direct care for individuals who have physical, 
mental or functional impairments. ADHC waiver 
participants must attend a minimum of 36 days per calendar 
quarter, absent extenuating circumstances. Exceptions for 
extenuating circumstances must be approved by the assigned 
support coordinator based upon guidance provided by 
OAAS. 

B. - C.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2034 (September 2004), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:2161 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2566 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
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Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§2107. Programmatic Allocation of Waiver 

Opportunities 
A. … 
B. Adult Day Health Care Waiver opportunities shall be 

offered to individuals on the registry according to priority 
groups. The following groups shall have priority for ADHC 
Waiver opportunities in the order listed: 

1. individuals with substantiated cases of abuse or 
neglect with Adult Protective Services (APS) or Elderly 
Protective Services (EPS) and who, absent ADHC Waiver 
services, would require institutional placement to prevent 
further abuse and neglect; 

a. - c. Repealed. 
2. individuals who have been discharged after a 

hospitalization within the past 30 days that involved a stay 
of at least one night; 

3. individuals presently residing in nursing facilities 
for 90 or more continuous days; and 

4. all other eligible individuals on the Request for 
Services Registry (RFSR), by date of first request for 
services. 

C. If an applicant is determined to be ineligible for any 
reason, the next individual on the registry is notified and the 
process continues until an individual is determined eligible. 
An ADHC Waiver opportunity is assigned to an individual 
when eligibility is established and the individual is certified. 

D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2162 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2566 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 
Chapter 23. Services 
§2301. Covered Services  

A. … 
1. Adult Day Health Care. ADHC services are a 

planned, diverse daily program of individual services and 
group activities structured to enhance the recipient’s physical 
functioning and to provide mental stimulation. Services are 
furnished on a regularly scheduled basis. An adult day health 
care center shall, at a minimum, furnish the following 
services: 

a. - j.NOTE. … 
2. Support Coordination. These services assist 

participants in gaining access to necessary waiver and other 
State Plan services, as well as medical, social, educational 
and other services, regardless of the funding source for these 
services. Support coordinators shall be responsible for 
ongoing monitoring of the provision of services included in 
the recipient’s approved Plan of Care (POC). This is a 
mandatory service. 

A.3. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2036 (September 2004), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:2162 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2566 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
Chapter 25. Admission and Discharge Criteria 
§2503. Denial or Discharge Criteria 

A. Admission shall be denied or the recipient shall be 
discharged from the ADHC Waiver Program if any of the 
following conditions are determined. 

1. - 7. … 
8. The participant fails to attend the ADHC Center for 

a minimum of 36 days per calendar quarter. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2163 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2568 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 
Chapter 29. Reimbursement 
§2915. Provider Reimbursement 

A. - C. … 
D. Support Coordination Services Reimbursement. 

Support coordination services previously provided by 
ADHC providers and included in the rate, including the 
Minimum Data Set Home Care (MDS/HC), the CPOC and 
home visits will no longer be the responsibility of the ADHC 
provider. Support coordination services shall be provided as 
a separate service covered in the ADHC Waiver. As a result 
of the change in responsibilities, the rate paid to ADHC 
providers shall be adjusted accordingly. 

1. - 2. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2170 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2575 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#124 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Children’s Choice 

Allocation of Waiver Opportunities 
(LAC 50:XXI.11107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amends LAC 50:XXI.11107 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities adopted provisions in the 
Children’s Choice Waiver for the allocation of additional 
waiver opportunities for the Money Follows the Person 
Rebalancing Demonstration Program (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 35, Number 9). The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions of the 
Children’s Choice Waiver to provide for the allocation of 
waiver opportunities for children who have been identified 
by the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 
regional offices and human services authorities and districts 
as meeting state-funded family support criteria for priority 
level 1 and 2, and needing more family support services than 
what is currently available through state-funded family 
support services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the September 20, 2010 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to secure enhanced federal 
funding. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will result in an increase in expenditures in 
the Children’s Choice Waiver Program by approximately 
$2,270,233 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective January 19, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities amend 
the provisions governing the allocation of opportunities in 
the Children’s Choice Waiver. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 9.  Children’s Choice 

Chapter 111. General Provisions 
§11107. Allocation of Waiver Opportunities 

A. The order of entry in the Children’s Choice Waiver is 
first come, first served from a statewide list arranged by date 
of application for the Developmental Disabilities Request for 
Services Registry for the New Opportunities Waiver. 
Families shall be given a choice of accepting an opportunity 
in the Children’s Choice Waiver or remaining on the 
DDRFSR for the NOW. 

1. The only exceptions to the first come, first served 
allocation of waiver opportunities shall be for the:  

a. Money Follows the Person Rebalancing 
Demonstration waiver opportunities which are allocated to 
demonstration participants only; and  

b. waiver opportunities which are allocated to 
children who have been determined to need more services 
than what is currently available through state funded family 
support services. 

B. - B.1.b. ... 
C. Four hundred twenty-five opportunities shall be 

designated for qualifying children with developmental 
disabilities that have been identified by the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) regional 
offices and human services authorities and districts as 
needing more family support services than what is currently 
available through state funded family support services.  

1. To qualify for these waiver opportunities, children 
must: 

a. be under 18 years of age; 
b. be designated by the OCDD regional office, 

human services authority or district as meeting priority level 
1 or 2 criteria;  

c. be Medicaid eligible; 
d. be eligible for state developmental disability 

services; and 
e. meet the ICF/DD level of care. 

2. Each OCDD regional office and human services 
authority or district shall be responsible for the prioritization 
of these opportunities. Priority levels shall be defined 
according to the following criteria: 

a. Priority Level 1. Without the requested supports, 
there is an immediate or potential threat of out-of-home 
placement or homelessness due to: 
 i. the individual’s medical care needs; 
 ii. documented abuse or neglect of the individual; 
 iii. the individual’s intense or frequent challenging 
behavioral needs; or 
 iv. death or inability of the caregiver to continue 
care due to their own age or health; or 
 v. the possibility that the individual may 
experience a health crisis leading to death, hospitalization or 
placement in a nursing facility. 

b. Priority Level 2. Supports are needed to prevent 
the individual’s health from deteriorating or the individual 
from losing any of their independence or productivity. 

3. Children who qualify for one of these waiver 
opportunities are not required to have a protected request 
date on the Developmental Disabilities Request for Services 
Registry. 

4. Each OCDD regional office, human services 
authority and district shall have a specific number of these 
opportunities designated to them for allocation to waiver 
recipients. 

6. In the event one of these opportunities is vacated, 
the opportunity shall be returned to the allocated pool for 
that particular OCDD regional office, human services 
authority or district for another opportunity to be offered. 

7. Once all of these opportunities are filled, supports 
and services, based on the priority determination system, 
will be identified and addressed through other resources 
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currently available for individuals with developmental 
disabilities.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 35:1892 
(September 2009), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#122 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Children’s Choice 

Service Cap and Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.11301 and 12101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amend LAC 50:XXI.11301 and 
§12101 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the 
Children’s Choice Waiver in order to reduce the 
reimbursement rates, and to amend the provisions governing 
family training to clarify the service description and the 
components of the service that qualify for Medicaid 

reimbursement (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
10).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the Children’s 
Choice Waiver to reduce the service cap and to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid for waiver services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
subsequently amended the provisions of the August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule governing the service cap in order to revise 
the effective date of the service cap reduction (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 9). The department now 
proposes to amend the provisions of the September 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of LAC 
50:XXI.12101 as a result of the promulgation of the October 
20, 2010 final Rule. This action is being taken to ensure that 
these provisions are appropriately incorporated into the 
Louisiana Administrative Code.  

Effective December 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities amend 
the provisions of the September 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for Children’s 
Choice Waiver services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 9.  Children’s Choice 

Chapter 113. Services 
§11301. Service Cap 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective September 1, 2010, Children’s Choice 

Waiver services are capped at $16,660 per individual per 
plan of care year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1983 (September 2002), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 33:2440 (November 2007), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 37: 
Chapter 121. Reimbursement 
§12101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C.1. …  
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for Children’s Choice Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on July 31, 2010. 

1. The following items shall be excluded from the rate 
reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
b. family training services; and 
c. support coordination services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1987 (September 2002), LR 33:1872 
(September 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 
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34:250 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36:324 (February 
2010), LR 36:2280 (October 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#125 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health ProgramExtended Nursing Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XIII.701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XIII.701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing services covered in the Home Health Program to 
increase the reimbursement rates paid for extended nursing 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 4). 

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing services covered in the Home Health Program in 
order to reduce the reimbursement rates paid for extended 
nursing services. This action is being taken to avoid a budget 
deficit in the medical assistance programs. It is estimated 
that implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 

expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$313,132 for state fiscal year 2010-2011.  

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for extended nursing services in the Home Health Program 
to reduce the reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIII.  Home Health 
Subpart 1.  Home Health Services 

Chapter 7. Reimbursement Methodology 
§701. Nursing and Home Health Aide Services 

A. - B.3. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for extended nursing services 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect on 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:654 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2281 (October 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#019 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.909) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.909 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions which established the prospective reimbursement 
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methodology for inpatient services provided in private (non-
state) acute care general hospitals and implemented 
prospective per diem rates for various hospital peer groups 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 6). Separate peer 
group payment rates were established for certain specialty 
hospital services rendered in the general acute care setting. 
Children’s hospitals were categorized as a specialty hospital 
within the acute care general hospital peer group. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the June 1994 Rule governing inpatient 
hospital services to revise the qualifying criteria and 
reimbursement methodology for children’s specialty 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 9). The 
provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for children’s 
specialty hospitals were published in a final Rule on 
November 20, 2010 (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule to 
revise the formatting of these provisions as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule. This 
action is being taken to ensure that these provisions are 
appropriately incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative 
Code.  

Effective December 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by children’s specialty hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§909. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
inpatient services as a children’s specialty hospital, the acute 
care hospital must meet the following criteria: 

1. be recognized by Medicare as a prospective 
payment system (PPS) exempt children’s specialty hospital; 

2. does not qualify for Medicare disproportionate 
share hospital payments; and 

3. has a Medicaid inpatient days utilization rate 
greater than the mean plus two standard deviations of the 
Medicaid utilization rates for all hospitals in the state 
receiving Medicaid payments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#127 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Major Teaching Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.1333)  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.1333 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to provide for a supplemental 
Medicaid payment to non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals for having a Medicaid inpatient utilization greater 
than 30 percent and teaching hospitals for furnishing 
additional graduate medical education services as a result of 
the suspension of training programs at the Medical Center of 
Louisiana at New Orleans due to the impact of Hurricane 
Katrina (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 5). The 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to provide a 
supplemental Medicaid payment to acute care hospitals 
designated as major teaching hospitals to facilitate the 
development of public-private collaborations in order to 
preserve access to medically necessary services for Medicaid 
recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 10). The 
department amended the provisions of the October 1, 2009 
Emergency Rule in order to revise which fiscal year’s claims 
data the quarterly payments will be based on (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 5). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the May 20, 
2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 
the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
encouraging provider participation in the Medicaid Program 
so as to assure sufficient access to hospital services.  

Effective January 17, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state 
hospitals designated as major teaching hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1333. Major Teaching Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 
2009, a quarterly supplemental payment shall be issued to 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2803 

qualifying non-rural, non-state acute care hospitals for 
inpatient services rendered during the quarter. These 
payments shall be used to facilitate the development of 
public-private collaborations to preserve access to medically 
necessary services for Medicaid recipients. Aggregate 
payments to qualifying hospitals shall not exceed the 
maximum allowable cap for the state fiscal year. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospital must: 

a. be designated as a major teaching hospital by the 
department in state fiscal year 2009; 

b. have provided at least 25,000 Medicaid acute 
care paid days for state fiscal year 2008 dates of service; and 

c. have provided at least 4,000 Medicaid distinct 
part psychiatric unit paid days for state fiscal year 2008 
dates of service. 

2. Payments shall be distributed quarterly and shall be 
calculated using the Medicaid paid days for service dates in 
state fiscal year 2009 serving as a proxy for SFYs 2010 and 
2011 service dates.  

3. Payments are applicable to Medicaid service dates 
provided during each quarter and shall be discontinued for 
the remainder of the state fiscal year in the event that the 
maximum payment cap is reached or by June 30, 2011, 
whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#123 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Outlier Payment Methodology (LAC 50:V.954) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.954 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 

measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repromulgated all of the 
provisions governing outlier payments for inpatient hospital 
services in a codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 3).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing inpatient hospital services rendered by 
non-rural, non-state hospitals in order to revise the outlier 
payment methodology. This action is being taken to avoid a 
budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $7,417,123 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services to revise the provisions 
governing outlier payments made to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§954. Outlier Payments 

A. - A.2. … 
B. The marginal cost for outlier payments is considered 

to be hospital cost for an inpatient stay in excess of the sum 
of the hospital’s prospective payment and any other payment 
made on behalf of the patient for that stay by any other 
payee. 

1. Cost is defined as the hospital-specific cost to 
charge ratio based on the hospital’s cost report period ending 
in state fiscal year 2008 (July 1, 2007 through June 30, 
2008) multiplied by the total billed charges for an outlier 
claim. 

2. For new hospitals and hospitals that did not provide 
Medicaid Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) services in 
state fiscal year 2008, the hospital-specific cost to charge 
ratio will be calculated based on the first full year cost 
reporting period that the hospital was open or that Medicaid 
NICU services were provided. 

C. … 
D. Outlier payments to hospitals shall be made annually 

on a date not later than the end of the second quarter of each 
state fiscal year for those qualifying outlier claims submitted 
for dates of service in prior state fiscal years. If an outlier 
claim submission with dates of service in a prior state fiscal 
year is received by the department after the last day of 
November, it will not be considered for payment until the 
following state fiscal year. 

1. Payments for prior state fiscal years shall be 
adjusted annually if the department receives subsequent 
qualifying outlier claims with dates of service in a prior state 
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fiscal year for which outlier payments have already been 
made. 

2. The hospital-specific cost to charge ratio shall be 
reviewed bi-annually and may be updated according to the 
current cost report data at the discretion of the secretary. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, if covered charges for each individual case, as defined 
in §954.A, exceeds both $250,000 and 200 percent of the 
prospective payment, reimbursement shall be the lesser of 65 
percent of the hospital’s marginal cost for the claim or a pro 
rata share of the annual amount of claims submitted by all 
hospitals, multiplied by the total amount authorized for 
outlier payments for that state fiscal year (July 1 through 
June 30). 

F. For dates of service in the period December 1, 2010 
through June 30, 2011 inclusive, the amount authorized for 
outlier payments is $17,500,000. For dates of service in state 
fiscal year 2012 and subsequent years, the amount 
authorized is $30,000,000 for each state fiscal year. 

G. Outlier payments are not payable for transplant 
procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:519 (March 2010), amended LR 36:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:V.953, 955, 959 and 967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V. 953,955,959 
and 967 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 

limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
(SFY) 2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
for inpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-
state hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). 
The November 20, 2010 Rule also amended the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
to establish a Medicaid upper payment limit financing 
mechanism to provide supplemental payments to hospitals 
for providing healthcare services to low income and needy 
patients. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule also amended the provisions governing the 
appeals procedure that address the criteria for qualifying 
loss. The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise the 
formatting of LAC 50:V.953, §955, §959 and §967 as a 
result of the promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final 
Rule governing inpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals. This action is being 
taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance 
programs. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $5,917,842 for state fiscal year 
2010-2011. 

Taking the proposed per diem rate reduction into 
consideration, the department has carefully reviewed the 
proposed rates and is satisfied that they are consistent with 
efficiency, economy and quality of care and are sufficient to 
enlist enough providers so that private (non-state) inpatient 
hospital services and children’s specialty hospital services 
under the State Plan are available at least to the extent that 
they are available to the general population in the state. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2805 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - O.1. … 
P. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

Q. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1 
2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1552(July 2010), LR 36:2561 (November, 
2010), LR 37: 
§955. Long Term Hospitals 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR: 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November, 2010), LR 37: 
§959. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of July 31, 2010.  

J. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November, 2010), LR 37: 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - E. … 
1. Medicaid supplemental payments related to high 

cost Medicaid and graduate medical education supplemental 
payments shall be included as an interim Medicaid inpatient 
payment in the determination of cost settlement amounts on 
the filed cost report. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A-C above 
shall be reduced by 5 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after December 1, 2010,final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A.-C for the period, multiplied 
by 95 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A.-C for the period. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A-C above 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after December 1, 2010, final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A-C for the period, multiplied 
by 90.63 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A-C for the period. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A.-C above 
shall be reduced by 2 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A.-C for the period, multiplied 
by 88.82 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A.-C for the period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
amended LR 36:2562 (November, 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#018 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Developmental Disabilities 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:VII.32903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:VII.32903 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
legislature during the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for intermediate 
care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities 
(ICFs/DD) to increase the per diem rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 7).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ICFs/DD to reduce the per diem rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
has now determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule governing 
the reimbursement methodology for non-state ICFs/DD in 
order to exclude certain facilities from the rate reduction. 
This action is being taken to protect the health and welfare 
of Medicaid recipients and to insure continued provider 
participation in the Medicaid Program.  

Taking the proposed per diem rate reduction into 
consideration, the department has carefully reviewed the 
proposed rates and is satisfied that they are consistent with 
efficiency, economy and quality of care and are sufficient to 
enlist enough providers so that private (non-state) 
intermediate care facility services for persons with 
developmental disabilities under the State Plan are available 
at least to the extent that they are available to the general 
population in the state.  

Effective December 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for intermediate 
care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Developmental Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32903. Rate Determination 

A. - J. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the per diem rates for non-state intermediate care 
facilities for persons with developmental disabilities 
(ICFs/DD) shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem 
rates on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after December 
20, 2010, non-state ICFs/DD which have downsized from 
over 100 beds to less than 35 beds prior to December 31, 
2010 shall be excluded from the August 1, 2010 rate 
reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:2253 (September 2005), amended LR 
33:462 (March 2007), LR 33:2202 (October 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1555 (July 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#128 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4334-4337) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 
§§4334-4337 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this Schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
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management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for laboratory and radiology 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11). As a result of a budgetary 
shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
laboratory and radiology services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule also 
repealed the provisions governing the reimbursement for 
outpatient hospital laboratory services from this Chapter as 
these provisions have been amended and repromulgated in 
LAC 50:V.Chapter 57. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of 
LAC 50:XIX.4329 and §§4334-4337 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing laboratory and radiology services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for laboratory 
and radiology services to further reduce the reimbursement 
rates. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$855,906 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for laboratory and radiology services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4329. Laboratory Services (Physicians and 

Independent Laboratories)  
A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
July 31, 2010. 

J. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1025 (May 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1897 (September 2009), LR 36:1248 (June 
2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§4334. Radiology Services 

A. - G. … 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

I. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§4335. Portable Radiology Services 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on 
file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
30:1026 (May 2004), amended LR 35:1898 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010), 
LR 37: 
§4337. Radiation Therapy Centers 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 2 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1898 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
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copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#017 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Emergency Ambulance Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.325 and 353) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXVII.325 and 
§353 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for emergency 
medical transportation services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
emergency medical transportation services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates. This action is being taken to avoid 
a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $313,329 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for emergency medical transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 3. Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter B. Ground Transportation 
§325. Reimbursement 

A. - G. ... 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the 
rate on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1248 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2564 
(November 2010), LR 37:  
Subchapter C. Aircraft Transportation 
§353. Reimbursement  

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for fixed winged and rotor 
winged emergency air ambulance services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rate on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:70 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#022 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Ambulance Services 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.571) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXVII.571 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
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management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency ambulance transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). 

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
non-emergency ambulance transportation services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates. This action is being taken to 
avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. It 
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $118,644 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for non-emergency ambulance services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part.  XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§571. Non-Emergency Ambulance Transportation 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the ground mileage and ancillary services 
reimbursement rates for non-emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the 
rate in effect on November 30, 2010.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:462 (March 2007), LR 34:878 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 
2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#012 
 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.573) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXVII.573 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health of Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency medical transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for non-emergency medical 
transportation services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule was amended to revise the formatting 
of LAC 50:XXVII.573 as a result of the promulgation of the 
November 20, 2010 final Rule governing non-emergency 
medical transportation services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency medical transportation services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates. This action is being taken to avoid 
a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
reduce expenditures in the Medical Transportation Program 
by approximately $87,235 for state fiscal year 2010-2011.  

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for non-emergency medical transportation services to reduce 
the reimbursement rates. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 
A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 4.5 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

1. Friends and family providers are excluded from the 
rate reduction. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rates in effect on November 30, 2010. 

1. Friends and family providers are excluded from the 
rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#013 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.901) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.901 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 

management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Mental 
Health Rehabilitation (MHR) Program to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for mental health rehabilitation 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). As a 
result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
terminated the coverage of Parent/Family Intervention 
(Intensive) (PFII) services in the MHR Program and 
amended the provisions governing medical necessity for 
MHR services in order to establish continued treatment 
criteria (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). 
Recipients receiving PFII services shall be transitioned to 
comparable services available in the MHR Program. The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to 
revise the formatting of LAC 50:XV.901 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing mental health rehabilitation services.  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for mental health 
rehabilitation services to further reduce the reimbursement 
rates. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$783,294 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for mental health rehabilitation services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1.  Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Chapter 9. Reimbursement 
§901. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August, 1, 

2010, Medicaid reimbursement shall be terminated for 
parent/family intervention (intensive) services. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for Mental Health 
Rehabilitation services shall be reduced by 3.3 percent of the 
rates on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1091 (May 2005), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1249 
(June 2010), LR 36:2565 (November 2010), LR:37: 
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Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#015 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.25701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.25701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing multi-systemic therapy (MST) to reduce the 
reimbursement rates and to establish prior authorization 
requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). 
As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, 
the department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for MST services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was amended to revise the 
formatting of LAC 50:XV.25701 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing MST services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has now determined that it is necessary to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for MST services. This action is 

being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs. It is estimated that implementation of 
this Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $317,695 for state 
fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for multi-systemic therapy services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 17.  Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Chapter 257. Reimbursement 
§25701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 2.63 percent of the rates on file 
as of July 31, 2010. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 3 percent of the rates on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services financing, LR 
35:247 (February 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:2565 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#014 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Medication Administration 

Influenza Vaccinations 
(LAC 50:XXIX.123,991 and 993) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXIX.123 and 
§991 and adopts §993 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
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Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program to 
allow payment for the administration of H1N1 vaccine by 
qualified Medicaid enrolled pharmacists (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 8). The department now proposes to 
amend the provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to allow payment for the 
administration of the influenza vaccine for all Medicaid 
recipients, and to provide reimbursement for the cost of the 
influenza vaccine for Medicaid recipients 19 years of age 
and older. This action is being taken to promote the health 
and welfare of Medicaid recipients by facilitating access to 
the influenza vaccine. It is estimated that the implementation 
of this proposed Rule will decrease expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $274,610 for state 
fiscal year 2010-2011.  

Effective January 1, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management 
Program to allow reimbursement for the influenza vaccine 
and administration of the vaccine. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy  
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§123. Medication Administration 

A. Influenza Vaccine Administration. The department 
shall provide coverage for administration of the influenza 
vaccine by a qualified pharmacist when: 

1. the pharmacist has been credentialed by the 
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy to administer medications; 
and 

2. the pharmacist is Medicaid enrolled. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1783 (August 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Methods of Payment 
Subchapter H. Vaccines 
§991. Vaccine Administration Fees 

A. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2011, the reimbursement for administration of the influenza 
vaccine for all recipients shall be reimbursed at $15.22 for 
subcutaneous or intramuscular injection, $10.90 for 
nasal/oral administration or billed charges, whichever is the 
lesser amount. This fee includes counseling, when 
performed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1783 (August 2010), amended LR 37: 
§993. Vaccine Reimbursement 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 
2011, the influenza vaccine for recipients aged 19 and over 
shall be reimbursed at 90 percent of the 2009 Louisiana 

Medicare Average Sales Price (ASP) allowable or billed 
charges, whichever is the lesser amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#119 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural,  
Non-State Hospitals and Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC:V.5313, 5317, 5513, 5517,  

5713, 5719, 6115 and 6119) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.5313, §5317, 
§5513, §5517, §5713, §5719, §6115 and §6119 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for outpatient 
hospital services to reduce the reimbursement rates paid to 
non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9). As a 
result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing outpatient hospital services to 
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reduce the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals and children’s specialty hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule was amended to revise the formatting as a 
result of the promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final 
Rule governing outpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for outpatient 
hospital services to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 
hospitals. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit 
in the medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures for outpatient hospital services by 
approximately $1,594,354 for state fiscal year 2010-2011.  

Taking the proposed rate reductions into consideration, the 
department has carefully reviewed the proposed rates and is 
satisfied that they are consistent with efficiency, economy 
and quality of care and are sufficient to enlist enough 
providers so that private (non-state) outpatient hospital 
services and children’s specialty hospital services under the 
State Plan are available at least to the extent that they are 
available to the general population in the state.  

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for outpatient hospital services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates.  

Title 50 
PULIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospitals 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5313. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2041 (September 2010), 
LR 37: 
§5317. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 86.15 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5513. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinic services shall be reduced by 
4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinic services shall be reduced by 2 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), 
LR 37: 
§5517. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital clinic services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital clinic services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the fee schedule on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5713. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient laboratory services shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 
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1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient laboratory services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 
2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), 
LR 37: 
§5719. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee schedule on 
file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2043 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6115. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than clinical 
diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. Final reimbursement shall be at 71.13 percent 
of allowable cost through the cost settlement process.  

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than clinical 
diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates effective as of 
November 30, 2010. Final reimbursement shall be at 69.71 
percent of allowable cost through the cost settlement 
process.  

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 

amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2043 
(September 2010), LR 37: 
§6119. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B.1. … 
C.  Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement fees paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates effective as of 
November 30, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 86.15 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2044 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#011 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Major Teaching Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.6533) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.6533 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
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provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
outpatient hospital services rendered by acute care hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 22, Number 1). The 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services to provide a 
supplemental Medicaid payment to non-rural, non-state 
acute care hospitals designated as major teaching hospitals 
to facilitate the development of public-private collaborations 
in order to preserve access to medically necessary services 
for Medicaid recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 10). The department amended the provisions of the 
October 1, 2009 Emergency Rule in order to revise which 
fiscal year’s claims data the quarterly payments will be 
based on (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 5). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the May 20, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action 
is being taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by encouraging provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program so as to assure sufficient access to 
hospital services.  

Effective January 17, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
outpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state 
hospitals designated as major teaching hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 65. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6533. Major Teaching Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 
2009, a quarterly supplemental payment shall be issued to 
qualifying non-rural, non-state acute care hospitals for 
outpatient services rendered during the quarter. These 
payments shall be used to facilitate the development of 
public-private collaborations to preserve access to medically 
necessary services for Medicaid recipients. Aggregate 
payments to qualifying hospitals shall not exceed the 
maximum allowable cap for the state fiscal year. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospital must: 

a. be designated as a major teaching hospital by the 
department in state fiscal year 2009; 

b. have provided at least 25,000 Medicaid acute 
care paid days for state fiscal year 2008 dates of service;  

c. have provided at least 4,000 Medicaid distinct 
part psychiatric unit paid days for state fiscal year 2008 
dates of service; and 

d. provided at least 20,000 Medicaid outpatient paid 
visits for state fiscal year 2008 dates of service. 

2. Payments shall be distributed quarterly based on 
Medicaid paid claims data from service dates in state fiscal 
year 2009.  

3. Payments are applicable to Medicaid service dates 
provided during each quarter and shall be discontinued for 
the remainder of the state fiscal year in the event that the 

maximum payment cap is reached or by June 30, 2011, 
whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#126 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Personal Care Services—Long-Term 
Policy Clarifications and Service Limit Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.12901-12909 and 12911-12915) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XV.12901-12909 and §§12911-
12915 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Senate Resolution 180 and House Resolution 190 of the 
2008 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature directed 
the department to develop and implement cost control 
mechanisms to provide the most cost-effective means of 
financing the Long-Term Personal Care Services (LT-PCS) 
Program. In compliance with these legislative directives, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amended the provisions governing the LT-PCS 
Program to: 1) implement uniform needs-based assessments 
for authorizing service units; 2) reduce the limit on LT-PCS 
service hours; 3) mandate that providers must show cause 
for refusing to serve clients; and 4) incorporate provisions 
governing an allocation of weekly service hours (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 35, Number 11).  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing long-term personal care 
services to: 1) establish provisions that address requests for 
services; 2) revise the eligibility criteria for LT-PCS; 3) 
clarify the provisions governing restrictions for paid direct 
care staff and the place of service; and 4) reduce the 
maximum allowed service hours (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 8). The department now proposes to 
amend the provisions of the September 5, 2010 Emergency 
Rule to clarify the provisions of the Rule. This action is 
being taken to ensure that these provisions are promulgated 
in a clear and concise manner.  
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Effective December 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions of 
the September 5, 2010 Emergency Rule governing long-term 
personal care services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long Term Care 
§12901. General Provisions 

A. The purpose of personal care services is to assist 
individuals with functional impairments with their daily 
living activities. Personal care services must be provided in 
accordance with an approved service plan and supporting 
documentation. In addition, personal care services must be 
coordinated with the other Medicaid and non-Medicaid 
services being provided to the recipient and will be 
considered in conjunction with those other services. 

B. Each recipient requesting or receiving long-term 
personal care services (LT-PCS) shall undergo a functional 
eligibility screening utilizing an eligibility screening tool 
called the Level of Care Eligibility Tool (LOCET), or a 
subsequent eligibility tool designated by the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services (OAAS). 

C. Each LT-PCS applicant/recipient shall be assessed 
using a uniform assessment tool called the Minimum Data 
Set-Home Care (MDS-HC) or a subsequent assessment tool 
designated by OAAS. The MDS-HC is designed to verify 
that an individual meets eligibility qualifications and to 
determine resource allocation while identifying his/her need 
for support in performance of activities of daily living 
(ADLs) and instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 
The MDS-HC assessment generates a score which measures 
the recipient’s degree of self-performance of late-loss 
activities of daily living during the period just before the 
assessment.  

1. The late-loss ADLs are eating, toileting, 
transferring and bed mobility. An individual’s assessment 
will generate a score which is representative of the 
individual’s degree of self-performance on these four late-
loss ADLs. 

C.2. - C.7. Repealed. 
D.  Based on the applicant/recipient’s uniform 

assessment score, he/she is assigned to a level of support 
category and is eligible for a set allocation of weekly service 
hours associated with that level.  

1. If the applicant/recipient disagrees with his/her 
allocation of weekly service hours, the applicant/recipient or 
his/her responsible representative may request a fair hearing 
to appeal the decision.  

2. The applicant/recipient may qualify for more hours 
if it can be demonstrated that: 

a. one or more answers to the questions involving 
late-loss ADLs are incorrect as recorded on the assessment; 
or 

b. he/she needs additional hours to avoid entering 
into a nursing facility. 

E. Requests for personal care services shall be accepted 
from the following individuals: 

1. a Medicaid recipient who wants to receive personal 
care services; 

2. an individual who is legally responsible for a 
recipient who may be in need of personal care services; or 

3. a responsible representative designated by the 
recipient to act on his/her behalf in requesting personal care 
services. 

F. Each recipient who requests PCS has the option to 
designate a responsible representative. For purposes of these 
provisions, a responsible representative shall be defined as 
the person designated by the recipient to act on his/her 
behalf in the process of accessing and/or maintaining 
personal care services. 

1. The appropriate form authorized by OAAS shall be 
used to designate a responsible representative.  

a. The written designation of a responsible 
representative does not give legal authority for that 
individual to independently handle the recipient’s business 
without his/her involvement. 

b. The written designation is valid until revoked by 
the recipient. To revoke the written designation, the 
revocation must be submitted in writing to OAAS or its 
designee. 

2. The functions of a responsible representative are to: 
a. assist and represent the recipient in the 

assessment, care plan development and service delivery 
processes; and 

b. to aid the recipient in obtaining all necessary 
documentation for these processes. 

F.3. - F.4. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:911 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2831 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 32:2082 
(November 2006), LR 34:2577 (December 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:2450 
(November 2009), LR 37: 
§12902. Participant Direction Option  

A. The Office of Aging and Adult Services implements a 
pilot program, the Louisiana Personal Options Program (La 
POP), which will allow recipients who receive long term 
personal care services (LT-PCS) to have the option of 
utilizing an alternative method to receive and manage their 
services. Recipients may direct and manage their own 
services by electing to participate in La POP, rather than 
accessing their services through a traditional personal care 
agency. 

1. La POP shall be implemented through a phase-in 
process in Department of Health and Hospitals 
administrative regions designated by OAAS. 

A.2. - B.1. ... 
2. With the assistance of a services consultant, 

participants develop a personal support plan based on their 
approved plan of care and choose the individuals they wish 
to hire to provide the services. 

C. - E.1. ... 
2. Change in Condition. The participant’s ability to 

direct his/her own care diminishes to a point where he/she 
can no longer do so and there is no responsible 
representative available to direct the care. 
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3. Misuse of Monthly Allocation of Funds. The LA 
POP participant or his/her responsible representative uses 
the monthly budgeted funds to purchase items unrelated to 
personal care needs or otherwise misappropriate the funds.  

4. Failure to Provide Required Documentation. The 
participant or his/her responsible representative fails to 
complete and submit employee time sheets in a timely and 
accurate manner, or provide required documentation of 
expenditures and related items as prescribed in the Louisiana 
Personal Options Program’s Roles and Responsibility 
agreement. 

5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2578 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office 
of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:  
§12903. Covered Services 

A. Personal care services are defined as those services 
that provide assistance with the distinct tasks associated with 
the performance of the activities of daily living (ADLs) and 
the instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 
Assistance may be either the actual performance of the 
personal care task for the individual or supervision and 
prompting so the individual performs the task by 
him/herself. ADLs are those personal, functional activities 
required by the recipient. ADLs include tasks such as: 

A.1. - A.5. ... 
6. ambulation;  
7. toileting; and 
8. bed mobility. 

B. IADLs are those activities that are considered 
essential, but may not require performance on a daily basis. 
IADLs cannot be performed in the recipient’s home when 
he/she is absent from the home. IADLs include tasks such 
as: 

1. light housekeeping; 
2. food preparation and storage; 
3. shopping; 
4. laundry; 
5. assisting with scheduling medical appointments 

when necessary; 
6. accompanying the recipient to medical 

appointments when necessary; 
7. assisting the recipient to access transportation; and 
8. reminding the recipient to take his/her medication 

as prescribed by the physician. 
C. Emergency and nonemergency medical transportation 

is a covered Medicaid service and is available to all 
recipients. Non-medical transportation is not a required 
component of personal care services. However, providers 
may choose to furnish transportation for recipients during 
the course of providing personal care services. If 
transportation is furnished, the provider agency must accept 
any liability for their employee transporting a recipient. It is 
the responsibility of the provider agency to ensure that the 
employee has a current, valid driver’s license and 
automobile liability insurance. 

1. La POP participants may choose to use some of 
their monthly budget to purchase non-medical 
transportation.  

a. If transportation is furnished, the participant must 
accept all liability for their employee transporting them. It is 
the responsibility of the participant to ensure that the 
employee has a current, valid driver’s license and 
automobile liability insurance. 

D. - F. ... 
G. Personal care services may be provided by one 

worker for up to three long-term personal care service 
recipients who live together and who have a common direct 
service provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2831 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2578 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12905. Eligibility Criteria  

A. … 
B. Recipients must meet the eligibility criteria 

established by OAAS or its designee. Personal care services 
are medically necessary if the recipient: 

B.1. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2831 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 32:2082 (November 2006), LR 34:2579 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12907. Recipient Rights and Responsibilities 

A. - A.2. … 
3. training the individual personal care worker in the 

specific skills necessary to maintain the recipient’s 
independent functioning while maintaining him/her in the 
home; 

4. developing an emergency component in the plan of 
care that includes a list of personal care staff who can serve 
as back-up when unforeseen circumstances prevent the 
regularly scheduled worker from providing services; 

5. - 9. … 
B. Changing Providers. Recipients may request to 

change PCS agencies without cause once after each three 
month interval during the service authorization period. 
Recipients may request to change PCS providers with good 
cause at any time during the service authorization period. 
Good cause is defined as the failure of the provider to 
furnish services in compliance with the plan of care. Good 
cause shall be determined by OAAS or its designee. 

C. In addition to these rights, a La POP participant has 
certain responsibilities, including: 

1. ... 
2. notifying the services consultant at the earliest 

reasonable time of admission to a hospital, nursing facility, 
rehabilitation facility or any other institution; 

2.a. - 8. … 
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9. training the direct service worker in the specific 
skills necessary to maintain the participant’s independent 
functioning to remain in the home; 

10. - 13. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2832 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2579 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12909. Standards for Participation 

A. - A.1.c. ... 
d. any federal or state laws, Rules, regulations, 

policies and procedures contained in the Medicaid provider 
manual for personal care services, or other document issued 
by the department. Failure to do may result in sanctions. 

A.2. - B.12.c. ... 
C. An LT-PCS provider shall not refuse to serve any 

individual who chooses his agency unless there is 
documentation to support an inability to meet the 
individual’s needs, or all previous efforts to provide service 
and supports have failed and there is no option but to refuse 
services. 

C.1. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2832 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2579 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:2451 (November 2009), amended 
LR 37: 
§12911. Staffing Requirements 

A. - B.3. ... 
C. Restrictions  

1. The following individuals are prohibited from 
being reimbursed for providing services to a recipient: 

a. the recipient’s spouse; 
b. the recipient’s curator; 
c. the recipient’s tutor; 
d. the recipient’s legal guardian; 
e. the recipient’s designated responsible 

representative; or 
f. the person to whom the recipient has given 

Representative and Mandate authority (also known as Power 
of Attorney). 

2. The owner, operator or controller of the home or 
property in which the recipient resides may receive 
reimbursement if related to the recipient unless he/she is the 
recipient’s spouse. 

D. - E.1.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2832 (December 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:2580 (December 2008), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12912. Training 

A. - C.6. ... 
D. New direct care staff must also receive training in 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and basic first aid 
within one week of employment. A current, valid 
certification for CPR and first aid may be accepted as 
verification of training. This CPR and first aid certification 
must be maintained and kept current as long as the direct 
service worker is employed with the PCS agency. 

E. - E.7. ... 
8. maintenance of a clean environment; and 
9. - G.3.c. …  
4. New La POP direct service workers must also 

receive training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and 
basic first aid within one week of employment. A current, 
valid certification for CPR and first aid may be accepted as 
verification of training. This CPR and first aid certification 
must be maintained and kept current throughout the worker’s 
employment period as a La POP personal care service 
worker. 

G.5. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2580 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office 
of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12913. Service Delivery 

A. Personal care services shall be provided in the 
recipient’s home or in another location outside of the 
recipient’s home if the provision of these services allows the 
recipient to participate in normal life activities pertaining to 
the IADLs cited in the plan of care. The recipient’s home is 
defined as the place where he/she resides such as a house, an 
apartment, a boarding house, or the house or apartment of a 
family member or unpaid primary care-giver. IADLs cannot 
be performed in the recipient’s home when the recipient is 
absent from the home. 

A.1. - A.4. Repealed. 
B. The provision of services outside of the recipient’s 

home does not include trips outside of the borders of the 
state without written prior approval of OAAS or its 
designee, through the plan of care or otherwise.  

C. Participants are not permitted to receive LT-PCS 
while living in a home or property owned, operated, or 
controlled by a provider of services who is not related by 
blood or marriage to the participant. 

C.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2833 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2581 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 
§12915. Service Limitations 

A. Personal care services shall be limited to up to 32 
hours per week. Authorization of service hours shall be 
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considered on a case-by-case basis as substantiated by the 
recipient’s plan of care and supporting documentation. 

B. There shall be no duplication of services. 
1. Personal care services may not be provided while 

the recipient is admitted to or attending a program which 
provides in-home assistance with IADLs or ADLs or while 
the recipient is admitted to or attending a program or setting 
where such assistance is available to the recipient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:2581 (December 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:2451 
(November 2009), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#129 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Personal Care ServicesLong-Term 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.12917) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XV.12917 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for long-term personal care 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 6).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for long-term personal care services to reduce 
the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for long-term 
personal care services to further reduce the reimbursement 
rates. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$5,647,608 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for long-term 
personal care services to reduce the reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long-Term Care 
§12917. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - E. ... 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rate for long-term personal care 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rate for long-term personal care 
services shall be reduced by 5.8 percent of the rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:253 (February 2008), LR 34:2581 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 36:1251 (June 
2010), LR 37:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
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copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#016 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy ProgramPrescription Limit Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXIX.113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXIX.113 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing prescription limits in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to reduce the number of prescriptions 
covered by the Medicaid Program within a calendar month 
for certain recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management 
Program to further reduce the number of prescriptions 
covered by the Medicaid Program within a calendar month. 
This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$1,736,000 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing prescription limits in the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management Program. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§113. Prescription Limit 

A. Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of 
Health and Hospitals will pay for a maximum of four 
prescriptions per calendar month for Medicaid recipients. 

B. The following federally mandated recipient groups 
are exempt from the four prescriptions per calendar month 
limitation: 

1. persons under 21 years of age; 
2. persons who are residents of long-term care 

institutions, such as nursing homes and ICF-DD facilities; 
and 

3. pregnant women. 
C. The four prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates the 
following information to the pharmacist in his own 
handwriting or by telephone or other telecommunications 
device: 

1. “medically necessary override;” and 
2. a valid ICD-9-CM, or its successor, diagnosis code 

that is directly related to each drug prescribed that is over the 
four prescription limit (no ICD-9-CM, or its successor, 
literal description is acceptable). 

D. The prescriber should use the Clinical Drug Inquiry 
(CDI) internet web application developed by the fiscal 
intermediary in his/her clinical assessment of the patient’s 
disease state or medical condition and the current drug 
regime before making a determination that more than four 
prescriptions per calendar month is required by the recipient. 

E. ... 
F. An acceptable statement and ICD-9-CM, or its 

successor, diagnosis code are required for each prescription 
in excess of four for that month. 

G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1055 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#008 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pregnant Women Extended Services 
Dental ServicesReimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.16107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.16107 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.   

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates for services 
rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant women (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for dental services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates for services rendered to Medicaid 
eligible pregnant women (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was 
amended to revise the formatting of LAC 50:XV.16107 as a 
result of the promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final 
Rule governing the Pregnant Women Extended Services 
Dental Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
has determined that it is necessary to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates for dental services rendered to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women. This action is being 
taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance 
programs. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $41,896 for state fiscal year 
2010-2011.  

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 

for dental services rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant 
women.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 13.  Pregnant Women Extended Services 

Chapter 161. Dental Services 
§16107. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3.q. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for dental services provided to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women shall be reduced to the 
following percentages of the 2009 National Dental Advisory 
Service Comprehensive Fee Report 70th percentile, unless 
otherwise stated in this Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the comprehensive periodontal 
evaluation exam; 

2. 65 percent for the following diagnostic services: 
a. intraoral-periapical first film; 
b. intraoral-periapical, each additional film; and 
c. panoramic film and prophylaxis, adult; and 

3. 58 percent for the remaining diagnostic services 
and all periodontic procedures, restorative and oral and 
maxillofacial surgery procedures which includes the 
following dental services: 

a. intraoral, occlusal film;  
b. bitewings, two films;  
c. amalgam (one, two or three surfaces) primary or 

permanent;  
d. amalgam (four or more surfaces); 
e. resin-based composite (one, two or three 

surfaces), anterior;  
f. resin-based composite (four or more surfaces) or 

involving incisal angle, anterior;  
g. resin-based composite crown, anterior;  
h. resin-based composite (one, two, three, four or 

more surfaces), posterior; 
i. prefabricated stainless steel crown, primary or 

permanent tooth; 
j. prefabricated resin crown; 
k. periodontal scaling and root planning (four or 

more teeth per quadrant);  
l. full mouth debridement to enable comprehensive 

evaluation and diagnosis; 
m. extraction, coronal remnants-deciduous tooth; 
n. extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 

(elevation and/or forceps removal);  
o. surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 

elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of bone and/or 
section of tooth;  

p. removal of impacted tooth, soft tissue; and 
q. removal of impacted tooth, partially bony. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement fees for dental services provided to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women shall be reduced to the 
following percentages of the 2009 National Dental Advisory 
Service Comprehensive Fee Report 70th percentile, unless 
otherwise stated in this Chapter: 

1. 67.5 percent for the comprehensive periodontal 
evaluation exam; 
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2. 63.5 percent for the following diagnostic services: 
a. intraoral-periapical first film; 
b. intraoral-periapical, each additional film; and 
c. panoramic film and prophylaxis, adult; and 

3. 57 percent for the remaining diagnostic services 
and all periodontic procedures, restorative and oral and 
maxillofacial surgery procedures which includes the 
following dental services: 

a. intraoral, occlusal film;  
b. bitewings, two films;  
c. amalgam (one, two or three surfaces) primary or 

permanent;  
d. amalgam (four or more surfaces); 
e. resin-based composite (one, two or three 

surfaces), anterior;  
f. resin-based composite (four or more surfaces) or 

involving incisal angle, anterior;  
g. resin-based composite crown, anterior;  
h. resin-based composite (one, two, three, four or 

more surfaces), posterior; 
i. prefabricated stainless steel crown, primary or 

permanent tooth; 
j. prefabricated resin crown; 
k. periodontal scaling and root planning (four or 

more teeth per quadrant);  
l. full mouth debridement to enable comprehensive 

evaluation and diagnosis; 
m. extraction, coronal remnants-deciduous tooth; 
n. extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 

(elevation and/or forceps removal);  
o. surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 

elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of bone and/or 
section of tooth;  

p. removal of impacted tooth, soft tissue; and 
q. removal of impacted tooth, partially bony. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:434 (March 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1902 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2044 
(September 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#025 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Physician ServicesObstetrics Rate Increase 

(LAC 50:IX.15113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:IX.15113 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the Professional Services Program to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid for physician services 
and to clarify the provisions governing physician 
reimbursement for services rendered to recipients 16 years 
of age or older (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10). 
The department has now determined that it is necessary to 
amend the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for physician services to increase the 
reimbursement rates for obstetric delivery services.  

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by maintaining access to 
obstetric delivery services and encouraging the continued 
participation of physicians in the Medicaid Program. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
increase expenditures in the Professional Services Program 
by approximately $956,784 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for physician services to increase the reimbursement rates 
for obstetric delivery services.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter B. Physician Services 

§15113. Reimbursement 
A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, reimbursement shall be 90 percent of the 2009 
Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable for the following 
obstetric services when rendered to recipients 16 years of 
age and older: 

1. vaginal-only delivery (with or without postpartum 
care); 

2. vaginal delivery after previous cesarean (VBAC) 
delivery; and  
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3. cesarean delivery following attempted vaginal 
delivery after previous cesarean delivery. The 
reimbursement for a cesarean delivery remains at 80 percent 
of the 2009 Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable when 
the service is rendered to recipients 16 years of age and 
older. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1252 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2282 (October 2010), 
amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a  
(LAC 43:XIX.Chapters 2 and 11) 

Pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the 
state of Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Revised 
Statutes of 1950, as amended, and in conformity with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
Title 49, Sections 953(B)(1) and (2), 954(B)(2), as amended, 
the following Emergency Rule and reasons therefore are 
now adopted and promulgated by the Commissioner of 
Conservation as being necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the State of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally, by amending and 
expanding the drilling and completion operational and safety 
requirements for wells drilled in search of oil and natural gas 
at water locations. The Emergency Rule signed by the 
commissioner on July 8, 2010 and effective July 15, 2010 is 
hereby rescinded and replaced by the following Emergency 
Rule. 

The Emergency Rule is intended to provide greater 
protection to the public health, safety and welfare of the 
people of the state, as well as the environment generally by 
adopting new operational and safety requirements for the 
drilling and completion of oil and gas wells at water 
locations. Specifically, the Emergency Rule creates a new 
Chapter within Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.Chapter 2) to provide additional rules concerning 
the drilling and completion of oil and gas wells at water 
locations, specifically providing for the following: rig 
movement and reporting requirements, additional 

requirements for applications to drill, casing program 
requirements, mandatory diverter systems and blowout 
preventer requirements, oil and gas well-workover 
operations, diesel engine safety requirements, and drilling 
fluid regulations. Further, the Emergency Rule amends 
Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) to 
provide for and expand upon rules concerning the use of 
storm chokes in oil and gas wells at water locations. 

Recognizing the potential advantages of expanding the 
operational and safety requirements for the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
state, it has been determined that failure to establish such 
requirements in the form of an administrative rule may lead 
to the existence of an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally.  

Protection of the public and our environment therefore 
requires the Commissioner of Conservation to take 
immediate steps to assure that drilling and completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations within the State are 
undertaken in accordance with all reasonable care and 
protection to the health, safety of the public, oil and gas 
personnel, and the environment generally.  

The effective date of the Emergency Rule, Amendment to 
Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 2) and 
Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) 
(Emergency Rule) set forth hereinafter is December 9, 2010. 
The Emergency Rule shall remain in effect for 120 days 
after its effective date. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation―General Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 2. Additional Requirements for Water 
Locations 

§201. Applicability  
A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Chapter 1 

of this Subpart, all oil and gas wells being drilled or 
completed at a water location within the state and which are 
spud or on which workover operations commence on or after 
July 15, 2010 shall comply with this Chapter.  

B. Unless otherwise stated herein, nothing within this 
Chapter shall alter the obligation of oil and gas operators to 
meet the requirements of Chapter 1 of this Subpart.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§203. Application to Drill 

A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 
103 of this Subpart, at the time of submittal of an application 
for permit to drill, the applicant will provide an electronic 
copy on a disk of the associated drilling rig’s Spill 
Prevention Control (SPC) plan that is required by DEQ 
pursuant to the provisions of Part IX of Title 33 of the 
Louisiana Administrative Code or any successor rule. Such 
plan shall become a part of the official well file. If the 
drilling rig to be used in drilling a permitted well changes 
between the date of the application and the date of drilling, 
the applicant shall provide an electronic copy on a disk of 
the SPC plan for the correct drilling rig within two business 
days of becoming aware of the change; but in no case shall 
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the updated SPC plan be submitted after spudding of the 
well. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§204. Rig Movement and Reporting 

A. The operator must report the movement of all drilling 
and workover rig units on and off locations to the 
appropriate district manager with the rig name, well serial 
number and expected time of arrival and departure. 

B. Drilling operations on a platform with producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow must comply with the 
following. 

1. An emergency shutdown station must be installed 
near the driller’s console.  

2. All producible wells located in the affected wellbay 
must be shut in below the surface and at the wellhead when: 

a. a rig or related equipment is moved on and off a 
platform. This includes rigging up and rigging down 
activities within 500 feet of the affected platform; 

b. a drilling unit is moved or skid between wells on 
a platform; 

c. a mobile offshore drilling unit (MODU) moves 
within 500 feet of a platform.  

3. Production may be resumed once the MODU is in 
place, secured, and ready to begin drilling operations. 

C. The movement of rigs and related equipment on and 
off a platform or from well to well on the same platform, 
including rigging up and rigging down, shall be conducted in 
a safe manner. All wells in the same well-bay which are 
capable of producing hydrocarbons shall be shut in below 
the surface with a pump-through-type tubing plug and at the 
surface with a closed master valve prior to moving well-
completion rigs and related equipment, unless otherwise 
approved by the district manager. A closed surface-
controlled subsurface safety valve of the pump-through type 
may be used in lieu of the pump-through-type tubing plug, 
provided that the surface control has been locked out of 
operation. The well from which the rig or related equipment 
is to be moved shall also be equipped with a back-pressure 
valve prior to removing the blowout preventer (BOP) system 
and installing the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§205. Casing Program 

A. General Requirements 
1. The operator shall case and cement all wells with a 

sufficient number of strings of casing and quantity and 
quality of cement in a manner necessary to prevent fluid 
migration in the wellbore, protect the underground source of 
drinking water (USDW) from contamination, support 
unconsolidated sediments, and otherwise provide a means of 
control of the formation pressures and fluids. 

2. The operator shall install casing necessary to 
withstand collapse, bursting, tensile, and other stresses that 
may be encountered and the well shall be cemented in a 
manner which will anchor and support the casing. Safety 
factors in casing program design shall be of sufficient 
magnitude to provide optimum well control while drilling 
and to assure safe operations for the life of the well.  

3. All tubulars and cement shall meet or exceed API 
standards. Cementing jobs shall be designed so that cement 
composition, placement techniques, and waiting times 
ensure that the cement placed behind the bottom 500 feet of 
casing attains a minimum compressive strength of 500 psi 
before drilling out of the casing or before commencing 
completion operations. 

4. Centralizers 
a. Surface casing shall be centralized by means of 

placing centralizers in the following manner. 
 i. A centralizer shall be placed on every third 
joint from the shoe to surface, with two centralizers being 
placed on each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 
 ii. If conductor pipe is set, three centralizers shall 
be equally spaced on surface casing to fall within the 
conductor pipe. 

b. Intermediate and production casing, and drilling 
and production liners shall be centralized by means of a 
centralizer placed every third joint from the shoe to top of 
cement. Additionally, two centralizers shall be placed on 
each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 

c. All centralizers shall meet API standards. 
5. A copy of the documentation furnished by the 

manufacturer, if new, or supplier, if reconditioned, which 
certifies tubular condition, shall be provided with the Well 
History and Work Resume Report (Form WH-1). 

B. Conductor Pipe. A conductor pipe is that pipe 
ordinarily used for the purpose of supporting unconsolidated 
surface deposits. A conductor pipe shall be used during the 
drilling of any oil and gas well and shall be set at depth that 
allows use of a diverter system. 

C. Surface Casing 
1. Where no danger of pollution of the USDW exists, 

the minimum amount of surface or first-intermediate casing 
to be set shall be determined from Table 1 hereof, except that 
in no case shall less surface casing be set than an amount 
needed to protect the USDW unless an alternative method of 
USDW protection is approved by the district manager. 

 
Table 1 

Total Depth of 
Contact 

Casing 
Required 

Surface Casing Test 
Pressure  

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
0-2500  100  300 
2500-3000  150  600 
3000-4000  300  600 
4000-5000  400  600 
5000-6000  500  750 
6000-7000  800 1000 
7000-8000 1000 1000 
8000-9000 1400 1000 
9000-Deeper 1800 1000 

 
a. In known low-pressure areas, exceptions to the 

above may be granted by the commissioner or his agent. If, 
however, in the opinion of the commissioner, or his agent, 
the above regulations shall be found inadequate, and 
additional or lesser amount of surface casing and/or test 
pressure shall be required for the purpose of safety and the 
protection of the USDW. 

2. Surface casing shall be cemented with a sufficient 
volume of cement to insure cement returns to the surface. 

3. Surface casing shall be tested before drilling the 
plug by applying a minimum pump pressure as set forth in 
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Table 1 after at least 200 feet of the mud-laden fluid has 
been displaced with water at the top of the column. If at the 
end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge shows a drop of 10 
percent of test pressure as outlined in Table 1, the operator 
shall be required to take such corrective measures as will 
insure that such surface casing will hold said pressure for 30 
minutes without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test 
pressure. The provisions of Paragraph E.7, below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the surface casing. 

4. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure before initiating test or drilling plug. 
Under pressure is complied with if one float valve is used or 
if pressure is held otherwise. 

D. Intermediate Casing/Drilling Liner 
1. Intermediate casing is that casing used as protection 

against caving of heaving formations or when other means 
are not adequate for the purpose of segregating upper oil, gas 
or water-bearing strata. Intermediate casing/drilling liner 
shall be set when required by abnormal pressure or other 
well conditions. 

2. If an intermediate casing string is deemed necessary 
by the district manager for the prevention of underground 
waste, such regulations pertaining to a minimum setting 
depth, quality of casing, and cementing and testing of sand, 
shall be determined by the Office of Conservation after due 
hearing. The provisions of Paragraph E.7 below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the intermediate casing. 

3. Intermediate casing/drilling liner shall be at 
minimum, cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet 
above all known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure 
isolation and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations 
are isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as an 
intermediate string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid 
entry test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal 
between the liner top and next larger casing string has been 
achieved, and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet 
above the previous casing shoe. The drilling liner (and liner-
lap) shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the 
anticipated pressure to which the liner will be subjected to 
during the formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or 
subsequent liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance 
with Subsection G below. 

4. Before drilling the plug in the intermediate string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 2 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 2. Intermediate Casing and Liner 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000' 800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 
9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that casing is so set and cemented that it will 

hold said pressure for 30 minutes without a drop of more 
than 10 percent of the test pressure on the gauge. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test. Under pressure is complied 
with if one or more float valves are employed and are shown 
to be holding the cement in place, or when other means of 
holding pressure is used. When an operator elects to 
perforate and squeeze or to cement around the shoe, he may 
proceed with such work after 12 hours have elapsed after 
placing the first cement. 

6. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the drilling of the well until a satisfactory test 
has been obtained. 

E. Producing String 
1. Producing string, production casing or production 

liner is that casing used for the purpose of segregating the 
horizon from which production is obtained and affording a 
means of communication between such horizons and the 
surface. 

2. The producing string of casing shall consist of new 
or reconditioned casing, tested at mill test pressure or as 
otherwise designated by the Office of Conservation. 

3. Cement shall be by the pump-and-plug method, or 
another method approved by the Office of Conservation. 
Production casing/production liner shall be at minimum, 
cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet above all 
known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure isolation 
and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations are 
isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as a 
producing string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid entry 
test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal between 
the liner top and next larger casing string has been achieved, 
and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet above the 
previous casing shoe. The production liner (and liner-lap) 
shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the anticipated 
pressure to which the liner will be subjected to during the 
formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or subsequent 
liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance with 
Subsection G below. 

4. The amount of cement to be left remaining in the 
casing, until the requirements of Paragraph 5 below have 
been met, shall be not less than 20 feet. This shall be 
accomplished through the use of a float-collar, or other 
approved or practicable means, unless a full-hole cementer, 
or its equivalent, is used. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test in the producing or oil string. 
Under pressure is complied with if one or more float valves 
are employed and are shown to be holding the cement in 
place, or when other means of holding pressure is used. 
When an operator elects to perforate and squeeze or to 
cement around the shoe, he may proceed with such work 
after 12 hours have elapsed after placing the first cement. 

6. Before drilling the plug in the producing string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 3 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
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fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 3. Producing String 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000'  800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 
 9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that the producing string of casing is so set and 
cemented that it will hold said pressure for 30 minutes 
without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test pressure 
on the gauge. 

7. If the commissioner's agent is not present at the 
time designated by the operator for inspection of the casing 
tests of the producing string, the operator shall have such 
tests witnessed, preferably by an offset operator. An affidavit 
of test, on the form prescribed by the district office, signed 
by the operator and witness, shall be furnished to the district 
office showing that the test conformed satisfactorily to the 
above mentioned regulations before proceeding with the 
completion. If test is satisfactory, normal operations may be 
resumed immediately. 

8. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the completion of the well until a satisfactory 
test has been obtained. 

F. Cement Evaluation 
1. Cement evaluation tests (cement bond or 

temperature survey) shall be conducted for all casing and 
liners installed below surface casing to assure compliance 
with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3. 

2. Remedial cementing operations that are required to 
achieve compliance with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3 shall 
be conducted following receipt of an approved work permit 
from the district manager for the proposed operations. 

3. Cementing and wireline records demonstrating the 
presence of the required cement tops shall be retained by the 
operator for a period of two years.  

G. Leak-off Tests 
1. A pressure integrity test must be conducted below 

the surface casing or liner and all intermediate casings or 
liners. The district manager may require a pressure-integrity 
test at the conductor casing shoe if warranted by local 
geologic conditions or the planned casing setting depth. 
Each pressure integrity test must be conducted after drilling 
at least 10 feet but no more than 50 feet of new hole below 
the casing shoe and must be tested to either the formation 
leak-off pressure or to the anticipated equivalent drilling 
fluid weight at the setting depth of the next casing string. 

a. The pressure integrity test and related hole-
behavior observations, such as pore-pressure test results, 
gas-cut drilling fluid, and well kicks must be used to adjust 
the drilling fluid program and the setting depth of the next 
casing string. All test results must be recorded and hole-
behavior observations made during the course of drilling 
related to formation integrity and pore pressure in the 
driller's report. 

b. While drilling, a safe drilling margin must be 
maintained. When this safe margin cannot be maintained, 
drilling operations must be suspended until the situation is 
remedied. 

H. Prolonged Drilling Operations 
1. If wellbore operations continue for more than 30 

days within a casing string run to the surface: 
a. drilling operations must be stopped as soon as 

practicable, and the effects of the prolonged operations on 
continued drilling operations and the life of the well 
evaluated. At a minimum, the operator shall: 
 i. caliper or pressure test the casing; and 
 ii. report evaluation results to the district manager 
and obtain approval of those results before resuming 
operations; 

b. if casing integrity as determined by the 
evaluation has deteriorated to a level below minimum safety 
factors, the casing must be repaired or another casing string 
run. Approval from the district manager shall be obtained 
prior to any casing repair activity.  

I. Tubing and Completion 
1. Well-completion operations means the work 

conducted to establish the production of a well after the 
production-casing string has been set, cemented, and 
pressure-tested. 

2. Prior to engaging in well-completion operations, 
crew members shall be instructed in the safety requirements 
of the operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for review 
by the Office of Conservation. 

3. When well-completion operations are conducted on 
a platform where there are other hydrocarbon-producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow, an emergency shutdown 
system (ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed 
near the driller's console or well-servicing unit operator's 
work station. 

4. No tubing string shall be placed in service or 
continue to be used unless such tubing string has the 
necessary strength and pressure integrity and is otherwise 
suitable for its intended use. 

5. A valve, or its equivalent, tested to a pressure of not 
less than the calculated bottomhole pressure of the well, 
shall be installed below any and all tubing outlet 
connections. 

6. When a well develops a casing pressure, upon 
completion, equivalent to more than three-quarters of the 
internal pressure that will develop the minimum yield point 
of the casing, such well shall be required by the district 
manager to be killed, and a tubing packer to be set so as to 
keep such excessive pressure off of the casing. 

7. Wellhead Connections. Wellhead connections shall 
be tested prior to installation at a pressure indicated by the 
district manager in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Whenever such tests are made 
in the field, they shall be witnessed by an agent of the Office 
of Conservation. Tubing and tubingheads shall be free from 
obstructions in wells used for bottomhole pressure test 
purposes. 
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8. When the tree is installed, the wellhead shall be 
equipped so that all annuli can be monitored for sustained 
pressure. If sustained casing pressure is observed on a well, 
the operator shall immediately notify the district manager. 

9. Wellhead, tree, and related equipment shall have a 
pressure rating greater than the shut-in tubing pressure and 
shall be designed, installed, used, maintained, and tested so 
as to achieve and maintain pressure control. New wells 
completed as flowing or gas-lift wells shall be equipped with 
a minimum of one master valve and one surface safety 
valve, installed above the master valve, in the vertical run of 
the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§207. Diverter Systems and Blowout Preventers 

A. Diverter System. A diverter system shall be required 
when drilling surface hole in areas where drilling hazards are 
known or anticipated to exist. The district manager may, at 
his discretion, require the use of a diverter system on any 
well. In cases where it is required, a diverter system 
consisting of a diverter sealing element, diverter lines, and 
control systems must be designed, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested to ensure proper diversion of gases, 
water, drilling fluids, and other materials away from 
facilities and personnel. The diverter system shall be 
designed to incorporate the following elements and 
characteristics: 

1. dual diverter lines arranged to provide for 
maximum diversion capability; 

2. at least two diverter control stations. One station 
shall be on the drilling floor. The other station shall be in a 
readily accessible location away from the drilling floor; 

3. remote-controlled valves in the diverter lines. All 
valves in the diverter system shall be full-opening. 
Installation of manual or butterfly valves in any part of the 
diverter system is prohibited; 

4. minimize the number of turns in the diverter lines, 
maximize the radius of curvature of turns, and minimize or 
eliminate all right angles and sharp turns; 

5. anchor and support systems to prevent whipping 
and vibration; 

6. rigid piping for diverter lines. The use of flexible 
hoses with integral end couplings in lieu of rigid piping for 
diverter lines shall be approved by the district manager. 

B. Diverter Testing Requirements 
1. When the diverter system is installed, the diverter 

components including the sealing element, diverter valves, 
control systems, stations and vent lines shall be function and 
pressure tested. 

2. For drilling operations with a surface wellhead 
configuration, the system shall be function tested at least 
once every 24-hour period after the initial test. 

3. After nippling-up on conductor casing, the diverter 
sealing element and diverter valves are to be pressure tested 
to a minimum of 200 psig. Subsequent pressure tests are to 
be conducted within seven days after the previous test. 

4. Function tests and pressure tests shall be alternated 
between control stations. 

5. Recordkeeping Requirements 

a. Pressure and function tests are to be recorded in 
the driller’s report and certified (signed and dated) by the 
operator’s representative.  

b. The control station used during a function or 
pressure test is to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

c. Problems or irregularities during the tests are to 
be recorded along with actions taken to remedy same in the 
driller’s report. 

d. All reports pertaining to diverter function and/or 
pressure tests are to be retained for inspection at the wellsite 
for the duration of drilling operations. 

C. BOP Systems. The operator shall specify and insure 
that contractors design, install, use, maintain and test the 
BOP system to ensure well control during drilling, workover 
and all other appropriate operations. The surface BOP stack 
shall be installed before drilling below surface casing.  

1. BOP system components for drilling activity 
located over a body of water shall be designed and utilized, 
as necessary, to control the well under all potential 
conditions that might occur during the operations being 
conducted and at minimum, shall include the following 
components: 

a. annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. two sets of hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

2. Drilling activity with a tapered drill string shall 
require the installation of two or more sets of conventional 
or variable-bore pipe rams in the BOP stack to provide, at 
minimum, two sets of rams capable of sealing around the 
larger-size drill string and one set of pipe rams capable of 
sealing around the smaller-size drill string. 

3. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

4. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
must be flanged, including the connections between the well 
control stack and the first full-opening valve on the choke 
line and the kill line.  

5. The Commissioner of Conservation, following a 
public hearing, may grant exceptions to the requirements of 
LAC 43:XIX.207.C-J.  

D. BOP Working Pressure. The working pressure rating 
of any BOP component, excluding annular-type preventers, 
shall exceed the maximum anticipated surface pressure 
(MASP) to which it may be subjected. 

E. BOP Auxiliary Equipment. All BOP systems shall be 
equipped and provided with the following: 

1. a hydraulically actuated accumulator system which 
shall provide 1.5 times volume of fluid capacity to close and 
hold closed all BOP components, with a minimum pressure 
of 200 psig above the pre-charge pressure without assistance 
from a charging system; 

2. a backup to the primary accumulator-charging 
system, supplied by a power source independent from the 
power source to the primary, which shall be sufficient to 
close all BOP components and hold them closed; 

3. accumulator regulators supplied by rig air without a 
secondary source of pneumatic supply shall be equipped 
with manual overrides or other devices to ensure capability 
of hydraulic operation if the rig air is lost; 
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4. at least one operable remote BOP control station in 
addition to the one on the drilling floor. This control station 
shall be in a readily accessible location away from the 
drilling floor. If a BOP control station does not perform 
properly, operations shall be suspended until that station is 
operable; 

5. a drilling spool with side outlets, if side outlets are 
not provided in the body of the BOP stack, to provide for 
separate kill and choke lines; 

6. a kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. 
The choke line shall be installed above the bottom ram. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore; 

7. a valve installed below the swivel (upper Kelly 
cock), essentially full-opening, and a similar valve installed 
at the bottom of the Kelly (lower Kelly cock). An operator 
must be able to strip the lower Kelly cock through the BOP 
stack. A wrench to fit each valve shall be stored in a location 
readily accessible to the drilling crew. If drilling with a mud 
motor and utilizing drill pipe in lieu of a Kelly, you must 
install one Kelly valve above, and one strippable Kelly valve 
below the joint of pipe used in place of a Kelly. On a top-
drive system equipped with a remote-controlled valve, you 
must install a strippable Kelly-type valve below the remote-
controlled valve; 

8. an essentially full-opening drill-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while drilling operations are being conducted. This 
valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the drill string. A wrench to fit the 
drill-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the drilling crew; 

9. a safety valve shall be available on the rig floor 
assembled with the proper connection to fit the casing string 
being run in the hole; 

10. locking devices installed on the ram-type 
preventers. 

F. BOP Maintenance and Testing Requirements 
1. The BOP system shall be visually inspected on a 

daily basis. 
2. Pressure tests (low and high pressure) of the BOP 

system are to be conducted at the following times and 
intervals: 

a. during a shop test prior to transport of the BOPs 
to the drilling location. Shop tests are not required for 
equipment that is transported directly from one well location 
to another; 

b. immediately following installation of the BOPs; 
c. within 14 days of the previous BOP pressure test, 

alternating between control stations and at a staggered 
interval to allow each crew to operate the equipment. If 

either control system is not functional, further operations 
shall be suspended until the nonfunctional, system is 
operable. Exceptions may be granted by the district manager 
in cases where a trip is scheduled to occur within 2 days 
after the 14-day testing deadline; 

d. before drilling out each string of casing or liner 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling out 
each casing string or liner.); 

e. not more than 48 hours before a well is drilled to 
a depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling to a 
depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone.); 

f. when the BOP tests are postponed due to well 
control problem(s), the BOP test is to be performed on the 
first trip out of the hole, and reasons for postponing the 
testing are to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

3. Low pressure tests (200-300 psig) of the BOP 
system (choke manifold, Kelly valves, drill-string safety 
valves, etc.) are to be performed at the times and intervals 
specified in LAC 43:XIX.207.F.2. in accordance with the 
following provisions.  

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Variable bore pipe rams are to be tested against 
the largest and smallest sizes of pipe in use, excluding drill 
collars and bottom hole assembly. 

c. Bonnet seals are to be tested before running the 
casing when casing rams are installed in the BOP stack. 

4. High pressure tests of the BOP system are to be 
performed at the times and intervals specified in LAC 
43:XIX.207.F.2 in accordance with the following provisions. 

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Ram-type BOP’s, choke manifolds, and 
associated equipment are to be tested to the rated working 
pressure of the equipment or 500 psi greater than the 
calculated MASP for the applicable section of the hole. 

c. Annular-type BOPs are to be tested to 70 percent 
of the rated working pressure of the equipment. 

5. The annular and ram-type BOPs with the exception 
of the blind-shear rams are to be function tested every seven 
days between pressure tests. All BOP test records should be 
certified (signed and dated) by the operator’s representative. 

a. Blind-shear rams are to be tested at all casing 
points and at an interval not to exceed 30 days.  

6. If the BOP equipment does not hold the required 
pressure during a test, the problem must be remedied and a 
retest of the affected component(s) performed. Additional 
BOP testing requirements: 

a. use water to test the surface BOP system; 
b. if a control station is not functional operations 

shall be suspended until that station is operable; 
c. test affected BOP components following the 

disconnection or repair of any well-pressure containment 
seal in the wellhead or BOP stack assembly. 

G. BOP Record Keeping. The time, date and results of 
pressure tests, function tests, and inspections of the BOP 
system are to be recorded in the driller’s report. All pressure 
tests shall be recorded on an analog chart or digital recorder. 
All documents are to be retained for inspection at the 
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wellsite for the duration of drilling operations and are to be 
retained in the operator’s files for a period of two years. 

H. BOP Well Control Drills. Weekly well control drills 
with each drilling crew are to be conducted during a period 
of activity that minimizes the risk to drilling operations. The 
drills must cover a range of drilling operations, including 
drilling with a diverter (if applicable), on-bottom drilling, 
and tripping. Each drill must be recorded in the driller’s 
report and is to include the time required to close the BOP 
system, as well as, the total time to complete the entire drill. 

I. Well Control Safety Training. In order to ensure that 
all drilling personnel understand and can properly perform 
their duties prior to drilling wells which are subject to the 
jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation, the operator shall 
require that contract drilling companies provide and/or 
implement the following: 

1. periodic training for drilling contractor employees 
which ensures that employees maintain an understanding of, 
and competency in, well control practices;  

2. procedures to verify adequate retention of the 
knowledge and skills that the contract drilling employees 
need to perform their assigned well control duties.  

J. Well Control Operations 
1. The operator must take necessary precautions to 

keep wells under control at all times and must: 
a. use the best available and safest drilling 

technology to monitor and evaluate well conditions and to 
minimize the potential for the well to flow or kick; 

b. have a person onsite during drilling operations 
who represents the operators interests and can fulfill the 
operators responsibilities; 

c. ensure that the tool pusher, operator's 
representative, or a member of the drilling crew maintains 
continuous surveillance on the rig floor from the beginning 
of drilling operations until the well is completed or 
abandoned, unless you have secured the well with blowout 
preventers (BOPs), bridge plugs, cement plugs, or packers; 

d. use and maintain equipment and materials 
necessary to ensure the safety and protection of personnel, 
equipment, natural resources, and the environment. 

2. Whenever drilling operations are interrupted, a 
downhole safety device must be installed, such as a cement 
plug, bridge plug, or packer. The device must be installed at 
an appropriate depth within a properly cemented casing 
string or liner. 

a. Among the events that may cause interruption to 
drilling operations are: 
 i. evacuation of the drilling crew; 
 ii. inability to keep the drilling rig on location; or 
 iii. repair to major drilling or well-control 
equipment. 

3. If the diverter or BOP stack is nippled down while 
waiting on cement, it must be determined, before nippling 
down, when it will be safe to do so based on knowledge of 
formation conditions, cement composition, effects of 
nippling down, presence of potential drilling hazards, well 
conditions during drilling, cementing, and post cementing, 
as well as past experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 

§209. Casing-Heads 
A. All wells shall be equipped with casing-heads with a 

test pressure in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Casing-head body, as soon as 
installed shall be equipped with proper connections and 
valves accessible to the surface. Reconditioning shall be 
required on any well showing pressure on the casing-head, 
or leaking gas or oil between the oil string and next larger 
size casing string, when, in the opinion of the district 
managers, such pressure or leakage assume hazardous 
proportions or indicate the existence of underground waste. 
Mud-laden fluid may be pumped between any two strings of 
casing at the top of the hole, but no cement shall be used 
except by special permission of the commissioner or his 
agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§211. Oil and Gas Well-Workover Operations 

A. Definitions. When used in this Section, the following 
terms shall have the meanings given below. 

Expected Surface Pressure―the highest pressure 
predicted to be exerted upon the surface of a well. In 
calculating expected surface pressure, reservoir pressure as 
well as applied surface pressure must be considered. 

Routine Operations―any of the following operations 
conducted on a well with the tree installed including cutting 
paraffin, removing and setting pump-through-type tubing 
plugs, gas-lift valves, and subsurface safety valves which 
can be removed by wireline operations, bailing sand, 
pressure surveys, swabbing, scale or corrosion treatment, 
caliper and gauge surveys, corrosion inhibitor treatment, 
removing or replacing subsurface pumps, through-tubing 
logging, wireline fishing, and setting and retrieving other 
subsurface flow-control devices. 

Workover Operations―the work conducted on wells 
after the initial completion for the purpose of maintaining or 
restoring the productivity of a well. 

B. When well-workover operations are conducted on a 
well with the tree removed, an emergency shutdown system 
(ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed near the 
driller’s console or well-servicing unit operator’s work 
station, except when there is no other hydrocarbon-
producing well or other hydrocarbon flow on the platform. 

C. Prior to engaging in well-workover operations, crew 
members shall be instructed in the safety requirements of the 
operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for 
review. 

D. Well-Control Fluids, Equipment, and Operations. The 
following requirements apply during all well-workover 
operations with the tree removed. 

1. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is less than or equal to 5,000 psi 
shall include one annular-type well control component, one 
set of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear 
ram component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before. 
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2. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is greater than 5,000 psi shall 
include one annular-type well control component, two sets 
of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear ram 
component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before. 

3. BOP auxillary equipment in accordance with the 
requirements of LAC 43:XIX.207.E. 

4. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe or a 
workover string, the annulus shall be filled with well-control 
fluid before the change in such fluid level decreases the 
hydrostatic pressure 75 pounds per square inch (psi) or every 
five stands of drill pipe or workover string, whichever gives 
a lower decrease in hydrostatic pressure. The number of 
stands of drill pipe or workover string and drill collars that 
may be pulled prior to filling the hole and the equivalent 
well-control fluid volume shall be calculated and posted near 
the operator's station. A mechanical, volumetric, or 
electronic device for measuring the amount of well-control 
fluid required to fill the hold shall be utilized. 

5. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

a. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
b. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device 

for determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; 
and 

c. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 
mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed 
through the wellhead inside of conventional tubing using 
small-diameter jointed pipe (usually 3/4 inch to 1 1/4 inch) 
as a work string, i.e., small-tubing operations, shall include 
two sets of pipe rams, and one set of blind rams. 

1. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

F. For coiled tubing operations with the production tree 
in place, you must meet the following minimum 
requirements for the BOP system. 

1. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are less than or equal to 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically operated pipe rams. 

2. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are greater than 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 

e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams. These 

rams should be located as close to the tree as practical. 
3. BOP system components must be in the following 

order from the top down for wells with returns taken through 
an outlet on the BOP stack: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. a flow tee or cross; 
h. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
i. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams on wells 

with surface pressures less than or equal to 3,500 psi. As an 
option, the pipe rams can be placed below the blind-shear 
rams. The blind-shear rams should be placed as close to the 
tree as practical. 

4. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

5. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the hydraulic two-way slip rams and the 
hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

6. A dual check valve assembly must be attached to 
the coiled tubing connector at the downhole end of the 
coiled tubing string for all coiled tubing well-workover 
operations. To conduct operations without a downhole check 
valve, it must be approved by the district manager. 

7. A kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore. 

8. The hydraulic-actuating system must provide 
sufficient accumulator capacity to close-open-close each 
component in the BOP stack. This cycle must be completed 
with at least 200 psi above the pre-charge pressure without 
assistance from a charging system. 

9. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
from the tree to the uppermost required ram must be flanged, 
including the connections between the well control stack and 
the first full-opening valve on the choke line and the kill 
line.  

10. The coiled tubing connector must be tested to a low 
pressure of 200 to 300 psi, followed by a high pressure test 
to the rated working pressure of the connector or the 
expected surface pressure, whichever is less. The dual check 
valves must be successfully pressure tested to the rated 
working pressure of the connector, the rated working 
pressure of the dual check valve, expected surface pressure, 
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or the collapse pressure of the coiled tubing, whichever is 
less. 

G. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed by 
moving tubing or drill pipe in or out of a well under pressure 
utilizing equipment specifically designed for that purpose, 
i.e., snubbing operations, shall include the following: 

1. one set of pipe rams hydraulically operated; and 
2. two sets of stripper-type pipe rams hydraulically 

operated with spacer spool.  
H. Test pressures must be recorded during BOP and 

coiled tubing tests on a pressure chart, or with a digital 
recorder, unless otherwise approved by the district manager. 
The test interval for each BOP system component must be 5 
minutes, except for coiled tubing operations, which must 
include a 10 minute high-pressure test for the coiled tubing 
string.  

I. Wireline Operations. The operator shall comply with 
the following requirements during routine, as defined in 
Subsection A of this Section, and nonroutine wireline 
workover operations. 

1. Wireline operations shall be conducted so as to 
minimize leakage of well fluids. Any leakage that does occur 
shall be contained to prevent pollution. 

2. All wireline perforating operations and all other 
wireline operations where communication exists between the 
completed hydrocarbon-bearing zone(s) and the wellbore 
shall use a lubricator assembly containing at least one 
wireline valve. 

3. When the lubricator is initially installed on the well, 
it shall be successfully pressure tested to the expected shut-
in surface pressure. 

J. Following completion of the well-workover activity, 
all such records shall be retained by the operator for a period 
of two years. 

K. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§213. Diesel Engine Safety Requirements 

A. On or after January 1, 2011, each diesel engine with 
an air take device must be equipped to shut down the diesel 
engine in the event of a runaway. 

1. A diesel engine that is not continuously manned, 
must be equipped with an automatic shutdown device. 

2. A diesel engine that is continuously manned, may 
be equipped with either an automatic or remote manual air 
intake shutdown device. 

3. A diesel engine does not have to be equipped with 
an air intake device if it meets one of the following criteria: 

a. starts a larger engine; 
b. powers a firewater pump; 
c. powers an emergency generator; 
d. powers a BOP accumulator system; 
e. provides air supply to divers or confined entry 

personnel; 

f. powers temporary equipment on a nonproducing 
platform; 

g. powers an escape capsule; or 
h. powers a portable single-cylinder rig washer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§215. Drilling Fluids 

A. The inspectors and engineers of the Office of 
Conservation shall have access to the mud records of any 
drilling well, except those records which pertain to special 
muds and special work with respect to patentable rights, and 
shall be allowed to conduct any essential test or tests on the 
mud used in the drilling of a well. When the conditions and 
tests indicate a need for a change in the mud or drilling fluid 
program in order to insure proper control of the well, the 
district manager shall require the operator or company to use 
due diligence in correcting any objectionable conditions. 

B. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations shall 
be designed, utilized, maintained, and/or tested as necessary 
to control the well in foreseeable conditions and 
circumstances.  

C. The well shall be continuously monitored during all 
operations and shall not be left unattended at any time unless 
the well is shut in and secured. 

D. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

1. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
2. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device for 

determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; and 
3. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 

mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. Safe Practices 
1. Before starting out of the hole with drill pipe, the 

drilling fluid must be properly conditioned. A volume of 
drilling fluid equal to the annular volume must be circulated 
with the drill pipe just off-bottom. This practice may be 
omitted if documentation in the driller's report shows: 

a. no indication of formation fluid influx before 
starting to pull the drill pipe from the hole; 

b. the weight of returning drilling fluid is within 0.2 
pounds per gallon of the drilling fluid entering the hole. 

2. Record each time drilling fluid is circulated in the 
hole in the driller’s report. 

3. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe, the 
annulus must be filled with drilling fluid before the 
hydrostatic pressure decreases by 75 psi, or every five stands 
of drill pipe, whichever gives a lower decrease in hydrostatic 
pressure. The number of stands of drill pipe and drill collars 
that may be pulled must be calculated before the hole is 
filled. Both sets of numbers must be posted near the driller's 
station. A mechanical, volumetric, or electronic device must 
be used to measure the drilling fluid required to fill the hole. 

4. Controlled rates must be used to run and pull drill 
pipe and downhole tools so as not to swab or surge the well. 

5. When there is an indication of swabbing or influx 
of formation fluids, appropriate measures must be taken to 
control the well. Circulate and condition the well, on or near-
bottom, unless well or drilling-fluid conditions prevent 
running the drill pipe back to the bottom. 
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6. The maximum pressures must be calculated and 
posted near the driller's console that you may safely contain 
under a shut-in BOP for each casing string. The pressures 
posted must consider the surface pressure at which the 
formation at the shoe would break down, the rated working 
pressure of the BOP stack, and 70 percent of casing burst (or 
casing test as approved by the district manager). As a 
minimum, you must post the following two pressures: 

a. the surface pressure at which the shoe would 
break down. This calculation must consider the current 
drilling fluid weight in the hole; and 

b. the lesser of the BOP's rated working pressure or 
70 percent of casing-burst pressure (or casing test otherwise 
approved by the district manager). 

7. An operable drilling fluid-gas separator and 
degasser must be installed before you begin drilling 
operations. This equipment must be maintained throughout 
the drilling of the well. 

8. The test fluids in the hole must be circulated or 
reverse circulated before pulling drill-stem test tools from 
the hole. If circulating out test fluids is not feasible, with an 
appropriate kill weight fluid test fluids may be bullhead out 
of the drill-stem test string and tools. 

9. When circulating, the drilling fluid must be tested 
at least once each work shift or more frequently if conditions 
warrant. The tests must conform to industry-accepted 
practices and include density, viscosity, and gel strength; 
hydrogen ion concentration; filtration; and any other tests 
the district manager requires for monitoring and maintaining 
drilling fluid quality, prevention of downhole equipment 
problems and for kick detection. The test results must be 
recorded in the drilling fluid report. 

F. Monitoring Drilling Fluids 
1. Once drilling fluid returns are established, the 

following drilling fluid-system monitoring equipment must 
be installed throughout subsequent drilling operations. This 
equipment must have the following indicators on the rig 
floor: 

a. pit level indicator to determine drilling fluid-pit 
volume gains and losses. This indicator must include both a 
visual and an audible warning device; 

b. volume measuring device to accurately determine 
drilling fluid volumes required to fill the hole on trips; 

c. return indicator devices that indicate the 
relationship between drilling fluid-return flow rate and pump 
discharge rate. This indicator must include both a visual and 
an audible warning device; and 

d. gas-detecting equipment to monitor the drilling 
fluid returns. The indicator may be located in the drilling 
fluid-logging compartment or on the rig floor. If the 
indicators are only in the logging compartment, you must 
continually man the equipment and have a means of 
immediate communication with the rig floor. If the 
indicators are on the rig floor only, an audible alarm must be 
installed. 

G. Drilling Fluid Quantities 
1. Quantities of drilling fluid and drilling fluid 

materials must be maintained and replenished at the drill site 
as necessary to ensure well control. These quantities must be 
determined based on known or anticipated drilling 
conditions, rig storage capacity, weather conditions, and 
estimated time for delivery. 

2. The daily inventories of drilling fluid and drilling 
fluid materials must be recorded, including weight materials 
and additives in the drilling fluid report. 

3. If there are not sufficient quantities of drilling fluid 
and drilling fluid material to maintain well control, the 
drilling operations must be suspended. 

H. Drilling fluid-handling areas 
1. Drilling fluid-handling areas must be classified 

according to API RP 500, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class I, Division 1 and 
Division 2 or API RP 505, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class 1, Zone 0, Zone 1, 
and Zone 2. In areas where dangerous concentrations of 
combustible gas may accumulate. A ventilation system and 
gas monitors must be installed and maintained. Drilling 
fluid-handling areas must have the following safety 
equipment: 

a. a ventilation system capable of replacing the air 
once every 5 minutes or 1.0 cubic feet of air-volume flow 
per minute, per square foot of area, whichever is greater. In 
addition: 
 i. if natural means provide adequate ventilation, 
then a mechanical ventilation system is not necessary; 
 ii. if a mechanical system does not run 
continuously, then it must activate when gas detectors 
indicate the presence of 1 percent or more of combustible 
gas by volume; and 
 iii. if discharges from a mechanical ventilation 
system may be hazardous, the drilling fluid-handling area 
must be maintained at a negative pressure. The negative 
pressure area must be protected by using at least one of the 
following: 

(a). a pressure-sensitive alarm;  
(b). open-door alarms on each access to the area; 
(c). automatic door-closing devices; 
(d). air locks; or  
(e). other devices approved by the district 

manager;  
b. gas detectors and alarms except in open areas 

where adequate ventilation is provided by natural means. 
Gas detectors must be tested and recalibrated quarterly. No 
more than 90 days may elapse between tests; 

c. explosion-proof or pressurized electrical 
equipment to prevent the ignition of explosive gases. Where 
air is used for pressuring equipment, the air intake must be 
located outside of and as far as practicable from hazardous 
areas; and 

d. alarms that activate when the mechanical 
ventilation system fails. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 

Subpart 4.  Statewide Order No. 29-B-a 
Chapter 11. Required Use of Storm Chokes 
§1101. Scope 

A. Order establishing rules and regulations concerning 
the required use of storm chokes to prevent blowouts or 
uncontrolled flow in the case of damage to surface 
equipment. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by the Department of Natural Resources, Office 
of Conservation, LR 20:1127 (October 1994), LR 37: 
§1103. Applicability 

A. All wells capable of flow with a surface pressure in 
excess of 100 pounds, falling within the following 
categories, shall be equipped with storm chokes: 

1. any locations inaccessible during periods of storm 
and/or floods, including spillways; 

2. located in bodies of water being actively navigated; 
3. located in wildlife refuges and/or game preserves; 
4. located within 660 feet of railroads, ship channels, 

and other actively navigated bodies of water; 
5. located within 660 feet of state and federal 

highways in Southeast Louisiana, in that area East of a 
North-South line drawn through New Iberia and South of an 
East-West line through Opelousas; 

6. located within 660 feet of state and federal 
highways in Northeast Louisiana, in that area bounded on 
the West by the Ouachita River, on the North by the 
Arkansas-Louisiana line, on the East by the Mississippi 
River, and on the South by the Black and Red Rivers; 

7. located within 660 feet of the following highways: 
a. U.S. Highway 71 between Alexandria and Krotz 

Springs; 
b. U.S. Highway 190 between Opelousas and Krotz 

Springs; 
c. U.S. Highway 90 between Lake Charles and the 

Sabine River; 
8. located within the corporate limits of any city, 

town, village, or other municipality. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

157 of the Legislature of 1940. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), amended LR 37: 
§1104. General Requirements for Storm Choke Use at 

Water Locations 
A. This Section only applies to oil and gas wells at water 

locations.  
B. A subsurface safety valve (SSSV) shall be designed, 

installed, used, maintained, and tested to ensure reliable 
operation. 

1. The device shall be installed at a depth of 100 feet 
or more below the seafloor within two days after production 
is established. 

2. Until a SSSV is installed, the well shall be attended 
in the immediate vicinity so that emergency actions may be 
taken while the well is open to flow. During testing and 
inspection procedures, the well shall not be left unattended 
while open to production unless a properly operating 
subsurface-safety device has been installed in the well. 

3. The well shall not be open to flow while the SSSV 
is removed, except when flowing of the well is necessary for 
a particular operation such as cutting paraffin, bailing sand, 
or similar operations. 

4. All SSSV's must be inspected, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested in accordance with American 
Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 14B, 

Recommended Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and 
Operation of Subsurface Safety Valve Systems. 

C. Temporary Removal for Routine Operations 
1. Each wireline or pumpdown-retrievable SSSV may 

be removed, without further authorization or notice, for a 
routine operation which does not require the approval of 
Form DM-4R. 

2. The well shall be identified by a sign on the 
wellhead stating that the SSSV has been removed. If the 
master valve is open, a trained person shall be in the 
immediate vicinity of the well to attend the well so that 
emergency actions may be taken, if necessary. 

3. A platform well shall be monitored, but a person 
need not remain in the well-bay area continuously if the 
master valve is closed. If the well is on a satellite structure, it 
must be attended or a pump-through plug installed in the 
tubing at least 100 feet below the mud line and the master 
valve closed, unless otherwise approved by the district 
manager. 

4. Each operator shall maintain records indicating the 
date a SSSV is removed, the reason for its removal, and the 
date it is reinstalled. 

D. Emergency Action. In the event of an emergency, 
such as an impending storm, any well not equipped with a 
subsurface safety device and which is capable of natural 
flow shall have the device properly installed as soon as 
possible with due consideration being given to personnel 
safety. 

E. Design and Operation 
1. All SSSVs must be inspected, installed, maintained, 

and tested in accordance with API RP 14B, Recommended 
Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and Operation of 
Subsurface Safety Valve Systems.  

2. Testing requirements. Each SSSV installed in a well 
shall be removed, inspected, and repaired or adjusted, as 
necessary, and reinstalled or replaced at intervals not 
exceeding 6 months for those valves not installed in a 
landing nipple and 12 months for those valves installed in a 
landing nipple. 

3. Records must be retained for a period of 2 years for 
each safety device installed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§1105. Waivers 

A. Onshore Wells. Where the use of storm chokes would 
unduly interfere with normal operation of a well, the district 
manager may, upon submission of pertinent data, in writing, 
waive the requirements of this order. 

B. Offshore Wells 
1. The district manager, upon submission of pertinent 

data, in writing explaining the efforts made to overcome the 
particular difficulties encountered, may waive the use of a 
subsurface safety valve under the following circumstances, 
and may, in his discretion, require in lieu thereof a surface 
safety valve: 

a. where sand is produced to such an extent or in 
such a manner as to tend to plug the tubing or make 
inoperative the subsurface safety valve; 

b. when the flowing pressure of the well is in excess 
of 100 psi but is inadequate to activate the subsurface safety 
valve; 
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c. where flow rate fluctuations or water production 
difficulties are so severe that the subsurface safety valve 
would prevent the well from producing at its allowable rate; 

d. where mechanical well conditions do not permit 
the installation of a subsurface safety valve; 

e. in such other cases as the district manager may 
deem necessary to grant an exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 1, 1961, amended March 15, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 37: 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1012#085 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
State Uniform Construction Code Council 

State Uniform Construction Code (LAC 55:VI.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 40:1730.26, 
relative to the authority of the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) to promulgate and 
enforce rules, the LSUCCC finds that an imminent peril to 
the public health, safety, or welfare requires adoption of a 
rule upon shorter notice than that provided in R.S. 49:953(A) 
as the 2009 versions of the International Building Code 
(IBC) and the International Residential Code take effect on 
January 1, 2011 as adopted in the November 20, 2010 
Louisiana Register. This adoption omitted several revisions 
to the respective codes which code adversely affect the 
construction of buildings and residences subject to the 
respective codes. In order to assure necessary code 
requirements are met in any plan reviews or developments 
occurring on or after January 1, 2011, it is necessary to adopt 
this Emergency Rule to have the requirements in place until 
the corresponding permanent rules can be adopted. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. Effective January 1, 2011, the 
Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code is amended as 
follows. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 3. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 
§301. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

A. - A.1.a. … 
i. Repealed. 

1.a.ii. - 3.b.i.(b). … 
c. Additionally, IRC shall be amended as follows 

and shall only apply to the International Residential Code. 
 i. Substitute chapter 3, section R317 Dwelling 
Unit Separation of the 2006 IRC, in lieu of the Section 313 

Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems of the 2009 IRC. In 
addition chapter 3, section R 302.2, Townhouses, of the 
2009 IRC, is amended as follows: Exception: a common 2-
hour fire-resistance–rated wall is permitted for townhouses if 
such walls do not contain plumbing or mechanical 
equipment, ducts or vents in the cavity of the common wall. 
Electrical installations shall be installed in accordance with 
Chapters 34 through 43. Penetrations of electrical outlet 
boxes shall be in accordance with section R302.4. 
Furthermore chapter 3, section R302.2.4, Structural 
independence, of the 2009 IRC, is amended as follows: 
Exceptions: Number 5 Townhouses separated by a common 
2-hour fire-resistance-rated wall as provided in section 
R302.2 
 ii. Amend chapter 3, section R315.2, Where 
Required in Existing Dwellings: when alterations, repairs or 
additions occur or where one or more sleeping rooms are 
added or created in existing dwellings that have attached 
garages or in existing dwellings within which fuel fired 
appliances exist, carbon monoxide alarms shall be provided 
in accordance with section R315.1. 

3.c.iii. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code Council, 
LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 2008), 
LR 34: 883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 35:1904 
(September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), LR 37: 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1012#086 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Spotted Rod and Reel Fishery 
(LAC 76:VII.341) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby 
exercise the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, and pursuant to their authority 
under R.S. 56:6(10), 56:6(25)(a), 56:325.3, and 56:326.3, 
adopts the Declaration of Emergency set forth below to set 
the opening date for the commercial harvest of spotted 
seatrout.  

Effective December 12, 2010, the commercial season for 
the harvest of spotted seatrout shall open, and remain open 
until the maximum annual quota is reached, or on the date 
projected by the staff of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries that the quota will be reached, or until sunset 
December 31, 2010 whichever comes first. 

The following modifications are established as a 
modification to the existing rules under the Louisiana 
Administrative Code Title 76 for harvest of spotted seatrout, 
in order to have consistent rules with the legislative rules 
established under the Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 56 by 
Act 979.  
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Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishing 
§341. Spotted Seatrout Management Measures 

A. Commercial Season; Quota; Permits 
1. The commercial season for spotted seatrout 

whether taken from within or without Louisiana state waters 
shall remain closed until January 2 of each year, when it 
shall open and remain open until the maximum annual quota 
is reached, or on the date projected by the staff of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries that the quota will be 
reached, whichever comes first. The commercial harvest or 
taking of spotted seatrout is prohibited during the period 
from sunset on Friday through sunrise on Monday, and there 
shall be no possession of spotted seatrout in excess of the 
recreational limit during the period between 10:00 p.m. and 
5:00 a.m. 

2. - 3.d. … 
4. The commercial taking or commercial harvesting of 

spotted seatrout shall be prohibited within Louisiana waters 
west of the Mermentau River.  

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

Number 157 of the 1991 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, R.S.56:6(25)(a); R.S. 56:306.5, R.S. 56:306.6, 
56:325.1(A) and (B); R.S. 56:325.3; R.S. 56:326.3; Act 1316 of the 
1995 Regular Legislative Session; and Act 1164 of the 2003 
Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
18:199 (February 1992), amended LR 22:238 (March 1996), LR 
24:360 (February 1998), LR 26:2333 (October 2000), LR 30:1509 
(July 2004), LR 30:2498 (November 2004), repromulgated LR 
32:125 (January 2006), amended LR 32:1071 (June 2006), LR 37: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized and directed to take any and all necessary steps 
on behalf of the commission to promulgate and effectuate 
this Declaration of Emergency, including but not limited to, 
the preparation of reports and correspondence to other 
agencies of government, and the effectuation of the 
provisions of this Declaration of Emergency for the duration 
of this season. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1012#027 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Recreational and Commercial Fisheries Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the 
authority of R.S. 56:6.1, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby closes all commercial fishing, effective 
immediately December 2, 2010, in the following area:  

That portion of state and territorial waters bounded by the 
following coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 12 minutes 35 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 05 seconds west 
longitude, 2) 29 degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds north 

latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 10 seconds west longitude, 3) 
29 degrees 11 minutes 10 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 11 
minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 55 
seconds west longitude, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters south of the southern shore of Pass 
a Loutre and 29 degrees 11 minutes 25 seconds north 
latitude westward to 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude and the eastern shore of Southwest Pass of the 
Mississippi River and south of 29 degrees 08 minutes 35 
seconds north latitude inside of a line extending seaward 
one-quarter mile or more from the shoreline beginning at 29 
degrees 11 minutes 25 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 03 
minutes 30 seconds west longitude; thence east southeast to 
29 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 25 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 29 degrees 08 minutes 55 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 15 seconds west longitude; 
thence east southeast to 29 degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 29 degrees 04 minutes 
50 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 04 minutes 10 seconds 
west longitude; thence north northwest to 29 degrees 06 
minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude; thence south southwest to 28 
degrees 59 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 08 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south southwest 
to 28 degrees 59 minutes 15 seconds north latitude 89 
degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 28 degrees 58 minutes 20 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 10 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; 
thence north northwest to 29 degrees 02 minutes 40 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 16 minutes 20 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 28 degrees 54 minutes 
40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude excluding those waters within Pass a Loutre 
west of 89 degrees 02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 
Northeast Pass west of 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 seconds 
west longitude, Southeast Pass west of 89 degrees 04 
minutes 10 seconds west longitude and South Pass west of 
89 degrees 08 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, and that 
portion of state inside waters north of 29 degrees 26 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 30 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to the eastern shore of the 
Barataria Waterway, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters bounded by the following 
coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 21 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 2) 
29 degrees 18 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 3) 29 degrees 15 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 56 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 17 minutes 10 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 57 minutes 30 seconds 
west longitude. 

Recreational fishing is open in all state inside and outside 
territorial waters, except in the following areas, where only 
recreational angling and charter boat angling is allowed: that 
portion of state inside waters north of 29 degrees 26 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 30 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to the eastern shore of the 
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Barataria Waterway, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters bounded by the following 
coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 21 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 2) 
29 degrees 18 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 3) 29 degrees 15 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 56 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 17 minutes 10 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 57 minutes 30 seconds 
west longitude. 

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig accident has resulted 
in a significant release of hydrocarbon pollutants into the 
waters offshore of southeast Louisiana and these pollutants 
have the potential to impact fish and other aquatic life in 
portions of Louisiana’s coastal waters. Efforts have been 
made and are continuing to minimize the potential threats to 
fish and other aquatic life.  

The commission hereby grants authority to the Secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to open, close, 
reopen-reclose, broaden or otherwise modify the areas 
closed and opened to fishing if biological, environmental 
and technical data indicate the need to do so, or as needed to 
effectively implement the provisions herein. 

 
Stephen W. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

1012#026 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Small Coastal Shark Commercial Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 
which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
may set seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given 
to the secretary of the department by the commission in its 
rule, LAC 76:VII.357.M.2, which allows the secretary 
authority to modify seasons to maintain consistency with the 
adjacent federal waters, and that such closure order shall 
close the season until the date projected for the re-opening of 
that fishery in the adjacent federal waters, the Secretary of 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries hereby declares: 

Effective 11:30 p.m., November 18, 2010, the commercial 
fishery for Small Coastal Sharks in Louisiana waters, as 
described in LAC 76:VII.357.B.1, (bonnethead shark, 
Atlantic sharpnose shark, blacknose shark, finetooth shark) 
will close until further notice. This closure will not pertain to 
persons holding a Federal Shark Research Permit issued by 
NOAA Fisheries Service, when those persons are legally 
fishing under the regulations promulgated for that permit 
including that a NMFS-approved observer is aboard the 
vessel. Nothing herein shall preclude the legal harvest of 
Small Coastal Sharks by legally licensed recreational 
fishermen during the open season for recreational harvest. 
Effective with this closure, no person shall commercially 
harvest, possess, purchase, exchange, barter, trade, sell or 
attempt to purchase, exchange, barter, trade or sell small 

coastal sharks, whether taken from within or without 
Louisiana waters, except for a Federal Shark Research 
Permit holder, when legally operating under that Permit. 
Also effective with the closure, no person shall possess 
Small Coastal Sharks in excess of a daily bag limit whether 
taken from within or without Louisiana waters, which may 
only be in possession during the open recreational season. 
Nothing shall prohibit the possession or sale of fish legally 
taken prior to the closure, or from Federal Shark Research 
Permit holders, provided that all commercial dealers 
possessing Small Coastal Sharks taken legally prior to the 
closure shall maintain appropriate records in accordance 
with R.S. 56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6. 

The secretary has been notified by NOAA Fisheries 
Service that the harvest of Small Coastal Sharks in the 
federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico has closed at 11:30 
p.m. local time on November 2, 2010, and will be closed 
until 30 days after promulgation of seasonal rules for the 
2011 shark season. The commercial season for harvest of 
small coastal shark in Louisiana waters will remain closed 
until the announcement is made of the seasons for the 
harvest of small coastal shark in federal waters off of 
Louisiana. Establishing this closure is necessary to ensure 
that compatible regulations are in effect, and to increase 
effectiveness of enforcement operations. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1012#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Territorial Waters Shrimp Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the 
authority of R.S.56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission shall have the authority to open or 
close state outside waters to shrimping by zone each year as 
it deems appropriate, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby orders a closure to shrimping in that portion of state 
outside waters, south of the Inside/Outside Shrimp Line as 
described in R.S. 56:495, from the western shore of 
Freshwater Bayou Canal at 92 degrees 18 minutes 33 
seconds west longitude to the U.S. Coast Guard navigational 
light off the northwest shore of Caillou Boca at 29 degrees 
03 minutes 10 seconds north latitude and 90 degrees 50 
minutes 27 seconds west longitude. This closure is effective 
at official sunset, Tuesday, December 21, 2010. 

R.S. 56:498 provides that the possession count on 
saltwater white shrimp for each cargo lot shall average no 
more than 100 (whole specimens) count per pound except 
during the time period from October fifteenth through the 
third Monday in December. Current biological sampling 
conducted by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has 
indicated that average white shrimp size in this portion of 
state outside waters is slightly larger than 100 count per 
pound; however, historical data indicate that significant 
numbers of smaller size white shrimp occupying coastal 
lakes and bays migrate into these waters as water 
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temperatures drop in conjunction with the onset of winter. 
This action is being taken to protect these small white 
shrimp and provide them the opportunity to grow to a larger 
and more valuable size.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission authorizes the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
delay the closing date, if marketable quantities of shrimp are 
available for harvest, and to close to shrimping, if necessary 
to protect small white shrimp, any part of remaining state 
outside waters, if biological and technical data indicate the 
need to do so or if enforcement problems develop, and to 

reopen any area closed to shrimping when the closure is no 
longer necessary; and hereby authorizes the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to open and close 
special shrimp seasons in any portion of state inside waters 
where such a season would not detrimentally impact 
developing brown shrimp populations. 

 
Stephen W. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

1012#028 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Chilren and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

and 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Residential Licensing—Disqualification 
(LAC 48:V.6955) 

Editor’s Note: This Section is being repromulgated to correct a 
citation error. The original Rule may be viewed in its entirety 
on pages 831-838 of the April 20, 2010 edition of the 
Louisiana Register. 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Social Services (DSS), Office of Family Support (OFS) and 
Office of Community Services (OCS), promulgated rules in 
the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) Title 48, Part I, 
Subpart 3, Chapter 88, Adult Residential Care Licensing, 
Title 67, Part III, Subpart 21, Chapter 73, Child Day Care 
Licensing, and LAC Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapters 61-
69, Residential Licensing pursuant to the general rule-
making authority of the department under  R.S. 46:51 and 
the specific rule-making authority over child care facilities 
and child placing agencies granted by the Child Care Facility 
and Child-Placing Agency Licensing Act, R.S. 46:1401-
1426, and the specific authority to create rules for 
transitional living granted by the Transitional Youth 
Residence Act, R.S. 46:1451-1455. 

State licensing regulations for child care facilities 
provided no disqualification period for licensees who have 
had a prior license revoked for failure to comply with State 
laws and regulations governing facilities providing out-of-
home care for children and elderly or infirmed adults. This 
lack of specific disqualification periods had allowed 
substandard facilities to take temporary remedial action and 
reapply for a new license immediately following revocation 
of the previous one.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part V.  Community Services 
Subpart 8.  Residential Living 

Chapter 69. Child Residential Care 
§6955. Procedures 

A. - G.2.d. …. 
H. Disqualification from Application 

1. Definitions, as used in this Section: 
Affiliate— 

 i. with respect to a partnership, each partner 
thereof; 
 ii. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 
director and stockholder thereof; 
 iii. with respect to a natural person:  

(a). that person and any individual related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption within the third degree of 
kinship to that person;  

(b). any partnership, together with any or all its 
partners, in which that person is a partner; and  

(c). any corporation in which that person an 
officer, director or stockholder, or holds, directly or 
indirectly, a controlling interest; 
 iv. with respect to any of the above, any 
mandatory, agent, or representative or any other person, 
natural or juridical acting at the direction of or on behalf of 
the licensee or applicant; or 
 v. director of any such child residential care 
home.  

Department―the Department of Social Services. 
Disqualification Period―the prescriptive period 

during which the department shall not accept an application 
from a provider. Any unlicensed operation during the 
disqualification period shall interrupt running of prescription 
until the department has verified that the unlicensed 
operation has ceased. 

Effective Date―of a revocation, denial, or non-
renewal of a license shall be the last day for applying to 
appeal the action, if the action is not appealed. 

Facility―any place, program, facility or agency 
operated or required by law to operate under a license, 
including facilities owned or operated by any governmental, 
profit, nonprofit, private, or church agency. 

License― 
 i. any license issued by the department to operate 
any child care facility or child-placing agency as defined in 
R.S. 46:1403;  
 ii. any license issued by the department to operate 
any adult residential care facility as defined in R.S. 40:2153; 
or  
 iii. any license issued by the department to operate 
any transitional youth residence as defined in R.S. 46:1453. 

Provider―all owners or operators of a facility, 
including the director of such facility. If the owner is a 
corporate entity, the owners are the officers, directors, and 
shareholders of the facility. 

Unlicensed Operation―operation of any child care 
facility or child-placing agency, adult residential care 
facility, or transitional youth residence, at any location, 
without a valid, current license issued by the department. 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 
rules, the department shall not accept a subsequent 
application from the provider for that facility or any new 
facility for a minimum period of two years after the effective 
date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 
two years after all appeal rights have been exhausted, 
whichever is later (the disqualification period). Any 
subsequent application for a license shall be reviewed by the 
secretary or their designee prior to a decision being made to 
grant a license. The department reserves the right to 
determine, at its sole discretion, whether to issue any 
subsequent license. 
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b. Any voluntary surrender of a license by a facility 
facing the possibility of adverse action against its license 
(revocation or non-renewal) shall be deemed to be a 
revocation for purposes of this rule, and shall trigger the 
same disqualification period as if the license had actually 
been revoked. 

c. In addition, if the applicant has had a substantial 
history of non-compliance, including but not limited to 
revocation of a previous license, operation without a license, 
or denial of one or more previous applications for licensure, 
the department may refuse to accept a subsequent 
application from that applicant for a minimum period of two 
years after the effective date of denial. 

d. The disqualification period provided in this 
Section shall include any affiliate of the provider.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
27:1565 (September 2001), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 
Licensing, LR 33:2740 (December 2007), repromulgated by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 
35:1617 (August 2009), amended LR 36:331 (February 2010), LR 
36:836, 842 (April 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1032 (May 2010), 
repromulgated LR 36:1277 (June 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Child Welfare 
Section, LR 36:1463 (July 2010), amended by the Child Welfare 
Section and Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2522 (November 2010), repromulgated LR 36:2838 (December 
2010). 

 
Kristy H. Nichols 
Secretary 

1012#030 
 

RULE 

Department of Education 
Board of Regents 

Registration and Licensure  
(LAC 28:IX.101, 103, 105, 302,  

303, 305, 317, 319, and 501) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
17:1808 et seq., the state Board of Regents has amended the 
rules and regulations to LAC Part IX, Regents, Rules for 
Registration and Licensure. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IX.  Regents 
Chapter l. Rules for Registration and Licensure 
§101. Definition of Terms 

A. Terms used in these regulations such as Board of 
Regents, Postsecondary, Academic Degree-granting 
Institution, Registration, Licensure, and Fees shall be 
interpreted in accordance with R.S. 17:1808. 

B. For institutions domiciled in Louisiana, the term 
operate applies to the offering of courses and programs 
through any modality. For institutions domiciled outside 
Louisiana, the term operate shall mean the offering of 
courses that are physically delivered in the state of Louisiana 
and/or require clinical experiences in the state of Louisiana. 

C. The term clinical experiences shall mean site-based 
learning activities (e.g., clinical, internships, student 
teaching, practicum, field-based experiences, etc.) in settings 
(e.g., hospitals, schools, businesses, etc.) in which 
candidates are working with patients, children, teachers, 
principals, etc. in Louisiana and are observed/assisted/ 
evaluated by supervisors, preceptors, coaches, teachers, 
principals, or other individuals to determine that course 
and/program requirements have been addressed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 
amended LR 36:2839 (December 2010). 
§103. Registration and License Applications 

A. All public and private postsecondary, academic 
degree-granting institutions offering instruction in the state 
of Louisiana must register annually with the Board of 
Regents. Regular licenses are reviewed every two years. 
Requests for registration forms and license applications 
should be made in writing and addressed to: 

Commissioner of Higher Education 
Louisiana Board of Regents 
PO Box 3677 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 

B. Completed registration forms and license applications 
should be returned to the address shown above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 
amended LR 21:168 (February 1995), LR 36:2839 (December 
2010). 
§105. License Fees 

A. The license application fee shall be $750 (future 
increase to $1000 upon approval of the Legislature). Those 
institutions granted a license to operate will be required to 
pay an additional $750 (future increase to $1000 upon 
approval of the Legislature) at the start of the second year of 
the two-year licensing period. However, the initial license 
application fee may be reduced to $100 for institutions 
seeking initial licensure in order to allow clinical practicum 
experiences for fewer than five Louisiana residents enrolled 
in nursing and other health-related programs. In order to 
continue and renew their licenses, those institutions will be 
required to pay all subsequent fees, including renewal fees. 
License renewal fees are required during each subsequent 
two-year licensing period and are nonrefundable. 

B. - C. … 
D. Institutions seeking licensure shall submit all required 

materials and the nonrefundable license fee to the Board of 
Regents. If a final determination concerning the institution's 
qualifications for licensure is not reached within 180 days of 
receipt of the license application and supporting materials, a 
provisional license will be issued to the institution. The 
provisional license will remain in effect pending a final 
licensing decision by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 
amended LR 21:168 (February 1995), LR 36:2839 (December 
2010). 
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Chapter 3. Criteria and Requirements for Licensure 
§302. Institutional Accreditation 

A. - B. … 
C. The Board of Regents will consider a possible waiver 

of the accreditation requirement in the case of single purpose 
institutions. This consideration will be given in extraordinary 
circumstances where the board determines that it would be 
educationally impractical for an institution to reorganize its 
programs and operations in order to become eligible for 
consideration by a U.S. Department of Education recognized 
accrediting association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 21:168 (February 1995), 
amended LR 36:2840 (December 2010).
§303. Faculty 

A. Qualifications of Faculty 
1. Faculty shall be qualified by education and 

experience in the fields in which they teach. Faculty must 
meet the following minimum requirements. 

a. Faculty shall possess no less than the degree 
awarded to a graduate of the program in which they are 
teaching. 

b. The faculty shall be sufficient in number to 
establish and maintain the effectiveness of the educational 
program. 

B. Institutions offering advanced degrees must employ 
faculty who hold advanced degrees in appropriate fields 
from institutions accredited by recognized agencies.1 It is 
required that faculty credentials be verifiable. 

1. If any institution employs a faculty member whose 
highest earned degree is from a non-regionally-accredited 
institution within the United States or an institution outside 
the United States, the institution must show evidence that the 
faculty member has appropriate academic preparation. 

2. It is the responsibility of the institution to keep on 
file for all full-time and part-time faculty members 
documentation of academic preparation, such as official 
transcripts, and if appropriate for demonstrating competency, 
official documentation of professional and work experience, 
technical and performance competency, records of 
publications, and certifications and other qualifications.2 

1 Recognized accrediting agencies are those approved by the 
United States Department of Education. 
2 Source: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1552 (December 1993), 
amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 
2010). 
§305. Academic Program Standards 

A. - E. … 
F. For all face to face teacher/leader courses/programs 

with or without clinical experiences in Louisiana and all on-
line teacher/leader courses/programs with clinical 
experiences in Louisiana that result in initial teacher or 
leader certification being placed on teacher/leader 
certificates in Louisiana, provide evidence of the pursuit or 
attainment of national accreditation by the National Council 
for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or Teacher 
Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) and provide 
evidence of attainment of initial (Level 1) or subsequent 

(Levels 2, 3, 4) approval to implement a program for initial 
certification of teachers and/or certification of educational 
leaders. (Bulletin 996 B Standards for Approval of Teacher 
and Educational Leadership Preparation Programs). Also, 
provide evidence of intent to adhere to the requirements of 
the state teacher and/or educational leadership accountability 
systems. 

G. For all face to face teacher/leader courses/programs 
with or without clinical experiences in Louisiana and all on-
line teacher/leader courses/programs with clinical 
experiences in Louisiana that do or do not result in add-on 
certifications/endorsements being placed on teacher/leader 
certificates in Louisiana, provide evidence of the pursuit or 
attainment of national accreditation by the National Council 
for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or Teacher 
Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1552 (December 1993), 
amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 
2010). 
§317. Procedures for Tuition and Fee Refunds 

A. - A.4.d.iii. … 
 iv. refund policies for programs offering 
tuition/fee payments on an installment plan or programs 
offered through distance learning will be examined by the 
Board of Regents on an individual basis. Refund policies for 
installment programs are expected to conform generally to 
refund policies which appear in Subparagraphs A.4.c.i 
through iii and d.i through iv of this Section; 

e. refunds must be paid within 45 days of the date 
of withdrawal of the student from the institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 
amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 
2010). 
§319. Surety Bonding 

A. Institutions are required to post a surety bond issued 
by a surety authorized to do business in the state of 
Louisiana in the amount of $10,000 to cover the period of 
the license. These bonds are intended to protect students in 
the event of a sudden closure of the institution. Institutions 
that are also licensed and bonded under provisions set forth 
by R.S. 17:341 et seq., need not seek additional bonding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 
amended  LR 36:2840 (December 2010). 
Chapter 5. Consumer Protection 
§501. General Provisions 

A. Individuals must make every reasonable effort to 
solve disputes directly with the institution. If a solution 
cannot be reached, an individual may file a written 
complaint with the Board of Regents. Board of Regents' staff 
will review the facts and intervene where appropriate. Such 
intervention shall not include legal action on behalf of the 
party, but may include additional investigation of the 
institution including a site visit to determine if the 
institution's license should be revoked. 

B. - D.1. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 
amended LR 36:2840(December 2010). 

 
Larry Tremblay 
Associate Commissioner 

1012#031 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School,District, and State 
Accountability SystemGraduation Cohort, Index, and Rate 

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.603, 611, and 701) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System: §603. Determining 
a Cohort for Graduation, §611. Documenting a Graduation 
Index, and §701. Subgroup Component Indicators. Act 478 
of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for the 
development of an Accountability System for the purpose of 
implementing fundamental changes in classroom teaching 
by helping schools and communities focus on improved 
student achievement. The State’s Accountability System is 
an evolving system with different components that are 
required to change in response to state and federal laws and 
regulations. 

The changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 6, provide detail of 
how the cohort is determined for graduation and how a 
Graduation Index is documented. 

The changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7, provide detail of 
the Subgroup Component Indicators and how the Graduation 
Rate is calculated. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 6. Graduation Cohort, Index, and Rate 
§603. Determining a Cohort for Graduation  

A. - B. … 
C. Students who exit Louisiana’s Student Information 

System (SIS) system in less than four years for legitimate 
reasons shall not be included in the cohort's graduation index 
calculations. 

1. For graduation cohort calculations, exit codes 07, 
10, 14, 16, and 20 from §611 are legitimate, along with any 
special codes created to deal with natural disasters. 

2. Beginning with accountability decisions made in 
fall 2010 (using 2009 grad data), the only legitimate leavers 
from a cohort are those who; 

a. transfer from Louisiana K-12 public education to 
a diploma awarding school or program; 

b. emigrate to another country; 
c. are deceased. 

3. Specific documentation is required for students to 
be considered legitimate leavers. 

a. The only acceptable documentation for transfers 
is a request for student records from the qualifying school or 
program, or a letter from an official in the receiving school 
or program acknowledging the students enrollment. The 
documentation must be clearly dated before October 1 
following the student’s exit from the Louisiana Student 
Information System (SIS). The LDE can, during data 
certification and audits, require proof that the school or 
program is recognized as a “diploma awarding” by the state 
in which it is located.  

b. Documentation for a student transfer to home 
school is a school withdrawal form with parent signature and 
an LDE letter of approval to the parent, both dated before 
October 1 following the student’s exit from the Louisiana 
SIS. 

c. Students who emigrate to another country must 
be documented with a statement signed by a parent or a 
request for student records. 

d. An obituary or a letter from a parent is sufficient 
documentation for a deceased student. 

4. The LDE shall maintain and post on the LDE 
website a list of schools that are considered “non-diploma 
awarding.” 

5. A school is classified as “non-diploma awarding” if 
it: 

a. awards fewer than five regular diplomas a year 
for two consecutive years; or 

b. enrolls fewer than 10 twelfth graders for a full 
academic year for each of two consecutive years. 

c. the LDE can grant exceptions to these rules for 
new schools and schools with small populations upon 
district request if it can be determined that no circumvention 
of accountability consequences will occur. The district is 
responsible for providing any data requested by the LDE. 

D. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1024 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 33:2031 (October 2007), 
LR 35:2312 (November 2009), LR 36:2840 (December 2010). 
§611. Documenting a Graduation Index 

A. Beginning with academic year 2005-2006, all schools 
are required to maintain the following documentation if the 
corresponding exit code is used. 

 
Exit Code Documentation 

Code Descriptions Required Documentation 

01 
Expelled 

Due process documentation supporting 
expulsion. Students must be enrolled 
on October 1 of the following year. 

03 

Illness 

Letter from a physician stating the 
student's date(s) of care written on the 
doctor office's letterhead with the 
doctor's original signature. Students 
must be enrolled on October 1 of the 
following year. 

04 

Graduate with Diploma 

Official transcript showing successful 
completion of requirements along with 
records supporting any academic or 
career/technical endorsements. 

05 GED only LDE confirmation document and 
entry/exit in SIS. 

06 * * * 
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Exit Code Documentation 
Code Descriptions Required Documentation 

07 
Death (of student) or 
permanent incapacitation  Letter from parent or obituary. 

08 

Transferred to another 
public school within 
district 

SIS (Student Information System) 
record indicating transfer. 

09 

Transferred to another 
public school within 
Louisiana 

SIS record indicating transfer. 

10 

Transferred out of state or 
country 

Request for records from the receiving 
school (out of state). Request for 
records or a statement signed by the 
parent. Documentation proving a 
student was a foreign exchange 
student. 

12 
Transferred to 
Correctional Institution SIS record indicating transfer. 

14 * * * 
15 * * * 
16 * * * 

17 

Completed all Carnegie 
unit requirements but not 
the GEE 

STS (Student Transcript System) 
record 

20 * * * 

21 
Transferred to State 
school SIS record indicating transfer. 

22 

Options Program 
Completer: GED & 
Industry Based 
Certificate 

STS and/or CATE (Career and 
Technical Education) record 

23 

Options Program 
Completer: GED & 
Locally Designed Skills 
Certificate 

STS and/or CATE record 

24 

Options Program 
Completer: Industry 
Based Certification 

STS and/or CATE record 

25 

Options Program 
Completer: Local Skills 
Certificate Only 

STS and/or CATE record 

26 

Options Program 
Completer: Certificate of 
Completion 

STS and/or CATE record 

27 

Exit under SBESE 
Academic School Choice 
Policy 

SIS record indicating transfer. 

28 

Exit under SBESE 
Unsafe School Choice 
Policy 

SIS record indicating transfer. 

 
B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1024 (June 2006), 
amended LR 35:639 (April 2009), LR 35:2312 (November 2009), 
LR 36:2841 (December 2010). 
Chapter 7. Subgroup Component 
§701. Subgroup Component Indicators 

A. - A. 1.c.ii. … 
d. Beginning with the fall 2010, the additional 

academic indicator for schools with a twelfth grade shall be 
evaluated using new procedures as required by the U. S. 
Department of Education published in High School 
Graduation Rate: Non-Regulatory Guidance (December 22, 
2008). 

2. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1026 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 36:2842 (December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#042 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools—Fourth Year Review of 
Charter Schools on Contract Probation 

(LAC 28:CXXXIX.1305) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 126—Charter Schools: 
§1305. Fourth Year Review of Charter Schools on Contract 
Probation. Current policy provides that a charter school 
meeting certain standards in June of its fourth year of 
operation shall receive a one-year extension. This Rule 
provides that a charter school meeting certain standards in 
June of its fourth year of operation may receive a one-year 
extension, thereby giving the charter school authorizer the 
ability to approve or deny an extension. This Rule would 
guide charter school authorizers’ consideration of charter 
school extensions upon meeting certain standards during 
their fourth year of operation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Chapter 13. Charter Term 
§1305. Fourth Year Review of Charter Schools on 

Contract Probation 
A. A charter school granted a one-year extension and 

placed on probation after its third year of operation pursuant 
to §1303.B.2 shall comply with all conditions of probation 
established by BESE and the Department of Education 
Charter School Office. 

1. A charter school meeting the following standards in 
January of its fourth year of operation may receive a one-
year extension, at the conclusion of its fourth year: 

a. all financial performance standards; 
b. all legal and contractual standards; and 
c. one of following student performance measures: 

 i. Baseline SPS Year Three is 60.0 or above; or 
 ii. Growth SPS met. 

2. A charter school meeting the following standards in 
June of its fourth year of operation may receive a one-year 
extension: 

a. all financial performance standards; 
b. all legal and contractual standards; and 
c. one of the following student performance 

standards: 
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 i. Assessment Index Year Four is 60.0 or above; 
or 
 ii. Required Growth of 10 points has been met. 

B. A charter school not meeting the standards set forth in 
§1305.A.1 shall be recommended for revocation of its  
charter and shall proceed to a revocation hearing as set forth 
in Chapter 17 of this bulletin. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
LR 36:2842 (December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#043  
 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—Application Packet 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.805) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §805. 
Application Packet. This revision will require certification 
appeal requests to be submitted directly to the Division of 
Certification, Leadership, and Preparation. This revision of 
policy will eliminate appeal requests being submitted to the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education for 
processing. This revision in Bulletin 746 clarifies the appeal 
application process. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 8. Certification Appeal Process 
§805. Application Packet 

A. An individual seeking an appeal of his/her certification 
decision is advised to read carefully all information about 
completing the Certification Appeal Application before 
beginning the process. The complete application packet is 
located on the Teach Louisiana website. If there are 
questions regarding the appeal packet, an applicant can 
contact the Division of Certification, Leadership, and 
Preparation at 225-342-3490. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2843 (December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#044 
 

 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.505) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §505. CTTIE-1 
and CTTIE-2 Certificates. This revision will align Career 
and Technical Trade and Industrial Education (CTTIE) 
certified nursing assistant and certified nursing assistant 
program coordinator eligibility requirements with guidelines 
of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. 
Recently the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals 
revised their guidelines on certification of nurse assistant 
instructors. Due to the revisions, the requirements of CTTIE 
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) and Certified Nursing 
Assistant Program Coordinator must reflect those changes as 
well. All applicants must hold an approved CTTIE prior to 
providing CNA instruction. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 5. Standards for Secondary Career and 
Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Personnel 

§505. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 
A. - B.5. … 
C. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) Eligibility 

Requirements 
1. Applicant must be a professional nursing program 

graduate with current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
nurse (RN) or practical nurse (PN).  

2. Applicant must have a minimum of two of the past 
four years of experience in staff nursing or PN or RN 
nursing education. One year of this experience must be in 
caring for the elderly or chronically ill.  

3. Licensed practical nurses (LPN) may serve as a 
certified nursing assistant instructor under the direct 
supervision of a registered nurse. LPNs, under the general 
supervision of the primary instructor, may provide classroom 
and skills training instruction and supervision if they have 
two years of experience in caring for the elderly and/or 
chronically ill. Applicant must submit a letter from the 
district CTE supervisor with the name of the RN supervisor.  

4. All instructors must have a CNA "Train the Trainer 
Certificate" and meet Certified Nursing Assistant 
Regulations, as mandated by the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals (DHH)-Health Standards Section. 

5. A Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) instructor must 
be approved by the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Career and Technical Education (CTE) office. 

6. Applicant must have an approved Nurse Assistant 
(511614.000) CTTIE-1 prior to CNA instruction.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2844 

D. Certified Nursing Assistant, Program Coordinator—
Eligibility Requirements. The program coordinator must be a 
registered nurse (RN) and must have the following 
experience and qualifications: 

1. current Louisiana licensure as a registered nurse 
(RN); 

2. a minimum of two years of nursing experience, of 
which at least one year must be in caring for the elderly or 
chronically ill, obtained through employment in any of the 
following: 
 i. a nursing facility/unit; 
 ii. a geriatrics department; 
 iii. a chronic care hospital; 
 iv. other long-term care setting; or 
 v. experience in varied responsibilities including, 
but not limited to, direct resident care or supervision and 
staff education; 

3. completion of VTIE, CTTIE, CNA "Train-the-
Trainer" type program or a master's degree or higher; 

4. all instructors must meet requirements mandated by 
the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH)-
Health Standards Section; 

5. applicant must have an approved Nurse Assistant 
(511614.000) CTTIE-1 prior to CNA instruction. 

E. - G.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#045  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapter 2) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §205. Minimum 
Requirements for Approved Regular Education Programs for 
Grades PK-3: Adopted May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 
2002; §207. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 
Education Programs for Grades 1-5: Adopted May 24, 2001; 
Effective July 1, 2002; §209. Minimum Requirements for 
Approved Regular Education Programs for Grades 4-8: 
Adopted May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002; §211. 
Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular Education 
Programs for Grades 6-12: Adopted May 24, 2001; Effective 
July 1, 2002; §213. College of Arts/Humanities/Sciences 
Degree Pathway to Secondary Education Certification 
(Grades 6-12): Adopted November 18, 2003; Effective 
January 1, 2004; and §215. Minimum Requirements for 

Approved Regular Education All-Level Programs for Grades 
K-12: Adopted November 2003; Effective August 1, 2005. 
This policy revision of Louisiana traditional teacher 
preparation programs will allow the following reductions: 
(1) require fewer “flexible credit hours” for the grades PK-3, 
1-5, 4-8, and K-12 baccalaureate programs which will 
decrease the total minimum credit hours from 124 to 120; 
and (2) Eliminate the secondary focus areas (e.g., minor with 
19 credit hours) in the grades 6-12 baccalaureate programs 
and only require the primary focus areas (major with 31 or 
more credit hours). This policy complies with Postsecondary 
Commission’s recommendation to reduce the number of 
credit hours for a baccalaureate degree.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
Subchapter A. Traditional Teacher Preparation 

Programs 
§205. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades PK-3: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in grades pre-
kindergarten through third (PK-3) in the state of Louisiana, 
the focus is on the areas of Early Childhood, 
Reading/Language Arts, and Mathematics.  

1. General Education―39 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 teacher with 
basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics  9 semester hours 
Sciences  9 semester hours 
Social studies  6 semester hours 
Arts  3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus on Early Childhood, Reading/Language Arts, 

and Mathematics―33 semester hours. Requirements provide 
a greater depth of knowledge in early childhood education. 

 
Nursery school and kindergarten coursework 12 semester hours 
Reading/language arts (Additional Content and 
Teaching Methodology) 12 semester hours 
Mathematics  9 semester hours 
Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on Early 
Childhood 15 semester hours  

 
a. Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 

teacher with a fundamental understanding of the learner and 
the teaching and learning process. Coursework should 
address the needs of the regular and the exceptional child, as 
follows: 
 i. child/adolescent development/psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

3. Methodology and Teaching—15 semester hours: 
Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 teacher with 
fundamental pedagogical skills. 
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Teaching methodology  6 semester hours 
Student teaching  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use  18 semester hours  
Total required hours in the program 120 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1783 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2844 (December 2010). 
§207. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 1-5: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in elementary grades 1-5 
in the state of Louisiana, the focus is on the areas of 
Reading/Language Arts and Mathematics. 

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective elementary grades 1-5 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social studies 12 semester hours 
Arts  3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus on Reading/Language Arts and 

Mathematics―21 semester hours. Requirements provide the 
prospective elementary grades 1-5 teacher with fundamental 
pedagogical skills. 

 
Reading/language arts (additional content and 
teaching methodology) 12 semester hours 
Mathematics (additional content and teaching 
methodology)  9 semester hours 
Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the 
Elementary School Student 15 semester hours  

 
a. Requirements provide the prospective elementary 

grades 1-5 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching and learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child, as follows: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

3. Methodology and Teaching: 15 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective elementary grade 1-5 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology  6 semester hours 
Student teaching  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use  15 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program  120semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1784 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2845 (December 2010). 
§209. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 4-8: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in middle grades 4-8 in 
the state of Louisiana, the focus is on two in-depth teaching 
areas. 

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide prospective middle grades 4-8 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social Studies 12 semester hours 
Arts  3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area #1-19 hours total combined general 

education and focus area coursework. 
 

English 7 or more hours 
Mathematics 7 or more hours 
Social Studies 7 or more hours 
Science 4 or more hours 

 
3. Focus Area #2—19 hours total combined general 

education and focus area coursework. 
 

English 7 or more hours 
Mathematics 7 or more hours 
Social Studies 7 or more hours 
Science 4 or more hours 

 
4. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment, with the Emphasis on the Middle School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective middle 
grades 4-8 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching and learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development/psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

5. Methodology and Teaching―24 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective middle grades 4-8 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology  9 semester hours 
Reading  6 semester hours 
Student teaching  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use  13-16 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program  120 semester hours 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1784 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2845 (December 2010). 
§211. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 6-12: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a secondary teacher in grades 6-12 
in the state of Louisiana, the focus is on content in the 
teaching area. 

1. General Education―30 semester hours. 
Requirements provide prospective secondary grades 6-12 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area―A total of 31 hours of combined 

general education and focus area coursework. These focus 
hours prepare a prospective secondary teacher of grades 6-
12 in the content area essential to the certification area. 

 
English, Social Studies, or Mathematics 25 or more hours 

-or- 
Science 22 or more hours 

-or- 
Other focus areas 31 or more hours 
 

3. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the Secondary School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective secondary 
grades 6-12 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching/learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

4. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective secondary grade 6-12 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology  6 semester hours 
Reading  3 semester hours 
Student teaching  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use 26-35 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program  120 semester hours 
 
NOTE: The following areas are approved primary teaching 
focus areas, to include a minimum of 31 semester hours of 
credit: Agriculture; Biology; Business; Chemistry; Computer 
Science; Earth Science; English; Environmental Science; 
Family and Consumer Sciences; a specific Foreign Language; 
General Science; Marketing; Mathematics; Physics; Social 
Studies; Speech; Technology Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1785 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2846 (December 2010). 
§213. College of Arts/Humanities/Sciences Degree 

Pathway to Secondary Education Certification 
(Grades 6-12): Adopted November 18, 2003; 
Effective January 1, 2004 

A. This certification structure identifies courses that 
candidates must complete if pursuing a degree through the 
College of Arts/Humanities/Sciences, with an education 
minor, to become certified to teach secondary grades 6-12. 

1. General Education―30 semester hours. These 
requirements provide prospective secondary grades 6-12 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Areas—Content Area (semester hours can 

include general education coursework, if appropriate, and 
additional coursework)―31 semester hours. 

3. Focus Areas—Education―33 semester hours. 
a. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment with the Emphasis on the Secondary School 
Student―15 semester hours: 
 i. adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

b. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective secondary grades. 
 i. 6-12 teacher with fundamental pedagogical 
skills: 
 ii. teaching methodology (six semester hours); 
 iii. reading (three semester hours); 
 iv. student teaching (nine semester hours). 

4. Flexible hours for the university's use―26-35 
semester hours. The number of flexible hours is dependent 
upon the number of general education courses in English, 
mathematics, science, and social studies that can be applied 
toward the major. The number of hours for a content area 
focus should be a minimum of 31 hours, and the total 
curriculum (including flexible hours) should be 120 hours. 

5. Total required hours in the program 120 semester 
hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1785 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2846 (December 2010). 
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§215. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 
Education All-Level Programs for Grades K-12: 
Adopted November 2003; Effective August 1, 
2005 

A. General Education―A minimum of 30 semester 
hours of credit designed to develop a broad cultural 
background. The work must be taken in the following five 
areas. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 

 

 
B. Focus Area 
 
Art 28 semester hours of Art coursework 
Dance 31 semester hours of Dance coursework 
Health and 
Physical 
Education 

31 semester hours of Health and Physical 
Education coursework 

Vocal Music 31 semester hours of Vocal Music coursework 
Instrumental 
Music 

31 semester hours of Instrumental Music 
coursework 

Vocal and 
Instrumental 
Music 

50 semester hours vocal and instrumental music 
coursework 

Foreign 
Language 

31 semester hours of the language (If French, at 
least 12 hours must be earned through a two (2) 
semester residence in a university abroad or 
through two (2) summers of intensive immersion 
study on a Louisiana campus, an out-of-state 
university, or abroad) 

 
C. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment―18 semester hours. 
1. Coursework should address needs of the regular 

and exceptional child and certification grade categories PK-
3, 1-5, 4-8, and 6-12: 

a. child development; 
b. adolescent psychology; 
c. educational psychology; 
d. the learner with special needs; 
e. classroom organization and management; 
f. multicultural education. 

D. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
 

Reading  3 semester hours 
Teaching methodology  6 semester hours 
Student teaching  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for university use  4-26semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 120 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1786 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2847 (December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#046  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators—Definitions of  

Schools and Early Childhood Programs  
(LAC 28:LXXIX.107, 115, 905, 2103, and 3303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act,  the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education has amended Nonpublic Bulletin 741—
Louisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators: 
§107. School Approval, §115. Early Childhood/Pre-
Kindergarten/Kindergarten, §905. Age Requirements, §2103. 
Minimum Time Requirements, and §3303. Definitions. 
These revisions change the definition of a school and 
provide a definition of early childhood programs as required 
by federal guidelines. These changes will allow children 
who qualify to receive services from federal programs. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators 

Chapter 1. Operation and Administration 
§107. School Approval 

A. In order to benefit from state and federal funds, each 
approved school shall meet and maintain the following 
standards: 

1. the school must have a state approval classification; 
2. the school must be in compliance with Brumfield 

vs. Dodd; and 
3. the school must be a nonprofit institutional day or 

residential school that provides elementary education, 
secondary education, or both. 

B. A school which does not meet these standards may 
not hold any classification category listed in this section and 
may not benefit from state and federal funds. This 
requirement applies to schools submitting an initial 
application for school approval and schools which are 
currently approved. 

C. Each state-approved nonpublic school receiving state 
and/or federal funds shall permit all colleges, universities 
and branches of the military to have equal access to the 
schools for the purpose of recruitment. 

D. When applying to the State Department of Education 
for a classification category, all nonpublic schools seeking 
state approval shall include all grades/programs taught at the 
school. 

1. Classification Categories. Schools shall be 
classified according to the following categories. 

a. Approved (A)―school meets all standards 
specified in Standards for Approval of Nonpublic Schools. 

b. Provisionally Approved (PA)―school has some 
deficiencies in standards, such as: class size and number(s) 
of the faculty teaching in an area of which qualifications 
specified are not met, etc. 

c. Probationally Approved (P)―school has one or 
more of the following deviations from standards: 
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 i. principal does not hold a master's degree or 
principalship certification; 
 ii. non-degreed teacher with fewer than five years 
teaching experience is employed; 
 iii. school has been on provisional approval for the 
previous two years for the same deficiency. 

d. Unapproved (U)―school maintains any of the 
above-mentioned deviations from standards which placed it 
in the probationally approved category the preceding year. A 
school may not maintain a probationally approved category 
for two consecutive years. A school which loses annual 
school approval shall become ineligible for state and federal 
funding. 

E. The Department of Education shall submit to the 
SBESE a yearly report recommending the classification 
status of the nonpublic schools in accordance with the 
nonpublic school standards. 

F. After the annual school reports are submitted by the 
State Department of Education to the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) for approval, 
all nonpublic schools seeking to change their classification 
category must submit their request to the SBESE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2342 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3073 (December 2005), LR 36:2847 
(December 2010). 
§115. Early Childhood/Pre-Kindergarten/ 

Kindergarten 
A. The local educational governing authority shall have 

the option of establishing an early childhood program, a pre-
kindergarten and/or kindergarten program on a half-day or 
full-day schedule. 

B. The early childhood program and/or pre-kindergarten 
program shall be listed on the annual school report when 
operated as a developmental program(s) within the total 
school program or when operated as separate program(s). 

C. The term early childhood includes developmental 
programs for children ages 3-4, the minimum age being a 
child’s third birthday. Children in early childhood programs 
are eligible to enter pre-kindergarten and kindergarten at the 
established age requirement for each program. 

D. The term pre-kindergarten includes developmental 
programs for children. The minimum age for pre-
kindergarten shall be one year younger than the age 
requirement for that child to enter kindergarten. 

E. Early childhood programs and pre-kindergarten 
programs may be operated as part of an approved elementary 
school program in conjunction with other grades or may be 
operated solely as an approved early childhood programs 
and/or pre-kindergarten program. These approved programs 
are considered to be elementary schools. 

F. Non-public schools are not required to offer early 
childhood programs and/or pre-kindergarten programs nor 
are children required to attend these programs. 

G. Any other program which operates in a school as a 
childcare program shall follow the day care standards as 
prescribed by the appropriate state agency and is not to be 
listed on the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3073 (December 2005), LR 36:2848 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 9. Student Services 
§905. Age Requirements 

A. The minimum age for early childhood programs shall 
be a child’s third birthday. 

B. The minimum age for pre-kindergarten shall be one 
year younger than the age requirement for that child to enter 
kindergarten. 

C. The minimum age for kindergarten shall be one year 
younger than the age requirement for that child to enter first 
grade. 

D. Each school system and/or independent school may 
adopt by rule and enforce ages for entrance into first grade in 
school. It is recommended that a child entering first grade be 
six years of age on or before September 30 of that school 
year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3078 (December 2005), LR 36:2848 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 21. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter B. Elementary Program of Studies 
§2103. Minimum Time Requirements 

A. Early Childhood Programs/Pre-Kindergarten/ 
Kindergarten 

1. The early childhood, pre-kindergarten, and/or 
kindergarten elementary school grades should be planned to 
meet the developmental needs of young children and should 
be informal in nature, with teacher-directed and student-
initiated activities. 

2.a. - 3.b. … 
B. Elementary Schools 

1. Nonpublic elementary schools first through eighth 
grades shall devote no less than 50 percent of the school day 
to the skill subjects: reading, language arts, and 
mathematics. The remainder of the school day shall be 
devoted to social studies, science, health and physical 
education, and electives such as religion, foreign languages, 
and visual and performing arts. 

2. - 6.m. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3080 (December 2005), LR 34:229 
(February 2008), LR 36:2848 (December 2010). 
Chapter 33. Glossary 
§3303. Definitions 

* * * 
Early Childhood Programs—developmental programs for 

children ages 3-4, the minimum age being a child’s third 
birthday. Children in early childhood programs are eligible 
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to enter pre-kindergarten and kindergarten at the established 
age requirement for each program. 

* * * 
Elementary School―a school composed of any span of 

grades early childhood, pre-kindergarten, and/or 
kindergarten through the eighth grade. 

* * * 
Pre-Kindergarten―developmental programs for children 

who are no more than one year younger than the age 
established for kindergarten. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6; R.S. 17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary, Education, LR 34:230 (February 2008), 
LR 36:2848 (December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#047 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators—Professional Staff 

Development (LAC 28:LXXIX.305) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education has amended the Nonpublic Bulletin 
741—Louisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School 
Administrators: §305. Professional Staff Development. This 
revision changes the professional development requirement 
for nonpublic school teachers from an indeterminate number 
of faculty meetings to two full days of professional 
development. This change reflects what is currently 
occurring in most nonpublic schools and aligns with what is 
required for public schools.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School  

Administrators—Programs of Study 
Chapter 3. Certification of Personnel 
§305. Professional Staff Development 

A. A minimum of two days of professional development 
shall be held each school year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2344 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3075 (December 2005), LR 36:2849 
(December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#048 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators—Programs of Study 

(LAC 28:LXXIX.2109 and 2323) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators—Programs 
of Study: §2109. High School Graduation Requirements and 
§2323. Mathematics. These revisions change the name of a 
math course. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators—

Programs of Study 
Chapter 21. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter C. Secondary Schools 
§2109. High School Graduation Requirements 

A. - D.4. … 
E. For incoming freshmen in 2009-2010 and beyond 

who are completing the Louisiana Core 4 Curriculum, the 
minimum course requirements shall be the following: 

1. english—4 units, shall be English I, II, III, and IV; 
2. mathematics—4 units, shall be: 

a. algebra I (1 unit) or algebra I-Pt. 2; 
b. geometry; 
c. algebra II; 
d. the remaining unit shall come from the 

following: financial mathematics, math essentials, advanced 
mathematics I, advanced mathematics II, pre-calculus, 
calculus, probability and statistics, discrete mathematics, or 
a locally-initiated elective approved by BESE as a math 
substitute. 

E.3. - F.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2351 (November 
2003), amended LR 30:2776 (December 2004), LR 31:3081 
(December 2005), LR 34:2099 (October 2008), LR 36:2849 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 23. High School Program of Studies 
§2323. Mathematics 

A. Effective for 2009-2010 incoming freshmen, four 
units of mathematics shall be required for graduations. All 
students must complete the following: 

1. algebra I (1 unit) or algebra I-pt. 1 and algebra I-pt. 
2 (2 units); 

2. geometry; 
3. the remaining units shall come from the following: 

a. algebra II; 
b. financial mathematics; 
c. math essentials; 
d. advanced mathematics I; 
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e. advanced mathematics II; 
f. pre-calculus; 
g. calculus; 
h. probability and statistics; 
i. discrete mathematics; or  
j. a locally-initiated elective approved by BESE as 

a math substitute. 
B. Three units of mathematics are required for 

graduation. Effective for incoming freshmen between 2005-
2006 and 2008-2009, all students must: 

1. complete one of the following: 
a. algebra I (1 unit); or 
b. algebra I-pt. 1 and algebra I-pt. 2 (2 units); or 
c. integrated mathematics I (1 unit); 

2. the remaining unit(s) shall come from the 
following: 

a. integrated mathematics II; 
b. integrated mathematics III; 
c. geometry; 
d. algebra II; 
e. financial mathematics; 
f. advanced mathematics I; 
g. advanced mathematics II; 
h. pre-calculus; 
i. calculus; 
j. probability and statistics; 
k. discrete mathematics. 

C. For incoming freshmen between 1998 and 2004-2005, 
the three required mathematics units shall be selected from 
the following courses and may include a maximum of two 
entry level courses (designated by E): 

1. introductory algebra/geometry (E); 
2. algebra I-part 1 (E); 
3. algebra 1-part 2; 
4. integrated mathematics I (E); 
5. integrated mathematics II; 
6. integrated mathematics III; 
7. applied mathematics 1 (E); 
8. applied mathematics II; 
9. applied mathematics III; 
10. algebra I (E); 
11. geometry; 
12. algebra II; 
13. financial mathematics; 
14. advanced mathematics I; 
15. advanced mathematics II; 
16. pre-calculus; 
17. calculus; 
18. probability and statistics; and 
19. discrete mathematics. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Advanced Mathematics I 1 
Advanced Mathematics II 1 
Algebra I 1 
Algebra I-Part I 1 
Algebra 1-Part II 1 
Algebra II 1 
Calculus 1 
Discrete Mathematics 1 
Financial Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Integrated Mathematics I 1 
Integrated Mathematics II 1 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Integrated Mathematics III 1 
Pre-Calculus 1 
Probability and Statistics 1 
Math Essentials 1 
 
D. Financial mathematics may be taught by the Business 

Education Department. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003), amended LR 30:2776 (December 2004), LR 31:3086 
(December 2005), LR 34:2101 (October 2008), LR 36:2849 
(December 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#049  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Recovery School District; Standing and Executive 
Committees; and Advisory Councils 

(LAC 28:I.313, 501, and 503) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
Title 28, Part I, §313. The Recovery School District, §501. 
Standing and Executive Committees, and §503. Advisory 
Councils. 

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
313.A.1.b.ii. contains reference to a statutory date set by 
Louisiana Revised Statute 17:10.7.A.(2). The Louisiana 
Administrative Code citation is being revised to change 
November 15, 2008 to the current statutory date November 
15, 2009.  

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
501. contains the committee structure for the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. A committee is being 
added to this structure to assist the board in the exercise of 
its powers and responsibilities as defined in the constitution 
and by law. 

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
503.C.2. contains the authority, charge and membership of 
the Adult Education Advisory Council. The Adult Education 
Advisory Council will no longer exist as an advisory council 
and all references are being removed from the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. 

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
503.C.3. contains the authority, charge and membership of 
the Louisiana Educational Assessment Testing 
Commission(LEATC). Act 438 of the 2009 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana State Legislature abolished the commission 
and removed all references to powers, duties and functions. 
As a result of Act 438, LEATC will no longer exist as an 
advisory council and all references are being removed from 
the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
503.C.7 and Section 501.B.4.f contain the authority, charge 
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and membership of the Teachers Certification Appeals 
Council. Act 31 of the 2009 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature changed the authority, charge and 
membership of the Teachers Certification Appeals Council 
making the current language regarding this council obsolete. 
BESE is deleting Teacher Certification Appeals Council 
language in these Sections. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 3. Composition and General Authority 
§313. The Recovery School District 

A. - A.1.b.i. ... 
 ii. No additional schools shall be transferred to 
the Recovery School District pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7 on or 
after November 15, 2009. 

A.1.b.iii. - D.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:6(B), R.S. 17:10.5, R.S. 17:10.6, R.S. 
17:1990, R.S. 17:3973 and R.S. 36:651(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:413 (March 2008), 
amended LR 36:2851 (December 2010). 
Chapter 5. Organization 
§501. Standing and Executive Committees 

A. - B.3.d. ... 
4. Quality Leaders/Educators Committee. The 

following are examples of issues that will be considered by 
the Quality Leaders/Educators Committee: 

a. leadership development; 
b. professional development; 
c. professional accountability; 
d. certification/articulation; 
e. approval of teacher education programs and 

units; 
f. commission(s)/task forces; and 
g. bulletin(s). 

5. Recovery School District Committee. The 
following are examples of issues that will be considered by 
the Recovery School District Committee: 

a. RSD-NO; 
b. RSD-LA; 
c. RSD finance/budget; 
d. RSD master plan; 
e. RSD commission(s)/task forces;  
f. RSD bulletin(s)/administrative handbooks; and 
g. charter schools (Type 5). 

6. State Authorized School Oversight Committee. The 
following are examples of issues that will be considered by 
the State Authorized School Oversight Committee: 

a. SSD/BSS; 
b. school approval: Brumfield vs. Dodd and 

nonpublic; 
c. commission(s)/task forces; 
d. bulletin(s)/administrative handbooks; and 
e. charter schools (Types 1, 2, 3, and 4). 

7. Student/School Performance and Support 
Committee. The following are examples of issues that will 
be considered by the Student/School Performance and 
Support Committee: 

a. assessment issues: LEAP, GEE, iLEAP, 
remediation; 

b. accountability issues: school performance, 
interventions, improvements; 

c. academically at-risk schools; 
d. school choice, vouchers, supplemental education 

services; 
e. district dialogues; 
f. curriculum: content standards, GLEs, 

comprehensive curriculum, textbooks, elective courses; 
g. alternative schools/programs; 
h. special education; 
i. early childhood; 
j. school and community support; 
k. adult education; 
l. commission(s)/task forces; and 
m. bulletin(s). 

C - C.3.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:415 (March 2008), 
amended LR 35:223 (February 2009), LR 35:1874 (September 
2009), LR 36:2851 (December 2010). 
§503. Advisory Councils 

A. - C.1.c.iv. ... 
2. Nonpublic School Commission 

a. Authority: per state statute (R.S. 17:11). 
b. Membership: 11 members, one member 

recommended by each board member, representing approved 
nonpublic schools. 

c. Referrals/Responsibilities 
 i. Advise and counsel with the board relative to 
standards and guidelines affecting nonpublic schools. 
 ii. Consider all matters referred by the board. 

3. Superintendents' Advisory Council 
a. Authority: per BESE policy. 
b. Membership: 22 members as follows: 

 i. 22 members, two city, parish, or other local 
public school superintendents recommended by each of the 
eight elected board members, within his/her district, if 
possible. The three at-large members should each appoint 
two city, parish, or other local public school superintendents 
from BESE Districts 3-8, with no more than one 
appointment per BESE district. It is recommended that the 
composition reflect all sizes of systems and be equitable in 
the regions represented, to the extent possible; 
 ii. the president of the Louisiana Association of 
School Superintendents (LASS) shall serve as chair of the 
council. In the event the president of LASS is not an 
appointed member of the council, the membership shall 
expand to 23 members during the term of service of that 
individual; 
 iii. attendance. Members who cannot attend a 
meeting may appoint another superintendent from his/her 
BESE district to represent him/her, and the proxy shall have 
the same voting privileges; 
 iv. expenses. Members shall not receive 
reimbursement for travel expenses from the board. 

c. Referrals/Responsibilities 
 i. Consider all matters referred by the board. 
 ii. Recommendations from the Superintendents' 
Advisory Council shall go to the appropriate board 
committee. The department shall provide responses to the 
various recommendations. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2852 

4. Special Education Advisory Council 
a. Authority. Pursuant to federal law and 

regulations (34 CFR 300.650-652) and to state law (R.S. 
17:1954), the Special Education Advisory Council is created 
to assist the board in its programmatic and budgetary 
responsibilities for special education programs. 

b. Membership: 17 members as follows. A majority 
of the voting members of the panel (nine) shall be 
individuals with disabilities or parents of children with 
disabilities, ages birth through 26. The advisory council shall 
be representative of the state population and composed of 
individuals involved in, or concerned with, the education of 
children with disabilities: 
 i. 11 members, one member recommended by 
each board member, from the following categories: 

(a). two parents of children with disabilities 
(ages birth through 26); 

(b). one individual with a disability; 
(c). one special education teacher; 
(d). one regular education teacher; 
(e). two representatives of institutions of higher 

education that prepare special education and related services 
personnel; 

(f). one local education official; 
(g). one administrator of a program for children 

with disabilities; 
(h). one representative of a private school; 
(i) one representative of a public charter school; 

 ii. one representative of a state agency involved in 
the financing or delivery of related services to children with 
disabilities, recommended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals; 
 iii. one representative of a vocational, community, 
or business organization concerned with the provision of 
transition services to children with disabilities, 
recommended by Louisiana Rehabilitation Services; 
 iv. one administrator of a program for children 
with disabilities, recommended by a USDOE designated 
Parent Training and Information Center; 
 v. one representative from the state juvenile/adult 
corrections agencies, recommended by the Department of 
Public Safety/Corrections; 
 vi. one state or local education official who carries 
out activities of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance 
Act, recommended by the Louisiana State Superintendent of 
Education; 
 vii. one representative from the state child welfare 
agency responsible for foster care, recommended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services. 

c. Referrals/Responsibilities 
 i. Advise the state educational agency of unmet 
needs within the state in the education of children with 
disabilities. 
 ii. Comment publicly on any rules or regulations 
proposed by the state regarding the education of children 
with disabilities. 
 iii. Advise the state educational agency in 
developing evaluations and reporting on data to the U.S. 
Secretary of Education. 
 iv. Advise the state educational agency in 
developing corrective action plans to address findings 
identified in federal monitoring reports. 

 v. Advise the state educational agency in 
developing and implementing policies relating to the 
coordination of services for children with disabilities. 
 vi. Review and comment on the department's 
recommendations for disbursal of competitive grants and 
awards to local education agencies and qualified nonprofit 
entities; and 
 vii. Consider all matters referred by the board. 

5. Textbook/Media/Library Advisory Council 
a. Authority: per BESE policy. 
b. Membership: 14 members as follows: 

 i. one member of the legislature (state senator), 
recommended by the Senate President; 
 ii. one member of the legislature (state 
representative), recommended by the Speaker of the House; 
 iii. one member recommended by the governor; 
and 
 iv. 11 members, one member recommended by 
each board member, from the following categories: 

(a). one teacher, grades K-6; 
(b). one teacher, grades 7-12; 
(c). one teacher (any grade) or coordinator of 

technology; 
(d). two school librarians; 
(e). one curriculum supervisor; 
(f). two textbook supervisors; 
(g). one parent or business representative; 
(h). one LEA superintendent; and 
(i). one school principal. 

c. Referrals/Responsibilities 
 i. Advise the board on policy and procedure 
issues relating to the textbook adoption process. 
 ii. Consider all matters referred by the board. 

d. Special Advisory Committees. Special advisory 
committees may be created by the board with a limited 
charge and scope to study a specific topic as referred by the 
board. 

D. - F.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:6(A)(15), R.S. 17:24.4, R.S. 17:11, 34 CFR 
300.650-652, and R.S. 17:1954. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:416 (March 2008), 
amended LR 35:1874 (September 2009), LR 36:2851 (December 
2010). 

 
Jeanette B. Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1012#050  
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

GO Grant Program Changes 
(LAC 28:IV.Chapter 12) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended its Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 
17:3021-3025, 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 
17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and R.S. 17:3048.6). (SG10122R) 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education  

Scholarship and Grant Programs 
Chapter 12. Louisiana GO Grant 
§1203. Definitions 

A. The following definitions shall be applicable to the 
Louisiana GO Grant Program. Words and terms not 
otherwise defined in this Chapter shall have the meanings 
ascribed to such words and terms in this Section. Where the 
masculine is used in these rules, it includes the feminine, and 
vice versa; where the singular is used, it includes the plural, 
and vice versa.  

* * * 
Education Allowance―repealed. 
Education Cost Gap (ECG)―repealed. 
Education Cost Gap (ECG) Threshold―repealed. 

* * * 
Financial Need―the student’s costs of attendance 

minus the expected family contribution (EFC) and minus the 
student’s federal Pell grant.  

* * * 
Louisiana Basic College Costs (LBCC)―repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2615 (December 2007), amended LR 34:236 (February 
2008), LR 35:647 (April 2009), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 
36:2853 (December 2010). 
§1205. Application and Initial Eligibility 

A. - B.2. … 
3. have financial need; and 

B.4.a. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2616 (December 2007), amended LR 34:238 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010. 
§1207. Continuing Eligibility 

A. - B.1. … 
2. The student must still have financial need. 
3. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2616 (December 2007), amended LR 34:238 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010. 
§1211. Responsibilities of Eligible Louisiana 

Institutions 
A. - C.2.d. … 

3. the payment request shall include the social security 
number, college code, term, date, hours attempted, award 
amount, and amount requested for each student. 

C.4. - G. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2617 (December 2007), amended LR 34:239 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010). 
§1213. Responsibilities of LOSFA 

A. - B. … 
C. LOSFA shall maintain a database of all students who 

have received the GO Grant, included social security 
number, college code, term, date, hours attempted, award 
amount, annual amount received, and aggregate amount 
received. In the event LOSFA receives a payment request in 
an amount that would exceed the student’s eligibility, 
LOSFA will pay only that amount that will not exceed the 
student’s eligibility. 

D. Adequacy of Funding 
1. After the receipt of fall semester or term payment 

requests, but no later than October 15 of each year, LOSFA 
shall determine whether sufficient funds are available to pay 
all anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms and 
sessions of the academic year. 

2. In the event projections indicate sufficient funds are 
not available, LOSFA shall notify the Board of Regents. 

3. LOSFA will provide to the Board of Regents 
information that is necessary to determine appropriate 
funding amounts upon the request of the Board of Regents. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2617 (December 2007), amended LR 34:239 (February 
2008), LR 35:2350 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010). 
§1217. Responsibilities of the Board of Regents 

A. At least on an annual basis, the Board of Regents 
shall review the amount appropriated for this program, and 
based on that figure, determine the maximum amount to be 
received by students attending school on a full-time, half-
time, and less than half-time basis, and it shall provide 
notice to LOSFA of that amount.  

B. In the event of receipt of notice of a shortfall and 
additional funds are not allocated for payment of all 
anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms and 
sessions during the academic year, the Board of Regents 
shall develop, approve and deliver a plan to LOSFA to 
address the shortfall. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:2350 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 2010).  

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1012#039 
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RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs―2010 Legislation 
(LAC 28:IV.301, 701, 703, 705, 801, 803, 1901, and 1903) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended its Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 
17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and R.S. 17:3048.6). (SG10120R) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV. Student Financial Assistance―Higher Education 
Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Average Award Amount (TOPS-Tech)―is applicable to 

those students awarded the TOPS-Tech and TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance, and Honors Awards who attend a 
regionally accredited independent college or university in 
Louisiana that is a member of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities or who attend an 
eligible cosmetology or proprietary school and are enrolled 
in a vocational, technical education certificate or diploma 
program or non-academic undergraduate degree program, 
and is determined by dividing the total dollar value of 
awards, which are made to students enrolled in the same 
types of programs in the prior program year (non-academic 
program) at eligible public colleges and universities that do 
not offer academic degrees at the baccalaureate level, by the 
total number of students that received the awards. To ensure 
that the average award amount (TOPS Tech) is not reduced 
for students during program year (non-academic program) 
2006-2007 because of the adverse affects of Hurricanes 
Katrina and Rita on student enrollment, the average award 
amount (TOPS Tech) for program year (non-academic 
program) 2006-2007 shall be the same as calculated for 
program year (non-academic program) 2005-2006. 

Award Amount―an amount equal to tuition at the 
school attended, for those students attending a Louisiana 
public college or university, as determined by the 
commission, which may be used by the student to pay any 
educational expense included in that student's "cost of 
attendance." The amount paid for TOPS and TOPS-Tech 
Awards shall be as follows. 

* * * 
d. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance, and Honors Award attending a regionally 
accredited independent college or university in Louisiana 
that is a member of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities or who attend an 
eligible cosmetology or proprietary school and enrolled in a 
program for a vocational or technical education certificate or 
diploma or a non-academic undergraduate degree, the 
amount shall equal the average award amount (TOPS-Tech). 

* * * 
Eligible Colleges or Universities―Louisiana public 

colleges or universities and regionally accredited 
independent colleges or universities in the state that are 
members of the Louisiana Association of Independent 
Colleges and Universities; for recipients of the TOPS Tech 
Award only, beginning with the 2009-2010 Academic Year 
(college), and for recipients of the TOPS Tech, Opportunity, 
Performance and Honors Award, beginning with the 2010-
2011 academic year (college), any school that has a valid 
and current certificate of registration issued by the State 
Board of Cosmetology in accordance with law and that is 
accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the 
United States Department of Education and any proprietary 
school that has a valid and current license issued by the 
Board of Regents in accordance with law and that is 
accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the 
United States Department of Education. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458 and 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1840 (November 2001), LR 27:1875 
(November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 
2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 
2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 
30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 
(January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33:86 (January 
2007), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 33:1339 (July 2007), LR 
33:2612 (December 2007), LR 34:234 (February 2008), LR 
34:1388 (July 2008), LR 34:1884 (September 2008), LR 35:228 
(February 2009), LR 35:1489 (August 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 
2009), LR 36:311 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010). LR 
36:2854 (December 2010). 
Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 

(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 
Honors Awards 

§701. General Provisions 
A. - E.3.b. … 

4.a. Through the 2009-2010 Academic Year (college), 
in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided by LAC 
28:IV.701.E.1-3, students participating in the program 
provided by R.S. 29:36.1 for persons serving in the 
Louisiana National Guard shall receive the tuition exemption 
as provided therein, plus any applicable TOPS stipend and a 
sum of not more than $150 per semester or $300 annually 
for the actual cost of books and other instructional materials. 

b. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 
(College), in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided 
by LAC 28:IV.701.E.1-3, students with the TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance and Honors Award participating in 
the program provided by R.S. 29:36.1 for persons serving in 
the Louisiana National Guard shall receive the tuition 
exemption as provided therein, plus a sum of $300 per 
semester or $600 per academic year to be applied toward the 
cost of books and other instructional materials. In addition, 
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those students with the Performance Award shall receive 
$400 per semester or $800 per academic year for other 
educational expenses and those students with the Honors 
Award shall receive $800 per semester or $1,600 per 
academic year for other educational expenses. 

E.5 - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1645-1648 (December 
1997), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 
24:1901 (October 1998), LR 25: 256 (February 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1995 (September 
2000), LR 26:2000 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1848 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:2331 
(November 2002), LR 29:880 (June 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 
2003), LR 30:1161 (June 2004), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 
35:228 (February 2009), LR 36: 2854 (December 2010). 
§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.i(d) … 
* * * 

(e). beginning with the graduates of academic 
year (high school) 2007-2008 through 2012-13, at the time 
of high school graduation, an applicant must have 
successfully completed 17.5 units of high school course 
work that constitutes a core curriculum and is documented 
on the student's official transcript as approved by the 
Louisiana Department of Education as follows. 

 
Units Course 

1 English I 
1 English II 
1 English III 
1 English IV 
1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 
1 Algebra II 
1 Geometry, Calculus or comparable Advanced Mathematics 
1 Biology  
1 Chemistry  
1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 

Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit; 
provided however, that such Agriscience unit shall not be 
considered a science elective for the purpose of the math or 
science elective requirement below) 

1 An elective from among the following math subjects: 
Geometry, Calculus, Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, Applied Mathematics 
III, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with the 2008-2009 
academic year (high school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced Mathematics II 
[beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year (high school) 
this course is renamed Advanced Math – Functions and 
Statistics], Integrated Mathematics III or the following 
science subjects: Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics or 
Physics II 

1 American History 
1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 
1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  

Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 
1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses 

in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual 
art; or 1 elective from among the other subjects listed in this 
core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

Units Course 
1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 

Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half unit 
of an elective course related to computers that is approved 
by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) or substitute at least one-half unit of an elective 
from among the other subjects listed in this core 
curriculum). BESE has approved the following courses as 
computer related for purposes of satisfying the 1/2 unit 
computer science requirement for all schools (courses 
approved by BESE for individual schools are not included): 
Advanced Technical Drafting (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Business Computer Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Applications or Computer/Technology 
Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Design and Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Programming with PL/SQL (1/2 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Digital Media I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Media II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
Java Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Multimedia Productions or Multimedia Presentations (1/2 or 
1 credit) 
Technology Education Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
 
(f). beginning with the graduates of academic 

year (high school) 2013-14, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
19 units of high school course work that constitutes a core 
curriculum and is documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education as follows. 

 
Units Course 

1 English I 
1 English II 
1 English III 
1 English IV 
1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 
1 Algebra II 
2 Geometry, Calculus, Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 

and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, Applied Mathematics 
III, Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus, Advanced Math – 
Functions and Statistics, Integrated Mathematics III 

1 Biology  
1 Chemistry  
2 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 

Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 
2 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 
1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  

Civics (1 unit) 
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Units Course 
1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses 

in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual 
art; or 1 elective from among the other subjects listed in this 
core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 
 
A.5.a.ii.(a). - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2855 (December 2010). 
§705. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. - A.6.b. … 
c. in an academic graduate or professional program 

at an eligible college or university, by the end of each 
academic year (college), earn at least the total college credit 
hours required by the college or university for full time 
enrollment for each semester or quarter as determined by 
totaling the earned hours reported by the institution for each 
semester or quarter in the academic year (college). These 
hours shall not include hours earned during qualified 
summer sessions, summer sessions nor intersessions nor by 
advanced placement course credits. Unless granted an 
exception for cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required 
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the 
recipient's eligibility; or 

d. in an eligible cosmetology or proprietary school, 
meet the federal grant aid steady academic progress 
requirement at that school; and 

7. - 8.c. … 
d. the minimum grade necessary to maintain good 

standing, if enrolled in a graduate or professional program; 
or 

e. meet the federal grant aid steady academic 
progress requirement at that school, if enrolled in an eligible 
cosmetology or proprietary school; and 

A.9 - E.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), 
LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1996 (September 

2000), LR 26:2001 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1853 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003), LR 30:781 (April 2004), LR 30:1163 (June 
2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 31:3115 (December 
2005), LR 33:437 (March 2007) , LR 34:1390 (July 2008), LR 
36:491 (March 2010), LR 36:2856 (December 2010). 
Chapter 8. TOPS-Tech Award 
§801. General Provisions 

A. - D.2. … 
3. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 

(College), in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided 
by LAC 28:IV.701.E.1-3, students with the TOPS-Tech 
Award participating in the program provided by R.S. 29:36.1 
for persons serving in the Louisiana National Guard shall 
receive the tuition exemption as provided therein, plus a sum 
of $300 per semester or $600 per program year 
(nonacademic program)  to be applied toward the cost of 
books and other instructional materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1904 (October 1998), amended LR 26:1997 (September 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1854 (November 2001), LR 36:2856 
(December 2010). 
§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.d.iii. … 
6. if qualifying under the terms of §803.A.5.a, at the 

time of high school graduation: 
a. have successfully completed one of the following 

core curriculums: 
 i. high school course work constituting the TOPS 
core curriculum for the Opportunity, Performance and 
Honors Awards as defined in §703.A.5. and documented on 
the student's official transcript as approved by the Louisiana 
Department of Education; or 

a.ii. - c. … 
7. have achieved an ACT score, as defined in §301, of 

at least: 
a. if qualifying under §803.A.5.a, an ACT 

composite score of at least 17 or beginning with the 2010-
2011 program year (non academic program) in the 
alternative, have attained a silver level score on the 
assessments of the ACT WorkKeys system; or 

A.7.b.i. - B.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1904 (October 1998), amended LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:1795 (October 1999), LR 26:65 and 67 (January 
2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), 
LR 26:2269 (October 2000), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), LR 
27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1854 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:773 (April 2002), LR 28:2330 (November 2002), LR 29:554 
(April 2003), LR 30:1164 (June 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 
2004), LR 31:39 (January 2005), LR 31:3114 (December 2005), 
LR 33:437 (March 2007), LR 33:2614 (December 2007), LR 
35:230 (February 2009), LR 36:491 (March 2010), LR 36:2270 
(October 2010), LR 36:2856 (December 2010). 
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Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of Post-
Secondary Institutions 

§1901. Eligibility of Post-Secondary Institutions to 
Participate 

A. - E. … 
F. Eligible cosmetology and proprietary schools may 

participate in TOPS for all awards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 
17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1864 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 30:784 
(April 2004), LR 31:3111 and 3114 (December 2005), LR 35:235 
(February 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010). 
§1903. Responsibilities of Post-Secondary Institutions 

A. - B.5. … 
6. upon the school's certification that a recipient of a 

TOPS Opportunity, Performance or Honors Award is 
enrolled full-time, institutions shall bill for and LASFAC 
will reimburse the institution for each such recipient as 
follows: 

a. - h. … 
i. for students enrolled in eligible cosmetology and 

proprietary schools, institutions may bill for an amount of up 
to one quarter of the annual average award amount (TOPS-
Tech), as defined in §301; 

B.7. - D.5.b. … 
6. for TOPS Awards at cosmetology or proprietary 

schools: 
a. verify the student has continued to make steady 

academic progress; and 
b. verify the student is enrolled full time on the 

billing date. 
E. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, 17:3041.10-3041.15, 17:3041.21-
3041.26 and R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 17:3050.1–3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998 and 2002 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 
28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2333 
(November 2002), LR 30:784 (April 2004), LR 30:1166 (June 
2004), LR 31:40 (January 2005), LR 31:3111, 3114 (December 
2005), LR 33:1340 (July 2007), LR 35:1233 (July 2009), LR 
35:1490 (August 2009), LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1012#038 
 

 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Home Inspectors 

Training, Testing, and Licensure 
(LAC 46:XL.103, 105, 109, 115, 117, 119, 120, 121,  
125, 303, 309, 313, 315, 319, 321, 501, 707, and 709) 

The Board of Home Inspectors has amended LAC 
46:XL.103, 105, 109, 115, 117, 119, 120, 121, 125, 303, 
309, 313, 315, 319, 321, 501, 707, and 709 in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and the Louisiana Home Inspector 
Licensing Law, R.S. 37:1471 et seq. The text has been 
amended and adopted to correct typographical errors, to 
relocate definitions, to remove superfluous language, to 
reinstate prior fees, revise infield training requirements and 
to revise qualifications for trainers and education providers. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XL.  Home Inspectors 

Chapter 1. General Rules 
§103. Domicile; Meetings; Quorum; Service of 

Process; Publication 
A. The board shall be domiciled in Baton Rouge, but 

may meet in other locations as determined by the board. A 
majority of the board members shall constitute a quorum of 
the board for all purposes, including the issuance of licenses 
and the rulemaking and adjudicative functions of the board. 

B. The chief operating officer of the board shall be the 
agent for service of process. The board shall register the 
name and address of its agent for service of process as 
required by law. 

C. The board shall publish quarterly a bulletin, which 
shall be the official journal of the board. This bulletin shall 
contain notice of all applications filed, board agendas, 
minutes of open meetings, request for declaratory relief, and 
generally serve as the board's form notice to licensees and 
the public. All licensees shall receive the bulletin free of 
charge. Others may subscribe to the bulleting.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1474-1475. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2738 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 36:2857 (December 2010). 
§105. Officers; Election; Secretary-Treasurer; Chief 

Operating Officer; Board Staff; Duties 
A. - B.4. … 
C. The chairman shall preside at all meetings, approve 

the agenda and shall be the official custodian of all records. 
D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2738 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1686 (August 2004), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010). 
§109. Definitions 

* * * 
Component―repealed. 

* * * 
Home Inspection―repealed. 
Home Inspection Report―repealed. 

1. - 10. Repealed. 
Home Inspector―repealed. 
Inspection―repealed. 

* * * 
System―repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:1473 and R.S. 37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2739 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1686 (August 2004), LR 36:2858 
(December 2010). 
§115. Licensing Applications; Forms; Terms; 

Renewals; Inactive Status 
A. ... 
B. Upon renewal of a license, the licensee shall submit a 

copy of a completed inspection report form from the 
previous licensing period. All client information, including 
name and address, shall be deleted from the form. Reports 
must comply with §123. 

C. Licenses shall be renewed on an annual basis. 
Licenses shall expire one year after the last day of the month 
of issuance of the preceding year. Renewal requests shall be 
made on approved renewal application forms supplied by the 
board and must be received at least two weeks prior to the 
expiration date of the current license. Each applicant shall 
complete all Chapters of the renewal application. 

D. Any licensee who fails to timely renew his license 
may thereafter obtain renewal upon filing a renewal 
application and upon paying the appropriate renewal and 
delinquent fees. The period for delinquent renewal of an 
expired license shall be limited to the 12 month period 
immediately following the expiration date of the active 
license. Failure to renew an expired license during such 12 
month period shall require the former licensee to pass the 
board approved licensing examination, pay the appropriate 
renewal and delinquent fees, file a renewal application, and 
complete all continuing education requirements accruing 
during the period of delinquency. Failure to renew an 
expired license within the 36 month period immediately 
following the expiration date of the active license shall, in 
addition to the above requirements, require the licensee to 
retake and pass 90 hours of classroom education as set forth 
in the Board Rules and take the Standards of Practice and 
Code of Ethics report writing seminar offered by the board 
or other board approved education provider. Any home 
inspection performed during an expiration period is 
considered a violation and subject to disciplinary action by 
the board. 

E. A licensee may hold inactive status by maintaining 
license renewals and continuing education requirements, but 
all insurance requirements are waived provided no home 
inspections are performed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475-1477, and R.S. 37:1479. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2740 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1687 (August 2004), LR 36:2858 
(December 2010). 
§117. Fees; Submission of Report Fees; Timeliness of 

Filings 
A. Fees charged by LSBHI are as follows: 

1. application for license$200; 
2. license renewal$100; 
3. delinquent renewal (for home inspectors 

only)$100; 
4. initial qualifying/continuing education 

provider$200; 
5. annual renewal for education provider$200; 
6. filing for additional course offerings$50; 
7. inspection report$5. 

B. Each home inspection performed by an inspector 
under this law shall be subject to a $5 state inspection fee 
per home inspection. This fee is to be made payable to the 
LSBHI and is to be remitted monthly in the following 
manner. 

B.1. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475-1477, and R.S. 37:1479. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2740 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 34:1926 (September 2008), LR 36:2858 
(December 2010). 
§119. Education/Training and Testing; Initial 

Licensure 
A. Initial applicants for licensure must pass a LSBHI 

approved licensing examination, regarding home inspection 
information, techniques, standards of practice, and code of 
ethics. 

B. Any person filing an initial application for licensure 
shall present evidence to the board that he has satisfactorily 
completed at least 130 hours of required home inspection 
instruction and training by training providers and instructors 
approved by the board. 

C. Education and training shall be performed as follows. 
1. 90 hours of the required instruction and training 

shall consist of classroom hours of home inspection course 
work approved by the board with an certified education 
provider as set forth in §120. 

2. 30 hours of the required instruction and training 
shall consist of in-field platform training from a certified 
infield trainer approved by the board. 

3. 10 hours of the required instruction and training 
shall consist of attending 10 live home inspections from a 
certified infield trainer at a residential structure where a fee 
is paid and a report is provided to a client. 

4. In addition to completion of the 130 hours of home 
inspection instruction and in-field training, the applicant 
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shall also attend the report writing seminar conducted on 
behalf of the board or its approved representative and pass 
the board approved examination of the Standards of Practice 
and Code of Ethics. 

D.1. The 90 hours of classroom instruction as set forth in 
§119.C.1 above, may only include a combination of any of 
the following methods of instruction: 

a. live lectures by a certified home inspector 
instructor; 

b. DVD, CD ROM, videotape, or other electronic 
means of video lecture, with a certified home inspector 
available during classroom hours for questioning and 
discussion; 

c. in-classroom or remote demonstration of 
techniques; or 

d. periodic, in-classroom testing. 
2. No credit towards the 90 classroom hours shall be 

given for: 
a. in-classroom study; 
b. instruction received from an education provider 

not duly qualified by the board; 
c. time spent listening to audiotapes; or 
d. classroom time devoted to non-approved course 

materials. 
3. Before the trainee can be certified as having 

completed the required 90 hours of classroom instruction, 
the trainee must have: 

a. attended and completed the 90 hours of 
classroom instruction within 180 days of commencement; 

b. passed the final examination and all periodic 
examinations given by the educational provider; and 

c. mailed a completed LHI Application Form and 
Education Provider Application Form to the board. 

E. Before registering for the 90 hour classroom 
instruction with a certified educational provider, the trainee 
must first apply with the board. After enrolling with a 
certified educational provider, the trainee must provide the 
board with the name of the provider and the commencement 
date of instruction. 

F. Prior to admission to an infield training program, the 
trainee shall complete the required 90 hours of classroom 
training and pass the licensing exam described in §119.A. 

G. Infield training shall consist of platform training and 
live training.  

1. Platform training shall consist of attending 30 hours 
of hands-on training performed at a residential structure or 
using residential components or equipment with a certified 
infield trainer. All systems of a residential structure shall be 
examined and inspected during platform training. The 
applicant shall be given one credit hour for each hour of 
platform training attended. No more than four applicants 
may be trained at one time during platform training. 
Platform training shall not be conducted during a live home 
inspection where an inspection fee is paid and an inspection 
report is provided to a client.  

2. Live training shall consist of attending 10 live 
home inspections with a certified infield trainer at a resale 
residential structure where a fee is paid and a report is 
provided to the client. The applicant shall be given one 
credit hour for each live inspection attended. No more than 
two applicants may be trained at a time during a live home 
inspection. During each inspection, the trainee shall prepare 

a mock home inspection report in a format approved by the 
board that conforms to the requirements of the Standards of 
Practice for each home inspected during live training. The 
applicant shall retain these reports for three years from the 
date of completion of training. 

H. Upon registering trainees for a 90 hour course, all 
certified education providers shall: 

1. notify the board of the date of the commencement 
of each 90 hour course of instruction of each trainee; 

2. provide the names, addresses, and telephone 
numbers of all trainees enrolled for that course; 

3. keep records of attendance of each trainee enrolled 
in the 90 hour course to confirm satisfactory completion of 
the 90 required classroom hours of instruction; 

4. provide the trainee with an education provider 
evaluation form approved by the board prior to final testing 
and completion of the 90 required classroom hours of 
instruction; 

5. provide a final examination and multiple periodic 
examinations to the trainee covering course contents; and 

6. provide a copy of certificates of completion to the 
board of only those trainees who have successfully 
completed the full 90 hours of classroom instruction. 

I. Certified in-field trainers shall: 
1. instruct the trainee on how to complete and file the 

monthly state reporting form; 
2 provide the trainee with a copy of the Standards of 

Practice and Code of Ethics; 
3. issue to trainee a certificate showing completion of 

platform training and/or live training; and 
4. maintain for three years a list of all trainees and the 

dates of training. 
J. The board shall adopt and approve a licensing 

examination, which may be administered by a nationally 
accepted testing service as determined by the board. 

K. The board shall review examination material relative 
to the adoption and approval of licensing examinations. The 
board shall have complete authority to enter into 
confidentiality agreements, which prohibit the public 
dissemination of information pertaining to review of 
questions or materials, including any questions or materials 
certified as proprietary by the person or facility submitting 
them for evaluation. Any person or testing facility 
submitting evaluation materials for review, certification, or 
otherwise, conveys and assigns to the board a right of 
limited use and license solely for use in the certification 
process and any related inquiry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475, R.S. 37:1485-1487. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2741 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1687 (August 2004), LR 35:1519 
(August 2009), LR 36:2858 (December 2010). 
§120. Education Providers; Instructors 

A.1. In order to qualify as a certified 90 hour education 
provider, an applicant shall: 

a. pay the initial education provider fee; 
b. provide a syllabus and a course list to the board; 
c. agree, in writing, to defend, indemnify and hold 

the board harmless against any claim or suit alleging 
negligent or intentional acts or omissions of the education 
provider in its training, or otherwise; 
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d. remain current on all renewal and other fees; 
e. employ only certified home inspector instructors; 

and 
f. be approved by the board. 

2. In order to qualify as a certified home inspector 
instructor of a 90 hour education provider, a person must: 

a. have been actively engaged in the performance of 
home inspections for the three years prior to certification; 

b. have been an actively engaged, Louisiana 
licensed home inspector for the three years prior to 
certification; 

c. have performed at least 500 home inspections; or 
d. be licensed in the field of the subject matter of 

the particular course instructed. 
3. In order to qualify as an infield trainer, an applicant 

shall: 
a. be a LSBHI licensed home inspector for at least 

three years; 
b. pay the required infield trainer fee(s); 
c. be current on all other fees; 
d. be current on all continuing education hours; and  
e. be approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475, R.S. 37:1485-1487. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home inspectors, LR 30:1687 
(August 2004), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of 
Home Inspectors, LR 31:2011 (August 2005), LR 35:1520 (August 
2009), LR 36:2859 (December 2010). 
§121. Continuing Education; Instructors 

A. As a condition of license renewal, an inspector must 
certify completion of at least 20 hours of continuing 
education during the previous licensing period, in courses 
approved by the board. Board-approved training providers 
may be given credit for course preparation and other 
activities as sanctioned by the board in lieu of the continuing 
education requirements. The board shall fix the amount of 
course credit to be received upon application by an 
instructor. No more than 10 hours of continuing education 
credit may be carried over into the following year. 

B. Repetition of Courses 
1. The same continuing education course may be 

taken only once for continuing education credit during any 
two year period, unless otherwise approved by the board. 

2. For each license period the board may specify 
mandatory subject matter for one course, such course to be 
not less than two nor more than four credit hours. The 
remaining courses shall be elective courses covering subject 
matter to be chosen by the licensee and meeting all other 
criteria specified in this Chapter. 

3. Each course shall comprise of at least one credit 
hour. 

4. The board may approve only up to two hours of 
credit per licensing period for courses dealing with 
construction, but outside the scope of the Standards of 
Practice. 

5. Up to four hours of credit may be given per 
licensing period for attending a quarterly or special board 
meeting or for serving on a committee appointed by the 
board.  

6. The board may approve only up to four hours of 
continuing education course per licensing period from non-
approved instructors. 

C. In order to receive credit for completing a continuing 
education course, a licensee must attend at least 90 percent 
of the scheduled classroom hours for the course, regardless 
of the length of the course. 

D.1. The board shall deny continuing education credit 
claimed by a licensee, and shall withdraw continuing 
education credit previously awarded by the Board to a 
licensee if: 

a. the licensee provided incorrect or incomplete 
information to the board concerning continuing education or 
compliance with this Section;  

b. the licensee was mistakenly awarded continuing 
education credit because of an administrative error; or 

c. the licensee failed to comply with the attendance 
requirement established by Paragraph C of this Section. 

2. When continuing education credit is denied or 
withdrawn by the board under Subsection D of this Section, 
the licensee remains responsible for satisfying the continuing 
education requirement. Any license may be suspended until 
proof of compliance is submitted. 

E. It is the duty of every licensee to provide proof of 
compliance with continuing education requirements on a 
timely basis. In order to receive credit from the Board for 
completion of continuing education courses under this 
Section, proof of compliance must be submitted on forms 
approved by the board and prepared by board approved 
training providers. 

F.1. In order to qualify as a continuing education 
instructor, an applicant shall pay the required continuing 
education provider fee(s) and be approved by the board. 

2. A licensee who is also a board approved continuing 
education instructor may satisfy all or part of the continuing 
education requirements provided for in Subsection A of this 
Section by presenting satisfactory evidence to the board of 
participation, other than as a student, in educational 
processes and programs in home inspection practices or 
techniques, including but not limited to teaching, program 
development, and preparation of textbooks, monographs, 
articles, or other instructional material subject to approval of 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1477, and R.S. 37:1479-1480. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2742 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 36:2860 (December 2010). 
§125. Home Inspectors Record Keeping; Inspection; 

Production Retention 
A. - C. … 
D. To facilitate compliance with record keeping 

requirements of this Section, copies of all home inspection 
reports performed by a licensee shall be provided to the 
licensee upon any separation from employment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2742 
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(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 36:2860 (December 2010). 
Chapter 3. Standards of Practice 
§303. Definitions 

A. The definitions in §109 of this Part are incorporated 
into this Chapter by reference. The following definitions 
apply to this Chapter. 

Alarm Systemwarning devices, whether installed or 
free standing, including but not limited to, carbon monoxide 
detectors, flue gas and other spillage detectors, security 
equipment, ejector pumps and smoke alarms. 

Automatic Safety Controldevices designed and 
installed to protect systems and components from unsafe 
conditions. 

Cooling Systema central system that uses ducts to 
distribute cooled air to more than one room or uses pipes to 
distribute chilled water to heat exchangers in more than one 
room, and that is not plugged into an electrical convenience 
outlet. 

Clientthe person with whom a licensed home 
inspector contracts to perform a home inspection, whether 
individually or through that person’s agent. 

Componenta readily accessible and observable aspect 
of a system, such as a floor or wall, but not individual pieces 
such as Boards or nails or where many similar pieces make 
up a component. 

Cross Connectionany physical connection or 
arrangement between potable water and any source of 
contamination. 

Dangerous or Adverse Situationssituations that pose a 
threat of injury to the inspector, or those situations that 
require the use of special protective clothing or safety 
equipment. 

Deficienta condition of a system or component that 
adversely and materially affects its performance. 

Describeto report, in writing, a system or component 
by its type, or other observed characteristics, to distinguish it 
from other systems or components. 

Dismantleto take apart or remove any component, 
device or piece of equipment that is bolted, screwed, or 
fastened by other means, that would not be taken apart by a 
homeowner in the course of normal household maintenance. 

Enterto go into an area to observe all visible 
components. 

Functional Drainagea drain is functional when it 
empties in a reasonable amount of time and does not 
overflow when another fixture is drained simultaneously. 

Functional Flowa reasonable flow at the highest 
fixture in a dwelling when another fixture is operated 
simultaneously. 

Functioningperforming as expected and in 
accordance with its intended design and purpose. 

Further Evaluationexamination and analysis by a 
qualified professional or service technician whose services 
and qualifications exceed those provided by a home 
inspector. 

Heating Systema central system that uses ducts to 
distribute heated air to more than one room which is not 
plugged into an electrical convenience outlet. 

Home Inspectionthe process by which a Home 
Inspector visually examines the readily accessible systems 

and components of a home and describes those systems and 
components in accordance with the Standards of Practice. 

Home Inspection Reporta written evaluation of two or 
more of the following systems of a resale residential 
building: 

a. electrical system; 
b. exterior system; 
c. interior system; 
d. heating and cooling systems; 
e. plumbing system; 
f. roofing system; 
g. structural system; 
h. insulation and ventilation system; 
i. appliance system; or 
j. any other related residential housing system as 

defined in the standards of practice prescribed by the board. 
Home Inspectorany person who, in accordance with 

the provisions of these rules, holds himself out to the general 
public and engages in the business of performing home 
inspections on resale residential buildings for compensation 
and who examines any component of a building, through 
visual means and through normal user controls, without the 
use of mathematical sciences. 

Inaccessibleunable to open with the use of Standard 
Inspection Tools or hidden from visual inspection by 
furniture, stored items, wall or floor coverings or other 
obstructions. 

Inspectto examine readily accessible systems and 
components of a building in accordance with the Standards 
of Practice, using normal operating controls and opening 
readily openable access panels. 

Installedattached such that removal requires tools. 
LHIan acronym for Licensed Home Inspector. 
Method of Accessa means by which the inspector 

gains entry, ingress and/or a visual advantage. 
Normal Operating Controlsdevices such as 

thermostats, switches, or valves intended to be operated by 
the homeowner. 

Normal Operating Cyclethe standard period during 
which a system or component operates by the use of Normal 
Operating Controls 

Observethe act of making a visual examination. 
On-Site Water Supply Qualitywater quality based on 

the bacterial, chemical, mineral and solids contents of the 
water. 

On-Site Water Supply Quantitywater quantity based 
on the rate of flow of water. 

Operateto cause systems or equipment to function. 
Recreational Facilitiesspas, saunas steam baths, 

swimming pools, tennis courts, and exercise, entertainment, 
athletic, playground or other equipment and associated 
accessories. 

Readily Accessibleavailable for visual inspection 
without requiring the moving of personal property, the 
dismantling, disconnecting, unplugging or destroying of 
equipment, or any action which may involve a risk to 
persons or property.  

Readily Openable Access Panela panel provided for 
homeowner inspection and maintenance that is within 
normal reach, can be removed by one person, is not sealed in 
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place and is not blocked by stored items, furniture, or 
building components.  

Representative Numberfor multiple identical interior 
components such as windows and electrical outlets - one 
such component per room.  

Roof Drainage Componentsgutters, downspouts, 
leaders, splash blocks, scuppers, and similar components 
used to carry water off a roof and away from a building. 

Shut Downa state in which a system or component 
cannot be operated by normal user controls. 

Solid Fuel Heating Deviceany wood, coal, or other 
similar organic fuel burning device, including but not limited 
to fireplaces whether masonry or factory built, fireplace 
inserts and stoves, wood stoves central furnaces, and 
combinations of these devices. 

Specialized Toolsdiagnostic devices and other 
equipment, including but not limited to, thermal imaging 
devices, gas leak detection equipment, environmental testing 
equipment, elevation determination devices and ladders 
capable of reaching surfaces over one story above the 
ground. 

Standard Inspection Toolsa flashlight, outlet tester, 
ladder and appropriate screwdriver. 

Structural Componenta component that supports non-
variable forces or weights (dead loads) and variable forces or 
weights (live loads). 

Systema combination of interactive or interdependent 
components assembled to carry out one or more functions. 

Technically Exhaustivean inspection involving the 
extensive use of measurements, instruments, testing, 
calculations, or other means used to develop scientific or 
engineering findings, conclusions, and recommendations. 

Under Floor Crawl Spacethe area within the confines 
of the foundation between the ground and the underside of 
the lowest floor structural component. 

Unsafea condition of a readily accessible, installed 
system or component which, in the opinion of the inspector, 
is judged to be a significant risk of personal injury or 
property damage during normal use or under the 
circumstances. 

Wiring Methodsmanner or general type of electrical 
conductors or wires installed in the structure such as non-
metallic sheath cable, armored cable, knob and tube, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2745 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1689 (August 2004), LR 36:2861 
(December 2010). 
§309. General Exclusions 

A. Home inspectors are not required to inspect or report 
on: 

1. - 6. … 
7. the presence or absence of any suspected or actual 

adverse environmental condition or hazardous substance, 
including but not limited to asbestos, radon lead, mold, 
contaminated drywall, carcinogens, noise, or contaminants, 
whether in the building or in soil, water, or air; 

A.8. - B.14. … 
C. Home inspectors shall not: 

1. - 5. … 

6. solicit to perform repair services on any system or 
component of the home which the inspector noted as 
deficient, deficient or unsafe in his home inspection report 
for a period of one year from the date of the inspection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475 and R.S. 37:1478. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2746 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1690 (August 2004), LR 36:2862 
(December 2010). 
§313. Exterior System 

A. The home inspector shall inspect: 
1. wall cladding, flashings and trim; 
2. all doors, garage doors and windows; 
3. storm doors and windows; 
4. decks, balconies, stoops, steps, porches, and 

applicable railings; 
5. eaves, soffits, and fascias where visible from the 

ground level; and 
6. vegetation, grading, drainage, driveways, patios, 

walkways, and retaining walls with respect to their effect on 
the condition of the building. 

B. The home inspector shall: 
1. describe wall cladding materials; 
2. operate all entryway doors; 
3. operate garage doors and test the electronic safety 

beam reverse feature by interrupting the electronic beam (if 
present); and  

4. report whether or not the garage door operator is 
equipped with a pressure sensitive safety reverse feature and 
whether that feature was tested.  

C. The home inspector is not required to inspect: 
1. shutters, awnings, and similar seasonal accessories; 
2. fences; 
3. presence of safety glazing in doors and windows; 
4. garage door operator remote control transmitters; 
5. geological conditions; 
6. soil conditions; 
7. recreational facilities; 
8. detached buildings or structures other than garages 

and carports; 
9. presence or condition of buried fuel storage tanks; 
10. sea walls, break walls or docks;  
11. erosion control and earth stabilization measures; or 
12. garage door operator pressure sensitive reverse 

failure devices. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2747 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1691 (August 2004), LR 36:2862 
(December 2010). 
§315. Roofing System 

A. - A.5. …. 
B. The home inspector shall: 

1. describe the type of roof covering materials; and 
2. report the methods used to inspect the roofing 

system and any limitations. 
C. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home inspectors, LR 26:2747 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1691 (August 2004), LR 36:2862 
(December 2010). 
§319. Electrical System 

A. The home inspector shall inspect: 
1. - 5. … 
6. and test ground fault circuit interrupters and arc 

fault circuit interrupters, unless, in the opinion of the 
inspector, such testing is likely to cause damage to any 
installed items or components of the home or interrupt 
service to an electrical device or equipment located in or 
around the home. 

B. - D. … 
E. The home inspector is not required to: 

1. insert any tool, probe, or testing device inside the 
panels; 

2. test or operate any overcurrent device except 
ground fault circuit interrupters and arc fault circuit 
interrupters in accordance with §319.A.6; 

3. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home inspectors, LR 26:2748 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1691 (August 2004), LR 36:2863 
(December 2010). 
§321. Heating and Cooling System 

A. The home inspector shall inspect permanently 
installed heating and cooling systems including: 

A.1. - E.4.h. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home inspectors, LR 26:2748 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1692 (August 2004), LR 36:2863 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 5. Code of Ethics 
§501. Code of Ethics 

A. … 
B. Ethical Obligations 

1. - 6. … 
7. The LHI shall not solicit to repair, replace or 

upgrade for compensation, any system or component of the 
home which the inspector noted as deficient or unsafe in his 
home inspection report, for a period of one year from the 
date of the inspection.  

8. - 15. …. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2749 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1693 (August 2004), LR 36:2863 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 7. Disciplinary Actions 
§707. Investigations; Special Investigating Entity; 

Board Review 
A. Upon receipt of a complaint filed pursuant to §703.A 

and conforming to this Chapter, the board shall assign a 
docket number to the complaint and refer it to a special 
investigating entity. 

B. - E. … 
F. If the report states that the allegations lack sufficient 

evidence to support the allegations, the chief operating 
officer shall: 

1. - 3. … 
G. If the complainant makes a written request for review 

by the board, the board shall review the report and the 
complainant's documentation. If the board finds that the 
allegations are unsupported by the evidence, the chief 
operating officer shall advise the complainant in writing that 
the board has concurred with the special investigating 
entity's conclusion that the complaint lacks sufficient 
evidence to support the allegations in the complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475 and R.S. 37:1485. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2750 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1694 (August 2004), LR 36:2863 
(December 2010). 
§709. Disciplinary Hearing; Procedure 

A. - C. … 
D. No board member, committee member or employee 

serving as part of the special investigating entity shall 
participate in the consideration or decision of the matter or 
confection of the board's decision, order or opinion. 
However, any member of the special investigating entity 
may prosecute the case against the licensee or respondent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1475 and R.S. 37:1485. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2751 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1695 (August 2004), LR 36:2863 
(December 2010). 

 
Albert J. Nicaud 
Board Attorney 

1012#033 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Owners―Partnership, Limited Liability Company 
(LAC 46:XLI.1107, 1109, 1115, and 1119) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission has amended the 
following Sections to clarify an existing Rule(s) which 
currently address corporations and partnerships. This Rule 
will permit the licensing of limited liability companies as 
owners. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLI.  Horseracing Occupations 

Chapter 11. Owners 
§1107. Registration of Partnership and Limited 

Liability Company 
A. … 
B. Each limited liability company must be registered 

with the commission, and its application must be signed by 
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the member(s) or managing member(s) where designated. 
Every member having an interest of 5 percent or greater in 
the limited liability company shall be required to obtain an 
owner's license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), amended LR 3:25 
(January 1977), LR 4:274 (August 1978), LR 36:2863 (December 
2010). 
§1109. Partnership and Limited Liability Company 

Papers 
A. - A.6. … 
B. Limited Liability Company shall, among other things, 

provide for the following: 
1. the name and address of each and every member of 

the limited liability company; 
2. the relative proportions of such interests;  
3. whether management is reserved to the members or 

a manager; 
4. with whom the power of entry and declaration 

rests;  
5. the terms of any contingency, lease or any other 

arrangement.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:148. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 

1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), amended LR 3:25 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 36:2864 (December 
2010.: 
§1115. Alteration of Partnership or Limited Liability 

Company Registration 
A. … 
B. Any alteration in a limited liability registration, to be 

effective, must be reported in writing to the racing secretary, 
signed by member(s) and/or managing member(s) 
possessing authority to bind the limited liability company, 
and approved by the stewards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), amended LR 3:25 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 36:2864 (December 
2010). 
§1119. Percentage Interest 

A. … 
B. Each member’s percentage of interest in a limited 

liability company shall be declared in the application for 
license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), amended LR 3:25 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 9:546 (August 1983), 
LR 36:2864 (December 2010). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner, III 
Executive Director 

1012#003 
 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Stables―Registration, Corporations, Reports 
(LAC 46:XLI.2103-2109) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission has amended the 
following Rule to clarify an existing Rule(s) which currently 
address corporations and partnerships. This Rule will permit 
the licensing of limited liability companies as owners.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLI.  Horseracing Occupations 

Chapter 21. Stables 
§2103. Stable Registration 

A. Each stable name must be duly registered with the 
commission. In applying to race under a stable name, the 
applicant must disclose the identity or identities behind the 
stable names. If a partnership, limited liability company, or 
corporation is involved the rules covering such must be 
complied with. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), amended LR 3:26 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 36:2864 (December 
2010). 
§2105. Corporation 

A. Any corporation or a lessee or lessees of a corporation 
shall be considered qualified to obtain a license as an owner 
or to obtain the right to race under a stable name if each 
member of the board of directors of the corporation owns at 
least five percent of the outstanding voting stock of the 
corporation and if each of the members of the board is also 
licensed as an owner and providing that the corporation and 
the lessee or lessees of the corporation are otherwise 
qualified for license. No other owner or officer of, or other 
person with an interest in such corporation shall be required 
to be licensed as an owner in order to race under a stable 
name. However, the name of such owner or other person 
with an interest in the corporation, together with his 
percentage ownership in such corporation or as an owner, 
shall be submitted to the commission before issuance of a 
license or right to race is granted by the commission to the 
corporation or its lessee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:430 (December 1976), amended LR 3:26 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 9:546 (August 1983), 
LR 36:2864 (December 2010). 
§2107. Reports 

A. The stockholders or members of any corporation, 
limited liability company, or partnership, which owns or 
leases horses for racing purposes in the state of Louisiana 
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and also any such corporation, limited liability company, or 
partnership, shall make and file with the commission as and 
when requested by it, a report or reports under oath 
containing such information as the commission may specify. 
Upon refusal or failure to file any such report or reports, the 
commission may refuse a license or may revoke any such 
license which it may have granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:430 (December 1976), amended LR 3:26 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 9:546 (August 1983), 
LR 36:2864 (December 2010). 
§2109. Licensed Trainer Registering Stable 

A. No licensed trainer of race horses shall register a 
stable name, except that a trainer may register the stable 
name of a limited liability company or partnership of which 
a trainer is a member or partner, provided that the use of 
such stable name has been authorized by the stewards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:430 (December 1976), amended LR 3:26 
(January 1977), LR 4:275 (August 1978), LR 36:2865 (December 
2010). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner, III 
Executive Director 

1012#004 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Sheriffs' Pension and Relief Fund 

Eligible Rollover Distribution (LAC 58:XV.103) 

The Louisiana Sheriffs’ Pension and Relief Fund (the 
"fund"), in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, has adopted a Rule requiring 
the fund to provide the recipient of an eligible rollover 
distribution from the fund with notice of that distribution 
within a reasonable period of time before the distribution is 
made. The Rule details specific information which must be 
contained in the notice, and references the appropriate 
sections of the Internal Revenue Code. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part XV.  Sheriffs' Pension and Relief Fund 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Eligible Rollover Distribution 

A. Within a reasonable period of time before making an 
eligible rollover distribution, the executive director or the 
assistant executive director of the fund shall provide a 
written explanation to the recipient of such a distribution 
explaining the following: 

1.  the provisions under which the recipient may have 
the distribution directly transferred to an eligible retirement 
plan and that the automatic distribution by direct transfer 
applies to certain distributions in accordance with 
§401(a)(31)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code; 

2. the provision which requires the withholding of tax 
on the distribution if it is not directly transferred to an 
eligible retirement plan; 

3. the provisions under which the distribution will not 
be subject to tax if transferred to an eligible retirement plan 
within 60 days after the date on which the recipient receives 
the distribution; 

4. the provisions under which distributions from the 
eligible retirement plan receiving the distribution may be 
subject to restrictions and tax consequences which are 
different from those applicable to distributions from the plan 
making such distribution. 

B. For the purposes of this rule, a "reasonable period of 
time" shall have the meaning assigned to it under 
§401(a)(31) of the Internal Revenue Code and the 
regulations thereunder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:2177. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Sheriffs' Pension and Relief Fund, LR 36:2865 
(December 2010). 

 
Osey McGee, Jr. 
Executive Director 

1012#001 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Electronic Health RecordsIncentive Payments 
(LAC 50:I.Chapter 125) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:I.Chapter 
125 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 13.  Electronic Health Records 

Chapter 125. Incentive Payments 
§12501. General Provisions 

A. In accordance with the provisions of the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the department 
establishes a Medicaid electronic health record (EHR) 
incentive payment program to provide payments to eligible 
professional practitioners and hospitals that adopt, 
implement or upgrade certified Electronic Health Record 
(EHR) technology. 

B. The following providers may qualify to receive 
Medicaid incentive payments:  

1. physicians; 
2. nurse practitioners; 
3. certified nurse-midwives; 
4. dentists;  
5. physician assistants who direct a federally qualified 

health center (FQHC) or rural health clinic (RHC); 
6. acute care hospitals, including cancer and critical 

access hospitals; and 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2866 

7. children’s specialty hospitals. 
C. Eligible providers shall meet the appropriate 

meaningful use requirements for certified EHR systems as 
established by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS). 

D. Payments shall be distributed through a web-based 
Medicaid EHR incentive payment system and at the 
frequency specified by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2865 (December 2010). 
§12503. Qualifying Criteria for Professional 

Practitioners 
A. Professional practitioners shall qualify for Medicaid 

incentive payments when: 
1. services are rendered to the required number of 

patients based on the Medicaid patient volume threshold; 
and 

2. the meaningful use requirements are met for EHR 
systems, based on the participation year of the program. 

B. Professional practitioners shall be required to meet 
the minimum Medicaid patient volume threshold of 30 
percent. This threshold shall be calculated as a ratio where 
the numerator is the total number of Medicaid patient 
encounters with needy individuals treated in any 90-day 
period in the previous calendar year and the denominator is 
all patient encounters over the same period of time. 

1. Needy individuals shall include: 
a. Medicaid recipients; 
b. Children’s Health Insurance Program recipients; 
c. patients furnished uncompensated care by the 

provider; and 
d. patients furnished services at no cost or on a 

sliding scale. 
C. During the first year of program participation, the 

meaningful use requirements for an eligible provider are to 
adopt, implement, and upgrade a certified EHR system. In 
subsequent years’ participation, providers must meet the 
meaningful use requirements defined by CMS at the stage 
that is in place at that time. 

D. Incentive payments to eligible practitioners shall 
begin in state fiscal year (SFY) 2011 and will end in SFY 
2021. The latest state fiscal year a Medicaid provider can 
begin the program is SFY 2016.  

E. Eligible practitioners may receive incentive payments 
from the Medicaid Program or from the Medicare Program. 
Payments cannot be received from both entities 
simultaneously. After the initial program selection, eligible 
practitioners shall be allowed to change their selection only 
once during SFY 2012 through SFY 2014.  

F. Payments are based on calendar year and may total up 
to $63,750 over six years of participation. To receive the 
maximum total payment amount, the provider would have to 
initiate the program by SFY 2016. 

1. Pediatricians with more than 20 percent, but less 
than 30 percent Medicaid patient volume, will receive two-
thirds of the maximum amount.  

G. Medicaid EHR incentive payments shall not be 
available to a hospital-based provider who furnishes 90 
percent or more of his/her services in a hospital setting. This 

includes services furnished on an inpatient or outpatient 
basis and in an emergency room setting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2866 (December 2010). 
§12505. Qualifying Criteria for Hospitals 

A. Hospitals shall qualify for Medicaid incentive 
payments when: 

1. services are rendered to the required number of 
patients based on the Medicaid patient volume threshold; 
and 

2. the meaningful use requirements are met for EHR 
systems, based on the participation year of the program. 

B. Acute care hospitals shall be required to meet the 
minimum Medicaid patient volume threshold of 10 percent. 
There is no Medicaid patient volume threshold for children’s 
hospitals. 

C. Hospitals that meet Medicare’s meaningful use 
requirements for certified EHR systems shall satisfy the 
meaningful use requirements for Medicaid incentive 
payments. 

D. Incentive payments for eligible hospitals shall begin 
in SFY 2011. Hospitals participating in the Medicaid 
incentive program cannot initiate payments after SFY 2016 
and payment years must be consecutive after SFY 2016.  

E. Eligible hospitals may receive incentive payments 
from Medicare and Medicaid simultaneously.  

F. Payments are based on Federal fiscal year and are 
calculated as follows. 

1. The overall EHR amount is multiplied times the 
Medicaid share. 

a. The overall EHR amount is the sum over four 
years of the base amount plus the discharge related amount 
applicable for each year multiplied times the transition factor 
applicable for each year. 

b. The Medicaid share is the Medicaid inpatient bed 
days plus the Medicaid managed care inpatient bed days 
divided by the total inpatient bed days multiplied times the 
estimated total charges minus uncompensated (charity) care 
charges divided by the estimated total charges. 

2. The resulting amount is the eligible hospital 
payment amount. 

G. Payments to eligible hospitals are disbursed over a 3-
6 year period. No annual payment may exceed 50 percent of 
the total calculation and no two-year payment may exceed 
90 percent of the total calculation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2866 (December 2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#090 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityMedicare Savings Programs 
(LAC 50:III.2325, 10703, and 10705) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:III.2325 and 
§10703 and to amend §10705 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Medicaid 
Programs 

§2325. Medicare Savings Programs 
A. Medical assistance furnished to Qualified Medicare 

Beneficiaries (QMB), Specified Low Income Beneficiaries 
(SLMB) and Qualified Individuals (QI) is commonly 
referred to as the Medicare Savings Programs (MSP). 
Medicaid coverage under these programs is limited to 
payment of Medicare premiums, and may pay deductibles 
and co-insurance. 

1. Effective January 1, 2010, with the consent of an 
individual completing an application for Low Income 
Subsidy (LIS) benefits, the Social Security Administration 
will transmit LIS data to Medicaid. 

2. Medicaid shall use the data to initiate an application 
for the individual for benefits under the Medicare Savings 
Program. 

3. The date that the LIS application is filed with the 
Social Security Administration will be used as the date of 
application for MSP and for determining the effective date of 
MSP eligibility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2867 (December 2010). 

Subpart 5.  Financial Eligibility 
Chapter 107. Resources 
§10703. General Provisions 

A. Medicaid utilizes the income and asset methodologies 
of the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Program to 
determine Medicaid eligibility for aged, blind and disabled 
individuals. 

B. Under section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act, 
states are allowed to use less restrictive income and asset 
methodologies in determining eligibility for most Medicaid 
eligibility groups than are used by the cash assistance 
program. 

C. Medicare Savings Programs 
1. The following individual’s resources shall be 

considered in determining eligibility for the Medicare 
Savings Programs: 

a. the applicant/recipient; and 

b. the spouse living in the home with the 
applicant/recipient.  

2. Resource Assessment. The assets test for full Low 
Income Subsidy (LIS) eligibility is set at three times the SSI 
asset standard, indexed annually by the increase in the 
consumer price index. 

a. Effective January 1, 2010, the asset limit for all 
Medicare Savings Programs will be the same as the asset 
limit for Medicare’s Part D full benefit LIS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2867 (December 2010). 
§10705. Resource Disregards 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective January 1, 2010, the following assets shall 

be disregarded in eligibility determinations for all Medicare 
Savings Programs: 

1. all life insurance, regardless of cash surrender 
value; and 

2. all vehicles, regardless of value. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), 
amended LR:36:2867 (December 2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greensten 
Secretary 

1012#091 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:V.5315, 5515, 5717, 5915 and 6117) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:V.5315, 
§5515, §5717, §5915 and §6117 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5315. Non-Rural, Non-State Public Hospitals 

A. Hurricane Katrina Impacted Hospitals. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, a quarterly 
supplemental payment will be issued to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals for outpatient surgical services 
rendered from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2010. 
Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals in 
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this group, including inpatient supplemental payments, will 
not exceed $170,000,000. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state public 
hospital must be located in DHH Administrative Region 1 
(New Orleans) and identified in the July 17, 2008 United 
States Government Accountability Office report as a hospital 
that has demonstrated substantial financial and operational 
challenges in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. 

2. Each eligible hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments which in total do not exceed a 
specified individualized hospital limit. Payments will be 
distributed based on Medicaid paid claims data from state 
fiscal year 2008 service dates. Payments will end on 
December 31, 2010 or when the hospital specific cap is 
reached, whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2867 (December 2010). 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5515. Non-Rural, Non-State Public Hospitals 

A. Hurricane Katrina Impacted Hospitals. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, a quarterly 
supplemental payment will be issued to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals for clinic services rendered from 
July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2010. Maximum 
aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals in this group, 
including inpatient supplemental payments, will not exceed 
$170,000,000. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state public 
hospital must be located in DHH Administrative Region 1 
(New Orleans) and identified in the July 17, 2008 United 
States Government Accountability Office report as a hospital 
that has demonstrated substantial financial and operational 
challenges in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. 

2. Each eligible hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments which in total do not exceed a 
specified individualized hospital limit. Payments will be 
distributed based on Medicaid paid claims data from state 
fiscal year 2008 service dates. Payments will end on 
December 31, 2010 or when the hospital specific cap is 
reached, whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2868 (December 2010). 
Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5717. Non-Rural, Non-State Public Hospitals 

A. Hurricane Katrina Impacted Hospitals. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, a quarterly 
supplemental payment will be issued to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals for laboratory services rendered 
from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2010. Maximum 
aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals in this group, 
including inpatient supplemental payments, will not exceed 
$170,000,000. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state public 
hospital must be located in DHH Administrative Region 1 
(New Orleans) and identified in the July 17, 2008 United 
States Government Accountability Office report as a hospital 
that has demonstrated substantial financial and operational 
challenges in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. 

2. Each eligible hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments which in total do not exceed a 
specified individualized hospital limit. Payments will be 
distributed based on Medicaid paid claims data from state 
fiscal year 2008 service dates. Payments will end on 
December 31, 2010 or when the hospital specific cap is 
reached, whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2868 (December 2010). 
Chapter 59. Rehabilitation Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5915. Non-Rural, Non-State Public Hospitals 

A. Hurricane Katrina Impacted Hospitals. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, a quarterly 
supplemental payment will be issued to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals for rehabilitation services rendered 
from July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2010. Maximum 
aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals in this group, 
including inpatient supplemental payments, will not exceed 
$170,000,000. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state public 
hospital must be located in DHH Administrative Region 1 
(New Orleans) and identified in the July 17, 2008 United 
States Government Accountability Office report as a hospital 
that has demonstrated substantial financial and operational 
challenges in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. 

2. Each eligible hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments which in total do not exceed a 
specified individualized hospital limit. Payments will be 
distributed based on Medicaid paid claims data from state 
fiscal year 2008 service dates. Payments will end on 
December 31, 2010 or when the hospital specific cap is 
reached, whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2868 (December 2010). 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6117. Non-Rural, Non-State Public Hospitals 

A. Hurricane Katrina Impacted Hospitals. Effective for 
dates of service on or after July 1, 2009, a quarterly 
supplemental payment will be issued to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals for outpatient hospital services 
other than clinical diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient 
surgeries and rehabilitation services rendered from July 1, 
2009 through December 31, 2010. Maximum aggregate 
payments to all qualifying hospitals in this group, including 
inpatient supplemental payments, will not exceed 
$170,000,000. 
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1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state public 
hospital must be located in DHH Administrative Region 1 
(New Orleans) and identified in the July 17, 2008 United 
States Government Accountability Office report as a hospital 
that has demonstrated substantial financial and operational 
challenges in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. 

2. Each eligible hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments which in total do not exceed a 
specified individualized hospital limit. Payments will be 
distributed based on Medicaid paid claims data from state 
fiscal year 2008 service dates. Payments will end on 
December 31, 2010 or when the hospital specific cap is 
reached, whichever occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2868 (December 2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1012#092 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 99Certificates of Insurance 
(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 139) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 
22:1 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., R.S. 
22:11 and R.S. 22:881.1, the Louisiana Department of 
Insurance has promulgated Regulation 99. Adoption of the 
regulation is authorized by Acts 2010, No. 1017 of the 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. The purpose 
of Regulation 99 is to implement the provisions of Acts 
2010, No. 1017, concerning the issuance, effect, and 
approval of certificates of insurance. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 139. Regulation 99—Certificates of Insurance 
§13901. Authority 

A. Regulation 99 is adopted in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 49:953 et seq., of the Administrative 
Procedure Act and the authority vested in the commissioner 
granted under the Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, R.S. 
22:11 and R.S. 22:881.1.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2869 (December 
2010) 
§13903. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 99 is to implement the 
provisions of Acts 2010, No. 1017 of the Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature, concerning the issuance, effect, 
and approval of certificates of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2869 (December 
2010). 
§13905. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 99 applies to certificates of insurance 
issued in reference to property, operations and risks in 
Louisiana insured by property and casualty insurance 
policies. 

B. Regulation 99 applies to all certificate holders, 
policyholders, insurers, insurance producers, and certificate 
of insurance forms issued as a statement or evidence of any 
type of property and casualty insurance coverage on 
property, operations, or risks located in Louisiana, regardless 
of where the certificate holder, policyholder, insurer, or 
insurance producer is located.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2869 (December 
2010). 
§13907. Exemptions 

A. Regulation 99 shall not apply to: 
1. ocean marine and foreign trade insurances; 
2. self insurance for workers’ compensation, including 

any group self insurance fund pursuant R.S. 23:1195; 
3. interlocal risk management agency pursuant R.S. 

33:1341; 
4. automobile identification cards issued pursuant to 

R.S. 32:863.1(A)(1)(a); 
5. travel insurance; 
6. credit card insurance; or 
7. forced placed insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2869 (December 
2010). 
§13909. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 99 and in accordance 
with R.S. 22:881.1 the following terms shall have the 
meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

Certificate or Certificate of Insurance—any document, 
instrument, or record, including an electronic record, no 
matter how titled or described, which is prepared by an 
insurer or insurance producer and issued to a third person 
not a party to the subject insurance contract, as evidence of 
property and casualty insurance coverage. Certificate or 
certificate of insurance shall not mean an insurance binder. 

Certificate Holder—any person, other than a 
policyholder, that is designated on a certificate of insurance 
as a certificate holder or any person, other than a 
policyholder, to whom a certificate of insurance has been 
issued by an insurer or insurance producer at the request of 
the policyholder. 

Commissioner—Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance. 
Electronic Record—shall have the meaning defined in 

R.S. 9:2602(7). 
Insurance—shall have the meaning defined in R.S. 

22:46(9). 
Insurance Producer—shall have the same definition as 

set forth in R.S. 22:1542. 
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Insurer—an insurer as defined in R.S. 22:46(10) and 
any other person engaged in the business of making property 
and casualty insurance contracts, including but not limited to 
self-insurers, syndicates, risk purchasing groups, and similar 
risk transfer entities. Insurer shall not mean any person self-
insured for purposes of workers' compensation, including 
any group self-insurance fund authorized pursuant to R.S. 
23:1195 et seq., any interlocal risk management agency 
authorized pursuant to R.S. 33:1341 et seq., or any self-
insured employer authorized pursuant to R.S. 23:1168 et seq. 

LDI—Louisiana Department of Insurance. 
Person—any individual, company, insurer, organization, 

reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, business, partnership, 
corporation, limited liability company, association, trust, or 
other legal entity, including any government or 
governmental subdivision or agency. 

Policyholder—a person who has contracted with a 
property or casualty insurer for insurance coverage. 

Record—shall have the meaning defined in R.S. 
9:2602(13). 

Self-Insurer—any individual business or group of 
businesses which have created a risk purchasing group, risk 
retention plan, syndicate, or other form of self-insurance 
covering property or casualty risk exposures. Self-insurer 
shall not mean any person self-insured for purposes of 
workers' compensation, including any group self-insurance 
fund authorized pursuant to R.S. 23:1195 et seq., any 
interlocal risk management agency authorized pursuant to 
R.S. 33:1341 et seq., or any self-insured employer 
authorized pursuant to R.S. 23:1168 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2869 (December 
2010). 
§13911. Effect and Use of Certificates of Insurance 

A. A certificate of insurance form that has been approved 
by the commissioner and properly executed and issued by a 
property and casualty insurer or an insurance producer, shall 
constitute a confirmation that the referenced insurance 
policy has been issued or that coverage has been bound 
notwithstanding the inclusion of "for information purposes 
only" or similar language on the face of the certificate. 

B. The commissioner may approve a certificate of 
insurance form that does not state that the form is provided 
for information only or similar language, provided that the 
form states that the certificate of insurance does not confer 
any rights or obligations other than those conveyed by the 
policy and that the terms of the policy control 

C. A certificate of insurance is not a policy of insurance 
and does not affirmatively or negatively amend, extend, or 
alter the coverage afforded by the policy to which the 
certificate of insurance makes reference. 

D. A certificate of insurance shall not confer to a 
certificate holder new or additional rights beyond what the 
referenced policy or any validly executed endorsements of 
insurance provides.  

E. An insurer or insurance producer may prepare or issue 
an addendum that clarifies, explains, summarizes, or 
provides a statement of the coverages provided by a policy 
of insurance and otherwise complies with the requirements 
of this Regulation 99. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2870 (December 
2010). 
§13913. Filing Requirements 

A. No person, wherever located, may prepare, issue, or 
request the issuance of a certificate of insurance for risks 
located in this state unless the form has been filed with and 
approved by the commissioner. 

B. No person, wherever located, may alter or modify an 
approved certificate of insurance form unless the alteration 
or modification has been approved by the commissioner. 

C. The commissioner shall approve or disapprove a 
certificate of insurance form within 45 days of receipt of the 
form. 

D. Each certificate of insurance form shall be filed 
separate and apart from other forms. 

E. A person submitting a certificate of insurance form 
for approval shall include: 

1. a cover letter which includes the person’s full name 
and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 
number or producer license number; 

2. any person submitting a paper filing shall include 
two copies of all required documents, including a stamped, 
self-addressed envelope(s) of sufficient size for use in 
returning the company’s forms filed. 

F. Certificate of insurance form filings shall not require: 
1. a statement of compliance; 
2. a filing fee. 

G. Except for the statutorily approved forms in R.S. 
881.1(F)(2) and §13917.A, once a certificate of insurance 
has been properly submitted and approved, the LDI shall 
assign a certificate of insurance number for the approved 
form. The LDI shall provide written notice to the person that 
the certificate of insurance has been approved. Within 30 
days of receipt of the written notice, the person shall 
incorporate the assigned LDI number and approval date on 
the certificate of insurance and resubmit the form for 
placement on the LDI certificate of insurance website. 

H. The LDI number and approval date shall be placed on 
the certificate of insurance in the following format: 

 
LA.           Cert.          Assigned         
Dept.          of                 LDI               Date 
of Ins.        Ins.                No.           (mm/year)    
 LDI         COI            123456             08 10 

 
I. The commissioner will not approve any certificate of 

insurance that contains any references to legal or insurance 
requirements contained in any contracts other than the 
underlying contracts of insurance, including construction or 
service contracts. 

J. The commissioner will disapprove any certificate of 
insurance form, or withdraw approval of a certificate of 
insurance form if it: 

1. is unfair, misleading, or deceptive, or violates 
public policy; 

2. violates any state statute or regulation validly 
promulgated by the commissioner; 

3. requires certification of insurance coverages that 
are not available. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2870 (December 
2010). 
§13915. Certificates of Insurance Approved Prior to 

Promulgation of Regulation 99 
A. Any person that received approval for a certificate of 

insurance prior to January 1, 2011, and did not receive an 
LDI certificate of insurance number shall provide written 
notice of the prior approval to the LDI. The notice of the 
prior approval shall include: 

1. the person(s) name; 
2. LDI’s filing number; and 
3. a copy of the approved certificate of insurance. 

B. Pursuant to the written notice required in §13915.A, 
the LDI shall review the previously approved form to 
determine if it is compliant with R.S. 22:881.1 and 
Regulation 99. If deemed compliant, the LDI shall notify the 
person that the form is approved and provide the person the 
assigned LDI certificate of insurance number. 

C. The person shall incorporate the LDI certificate of 
insurance number on the approved form using the format 
provided in §13913.H and shall resubmit the approved form 
to the LDI prior to use. 

D. §13915.B and C do not apply to the statutorily 
approved forms in R.S. 881.1(F)(2) and §13917.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 
§13917. Use of ACORD, AAIS and ISO Forms 

A. Standard certificate of insurance forms promulgated 
by the Association for Cooperative Operations Research and 
Development (ACORD), the American Association of 
Insurance Services (AAIS), or the Insurance Services Office 
(ISO) shall be filed by those organizations, but are deemed 
approved by the commissioner unless the commissioner 
determines that these forms do not comply with the 
provisions of Regulation 99 and R.S. 22:881.1. 

B. Once filed, these forms may be issued by any person 
authorized by such organizations to use their formsas 
evidence of property and casualty insurance coverage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 
§13919. Notice of Cancellation 

A. A person shall have a legal right to notice of 
cancellation, nonrenewal, or any material change, or any 
similar notice concerning a policy of insurance, only if the 
person is named within the policy or any endorsement and 
the policy or endorsement, law, or regulation of this state 
requires notice to be provided. The terms and conditions of 
the notice, including the required timing of the notice, are 
governed by the policy of insurance in accordance with the 
laws and regulations of this state and cannot be altered by a 
certificate of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 
§13921. Investigations and Examinations of Complaints 

and Violations 
A. The commissioner of insurance may examine and 

investigate any complaint or allegation of specific violations 
by any person who has allegedly engaged in an act or 
practice prohibited by R.S. 22:881.1. Any such examinations 
or complaint investigations conducted by the commissioner 
shall be subject to the provisions of R.S. 22:1983(J). 

B. The commissioner may fine any person who willfully 
violates R.S. 22:881.1 not more than one thousand dollars 
per violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 
§13923. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this Regulation 99 or 
the application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 
such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 
Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 99 to 
any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 
without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 
for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 
99 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 
severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 
§13925. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 99 shall become effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:881.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 36:2871 (December 
2010). 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1012#133 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Board of Parole (LAC 22:XI.103, 503, 511, and 1301) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole has amended the 
contents of Part XI, Board of Parole. 
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Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part XI.  Board of Parole 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§103. Composition of the Board 

A.1. The board shall be composed of seven members 
appointed by the governor and one ex-officio member. Of 
the seven members appointed by the Governor, one shall be 
the chairman of the board. 

a. The warden, or in his absence the deputy warden, 
of the correctional facility in which the offender is 
incarcerated shall be an ex officio member of the board. 
When the offender is housed in a local correctional facility 
and the warden or deputy warden of that facility is not able 
to attend the offender's parole hearing, the warden, or in his 
absence the deputy warden, of the facility where the 
offender's parole hearing is held may serve as an ex officio 
member. The ex officio member shall not be a voting 
member nor shall he be counted or permitted to be counted 
for purposes of the number of members necessary to take 
board action or the number of members necessary to 
establish quorum. In all other respects, the ex officio 
member shall have all duties, authority, requirements and 
benefits of any other board member. 

2. … 
3. One member shall be appointed from a list of 

names submitted by any victim's rights advocacy 
organization which is recognized as a nonprofit with the 
Internal Revenue Service, incorporated or organized in the 
state of Louisiana and in good standing and does not engage 
in political activity, with each organization submitting a list 
of three names. However, no person nominated by any 
victim's rights advocacy organization shall be appointed to 
serve as a member of the board who has previously been 
confirmed by the senate and has served as a member of the 
board. 

4. Each member shall, except the ex officio member, 
devote full time to the duties of the office and shall not 
engage in any other business or profession or hold any other 
public office. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 2:113 (April 1976), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, 
LR 24:2292 (December 1998), amended by Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 36:2872 
(December 2010). 
Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearings of the Board of 

Parole 
§503. Selection of Three-Member Panels 

A. The board shall meet in a minimum of three-member 
panels, except as otherwise provided in these rules. 

B. The chairman of the board shall randomly assign all 
three-member panels. Each panel shall appoint the 
chairperson of that three-member panel. 

C. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq. and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2298 
(December 1998), amended by the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 36:2872 (December 
2010). 
§511. Public Hearings 

A. - B.2. … 
C.1. A unanimous vote is required to grant parole or to 

recommend work release regardless of the number of board 
members at the parole hearing, except as provided for in 
Subparagraph C.1.a of this Subsection. 

a. The board may grant parole with two votes of a 
three-member panel, or, if the number exceeds a three-
member panel, a majority vote of those present if all of the 
following conditions are met. 
 i. The offender has not been convicted of a crime 
of violence as defined in R.S. 14:2(B) or a sex offense as 
defined in R.S. 15:541, or convicted of an offense which 
would constitute a crime of violence as defined in R.S. 
14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S.15:541, regardless 
of the date of conviction. 
 ii. The offender has not committed any 
disciplinary offenses in the 12 consecutive months prior to 
the parole eligibility date. 
 iii. The offender has completed the mandatory 
minimum of 100 hours of pre-release programming in 
accordance with R.S. 15:827.1. 
 iv. The offender has completed substance abuse 
treatment as applicable. 
 v. The offender has obtained a GED credential, 
unless the offender has previously obtained a high school 
diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being 
incapable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning 
disability. If the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a 
GED credential, the offender must complete at least one of 
the following:  

(a). a literacy program; 
(b). an adult basic education program; or  
(c). a job skills training program. 

 vi. The offender has obtained a low-risk level 
designation determined by a validated risk assessment 
instrument approved by the Secretary of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections. 

b. Notwithstanding any other provision of law in 
this Section, no person convicted of a crime of violence 
against any peace officer as defined in R.S. 14.30(B), shall 
be granted parole except after a meeting, duly noticed and 
held on a date to be determined by the chairman, at which at 
least five of the seven members of the board are present and 
all members present vote to grant parole. 

C.2. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq. and RS. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2299 
(December 1998), amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections 
Services, LR 36:2872 (December 2010). 
Chapter 13. Time Served 
§1301. Time Must Be Served if Revoked 

A.1. An offender returned to incarceration for a parole 
violation that does not include a new sentence for a felony 
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offense will be returned to serve the remainder of the 
original sentence as of the date of his release on parole, 
subject to applicable commutation statutes or good time 
credits and any credit for time served for good behavior 
while on parole. 

2. … 
B. An offender returned to incarceration as a parole 

violator who has received a new sentence for a felony 
offense while on parole shall serve the remainder of the 
original sentence as of the date of his release on parole, 
subject to applicable commutation statutes or good time 
credits and any credit for time served for good behavior 
while on parole. The new sentence shall be served 
consecutively to the previous sentence unless a concurrent 
term of imprisonment is expressly directed by the court. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., R.S. 15:540 et seq. and R.S. 
15:571.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2306 
(December 1998), amended by the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 36:2872 (December 
2010). 

 
C. A. Lowe, Jr. 
Chairman  

1012#083 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Death Penalty (LAC 22:I.103) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with R.S. 36:404, has 
repealed LAC 22:I.103, Death Penalty in its entirety. This 
repeal is a technical adjustment as the information is not 
required to be promulgated and will remain intact and 
enforced as a department regulation. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 1. Secretary's Office 
§103. Death Penalty 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:953. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the Secretary, LR 6:10 
(January 1980), amended LR 7:177 (April 1981), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services 
LR 17:202 (February 1991), LR 18:77 (January 1992), LR 24:342 
(February 1998), LR 25:2410 (December 1999), LR 28:2552 
(December 2002), LR 29:2847 (December 2003), LR 31:1600 (July 
2005), LR 31:2032 (August 2005), LR 32:2270 (December 2006), 
LR 36:526 (March 2010), repealed LR 36:2873 (December 2010). 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1012#082 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for  
Adult Offenders (LAC 22:I.351 and 363) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has amended 
the contents of §§351 and 363, Disciplinary Rules and 
Procedures for Adult Offenders. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
Subchapter B. Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for 

Adult Offenders 
§351. Correcting Disciplinary Reports 

A. - B.NOTE. … 
C. Evidence. The disciplinary board shall carefully 

evaluate all evidence presented or stipulated. In situations 
where the disciplinary report is based solely on information 
from a confidential informant or from an offender whose 
identity is known, there must be other evidence to 
corroborate the violation. That evidence may include, but is 
not limited to, witness statements from another confidential 
informant who has not been unreliable in the past and has 
legitimate knowledge of the present incident(s), the record 
(investigative report) or other evidence. If requested, the 
accusing employee must be summoned to testify about the 
reliability and credibility of the confidential informant when 
the report is based solely on information from a confidential 
informant. (In order to accomplish this, the informant must 
have been reliable in the past and/or have legitimate 
knowledge of the present incident(s).) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:823, Wolff v. McDonnell, 94 S.Ct. 2963 (1974), Ralph v. Dees, 
C.A. 71-94, USDC (Md. La.) and Sandin V. Conner, 115 S.Ct. 2293 
(1995). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR27:417 (March 2001), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 34:2199 (October 2008), LR 36:2873 
(December 2010). 
§363. Disciplinary Rules 

A. … 
B. Contraband (Schedule B). No offender shall have 

under his immediate control any illicit drugs, any product 
that could be used to adulterate a urine sample, unauthorized 
medication, alcoholic beverage, yeast, tattoo machine, tattoo 
paraphernalia, syringe, any type weapon, cellular phone or 
component hardware or other electronic communications 
device, whether operational or not, (including but not limited 
to beepers, pagers, subscriber identity module (SIM) cards, 
portable memory chips, batteries for these devices, chargers, 
global satellite system equipment), or any other item not 
permitted by department regulation or institutional posted 
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policy to be received or possessed or any other item 
detrimental to the security of the facility. Money is 
contraband. Any item not being used for the purpose for 
which it was intended will be considered contraband if it is 
being used in a manner that is clearly detrimental to the 
security of the facility. Possession and/or use of lighted 
cigarettes or other smoking materials are deemed to be 
contraband in non-smoking areas. To smuggle or attempt to 
smuggle prohibited items into or out of the facility will be in 
violation of this Rule. 

B.1. - X.20. … 
21. starting, causing, assisting in the creation of any 

fire, heat or spark of any nature by any means or methods, or 
attempting to start a fire and/or attempting to heat substances 
utilizing electrical/mechanical devices or any other means, 
other than in the performance of an approved work 
assignment; 

22. - 23. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:823, Wolff v. McDonnell, 94 S.Ct. 2963 (1974), Ralph v. Dees, 
C.A. 71-94, USDC (Md. La.) and Sandin v. Conner, 115 S.Ct. 2293 
(1995), Cassels v. Stalder, 342 F. Supp. 2d 555. 

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 27:419 (March 2001), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 31:1099 (May 2005), LR 34:2201 
(October 2008), LR 36:2873 (December 2010). 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1012#081 
 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Video Draw Poker (LAC 42:XI.2407 and 2424) 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board hereby gives notice 
that it has amended 42:XI.2407.D.17 and adopted LAC 
42:XI.2424. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 
Part XI.  Video Poker 

Chapter 24. Video Draw Poker 
§2407. Operation of Video Draw Poker Devices 

A. - D.16. … 
17. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 25:85 (January 1999), LR 27:205 (February 2001), LR 
30:267 (February 2004), repromulgated LR 30:441 (March 2004), 
amended LR 33:857 (May 2007), LR 36:2046 (September 2010), 
LR 36:2874 (December 2010). 
§2424. Enforcement Actions of the Board 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 27:308 et seq., in lieu of other 
administrative action, the division may impose a civil 
penalty as provided for in the penalty schedule contained in 
Subsection B. 

 
 
B. Penalty Schedule 
 

Regulation 
Number Violation Description 1st 2nd 3rd 

Application And License 

2405 A 15 Improperly Notarized Documents  1000 2000 Admin 
Action 

2405 B 2 Failure To Conspicuously Display License 100 200 300 
2504 B 3c Failure To Renew Gaming License 45 Days Prior To Expiration Of License 250 500 1000 

2405 B 7 Failure To Attend Required Hearings, Meetings, Etc. 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

Video Gaming Devices 
2407 A 1 No Des Rep/Failure To Monitor VGD/Gaming Area 250 500 1000 
2407 A 3 Allowing Intoxicated Persons To Play Video Devices 250 500 1000 

2407 A 4 Failure Of Licensee To Supervise Employees To Ensure Compliance With 
Regulations 100 200 300 

2407 A 5 Failure To Pay Valid Ticket Voucher On Demand 500 750 1000 
2407 A 6 Proper Placement Of Devices 100 200 300 

2407 A 7 Licensee Shall Advise The Division Of Any Device Malfunction That Has Not Been 
Rectified By The Device Owner Within 24 Hours 250 500 1000 

2407 A 9 Keys Shall Be Secure And Available To The Division 100 200 300 
2407 A 10 Loss Of Access Of Device Telephone Line 250 500 1000 

2407 A 12 Licensee Shall Post Signs At Entrances To Gaming Area/Restricting Play/3 Inch 
Lettering 250 500 1000 

2407 A 13 Current Copy Of Administrative Rules Not Available  100 200 300 
2407 A 14 No Hotline Number/Compulsive Gambling Toll Free Number Signs 250 500 1000 
2407 B 2 Video Draw Poker Employee Permit 25 50 75 
2407 B 8 Designated Reps Shall Locate Records and Documents 250 500 1000 
2407 C 1 Employee Shall Be Available To Redeem Valid Tickets 250 500 1000 
2407 C 1a Ticket Vouchers Shall Be Redeemed For Cash Only 250 500 1000 
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Regulation 
Number Violation Description 1st 2nd 3rd 

2407 C 1e The Phrase “Any Malfunction Voids All Plays And Pays” Shall Be Displayed On The 
Face Of Devices 100 200 300 

2407 C 1f Failure To Make Timely Payments As Required 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2407 D  Advertising Violation 500 750 1000 
Revenues 

2409 C 2d Insufficient Funds Available For Electronic Transfer -- Fine Plus Interest As Per Rule 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2409 C 3 
A Device Owner Who Has A Non-Sufficient Fund Return W/I The Past 3 Years Shall 
Be Required To Maintain A Minimum Balance In The Sweep Account Or Secure 
With A Line Of Credit Or Bond 

500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2409 E 2 
 Failure To Have All Records Requested Readily Available For Audit  500 1000 Admin 

Action 
Regulatory, Communication, And Reporting Responsibilities 

2411 A 6 Failure To Provide Semi-Annual, Quarterly, Or Monthly Report Requested By Date 
Required 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2411 A 7 Failure To Retain All Records For A Period Of Three Years (Manufacturers-Five 
Years) 500 1000 Admin 

Action 
2411 A 9 
 

Failure To Maintain Required Records, Submit All Reports, And Keep The Division 
Informed In Writing Of Changes 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2411 A 10a Failure To Keep And Maintain Bank Account Documents 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2411 A 10b Failure To Keep And Maintain Business Records 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2411 A 12 All Licensed Manufacturers And Distributors Shall Maintain A Current Record Of 
Devices Received, Sold, And In Inventory 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2411 A 14 Failure To Provide A Current List Of Authorized Service Personnel 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2411 B 1 Failure To Provide A Semi-Annual Report Requested 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2411 D 3 Failure Of Device Owner To Maintain All Audit Tapes For A Period Of 3 Years 250 500 1000 

2411 D 6 Failure To Notify Division Technical Staff Prior To Removal Of Devices From 
Service For Less Than 72 Hours – Per Device 250 500 1000 

2411 D7 
Devices Disabled From The Central Computer For More Than 72 Hours Shall Be 
Transferred To The Device Owner’s Warehouse Or Service Entity And The Division 
Notified With The Proper Paperwork Within Five Business Days – Per Device 

250 500 1000 

2411 E1 Failure Of Licensed Establishment To Provide Quarterly Report Requested By 
Division 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2411 E 3 Failure Of Licensed Truck Stops To Provide Monthly Fuel Sales Reports 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2411 F 1 Failure Of Licensed Service Entity To Maintain Required Records 250 500 Admin 
Action 

2411 F 2 Failure Of Licensed Service Entity To Have A Certified Technician And Adequate 
Facilities Approved By The Division 250 500 Admin 

Action 
2411 G 3 Failure To Submit Device Forms Required By The Division In A Timely Manner 250 500 1000 

2411 H 2 Failure To Provide Copies Of Written Contracts Pertaining To The Operation Of 
Devices Within 10 Business Days Of Making Such Contract 500 1000 Admin 

Action 
Devices 

2413 A 1 E Unapproved Information On Device Screen/Housing 100 200 300 

2413 A 1 E Ii The Phrase “No Persons Under The Age Of 21 Allowed To Play” Shall Be 
Conspicuously Displayed On The Face Of All Devices 100 200 300 

2413 A 1 L Device Must Have An Approved And Functioning Security System For Temporarily 
Disabling Device And Alerting The Central System When The Device Is Opened  250 500 1000 

2413 E 1 Only Certified Technicians May Access The Interior Of An Enrolled And Enabled 
Device 250 500 1000 

2413 E 2 All Device Owners Shall Maintain A Current, Written Maintenance Log For Each 
Device Operating Within A Licensed Establishment On A Division Approved Form 100 200 300 

2413 E 3 A Division Approved Ram Clear Chip And Procedure Shall Be Used When A 
Device’s Memory Is To Be Cleared 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2413 E 4 Prior Approval Must Be Obtained Before A Software Program Is Changed In Any 
Device 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2413 E 7 The Division Shall Be Notified Before A Device Is Disconnected From Central 
Computer 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2413 F 1 Failure To Provide Information Of Shipment Of Devices And Obtaining Division 
Approval 500 750 1000 

2413 F 2 Failure To Provide Division With The Make, Model, Serial Number And An 
Inventory Of The Devices Being Shipped 500 750 1000 

2413 F 4 Devices Shall Be Shipped Within Ten Business Days Of The Notification And 
Approval 500 750 1000 

2413 G 1 Failure To Request Local Law Enforcement To Investigate Damage Or Theft Of Any 
Device 250 500 1000 
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Regulation 
Number Violation Description 1st 2nd 3rd 

2413 G 2 Failure To Obtain And Forward Requested Reports To The Division After 
Investigation 250 500 1000 

2413 G 3 The Device Owner Or Licensed Establishment Shall Notify The Division, In Writing, 
Of Any Damage To Or Theft From A Device 250 500 1000 

2413 H 2 The Completed Device Transfer Report Shall Be Submitted To The Division Within 
Five Business Days 200 400 600 

2413 H 3  No Devices Which Are Permanently Removed From Service Shall Have A Validation 
Decal Displayed On It 200 400 600 

Gaming Establishments 

2415 B 2 All Type 5 Establishments With 20 Or More Devices Shall Provide Video 
Surveillance Approved By Division 500 1000 Admin 

Action 
2415 C 1  Device Groupings Shall Be Physically Located Within The Licensed Establishment 250 500 1000 

2415 C 2 No Device Shall Be Placed Closer Than Twelve Inches To Any Other Device (May 
Be Placed Back To Back) 100 200 300 

2415 D 1 No Licensed Establishment Shall Be Altered Or Renovated Dealing With Devices 
Without Division Approval 500 1000 Admin 

Action 

2415 D 2 Any Licensed Establishment That Allows Mixed Patronage Shall Have Devices In 
Designated Areas With A Partition 250 500 1000 

2415 D 3a A Licensed Establishment That Is Connected To Another Business Shall Have A 
Door Between Them That Automatically Closes 250 500 1000 

2415 D 3b A Licensed Establishment That Is Connected To Another Business Shall Have A 
Separate Outside Entrance 250 500 1000 

2415 D 3c A Licensed Establishment That Is Connected To Another Business Shall Keep 
Records Separate 250 500 1000 

2415 D 3d A Licensed Establishment That Is Connected To Another Business Shall Have 
Personnel That Are Solely Employed By The Licensed Establishment 250 500 1000 

2415 D 4 The Parking Area Of A Truck Stop Facility Shall Be In Compliance With All 
Federal, State And Local Laws 250 500 1000 

Code Of Conduct Of Licensee 

2417 A 1  All Licensees And Permittees Shall Comply With All Applicable Federal, State, And 
Local Laws And Regulations 250 500 1000 

2417 B 4 

All Licensees And Permittees Shall Have A Continuing Duty To Notify The 
Division Of Any Fact, Event, Occurrence, Matter Or Action That May Affect The 
Conduct Of Gaming. Such Notification Shall Be Made Within Ten Calendar Days 
Regarding But Not Limited To The Following: 
 
Non-Disqualifying Misdemeanor Arrest 
 
Disqualifying Misdemeanor Or Felony Arrest  
 
Death (Owner/Member/Officer/Revenue Recipient) 
 
Marriage/Divorce/Death Of Spouse 
 
Stock Or Interest Transfer 
 
Company Structure Change (Conversion/Merger Etc) 
 
Company Management Structure Change 

 
 
 
 
 
250 
 
500 
 
250 
 
250 
 
500 
 
500 
 
500 

 
 
 
 
 
250 
 
1000 
 
250 
 
250 
Admin 
Action 
Admin 
Action 
Admin 
Action 

 
 
 
 
 
250 
 
Admin 
Action 
250 
 
250 
Admin 
Action 
Admin 
Action 
Admin 
Action 

2417 C 1 I Failure To Respond In A Timely Manner To Communications From The Division Or 
Board (10-Day Letters) 500 1000 2000 

Investigations 

2419 B 2 All Licensees Shall Make Available To The Division Records Requested 500 1000 Admin 
Action 

2419 B 3b All Devices Shall Have, At All Times, The Proper Validation Decal Affixed To The 
Device And Maintenance Log Books Properly Secured And Available For Inspection 250 500 Admin 

Action 
Miscellaneous 

27:301.B (12) A Expired ATC Permits Renewed during Investigation or Adjudication 
Establishments Primarily Engaged in the Retail Sale of Prepared Foods and Alcoholic 
Beverages Must Possess a Valid Class A-General Retail Permit or a Class A-
Restaurant Permit 

1000 Plus 500 For Each 30-Day  
(or Portion of A 30-Day) Period 

27:311 F (2) 
A Non-Sufficient Fund Return 250 500 

1000 or 
Admin 
Action 

27:311 K 4 (B) 
Required Annual Fees Submitted after July First, but on or before July Thirty-First 

Type 1 Or 2 
License 

250 

Type 3 – 8 
License 

500 
27:311 K 4 (C) Required Annual Fees Submitted after July Thirty-First, but on or before August 

Thirty-First 

Type 1 Or 2 
License 

500 

Type 3 – 8 
License 

1000 
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Regulation 
Number Violation Description 1st 2nd 3rd 

27:311 L A Complete Renewal Application Filed within 30 Calendar Days after the Expiration 
of the License 500 

27:319 Allowing Underage Patron to Play Video Gaming Device 1000 1000 Revo-
Cation 

 
 

C. A violation shall be considered a second or 
subsequent violation in accordance with the provisions of 
R.S. 27:308.1(D)(1)(b). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:4862.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Louisiana Gaming Control Board. 
LR 36:2874 (December 2010). 

 
Dane K. Morgan  
Chairman 

1012#136 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Income Tax Withholding on Gaming Winnings 
(LAC 61:I.1525) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:164(D), R.S. 47:241 et 
seq., and R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, has 
adopted LAC 61:I.1525 relative to income tax withholding 
on gaming winnings. The primary purpose of this regulation 
is to require anyone paying gaming winnings to withhold on 
those winnings if the IRS requires withholding on the 
winnings.  

Title 61  
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered 
by the Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 15. Income: Withholding Tax 
§1525. Income Tax Withholding on Gaming Winnings 

A. Withholding Requirement for Gaming Winnings 
1. Every person or business that pays gaming 

winnings won in Louisiana is required to withhold 
individual income taxes at a rate of six percent if income 
taxes are required to be withheld for the Internal Revenue 
Service under 26 USC 3402 on the same winnings.  

2. Additionally following current Department of 
Revenue practice, casinos that pay slot machine winnings in 
excess of $1,200 should issue a form W2-G and withhold at 
a rate of 6 percent of the slot machine winnings regardless of 
the Internal Revenue Code withholding on such slot machine 
winnings. 

B. Reporting Requirements for Gaming Winnings 
1. Businesses that withhold income taxes on gaming 

winnings shall electronically report and remit the 
withholdings to the Louisiana Department of Revenue 
quarterly.  

2. Businesses required to withhold and to submit 
income taxes on gaming winnings shall send the Department 
of Revenue a report electronically containing a list of all 
winners annually in a format approved by the department. 
The report shall contain the following information as printed 
on federal form W-2G: 

a. the payor’s name, address, and federal 
identification number; 

b. the winner’s name, address, social security 
number, gross winnings, amount of federal income taxes 
withheld, and amount of state income taxes withheld.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:287.71, R.S. 47:287.785, and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Service Division, LR 36:2877 (December 2010). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

1012#130 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Child Support EnforcementSecuring and  
Enforcing Medical Support Obligation 

(LAC 67:III.2527) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Child 
Support Enforcement Section, proposes to amend the 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III, 
Subpart 4, Support Enforcement Services, Chapter 25, 
Subchapter H, Section 2527, Securing and Enforcing 
Medical Support Obligation, pursuant to Act 299 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Act 299 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature provides for medical support for minor children 
subject to child support orders, provides for definitions, and 
for related matters. In accordance with Act 299, the 
department proposes to amend Section 2527 to clarify 
matters relative to providing medical support for minor 
children subject to child support orders. 

Title 67  
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 4.  Support Enforcement Services 

Chapter 25. Support Enforcement 
Subchapter H. Medical Support Activities 
§2527. Securing and Enforcing Medical Support 

Obligation 
A. Child Support Enforcement (CSE) shall secure 

medical support information and enforce medical support 
through the use of the national medical support notice. 

B. Unless the custodial parent and child(ren) have 
satisfactory health insurance other than Medicaid, IV-D shall 
petition the court to include health insurance that is available 
to either or both parent(s) at reasonable cost in new or 
modified orders for support. Reasonable cost, as it pertains 
to private health insurance, means that the health insurance 
premiums for the minor child or children do not exceed 5 
percent of the gross income of the parent ordered to provide 
support pursuant to R.S. 9:315.4. A medical support order 
shall be obtained whether or not health insurance is actually 
available to either or both parent(s) at the time the order is 
entered, or modification of current coverage to include the 
child(ren) in question is immediately possible.  

C. The IV-D agency will take steps to enforce the 
medical support order if health insurance is available to 
either or both parent(s) at reasonable cost but has not been 
secured at the time the order is issued.  

D. CSE may enforce court-ordered medical support by 
means of income assignment in cases where the court has 
ordered cash medical support. 

E. CSE shall require the employer of a parent who is 
court-ordered to provide medical support to enroll and 
maintain available health insurance on a child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 303.31 and 303.32, R.S. 46:236.1.1, 46:236.1.2, 46:236.3, 
Ch.C. Art.1305.1 et seq., 46:236.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:245 (April 1986) amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 22:118 (February 1996), 
LR 31:1102 (May 2005), amended by Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? This Rule will increase the stability of the 
family. 

2. What effect will this Rule have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? This Rule will have no effect on the authority 
and rights of persons regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this Rule have on the functioning 
of the family? This Rule will provide parents with avenues 
in providing medical support to their child(ren). 

4. What effect will this Rule have on family earnings 
and family budget? This Rule may impact the disposal 
income. 

5. What effect will this Rule have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This Rule will provide 
parents with avenues in providing medical support to their 
child(ren).  

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 
the function as contained in these proposed rules? The 
family will be able to perform the functions. No effect to 
local government.  

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors, has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through January 25, 2011, to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9065. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

January 25, 2011 at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 10 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2879 

a.m. All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven 
working days in advance of the hearing. For Assistance, call 
(225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Child Support EnforcementSecuring 

and Enforcing Medical Support Obligation 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This rule proposes to amend Title 67, Part III, Subpart 4, 
Section 2527 of the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC).  In 
accordance with Act 299 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, the proposed rule amends Section 2527 
to clarify matters relative to providing medical support for 
minor children subject to child support orders.  Also, the 
proposed rule changes the name of Support Enforcement 
Services (SES) to Child Support Enforcement (CSE).  

The only cost associated with this rule is the cost of 
publishing rulemaking and printing policy, which is estimated 
to be approximately $1,000.00.  This is a one-time cost that is 
routinely included in the agency’s annual operating budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of this rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

In the past, each court decided reasonable cost.  Some 
courts had reasonable cost has high as 25% of gross income.  
As a result of this proposed rule, any parent ordered to provide 
health insurance over the new standard reasonable cost 
definition of 5% of gross income may request a modification of 
child support orders which would potentially result in an 
economic benefit.  However, the department cannot determine 
the number of parents that will seek a modification of child 
support.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule will have no impact on competition or 
employment. 

 
Sammy Guillory Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1012#088 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Portability of Criminal History, Religious  
Exemption, and Sex Offenders  

(LAC 67:III.Chapter 73) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section proposes to amend the 

Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) Title 67, Part III, 
Sections 7302, 7303, 7305, 7311, 7357, 7359, 7361 and 
7365, Child Care Licensing, to comply with Acts 429, 508 
and 569 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature and Act 210 of the 2009 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

Pursuant to Act 508 of the 2010 Legislative Session, the 
Department of Children and Family Services finds it 
necessary to allow for the portability of criminal history 
information. This proposed Rule will allow an individual 
applying for a position of supervisory or disciplinary 
authority over children in a child care facility, or an 
independent contractor who performs work in a child care 
facility, to receive a certified copy of his/her criminal history 
information upon written request to the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police. The certified copy of the criminal background check 
may be accepted by a prospective employer and shall be 
deemed to satisfy the requirements of R.S. 15:587.1 for each 
facility requesting criminal history information for a period 
of one year from the date of issuance of the certified copy. 

In accordance with Acts 429 and 569 of the 2010 
Legislative Session a recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which remains 
open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week, 
and in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered a "day 
care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In addition, 
there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of any rule 
and regulation by the Department of Children and Family 
Services upon a child care facility, operated by a religious, 
nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income 
taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and which was not 
licensed as either a Class “A” or Class “B” facility on June 
1, 2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 hours 
and not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day week. 
This moratorium shall terminate and cease to be effective 
upon July 1, 2011. 

Pursuant to Act 210 of the 2009 Legislative Session, any 
person that has been convicted of a sex offense as defined in 
R.S. 15:541, is prohibited from owning, operating, or in any 
way participating in the governance of a child day care 
facility. The department also prohibits any employer from 
knowingly employing a person convicted of a sex offense as 
defined in R.S. 15:541, to work in a day care center or a 
child day care facility. This Rule shall also require any 
owner/owners of a child day care facility to provide 
documentation of a satisfactory criminal record check, as 
required by R.S. 15:587.1. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class “A” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7302. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. The state of Louisiana, Department of Children and 

Family Services, is charged with the responsibility for 
developing and publishing standards for the licensing of 
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child care centers. The licensing authority of the Department 
of Children and Family Services is established by R.S. 
46:1401 et seq., making mandatory the licensing of all child 
care facilities and child placing agencies, including child 
care centers. R.S. 46:1403 defines a child day care facility as 
any place or facility operated by any institution, society, 
agency, corporation, person or persons, or any other group 
for the purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance 
of seven or more children, not including those related to the 
caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted 
child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal 
custody of the caregiver.  

2. In accordance with Act 429 and Act 569 of the 
2010 Legislative Session, a recognized religious 
organization which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization 
under Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which 
remains open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-
day week, and in which no individual child remains for more 
than 24 hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered 
a "day care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In 
addition, there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of 
any rule and regulation by the Department of Children and 
Family Services upon a child care facility, operated by a 
religious, nonprofit organization which is exempt from 
federal income taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and 
which was not licensed as either a Class A or Class B facility 
on June 1, 2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 
hours and not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. This moratorium shall terminate and cease to be 
effective upon July 1, 2011. 

B. - F.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1107 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2755 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:332 (February 2010), LR 
36:847 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 
§7303. Procedures 

A. - A.2.g.viii. ... 
ix. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); 
x. licensure survey verifying compliance with all 

minimum standards; 
xi. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
and 

xii. documentation of completed State Central 
Registry Disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4.h.  ... 
i. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); 

j. copy of bill of sale; 
k. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

l. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

NOTE:  If the above information is not received prior to the 
sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate until a 
license is issued. When the application is received, it will be 
treated as an initial application rather than a change of 
ownership. 

A.5. - C.3. ... 
4. The bureau shall be notified prior to making 

changes which may have an effect upon the license, e.g., age 
range of children served, usage of indoor and outdoor space, 
director, hours/months/days of operation, transportation, etc. 

D. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, or a license may be 
revoked, or renewal denied, for any of the following reasons: 

1. - 14. ... 
15. presence or use of any recalled product by the 

provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; 

16. failure to attend any mandatory training session 
offered by the bureau; 

17. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 
finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children;  

18. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame;  

19. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; or  

20. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

E. - H.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2756 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), LR 
36:832 (April 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1272 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1279 (June 2010), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 
§7305. General Requirements 

A. - M. ... 
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N. Conditions for Participation in a Child-related 
Business 

1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 
provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
convicted of a sex offense, as defined in R.S. 15:541, 
physical access to a child day care facility, as defined in R.S. 
46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing section management staff if a sex offender 
is on the premises of the child day care facility or within 
1,000 feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office 
shall be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1112 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 

of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2759 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, LR 37: 
§7311. Personnel Records 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be eligible to 
own, operate, and/or be present in any capacity in any 
licensed child care facility. For any owner or operator, a 
clear criminal background check in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2 shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a license or 
approval of a change of ownership. In addition, neither an 
owner, nor a director, nor a director designee shall have a 
conviction of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any crime 
in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an element of 
the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. If an individual provides a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana State Police to the provider, this criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility in which the individual is currently employed. 
However, prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the provider shall 
request and obtain a satisfactory criminal check from 
Louisiana State Police in order for the individual to continue 
employment at the center. If the clearance is not obtained by 
the provider prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the staff person is no 
longer allowed on the child care premises until a clearance is 
received. 

B. The following information shall be kept on file for 
independent contractors including therapeutic professionals 
and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer instructors, 
dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus personnel, speech 
therapists, licensed health care professionals, state-certified 
teachers employed through a local school board, art 
instructors, and other outside contractors: 

1. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S.14:2, R.S.15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility.  

a. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
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being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police in order to continue 
providing services to a child or children at the child care 
facility. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the individual shall no longer be allowed 
on the child care premises until a clearance is received. This 
criminal background check shall be accepted by the 
department for a period of one year from the date of issuance 
of the certified copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall 
be kept on file at the facility. 

B.2. - C.3.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2762 
(December 2007), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 

Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 
Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter B. Licensing Class “B” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7357. Definitions 

A. The following are definitions of terms used in these 
minimum standards. 

* * * 
Child Day Care Centera child day care facility as 

defined in R.S. 46:1403, including vehicles or other 
structures owned or operated by the provider where care and 
supervision of children are provided, or where some process 
or operation integral to providing or facilitating care or 
supervision is conducted. 

* * * 
Extra-Curricular Personnel/Therapeutic 

Professionalsindividuals who are not employees of the 
center, but who come to the center to provide therapy, 
services, or enrichment activities for an individual child or 
group of children. Examples: computer instructor, dance 
instructor, librarian, tumble bus personnel, therapeutic 
personnel (occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech 
therapist), nutritionist, early interventionist, and nurse. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2770 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:334 (February 2010), LR 36:850 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, LR 37: 
§7359. Procedures 

A. - A.2.f.v. ... 
 vi. licensure survey verifying compliance. with all 
minimum standards; 
 vii. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
 viii. documentation of completed State central 
registry disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4. ... 
a. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

b. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

A.5. - F.10. ... 
11. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 

finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

12. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame; 

13. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; 

14. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

G. - J.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2771 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support LR 
36:832 (April 2010), LR 36:1272(June 2010), LR 36:1279 (June 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 
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§7361. General Requirements 
A. - L. ... 
M. Conditions for Participation in a Child-Related 

Business 
1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 physical 
access to a child day care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing management staff if a sex offender is on 
the premises of the child day care facility or within 1,000 
feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office shall 
be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1638 (August 2000), 

repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2773 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:335 (February 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 
§7365. Center Staff 

A. - C.3. ... 
4. Criminal Records Check. Documentation of a 

satisfactory criminal records check from Louisiana State 
Police as required by R.S. 46:51.2. This check shall be 
obtained prior to the individual being present in the child 
care facility. No person who has been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, shall be eligible to own, operate, and/or 
be present in any capacity in any licensed child care facility. 
For any owner or operator, a clear criminal background 
check in accordance with R.S. 46:51.2 shall be obtained 
prior to the issuance of a license or approval of a change of 
ownership. In addition, neither an owner, nor a director, nor 
a director designee shall have a conviction of, or pled guilty 
or nolo contender to any crime in which an act of fraud or 
intent to defraud is an element of the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility in 
which the individual is currently employed. However, prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the provider shall request and obtain a 
satisfactory criminal check from Louisiana State Police in 
order for the individual to continue employment at the 
center. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the staff person is no longer allowed on 
the child care premises until a clearance is received.  

b. The following information shall be kept on file 
for independent contractors including therapeutic 
professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer 
instructors, dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus 
personnel, speech therapists, licensed health care 
professionals, state-certified teachers employed through a 
local school board, art instructors, and other outside 
contractors. 
 i. Documentation of a satisfactory criminal 
record check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility. 
 ii. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
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being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the Bureau 
of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police in order to continue providing 
services to a child or children at the child care facility. If the 
clearance is not obtained by the provider prior to the one 
year date of issuance of the certified criminal background 
check, the individual shall no longer be allowed on the child 
care premises until a clearance is received. This criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility. 

c. No felon shall be employed in a Class “B” 
facility, unless approved in writing by a district judge of the 
parish and the local district attorney. This statement shall be 
kept on file at all times by the child care facility and shall be 
produced upon request to any law enforcement officer. 

C.5. - D.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1639 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2774 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? There will be no effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? This Rule will help to ensure that the 
individuals who own, operate, or govern child care facilities 
and those who are responsible for the education and 
supervision of children in child care facilities, have 
satisfactory criminal background clearances and have not 
been convicted of a sex offense. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? There will be no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? There will be no effect on family earnings 
and the family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 
the function as contained in this proposed rule? No, this is 
strictly an agency function. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, January 25, 2011, to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-
9065. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

January 25, 2011, at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 N. Fourth Street, Seminar 
Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA, beginning at 9 a.m. All 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven 
working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call 
225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Portability of Criminal History, 

Religious Exemption, and Sex Offenders 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This rule proposes to amend the Louisiana Administrative 
Code (LAC) 67, Part III, Subpart 21 Child Care Licensing, 
Chapter 73 Day Centers, to comply with Acts 429, 508 and 569 
of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and 
Act 210 of the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature.  

Act 508 pertains to the portability of criminal history 
information. This amendment shall allow an individual 
applying for a position or an independent contractor to receive 
a certified copy of his/her criminal history information from the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police. In accordance with Acts 
429 and 569, a religious organization, which is qualified as a 
tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, will not be considered a “day care center” and 
shall be exempt from licensing.  Pursuant to Act 210, any 
person who has been convicted of a sex offense as defined in 
R.S. 15:541, is prohibited from owning, operating, or in any 
way participating in the governance of a child day care facility.  

DCFS shall mail a notice to approximately 1,900 child day 
care centers stating that information on these new rules is 
posted on the DCFS Web site at an estimated cost of $1,214.  
The publishing of rulemaking and policy is estimated to be 
approximately $1,638. The total cost to implement these rule 
changes for FY 11 is $2,852. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Act 508 may positively impact the Louisiana State Police 
that charges a fee for certified copies of the criminal 
background information.  This fee has always been charged to 
obtain this information.  However, the department cannot 
determine the number of individuals that will obtain certified 
copies of criminal background information as a result of this 
rule.  Acts 429, 569 and 210 will have no estimated effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governments. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Act 508 requires that the prospective employee pay for a 
certified copy of his/her criminal background history 
information which results in cost increase for prospective 
employees.  Also, Act 508 results in a potential economic 
benefit for providers due to decreased costs providers may 
realize as result of prospective employees now paying for their 
criminal background history. Act 210 may economically 
impact current and potential owner/owners of a child day care 
facility because they will have to pay for and provide a criminal 
background clearance in order to own, operate or participate in 
the governance of a child day care facility. However, the 
number of individuals that this rule will impact is impossible to 
determine. Acts 429 and 569 do not result in significant costs 
and/or economic benefits for providers or clients.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Act 508 provides that the certified copy of the criminal 
background information is acceptable for one year from the 
date of issuance. A provider may hire individuals who have a 
satisfactory criminal background clearance expeditiously. Act 
210 prohibits any employer from knowingly employing a 
person convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, to 
work in a day care center or a child day care facility. However, 
the number of individuals that this rule will affect is impossible 
to determine.  Acts 429 and 569 do not significantly affect 
competition and employment in the child care industry. 

 
Sammy Guillory Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1012#089 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System (LAC 28:LXXXIII.708 and 709) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111―The Louisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System: §708. 
Using a Graduation Rate in the Subgroup Component and 
§709. Failing the Subgroup Component. Act 478 of the 1997 
Regular Legislative Session called for the development of an 
Accountability System for the purpose of implementing 
fundamental changes in classroom teaching by helping 
schools and communities focus on improved student 
achievement. The state’s accountability system is an 
evolving system with different components that are required 
to change in response to state and federal laws and 
regulations. Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7, 

provide detail for the subgroup portion of the Louisiana 
School and District Accountability System to include the 
additional academic indicator for schools with a twelfth 
grade to be evaluated consistent with procedures required by 
the U.S. Department of Education. These proposed changes 
will also include the establishment of annual targets for 
schools and subgroups within schools, removal of 
"confidence intervals" as required by the U.S. Department of 
Education, and establishment of waiver procedures for 
schools entering School Improvement 1 under certain 
conditions. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 7. Subgroup Component 
§708. Using a Graduation Rate in the Subgroup 

Component 
A. - B. … 
C. The additional academic indicator (AAI) calculation 

shall comply with High School Graduation Rate: Non-
Regulatory Guidance (December 22, 2008) published by the 
U. S. Department of Education. 

1. For subgroup accountability purposes, Louisiana 
high schools shall use an increasing target for the additional 
academic indicator. 

2. For subgroup accountability purposes, Louisiana’s 
high school annual targets shall increase annually as shown 
in the following table. 

 
Louisiana Annual Graduation Rate Targets 

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 
63.0% 64.3% 65.6% 66.9% 68.2% 69.5% 70.8% 
2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 

72.2% 73.5% 74.8% 76.1% 77.4% 78.7% 80.0% 
 
3. For subgroup accountability purposes, each 

Louisiana school that enrolls students in 9th grade or higher 
and offers at least a regular diploma shall have annual targets 
calculated by the LDE that begin with the school’s 2007 
graduation rate and increase by equal increments (rounded to 
1 decimal place) to reach 80.0 percent in 2022. 

4. The increment each school must improve each year 
to maintain its progress toward the 2022 goal is the "annual 
improvement step." 

D. Confidence intervals shall not be applied to any 
graduation rate considerations beginning with the 2010 
accountability decisions. 

E. Determining if a school or subgroup within a school 
has made AYP as it relates specifically to graduation rate is 
accomplished by answering a series of Yes/No questions. 
When an answer is "yes," a school or subgroup has made 
AYP (related to graduation rate) and no further answers are 
required for the specific school or subgroup. 

1. Does the cohort have fewer than 40 members? 
2. Has the cohort met or exceeded an 80.0 percent 

graduation rate? 
3. Has the cohort met or exceeded the state annual 

target? 
4. Has the cohort met or exceeded the school annual 

target? 
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5. Has the cohort met or exceeded 110 percent of the 
annual improvement step (defined in Paragraph C.4). 

F. If at the end of the series of 5 questions a "yes" is not 
provided, the cohort has failed AYP. 

G. A school (or subgroup) that exceeds the state’s target 
with its 2009 graduation rate shall use the state targets as 
school targets. New schools shall have targets based on their 
second year graduation rates and the number of years 
remaining until 2022. 

H. An LEA may request a 1 year waiver of sanctions in 
fall 2010 for a school that enters SI 1 because of 2 
consecutive years of AYP failure due to only graduation rate 
if the school and all subgroups in the school have a 3 year 
weighted average graduation rate that exceeds the school’s 
annual target.  

1. The LEA is responsible for initiating the waiver 
request and providing data to the LDE.  

2. If a school passes AYP the following year, the 
waiver is extended 1 year. 

3. If after receiving a waiver the school fails AYP 
either of the next 2 years, the school shall be labeled SI 2 
and implement sanctions for SI 1 and SI 2, if the failure is 
because of graduation rate. 

I. In 2010 and 2011, the "whole school" graduation rate 
shall be evaluated using the steps delineated in this Section  

J. In 2010 and 2011, any school or subgroup in the 
school that must use the safe harbor provisions and grad rate 
as an AAI will use the steps delineated in this subsection. 

K. In 2012 and future years, all subgroups and the whole 
school shall be evaluated using the steps delineated in this 
subsection regardless of safe harbor considerations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 32:1026 (June 2006), amended LR 
33:424 (March 2007), LR 36:2243 (October 2010), LR 37: 
§709. Failing the Subgroup Component 

A. - B. 2. … 
3. beginning in fall 2010 using 2009 graduation data 

met one of the 5 criteria in §708.F, above for the whole 
school. 

4. beginning in fall 2011 using 2010 graduation data 
met one of the 5 criteria in §708.F, above for the whole 
school and each subgroup within the school with sufficient 
data for a valid and reliable decision. 

Note: If a school in which all subgroups have passed the 
subgroup component does not pass the additional academic 
indicator, it shall not pass the subgroup component. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2744 (December 
2003), amended LR 30:2256 (October 2004), LR 32:1026 (June 
2006, LR 33:2594 (December 2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 

kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7 provide detail 
for the subgroup portion of the Louisiana School and District 
Accountability system to include the additional academic 
indicator for schools with a 12th grade to be evaluated 
consistent with procedures required by the U.S. Department of 
Education. These proposed changes will also include the 
establishment of annual targets for schools and subgroups 
within schools, removal of “confidence intervals” as required 
by the U.S. Department of Education, and establishment of 
waiver procedures for schools entering School Improvement 1 
under certain conditions. 

The proposed Rule changes will result in no cost or savings 
to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated costs and/or economic benefits 
to directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District—Manner of 
Operation of Failed Schools (LAC 28:CXLV.Chapter 7) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District: 
Chapter 7. Manner of Operation of Failed Schools. The 
proposed policy aligns the Recovery School District with 
BESE Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, and outlines the fiscal and internal 
management of the Recovery School District. Chapter 7 
outlines the manner in which the Recovery School District 
may operate failing schools. It provides that the Recovery 
School District may operate the schools as direct run 
schools, as Type 5 charters, or as a University Partnership 
School. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
Chapter 7. Manner of Operation of Failed Schools 
§701. Direct-Operation 

A. BESE may authorize that a school transferred from an 
LEA to the RSD be operated directly by the RSD.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5 (A)(1), R.S. 17:10.5(B), 17:10.7(A) (1), 
R.S. 17:10.7(B), and 17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§703. Type 5 Charter School 

A. BESE may direct that a school transferred from an 
LEA to the RSD be operated by a nonprofit organization 
holding a charter for a Type 5 charter school, under the 
auspices of the RSD. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5 (A) (1), R.S. 17:10.5(B), R.S. 
17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(B)(1), R.S. 17:1990(A)(2); and R.S. 
17:3973 (2)(b) (v)(aa). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§705. University Partnership School 

A. BESE may direct that a school transferred from an 
LEA to the RSD be operated by the RSD in partnership with 
a University Partnership School, under the auspices of the 
RSD.  

B. In providing for the operation of schools within its 
jurisdiction, at any time the RSD seeks participation by a 
college or university or a consortium of colleges and 
universities to provide for the operation of any school or 
group of schools, then colleges and universities that 
historically were established to provide education for 
African American students in the state shall be included in 
any opportunity to participate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.5(B), R.S. 
17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(B)(1)R.S. 17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 
17:1990(B)(2)(b). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? Lacks sufficient information to determine. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P. O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School 

District—Manner of Operation of Failed Schools 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy aligns the Recovery School District 
(RSD) with BESE Bulletin 741, La Handbook for School 
Administrators and outlines the fiscal and internal management 
of the Recovery School District. The cost to publish and 
distribute the Bulletin will cost approximately $2,000. 

Chapter 7 outlines the manner in which the Recovery 
School District may operate failing schools. It provides that the 
Recovery School District may operate the schools as direct run 
schools, as type 5 charters, or as a University Partnership 
School. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy provisions will have no effects on 
revenue collections of state and local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#052 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Assignment and Transfer of Students 

(LAC 28:CXV.1109) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1109. Assignment 
and Transfer of Students. This policy revision to Section 
1109, required by Act 699 of the 2010 Regular Legislative 
Session, prohibits school districts from denying admission to 
students of suitable age residing in the geographical 
boundaries of the school district. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 11. Student Services 
§1109. Assignment and Transfer of Students 

A. - C.2. … 
D. No city, parish, or other local public school board 

shall deny admission or readmission to school of any student 
of suitable age who resides within the geographic boundaries 
of the school system unless such student is legally excluded 
from attending school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:105; R.S. 17:221.2; R.S. 17:221. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1274 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2353 (November 2007), LR 36:1225 (June 2010), 
LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 

State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  

for School Administrators―Assignment  
and Transfer of Students 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to Section 1109, required by Act 699 

of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, prohibits school 
districts from denying admission to students of suitable age 
residing in the geographical boundaries of the school district. 
These changes will not result in an increase in costs or savings 
to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsAttendance (LAC 28:CXV.1103 and 1105) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1103. Compulsory 
Attendance and §1105. Types of Absences. The policy 
revisions to Section 1103 and 1105, required by Acts 644 
and 666 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, relate to 
the options for students who drop out of school, parental 
notification of absences, students who are employed to 
render artistic or creative services, and clarification of 
definitions of the types of absences.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§1103. Compulsory Attendance 
A. Students who have attained the age of seven years 

shall attend a public or private day school or participate in an 
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approved home study program until they reach the age of 18 
years. Any child below the age of seven who legally enrolls 
in school shall also be subject to compulsory attendance. 
Refer to Chapter 33 for information on home study 
programs. 

B. Students between the ages of 17 and 18 may 
withdraw from school prior to graduation with the written 
consent of their parents, tutors, or legal guardians. A parent, 
tutor, or legal guardian who has given written consent for a 
student under his or her control or charge to withdraw from 
school prior to graduation, or who has a student who is 
under the age of 17 and is attending or is seeking admission 
to a National Guard Youth Challenge Program in this state, 
shall not be considered to be in violation of the compulsory 
attendance law. 

1. A student, under eighteen years of age, who 
withdraws from school prior to graduating from high school 
and who has been ruled to be a truant, pursuant to the 
provisions of Chapter 15 of Title VII of the Louisiana 
Children's Code, by a court of competent jurisdiction can be 
ordered by the court to exercise one of the following options 
within 120 days of leaving school. 

a. Reenroll in school and make continual progress 
toward completing the requirements for high school 
graduation. 

b. Enroll in a high school equivalency diploma 
program and make continual progress toward completing the 
requirements for earning such diploma. 

c. Enlist in the Louisiana National Guard or a 
branch of the United States Armed Forces, with a 
commitment for at least two years of service, and earn a high 
school equivalency diploma during such service period. 

2. The parent, tutor, or other person responsible for 
the school attendance of a student who is under age 18 and 
who is enrolled in school beyond his sixteenth birthday may 
request that the student be allowed to attend an alternative 
education program or a career and technical education 
program. In the case of a student who has no parent, tutor, or 
other person responsible for his school attendance, the 
superintendent of the LEA may act on behalf of the student 
in making such a request. Upon such request, the 
superintendent of the LEA in which the student is enrolled 
shall be responsible for determining whether the student 
remains in the regular school setting or attends an alternative 
education program or a career and technical education 
program, and for developing and implementing an 
individualized plan of education for such student. 

3. The compulsory attendance law does not prohibit a 
student who is at least 16 years of age and who meets the 
criteria in §2703 from attending an effective adult education 
program approved by BESE. A parent, tutor, or other person 
responsible for the school attendance of a child who is at 
least 16 years of age but under age 18 and who is enrolled in 
and is fulfilling the attendance requirements of an adult 
education program that is approved by BESE shall be 
considered to be in compliance with the compulsory 
attendance law. 

C. - E.4. … 
F. The LEA shall provide educational and related 

services to exceptional students in accordance with the IEP 
for no fewer than 177 days, or the equivalent (63,720 
minutes), during the normal 182-day school cycle. 

G. Elementary students shall be in attendance a 
minimum of 167 six hour days or 60,120 minutes a school 
year. In order to be eligible to receive grades, high school 
students shall be in attendance a minimum of 30,060 
minutes (equivalent to 83.5 six hour school days), per 
semester or 60,120 minutes (equivalent to 167 six hour 
school days) a school year for schools not operating on a 
semester basis.  

1. To receive Carnegie credit for a course, the 
minimum amount of time students must be present shall be 
as follows: 

a. 10,020 minutes for a six-period schedule; 
b. 8,589 minutes for a seven-period schedule; and 
c. 7,515 minutes for an eight-period or 4x4 block 

schedule; 
d. for other schedule configurations, students must 

attend a minimum of 7,515 minutes. 
2. Students in danger of failing due to excessive 

absences may be allowed to make up missed time in class 
sessions held outside the regular class time. The make-up 
sessions must be completed before the end of the current 
semester and all other policies must be met. 

H. Each LEA shall develop and implement a system 
whereby the principal of a school, or his designee, shall 
notify the parent or legal guardian in writing upon on or 
before a student's third unexcused absence or unexcused 
occurrence of being tardy, and shall hold a conference with 
such student's parent or legal guardian. This notification 
shall include information relative to the parent or legal 
guardian’s legal responsibility to enforce the student’s 
attendance at school and the civil penalties that may be 
incurred if the student is determined to be habitually absent 
or habitually tardy. The student's parent or legal guardian 
shall sign a receipt for such notification. 

I. Tardy shall include but not be limited to leaving or 
checking out of school unexcused prior to the regularly 
scheduled dismissal time at the end of the school day but 
shall not include reporting late to class when transferring 
from one class to another during the school day. 

J. Exceptions to the attendance regulation shall be the 
enumerated extenuating circumstances below that are 
verified by the Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance 
or the school principal/designee where indicated. These 
exempted absences do not apply in determining whether a 
student meets the minimum minutes of instruction required 
to receive credit: 

1. extended personal physical or emotional illness as 
verified by a physician or nurse practitioner licensed in the 
state; 

2. extended hospital stay in which a student is absent 
as verified by a physician or dentist; 

3. extended recuperation from an accident in which a 
student is absent as verified by a physician, dentist, or nurse 
practitioner licensed in the state;  

4. extended contagious disease within a family in 
which a student is absent as verified by a physician or dentist 
licensed in the state; or 

5. observance of special and recognized holidays of 
the student's own faith; 

6. visitation with a parent who is a member of the 
United States Armed Forces or the National Guard of a state 
and such parent has been called to duty for or is on leave 
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from overseas deployment to a combat zone or combat 
support posting. Excused absences in this situation shall not 
exceed five school days per school year; 

7. absences verified and approved by the school 
principal or designee as stated below: 

a. prior school system-approved travel for 
education; 

b. death in the immediate family (not to exceed one 
week); or 

c. natural catastrophe and/or disaster. 
K. For any other extenuating circumstances, the student's 

parents or legal guardian must make a formal appeal in 
accordance with the due process procedures established by 
the LEA. 

L. Students who are verified as meeting extenuating 
circumstances, and therefore eligible to receive grades, shall 
not receive those grades if they are unable to complete 
makeup work or pass the course. 

M. Students participating in school-approved field trips 
or other instructional activities that necessitate their being 
away from school shall be considered to be present and shall 
be given the opportunity to make up work. 

N. If a student is absent from school for two or more 
days within a 30-day period under a contract or employment 
arrangement to render artistic or creative services for 
compensation as set forth in the Child Performer Trust Act 
(R.S. 51:2131, et seq.) the employer shall employ a certified 
teacher, beginning on the second day of employment, to 
provide a minimum of three education instruction hours per 
day to the student pursuant to the lesson plans for the 
particular student as provided by the principal and teachers 
at the student's school. There must be a teacher to student 
ratio of one teacher for every 10 students. 

Note: Refer to §1117. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:112; R.S. 17:221.3-4; R.S. 17:226.1; R.S. 17:233. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1273 (June 2005), 
amended LR 32:546 (April 2006), LR 32:1030 (June 2006), LR 
33:2351 (November 2007), LR 35:641 (April 2009), LR 35:1097 
(June 2009), LR 35:1475 (August 2009), LR 36:482 (March 2010), 
LR 36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37: 
§1105. Types of Absences 

A. The days absent for elementary and secondary school 
students shall include non-exempted, excused; exempted, 
excused, unexcused absences and suspensions. 

B. Non-exempted, excused absences are absences 
incurred due to personal illness or serious illness in the 
family (documented by acceptable excuses, including a 
parental note) which are not considered for purposes of 
truancy, but which are considered when determining whether 
or not a student is eligible to make up work and tests, receive 
credit for work completed, and receive credit for a course 
and/or school year completed. 

C. Exempted, Excused Absences―absences which are 
not considered for purposes of truancy and which are not 
considered when determining whether or not a student is 
eligible to make up work and tests, receive credit for work 
completed, and receive credit for a course and/or school year 
completed. 

D. Unexcused Absence―any absence not meeting the 
requirements set forth in the excused absence and 
extenuating circumstances definitions, including but not 
limited to absences due to any job (including agriculture and 
domestic services, even in their own homes or for their own 
parents or tutors) unless it is part of an approved 
instructional program. Students shall be given failing grades 
in those days missed and shall not be given an opportunity to 
make up work. 

E. Suspension―a non-exempted absence in which a 
student is allowed to make up his work and is eligible for 
consideration for credit provided it is completed 
satisfactorily and in a timely manner. The absence is 
considered when determining whether or not a student may 
or may not be promoted, but is not considered for purposes 
of truancy. Students absent from school as a result of any 
suspension shall be counted as absent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
17:226; R.S. 17:235.2; R.S. 17:416. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1274 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:482 (March 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School AdministratorsAttendance 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These policy revisions to Section 1303, required by Acts 

644 and 666 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, relate to 
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the options for students who drop out of school, parental 
notification of absences, students who are employed to render 
artistic or creative services, and clarification of definitions of 
the types of absences. These changes will not result in an 
increase in costs or savings to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Building and Maintenance  

(LAC 28:CXV.1501) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1501. Building and 
Maintenance. This policy revision, required by Act 413 of 
the 2009 Regular Legislative Session, requires school 
districts to adopt and implement policies for the inspection 
of fire safety and prevention equipment and establishes 
minimum requirements for the policies. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 15. Plant Operations and Maintenance 
§1501. Building and Maintenance 

A. - F.3. … 
G. Each LEA shall adopt and implement policies 

providing for inspections by qualified persons of all fire 
safety and prevention equipment, including fire alarm and 
smoke detection devices, at least twice during each school 
year and to require that all necessary actions be taken in a 
timely manner to assure that all such equipment is in good 
working order and meets the need for which it is intended. 

1. The policy, at a minimum, shall provide that: 
a. any employee who performs an inspection shall 

have received appropriate training; 
b. documentation of the employee’s training shall 

be included in his/her personnel file. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17: 24.5; R.S. 17:81; R.S. 17:151. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1285 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Building and Maintenance 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy revision, required by Act 413 of the 2009 
Regular Legislative Session, requires school districts to adopt 
and implement policies for the inspection of fire safety and 
prevention equipment and establishes minimum requirements 
for the policies. These changes will not result in an increase in 
costs or savings to state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCurriculum and Instruction  

(LAC 28:CXV.2318, 2319, and 2363) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2318. The College 
and Career Diploma, §2319. The Career Diploma, and 
§2363. Social Studies. These policy revisions, required by 
Act 327 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, require all 
students who enter the ninth grade on or after July 1, 2011 to 
complete one unit of credit in Civics, which shall include a 
section on Free Enterprise. Also, entering ninth graders in 
2011-2012 will no longer be required to complete 1/2 credit 
of Free Enterprise. Students who enter the ninth grade prior 
to 2011 shall be allowed to complete one credit of Civics or 
1/2 credit of Civics and 1/2 credit of Free Enterprise. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2318. The College and Career Diploma 

A. - B.2.c. … 
3. Remediation and retake opportunities will be 

provided for students that do not pass the GEE or, LAA 2, or 
the end-of-course tests. Students shall be offered 50 hours of 
remediation each year in each content area they do not pass 
on the GEE or LAA 2. Students shall be offered 30 hours of 
remediation each year in each EOC test they do not pass. 
Refer to Bulletin 1566—Guidelines for Pupil Progression., 
and the addendum to Bulletin 1566—Regulations for the 
Implementation of Remedial Education Programs Related to 
the LEAP/CRT Program, Regular School Year. 

4. - 5.a. … 
C. Minimum Course Requirements  

1. For incoming freshmen prior to 2008-2009, the 
minimum course requirements for graduation shall be the 
following. 

 
English 4 units 
Shall be English I, II, and III, and English IV or Business English or 

Senior Applications in English. 
Mathematics 3 units 
(Effective for incoming freshmen 2005-2006 and beyond.) 
All students must complete one of the following: 
Algebra I (1 unit); or 
Algebra I-Pt. 1 and Algebra I-Pt. 2 (2 units); or 
Integrated Mathematics I (1 unit). 
The remaining unit(s) shall come from the following: 
Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, Geometry, Algebra 

II, Financial Mathematics, Advanced Math—Pre-Calculus, Advanced Math—
Functions and Statistics, Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Probability and Statistics, Math 
Essentials, and Discrete Mathematics. 

(Effective for incoming freshmen 1997-98 through 2004-2005) 
Shall be selected from the following courses and may include a maximum 

of 2 entry level courses (designated by E): 
 

Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-Part 1 (E), Algebra I-Part 2, 
Integrated Mathematics I (E), Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated 

Mathematics III, Applied Mathematics I (E), Applied Mathematics II, Applied 
Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, 
Advanced Mathematics I, Advanced Mathematics II, Pre-Calculus, Calculus, 
Probability and Statistics, Math Essentials, and Discrete Mathematics. 

Science 3 units 
Shall be the following: 
1 unit of Biology; 
1 unit from the following physical science cluster: 
Physical Science, Integrated Science, Chemistry I, Physics I, Physics of 

Technology I; 
1 unit from the following courses: 
Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Earth Science, 

Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics of Technology II, Agriscience II, an 
additional course from the physical science cluster, or a locally initiated science 
elective; 

Students may not take both Integrated Science and Physical Science; 
Agriscience I is a prerequisite for Agriscience II and is an elective course. 
Social Studies 3 units 
Shall be American History, 1/2 unit of Civics or AP American 

Government, and 1/2 unit of Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a 
section on Free Enterprise; and 1 of the following: World History, World 
Geography, Western Civilization, or AP European History. 

Health Education 1/2 unit 
Physical Education 1 1/2 units 
Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, or Adapted 

Physical Education for eligible special education students. A maximum of 4 
units of Physical Education may be used toward graduation. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. 
Electives 8 units 
TOTAL 23 units 

 
2. For incoming freshmen in 2008-2009 and beyond 

who are completing the Louisiana basic core curriculum, the 
minimum course requirements for graduation shall be the 
following. 

 
English 4 units 
Shall be English I, II, and III, and English IV or Senior Applications 

in English 
Mathematics 4 units 
Algebra I (1 unit), Applied Algebra I (1 unit), or Algebra I-Pt. 1 and 

Algebra I-Pt. 2 (2 units) 
Geometry or Applied Geometry 
The remaining unit(s) shall come from the following: 

Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, Math Essentials, Advanced Math—Pre-
Calculus, Advanced Math—Functions and Statistics, Pre-Calculus, 
Calculus, Probability and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, or a locally 
initiated elective approved by BESE as a math substitute. 

Science 3 units 
Shall be the following: 
1 unit of Biology; 
1 unit from the following physical science cluster: 
Physical Science, Integrated Science, Chemistry I, Physics I, Physics 

of Technology I; 
1 unit from the following courses: 
Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Earth Science, 

Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics of Technology II, Agriscience 
II, Anatomy and Physiology, an additional course from the physical science 
cluster, or a locally initiated elective approved by BESE as a science 
substitute. 
 Students may not take both Integrated Science and Physical 

Science 
 Agriscience I is a prerequisite for Agriscience II and is an 

elective course. 
Social Studies 3 units 
Shall be the following: 
1 unit of American History,;  
1/2 unit of Civics or AP American Government, and 1/2 unit of Free 

Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a section on Free Enterprise*;  
1 unit from the following: World History, World Geography, Western 

Civilization, or AP European History. 
*Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 and beyond must have one 

unit of Civics with a section on Free Enterprise. 
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Health Education 1/2 unit 
JROTC I and II may be used to meet the Health Education 

requirement. Refer to §2347. 
Physical Education 1 1/2 units 
Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, or Adapted 

Physical Education for eligible special education students. A maximum of 4 
units of Physical Education may be used toward graduation. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. 
Education for Careers or 
Journey to Careers* 1 unit 

Electives 7 units 
Shall include the minimum courses required to complete a Career 

Area of Concentration* 
TOTAL 

*Take effect for incoming freshmen 
in 2010-2011 and beyond 

24 units 

 
3. For incoming freshmen in 2008-2009 and beyond 

who are completing the Louisiana Core 4 Curriculum, the 
minimum course requirements shall be the following. 

 
English 4 units 
Shall be English I, II, III, and English IV  
Mathematics 4 units 
Algebra I, Applied Algebra I, or Algebra I-Pt. 2  
Geometry or Applied Geometry 
Algebra II 
The remaining unit shall come from the following: 
Financial Mathematics, Math Essentials, Advanced Math—Pre-

Calculus, Advanced Math—Functions and Statistics, Pre-Calculus, 
Calculus, Probability and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, or a locally-
initiated elective approved by BESE as a math substitute. 

Science 4 units 
Shall be the following: 
1 unit of Biology; 
1 unit of Chemistry; 
2 units from the following courses: 
Physical Science, Integrated Science, Physics I, Physics of 

Technology I, Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Earth 
Science, Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics of Technology II, 
Agriscience II, Anatomy and Physiology, or a locally initiated elective 
approved by BESE as a science substitute. 
 Students may not take both Integrated Science and  

Physical Science 
 Agriscience I is a prerequisite for Agriscience II and  

is an elective course. 
A student completing a Career Area of Concentration may 

substitute one of the following BESE/Board of Regents approved IBC-
related course from within the student's Area of Concentration for the 
fourth required science unit: 

Advanced Nutrition and Foods; 
Food Services II; 
Allied Health Services II; 
Dental Assistant II; 
Emergency Medical Technician-Basic (EMT-B); 
Health Science II; 
Medical Assistant II; 
Sports Medicine III; 
Advanced Electricity/Electronics; 
Process Technician II; 
ABC Electrical II; 
Computer Service Technology II; 
Horticulture II; 
Networking Basics; 
Routers and Routing Basics; 
Switching Basics and Intermediate Routing; 
WAN Technologies; 
Animal Science; 
Biotechnology in Agriscience; 
Environmental Studies in Agriscience; 
Equine Science; 
Forestry; 
Horticulture; 
Small Animal Care/Management; 
Veterinary Assistant; 
Oracle Academy Course: DB Programming with PL/SQL. 

Social Studies 4 units 
Shall be the following: 
1/2 unit of Civics or AP American Government, and 1/2 unit of 

Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a section on Free Enterprise; 
* 

1 unit of American History; 
1 unit from the following: 
World History, World Geography, Western Civilization, or  

AP European History; 
1 unit from the following:  
World History, World Geography, Western Civilization,  

AP European History, Law Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Civics 
(second semester—1/2 credit) or African American Studies. 

NOTE: Students may take two half credit courses for the fourth 
required social studies unit. 

A student completing a Career and Technical Area of 
Concentration may substitute one of the following BESE/Board of 
Regents approved IBC-related course from within the student’s Area of 
Concentration for the fourth required social studies unit: 

Advanced Child Development; 
Early Childhood Education II; 
Family and Consumer Sciences II; 
ProStart II; 
T & I Cooperative Education (TICE); 
Cooperative Agriculture Education; 
Administrative Support Occupations; 
Business Communication; 
Cooperative Office Education; 
Entrepreneurship – Business; 
Lodging Management II; 
Advertising and Sales Promotion; 
Cooperative Marketing Education I; 
Entrepreneurship – Marketing; 
Marketing Management; 
Marketing Research; 
Principles of Marketing II; 
Retail Marketing; 
Tourism Marketing; 
CTE Internship; 
General Cooperative Education II; 
STAR II. 

*Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 and beyond must have 
one unit of Civics with a section on Free Enterprise. 

Health Education 1/2 unit 
JROTC I and II may be used to meet the Health Education 

requirement. Refer to §2347. 
Physical Education 1 1/2 units 
Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, or 

Adapted Physical Education for eligible special education students. A 
maximum of four units of Physical Education may be used toward 
graduation. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. 
Foreign Language 2 units 
Shall be 2 units in the same foreign language or 2 Speech courses 
Arts 1 unit 
1 unit Fine Arts Survey or 1 unit of Art (§2333), Dance (§2337), 

Music (§2355), Theatre Arts (§2333), or Applied Arts. 
A student completing a Career and Technical Area of 

Concentration may substitute one of the following BESE/Board of 
Regents approved IBC-related course from within the student's area of 
concentration for the required applied arts unit: 

Advanced Clothing and Textiles; 
ABC Carpentry II TE; 
ABC Electrical II TE; 
ABC Welding Technology II; 
Advanced Metal Technology; 
Advanced Technical Drafting; 
Architectural Drafting; 
ABC Carpentry II - T&I; 
ABC Welding Technology II - T&I; 
Cabinetmaking II; 
Commercial Art II; 
Cosmetology II; 
Culinary Occupations II; 
Custom Sewing II; 
Graphic Arts II; 
Photography II; 
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Television Production II; 
Upholstery II; 
Welding II; 
ABC Carpentry In Agriscience; 
ABC Electricity in Agriscience; 
ABC Welding Technology Agriscience; 
Agriscience Construction Technology; 
Agriscience Power Equipment; 
Floristry; 
Landscape Design and Construction; 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications; 
Accounting II; 
Business Computer Applications; 
Computer Multimedia Presentations; 
Desktop Publishing; 
Keyboarding Applications; 
Telecommunications; 
Web Design I and II; 
Word Processing; 
Digital Media II. 
Electives 3 units 
TOTAL 24 units 

 
4. - 6.a.iv. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R. S. 17:183.2-3; R.S. 17:274; R.S. 17:274.1; 
R.S. 17: 395. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 36:1486 (July 
2010), LR 37: 
§2319. The Career Diploma 

A. - B.2.c. … 
3. Remediation and retake opportunities will be 

provided for students who do not pass the GEE or, LAA 2 
tests, or the end-of-course tests. Students shall be offered 50 
hours of remediation each year in each content area they do 
not pass on the GEE or LAA 2. Students shall be offered 30 
hours of remediation each year in each EOC test they do not 
pass. Refer to Bulletin 1566—Guidelines for Pupil 
Progression.5 

C. Minimum Course Requirements 
1. The minimum course requirements for a career 

diploma shall be the following. 
 

English 4 units 
Shall be: 
English I; 
English II; 
The remaining unit shall come from the following 
Technical Reading and Writing; 
Business English; 
Business Communications; 
Using Research in Careers (1/2 credit); 
American Literature (1/2 credit); 
Film in America (1/2 credit); 
English III; 
English IV; 
Senior Applications in English; 
a course developed by the LEA and approved by BESE. 

Mathematics 4 units 
Shall be 
One of the following: 
Algebra I (1 unit); or 
Algebra I-Pt. 1 and Algebra I-Pt. 2 (2 units); or 
Applied Algebra I (1 unit). 
The remaining units shall come from the following: 
Geometry or Applied Geometry; 
Technical Math; 
Medical Math; 
Applications in Statistics and Probability; 
Financial Math; 
Math Essentials; 
Algebra II; 
Advanced Math—Pre-Calculus; 
Discrete Mathematics; 
course(s) developed by the LEA and approved by BESE. 
Science 3 units 
Shall be: 
Biology I; 
1 unit from the following physical science cluster: 
Physical Science; 
Integrated Science; 
Chemistry I; 
ChemCom; 
Physics I; 
Physics of Technology I. 
The remaining unit shall come from the following: 
Food Science; 
Forensic Science; 
Allied Health Science; 
Basic Body Structure and Function; 
Basic Physics with Applications; 
Aerospace Science; 
Earth Science; 
Agriscience II; 
Physics of Technology II; 
Environmental Science; 
Anatomy and Physiology; 
Animal Science; 
Biotechnology in Agriculture; 
Environmental Studies in Agriculture; 
Health Science II; 
EMT—Basic; 
an additional course from the physical science cluster; 
course(s) developed by the LEA and approved by BESE. 
NOTE: Students may not take both Integrated Science and 

Physical Science Agriscience I is a prerequisite for Agriscience II and is 
an elective course. 

Social Studies 3 units 
Shall be: 
American History; 
1/2 unit of Civics or AP American Government, and 1/2 unit of 

Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a section on Free 
Enterprise;*  

The remaining unit shall come from the following: 
Child Psychology and Parenthood Education; 
Law Studies; 
Psychology; 
Sociology; 
World History; 
World Geography; 
Western Civilization; 
Economics; 
American Government; 
African American Studies; 
course developed by the LEA and approved by BESE. 

*Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 and beyond must have 
one unit of Civics with a section on Free Enterprise. 

Health Education 1/2 unit 
JROTC I and II may be used to meet the Health Education 

requirement. Refer to §2347. 
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Physical Education 1 1/2 units 
Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, or 

Adapted Physical Education for eligible special education students. A 
maximum of 4 units of Physical Education may be used toward 
graduation. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. 
Career/Technical Education 7 units 
Education for Careers or Journey to Careers 
Six credits required for a career Area of Concentration. 
TOTAL 23 units 

 
2. - 3. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R.S. 17:183.2; R.S. 17:183.3; R.S. 17:274; R.S. 
17:274.1; R.S. 17:395. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:240 (February 2006), 
amended LR 37: 
§2363. Social Studies 

A. Social Studies Requirements for the College and 
Career Diploma 

1. Louisiana Core 4 Curriculum. Four units of social 
studies are required. They shall be American History, 1/2 
unit of Civics or AP American Government, and 1/2 unit of 
Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a section on 
Free Enterprise; one of the following: World History, World 
Geography, Western Civilization, or AP European History; 
and one additional social studies course. 

a. Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 
and beyond must have one unit of Civics with a section on 
Free Enterprise. 

b. A student completing a Career Area of 
Concentration may substitute one of the following 
BESE/Board of Regents approved IBC-related course from 
within the student's Area of Concentration for the fourth 
required social studies unit: 
 i. Advanced Child Development; 
 ii. Early Childhood Education II; 
 iii. Family and Consumer Sciences II; 
 iv. ProStart II; 
 v. T and I Cooperative Education (TICE); 
 vi. Cooperative Agriculture Education; 
 vii. Administrative Support Occupations; 
 viii. Business Communication, Cooperative Office 
Education; 
 ix. EntrepreneurshipBusiness; 
 x. Lodging Management II; 
 xi. Advertising and Sales Promotion; 
 xii. Cooperative Marketing Education I; 
 xiii. Entrepreneurship – Marketing; 
 xiv. Marketing Management; 
 xv. Marketing Research; 
 xvi. Principles of Marketing II; 
 xvii. Retail Marketing; 
 xviii. Tourism Marketing; 
 xix. CTE Internship; 
 xx. General Cooperative Education II; and 
 xxi. STAR II. 

2. Louisiana Basic Core Curriculum. For students 
completing the basic core curriculum and for incoming 
freshmen prior to 2008-2009, three units of social studies 
shall be required for graduation. They shall be American 
History, 1/2 unit of Civics or AP American Government, and 
1/2 unit of Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a 

section on Free Enterprise; and one of the following: World 
History, World Geography, Western Civilization, or AP 
European History. 

a. Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 
and beyond must have one unit of Civics with a section on 
Free Enterprise. 

3. The social studies course offerings for the college 
and career diploma shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title(s) Units 
American Government 1 
American History 1 
Civics 1 
Economics 1 
Free Enterprise 1/2 
Law Studies 1 
Psychology 1 
Sociology 1 
AP European History 1 
African American Studies 1 
Approve IBC-related courses for those students who meet 
the requirement 1 each 

 
B. Social Studies Requirements for the Career Diploma 

1. For students completing the Career Diploma, three 
units of social studies shall be required for graduation. They 
shall be American History, 1/2 unit of Civics, and 1/2 unit of 
Free Enterprise or 1 unit of Civics including a section on 
Free Enterprise; and one additional social studies course. 

a. Students entering the ninth grade in 2011-2012 
and beyond must have one unit of Civics with a section on 
Free Enterprise.  

2. The social studies course offerings for the career 
diploma shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title(s) Units 
American Government 1 
American History 1 
Civics 1 
Economics 1 
Free Enterprise 1/2 
Law Studies 1 
Psychology 1 
Sociology 1 
African American Studies 1 
Child Psychology and Parenthood Education 1 
Course(s) developed by the LEA and approved by BESE 1 

 
C. Economics may be taught by a teacher certified in 

business education. 
D. Free Enterprise and the 1 credit Civics course shall 

include instruction in personal finance. Such instruction 
shall include but shall not be limited to the following 
components: 

1. income; 
2. money management; 
3. spending and credit; 
4. savings and investing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R.S. 17:183.3; R.S. 17:274; R.S. 17:274.1; R.S. 
17:274-274.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1298 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 33:431 (March 2007), 
LR 33:2606 (December 2007), LR 36:1495 (July 2010), LR 37: 
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Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School AdministratorsCurriculum and Instruction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These policy revisions, required by Act 327 of the 2010 

Regular Legislative Session, requires all students who enter the 
ninth grade on or after July 1, 2011 to complete one unit of 
credit in Civics which shall include a section on Free 
Enterprise. Also, entering ninth graders in 2011-2012 will no 
longer be required to complete 1/2 credit of Free Enterprise. 
Students who enter the ninth grade prior to 2011 shall be 
allowed to complete one credit of Civics or 1/2 credit of Civics 
and ½ credit of Free Enterprise. Also, the revisions include the 
requirement for the number of hours of remediation provided to 
students who fail the End-of-Course (EOC) Tests. Since the 
Louisiana Department of Education is already planning to 
revise social studies standards and curriculum, these changes 
will not result in an increase in costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#069 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Disciplinary Regulations  

(LAC 28:CXV.1301) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1301. Disciplinary 
Regulations. This policy revision to Section 1301, required 
by Act 755 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, requires 
school districts to adopt a student code of conduct and to 
include in the code of conduct rules related to cyberbullying. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 13. Discipline 
§1301. Disciplinary Regulations 

A. - J. … 
K. Each LEA shall adopt a student code of conduct for 

the students in its school system.  
1. Such code of conduct shall be in compliance with 

all existing rules, regulations, and policies of the board and 
of BESE and all state laws relative to student discipline and 
shall include any necessary disciplinary action to be taken 
against any student who violates the code of conduct. 

2. Except for the parishes of Livingston, East Baton 
Rouge, East Feliciana, West Feliciana, St. Helena, and 
Tangipahoa, each LEA shall adopt and incorporate into the 
student code of conduct a policy prohibiting the harassment, 
intimidation, and bullying of a student by another student, 
including any intentional gesture or written, verbal, or 
physical act that: 

a. a reasonable person under the circumstances 
should know will have the effect of harming a student or 
damaging his property or placing a student in reasonable fear 
of harm to his life or person or damage to his property; and 

b. is so severe, persistent, or pervasive that it creates 
an intimidating, threatening, or abusive educational 
environment for a student. 

3. Any student, school employee, or school volunteer 
who in good faith reports an incident of harassment, 
intimidation, or bullying to the appropriate school official in 
accordance with the procedures established by local board 
policy shall be immune from a right of action for damages 
arising from any failure to remedy the reported incident. 

4. Cyberbullying 
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a. The governing authority of each public 
elementary and secondary school to conduct (by not later 
than Jan. 1, 2011) shall review the student code of conduct 
mandated by present law and amend such code as may be 
necessary to assure that the policy prohibiting the 
harassment, intimidation, and bullying of a student by 
another student specifically addresses the nature, extent, 
causes, and consequences of cyberbullying. 

b. The term "cyberbullying" means harassment, 
intimidation, or bullying of a student on school property by 
another student using a computer, mobile phone, or other 
interactive or digital technology, or harassment, intimidation, 
or bullying of a student while off school property by another 
student using any such means when the action or actions are 
intended to have an effect on the student when the student is 
on school property. 

c. Beginning on Jan. 1, 2011, and continuing 
thereafter, the governing authority of each public elementary 
and secondary school shall inform each student in writing 
within 10 days after enrolling in school of the prohibition 
against harassment, intimidation, and bullying, including 
cyberbullying, of a student by another student; the nature 
and consequences of such actions; and the process and 
procedures for reporting an incident involving the prohibited 
actions. 

d. Each such governing authority, by not later than 
Jan. 1, 2011, must adopt a policy establishing procedures for 
the investigation of reports involving the prohibited actions. 

e. Each public elementary and secondary school 
governing authority must use the DOE behavior incidence 
checklist to document the details of each reported incident or 
harassment, intimidation, and bullying, including 
cyberbullying. 

f. Each school governing authority shall report all 
such documented incidents to the DOE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:223-224; R.S. 17:416; 17:416.13. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1282 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:1225 (June 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Disciplinary Regulations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy revision to Section 1301, required by Act 755 
of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, requires school 
districts to adopt a student code of conduct and to include in the 
code of conduct rules related to cyperbullying. These changes 
will not result in an increase in costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsDiscipline  

(LAC 28:CXV.1301 and 1302) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1301. Disciplinary 
Regulations and §1302. Disruptive Behavior. These policy 
revisions, required by Act 240 of the 2009 Regular 
Legislative Session, describe the types of behavior for which 
a teacher may call for the removal of students from the 
classroom and they prescribe requirements for parental 
notification and involvement. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 13. Discipline 
§1301. Disciplinary Regulations 

A. Each local educational governing authority shall 
adopt such rules and regulations as it deems necessary to 
implement and control any disorderly conduct in the school 
or on the playground of the school, or on the street or road 
while going to and from school, or during intermission and 
recess. 

1. The plan shall not prohibit a teacher from removing 
a pupil from the classroom for disciplinary reasons. 

B. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:223-224; R.S. 17:252; R.S. 17:416. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1282 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 
§1302. Disruptive Behavior 

A. A teacher may have a student immediately removed 
from his/her classroom and placed in the custody of the 
principal or his/her designee: 

1. when the students behavior prevents the orderly 
instruction of other students or poses an immediate threat to 
the safety or physical well being of any student or teacher;  

2. when a student exhibits disrespectful behavior 
toward the teacher such as using foul or abusive language or 
gestures directed at or threatening a student or a teacher, 

3. when a student violates the school’s code of 
conduct; 

4. or, when a student exhibits other disruptive, 
dangerous, or unruly behavior, including inappropriate 
physical contact, inappropriate verbal conduct, sexual or 
other harassment, throwing objects, inciting other students to 
misbehave, or destroying property. 

B. The principal or his designee shall advise the student 
of the particular misconduct of which he/she is accused and 
the student shall be given an opportunity to explain his 
version of the facts. 

C. The principal or his/her designee then shall conduct a 
counseling session with the student as may be appropriate to 
establish a course of action to identify and correct the 
behavior. 

D. The principal or his designee shall provide oral or 
written notification to the parent or legal guardian of any 
student removed from the classroom. Such notification shall 
include a description of any disciplinary action taken. 

E. The principal or his/her designee may provide oral or 
written feedback to the teachers initiating the removal of 
students from the classroom. The principal and his/her 
designee may also provide to such teachers guidance and 
support on practicing effective classroom management, 
including, but not limited to positive behavior supports. 

F. Each LEA may adopt a policy that requires the parent 
or guardian of a student removed from the classroom for 
disruptive behavior to attend after school or Saturday 
intervention sessions with the student. 

1. The LEA may refer a parent who fails to attend 
such session to the court of competent jurisdiction. 

2. Each time a parent is referred to the court of 
competent jurisdiction, the court may impose a fine of not 
less than $25 and not more than $250, 40 hours of court-
approved school or community service activities, or a 
combination of 40 hours of court-approved school or 
community service activities an attendance at a court-
approved family counseling program by both a parent or 
legal guardian and the student, and may suspend any 
recreational license issued by the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:416. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School AdministratorsDiscipline 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

These policy revisions, required by Act 240 of the 2009 
Regular Legislative Session, describe the types of behavior for 
which a teacher may call for the removal of students from the 
classroom and they prescribe requirements for parental 
notification and involvement. These changes will not result in 
an increase in costs or savings to state or local governmental 
units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Electronic Telecommunication Devices 

(LAC 28:CXV.1141) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1141. Electronic 
Telecommunication Devices. This policy revision, required 
by Act 214 of the 2009 Regular Legislative Session, requires 
local school systems to adopt and implement policies 
applicable to school system employees relative to electronic 
communication by an employee at the school to a student 
enrolled at the school.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§1141. Electronic Telecommunication Devices 
A. - B. … 
C. Each LEA shall develop, adopt, and implement 

policies, procedures and practices applicable to school 
employees relative to electronic communications by an 
employee at a school to a student enrolled at that school. 

1. The policies, procedures, and practices shall: 
a. define electronic communication and recognize 

the multiple means available for making such a 
communication, including specified forms of both direct 
communication and indirect communication; 

b. require that all electronic communication by an 
employee to a student relative to the educational services 
provided use a means of communication provided by the 
LEA; 

c. prohibit the use of the means of provided by the 
LEA to electronically communicate with a student that is not 
related to the education services provided, except 
communication with an immediate family member if such 
communication is specifically authorized by the LEA; 

d. specify that the occurrence of any electronic 
communication made by an employee to a student, or vice 
versa, using a means other than one provided by the LEA 
shall be reported by the employee: 
 i. provides that records of any such reported 
communication be maintained by the LEA for one year; 

e. specify that it is a duty of LEA employees to 
comply with the policies and provide that a failure to comply 

may result in disciplinary action and may constitute willful 
neglect of duty; 

f. establish and provide for the imposition of 
consequences for a violation of the policies, including but 
not limited to termination of employment; 

g. provide a means for the timely reporting and 
investigation of an alleged failure to comply with policies 
and for concluding such an investigation and resolving the 
allegation; 

h. provide a means whereby any alleged failure to 
comply with the policies that also may be a violation of state 
or federal law is reported to the proper authorities; 

i. provide a means to assure that all LEA 
employees are informed fully of the policies, procedures, 
and practices, and the possible consequences for a failure to 
comply; 

j. provide a means to assure that a parent or 
guardian is fully informed of the policies, procedures, and 
practices; 

k. provide a means for a parent or guardian to 
request that the child not be contacted through electronic 
communication by any school employee unless the purpose 
of such communication is directly related to the child’s 
educational services and is sent and received by more than 
one student at the school. 

2. No school board or board member shall be civilly 
liable for any electronic communication that is prohibited by 
law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:81; R.S. 17:239. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1282 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  
for School Administrators―Electronic 

Telecommunication Devices 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy revision, required by Act 214 of the 2009 
Regular Legislative Session, requires local school systems to 
adopt and implement policies applicable to school system 
employees relative to electronic communication by an 
employee at the school to a student enrolled at the school. 
These changes will not result in an increase in costs or savings 
to state or local governmental units.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsElementary Program of Studies  

(LAC 28:CXV.2313 and 2347) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2313. Elementary 
Program of Studies and §2347. Health Education. These 
policy revisions, required by Act 321 of the 2010 Regular 
Legislative Session, require public schools to provide grade 
appropriate instruction relative to dating violence in select 
health classes. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2313. Elementary Program of Studies 

A. - F.7.a. … 
8. Schools shall provide grade appropriate instruction 

relative to dating violence to students in seventh and eighth 
grade health classes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:17.1; R.S. 17: 24.8; R.S. 17:81; R.S. 17:154-154.1; R.S. 17:261 
et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1289 (June 2005), 

amended LR 33:2353 (November 2007), LR 36:1225 (June 2010), 
LR 37: 
§2347. Health Education 

A. - E.2. … 
3. JROTC I and JROTC II shall include instruction in 

CPR, adoption awareness, the safe haven relinquishments 
law, and content relative to dating violence as required by 
state law.  

F. Health Education shall include instruction relative to 
dating violence. Such instruction shall include but need not 
be limited to providing students with the following 
information: 

1. the definition of “dating violence”; 
2. dating violence warning signs; 
3. characteristics of healthy relationships. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R.S. 17:81. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1296 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:817 (May 2007), LR 36:1493 (July 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School AdministratorsElementary Program of Studies 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These policy revisions, required by Act 321 of the 2010 

Regular Legislative Session, requires public schools to provide 
grade appropriate instruction relative to dating violence in 
select Health classes. These changes will not result in an 
increase in costs or savings to state or local governmental units.  
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#067 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Eligibility to Participate in High School 

Interscholastic Athletics (LAC 28:CXV.3319) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §3319. Eligibility to 
Participate in High School Interscholastic Athletics. This 
policy revision to Section 3319, required by Act 691 of the 
2010 Regular Legislative Session, provides for the eligibility 
of home study students to participate in interscholastic sports 
at the secondary level.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 33. Home Study Programs 
§3319. Eligibility to Participate in High School 

Interscholastic Athletics 
A. A student participating in a BESE approved home 

study program will be eligible to participate in 
interscholastic athletic activities at a high school that is a 
member of the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 
(LHSAA) as follows. 

1. Such student shall be subject to the same residency 
or attendance zone requirements as other students 
participating in the athletic activity. 

2. The student's parent or legal guardian shall make a 
written request, not later than the first 11 days of the school 
year, for the student to participate in interscholastic athletic 
activities to the principal of the school providing the activity. 

3. The principal of the school providing the athletic 
activity shall approve or disapprove such written request 
within 30 days after receipt by the principal of all 
information and documentation requested by the principal 
(which shall be limited to information and documentation 
that is required of other students relative to participation in 
the athletic activity) from the student or the student's parent 
or legal guardian, or both.  

4. A decision by the principal to approve or 
disapprove the written request for the student to participate 
shall be final. 

5. No person, individually or on behalf of any other 
person, shall have a cause of action arising from a denial by 
a public school principal of participation by a home study 
student in interscholastic athletics at the school or, if the 
student is allowed by the principal to participate in 
accordance with proposed law, from any refusal or denial of 
further participation by the student in interscholastic 
athletics at the school. 

6. After a decision is made by the principal to approve 
a request for the student to participate, the student then shall 
participate in any tryouts for such activity at the same time 
and in the same manner as other students who want to 
participate in the same activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:176(G) and 17:236.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Eligibility to Participate  
in High School Interscholastic Athletics 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to Section 3319, required by Act 691 

of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, provides for the 
eligibility of home study students to participate in 
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interscholastic sports at the secondary level. These changes will 
not result in an increase in costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#071 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―General Powers of Local Educational 

Governing Authorities (LAC 28:CXV.303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §303. General Powers 
of Local Educational Governing Authorities. This policy 
revision to Section 303, required by Acts 552, 705, and 720 
of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, relates to the 
requirements for school board members to obtain continuing 
education, to the employment of the local public school 
superintendent, and to the authority of the superintendent 
and the school board for personnel matters. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 3. Operation and Administration 
§303. General Powers of Local Educational Governing 

Authorities 
A. Each city and parish school board shall determine the 

number and location of schools to be opened, and the 
number and selection of teachers and other certified 
personnel from recommendations made by the local 
superintendent. 

B. Each city, parish, and other local school board is 
authorized to adopt rules and regulations for its own 
governance that are consistent with law and with the 
regulations of BESE. 

1. Each member of a city and parish school board 
shall receive a minimum of six hours of training and 
instruction annually in the school laws of this state, in the 
laws governing the school boards, and in educational trends, 
research, and policy. Such training shall also include 
education policy issues, including but not limited to the 
minimum foundation program and formula, literacy and 
numeracy, leadership development, dropout prevention, 
career and technical education, redesigning high schools, 

early childhood education, school discipline, and 
harassment, intimidation, and bullying. Training shall also 
include instruction in Louisiana Open Meeting Laws and the 
Louisiana Public Bid Law. In an LEA that has one or more 
schools identified as an academically unacceptable school or 
a school in need of academic assistance as defined by BESE, 
at least two of the required hours shall focus on the 
improvement of schools identified as failing schools as 
defined by BESE. 

2. The training may be received from a postsecondary 
education institution, the DOE, or the local school board 
central office staff, the Louisiana School Board Association 
(LSBA) provided that the instruction and the method for 
demonstrating attendance are pre-approved by the Louisiana 
School Board Association or at any conference presented by 
the National School Boards Association or by the Council of 
the Great City Schools, provided that verification of 
attendance by the school board member at the training is 
obtained. 

3. Each school board member's attendance shall be 
reported by the instructor to the Louisiana School Board 
Association. Each school board member who completes 
required instruction shall receive a certificate of completion 
and a copy of such certificate shall be entered into the 
minutes of the school board on which the member serves. 

4. The superintendent of the school system on which 
the school board member serves shall be responsible for 
verifying that any training or instruction received by the 
school board member as set forth in this Section meets the 
necessary requirements. 

5. Distinguished School Board Member 
a. A school board member who has received a 

certificate of completion for the initial 16 hours of training 
and instruction and has also received an annual certificate of 
completion of the required training for three subsequent 
consecutive years shall receive the designation of 
"Distinguished School Board Member." 

b. DOE will issue each such member an appropriate 
certificate attesting to such designation.  

c. A member in office on Jan. 1, 2011, who has 
prior service on the board may receive the designation if he 
completes 16 hours of training during 2011 and completes 
the required training for the subsequent three consecutive 
years. 

d. At least annually, the school system 
superintendent shall transmit to the newspaper which is the 
official journal of the school board a press release detailing 
the information for his school board that is posted on the 
LSBA website relative to training hours and subject matter 
completed by each school board member and to include in 
such press release information concerning each member who 
has been designated a "Distinguished School Board 
Member." 

C. - L. … 
M. No board member shall act in an individual capacity 

to use the authority of his office or position as a member of 
the school board in a manner intended to interfere with, 
compel, or coerce any personnel decision including the 
hiring, promotion, discipline, demotion, transfer, discharge, 
or assignment of work to any school employee. 

N. No board member shall use the authority of his office 
or position as a member of the school board in a manner 
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intended to interfere with, compel, or coerce any school 
employee to make any decision concerning benefits, work 
assignment, or membership in any organization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:53; R.S. 17:54; R.S. 17:81; 17:81.2; 17:81.4-8; R.S. 17:100.2; 
R.S. 17:104; R.S. 17:151. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1257 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:1474 (August 2009), LR 35:1876 (September 
2009), LR 37: 

 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed  
Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators―General Powers of Local 
Educational Governing Authorities 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to §303, required by Acts 552, 705, 

and 720 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, relate to the 
requirements for school board members to obtain continuing 
education, to the employment of the local public school 
superintendent, and to the authority of the superintendent and 
the school board for personnel matters.  These changes will not 
result in an increase in costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—High Schools (LAC 28:CXV.2317) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2317. High Schools. 
These policy revisions, required by Act 660 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session, require districts to develop a 
policy whereby students shall be allowed to accelerate their 
academic progress, complete all high school graduation 
requirements established by BESE, and receive a high 
school diploma in less than four years. Students who enter 
the ninth grade prior to 2011 shall be allowed to complete 
one credit of Civics or 1/2 credit of Civics and 1/2 credit of 
Free Enterprise. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§2317. High Schools 
A. - D. … 
E. A Louisiana state high school diploma cannot be 

denied to a student who meets the state minimum high 
school graduation requirements; however, in those instances 
in which BESE authorizes an LEA to impose more stringent 
academic requirements, a school system diploma may be 
denied. 

F. Each LEA shall develop an early graduation program 
allowing students to accelerate their academic progress, 
complete all state graduation requirements, and receive a 
high school diploma in less than four years. 

1. The early graduation program may include distance 
education (§2395), dual enrollment (§2327), and Carnegie 
credit earned in middle school (§2321). 

2. LEAs shall not have any policies or requirements 
that would prevent students from graduating in less than four 
years. 

G. Each school shall follow established procedures for 
special requirements for high school graduation to allow 
each to address individual differences of all students. 

H. Prior to the beginning of the school year, students in 
the career diploma pathway may switch to the college and 
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career diploma pathway provided they have the consent of 
their parent or guardian and meet one of the following 
requirements. 

1. The student has met all the requirements for 
promotion to the ninth grade established by BESE and the 
LEA for the college and career diploma program. 

2. If the student was promoted to the career diploma 
program without having passed the English language arts or 
mathematics component of the eighth grade LEAP test, then 
the student must meet one of the requirements below. 

3. If the student scored Unsatisfactory on the English 
language arts component eighth grade LEAP test, the student 
must successfully pass the eighth grade LEAP placement test 
for English language arts or the English II end-of-course 
test. 

4. If the student scored Unsatisfactory on the 
mathematics component eighth grade LEAP test, the student 
must successfully pass the eighth grade LEAP Placement 
test for math or the Algebra I end-of-course Test. 

H. Prior to the beginning of the school year, students in 
the college and career diploma pathway may switch to the 
career diploma pathway provided they meet the following 
requirement. 

1. Every student who seeks to pursue a career diploma 
shall have the written permission of his/her parent or other 
legal guardian on the career diploma participation form after 
a consultation with the school guidance counselor or other 
school administrator. The student and parent must be 
informed of the advantages and disadvantages of the 
different diploma pathways. The signature of the student and 
parent or guardian indicates that a determination has been 
made that the pursuit of a career diploma is appropriate and 
in the best interest of the student. The school principal shall 
also sign the form acknowledging that appropriate 
counseling has taken place. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:154; R.S. 17:1944; R.S. 17:1945. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:1485 (July 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—High Schools 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

These policy revisions, required by Act 660 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session, requires districts to develop a 
policy whereby students shall be allowed to accelerate their 
academic progress, complete all high school graduation 
requirements established by BESE, and receive a high school 
diploma in less than four years. These changes may result in 
relief to the MFP If students graduate early, but there is no way 
to estimate the amount. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#068 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsHome Study Program  

(LAC 28:CXV.3309 and 3311) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §3309. Curriculum 
and §3311. Testing. The policy revision to Section 3309, 
required by Act 677 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, 
provides that a high school diploma awarded by an approved 
home study program shall be recognized by educational 
institutions and governmental entities in the same manner as 
one awarded by an approved nonpublic school. The changes 
to Section 3311 are required by changes to the state testing 
programs and policies. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 33. Home Study Programs 
§3309. Curriculum 

A. - B. … 
C. A high school diploma awarded by a home study 

program approved by BESE shall be deemed by all public 
postsecondary education institutions, all state departments, 
agencies, boards, and commissions, and all other state and 
local governmental entities to have all the rights and 
privileges afforded to a high school diploma awarded by a 
state-approved nonpublic school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1312 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 
§3311. Testing 

A. A parent of a child in home study may request of the 
LEA superintendent or the state superintendent, that the 
child be administered the LEAP, iLEAP, or GEE tests under 
the following conditions: 

1. date of the test shall be on such dates as determined 
by the LEA superintendents or state superintendent; 

2. a fee of up to $35 may be charged to cover actual 
costs of administering, scoring, and reporting the results of 
the tests; 

3. the examination shall be administered with the 
same instructions and under similar conditions as provided 
to students enrolled in public schools; 

4. a certified teacher shall administer the test; 
5. the parent shall be provided the student's score and 

whether the student passed the examination by meeting the 
state performance standard for LEAP. 

B. Students enrolled in state-approved home study 
programs are not eligible to participate in LAA 1, LAA 2, 
ELDA, or EOC tests. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1313 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School AdministratorsHome Study Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy revision to Section 3309, required by Act 677 
of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, provides that a high 
school diploma awarded by an approved home study program 
shall be recognized by educational institutions and 
governmental entities in the same manner as one awarded by an 
approved nonpublic school. The changes to Section 3311 are 
required by changes to the state testing programs and policies. 
These changes will not result in an increase in costs or savings 
to state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#070 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Physical Abuse of Teachers and School 

Employees by Students (LAC 28:CXV.521) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §521. Physical Abuse 
of Teachers and School Employees by Students. This policy 
revision to Section 521, required by Act 404 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session, requires districts to adopt rules 
and regulations regarding the physical abuse of public 
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school employees by students, and includes some 
requirements for the rules and regulations. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 5. Personnel 
§521. Physical Abuse of Teachers and School 

Employees by Students 
A. LEAs shall adopt rules and regulations to implement 

the following requirements regarding the physical abuse of 
public school teachers and other school employees by 
students. 

1. An accurate record shall be kept of incidents of 
such abuse. 

2. LEAs shall provide appropriate equipment to 
protect teachers and other school employees from such 
abuse. 

3. Support services shall be provided to teachers and 
other school employees which afford them the opportunity to 
discuss the stress caused by such abuse. 

4. Any teacher or other school employee who has 
been the victim of such abuse shall be provided the 
opportunity to seek another position for which he is certified 
within the same parish in which he will not have contact 
with the student(s) involved, provided that there is another 
position available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  
for School Administrators―Physical Abuse of  
Teachers and School Employees by Students 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to §Section 521, required by Act 404 

of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, requires districts to 
adopt rules and regulations regarding the physical abuse of 
public school employees by students, and includes some 
requirements for the rules and regulations. These changes may 
result in an increase in costs to local governmental units to 
provide equipment to protect school employees if the districts 
do not have such equipment and to provide support services for 
employees if necessary. It is not possible to determine these 
costs as they are dependent on situations as they occur. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Staff Misconduct 

(LAC 28:CXV.502) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §502. Staff 
Misconduct. This policy revision, required by Act 223 of the 
2009 Regular Legislative Session, relates to the procedures 
and requirements for disclosure of information regarding 
sexual misconduct, abuse and neglect by applicants for 
public school employment. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 5. Personnel 
§502. Staff Misconduct 

A. Each LEA, prior to hiring any employee, shall require 
that the applicant for employment sign a statement providing 
for the disclosure of information by the applicant's current or 
previous employer, if such employer is an LEA, relative to 
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all instances of sexual misconduct with students committed 
by the applicant, if any, and releasing the current or previous 
employer, if such employer is a city, parish, or other local 
public school board, and any school employee acting on 
behalf of such employer from any liability for providing 
such information. 

1. The statement shall provide procedures for the 
disclosure of information by the applicant's current or 
previous employer, if such employer is the Louisiana School 
for the Deaf, the Louisiana School for the Visually Impaired, 
or the Louisiana Special Education Center, relative to all 
instances of abuse or neglect of students, as such terms are 
defined in Children's Code Article 603, as committed by the 
applicant, if any. 

2. Prior to hiring any applicant, each LEA must 
request, in writing, that the applicant's current or previous 
employer, if such employer is an LEA, provide the above-
described information, if such information exists, and make 
available to the hiring school board copies of any documents 
as contained in the applicant's personnel file maintained by 
such employer relative to such instances of sexual 
misconduct, if any. Such request for information must 
include a copy of the aforementioned statement signed by 
the applicant. 

3. If such information exists, it must be provided and 
copies of all documents as contained in the applicant's 
personnel file relating to all instances of sexual misconduct, 
if any, must be made available to the requesting school board 
no later than 20 business days from the receipt of the 
request. 

4. Any LEA or any school employee who discloses 
such information in good faith shall be immune from civil 
liability for having disclosed such information. 

5. An applicant who does not sign the disclosure and 
release statement cannot be hired. An applicant can be hired 
on a conditional basis pending the hiring board's review of 
any information obtained. 

6. The statement shall provide procedures for the 
disclosure of information by the applicant of all instances of 
sexual misconduct with and abuse or neglect of any student 
committed by the applicant, if any, and such procedures shall 
include written notification by the school board, on any 
application forms provided to the applicant, of the disclosure 
requirements. 

7. Any information obtained can only be used by the 
hiring board for the purpose of evaluating an applicant's 
qualifications for employment for the position for which he 
or she has applied. Such information is not subject to the 
Public Records Act and is not to be disclosed to any person, 
other than the applicant, who is not directly involved in the 
process of evaluating the applicant's qualifications for 
employment. Unauthorized disclosure is a misdemeanor 
offense with exposure to a fine of up to $500 or 
imprisonment for up to six months, or both. 

8. Adult sexual misconduct in schools, for the 
purposes of disclosing information to LEAs as required by 
R.S. 17:81.9, includes sexually inappropriate behavior by the 
adult that is directed at a student, including but not limited to 
sexually-related conversations, jokes, or questions directed 

at students. More specifically, sexual misconduct and abuse 
or neglect is: 

a. any conduct that would amount to sexual 
harassment under Title IX of the (U.S.) Education 
Amendments of 1972, as amended; 

b. any conduct that would amount to a sexual 
offense affecting a minor under state criminal codes; 

c. any sexual relationship by a school employee 
with a student, regardless of the student's age; with a former 
student under 18; with a former student (regardless of age) 
who suffers from a disability that would prevent consent in a 
relationship. All students enrolled in the school and in any 
organization in which the school employee holds a position 
of trust and responsibility are included; 

d. any activity directed toward establishing a sexual 
relationship such as sending intimate letters; engaging in 
sexualized dialogue in person, via the Internet, in writing or 
by phone; making suggestive comments; dating a student. 

9. The statement shall include: 
a. all actual cases of sexual misconduct with a 

minor or student by the applicant; 
b. all investigations of sexual misconduct by the 

applicant with a minor or student that occurred within thirty-
six months prior to the applicant's resignation, dismissal, or 
retirement from school employment; 

c. all actual or investigated cases of abuse or 
neglect of a minor or student by the applicant. 

10. Any applicant who knowingly and willfully 
violates the provisions of this Section shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor offense and shall be fined not more than five 
hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than six months, 
or both. 

B. - C.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:15; R.S. 17:81.9; R.S. 17:587.1; R.S. 17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1265 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:431 (March 2007), LR 34:607 (April 2008), 
repromulgated LR 35:444 (March 2009), amended LR 35:1099 
(June 2009), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators―Staff Misconduct 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy revision, required by Act 223 of the 2009 
Regular Legislative Session, relates to the procedures and 
requirements for disclosure of information regarding sexual 
misconduct, abuse and neglect by applicants for public school 
employment. These changes will not result in an increase in 
costs or savings to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Student Biometric Information  

(LAC 28:CXV.1149) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1149. Student 
Biometric Information. This policy revision to Section 3319, 
required by Act 691 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, 
provides for the eligibility of home study students to 
participate in interscholastic sports at the secondary level. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 11. Student Services 
§1149. Student Biometric Information 

A. Biometric information is defined as any noninvasive 
electronic measurement and evaluation of any physical 

characteristics that are attributable to a single person, 
including fingerprint characteristics, eye characteristics, 
hand characteristics, vocal characteristics, facial 
characteristics, and any other physical characteristics used to 
electronically identify that person with a high degree of 
certainty. 

B. Any LEA that collects such information shall develop, 
adopt, and implement policies that govern the collection and 
use of such information that, at a minimum shall: 

1. require written permission from the student's parent 
or other legal guardian, or the student if he or she is age 18 
or older, prior to the collection of any biometric information. 
It requires a form created for the express purpose of 
obtaining the required permission and requires that the 
granting of permission shall not be included as a part of any 
form used for enrollment purposes or other form required by 
the school's governing authority for any other purpose; 

2. require written permission from the student's parent 
or other legal guardian, or the student if he or she is age 18 
or older, prior to the collection of any biometric information. 
It requires a form created for the express purpose of 
obtaining the required permission and requires that the 
granting of permission shall not be included as a part of any 
form used for enrollment purposes or other form required by 
the school's governing authority for any other purpose; 

3. provide that any biometric information collected 
from a student shall be used only for identification or fraud 
prevention purposes; 

4. ensure that a student's biometric information shall 
not be disclosed to a third party without the written 
permission of the student's parent or other legal guardian, or 
the student if he or she is age 18 or older, unless the 
disclosure is required by court order; 

5. provide for the secure storage, transmission, and 
protection of all biometric information from unauthorized 
disclosure; 

6. encrypt student biometric information using an 
algorithmic process which transforms data into a form in 
which there is a low probability of assigning meaning to 
such information without use of a confidential process or 
key; 

7. ensure that the use of a student's biometric 
information is discontinued upon: 

a. the student's graduation or withdrawal from 
school; or 

b. receipt of a written request to discontinue use of 
such information from the student's parent or other legal 
guardian, or the student if he or she is age 18 or older; 

8. provide that all biometric information collected 
from a student be destroyed within 30 days after use of such 
information is discontinued; 

9. provide that a student shall not be refused or denied 
any services due to the failure to provide written consent and 
that the collection of student biometric information must 
comply with all applicable state and federal law and 
requirements, including the federal Family Educational 
Rights Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:100.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
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Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators—Student Biometric Information 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to Section 1149, required by Act 498 

of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, requires districts that 
collect biometric data to develop, adopt, and implement 
policies that govern the collection and use of such information. 
The revisions also prescribe the minimum requirements for 
these local policies. These changes will not result in an increase 
in costs or savings to state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Teachers’ Retirement System―Part-Time, 

Seasonal or Temporary Classroom Teacher 
(LAC 28:CXV.515) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §515. Teachers’ 
Retirement System—Part-Time, Seasonal or Temporary 
Classroom Teacher. This policy revision to Section 515, 
required by Act 921 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, 
relates to the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana and 
the rehiring of retirees. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§515. Teachers’ Retirement System―Part–Time, 
Seasonal or Temporary Classroom Teacher 

A. - B.1.d. … 
C. Rehired Retirees 

1. R.S. 11:710 prohibits anyone other than a "retired 
teacher" from receiving a retirement benefit pursuant to 
present law while reemployed, provides that anyone other 
than a "retired teacher" shall have his benefit suspended 
during reemployment, and defines "retired teacher" under 
the new law as: 

a. any retired member who returns to work full-time 
or part-time as a classroom teacher offering instructional 
services to any student in grades K-12 in a "critical shortage 
area"; 

b. any other retired member reemployed on or 
before June 30, 2010; 

c. any retired member who returns to active service 
as a full-time certified speech therapist, speech pathologist 
or audiologist whose position of employment requires a 
valid Louisiana ancillary certificate approved and issued by 
the state DOE in a school district where a shortage exists. 

2. In order for a person who qualifies as a retired 
teacher because he teaches in a shortage area to receive 
benefits during the period of her or his reemployment, 
requires the superintendent and the personnel director of the 
employing school to certify to the BESE and the TRSL 
board of trustees that a shortage of teachers exists in the area 
in which the retired teacher was hired to teach. For speech 
therapists, speech pathologists, and audiologists in a 
shortage area, the employer is required to certify that a 
shortage of such persons exists.  

3. Prior to certification, for any full-time teaching 
position, the employer shall advertise the position twice in 
the official journal of the school's governing authority and 
non-retirees shall be given hiring preference over retirees, 
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unless fewer than three applicants have applied for the 
position. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:162(C); R.S. 11:710. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1267 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

I. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  
for School Administrators―Teachers’ Retirement 

System―Part-Time, Seasonal or Temporary  
Classroom Teacher 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision to §515, required by Act 921 of the 

2010 Regular Legislative Session, relates to the Teachers’ 
Retirement System of LA and the rehiring of retirees. These 
changes will not result in an increase in costs or savings to state 
or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Textbooks (LAC 28:CXV.1703) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1703. Textbooks. 
This policy revision, required by Act 328 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session, relates to the use of state funds 
to purchase textbooks and computer hardware. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 17. Instructional Support 
§1703. Textbooks 

A. - B. … 
C. State funds appropriated through the MFP may be 

used to buy books on the state-adopted textbook lists and 
academically related ancillary materials or computer 
hardware according to the state guidelines.  

C.1. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:8, R.S. 17:351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1286 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2911 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators—Textbooks 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy revision, required by Act 328 of the 2010 

Regular Legislative Session, relates to the use of state funds to 
purchase textbooks and computer hardware. These changes will 
not result in an increase in costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Written Policies and Procedures 

(LAC 28:CXV.337) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §337. Written Policies 
and Procedures. These policy revisions, required by Acts 214 
and 413 of the 2009 Regular Legislative Session and Acts 
404 and 498 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, 
require school districts to have policies and procedures to 
address employee electronic communication with students, 

fire safety inspections, physical abuse of public school 
teachers and employees, and collection of student biometric 
information. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§337. Written Policies and Procedures 
A. - B. … 
C. Each LEA shall have policies and procedures that 

address, but are not limited to, the following: 
1. - 19. … 
20. the electronic communications by an employee at a 

school to a student enrolled at that school (refer to §1141); 
21. the inspection by qualified persons of all fire safety 

and prevention equipment, including fire alarm and smoke 
detection devices (refer to §1501); 

22. the physical abuse of public school teachers and 
other school employees by students (refer to §521); 

23. the collection of student biometric information 
(refer to §1149). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6; R.S. 17:7(29); R.S. 17:81; R.S.17:240; R.S. 17:100.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1261 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 35:1101 (June 2009), LR 
36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators―Written Policies and Procedures 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These policy revisions, required by Acts 214 and 413 of the 

2009 Regular Legislative Session and Acts 404 and 498 of the 
2010 Regular Legislative Session, require school districts to 
have policies and procedures to address employee electronic 
communication with students, fire safety inspections, physical 
abuse of public school teachers and employees, and collection 
of student biometric information. These changes will not result 
in an increase in costs or savings to state or local governmental 
units.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to schools or 
school districts. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and Nutrition Programs, 
Policies of Operation—Program Operations  

(LAC 28:XLIX.513) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food 
and Nutrition programs, Policies of Operation: §513. 
Program Operations. Bulletin 1196 is the policy manual 
designed to provide useful guidance and information for the 
purpose of improving regulatory compliance and to enhance 
the understanding and operation of the Child Nutrition 
Programs in Louisiana. Due to changes from the 2010 
Legislative session pertaining to the Child Nutrition 
Program, it was imperative to revise Chapter 5 in Bulletin 
1196. These changes affect the policy in denying meals to 
‘public elementary school students.’ These revisions will 
consolidate necessary changes to Child Nutrition Programs; 
therefore, making Bulletin 1196 more useful to the local 
systems throughout the state.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIX.  Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and 
Nutrition Programs, Policies of Operation 

Chapter 5. Free and Reduced Price Meals 
§513. Program Operations  

A. - B.1. … 

C. Denying Meals to Students for Failure to Pay 
1. General 

a. The SFA is not obligated to continue providing 
meals without receiving payment. The students' ability to 
pay is determined through the free and reduced price meal 
application process. Those students not eligible for free 
meals must pay for their meals at the prices established for 
full price and reduced price students. Regulations do not 
prohibit a school system from denying a meal to paying 
students who have not paid for the meal. 

2. Denying Meals to Public Elementary School 
Students 

a. If the governing authority of a public elementary 
school adopts a policy of denying a scheduled meal to an 
elementary school child for the reason that the child’s parent 
or guardian has failed to pay for the meal, it shall implement 
the following procedures to provide for safeguards to the 
child’s health and the child’s ability to learn. 
 i. Prior to withholding a meal from the child, the 
school shall do each of the following: 

(a). provide actual notification to the child’s 
parent or legal guardian as to the date and time after which 
meals may be denied, the reason for such denial, any action 
that may be taken by the parent or legal guardian to prevent 
further denial of meals, and the consequences of the failure 
to take appropriate actions to prevent such denial, including 
that the school governing authority shall contact the 
Department of Children and Family Services upon the third 
instance of such denial during a single school year, as 
provided in Clause iii of this Paragraph; 

(b). verify with appropriate school staff that the 
child does not have an Individual Education Plan that 
requires the child to receive meals provided by the school to 
ensure that neither the child’s health nor learning ability will 
be negatively affected by denying the child meals during 
school hours. 
 ii. If the school denies a scheduled meal to a 
child, the school shall provide a sandwich or a substantial 
and nutritious snack item to the child as a substitute for the 
meal denied. 
 iii. Upon the third instance during a single school 
year of the same elementary school child being denied a 
meal during school hours, the school governing authority 
shall contact the office of community services within the 
Department of Children and Family Services to report the 
failure of the parent or guardian to pay for meals which has 
resulted in repeated denials of meals during school hours. 

b. If the governing authority of a public elementary 
school adopts a policy of denying a scheduled meal to an 
elementary school child for the reason that the child’s parent 
or guardian has failed to pay for the meal, it shall implement 
additional procedures to ensure compliance with the 
nondiscrimination provisions of R.S. 17:195(A). 

c. If the governing authority of a public elementary 
school adopts a policy of denying a scheduled meal to an 
elementary school child for the reason that the child’s parent 
or guardian has failed to pay for the meal, the governing 
authority shall document each instance that a child is denied 
a meal in the elementary school under its authority and shall 
report annually to the state superintendent of education, to 
the House Committee on Education, and to the Senate 
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Committee on Education relative to the number of instances 
of denials of meals to children during school hours, the 
reason for the denial of meals to the child, the age and grade 
of each child so denied, and whether the child qualifies for 
free and reduced price lunch programs. 

d. No governing authority of a public elementary 
school shall implement a policy that bans the use of 
charitable funds donated by school employees or the use of 
other charitable funds to pay for a child’s meal in the event 
that he is subject to the denial of a meal during school hours. 

3. Discrimination against any individual by a nutrition 
program provider because of his inability to pay and the 
publishing of the name of any such individual is prohibited. 
Any public school employee who discloses such 
information, except as reasonably necessary in the conduct 
of his official duties, shall be subject to the penalties, upon 
conviction, of a fine of not more than $100, or imprisonment 
for not more than 90 days, or both. School employees are 
prohibited from disclosing such information to any student 
for any reason. 

D. - E.13.a. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:191-199. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2130 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2025 (October 2003), LR 32:1425 (August 
2006), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and 
Nutrition Programs, Policies of Operation 

Program Operations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The policy revisions to Chapter 5 in Bulletin 1196, required 
by Act 737 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, pertain to 
instances of potentially denying meals to public elementary 
school students. These changes will not result in an increase in 
costs or savings to local governmental units. 

The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
estimated cost for printing this policy change and first page of 
the fiscal and economic impact statement in the Louisiana 
Register is approximately $272.00. Funds are currently 
budgeted for this purpose. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated effect on revenue collection of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affect persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook for Students with 
Exceptionalities (LAC 28:XCVII.105, 113, 117, and 505) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated to 
correct codification errors. The original Notice may be viewed 
on pages 2684-2686 of the November 20, 2010, edition of the 
Louisiana Register. 
 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 1530Louisiana’s IEP 
Handbook for Students with Exceptionalities: §105. 
Timelines, §113. IEP Timelines, §117. Placement/Least 
Restrictive Educational Environments, §505. Alternate 
Assessment Participation Criteria. Revisions to §105 and 
§113 eliminate ambiguity and provide clarity pertaining to 
timelines and IEP amendments. Revisions to §117 reflect the 
new federal reporting guidelines for the preschool 
Placement/Least Restrictive Educational Environments. The 
revisions in §505 reflect the requirement to include End of 
Course (EOC) in the LAA 2 participation criteria. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XCVII.  Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook 
for Students with Exceptionalities 

Chapter 1. Individualized Education Program (IEP) 
§105. Timelines 

A. - A.2.b. … 
c. Students who have been receiving special 

education in one LEA in Louisiana who transfer to another 
LEA within Louisiana shall be enrolled in the appropriate 
special education program in the receiving LEA with the 
current IEP or the development of a review IEP within five 
school days of the transfer. 

B. - B.2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2332 (November 
2009), amended LR 37: 
§113. IEP Amendments 

A. In making changes to a student’s IEP after the annual 
IEP Team meeting for a school year, the parent of a student 
with a exceptionality and the public agency may agree not to 
a convene an IEP Team meeting for the purposes of making 
those changes, and instead may amend or modify the 
student’s current IEP.  

1. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2335 (November 
2009), amended LR 37: 
§117. Placement/Least Restrictive Educational 

Environments  
A. - A.7.a. … 
B. For Students with Exceptionalities Ages 3-5. In 

determining the appropriate setting for a preschool-aged 
student, each setting noted shall be considered; but the list 
should not be considered a continuum of least restrictive 
environment. The settings for preschool-aged students, three 
through five years, are defined as follows. 

1. For Students with Disabilities Ages 3-5 
a. Attending a regular early childhood program at 

least 10 hours per week: 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 

(a). regular early childhood programs include, 
but are not limited to Head Start, kindergarten, private 
kindergarten or preschools, preschool classes offered to an 
eligible pre-kindergarten population by the LEA (e.g., LA 4, 
Title I); and group child development center or child care; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location. 

b. Attending a regular early childhood program less 
than 10 hours per week: 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location. 

c. In early childhood special educationseparate 
class: 
 i. attends a special education program in a class 
that includes less than 50 percent nondisabled children. 

Special education programs include, but are not limited to 
special education and related services provided in special 
education classrooms in regular school buildings; trailers or 
portables outside regular school buildings; child care 
facilities; hospital facilities on an outpatient basis; and other 
community-based settings. 

d. In early childhood special educationseparate 
school: 
 i. receives special education in a public or private 
day school designed specially for children with disabilities. 

e. In early childhood special educationresidential 
facility: 
 i. receives special education in a public or 
privately operated residential school or residential medical 
facility on an inpatient basis. 

f. Receiving special education and related services 
at home: 
 i. when the child does not attend a regular early 
childhood program or special education program, but the 
child receives some or all of his/her special education and 
related services in the home. Children who receive special 
education both in a service provider location and at home 
should be reported in the home category. 

g. Receiving special education and related services 
at service provider location: 
 i. when the child receives all of their special 
education and related services from a service provider and 
does not attend an early childhood program or a special 
education program provided in a separate class, separate 
school, or residential facilities. For example, speech therapy 
is provided in private clinicians’ offices; clinicians’ offices 
located in school buildings; hospital facilities on an 
outpatient basis, and libraries and other public locations. 

2. For Students who are Gifted and/or Talented Ages 
3-5 

a. Attending a regular early childhood program at 
least 10 hours per week: 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 

(a). regular early childhood programs include, 
but are not limited to Head Start, kindergarten, private 
kindergarten or preschools, preschool classes offered to an 
eligible pre-kindergarten population by the LEA (e.g., LA 4, 
Title I), and group child development center or child care; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location. 

b. Attending a regular early childhood program less 
than 10 hours per week: 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location. 

c. In early childhood special educationseparate 
class: 
 i. attends a special education program in a class 
that includes less than 50 percent nondisabled children. 
Special education programs include, but are not limited to 
special education and related services provided in special 
education classrooms in regular school buildings; trailers or 
portables outside regular school buildings, and child care 
facilities. 
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d. In early childhood special educationresidential 
facility: 
 i. attends a public or privately operated 
residential school or residential medical facility on an 
inpatient basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2335 (November 
2009), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Participation in Statewide Assessments 
§505. Alternate Assessment Participation Criteria  

A. - A.3.j. … 
B. LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 2 (LAA 2) 

1. The student scored at the Unsatisfactory level in 
English language arts and/or mathematics on the previous 
year’s LEAP/iLEAP/GEE or scored Needs Improvement on 
the English II or English III and/or Algebra 1 or Geometry 
EOC or participated in the LAA 1 or LAA 2.  

B 2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2343 (November 
2009), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP 

Handbook for Students with Exceptionalities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The policy changes are to eliminate ambiguity and provide 
clarity, to reflect the revised federal reporting guidelines by the 

Office of Management and Budget for the preschool settings 
for student with disabilities, and for the inclusion of the End of 
Course achievement level scores in the LAA2 participation 
criteria.  

There will be a cost of $328 to publish the rule change in 
The Register. There will be no implementation costs to local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local government. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition or employment. 
 

Jeanette Vosburg H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Membership Foundation Program—Student Membership 
(LAC 28:I.1107) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education approved for advertisement revisions to the 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, §1107. 
MFP: Student Membership Definition. Louisiana 
Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 1107.C 
contains the Minimum Foundation Program Student 
Membership Definition. The current Minimum Foundation 
Program Formula includes students within the Office of 
Juvenile Justice schools. The membership definition is being 
aligned with the current Minimum Foundation Program 
Formula. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 11. Finance and Property 
§1107. Minimum Foundation Program 

A. - B.1. ... 
C. MFP: Student Membership Definition 

1. Definition. For state reporting for public education 
for the purpose of establishing the base student count for 
state funding, each parish/city and other local school system, 
recovery school district school, LSU and Southern Lab 
school, and Office of Juvenile Justice school shall adhere to 
the following. 

a. - b.ix. … 
x. Students receiving educational services at any 

elementary and secondary school operated by the Office of 
Juvenile Justice (OJJ) in a secure care facility, considered to 
be a public elementary or secondary school, will be included 
in the base membership count of OJJ. The base membership 
count for OJJ is identified as average daily membership and 
is calculated by dividing the number of days the students are 
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under the guidance and direction of teachers by the total 
instructional days during the specified school year. 

D. - D.1.e. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Art. VIII 

§13 and R.S. 17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:425 (March 2008), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette B. Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Membership Foundation Program: 

Student Membershilp 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 
1107.C contains the Minimum Foundation Program Student 
Membership Definition. The current Minimum Foundation 
Program Formula includes students within the Office of 
Juvenile Justice schools. The membership definition is being 
aligned with the current Minimum Foundation Program 
Formula. 

This action will have no fiscal effect other than an 
estimated cost of $165 for advertising in the Louisiana 
Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This action will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state and local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This action will have no effect on cost and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or nongovernmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This action will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jeanette B. Vosburg H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1012#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Emergency Response for Solid Waste Facilities 
(LAC 33:VII.115, 513, 521, 711, 713,  
715, 717, 721, 723 and 725)(SW054) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Solid Waste regulations, LAC 
33:VII.115, 513, 521, 711, 713, 715, 717, 721, 723 and 725 
(SW054). 

This Rule will allow the department to implement the 
revised requirements for emergency response standards at 
solid waste facilities, as required by Act 862 of the 2010 
Legislative session, which became effective on July 1, 2010. 
The revised requirements will help ensure that capabilities 
are in place for first responders in the event of accident, fire, 
explosion or other emergency at these facilities. Act 862 of 
the 2010 Legislative session repealed the statutes (R.S. 2157 
and 2157.1) that provided the basis for the present 
emergency response standards for solid waste facilities. The 
Act directs the secretary to promulgate new regulations prior 
to July 1, 2011. Under the new regulations, prospective 
applicants for new or renewal solid waste standard permits 
will be required to submit an emergency response plan to the 
Louisiana State Fire Marshal's Office, and obtain approval of 
the plan, before submitting an application to LDEQ. The 
basis and rationale of this Rule creates a definitive set of 
standards for emergency response requirements at solid 
waste facilities in Louisiana. This Rule meets an exception 
listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 
therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 
and social/economic costs is required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§115. Definitions 

A. For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the 
terms defined in this Section shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context of use clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

* * * 
Contingency Plan—repealed. 

* * * 
Emergency Response Plan—an organized, planned, 

coordinated course of action to be followed in the event of a 
fire, explosion, natural disaster, or discharge or release of 
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waste into the environment that could endanger human 
health or the environment. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 22:279 
(April 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 23:1145 (September 1997), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2514, 2609 (November 2000), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1576 (July 2005), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
33:1019 (June 2007), LR 34:1023 (June 2008), LR 34:1399 (July 
2008), LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Solid Waste Management System 
Subchapter B. Permit Administration 
§513. Permit Process for Existing Facilities and for 

Proposed Facilities 
A. - B.2.c. … 

3. The prospective applicant shall file an emergency 
response plan, as defined in LAC 33:VII.115.A, with the 
Louisiana State Fire Marshal as a special structures plan, 
prior to submittal of a new or renewal application for a solid 
waste permit. The content of the plan shall be in accord with 
applicable sections of LAC 33:VII.Chapter 7. A copy of the 
plan shall also be sent to the Office of Environmental 
Services. Except as provided for in LAC 33:VII.513.B.10, 
no application for a permit to process or dispose of solid 
waste shall be filed with nor accepted by the administrative 
authority until the plan is approved by the Louisiana State 
Fire Marshal. The prospective applicant shall forward a copy 
of the approval to the Office of Environmental Services. The 
approved emergency response plan shall be considered 
applicable to subsequent permit applications submitted by 
the same applicant, unless a revised plan is filed with the 
Louisiana State Fire Marshal. After [INSERT DATE OF 
PROMULGATION], a revised plan shall be filed with the 
Louisiana State Fire Marshal prior to submittal of a renewal 
application.  

4. The requirements of Paragraph B.3 of this Section 
shall not apply if the prospective applicant can demonstrate 
that he has the ability to meet the emergency response 
requirements listed below. The prospective applicant shall 
provide this demonstration to the Office of Environmental 
Services and the Louisiana State Fire Marshal, at least 30 
days prior to submittal of a new or renewal solid waste 
application. 

a. Requirements for Demonstration 
 i. The prospective applicant shall describe 
arrangements (including contracts, where applicable) for 
providing his own emergency response services. 
 ii. The minimum qualification for 
firefighters/emergency responders shall be that of Operations 
Level Responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 iii. The demonstration shall include a list of all 
emergency equipment at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 

communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. 

5. The requirements of Paragraph B.3 of this Section 
shall not apply to permit modification requests, or to 
applications for permits (initial or renewal), deemed 
technically complete prior to [INSERT DATE OF 
PROMULGATION], except as directed by the administrative 
authority. 

C. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2519 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2032 (September 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2488 (October 2005), LR 33:1037 (June 2007), LR 33:2143 
(October 2007), LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Permit Application 
§521. Part II: Supplementary Information, All 

Processing and Disposal Facilities 
A. - G.1.e. … 

f. procedures, equipment, and emergency response 
plans for protecting employees and the general public from 
accidents, fires, explosions, etc., and provisions for 
emergency response and care, should an accident occur 
(including proximity to a hospital, fire and emergency 
services, and training programs); and 

G.1.g. - M. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 19:1143 
(September 1993), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2521 
(November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:1040 (June 2007), LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Solid Waste Standards 
Subchapter A. Landfills, Surface Impoundments, 

Landfarms 
§711. Standards Governing Landfills (Type I and II) 

A. - D.5.c. … 
6. Emergency Response Plan 

a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 
response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
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provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
Operations Level Responder from the National Fire 
Protection Association, Standard 472. At least one person 
trained to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

E. - F.3.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 19:1143 
(September 1993), repromulgated LR 19:1316 (October 1993), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 24:2251 (December 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2523 (November 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:704 (May 2001), amended LR 30:1676 
(August 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 30:2024 (September 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2492 (October 
2005), LR 33:1047 (June 2007), LR 33:2145 (October 2007), LR 
34:1901 (September 2008), LR 37: 
§713. Standards Governing Surface Impoundments 

(Type I and II) 
A. - D.4. … 

5. Emergency Response Plan 
a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 

response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 

holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

E. - F.2.b.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), repromulgated LR 
19:1316 (October 1993), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 24:2251 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2524 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:704 (May 2001), 
amended LR 30:1676 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2025 (September 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2493 (October 2005), LR 33:1053 (June 2007), LR 33:2146 
(October 2007), LR 36:1241 (June 2010), LR 37: 
§715. Standards Governing Landfarms (Type I and II) 

A. - D.4. … 
5. Emergency Response Plan 
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a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 
response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of Emergency Medical 
Technician – Basic, or equivalent. At least one person 
trained to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

E. - F.3.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), repromulgated LR 
19:1316 (October 1993), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 24:2251 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2525 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:704 (May 2001), 

amended LR 30:1676 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2025 (September 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2493 (October 2005), LR 33:1058 (June 2007), LR 33:2147 
(October 2007), LR 35:1880 (September 2009), LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Solid Waste Processors 
§717. Standards Governing All Type I-A and II-A 

Solid Waste Processors 
A. - G.4. … 

5. Emergency Response Plan 
a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 

response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 
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H. - I.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, LR 24:2252 (December 1998), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2526, 2610 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:704 (May 2001), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 30:2025 (September 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2494 (October 
2005), LR 33:1061 (June 2007), LR 33:2148 (October 2007), LR 
34:613 (April 2008), LR 35:926 (May 2009), LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Minor Processing and Disposal Facilities 
§721. Standards Governing Construction and 

Demolition Debris and Woodwaste Landfills 
(Type III) 

A. - C.4. ... 
5. Emergency Response Plan 

a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 
response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 

 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

D. - E.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 20:1001 
(September 1994), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
24:2252 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2527 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:705 (May 2001), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2025 
(September 2004), LR 31:1577 (July 2005), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2495 (October 
2005), LR 33:1067 (June 2007), LR 33:2149 (October 2007), LR 
34:1901 (September 2008), LR 37: 
§723. Standards Governing Composting Facilities 

A. - D.5.c. … 
6. Emergency Response Plan 

a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 
response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 
level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
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 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

E. - E.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 20:1001 
(September 1994), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
24:2252 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2528 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:705 (May 2001), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2025 
(September 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2496 (October 2005), LR 33:1069 (June 
2007), LR 33:2150 (October 2007), LR 37: 
§725. Standards Governing Separation and 

Woodwaste Processing Facilities (Type III) 
A. - C.4. … 

5. Emergency Response Plan 
a. If required under LAC 33:VII.513, an emergency 

response plan shall be filed with the closest fire department, 
emergency medical services (EMS) agency, hospital or 
clinic, and the Office of Environmental Services, after 
approval by the Louisiana State Fire Marshal. Any 
significant revision of the plan shall be approved and filed in 
the same manner. The plans shall be reviewed by the permit 
holder annually, and updated if necessary, or when 
implementation demonstrates that a revision is needed. 

b. … 
c. Requirements for Emergency Response Plan 

 i. The emergency response plan shall describe 
the actions facility personnel must take in response to 
accident, fire, explosion, or other emergencies. 
 ii. If the owner or operator has already prepared 
an emergency response plan or contingency plan, he need 
only amend that plan to incorporate solid waste management 
provisions that are sufficient to comply with these 
requirements as applicable. 
 iii. The plan must designate those fire departments 
or mutual aid societies, emergency medical services 
agencies, and hospitals with which the facility will 
coordinate emergency services. 
 iv. For fire departments or mutual aid societies, 
the applicable response requirement shall be that of 
operations level responder from the National Fire Protection 
Association, Standard 472. At least one person trained to this 

level shall respond in any incident requiring activation of 
emergency response services. 
 v. For emergency medical services (EMS), the 
response requirement shall be that of emergency medical 
technicianbasic, or equivalent. At least one person trained 
to this level shall respond in any incident requiring 
activation of EMS. 
 vi. The plan must include a list of all emergency 
equipment (where required) at the facility, such as fire 
extinguishing systems, spill control equipment, 
communications and alarm systems (internal and external), 
and decontamination equipment. This list must be kept up to 
date. In addition, the plan must include the location and a 
physical description of each item on the list and a brief 
outline of its capabilities. 
 vii. The plan shall include an evacuation plan for 
facility personnel. The plan must describe signals to be used 
to begin evacuation, evacuation routes, and alternate 
evacuation routes. 
 viii. The plan shall include emergency notification 
procedures required in LAC 33:I.Chapter 39. 

d. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply 
if the applicant demonstrates that he meets the response 
requirements of the applicable sections of the National Fire 
Protection Association standards, in accordance with LAC 
33:VII.513.B.4. 

D. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 20:1001 
(September 1994), LR 22:280 (April 1996), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, LR 24:2252 (December 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2528 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:705 
(May 2001), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
LR 30:2026 (September 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2496 (October 2005), LR 
33:1073 (June 2007), LR 33:2151 (October 2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by SW054. Such 
comments must be received no later than February 2, 2011, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Donald Trahan, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, 
Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 
219-4068 or by e-mail to donald.trahan@la.gov. Copies of 
these proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting 
the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of SW054. 
These proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on January 26, 2011, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
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participate, contact Donald Trahan at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Emergency Response  

for Solid Waste Facilities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no significant costs or savings to state or 
local governmental units as a result of this proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections for state government (State Fire 
Marshal’s Office) are expected to increase by about $3,000.00 
per year from plan review fees due to this rule. There is no 
estimated effect on revenue collections of local governmental 
units resulting from this proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule should have little or no net effect to 
costs and/or economic benefits for small businesses that are 
part of the regulated community. The new requirement of an 
applicant to submit an emergency response plan should not 
significantly increase the regulated community’s costs and/or 
third-party consulting fees, because the emergency response 
plan will replace the contingency plan required by the previous 
regulations. The regulated community should realize some 
savings since the previous requirement to solicit verification 
letters from fire departments and EMS agencies for inclusion in 
the permit application was very time-consuming and 
inefficient. The rule changes should require a one-time plan 
submittal and approval process, leading to fewer delays in the 
permitting process. This will in turn reduce paperwork costs for 
the regulated community. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition or on 
employment in the public or private sector as a result of this 
rule. 

 
Herman Robinson H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer  
1012#075 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Taxation 
(LAC 61:V.101, 703, 901, 907, 1103, 1305,  

1307, 1503, 2503, 3101, and 3501) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.), and in compliance with 
statutory law administered by this agency as set forth in R.S. 
47:1837, notice is hereby given that the Tax Commission 
intends to adopt, amend and/or repeal sections of the 
Louisiana Tax Commission Real/Personal Property Rules 
and Regulations for use in the 2011 (2012 Orleans Parish) 
tax year. 

The full text of this proposed Rule may be viewed in the 
Emergency Rule Section of this issue of the Louisiana 
Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Louisiana Tax Commission 
hereby submits the following Family Impact Statement. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of these proposed Rules will have no effect 
on the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parent 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of these proposed Rules will have no effect 
on the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of these proposed Rules will have no effect 
on the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of these proposed Rules will have no effect 
on family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of these 
proposed Rules will have no effect on the behavior and 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in these Proposed Rules. 
Implementation of these proposed Rules will have no effect 
on the ability of the family or local government to perform 
this function. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules until 4 p.m., January 10, 2011, at the 
following address: Charles Abels, Tax Commission 
Administrator, Louisiana Tax Commission, P.O. Box 66788, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896. 

 
James D. "Pete" Peters 
Chairman 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Ad Valorem Taxation 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated state costs or savings associated 
with the proposed rules. The impact on local governmental 
workload and paperwork cannot be quantified, but is expected 
to be minimal. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Local Governmental Units 
On average, these revisions will generally decrease certain 

2011 real and personal property assessments for property of 
similar age and condition in comparison with equivalent 
assessments in 2010. However, the assessments of certain 
property types will increase compared to prior year. Composite 
multiplier tables for assessment of most personal property will 
decrease by an estimated 5%. Specific valuation tables for 
assessment of pipelines will increase by an estimated 2.5% 
(onshore 4%, offshore by 1.5%). Oil & gas wells will increase 
by an estimated 4% in all regions including changing the 
production depth measurement from vertical to horizontal. 
Additionally, per Table 907(B)3, horizontal wells are now 
depreciated over 11 years instead of 17 years. Drilling rigs will 
increase by an estimated 9% on average (Land rigs -16.5%, 
semi-submersible rigs > 2,500 ft. 42%, well service land only 
rigs 2%). The net effect determined by averaging these 
revisions is estimated to decrease assessments by 3% and tax 
collections by $21,264,000 in FY 11/12 on the basis of the 
existing statewide average millage. However, these revisions 
will not necessarily affect revenue collections of local 
government units as any net increase or decrease in assessed 
valuations are authorized to be offset by millage adjustment 
provisions of Article VII, Section 23 of the state Constitution. 

State Governmental Units 
Under authority granted by R.S. 47:1838, the Tax 

Commission will receive state revenue collections in FY 10/11 
generated by assessment service fees estimated to be $427,000 
from public service companies and $107,000 from financial 
institutions and insurance companies all of which are assessed 
by the Tax Commission. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The affects of these new rules on assessments of individual 
items of equivalent real and personal property will generally be 
lower in 2011 than in 2010. Specific assessments will depend 
on the age and condition of the property subject to assessment. 
Taxpayers will be impacted based on the changes to the 
valuation guidelines for assessments as listed in Section II. The 
magnitude will depend on the taxable property for which they 
are liable. Regardless of the guidelines adopted by the Tax 
Commission, all taxpayers continue to have the right to appeal 
the assessments. 

The estimated costs that will be paid by affected persons as 
a result of the assessment and user service fees as itemized 
above total $534,000 to be paid by public service property 
owners, financial institutions and insurance companies for 
2010/2011. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The impact on competition and employment cannot be 
quantified. In as much as the proposed changes in assessments 

are relatively small and like properties are taxed under the same 
guidelines, the impact is expected to be minimal. 

 
James D. "Pete" Peters Robert E. Hosse 
Chairman Staff Director 
1012#080 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Nursing 

Administration of Anesthetic Agents 
(LAC 46:XLVII.3705) 

The Louisiana State Board of Nursing proposes to amend 
LAC 46:XLVII.3705. Perineural Catheters in accordance 
with R.S. 37:918, R.S. 37:919 and R.S. 37:920 and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The proposed amendment to LAC 46:XLVII.3705 will 
provide that registered nurses, who are not certified 
registered nurse anesthetists may titrate and continue 
infusion of local anesthetic agents through the use of 
perineural catheters in accordance with revisions to the law 
governing the practice of nursing through Act 246 of the 
2010 Legislature. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLVII.  Nurses: Practical Nurses and Registered 

Nurses 
Subpart 2.  Registered Nurses 

Chapter 37. Nursing Practice 
§3705. Administration of Anesthetic Agents 

A. Registered nurses, who are not certified registered 
nurse anesthetists, may administer anesthetic agents to 
intubated patients in critical care settings, and may titrate 
and continue infusion of local anesthetic agents through the 
use of epidural catheters for pain management, excluding 
obstetric patients, provided that the following conditions are 
met. 

1. There is an institutional policy and plan for 
registered nurses (non-CRNAs) to administer anesthetic 
agents to intubated patients in critical care settings, and to 
titrate and continue infusion of local anesthetic agents 
through the use of epidural catheters and perineural catheters 
for pain management for patients other than obstetric 
patients that includes: 

a. a clear statement of the purpose and goal of the 
treatment; 

b. written protocols, with documentation of 
acceptance of the protocols by the medical staff of the 
agency; 

c. policies and procedures to include but not be 
limited to the following: 
 i. preparation of solution; 
 ii. initiation of infusion; 
 iii. responding to emergency situations; 
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 iv. maximum dose per hour of an anesthetic agent 
which can be administered by a registered nurse, who is not 
a certified registered nurse anesthetist, as approved by the 
medical staff; and 
 v. criteria for documentation of the procedure. 

2. No anesthetic agent may be administered by a 
registered nurse, who is not a certified registered nurse 
anesthetist pursuant to this part unless there is a medical 
order by an authorized prescriber. Any orders to change the 
rate of infusion must be a medical order or in lieu of a 
specific order to change the rate of infusion, there are clearly 
stated criteria, by the authorizing prescriber, for adjusting the 
rate of infusion. However, in an emergency situation, the 
registered nurse may decrease the rate of infusion before 
calling the authorized prescriber. 

B. Further, registered nurses, who are not certified 
registered nurse anesthetists, may titrate and continue 
infusion of local anesthetic agents through the use of 
epidural catheters and perineural catheters for pain 
management, excluding obstetric patients, provided that the 
following conditions are met. 

1. There is documentation that the registered nurse has 
successfully completed a course of instruction, which 
includes but is not limited to didactic instruction and 
supervised clinical practice on the following: 

a. anatomy and physiology of the spinal cord and 
column and neurological system; 

b. purpose of the epidural and perineural catheter 
for pain management; 

c. catheter placement and signs and symptoms of 
misplacement; 

d. effects of medication administered epidurally and 
perineurally; 

e. untoward reaction to medication and 
management; 

f. complications; and 
g. nursing care responsibilities: 

 i. observation; 
 ii. procedures; 
 iii. catheter maintenance; 
 iv. proper calibration and operation of infusion 
pump; and 
 v. removal of the epidural or perineural catheter. 

2. Competencies shall be measured initially during 
orientation and on an annual basis. 

C. The administration of anesthetic agents to intubated 
patients in critical care settings, and the titration and 
continuance of infusion of local anesthetic agents through 
the use of epidural and perineural catheters for pain 
management for patients may not be delegated or assigned 
by a registered nurse to anyone other than a registered nurse 
who meets the criteria set forth in this standard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:935. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 32:246 (February 
2006), amended 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with R.S. 49:953 and 974, the following 

Family Impact Statement of the proposed amendments to 

Rules is provided. There should be no adverse effect on the 
stability of the family; the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children; or 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule amendments.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule until 5 p.m., January 10, 2010 to Barbara L. 
Morvant, Executive Director, 17373 Perkins Road, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70810. 

 
Barbara L. Morvant, MN, RN 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Administration of Anesthetic Agents 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated increase or decrease in expenditures 

or savings except for the cost of printing, which is estimated at 
$300.00 in FY 10-11. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that there will be an economic benefit to 
hospitals that may otherwise require that a certified registered 
nurse anesthetist (CRNA) or an anesthesiologist leave their 
operating/surgical area to attend to patients in the orthopedic 
section of hospital in order to administer local anesthetic agents 
through a perineural catheter. Through this rule, registered 
nurses (RNs) already on-hand at the hospital, who have 
received the requisite training, will be allowed to administer the 
anesthesia through a perineural catheter if the CRNA or 
anesthesiologist are unavailable. Registered nurses will have to 
undergo additional training in the use, care, and maintenance of 
perineural catheters, including instruction and supervised 
clinical practice. Also, they will have to undergo additional 
instruction on the neurological system. As such, the employing 
hospital will have to fund the necessary training expenses and 
clinical supervision necessary for RNs who will be partaking in 
this service. This will occur mostly for RNs in post-surgical 
units. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The impact on competition and employment is negligible. 
While the law revision and proposed rule provide for registered 
nurses who are not CRNAs to titrate and continue infusion of 
local anesthetic agents through the use of perineural catheters, 
this should not impact competition or employment of CRNAs. 
Instead, the rule allows RNs, who have been properly educated 
and prepared in the procedure, to provide the needed patient 
services in a cost efficient manner and allow the CRNA to be 
available for their responsibilities in more complex situations 

 
Barbra L. Morvant Robert E Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1012#078 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXIII.1301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to amend LAC 50:XXIII.1301 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states:“The secretary is directed 
to utilize various cost containment measures to ensure 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed the 
level appropriated in this schedule, including but not limited 
to precertification, preadmission screening, diversion, fraud 
control, utilization review and management, prior 
authorization, service limitations, drug therapy management, 
disease management, cost sharing, and other measures as 
permitted under federal law.”This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the Program of All Inclusive Care for 
the Elderly (PACE) to: 1) remove the requirement that 
eligibility decisions be approved by the state administering 
agency; 2) revise PACE disenrollment criteria; 3) allow for 
service area specific rates instead of one statewide rate; and 
4) clarify when the obligation for patient liability begins 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 5). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for PACE to reduce the capitated amounts paid to PACE 
organizations (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). 
Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for PACE to further reduce the capitated 
amount paid to PACE organizations (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 1, 
2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXIII.  All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1301. Payment 

A. - J.3. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the monthly capitated amount paid to a PACE 
organization shall be reduced by 2 percent of the capitated 
amount on file as of July 31, 2010.  

L. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the monthly capitated amount paid to a PACE 

organization shall be reduced by 3.09 percent of the 
capitated amount on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:250 (February 2004), amended LR 
33:850 (May 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the PACE 
Program is diminished as a result of reduced reimbursement 
rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  All Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $87,938 for FY 10-11, $163,464 for FY 11-12 and $169,351 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state's 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$260,790 for FY 10-11, $338,729 for FY 11-12 and $347,908 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency rules, 
amends the provisions governing the Program for All Inclusive 
Care for the Elderly (PACE) to reduce the capitated amount 
paid to PACE organizations (approximately 2,840 service 
units). It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $349,056 for FY 10-11, $502,193 
for FY 11-12 and $517,259 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to PACE 
organizations. The reduction in payments may adversely 
impact the financial standing of these organizations and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#116 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Ambulatory Surgical Centers 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XI.7503) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XI.7503 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The 
secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 

Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory 
surgical centers to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
paid for ambulatory surgical services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 10). As a result of a budgetary shortfall 
in state fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory surgical 
centers to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.7503 as a result of the 
promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule governing 
ambulatory surgical centers (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ambulatory surgical centers to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the November 20, 2010 and the 
December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 11.  Ambulatory Surgical Centers 

Chapter 75. Reimbursement 
§7503. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for surgical services provided by 
an ambulatory surgical center shall be reduced by 4.4 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement for surgical services provided by 
an ambulatory surgical center shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee amounts on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1889 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2278 (October 2010), 
LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Ambulatory Surgical 

Centers―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $56,899 for FY 10-11, $109,120 for FY 11-12 and $113,051 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$168,854 for FY 10-11, $226,120 for FY 11-12 and $232,247 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ambulatory surgical centers to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates for surgical services (approximately 
28,500 services annually). It is anticipated that implementation 

of this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $226,081 for FY 10-11, 
$335,240 for FY 11-12 and $345,298 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
ambulatory surgical centers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of ambulatory surgical 
centers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#117 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Dental Program 

Covered Services and Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.6903 and 6905) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 50: 
XV.6903 and §6905 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services in the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT) Program to reduce the reimbursement 
fees (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for EPSDT dental services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates. In addition, this emergency rule 
also amended the provisions governing the covered services 
and reimbursement methodology for the EPSDT Dental 
Program to include an additional dental procedure 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XV.6905 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
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governing EPSDT dental services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
EPSDT dental services to further reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). This 
proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 
2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental Services 
§6903. Covered Services 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective August 1, 2010, the prefabricated esthetic 

coated stainless steel crown-primary tooth dental procedure 
shall be included in the service package for coverage under 
the EPSDT Dental Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:175 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:252 (February 2004), LR 31:667 (March 2005), LR 33:1138 
(June 2007), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1889 (September 
2009), amended LR 37: 
§6905. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3.  … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for EPSDT dental services 
shall be reduced to the following percentages of the 2009 
National Dental Advisory Service Comprehensive Fee 
Report 70th percentile, unless otherwise stated in this 
Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the following oral evaluation 
services: 

a. periodic oral examination; 
b. oral examination—patients under three years of 

age; and 
c. comprehensive oral examination—new patient; 

2. 65 percent for the following annual and periodic 
diagnostic and preventive services: 

a. radiographs―periapical, first film;  
b. radiograph―periapical, each additional film; 
c. radiograph—panoramic film; 
d. prophylaxis―adult and child; 
e. topical application of fluoride—adult and child 

(prophylaxis not included); and 
f. topical fluoride varnish, therapeutic application 

for moderate to high caries risk patients (under 6 years of 
age); 

3. 50 percent for the following diagnostic and 
adjunctive general services: 

a. oral/facial images; 
b. non-intravenous conscious sedation; and 
c. hospital call; and 

4. 58 percent for the remainder of the dental services. 
F. Removable prosthodontics and orthodontic services 

are excluded from the August 1, 2010 rate reduction. 
G. Effective for dates of service on and after December 

1, 2010, the reimbursement fees for EPSDT dental services 
shall be reduced to the following percentages of the 2009 
National Dental Advisory Service Comprehensive Fee 
Report 70th percentile, unless otherwise stated in this 
Chapter: 

1. 67.5 percent for the following oral evaluation 
services: 

a. periodic oral examination; 
b. oral Examination-patients under 3 years of age; 

and  
c. comprehensive oral examination-new patients; 

2. 63.5 percent for the following annual and periodic 
diagnostic and preventive services: 

a. radiographs-periapical, first film; 
b. radiographs-periapical, each additional film; 
c. radiographs-panoramic film; 
d. prophylaxis-adult and child; 
e. topical application of fluoride, adult and child 

(prophylaxis not included); and  
f. topical fluoride varnish, therapeutic application 

for moderate to high caries risk patients (under 6 years of 
age);  

3. 50 percent for the following diagnostic and 
adjunctive general services: 

a. oral/facial image; 
b. non-intravenous conscious sedation; and 
c. hospital call; and  

4. 57 percent for the remainder of the dental services. 
H. Removable prosthodontics and orthodontic services 

are excluded from the December 1, 2010 rate reduction. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1138 (June 2007), amended LR 34:1032 
(June 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1890 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:2040 (September 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 
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Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment―Dental Program―Covered Services and 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $1,629,075 for FY 10-11, $2,938,048 for FY 11-12 and 
$3,043,854 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $656($328 SGF 
and $328 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$4,825,907 for FY 10-11, $6,088,215 for FY 11-12 and 
$6,253,197 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 
percent(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for 
the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the 
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. 
To the extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT) dental services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (approximately 2,450,000 units of service) 
and adds an additional covered service. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 

expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$6,455,638 for FY 10-11, $9,026,263 for FY 11-12 and 
$9,297,051 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to EPSDT 
dental services providers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of EPSDT dental 
services providers and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#118 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Health Services 

EarlySteps Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.7107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XV.7107 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
"The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law." This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds during the 
2008 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) health services to 
increase the reimbursement rates paid for certain services 
rendered to infants and toddlers in the EarlySteps Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 1). As a result of a 
budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the EPSDT Program to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for certain health services rendered 
in the EarlySteps Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the December 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services to Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 71. Health Services 
§7107. EarlySteps Reimbursement 

A. - B.2.e. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for certain Medicaid-covered 
health services rendered in the EarlySteps Program shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the rate in effect on November 30, 
2010.  

1. The following services rendered in the natural 
environment shall be reimbursed at the reduced rate: 

a. audiology services; 
b. speech pathology services; 
c. occupational therapy; 
d. physical therapy; and 
e. psychological services. 

2. Services rendered in special purpose 
facilities/inclusive child care and center-based special 
purpose facilities shall be excluded from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:800 (April 2004), amended LR 31:2030 
(August 2005), LR 35:69 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing.  

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment―Health Services―EarlySteps 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $17,346 for FY 10-11, $50,746 for FY 11-12 and $52,573 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state's 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$51,700 for FY 10-11, $105,156 for FY 11-12 and $108,006 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent(in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT) Program to reduce the reimbursement rates 
paid for health services provided in the EarlySteps Program. It 
is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
reduce expenditures in the EPSDT Program by approximately 
$69,374 for FY 10-11, $155,902 for FY 11-12 and $160,579 
for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
providers for EPSDT health services. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of 
providers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#115 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XI.6901 and 6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XI.6901 and §6903 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for end stage 
renal disease (ESRD) facilities to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9). As a result 
of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ESRD facilities to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.6901-6903 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
ESRD facilities to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 9.  End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 

Chapter 69. Reimbursement 
§6901. General Provisions 

A. End stage renal disease (ESRD) facilities are 
reimbursed a hemodialysis composite rate. The composite 
rate is a comprehensive payment for the complete 
hemodialysis treatment in which the facility assumes 
responsibility for providing all medically necessary routine 
dialysis services. 

B. - D. …  

E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rates in effect on November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1022 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1891 (September 2009), LR 36:2040 (September 
2010), LR 37: 
§6903. Medicare Part B Claims 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities for Medicare 
Part B claims shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates in 
effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities for Medicare 
Part B claims shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in 
effect on November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1891 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2010 (September 
2040), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  End Stage Renal Disease 
Facilities―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $376,982 for FY 10-11, $713,595 for FY 11-12 and 
$739,293 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $410 ($205 SGF 
and $205 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$1,117,009 for FY 10-11, $1,478,708 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,518,779 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $205 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for end stage renal disease facilities to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $1,494,401 for FY 10-11, 
$2,192,303 for FY 11-12 and $2,258,072 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to end 
stage renal disease facilities. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of end stage renal 
disease facilities and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#114 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Adult Day Health Care 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.2915) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to amend LAC 50:XXI.2915 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: "The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law." This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging 
and Adult Services amended the provisions governing the 
Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver to redefine and 
clarify the provisions of the waiver relative to the target 
population, the request for services registry, the 
comprehensive plan of care, and support coordination 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 10). The 
October 20, 2008 Rule also amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology to reduce the 
comprehensive ADHC rate paid to providers as a result of 
adding support coordination as a separate service since these 
services were traditionally reimbursed as part of the 
comprehensive ADHC rate. These provisions were 
repromulgated by the department in December 2008 to 
correct an error of omission in the publication (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 34, Number 12). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for the ADHC Waiver to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the 
department now proposes to amend the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for the ADHC Waiver to 
further reduce the reimbursement rates. This proposed Rule 
is also being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 
Waivers 

Subpart 3.  Adult Day Health Care 
Chapter 29. Reimbursement 
§2915. Provider Reimbursement 

A. - D.2. …  
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E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for ADHC services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the reimbursement rates for ADHC services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rates in effect on March 31, 2011. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2170 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2575 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers―Adult Day Health Care 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $35,430 for FY 10-11, $95,123 for FY 11-12 and $98,548 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 

by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$105,266 for FY 10-11, $197,112 for FY 11-12 and $202,454 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule continues the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 emergency rule and amends the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for the Adult Day Health Care 
(ADHC) Waiver to further reduce the reimbursement rates for 
ADHC services (approximately 109,000 units (days) per year). 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $141,024 for FY 10-11, $292,235 for FY 11-12 
and $301,002 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to Adult 
Day Health Care providers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of these providers and 
could possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#113 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Children’s Choice 

Service Cap and Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.11301 and 12101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities proposes to amend LAC 
50:XXI.11301 and §12101 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of 
the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which 
states: “The secretary is directed to utilize various cost 
containment measures to ensure expenditures in the 
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Medicaid Program do not exceed the level appropriated in 
this schedule, including but not limited to precertification, 
preadmission screening, diversion, fraud control, utilization 
review and management, prior authorization, service 
limitations, drug therapy management, disease management, 
cost sharing, and other measures as permitted under federal 
law.” This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the 
Children’s Choice Waiver in order to reduce the 
reimbursement rates, and to amend the provisions governing 
family training to clarify the service description and the 
components of the service that qualify for Medicaid 
reimbursement (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
10).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the Children’s 
Choice Waiver to reduce the service cap and to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid for waiver services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule governing 
the service cap in order to revise the effective date of the 
service cap reduction(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 9). The September 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was 
amended to revise the formatting of LAC 50:XXI.12101 as a 
result of the promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing the Children’s Choice Waiver (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 12).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the Children’s Choice 
Waiver to further reduce the reimbursement rates and the 
service cap. This proposed Rule is also being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the December 20, 2010 
Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 
Waivers 

Subpart 9.  Children’s Choice 
Chapter 113. Services 
§11301. Service Cap 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective September 1, 2010, Children’s Choice 

Waiver services are capped at $16,660 per individual per 
plan of care year. 

D. Effective April 1, 2011, the Children’s Choice Waiver 
services cap shall be reduced to $16,327 per individual per 
plan of care year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1983 (September 2002), amended by 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 33:2440 (November 2007), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 37: 
Chapter 121. Reimbursement 
§12101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C.1. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for Children’s Choice Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on July 31, 2010. 

1. The following items shall be excluded from the rate 
reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
b. family training services; and  
c. support coordination services.  

E. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the reimbursement rates for Children’s Choice Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on March 31, 2011. 

1. The following items shall be excluded from the rate 
reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations;  
b. family training services; and  
c. support coordination services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1987 (September 2002), LR 33:1872 
(September 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 
34:250 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36:324 (February 
2010), amended LR 36:2280 (October 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821–9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
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or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers―Children's Choice―Service Cap and 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $48,315 for FY 10-11, $127,973 for FY 11-12 and $132,581 
for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $492 ($246 SGF and $246 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$143,589 for FY 10-11, $265,184 for FY 11-12 and $272,370 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $246 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
Children's Choice Waiver to further reduce the service cap and 
the reimbursement rates paid for waiver services and continues 
the provisions of the December 20, 2010 emergency rule. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $192,396 for FY 10-11, $393,157 for FY 11-12 
and $404,951 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 

Children’s Choice Waiver providers. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of these  
providers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#112 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Elderly and Disabled Adults 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.9101, 9107-9121) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to amend LAC 50:XX1.9101 and to adopt 
§§9107-9121 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the department amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the Elderly and Disabled 
Adult (EDA) Waiver to reduce the reimbursement rates paid 
for companion services (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9). As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal 
year 2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for EDA Waiver services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates for personal assistance and adult day 
health care (ADHC) services, and to adopt provisions 
governing the reimbursement for adult day health care 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing the EDA 
Waiver to further reduce the reimbursement rates for 
personal assistance and ADHC services. This proposed Rule 
is also being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 2936 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 7.  Elderly and Disabled Adults 

Chapter 91. Reimbursement 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for EDA Waiver services, with the 
exception of ADHC services, shall be a prospective flat rate for 
each approved unit of service provided to the recipient. Adult day 
health care services shall be reimbursed according to the provisions 
of Subchapter B of this Chapter 91. 

B. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for personal assistance 
services in the EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of 
the rates on file as of July 31, 2010. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the reimbursement rates for personal assistance services in 
the EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates on 
file as of March 31, 2011. 

1. This reimbursement rate reduction shall not apply 
to shared services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:251 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:1893 (September 2009), amended 
LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Adult Day Health Care Services 

Reimbursement 
§9107. General Provisions 

A. Providers of adult day health care services shall be 
reimbursed a per diem rate for services rendered under a 
prospective payment system (PPS). The system shall be 
designed in a manner that recognizes and reflects the cost of 
direct care services provided. The reimbursement 
methodology is designed to improve the quality of care for 
waiver recipients by ensuring that direct care services are 
provided at an acceptable level while fairly reimbursing the 
providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9109. Cost Reporting 

A. Cost Centers Components 
1. Direct Care Costs. This component reimburses for 

in-house and contractual direct care staffing and fringe 
benefits and direct care supplies. 

2. Care Related Costs. This component reimburses for 
in-house and contractual salaries and fringe benefits for 
activity and social services staff, raw food costs and care 
related supplies for activities and social services. 

3. Administrative and Operating Costs. This 
component reimburses for in-house or contractual salaries 
and related benefits for administrative, dietary, housekeeping 
and maintenance staff. Also included are: 

a. utilities; 

b. accounting; 
c. dietary; 
d. housekeeping and maintenance supplies; and 
e. all other administrative and operating type 

expenditures. 
4. Property. This component reimburses for 

depreciation, interest on capital assets, lease expenses, 
property taxes and other expenses related to capital assets. 

B. Providers of ADHC services are required to file 
acceptable annual cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. An acceptable cost report is one that is 
prepared in accordance with the requirements of this Section 
and for which the provider has supporting documentation 
necessary for completion of a desk review or audit. The 
annual cost reports are the basis for determining 
reimbursement rates. A copy of all reports and statistical data 
must be retained by the center for no less than five years 
following the date reports are submitted to the bureau. A 
chart of accounts and an accounting system on the accrual 
basis or converted to the accrual basis at year end are 
required in the cost report preparation process. The bureau or 
its designee will perform desk reviews of the cost reports. In 
addition to the desk review, a representative number of the 
facilities shall be subject to a full-scope, annual on-site audit. 
All ADHC cost reports shall be filed with a fiscal year from 
July 1 through June 30. 

C. The cost reporting forms and instructions developed 
by the bureau must be used by all facilities participating in 
the Louisiana Medicaid Program who render ADHC 
services. Hospital based and other provider based facilities 
which use Medicare forms for step down in completing their 
ADHC Medicaid cost reports must submit copies of the 
applicable Medicare cost report forms also. All amounts 
must be rounded to the nearest dollar and must foot and 
cross foot. Only per diem cost amounts will not be rounded. 
Cost reports submitted that have not been rounded in 
accordance with this policy will be returned and will not be 
considered as received until they are resubmitted. 

D. Annual Reporting. Cost reports are to be filed on or 
before the last day of September following the close of the 
reporting period. Should the due date fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or an official state or federal holiday, the due date 
shall be the following business day. The cost report forms 
and schedules must be filed in duplicate together with two 
copies of the following documents: 

1. a working trial balance that includes the appropriate 
cost report line numbers to which each account can be 
traced. This may be done by writing the cost report category 
and line numbers by each ending balance or by running a 
trial balance in cost report category and line number order 
that totals the account; 

2. a depreciation schedule. The depreciation schedule 
which reconciles to the depreciation expense reported on the 
cost report must be submitted. If the center files a home 
office cost report, copies of the home office depreciation 
schedules must also be submitted with the home office cost 
report. All hospital based facilities must submit two copies 
of a depreciation schedule that clearly shows and totals 
assets that are hospital only, ADHC only and shared assets; 

3. an amortization schedule(s), if applicable; 
4. a schedule of adjustment and reclassification 

entries; 
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5. a narrative description of purchased management 
services and a copy of contracts for managed services, if 
applicable; 

6. for management services provided by a related 
party or home office, a description of the basis used to 
allocate the costs to providers in the group and to non-
provider activities and copies of the cost allocation 
worksheet, if applicable. Costs included that are for related 
management/home office costs must also be reported on a 
separate cost report that includes an allocation schedule; and 

7. all allocation worksheets must be submitted by 
hospital-based facilities. The Medicare worksheets that must 
be attached by facilities using the Medicare forms for 
allocation are: 

a. A; 
b. A-6; 
c. A-7 parts I, II and III; 
d. A-8; 
e. A-8-1; 
f. B part 1; and 
g. B-1. 

E. Each copy of the cost report must have the original 
signatures of an officer or center administrator on the 
certification. The cost report and related documents must be 
submitted to the address indicated on the cost report 
instruction form. In order to avoid a penalty for delinquency, 
cost reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. 

F. When it is determined, upon initial review for 
completeness, that an incomplete or improperly completed 
cost report has been submitted, the provider will be notified. 
The provider will be allowed a specified amount of time to 
submit the requested information without incurring the 
penalty for a delinquent cost report. For cost reports that are 
submitted by the due date, 10 working days from the date of 
the provider’s receipt of the request for additional 
information will be allowed for the submission of the 
additional information. For cost reports that are submitted 
after the due date, five working days from the date of the 
provider’s receipt of the request for additional information 
will be allowed for the submission of the additional 
information. An exception exists in the event that the due 
date comes after the specified number of days for 
submission of the requested information. In these cases, the 
provider will be allowed to submit the additional requested 
information on or before the due date of the cost report. If 
requested additional information has not been submitted by 
the specified date, a second request for the information will 
be made. Requested information not received after the 
second request may not be subsequently submitted and shall 
not be considered for reimbursement purposes. An appeal of 
the disallowance of the costs associated with the requested 
information may not be made. Allowable costs will be 
adjusted to disallow any expenses for which requested 
information is not submitted. 

G. Accounting Basis. The cost report must be prepared 
on the accrual basis of accounting. If a center is on a cash 
basis, it will be necessary to convert from a cash basis to an 
accrual basis for cost reporting purposes. Particular attention 
must be given to an accurate accrual of all costs at the year-
end for the equitable distribution of costs to the applicable 
period. Care must be given to the proper allocation of costs 
for contracts to the period covered by such contracts. 

Amounts earned although not actually received and amounts 
owed to creditors but not paid must be included in the 
reporting period. 

H. Supporting Information. Providers are required to 
maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for 
proper determination of reimbursable costs. Financial and 
statistical records must be maintained by the center for five 
years from the date the cost report is submitted to the 
bureau. Cost information must be current, accurate and in 
sufficient detail to support amounts reported in the cost 
report. This includes all ledgers, journals, records, and 
original evidences of cost (canceled checks, purchase orders, 
invoices, vouchers, inventories, time cards, payrolls, bases 
for apportioning costs, etc.) that pertain to the reported costs. 
Census data reported on the cost report must be supportable 
by daily census records. Such information must be adequate 
and available for auditing. 

I. Employee Record 
1. The provider shall retain written verification of 

hours worked by individual employees. 
a. Records may be sign-in sheets or time cards, but 

shall indicate the date and hours worked. 
b. Records shall include all employees even on a 

contractual or consultant basis. 
2. Verification of criminal background check. 
3. Verification of employee orientation and in-service 

training. 
4. Verification of the employee’s communicable 

disease screening. 
J. Billing Records 

1. The provider shall maintain billing records in 
accordance with recognized fiscal and accounting 
procedures. Individual records shall be maintained for each 
client. These records shall meet the following criteria.  

a. Records shall clearly detail each charge and each 
payment made on behalf of the client. 

b. Records shall be current and shall clearly reveal 
to whom charges were made and for whom payments were 
received.  

c. Records shall itemize each billing entry. 
d. Records shall show the amount of each payment 

received and the date received. 
2. The provider shall maintain supporting fiscal 

documents and other records necessary to ensure that claims 
are made in accordance with federal and state requirements. 

K. Non-acceptable Descriptions. "Miscellaneous," 
"other" and "various," without further detailed explanation, 
are not acceptable descriptions for cost reporting purposes. If 
any of these are used as descriptions in the cost report, a 
request for information will not be made and the related line 
item expense will be automatically disallowed. The provider 
will not be allowed to submit the proper detail of the 
expense at a later date, and an appeal of the disallowance of 
the costs may not be made. 

L. Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the cost report 
filing requirements will be considered on an individual 
provider basis upon written request from the provider to the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Rate and Audit 
Review Section. If an exception is allowed, the provider 
must attach a statement describing fully the nature of the 
exception for which prior written permission was requested 
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and granted. Exceptions which may be allowed with written 
approval are as follows. 

1. If the center has been purchased or established 
during the reporting period, a partial year cost report may be 
filed in lieu of the required 12–month report. 

2. If the center experiences unavoidable difficulties in 
preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an 
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests 
for exception must contain a full statement of the cause of 
the difficulties that rendered timely preparation of the cost 
report impossible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9111. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 

A. Direct Care (DC) Costs 
1. Salaries, Aides―gross salaries of certified nurse 

aides and nurse aides in training. 
2. Salaries, LPNs―gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

licensed practical nurses and graduate practical nurses. 
3. Salaries, RNs―gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

registered nurses and graduate nurses (excluding director of 
nursing and resident assessment instrument coordinator). 

4. Salaries, Social Services―gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory licensed social services personnel providing 
medically needed social services to attain or maintain the 
highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well 
being of the residents. 

5. Salaries, Activities―gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory activities/recreational personnel providing 
an ongoing program of activities designed to meet, in 
accordance with the comprehensive assessment, the interest 
and the physical, mental, and psychosocial well being of the 
residents. 

6. Payroll Taxes―cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for direct care employees. 

7. Group Insurance, DC―cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for direct care employees. 

8. Pensions, DC―cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for direct care employees. 

9. Uniform Allowance, DC―employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for direct care 
employees. 

10. Worker's Comp, DC―cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for direct care employees. 

11. Contract, Aides―cost of aides through contract that 
are not center employees. 

12. Contract, LPNs―cost of LPNs and graduate 
practical nurses hired through contract that are not center 
employees. 

13. Contract, RNs―cost of RNs and graduate nurses 
hired through contract that are not center employees. 

14. Drugs, Over-the-Counter and Legend―cost of 
over-the-counter and legend drugs provided by the center to 
its residents. This is for drugs not covered by Medicaid. 

15. Medical Supplies―cost of patient-specific items of 
medical supplies such as catheters, syringes and sterile 
dressings. 

16. Medical Waste Disposal―cost of medical waste 
disposal including storage containers and disposal costs. 

17. Other Supplies, DC―cost of items used in the 
direct care of residents which are not patient-specific such as 
recreational/activity supplies, prep supplies, alcohol pads, 
betadine solution in bulk, tongue depressors, cotton balls, 
thermometers, and blood pressure cuffs. 

18. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based―the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as direct care costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

19. Total Direct Care Costs―sum of the above line 
items. 

B. Care Related (CR) Costs 
1. Salaries―gross salaries for care related supervisory 

staff including supervisors or directors over nursing, social 
service and activities/recreation. 

2. Salaries, Dietary―gross salaries of kitchen 
personnel including dietary supervisors, cooks, helpers and 
dishwashers. 

3. Payroll Taxes―cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for care related employees. 

4. Group Insurance, CR―cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for care related employees. 

5. Pensions, CR―cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for care related employees. 

6. Uniform Allowance, CR―employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for care related 
employees. 

7. Worker's Comp, CR―cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for care related employees.  

8. Barber and Beauty Expense―the cost of barber and 
beauty services provided to patients for which no charges are 
made. 

9. Consultant Fees, Activities―fees paid to activities 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing advisory 
and educational services to the center. 

10. Consultant Fees, Nursing―fees paid to nursing 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing advisory 
and educational services to the center. 

11. Consultant Fees, Pharmacy―fees paid to a 
registered pharmacist, not on the center’s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the center. 

12. Consultant Fees, Social Worker―fees paid to a 
social worker, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the center. 

13. Consultant Fees, Therapists―fees paid to a licensed 
therapist, not on the center’s payroll, for providing advisory 
and educational services to the center. 

14. Food, Raw―cost of food products used to provide 
meals and snacks to residents. Hospital based facilities must 
allocate food based on the number of meals served. 

15. Food, Supplements―cost of food products given in 
addition to normal meals and snacks under a doctor's orders. 
Hospital based facilities must allocate food-supplements 
based on the number of meals served. 

16. Supplies, CR―the costs of supplies used for 
rendering care related services to the patients of the center. 
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All personal care related items such as shampoo and soap 
administered by all staff must be included on this line. 

17. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based―the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as care related costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

18. Total Care Related Costs―the sum of the care 
related cost line items. 

19. Contract, Dietary―cost of dietary services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

C. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC) 
1. Salaries, Administrator―gross salary of 

administrators excluding owners. Hospital based facilities 
must attach a schedule of the administrator's salary before 
allocation, the allocation method, and the amount allocated 
to the nursing center. 

2. Salaries, Assistant Administrator―gross salary of 
assistant administrators excluding owners. 

3. Salaries, Housekeeping―gross salaries of 
housekeeping personnel including housekeeping supervisors, 
maids and janitors. 

4. Salaries, Laundry―gross salaries of laundry 
personnel. 

5. Salaries, Maintenance―gross salaries of personnel 
involved in operating and maintaining the physical plant, 
including maintenance personnel or plant engineers. 

6. Salaries, Drivers―gross salaries of personnel 
involved in transporting clients to and from the center. 

7. Salaries, Other Administrative―gross salaries of 
other administrative personnel including bookkeepers, 
receptionists, administrative assistants and other office and 
clerical personnel. 

8. Salaries, Owner or Owner/Administrator―gross 
salaries of all owners of the center that are paid through the 
center. 

9. Payroll Taxes―cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for administrative and 
operating employees. 

10. Group Insurance, AOC―cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for administrative and operating employees. 

11. Pensions, AOC―cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for administration and operating 
employees. 

12. Uniform Allowance, AOC―employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for administration and 
operating employees. 

13. Worker's Compensation, AOC―cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for administration and operating 
employees. 

14. Contract, Housekeeping―cost of housekeeping 
services and personnel hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

15. Contract, Laundry―cost of laundry services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

16. Contract, Maintenance―cost of maintenance 
services and persons hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

17. Consultant Fees, Dietician―fees paid to consulting 
registered dieticians. 

18. Accounting Fees―fees incurred for the preparation 
of the cost report, audits of financial records, bookkeeping, 
tax return preparation of the adult day health care center and 
other related services excluding personal tax planning and 
personal tax return preparation. 

19. Amortization Expense, Non-Capital―costs 
incurred for legal and other expenses when organizing a 
corporation must be amortized over a period of 60 months. 
Amortization of costs attributable to the negotiation or 
settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset on or 
after July 18, 1984, whether by acquisition or merger, for 
which any payment has previously been made are 
nonallowable costs. If allowable cost is reported on this line, 
an amortization schedule must be submitted with the cost 
report. 

20. Bank Service Charges―fees paid to banks for 
service charges, excluding penalties and insufficient funds 
charges. 

21. Dietary Supplies―costs of consumable items such 
as soap, detergent, napkins, paper cups, straws, etc., used in 
the dietary department. 

22. Dues―dues to one organization are allowable. 
23. Educational Seminars and Training―the 

registration cost for attending educational seminars and 
training by employees of the center and costs incurred in the 
provision of in-house training for center staff, excluding 
owners or administrative personnel. 

24. Housekeeping Supplies―cost of consumable 
housekeeping items including waxes, cleaners, soap, brooms 
and lavatory supplies. 

25. Insurance, Professional Liability and 
Other―includes the costs of insuring the center against 
injury and malpractice claims. 

26. Interest Expense, Non-Capital and 
Vehicles―interest paid on short term borrowing for center 
operations.  

27. Laundry Supplies―cost of consumable goods used 
in the laundry including soap, detergent, starch and bleach. 

28. Legal Fees―only actual and reasonable attorney 
fees incurred for non-litigation legal services related to 
patient care are allowed. 

29. Linen Supplies―cost of sheets, blankets, pillows, 
gowns, under-pads and diapers (reusable and disposable).  

30. Miscellaneous―costs incurred in providing center 
services that cannot be assigned to any other line item on the 
cost report. Examples of miscellaneous expense are small 
equipment purchases, all employees’ physicals and shots, 
nominal gifts to all employees, such as a turkey or ham at 
Christmas, allowable advertising, and flowers purchased for 
the enjoyment of the clients. Items reported on this line must 
be specifically identified. 

31. Management Fees and Home Office Costs—the 
cost of purchased management services or home office costs 
incurred that are allocable to the provider. Costs included 
that are for related management/home office costs must also 
be reported on a separate cost report that includes an 
allocation schedule. 

32. Nonemergency Medical Transportation―the cost of 
purchased nonemergency medical transportation services 
including, but not limited to, payments to employees for use 
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of personal vehicle, ambulance companies and other 
transportation companies for transporting patients of the 
center. 

33. Office Supplies and Subscriptions―cost of 
consumable goods used in the business office such as: 

a. pencils, paper and computer supplies; 
b. cost of printing forms and stationery including, 

but not limited to, nursing and medical forms, accounting 
and census forms, charge tickets, center letterhead and 
billing forms; 

c. cost of subscribing to newspapers, magazines and 
periodicals. 

34. Postage―cost of postage, including stamps, 
metered postage, freight charges and courier services. 

35. Repairs and Maintenance―supplies and services, 
including electricians, plumbers, extended service 
agreements, etc., used to repair and maintain the center 
building, furniture and equipment except vehicles. This 
includes computer software maintenance. 

36. Taxes and Licenses―the cost of taxes and licenses 
paid that are not included on any other line on Form 6. This 
includes tags for vehicles, licenses for center staff (including 
nurse aide re-certifications) and buildings. 

37. Telephone and Communications―cost of telephone 
services, wats lines and fax services. 

38. Travel―cost of travel (airfare, lodging, meals, etc.) 
by the administrator and other authorized personnel to attend 
professional and continuing educational seminars and 
meetings or to conduct center business. Commuting 
expenses and travel allowances are not allowable. 

39. Vehicle Expenses―vehicle maintenance and 
supplies, including gas and oil. 

40. Utilities—cost of water, sewer, gas, electric, cable 
TV and garbage collection services. 

41. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based―costs that have 
been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital as administrative and operating costs. 

42. Total Administrative and Operating Costs. 
D. Property and Equipment 

1. Amortization Expense, Capital―legal and other 
costs incurred when financing the center must be amortized 
over the life of the mortgage. Amortization of goodwill is 
not an allowable cost. Amortization of costs attributable to 
the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset on or after July 18, 1984, whether by 
acquisition or merger, for which any payment has previously 
been made are nonallowable costs. If allowable cost is 
reported on this line, an amortization schedule must be 
submitted with the cost report. 

2. Depreciation―depreciation on the center’s 
buildings, furniture, equipment, leasehold improvements and 
land improvements. 

3. Interest Expense, Capital―interest paid or accrued 
on notes, mortgages, and other loans, the proceeds of which 
were used to purchase the center’s land, buildings and/or 
furniture, equipment and vehicles. 

4. Property Insurance―cost of fire and casualty 
insurance on center buildings, equipment and vehicles. 
Hospital-based facilities and state-owned facilities must 
allocate property insurance based on the number of square 
feet. 

5. Property Taxes―taxes levied on the center’s 
buildings, equipment and vehicles. Hospital-based facilities 
and state-owned facilities must allocate property insurance 
based on the number of square feet. 

6. Rent, Building―cost of leasing the center’s real 
property. 

7. Rent, Furniture and Equipment―cost of leasing the 
center’s furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 

8. Lease, Automotive―cost of leases for vehicles used 
for patient care. A mileage log must be maintained. If a 
leased vehicle is used for both patient care and personal 
purposes, cost must be allocated based on the mileage log. 

9. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based―costs that have 
been allocated through the step–down process from a 
hospital or state institution as property costs when those 
costs include allocated overhead. 

10. Total Property and Equipment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9113. Allowable Costs 

A. Allowable costs include those costs incurred by 
providers to conform to state licensure and federal 
certification standards. General cost principles are applied 
during the desk review and audit process to determine 
allowable costs. 

1. These general cost principles include determining 
whether the cost is: 

a. ordinary, necessary, and related to the delivery of 
care;  

b. what a prudent and cost conscious business 
person would pay for the specific goods or services in the 
open market or in an arm’s length transaction; and 

c. for goods or services actually provided to the 
center. 

B. Through the desk review and/or audit process, 
adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider’s reported costs. The Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual is the final authority for allowable 
costs unless the department has set a more restrictive policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9115. Nonallowable Costs 

A. Costs that are not based on the reasonable cost of 
services covered under Medicare and are not related to the 
care of recipients are considered nonallowable costs. 

B. Reasonable cost does not include the following: 
1. costs not related to client care; 
2. costs specifically not reimbursed under the 

program; 
3. costs that flow from the provision of luxury items 

or services (items or services substantially in excess or more 
expensive than those generally considered necessary for the 
provision of the care); 

4. costs that are found to be substantially out of line 
with other centers that are similar in size, scope of services 
and other relevant factors; 
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5. costs exceeding what a prudent and cost-conscious 
buyer would incur to purchase the goods or services. 

C. General nonallowable costs: 
1. services for which Medicaid recipients are charged 

a fee; 
2. depreciation of non-client care assets; 
3. services that are reimbursable by other state or 

federally funded programs; 
4. goods or services unrelated to client care; 
5. unreasonable costs. 

D. Specific nonallowable costs (this is not an all 
inclusive listing): 

1. advertising―costs of advertising to the general 
public that seeks to increase patient utilization of the ADHC 
center; 

2. bad debts―accounts receivable that are written off 
as not collectible; 

3. contributions―amounts donated to charitable or 
other organizations; 

4. courtesy allowances; 
5. director’s fees; 
6. educational costs for clients; 
7. gifts; 
8. goodwill or interest (debt service) on goodwill; 
9. costs of income producing items such as fund 

raising costs, promotional advertising, or public relations 
costs and other income producing items; 

10. income taxes, state and federal taxes on net income 
levied or expected to be levied by the federal or state 
government; 

11. insurance, officers―cost of insurance on officers 
and key employees of the center when the insurance is not 
provided to all employees; 

12. judgments or settlements of any kind; 
13. lobbying costs or political contributions, either 

directly or through a trade organization; 
14. non-client entertainment; 
15. non-Medicaid related care costs―costs allocated to 

portions of a center that are not licensed as the reporting 
ADHC or are not certified to participate in Title XIX; 

16. officers’ life insurance with the center or owner as 
beneficiary; 

17. payments to the parent organization or other related 
party; 

18. penalties and sanctions―penalties and sanctions 
assessed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 
the Internal Revenue Service or the State Tax Commission; 
insufficient funds charges; 

19. personal comfort items; and 
20. personal use of vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9117. Audits 

A. Each provider shall file an annual center cost report 
and, if applicable, a central office cost report. 

B. The provider shall be subject to financial and 
compliance audits. 

C. All providers who elect to participate in the Medicaid 
Program shall be subject to audit by state or federal 

regulators or their designees. Audit selection shall be at the 
discretion of the department. 

1. The department conducts desk reviews of all of the 
cost reports received and also conducts on-site audits of 
provider cost reports. 

2. The records necessary to verify information 
submitted to the department on Medicaid cost reports, 
including related-party transactions and other business 
activities engaged in by the provider, must be accessible to 
the department’s audit staff. 

D. In addition to the adjustments made during desk 
reviews and on-site audits, the department may exclude or 
adjust certain expenses in the cost report data base in order 
to base rates on the reasonable and necessary costs that an 
economical and efficient provider must incur. 

E. The center shall retain such records or files as 
required by the department and shall have them available for 
inspection for five years from the date of service or until all 
audit exceptions are resolved, whichever period is longer. 

F. If a center’s audit results in repeat findings and 
adjustments, the department may: 

1. withhold vendor payments until the center submits 
documentation that the non-compliance has been resolved; 

2. exclude the provider’s cost from the database used 
for rate setting purposes; and 

3. impose civil monetary penalties until the center 
submits documentation that the non-compliance has been 
resolved. 

G. If the department’s auditors determine that a center’s 
financial and/or census records are unauditable, the vendor 
payments may be withheld until the center submits auditable 
records. The provider shall be responsible for costs incurred 
by the department’s auditors when additional services or 
procedures are performed to complete the audit.  

H. Vendor payments may also be withheld under the 
following conditions: 

1. a center fails to submit corrective action plans in 
response to financial and compliance audit findings within 
15 days after receiving the notification letter from the 
department; or 

2. a center fails to respond satisfactorily to the 
department’s request for information within 15 days after 
receiving the department’s notification letter. 

I. The provider shall cooperate with the audit process 
by: 

1. promptly providing all documents needed for 
review; 

2. providing adequate space for uninterrupted review 
of records; 

3. making persons responsible for center records and 
cost report preparation available during the audit; 

4. arranging for all pertinent personnel to attend the 
closing conference; 

5. insuring that complete information is maintained in 
client’s records; 

6. developing a plan of correction for areas of 
noncompliance with state and federal regulations 
immediately after the exit conference time limit of 30 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
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§9119. Exclusions from the Database 
A. The following providers shall be excluded from the 

database used to calculate the rates: 
1. providers with disclaimed audits; and  
2. providers with cost reports for periods other than a 

12-month period. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§9121. Provider Reimbursement 

A. Cost Determination Definitions 
Adjustment Factor―computed by dividing the value of 

the index for December of the year preceding the rate year 
by the value of the index one year earlier (December of the 
second preceding year). 

Base Rate—calculated in accordance with §9121.B.5, 
plus any base rate adjustments granted in accordance with 
§9121.B.7 which are in effect at the time of calculation of 
new rates or adjustments. 

Base Rate Components―the base rate is the summation 
of the following: 

a. direct care;  
b. care related costs; 
c. administrative and operating costs; and 
d. property costs. 

Indices― 
a. CPI, All Items―the Consumer Price Index for 

All Urban Consumers-South Region (All Items line) as 
published by the United States Department of Labor. 

b. CPI, Medical Services―the Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban Consumers-South Region (Medical 
Services line) as published by the United States Department 
of Labor. 

B. Rate Determination 
1. The base rate is calculated based on the most recent 

audited or desk reviewed cost for all ADHC providers filing 
acceptable full year cost reports. 

2. Audited and desk reviewed costs for each 
component are ranked by center to determine the value of 
each component at the median. 

3. The median costs for each component are 
multiplied in accordance with §9121.B.4 then by the 
appropriate economic adjustment factors for each successive 
year to determine base rate components. For subsequent 
years, the components thus computed become the base rate 
components to be multiplied by the appropriate economic 
adjustment factors, unless they are adjusted as provided in 
§9121.B.7 below. Application of an inflationary adjustment 
to reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply 
only when the state legislature allocates funds for this 
purpose. The inflationary adjustment shall be made prorating 
allocated funds based on the weight of the rate components. 

4. The inflated median shall be increased to establish 
the base rate median component as follows. 

a. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 

b. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 

c. The administrative and operating median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the administrative 
and operating base rate component. 

5. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

6. Formulae. Each median cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 

a. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except 
those for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an even 
number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services. The direct care rate component shall be set at 115 
percent of the inflated median. 
 i. For dates of service on or after February 9, 
2007, and extending until the ADHC rate is rebased using a 
cost report that begins after July 1, 2007, the center-specific 
direct care rate will be increased by $1.11 to include a direct 
care service worker wage enhancement. It is the intent that 
this wage enhancement be paid to the direct care service 
workers. 

b. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except 
those for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 

c. Administrative and Operating Cost Component. 
Administrative and operating per diem cost from all 
acceptable full year cost reports, except those for which an 
audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be arrayed from 
lowest to highest. The cost of the midpoint of the array shall 
be the median cost. Should there be an even number of 
arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be 
the median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward 
by dividing the value of the CPI-All Items index for 
December of the year proceeding the base rate year by the 
value of the index for the December of the year preceding 
the cost report year. The administrative and operating rate 
component shall be set at 105 percent of the inflated median. 

d. Property Cost Component. The property per diem 
costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except those 
for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. This will be the rate 
component. Inflation will not be added to property costs. 
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7. Interim Adjustments to Rates. If an unanticipated 
change in conditions occurs that affects the cost of at least 
50 percent of the enrolled ADHC providers by an average of 
five percent or more, the rate may be changed. The 
department will determine whether or not the rates should be 
changed when requested to do so by 25 percent or more of  
the enrolled providers, or an organization representing at 
least 25 percent of the enrolled providers. The burden of 
proof as to the extent and cost effect of the unanticipated 
change will rest with the entities requesting the change. The 
department may initiate a rate change without a request to do 
so. Changes to the rates may be temporary adjustments or 
base rate adjustments as described below. 

a. Temporary Adjustments. Temporary adjustments 
do not affect the base rate used to calculate new rates. 
 i. Changes Reflected in the Economic Indices. 
Temporary adjustments may be made when changes which 
will eventually be reflected in the economic indices, such as 
a change in the minimum wage, a change in FICA or a utility 
rate change, occur after the end of the period covered by the 
indices, i.e., after the December preceding the rate 
calculation. Temporary adjustments are effective only until 
the next annual base rate calculation. 
 ii. Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum 
adjustments may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay, such as a 
change in certification standards mandating additional 
equipment or furnishings. Such adjustments shall be subject 
to the bureau’s review and approval of costs prior to 
reimbursement. 

b. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment 
will result in a new base rate component value that will be 
used to calculate the new rate for the next fiscal year. A base 
rate adjustment may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment is not one that would be reflected in the indices. 

8. Provider Specific Adjustment. When services 
required by these provisions are not made available to the 
recipient by the provider, the department may adjust the 
prospective payment rate of that specific provider by an 
amount that is proportional to the cost of providing the 
service. This adjustment to the rate will be retroactive to the 
date that is determined by the department that the provider 
last provided the service and shall remain in effect until the 
department validates, and accepts in writing, an affidavit that 
the provider is then providing the service and will continue 
to provide that service. 

C. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component shall 
be subject to cost settlement. The direct care floor shall be 
equal to 90 percent of the median direct care rate component 
trended forward for direct care services (plus 90 percent of 
any direct care incentive added to the rate). The Medicaid 
Program will recover the difference between the direct care 
floor and the actual direct care amount expended. If a 
provider receives an audit disclaimer, the cost settlement for 
that year will be based on the difference between the direct 
care floor and the lowest direct care per diem of all facilities 
in the most recent audited and/or desk reviewed database 
trended forward to the rate period related to the disclaimer. 

D. Support Coordination Services Reimbursement. 
Support coordination services previously provided by 
ADHC providers and included in the rate, including the 
Minimum Data Set Home Care (MDS/HC), the social 

assessment, the nursing assessment, the CPOC and home 
visits will no longer be the responsibility of the ADHC 
provider. Support coordination services shall be provided as 
a separate service covered in the waiver. As a result of the 
change in responsibilities, the rate paid to providers shall be 
adjusted accordingly.  

1. Effective January 1, 2009, the rate paid to ADHC 
providers on December 31, 2008 shall be reduced by $4.67 
per day which is the cost of providing support coordination 
services separately. 

2. This rate reduction will extend until such time that 
the ADHC provider’s rate is rebased using cost reports that 
do not reflect the cost of delivering support coordination 
services. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rate for ADHC services provided in 
the EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in 
effect on July 31, 2010. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the reimbursement rate for ADHC services provided in the 
EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in 
effect on March 31, 2011. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered.  It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based Services 
Waivers―Elderly and Disabled Adults 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $327,457 for FY 10-11, $691,893 for FY 11-12 and 
$716,810 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $820 ($410 SGF 
and $410 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$970,721 for FY 10-11, $1,433,738 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,472,590 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $410 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and December 1, 2010 emergency rules, 
amends the provisions governing the mental health 
rehabilitation program to terminate the coverage of 
Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) (PFII) services, amend 
the provisions governing medical necessity for MHR services 
in order to establish continued treatment criteria and reduce the 
reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $1,298,998 for FY 10-11, 
$2,125,631 for FY 11-12 and $2,189,400 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to mental 
health rehabilitation providers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of mental health 
rehabilitation providers and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#111 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
New Opportunities Waiver 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.14301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities propose to amend LAC 
50:XXI.14301 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this Schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the New 
Opportunities Waiver (NOW) to reduce the reimbursement 
rates paid for NOW services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 6). As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the New Opportunities 
Waiver to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the New Opportunities 
Waiver to further reduce the reimbursement rates paid for 
waiver services. This proposed Rule is also being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI. Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 11. New Opportunities Waiver  

Chapter 143. Reimbursement  
§14301. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - I. … 
J. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for New Opportunity Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on July 31, 2010. 
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1. The following services shall be excluded from the 
rate reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
b. specialized medical equipment and supplies;  
c. personal emergency response systems;  
d. one-time transitional expenses; and  
e. individualized and family support services-night 

and shared night.  
K. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 

the reimbursement rates for New Opportunity Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on March 30, 2011. 

1. The following services shall be excluded from the 
rate reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
b. specialized medical equipment and supplies;  
c. personal emergency response systems;  
d. one-time transitional expenses; and  
e. individualized and family support services-night 

and shared night. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 30:1209 (June 2004), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 34:252 (February 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 35:1851 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1247 (June 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates.  

Public Coments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based  
Services Waivers―New Opportunities 

Waiver―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $1,799,374 for FY 10-11, $4,586,333 for FY 11-12 and 
$4,751,498 for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $410 ($205 
SGF and $205 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11).  The enhanced 
rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is 
authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009.  To the extent that additional enhanced 
federal match would be available and appropriated after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$5,330,084 for FY 10-11, $9,503,785 for FY 11-12 and 
$9,761,324 for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $205 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GRO UPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule continues the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 emergency rule and amends the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for the New Opportunities 
Waiver (NOW) to further reduce the reimbursement rates. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $7,129,868 for FY 10-11, $14,090,118 for FY 
11-12 and $14,512,822 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made for NOW 
services.  The reduction in payments may adversely impact the 
financial standing of waiver providers and could possibly cause 
a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#110 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Supports Waiver 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXI.6101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities propose to amend LAC 
50:XXI.6101 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for Supports 
Waiver services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10). As a result of 
a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
Supports Waiver services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was 
amended to revise the formatting of LAC 50:XXI.6101 as a 
result of the promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing the Supports Waiver (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the Supports Waiver to 
further reduce the reimbursement rates. This proposed Rule 
is also being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI. Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 5. Supports Waiver 

Chapter 61. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - K.1. … 
L. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for Supports Waiver services 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

1. Support coordination services and personal 
emergency response system services shall be excluded from 
the rate reduction. 

M. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the reimbursement rates for Supports Waiver services shall 
be reduced by 2 percent of the rates on file as of March 31, 
2011. 

1. Support coordination services and personal 
emergency response system services shall be excluded from 
the rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 32:1607 (September 2006), 
amended LR 34:662 (April 2008), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36:2281 
(October 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based Services 
WaiversSupports Waiver 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $58,412 for FY 10-11, $195,214 for FY 11-12 and $202,244 
for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule.  The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009.  To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$173,335 for FY 10-11, $404,522 for FY 11-12 and $415,484 
for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in 
FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 emergency rule and amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Supports 
Waiver to further reduce the reimbursement rates.  It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $232,075 for FY 10-11, $599,736 for FY 11-12 
and $617,728 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made for 
Supports Waiver services.  The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of waiver providers and 
could possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#109 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health Program 
Extended Nursing Services 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XIII.701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XIII.701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which 
states:“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost 
containment measures to ensure expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program do not exceed the level appropriated in 
this schedule, including but not limited to precertification, 
preadmission screening, diversion, fraud control, utilization 
review and management, prior authorization, service 
limitations, drug therapy management, disease management, 
cost sharing, and other measures as permitted under federal 
law.”This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing services covered in the Home Health Program to 
increase the reimbursement rates paid for extended nursing 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 4). 

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for nursing services covered in the Home Health Program in 
order to reduce the reimbursement rates paid for extended 
nursing services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH–MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIII. Home Health 
Subpart 1. Home Health Services 

Chapter 7. Reimbursement Methodology 
§701. Nursing and Home Health Aide Services 

A. - B.3. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for extended nursing services 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect on 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:654 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2281 (October 2010), amended LR 37: 
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Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE: Home Health Program―Extended 
Nursing Services―Reimbursement Rate Reduction   

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $78,871 for FY 10-11, $209,964 for FY 11-12 and $217,525 
for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule.  The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009.  To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$233,933 for FY 10-11, $435,088 for FY 11-12 and $446,878 
for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in 
FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 

(in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the Home Health Program to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for extended nursing services 
(approximately 331,590 service units).  It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$313,132 for FY 10-11, $645,052 for FY 11-12 and $664,403 
for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to home 
health providers.  The reduction in payments may adversely 
impact the financial standing of these providers and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#108 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:V.Chapter 7, 953, 955, 959 and 967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:V.Chapter 7 and to amend §§953, 955, 959 and 967 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions which established a prospective reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 20, Number 6). These provisions included 
the establishment of general and specialized peer group per 
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diem rates, level of care criteria and staffing requirements 
for certain resource intensive inpatient services and an 
appeals procedure for adjustment of rate components.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
(SFY) 2010, the department amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to reduce the reimbursement rates for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). The 
November 20, 2010 Rule also amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to establish a 
Medicaid upper payment limit financing mechanism to 
provide supplemental payments to hospitals for providing 
healthcare services to low income and needy patients. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule also amended the provisions governing the 
appeals procedure that address the criteria for qualifying 
loss. The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was amended to 
revise the formatting of LAC 50:V.953, §955, §959 and §967 
as a result of the promulgation of the November 20, 2010 
final Rule governing inpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 7. Prospective Reimbursement 
Subchapter A. Appeals Procedure 
§701. Request for Administrative Review 

A. Any hospital seeking an adjustment to its rate, shall 
submit a written request for administrative review to the 
Medicaid director (hereafter referred to as director) within 
30 days after receipt of the letter notifying the hospital of its 
rates.  

1. The receipt of the letter notifying the hospital of its 
rates shall be deemed to be 5 days from the date of the letter.  

2. The time period for requesting an administrative 
review may be extended upon written agreement between 
the department and the hospital. 

B. The department will acknowledge receipt of the 
written request within 30 days after actual receipt. 
Additional documentation may be requested from the 
hospital as may be necessary for the director to render a 
decision. The director shall issue a written decision upon the 
hospital’s request for a rate adjustment within 90 days after 
receipt of all additional documentation or information 
requested. 

C. Any hospital seeking an adjustment to its rate, must 
specify all of the following: 

1. the nature of the adjustment sought; 
2. the amount of the adjustment sought; and 
3. the reasons or factors that the hospital believes 

justify an adjustment. 
D. Any request for an adjustment must include an 

analysis demonstrating the extent to which the hospital is 
incurring or expects to incur a qualifying loss in providing 
covered services to Medicaid and indigent patients. 

1. For purposes of these provisions, qualifying loss 
shall mean that amount by which the hospital’s allowable 
costs (excluding disproportionate share payment 
adjustments) exceed the Medicaid reimbursement 
implemented pursuant to these provisions. 

2. “Cost” when used in the context of allowable shall 
mean a hospital’s costs incurred in providing covered 
inpatient services to Medicaid and indigent patients, as 
calculated in the relevant definitions governing cost 
reporting. 

E. The hospital will not be required to present an 
analysis of its qualifying loss where the basis for its appeal is 
limited to a claim that: 

1. the rate-setting methodology or criteria for 
classifying hospitals or hospital claims under the State Plan 
were incorrectly applied;  

2. that incorrect or incomplete data or erroneous 
calculations were used in establishment of the hospital rates; 
or 

3. the hospital had incurred additional costs because 
of a catastrophe that meets certain conditions. 

F. Except in cases where the basis for the hospital’s 
appeal is limited to a claim that rate-setting methodologies 
or principles of reimbursement established under the 
reimbursement plan were incorrectly applied, or that the 
incorrect or incomplete data or erroneous calculations were 
in the establishment of the hospital’s rate, the department 
will not award additional reimbursement to a hospital, unless 
the hospital demonstrates that the reimbursement it receives 
based on its prospective rate is 70 percent or less of the 
allowable costs it incurs in providing Medicaid patients care 
and services that conform to the applicable state and federal 
laws of quality and safety standards.  

1. The department will not increase a provider’s rate 
to more than 105 percent of the peer group rate. 

G. In cases where the rate appeal relates to an unresolved 
dispute between the hospital and its Medicare fiscal 
intermediary as to any cost reported in the hospital’s base 
year cost report, the director will resolve such disputes for 
purposes of deciding the request for administrative review. 

H. The following matters will not be subject to appeal: 
1. the use of peer grouped rates; 
2. the use of teaching, non-teaching and bed-size as 

criteria for hospital peer groups; 
3. the use of approved graduate medical education and 

intern and resident full time equivalents as criteria for major 
teaching status; 

4. the use of fiscal year 1991 medical education costs 
to establish a hospital-specific medical education component 
of each teaching hospital’s prospective rate; 
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5. the application of inflationary adjustments 
contingent on funding appropriated by the legislature; 

6. the criteria used to establish the levels of neonatal 
intensive care; 

7. the criteria used to establish the levels of pediatric 
intensive care; 

8. the methodology used to calculate the boarder baby 
rates for nursery; 

9. the use of hospital specific costs for transplant per 
diem limits; 

10. the criteria used to identify specialty hospital peer 
groups; and 

11. the criteria used to establish the level of burn care. 
I. The hospital shall bear the burden of proof in 

establishing facts and circumstances necessary to support a 
rate adjustment. Any costs that the provider cites as a basis 
for relief under this provision must be calculable and 
auditable. 

J. The department may award additional reimbursement 
to a hospital that demonstrates by clear and convincing 
evidence that: 

1. a qualifying loss has occurred and the hospitals 
current prospective rate jeopardized the hospital’s long-term 
financial viability; and 

2. the Medicaid population served by the hospital has 
no reasonable access to other inpatient hospitals for the 
services that the hospital provides and that the hospital 
contends are under reimbursed; or 

3. alternatively, demonstrates that its uninsured care 
hospital costs exceeds 5 percent of its total hospital costs, 
and a minimum of $9,000,000 in uninsured care hospital 
cost in the preceding 12 month time period and the hospital’s 
uninsured care costs has increased at least 35 percent during 
a consecutive six month time period during the hospital’s 
latest cost reporting period.  

a. For purposes of these provisions, an uninsured 
patient is defined as a patient that is not eligible for 
Medicare or Medicaid and does not have insurance.  

b. For purposes of these provisions, uninsured care 
costs are defined as uninsured care charges multiplied by the 
cost to charge ratios by revenue code per the last filed cost 
report, net of payments received from uninsured patients.  
 i. The increase in uninsured care costs must be a 
direct result of a permanent or long term (no less than six 
months) documented change in services that occurred at a 
state owned and operated hospital located less than eight 
miles from the impacted hospital.  
 ii. For the purpose of this Rule, if a hospital has 
multiple locations of service, each location shall measure 
uninsured care costs separately and qualify each location as 
an individual hospital. Rate adjustments awarded under this 
provision will be determined by the secretary of the 
department and shall not exceed 5 percent of the applicable 
per diem rate. 

K. In determining whether to award additional 
reimbursement to a hospital that has made the showing 
required, the director shall consider one or more of the 
following factors and may take any of these actions. 

1. The director shall consider whether the hospital has 
demonstrated that its unreimbursed costs are generated by 
factors generally not shared by other hospitals in the 
hospital’s peer group. Such factors may include, but are not 

limited to extraordinary circumstances beyond the control of 
the hospital and improvements required to comply with 
licensing or accrediting standards. Where it appears from the 
evidence presented that the hospital’s costs are controllable 
through good management practices or cost containment 
measures or that the hospital has through advertisement to 
the general public promoted the use of high costs services 
that could be provided in a more cost effective manner, the 
director may deny the request for rate adjustment. 

2. The director may consider, and may require the 
hospital to provide financial data, including but not limited 
to financial ratio data indicative of the hospital’s 
performance quality in particular areas of hospital operation. 

3. The director shall consider whether the hospital has 
taken every reasonable action to contain costs on a hospital-
wide basis. In making such a determination, the director may 
require the hospital to provide audited cost data or other 
quantitative data including, but not limited to: 

a. occupancy statistics; 
b. average hourly wages paid; 
c. nursing salaries per adjusted patient day; 
d. average length of stay; 
e. cost per ancillary procedure; 
f. average cost per meal served; 
g. average cost per pound of laundry; 
h. average cost per pharmacy prescription; 
i. housekeeping costs per square foot; 
j. medical records costs per admission; 
k. full-time equivalent employees per occupied bed; 
l. age of receivables; 
m. bad debt percentage; 
n. inventory turnover rate; and 
o. information about actions that the hospital has 

taken to contain costs. 
4. The director may also require that an onsite 

operational review/audit of the hospital be conducted by the 
department or its designee. 

L. In awarding relief under this provision, the director 
shall: 

1. make any necessary adjustments so as to correctly 
apply the rate-setting methodology, to the hospital 
submitting the appeal, or to correct calculations, data errors 
or omissions; or 

2. increase one or more of the hospital’s rates by an 
amount that can reasonably be expected to ensure continuing 
access to sufficient inpatient hospital services of adequate 
quality for Medicaid patients served by the hospital. 

M. The following decisions by the director shall not 
result in any change in the peer group rates: 

1. the decision to: 
a. recognize omitted, additional or increased costs 

incurred by any hospital;  
b. adjust the hospital rates; or  
c. otherwise award additional reimbursement to any 

hospital. 
N. Hospitals that qualify under this provision must 

document their continuing eligibility at the beginning of 
each subsequent state fiscal year. Rate adjustments granted 
under this provision shall be effective from the first day of 
the rate period to which the hospital’s appeal relates. 
However, no retroactive adjustments will be made to the rate 
or rates that were paid during any prior rate period. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§703. Administrative Appeal and Judicial Review 

A. If the director’s decision is adverse to the hospital, the 
hospital may appeal the director’s decision to the Bureau of 
Appeals or its successor. The appeal must be lodged within 
30 days of receipt of the written decision of the director. The 
receipt of the decision of the director shall be deemed to be 
five days from the date of the decision. The administrative 
appeal shall be conducted in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA). The Bureau of 
Appeals shall submit a recommended decision to the 
secretary of the department. The secretary will issue the final 
decision of the department. 

B. Judicial review of the secretary’s decision shall be in 
accordance with the APA and shall be filed in the nineteenth 
Judicial District Court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - O.1. … 
P. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

Q. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1 
2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2496 (November 
2010), LR 37: 
§955. Long Term Hospitals 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR: 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2496 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§959. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of July 31, 2010.  

J. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2497 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

D. - E. … 
1. Medicaid supplemental payments related to high 

cost Medicaid and graduate medical education supplemental 
payments shall be included as an interim Medicaid inpatient 
payment in the determination of cost settlement amounts on 
the filed cost report. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A.-C above 
shall be reduced by 5 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after December 1, 2010, final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A-C for the period, multiplied 
by 95 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A-C for the period. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A-C above 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after December 1, 2010, final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A-C for the period, multiplied 
by 90.63 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A-C for the period. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A-C above 
shall be reduced by 2 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care and psychiatric costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
or days as specified per §967.A-C for the period, multiplied 
by 88.82 percent of the target rate per discharge or per diem 
limitation as specified per §967.A-C for the period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2562 (November 2010), amended LR 37: 
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Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821–9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Inpatient Hospital Services―Non-Rural, 

Non-State Hospitals―Reimbursement Methodology 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $6,526,216 for FY 10-11, $13,085,309 for FY 11-12 and 
$13,556,540 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $1,476 ($738 
SGF and $738 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate 
of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is 
authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that additional enhanced 
federal match would be available and appropriated after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$19,331,872 for FY 10-11, $27,115,332 for FY 11-12 and 
$27,850,120 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $738 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 

six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and December 1, 2010 emergency rules, 
amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals and 
amends the provisions governing the appeals procedure that 
address the criteria for qualifying loss. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$25,859,564 for FY 10-11, $40,200,641 for FY 11-12 and 
$41,460,660 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to non-
rural, non-state hospitals. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of hospitals and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#107 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Developmental Disabilities 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:VII.32903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:VII.32903 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
legislature during the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
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disabilities (ICFs/DD) to increase the per diem rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 7).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for non-state ICFs/DD to reduce the per diem 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). In August 
2010, the department also amended the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for non-state ICFs/DD to 
restore the per diem rates paid to private providers who have 
downsized large facilities to less than 35 beds and incurred 
unusually high capital costs as a result of the downsizing 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
ICFs/DD to further reduce the per diem rates. This proposed 
Rule is also being promulgated to continue the provisions of 
the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Taking the proposed per diem rate reduction into 
consideration, the department has carefully reviewed the 
proposed rates and is satisfied that they are consistent with 
efficiency, economy and quality of care and are sufficient to 
enlist enough providers so that private (non-state) 
intermediate care facility services for persons with 
developmental disabilities under the state plan are available 
at least to the extent that they are available to the general 
population in the state.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Developmental Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32903. Rate Determination 

A. - J. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the per diem rates for non-state intermediate care 
facilities for persons with developmental disabilities 
(ICFs/DD) shall be reduced by 2 percent of the per diem 
rates on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after December 
20, 2010, non-state ICFs/DD which have downsized from 
over 100 beds to less than 35 beds prior to December 31, 
2010 shall be excluded from the August 1, 2010 rate 
reduction. 

L. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the per diem rates for non-state ICFs/DD which have 
downsized from over 100 beds to less than 35 beds prior to 
December 31, 2010 shall be restored to the rates in effect on 
January 1, 2009. 

M. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2011, 
the per diem rates for non-state ICFs/DD shall be reduced by 
5.8 percent of the per diem rates on file as of March 31, 
2011. 

1. Non-State ICFs/DD which have downsized from 
over 100 beds to less than 35 beds prior to December 31, 
2010 shall be excluded from the April 1, 2011 rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:2253 (September 2005), amended LR 
33:462 (March 2007), LR 33:2202 (October 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1555 (July 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Intermediate Care Facilities for 

Persons―with Developmental 
Disabilities―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $1,371,379 for FY 10-11, $5,328,452 for FY 11-12 and 
$5,520,342 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $410 ($205 SGF 
and $205 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$4,062,378 for FY 10-11, $11,041,600 for FY 11-12 and 
$11,340,812 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $205 will be 
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expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 emergency rules, amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
disabilities (ICFs/DD) to reduce the reimbursement rates and to 
restore the per diem rates paid to private providers who have 
downsized large facilities and incurred unusually high capital 
costs as a result of the downsizing. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will reduce program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$5,434,167 for FY 10-11, $16,370,052 for FY 11-12 and 
$16,861,154 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to non-
state ICFs/DD. The reduction in payments may adversely 
impact the financial standing of these facilities and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#106 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4334-4337) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XIX.4329 and §§4334-4337 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of 
the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which 
states: “The secretary is directed to utilize various cost 
containment measures to ensure expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program do not exceed the level appropriated in 
this Schedule, including but not limited to precertification, 
preadmission screening, diversion, fraud control, utilization 
review and management, prior authorization, service 
limitations, drug therapy management, disease management, 
cost sharing, and other measures as permitted under federal 
law.” This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for laboratory and radiology 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11). As a result of a budgetary 
shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
laboratory and radiology services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule also 
repealed the provisions governing the reimbursement for 
outpatient hospital laboratory services from this Chapter as 
these provisions have been amended and repromulgated in 
LAC 50:V.Chapter 57. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of 
LAC 50:XIX.4329 and §§4334-4337 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing laboratory and radiology services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
laboratory and radiology services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the November 20, 2010 and the 
December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4329. Laboratory Services (Physicians and 

Independent Laboratories)  
A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
July 31, 2010. 

J. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1025 (May 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 
(June 2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§4334. Radiology Services 

A. - G. … 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 
31, 2010. 
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I. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§4335. Portable Radiology Services 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee amounts on 
file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
30:1026 (May 2004), amended LR 35:1898 (September 2009), LR 
36:1248 (June 2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 
§4337. Radiation Therapy Centers 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 2 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1898 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Laboratory and Radiology 
ServicesReimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $1,187,612 for FY 10-11, $2,256,678 for FY 11-12 and 
$2,337,946 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $492 ($246 SGF 
and $246 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$3,518,149 for FY 10-11, $4,676,280 for FY 11-12 and 
$4,803,001 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $246 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for laboratory and radiology services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$4,706,253 for FY 10-11, $6,932,958 for FY 11-12 and 
$7,140,947 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
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laboratory and radiology services providers. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of these 
providers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#105 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Emergency Ambulance Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.325 and 353) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XXVII.325 and §353 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this Schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for emergency 
medical transportation services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for emergency medical transportation services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the December 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 3. Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter B. Ground Transportation 
§325. Reimbursement 

A. - G. ... 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the 
rate on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1248 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2564 
(November 2010), LR 37:  
Subchapter C. Aircraft Transportation 
§353. Reimbursement  

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for fixed winged and rotor 
winged emergency air ambulance services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rate on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:70 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821–9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medical Transportation 

Program―Emergency Ambulance 
Services―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $78,920 for FY 10-11, $225,104 for FY 11-12 and $233,210 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
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and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$234,081 for FY 10-11, $466,458 for FY 11-12 and $479,099 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for emergency 
medical transportation services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (approximately 72,000 service units). It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$313,329 for FY 10-11, $691,562 for FY 11-12 and $712,309 
for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
emergency medical transportation providers. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of 
emergency medical transportation providers and could possibly 
cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#104 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Ambulance Services 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.571) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XXVII.571 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 

Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency ambulance transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). 

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for non-emergency ambulance transportation services to 
further reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the December 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part.  XXVII. Medical Transportation Program 
Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§571. Non-Emergency Ambulance Transportation 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, the ground mileage and ancillary services 
reimbursement rates for non-emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the 
rate in effect on November 30, 2010.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:462 (March 2007), LR 34:878 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 
2010), LR 37:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
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91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medical Transportation Program 

Non-Emergency Ambulance Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $29,782 for FY 10-11, $80,903 for FY 11-12 and $83,817 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$88,534 for FY 10-11, $167,646 for FY 11-12 and $172,189 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-emergency 
ambulance transportation services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates. It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program 
by approximately $118,644 for FY 10-11, $248,549 for FY 11-
12 and $256,006 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to non-
emergency ambulance transportation providers. The reduction 
in payments may adversely impact the financial standing of 
non-emergency ambulance transportation providers and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#103 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.573) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XXVII.573 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency medical transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for non-emergency medical 
transportation services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule was amended to revise the formatting 
of LAC 50:XXVII.573 as a result of the promulgation of the 
November 20, 2010 final Rule governing non-emergency 
medical transportation services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
non-emergency medical transportation services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
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continue the provisions of the November 20, 2010 and the 
December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 
A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 4.5 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

1. Friends and family providers are excluded from the 
rate reduction. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the rates in effect on November 30, 2010. 

1. Friends and family providers are excluded from the 
rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2565 (November 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Medical Transportation Program―Non-
Emergency Medical Transportation―Reimbursement 

Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $115,164 for FY 10-11, $195,645 for FY 11-12 and 
$202,690 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF 
and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional and appropriated enhanced 
federal match would be available after December 2010 (end of 
the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$341,433 for FY 10-11, $405,414 for FY 11-12 and $416,400 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for non-emergency medical transportation 
(NEMT) services to reduce the reimbursement rates. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
reduce program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $456,925 for FY 10-11, $601,059 for FY 11-12 
and $619,090 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made for non-
emergency medical transportation services. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of these 
providers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#102 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 
Termination of Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) 

Services and Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.335, 501-505 and 901) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to repeal LAC 
50:XV.335 and to amend LAC 50:XV.501-505 and §901 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Mental 
Health Rehabilitation (MHR) Program to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for mental health rehabilitation 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). As a 
result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
terminated the coverage of Parent/Family Intervention 
(Intensive) (PFII) services in the MHR Program and 
amended the provisions governing medical necessity for 
MHR services in order to establish continued treatment 
criteria (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). 
Recipients receiving PFII services shall be transitioned to 
comparable services available in the MHR Program. The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to 
revise the formatting of LAC 50:XV.901 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing mental health rehabilitation services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
mental health rehabilitation services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the November 20, 2010 and the 
December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1.  Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Subchapter C. Optional Services 
§335. Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1085 (May 2005), amended LR 32:2067 
(November 2006), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:2758 
(December 2009), repealed LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Medical Necessity Criteria 
§501. General Provisions 

A. - C. .... 
D. Initially all recipients must meet the medical necessity 

criteria for diagnosis, disability, duration and level of care. 
MHR providers shall rate recipients on the 
CALOCUS/LOCUS at 90 day intervals, or at an interval 
otherwise specified by the bureau, and these scores and 
supporting documentation must be submitted to the bureau 
or its designee upon request. Ongoing services require 
authorization which may occur every 90 days or at any 
interval requested by the bureau or its designee, based on 
progress towards goals, individual needs, and level of care 
requirements which are consistent with the medical necessity 
criteria.  

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1086 (May 2005) amended LR 32:2067 
(November 2006), LR 34:1914 (September 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37: 
§503. Adult Criteria for Services 

A. - A.3.d.Note ... 
B. Criteria for Continued Treatment. Continuation of 

MHR treatment is medically necessary for individuals who 
meet all of the following criteria: 

1. clinical evidence indicates a persistence of the 
problems that necessitated the provision of MHR services; 

2. clinical evidence indicates that a less intensive level 
of care would result in exacerbation of the symptoms of the 
individual’s mental disorder and clinical deterioration; 

3. the ISRP has been developed, implemented and 
updated based on the individual recipient’s clinical condition 
and response to treatment, as well as the strengths and 
availability of natural supports, with realistic goals and 
objectives clearly stated; 

4. the recipient is actively engaged in treatment as 
evidenced by regular participation in services as scheduled; 

5. progress is evident that the individual’s disorder can 
be expected to improve significantly through medically 
necessary, appropriate therapy and that the individual is able 
to benefit from the therapy provided; and 

6. there is clinical evidence of symptom improvement. 
If there has been no improvement, the ISRP may be 
reviewed and the frequency, amount or duration of services 
may be adjusted to a clinically appropriate level as 
determined by the bureau. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, amended LR 32:2068 (November 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
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§505. Child/Adolescent Criteria for Services 
A. - A.3.d. ... 
B. Criteria for Continued Treatment. Continuation of 

MHR treatment is medically necessary for children/youth 
who meet all of the following criteria: 

1. clinical evidence indicates a persistence of the 
problems that necessitated the provision of MHR services; 

2. clinical evidence indicates that a less intensive level 
of care would result in exacerbation of the symptoms of the 
child’s mental or behavioral disorder and clinical 
deterioration; 

3. the ISRP has been developed, implemented and 
updated based on the individual child’s clinical condition 
and response to treatment, as well as the strengths and 
availability of natural supports, with realistic goals and 
objectives clearly stated; 

4. the recipient and family are actively engaged in 
treatment as evidenced by regular participation in services as 
scheduled; 

5. progress is evident that the child’s mental or 
behavioral disorder can be expected to improve significantly 
through medically necessary, appropriate therapy and that 
the child is able to benefit from the therapy provided; and 

6. there is clinical evidence of symptom improvement. 
If there has been no improvement, the ISRP may be 
reviewed and the frequency, amount or duration of services 
may be adjusted to a clinically appropriate level as 
determined by the bureau.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2068 (November 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Reimbursement 
§901. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August, 1, 

2010, Medicaid reimbursement shall be terminated for 
parent/family intervention (intensive) services. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for Mental Health 
Rehabilitation services shall be reduced by 3.3 percent of the 
rates on file as of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1091 (May 2005), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1249 
(June 2010), LR 36:2565 (November 2010), LR:37 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE: Termination of Parent/Family 

Intervention (Intensive) Services and Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $327,457 for FY 10-11, $691,893 for FY 11-12 and 
$716,810 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $820 ($410 SGF 
and $410 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$970,721 for FY 10-11, $1,433,738 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,472,590 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $410 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and December 1, 2010 emergency rules, 
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amends the provisions governing the mental health 
rehabilitation program to terminate the coverage of 
Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) (PFII) services, amend 
the provisions governing medical necessity for MHR services 
in order to establish continued treatment criteria and reduce the 
reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $1,298,998 for FY 10-11, 
$2,125,631 for FY 11-12 and $2,189,400 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to mental 
health rehabilitation providers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of mental health 
rehabilitation providers and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#101 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.25701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XV.25701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing multi-systemic therapy (MST) to reduce the 
reimbursement rates and to establish prior authorization 
requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). 
As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, 
the department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for MST services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was amended to revise the 
formatting of LAC 50:XV.25701 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing MST services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). 

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
MST services to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 17.  Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Chapter 257. Reimbursement 
§25701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 2.63 percent of the rates on file 
as of July 31, 2010. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 3 percent of the rates on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services financing, LR 
35:247 (February 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:2565 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
 A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Multi-Systemic 
Therapy―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $163,386 for FY 10-11, $327,478 for FY 11-12 and 
$339,272 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF 
and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$484,265 for FY 10-11, $678,600 for FY 11-12 and $696,989 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for multi-systemic therapy (MST) services to 
reduce the reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will reduce program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$647,979 for FY 10-11, $1,006,078 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,036,261 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made for multi-
systemic therapy services.  The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of providers and could 
possibly cause a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#100 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing FacilitiesReimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:VII.1305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:VII.1305 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq.  

As a result of a continuing budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2010, the department amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities to reduce the per diem rate paid to non-state 
nursing facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
11). The department amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for non-state nursing facilities 
to reduce the per diem rates which were increased on July 1, 
2010 as a result of the FY 2009-10 rebasing (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 3). The March 20, 2010 Rule 
also clarified the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for state-owned or operated nursing facilities 
and non-state, government-owned or operated nursing 
facilities. In anticipation of projected expenditures in the 
Medical Vendor Program exceeding the funding allocated in 
the General Appropriations Act for state fiscal year (SFY) 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which further reduced the per diem rates paid to non-state 
nursing facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
7). In compliance with Act 244 of the 2009 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the department amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing facilities to adjust the periodic rebasing of the 
nursing facility rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the July 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the SFY 2011 rate reduction to revise the 
formatting of LAC 50:VII.1305 as a result of the 
promulgation of the July 20, 2010 and the August 20, 2010 
final Rules (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10). 
This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the October 20, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 
Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1305. Rate Determination 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 

the per diem rate paid to non-state nursing facilities shall be 
reduced by an amount equal to 4.8 percent of the non-state 
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owned nursing facilities statewide average daily rate on file 
as of July 1, 2010 until such time as the rate is rebased. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 
31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 
(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 
amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:1782 (August 2010), LR 
37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821–9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities―Reimbursement Rate 

Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $8,341,124 for FY 10-11, $12,087,056 for FY 11-12 and 
$12,522,340 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 
SGF and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate 
of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is 
authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that additional enhanced 
federal match would be available and appropriated after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 

$24,706,442 for FY 10-11, $25,046,759 for FY 11-12 and 
$25,725,490 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
October 20, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
nursing facilities to reduce the per diem rates (approximately 
6,550,000 nursing home days per year). It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will decrease program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$33,047,894 for FY 10-11, $37,133,815 for FY 11-12 and 
$38,247,830 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to nursing 
facilities. The reduction in payments may adversely impact the 
financial standing of nursing facilities and could possibly cause 
a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#098 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Transition of State-Owned or Operated Nursing Facility 

(LAC 50: VII.1323) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:VII.1323 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Act 933 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized and empowered the Department of 
Health and Hospitals and the commissioner of 
administration to execute a negotiated lease for the John J. 
Hainkel, Jr. Home and Rehabilitation Center to the New 
Orleans Home for the Incurables. In addition, the Act 
specified the Medicaid per diem rate to be paid for services 
rendered by the John J. Hainkel, Jr. Home and Rehabilitation 
Center and the time period that the reimbursement rate 
would be in effect. In compliance with the directives of Act 
933, the department proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
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facilities to adopt provisions governing the transition of a 
state-owned or operated nursing facility to a private nursing 
facility. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 
Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1323. Transition of State-Owned or Operated Nursing 

Facility to a Private Facility 
A. A state owned or operated nursing facility that 

changes ownership (CHOW) in order to transition to a 
private nursing facility will be exempt from the case-mix 
direct care and care-related spending floor for a period of 12 
months following the effective date of the CHOW under the 
following conditions. 

1. The state-owned or operated facility is located in 
the DHH administrative region 1; and  

2. The change of ownership is the result of a leasing 
arrangement. 

B. Cost Reports 
1. The previous owner of the nursing facility must file 

a closing cost report within 60 days of the CHOW for the 
time period that spans from the beginning of the facility’s 
cost report period to the date of the CHOW.  

2. The initial cost report period following the CHOW 
will be determined based on the elected fiscal year end of the 
new facility.  

3. The closing and initial cost reports must be filed in 
accordance with the provisions of §1303, including the filing 
of all Medicaid supplemental schedules.  

C. A capital data survey must be filed with the 
department within 60 days of the effective date of the 
CHOW. The capital data survey must include the nursing 
facility’s date of construction, current square footage, and all 
renovations made since the facility’s opening.  

D. Rate Determination 
1. During the transition period (12 months following 

the effective date of the change of ownership), the Medicaid 
reimbursement rate for the transitioned nursing facility shall 
be the per diem rate on file as of March 19, 2010 for the 
state-owned or operated facility.  

2. The transitioned nursing facility will be transferred 
to the case-mix reimbursement system at the end of the 12 
month transition period. 

3. The Medicaid reimbursement rate and direct 
care/care-related floor shall be calculated in accordance with 
the provisions of §1305.  

a. The direct care/care-related floor will be effective 
on the date of transition to the case mix reimbursement 
system.  

b. For purposes of this initial floor calculation, 
direct care and care-related spending will be determined by 
apportioning cost report period costs based on calendar days.  

4. Under the case mix reimbursement methodology, 
the facility will file cost reports in accordance with the 
provisions of §1303, including all Medicaid supplemental 
schedules. 

a. If the nursing facility’s cost report period 
overlaps the date of transition to the case mix reimbursement 

methodology, the case mix direct care and care-related floor 
will only be applied to the portion of the cost report period 
that occurs after the date of transition to case mix.  

5. Until the nursing facility has an audited or desk 
reviewed cost report that is available for use in a case mix 
rebase in accordance with the provisions of §1305.B, the 
case mix reimbursement rate components will be based on 
the following criteria except as noted in Subsection D.6.  

a. The facility’s acuity as determined from its 
specific case mix index report for the quarter prior to the 
effective date of the rate. 

b. The direct care and care-related statewide median 
prices in effect for that period. 
 i. The statewide direct care and care related price 
shall be apportioned between the per diem direct care 
component and the per diem care related component using 
the nursing facility’s most recent non-disclaimed audited or 
desk reviewed cost report.  
 ii. The facility-specific percentages will be 
determined using the methodology described in §1305.D.1.c.  

c. The administrative and operating statewide 
median prices in effect for that period. 

d. The capital data for the fair rental value rate 
component will be calculated from the facility-submitted 
capital data survey and the occupancy percentage from the 
most recent non-disclaimed audited or desk reviewed cost 
report as of the effective date of the rate. 

e. The facility’s property insurance cost will be 
calculated from the most recent non-disclaimed audited or 
desk reviewed cost report as of the rate effective date. 

f. The property tax cost will be collected in the 
form of an interim property tax report specified by the 
department.  
 i. The interim property tax report must be filed 
within 30 days after the beginning of the nursing facility’s 
cost reporting period.  
 ii. Failure to provide the interim property tax 
report within the specified time frame will result in a zero 
dollar reimbursement rate for the property tax rate 
component.  
 iii. The facility must continue to file an interim 
property tax report until the facility is able to produce a non-
disclaimed audited or desk reviewed cost report that contains 
property tax cost. 

g. Provider fee and budget adjustments in effect for 
all other case mix facilities will be applicable. 

6. A disclaimed cost report that would otherwise be 
used in a rebase will result in a rate calculated in accordance 
with the provisions of §1311 and the provisions contained in 
Subsection D.3.a.-b and D.4.a will no longer be applicable. 

7. If additional data is needed, the department may 
request that the facility submit Medicaid supplemental cost 
report schedules for those cost report period year ends for 
which the facility has not previously submitted Medicaid 
supplemental schedules. 

E. If there is a subsequent CHOW which results in the 
nursing facility reverting to a state-owned or operated 
facility, then the reimbursement methodology for a state-
owned or operated nursing facility will be reinstated 
following the effective date of the CHOW and all other 
provisions of this Section will no longer be applicable. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
the implementation of this proposed Rule may have an 
adverse impact on family functioning, stability and 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972 for the current 
employees in the event that current staffing levels are not 
maintained by the new facility. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821–9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein  
Secretary  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities―Transition of State-

Owned or Operated Nursing Facility 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic costs to the state of 
approximately $666 for FY 10-11 and estimated programmatic 
savings of approximately $115,644 for FY 11-12 and $419,414 
for FY 12-13. It anticipated that $656 ($328 SGF and $328 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$1,328 for FY 10-11 and a decrease in revenue collections of 
approximately $239,636 for FY 11-12 and $861,631 for FY 12-

13. It is anticipated that $328 will be expended in FY 10-11 for 
the federal administrative expenses for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate 
of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is 
authorized by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that additional enhanced 
federal match would be available and appropriated after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule will allow the per diem rate established 
for a state-owned or operated nursing facility to remain in place 
for a one year period after the facility has been transitioned to a 
private nursing facility (applicable for one facility). It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
increase program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $1,338 for FY 10-11 and decrease program 
expenditures by approximately $355,280 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,281,045 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the implementation of this 
proposed Rule will have any effect on competition. However, it 
may have an adverse effect on employment in the event that the 
private nursing facility does not maintain the same staffing 
levels as the state-owned or operated facility. 

 
Kyle C. Viator Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#099 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
Hospitals and Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC:V.5313, 5317, 5513, 5517,  

5713, 5719, 6115 and 6119) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:V.5313, §5317, §5513, §5517, §5713, §5719, §6115 and 
§6119 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
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governing the reimbursement methodology for outpatient 
hospital services to reduce the reimbursement rates paid to 
non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9). As a 
result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing outpatient hospital services to 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals and children’s specialty hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule was amended to revise the formatting as a 
result of the promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final 
Rule governing outpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
outpatient hospital services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals 
and children’s specialty hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the November 20, 
2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Taking the proposed rate reductions into consideration, the 
department has carefully reviewed the proposed rates and is 
satisfied that they are consistent with efficiency, economy 
and quality of care and are sufficient to enlist enough 
providers so that private (non-state) outpatient hospital 
services and children’s specialty hospital services under the 
State Plan are available at least to the extent that they are 
available to the general population in the state.  

Title 50 
PULIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospitals 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5313. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2041 (September 2010), LR 37: 
§5317. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 

hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 2 percent 
of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 86.15 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5513. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinic services shall be reduced by 
4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinic services shall be reduced by 2 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), LR 37: 
§5517. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital clinic services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital clinic services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the fee schedule on file as of 
November 30, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5713. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 
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E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient laboratory services shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient laboratory services shall be reduced 
by 2 percent of the fee schedule on file as of November 30, 
2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), LR 37: 
§5719. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the fee schedule on 
file as of November 30, 2010.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2043 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6115. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than clinical 
diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. Final reimbursement shall be at 71.13 percent 
of allowable cost through the cost settlement process.  

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than clinical 
diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates effective as of 
November 30, 2010. Final reimbursement shall be at 69.71 
percent of allowable cost through the cost settlement 
process.  

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2043 (September 2010), LR 37: 
§6119. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement fees paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates effective as of 
November 30, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 86.15 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2044 (September 2010), amended LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-
Rural, Non-State Hospitals and Children’s Specialty 

HospitalsReimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $2,061,930 for FY 10-11, $3,853,098 for FY 11-12 and 
$3,991,857 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $902 ($451 SGF 
and $451 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$6,108,250 for FY 10-11, $7,984,376 for FY 11-12 and 
$8,200,741 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $451 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals 
and children’s specialty hospitals. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will reduce program 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$8,171,082 for FY 10-11, $11,837,474 for FY 11-12 and 
$12,192,598 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of these 
hospitals and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#097 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Personal Care Services—Long-Term 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.12917) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to amend LAC 50:XV.12917 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for long-term personal care 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 6).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for long-term personal care services to reduce 
the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
long-term personal care services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the August 1, 2010 and the 
December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long-Term Care 
§12917. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - E. ... 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rate for long-term personal care 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rate for long-term personal care 
services shall be reduced by 5.8 percent of the rate on file as 
of November 30, 2010. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:253 (February 2008), LR 34:2581 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 36:1251 (June 
2010), amended by the Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Personal Care Services—Long-Term; 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $3,136,619 for FY 10-11, $6,259,589 for FY 11-12 and 
$6,485,012 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 ($164 SGF 
and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 

of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$9,290,876 for FY 10-11, $12,971,100 for FY 11-12 and 
$13,322,598 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $164 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 and December 1, 2010 emergency rules, 
amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for long-term personal care services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $12,427,823 for FY 10-
11, $19,230,689 for FY 11-12 and $19,807,610 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to personal 
care services providers. The reduction in payments may 
adversely impact the financial standing of personal care 
services providers and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#096 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy ProgramPrescription Limit Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXIX.113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XXIX.113 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
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measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing prescription limits in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to reduce the number of prescriptions 
covered by the Medicaid Program within a calendar month 
for certain recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to further reduce the number of 
prescriptions covered by the Medicaid Program within a 
calendar month (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
12). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§113. Prescription Limit 

A. Effective December 1, 2010, the Department of 
Health and Hospitals will pay for a maximum of four 
prescriptions per calendar month for Medicaid recipients. 

B. The following federally mandated recipient groups 
are exempt from the four prescriptions per calendar month 
limitation: 

1. persons under 21 years of age; 
2. persons who are residents of long-term care 

institutions, such as nursing homes and ICF-DD facilities; 
and 

3. pregnant women. 
C. The four prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates the 
following information to the pharmacist in his own 
handwriting or by telephone or other telecommunications 
device: 

1. "medically necessary override;" and 
2. a valid ICD-9-CM, or its successor, diagnosis code 

that is directly related to each drug prescribed that is over the 
four prescription limit (no ICD-9-CM, or its successor, 
literal description is acceptable). 

D. The prescriber should use the Clinical Drug Inquiry 
(CDI) internet web application developed by the fiscal 
intermediary in his/her clinical assessment of the patient’s 
disease state or medical condition and the current drug 
regime before making a determination that more than four 
prescriptions per calendar month is required by the recipient. 

E. ... 
F. An acceptable statement and ICD-9-CM, or its 

successor, diagnosis code are required for each prescription 
in excess of four for that month. 

G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1055 (June 2006), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in that it may be necessary for individuals and 
families to use their own funds or to rely on others in order 
to purchase medications in excess of the reduced 
prescription limit. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Program 

Prescription Limit Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $437,961 for FY 10-11, $997,749 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,033,680 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $410 ($205 SGF 
and $205 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated and appropriated after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$1,297,629 for FY 10-11, $2,067,531 for FY 11-12 and 
$2,123,558 for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $205 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
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numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized and appropriated by 
the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional and appropriated enhanced 
federal match would be available after December 2010 (end of 
the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program to 
reduce the number of prescriptions covered by the Medicaid 
Program from 5 to 4 prescriptions within a calendar month. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $1,736,000 for FY 10-11, $3,065,280 for FY 11-
12 and $3,157,238 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to some 
providers of pharmacy services. The reduction in payments 
may adversely impact the financial standing of pharmacy 
providers and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#095 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pregnant Women Extended Services 
Dental Services 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.16107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XV.16107 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: 
“The secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this Schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.   

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 

services to reduce the reimbursement rates for services 
rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant women (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for dental services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates for services rendered to Medicaid 
eligible pregnant women (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule was 
amended to revise the formatting of LAC 50:XV.16107 as a 
result of the promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final 
Rule governing the Pregnant Women Extended Services 
Dental Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
11).  

Due to a continuing budgetary shortfall, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which further reduced the 
reimbursement rates for dental services rendered to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 12). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the November 20, 
2010 and the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 13.  Pregnant Women Extended Services 

Chapter 161. Dental Services 
§16107. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3.q. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for dental services provided to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women shall be reduced to the 
following percentages of the 2009 National Dental Advisory 
Service Comprehensive Fee Report 70th percentile, unless 
otherwise stated in this Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the comprehensive periodontal 
evaluation exam; 

2. 65 percent for the following diagnostic services: 
a. intraoral-periapical first film; 
b. intraoral-periapical, each additional film; and 
c. panoramic film and prophylaxis, adult; and 

3. 58 percent for the remaining diagnostic services 
and all periodontic procedures, restorative and oral and 
maxillofacial surgery procedures which includes the 
following dental services: 

a. intraoral, occlusal film;  
b. bitewings, two films;  
c. amalgam (one, two or three surfaces) primary or 

permanent;  
d. amalgam (four or more surfaces); 
e. resin-based composite (one, two or three 

surfaces), anterior;  
f. resin-based composite (four or more surfaces) or 

involving incisal angle, anterior;  
g. resin-based composite crown, anterior;  
h. resin-based composite (one, two, three, four or 

more surfaces), posterior; 
i. prefabricated stainless steel crown, primary or 

permanent tooth; 
j. prefabricated resin crown; 
k. periodontal scaling and root planning (four or 

more teeth per quadrant);  
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l. full mouth debridement to enable comprehensive 
evaluation and diagnosis; 

m. extraction, coronal remnants-deciduous tooth; 
n. extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 

(elevation and/or forceps removal);  
o. surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 

elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of bone and/or 
section of tooth;  

p. removal of impacted tooth, soft tissue; and 
q. removal of impacted tooth, partially bony. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2010, the reimbursement fees for dental services provided to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women shall be reduced to the 
following percentages of the 2009 National Dental Advisory 
Service Comprehensive Fee Report 70th percentile, unless 
otherwise stated in this Chapter: 

1. 67.5 percent for the comprehensive periodontal 
evaluation exam; 

2. 63.5 percent for the following diagnostic services: 
a. intraoral-periapical first film; 
b. intraoral-periapical, each additional film; and 
c. panoramic film and prophylaxis, adult; and 

3. 57 percent for the remaining diagnostic services 
and all periodontic procedures, restorative and oral and 
maxillofacial surgery procedures which includes the 
following dental services: 

a. intraoral, occlusal film;  
b. bitewings, two films;  
c. amalgam (one, two or three surfaces) primary or 

permanent;  
d. amalgam (four or more surfaces); 
e. resin-based composite (one, two or three 

surfaces), anterior;  
f. resin-based composite (four or more surfaces) or 

involving incisal angle, anterior;  
g. resin-based composite crown, anterior;  
h. resin-based composite (one, two, three, four or 

more surfaces), posterior; 
i. prefabricated stainless steel crown, primary or 

permanent tooth; 
j. prefabricated resin crown; 
k. periodontal scaling and root planning (four or 

more teeth per quadrant);  
l. full mouth debridement to enable comprehensive 

evaluation and diagnosis; 
m. extraction, coronal remnants-deciduous tooth; 
n. extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 

(elevation and/or forceps removal);  
o. surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 

elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of bone and/or 
section of tooth;  

p. removal of impacted tooth, soft tissue; and 
q. removal of impacted tooth, partially bony. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:434 (March 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1902 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2044 
(September 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have an adverse impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 in the event that provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program is diminished as a result of reduced 
reimbursement rates.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pregnant Women Extended Services 

Dental ServicesReimbursement Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $37,161 for FY 10-11, $70,994 for FY 11-12 and $73,551 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $656 ($328 SGF and $328 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009. To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available and appropriated after December 2010 (end 
of the ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be 
reduced in the current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$110,715 for FY 10-11, $147,114 for FY 11-12 and $151,100 
for FY 12-13. It is anticipated that $328 will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11). The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009. To the extent that 
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additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
November 20, 2010 and the December 1, 2010 emergency 
rules, amends the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for dental services to reduce the reimbursement 
rates for services rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant 
women. It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will decrease program expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $148,532 for FY 10-11, $218,108 
for FY 11-12 and $224,651 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made for dental 
services to Medicaid eligible pregnant women. The reduction in 
payments may adversely impact the financial standing of 
dentists and could possibly cause a reduction in employment 
opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#094 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Physician ServicesObstetrics Rate Increase 

(LAC 50:IX.15113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:IX.15113 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the Professional Services Program to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid for physician services 
and to clarify the provisions governing physician 
reimbursement for services rendered to recipients 16 years 
of age or older (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10).  

To maintain access to obstetric delivery services and 
encourage the continued participation of physicians in the 
Medicaid Program, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for physician services to 
increase the reimbursement rates for obstetric delivery 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). This 
proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter B. Physician Services 
§15113. Reimbursement 

A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2010, reimbursement shall be 90 percent of the 2009 
Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable for the following 
obstetric services when rendered to recipients 16 years of 
age and older: 

1. vaginal-only delivery (with or without postpartum 
care); 

2. vaginal delivery after previous cesarean (VBAC) 
delivery; and  

3. cesarean delivery following attempted vaginal 
delivery after previous cesarean delivery. The 
reimbursement for a cesarean delivery remains at 80 percent 
of the 2009 Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable when 
the service is rendered to recipients 16 years of age and 
older. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1252 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2282 (October 2010), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by helping to stabilize provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program and improving access to obstetric 
services.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, January 26, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Professional Services Program 
 Physician ServicesObstetrics Rate Increase 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in an estimated programmatic increase to the 
state of $241,656 for FY 10-11, $687,378 for FY 11-12 and 
$712,132 for FY 12-13. However, the cost is expected to be 
offset by an indeterminable amount from the anticipated 
savings realized in the Professional Services Program from 
prior reductions to obstetric delivery services.  It is anticipated 
that $328 ($164 SGF and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 
10-11 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent (in FY 10-11).  The 
enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of the 
fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available and 
appropriated after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$715,456 for FY 10-11, $1,424,381 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,462,980 for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $164 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent 
(in FY 10-11).  The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first 
six months of the fiscal year is authorized by the American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the 
extent that additional enhanced federal match would be 
available and appropriated after December 2010 (end of the 
ARRA eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced 
in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
December 1, 2010 emergency rule, amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for physician 
services to increase the reimbursement rates for obstetric 
delivery services.  It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will increase expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $956,784 for FY 10-11, $2,111,759 
for FY 11-12 and $2,175,112 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, it is 
anticipated that the implementation of this proposed rule may 
have a positive effect on employment as it will increase the 
payments for obstetric delivery services.  The increase in 
payments may improve the financial standing of physicians and 
could possibly cause an increase in employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1012#093 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Physical Therapy Board 

Physical Therapy (LAC 46:LIV.Chapters 1–5) 

Notice is hereby given that the Physical Therapy Board, 
pursuant to the authority of the Louisiana Physical Therapy 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:2401–2424, and in accordance with the 
provisions of the  Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., intends to amend its administrative rules 
governing the practice of physical therapy. 

The Physical Therapy Board is proposing a 
comprehensive revision of the current rules to clarify the 
application of the newly revised PT Practice Act.  The 
Physical Therapy Board is completely repealing in its 
entirety Chapters 1 through 3. The proposed new rules 
include term definitions, board operations, defining 
provisional licensees and supervised clinical practice for 
foreign educated physical therapists, requirements of 
credentialing agencies for foreign educated physical 
therapists, setting a limit on the number of attempts 
applicants may sit for the national physical therapy 
examination prior to remediation, changing the renewal 
period from annual to biennial, requirement for background 
checks, and criteria for continuing competence. Act 139 of 
the 2010 Legislative session changed supervision of physical 
therapist assistants thusly requiring rule changes. The 
proposed rules also include alternatives to disciplinary action 
for licensees who self-report first time, substance abuse 
issues, cease and desist authority, further defining violations 
and unprofessional conduct, and describes the adjudication 
process/appeal. 

The proposed rules incorporate the holdings of 
Declaratory Statements which have been issued by the Board 
since the last revision.  The changes support the Board in the 
execution of its duty to regulate the industry for the 
protection of the public. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIV.  Physical Therapy  

Subpart 1.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 1. Physical Therapists and Physical 

Therapist Assistants 
Subchapter A. Board Organization 
§103. Board Domicile 

A. The domicile of the board is Lafayette, Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

37:2403.A and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§105. Meetings [Formerly §179] 

A. Meetings. Meetings of the board shall be held at least 
six times a year to transact business. Regular meetings shall 
be scheduled by the board in advance and the date and time 
of such meetings posted on the board website. Special 
meetings may be called by the chairman of the board, or at 
the request of five members of the board. 

B. Location. Unless otherwise noticed, board meetings 
shall be held at the board office in Lafayette. The board may 
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meet at other locations as determined by the board with 
notice of such location posted at least five days prior to the 
meeting date. The location of the meeting shall not be 
changed after such notice is given without reasonable notice 
of such change provided to all board members and to others 
who have requested such notification. 

C. Notice. Notice of all meetings of the board shall be 
posted at the board office, on the board website and in any 
other manner prescribed by the Administrative Procedure 
Act or Open Meetings Law. 

D. Quorum. Any four members of the board shall 
constitute a quorum for any business before the board. A 
majority vote of those present in a meeting is required for 
passage of a motion before the board. 

E. Open Meetings. All board meetings and hearings shall 
be open to the public. The board may, in its discretion and 
according to law, conduct any portion of its meeting in 
executive session, closed to the public and may request the 
participation in such executive session of staff members or 
others as may be needed for consideration of the business to 
be discussed in executive session.  

F. Attendance. Board members are expected to attend a 
minimum of 80 percent of the regularly scheduled meetings, 
special meetings, open forums and hearings which may be 
scheduled in conjunction with or separate from regularly 
scheduled meetings. Attendance constitutes active 
participation in at least 80 percent of the entire meeting. 
Exceptions may be granted by the board for good cause. 
Notification of an expected absence shall be submitted to the 
board office as early as possible prior to the commencement 
of the meeting.  

G. Rules of Order. The most current edition of Robert’s 
Rules of Order shall govern all proceedings of the board 
unless otherwise provided by board rules or policy. 

H. Public Comments. A public comment period shall be 
held during each board meeting. Persons desiring to present 
comments shall notify the execute director of the board prior 
to the beginning of the meeting. However, to assure that an 
opportunity is afforded to all persons who desire to make 
comments, the chairman shall inquire at the beginning of the 
meeting if there are additional persons present who wish to 
comment. The chairman shall allot the time available for the 
public comments in an equitable manner among those 
persons desiring to comment. Each person making public 
comments shall identify himself and the group, organization, 
company, or entity he represents, if any. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2404.A, R.S. 37:2404.B and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
26:1446 (July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
§107. Officers 

A. The officers of the board shall be a chairman and 
secretary–treasurer. 

B. The chairman shall preside at all board meetings and 
shall, when available, represent the board at official 
functions. 

C. The secretary–treasurer shall act in place of the 
chairman when the chairman is not present or available. 

D. The secretary–treasurer shall oversee board finances 
and present financial reports to the board as requested and 

shall review and advise on board investments as directed by 
the board. 

E. Officers of the board shall be elected annually at a 
meeting to be held during the month of January and shall 
serve a one–year term or until the election of their 
successors. An officer elected to a position vacated before 
the end of its term shall serve only for the remainder of that 
term. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
37:2404.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§109. Committees [Formerly §177] 

A. Special Committees. Board committees are working 
bodies created and appointed by the board to assist in 
carrying out specific board functions. Such committees shall 
report to the board with recommendations on those issues 
which have been delegated to the committee for exploration.  

B. Advisory Committee. The board may appoint an 
Advisory Committee not to exceed nine members to assist in 
the review of applicants qualifications for licensure; conduct 
applicant interviews; review continuing education activities 
and courses; and other duties deemed necessary by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
37:2405.B. (13) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
17:666 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1446 (July 
2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§111. Compensation  

A. Per diem, as authorized by R.S. 37:2404, shall be paid 
to board members and committee members for each day 
during which they are attending regular or called board 
meetings, attending to official business of the board, or 
attending a board related or board sanctioned conference or 
activity, including travel days to and from these meetings, 
conferences, and related board activities. Per diem does not 
negate reimbursement for meals, lodging, and other 
expenses incurred as a result of these meetings, conferences, 
and related activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
37:2404.C and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§113. Finances  

A. Self Funding. The board shall be a self–sustaining 
body and shall generate sufficient revenues from fees and 
assessments to maintain effective and efficient operations. 

B. Administrative Costs. Board orders in disciplinary 
proceeding may require the Respondent to reimburse the 
board for travel, meals, per diem, the cost of investigators, 
stenographers, attorneys, and other reasonably associated 
costs in order to recoup expenses attributable to a specific 
disciplinary case. 

C. Budget. The board shall adopt an annual operating 
budget at a meeting which will allow timely filing with 
Division of Administration schedules. 

D. Special Funds. The board may receive and expend 
funds in addition to its annual or biennial receipts, from 
parties other than the state, when the following conditions 
are met. 

1. Such funds are awarded for the pursuit of a specific 
objective which the board is authorized to accomplish by 
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this Chapter, or which the board is qualified to accomplish 
by reason of its jurisdiction or professional expertise. 

2. Such funds are expended for the pursuit of the 
objective for which they are awarded. 

3. Activities connected with or occasioned by the 
expenditures of such funds do not interfere with the 
objective performance of the board’s duties and 
responsibilities, and do not conflict with the exercise of the 
board’s powers as specified by this Chapter. 

4. Such funds are identified in the budget. 
5. Periodic reports are made to the board concerning 

the receipt and expenditure of such funds. 
E. Travel Expenses. Board members, committee 

members and employees shall be entitled to reimbursement 
of actual expenses reasonably necessary for attending board 
or committee meetings or for representing the board or 
participating in board–approved activities. The board shall 
adopt policies to provide guidance to the executive director 
in determining "reasonable" expenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2404.C; R.S. 37:2424.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§115. Applicable Laws 

A. Board procedures and operations shall adhere to the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 and following; 
the Open Meetings Law, R.S. 42:4.1 and following; the 
Public Records Act, R.S. 44:1 and following; and other state 
and federal laws to which board activities are subject. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (4) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§117. Executive Director  

A. The executive director shall carry out the functions of 
the board relative to its statutory requirements and other 
duties as defined by the board. The executive director shall 
appoint and supervise employees for professional, clerical, 
and special duties necessary to carry out the board’s 
functions and may establish standards for the conduct of 
employees in compliance with state regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (5) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§119. Affiliations 

A. The board may join and pay dues to such professional 
organizations and associations organized to promote the 
improvement of standards of practice in physical therapy or 
to advance and facilitate the operation of the board as an 
entity. In participating in such organizations or associations, 
the board may accept reimbursement of conference fees and 
travel expenses as are available generally to organizational 
members of those organizations or associations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§121. Declaratory Statements [Formerly §351] 

A. The board may issue a declaratory statement in 
response to a request for clarification of the effect of the 
provisions contained in the Practice Act, R.S. 37:2401 and 
following, and/or the board’s rules, Title 46:103 and 
following. 

1. A request for a declaratory statement is made in the 
form of a petition to the board. The petition should include at 
least: 

a. the name and address of the petitioner; 
b. specific reference to the statute or rule and 

regulation to which the petition relates; 
c. a concise statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule or statute or by its 
potential application to his concern. 

2. The petition shall be considered by the board within 
a reasonable period of time taking into consideration the 
complexity of the issues raised and the board’s meeting 
schedule. 

3. The declaratory statement of the board in response 
to the petition shall be in writing and sent to the petitioner at 
the last address furnished to the board and shall be made 
available on the board website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:392 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. General Provisions 
§123. Definitions [Formerly §§103, 113,  

119, 303, and 305] 
A. As used in this Title, the following terms and phrases, 

defined in the Practice Act, R.S.37:2401–2424, shall have 
the meanings specified here. 

Active Status―the current state of a license which 
classifies the licensee as holding a current and valid license 
and being in good standing. 

Administrative Complaint―a sworn statement of 
allegations prepared by board counsel and filed with the 
board which includes a statement of the matters asserted and 
reference the particular Sections of the statutes and rules 
involved, the filing of which initiates a contested 
disciplinary proceeding. 

American Physical Therapy Association―APTA 
Applicant―a person who has applied to the board for a 

license to engage in the practice of physical therapy in the 
State of Louisiana. 

Application―a written request directed to and received 
by the board, upon forms approved and supplied by the 
board, for a license to practice physical therapy in the State 
of Louisiana, together with all information, certificates, 
documents, and other materials required by the board to be 
submitted with such forms. 

Board―the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board 
(formerly the Louisiana State Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners) created by R.S. 37:2403 within the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals, acting through its 
members as a body or through its executive director and staff 
carrying out the rules, policies and precedents established by 
the board. 

Board Order―a final decision of the board issued in a 
contested proceeding or in lieu of such proceeding, which 
may include findings of fact and conclusions of law, 
separately stated. 

CAPTE―the Commission on Accreditation of Physical 
Therapy Education 

Client―a person seeking or receiving information, 
education and/or recommendations for activities related to 
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wellness and preventive services including conditioning, 
injury prevention, reduction of stress, or improvement in 
fitness. 

Clinical Instructor―a PT or a PTA supervising a 
student pursuing a career in the physical therapy profession. 

Clinical Supervisor―a PT selected with approval of the 
board with at least 3 years of clinical experience who 
directly supervises the licensee in the clinical environment. 

Confidentiality―all records of a PT or PTA who has 
successfully completed or is actively participating in the 
non–disciplinary alternative program shall not be subject to 
public disclosure, and shall not be subject to discovery in 
legal proceedings except as required by federal and state 
confidentiality laws and regulations. The records of a PT or 
PTA who fails to comply with the program agreement or 
who leaves the program without enrolling in an alternative 
program in the state to which the practitioner moves, or who 
subsequently violates the Louisiana Physical Therapy Act or 
the board rules, shall not be deemed confidential except for 
those records protected by federal and state confidentially 
laws and regulations. 

Consultative Services―when a PT provides 
information, advice, or recommendations with respect to 
physical therapy, but does not undertake to provide or 
supervise physical therapy treatment. Consultative Services 
can be provided to the public or to other health care 
providers without referral or prescription. 

Contact Hour―60 minutes of continuing education 
instruction. 

Contested Case―a disciplinary proceeding in which the 
legal rights, duties, or privileges of a Respondent are to be 
determined by the board after an opportunity for an 
adjudicative hearing.  

Continuing Education―education beyond the basic 
preparation required for entry into the profession and 
directly related to the performance and practice of physical 
therapy. Courses and activities shall meet the content criteria 
set forth in §195. 

Continuous Supervision―where the Supervising PT of 
Record is physically present in the same treatment area to 
provide observation and supervision of the procedures, 
functions and practice rendered by a PT or PTA student or 
PT technician.  

CWT―the Coursework Tools for Foreign Educated PTs 
(CWT) were developed by the FSBPT as a standardized 
method to evaluate the educational equivalence of foreign 
educated PTs. Each CWT reflects the minimum general and 
professional educational requirements for substantial 
equivalence at the time of graduation with respect to a US 
first professional degree in physical therapy.  

Criminal History Record Information―information 
collected by state and federal criminal justice agencies on 
applicants and licensees consisting of identifiable 
descriptions and notations of arrests, detentions, indictments, 
bills of information, or any formal criminal charges, and any 
disposition arising therefrom, including sentencing, criminal 
correctional supervision, and release, but does not include 
intelligence for investigatory purposes, nor does it include 
any identification information which does not indicate 
involvement of the individual in the criminal justice system. 

Disciplinary Action―the imposition of a sanction by the 
board which may include reprimand, probation, suspension, 
or revocation of a license, and other appropriate 
requirements. 

Discharge Summary―the written documentation of the 
reasons for discontinuation of care, degree of goal 
achievement and a discharge plan which shall be written and 
signed by the Supervising PT of Record. 

Documented Conferences―as used in R.S. 
37:2418F(2)(e), see Patient Care Conference definition. 

Dry Needling―a physical intervention which utilizes 
filiform needles to stimulate trigger points in a patient’s 
body for the treatment of neuromuscular pain and functional 
movement deficits. Dry Needling is based upon Western 
medical concepts and does not rely upon the meridians 
utilized in acupuncture and other Eastern practices. A 
physical therapy evaluation will indicate the location, 
intensity and persistence of neuromuscular pain or functional 
deficiencies in a physical therapy patient and the propriety 
for utilization of dry needling as a treatment intervention. 
Dry needling does not include the stimulation of auricular 
points.  

Foreign Educated PT Applicant―a person whose 
education as a PT was obtained in a program not accredited 
by CAPTE. 

FSBPT―the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy 

Good Moral Character―as applied to an applicant or 
licensee means the aggregate of qualities evidenced by past 
conduct, social relations, or life habits, which actually 
provide persons acquainted with the applicant or licensee a 
basis to form a favorable opinion regarding his ethics and 
responsibility to duty. In addition, to achieve and maintain 
Good Moral Character, an applicant or licensee shall provide 
accurate, complete and truthful information to the board and 
shall not, at any time, commit any act or omission which 
provides a basis for disciplinary actions or violations under 
R.S. 37:2420 or R.S. 37:2421. 

HIPDB―Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data 
Bank―the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, acting through the Office of Inspector 
General (OIG), was directed by the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 to create the 
Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) to 
combat fraud and abuse in health insurance and health care 
delivery. The HIPDB is primarily a flagging system that may 
serve to alert users that a comprehensive review of a 
practitioner's, provider's, or supplier's past actions may be 
prudent. The HIPDB is intended to augment, not replace, 
traditional forms of review and investigation, serving as an 
important supplement to a careful review of a practitioner's, 
provider's, or supplier's past actions. 

Impairment or Impaired―impairment or impaired 
means a condition that causes an infringement on the ability 
of an individual to practice, or assist in the practice, of 
physical therapy with reasonable skill and safety to patients. 
Impairment may be caused by, but is not limited to, 
alcoholism, substance abuse, addiction, mental and/or 
physical conditions.  

Informal Conference―a meeting held pursuant to R.S. 
49:961.C with a Respondent and an Investigative Committee 
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of the board to determine whether a disciplinary case should 
proceed. 

In Good Standing―a person who holds a current, valid 
license from the board and who has no pending or active 
disciplinary actions or sanctions against that license. The 
board is the ultimate arbiter of whether a licensee is in good 
standing at a given time. 

Investigative Committee―the panel designated by board 
policy to investigate complaints and to conduct Informal 
Conferences in disciplinary matters, typically composed of 
one or more board members, the executive director, 
investigator and legal counsel. 

Jurisprudence―the body of law applicable to the 
practice of physical therapy in Louisiana including the 
Practice Act and the rules promulgated by the board. 

Jurisprudence Examination―an open book examination 
made up of multiple choice and/or true/false questions 
covering information contained in the Practice Act and board 
rules. 

Legend Drug―any drug intended for use by humans 
which carries on its label any of the following: "caution: 
Federal law prohibits dispensing without a prescription", 
"Rx," or "Rx only." 

Legend Device―any device intended for use by humans 
which carries on its label "Rx," "Rx Only," or a statement 
that federal law restricts the device to sale by or on the order 
of a licensed healthcare practitioner. 

Letter of Concern―a statement placed in the permanent 
record maintained by the board for a licensee who has been 
brought to the board for questionable conduct but whose 
actions have not been found to merit disciplinary action. A 
letter of concern shall not be reportable to HIPDB and shall 
not be published with board disciplinary actions. 

License―the lawful authority of a PT or PTA to engage 
in the practice of physical therapy in the State of Louisiana, 
as evidenced by a certificate duly issued by and under the 
official seal of the board. 

Louisiana Physical Therapy Practice Act―Practice Act 
Minimal Standards of Acceptable and Prevailing 

Physical Therapy Practice―include, but are not limited to, 
those set forth in the Code of Ethics and related documents 
of APTA. 

Moral Turpitude―baseness, vileness, or dishonesty of a 
high degree and contrary to community standards of justice, 
honesty, or good morals. 

Notice―a statement of the intended date, time, place, 
and nature of a meeting or hearing, and the legal authority 
and jurisdiction under which a hearing is to be held. Notice 
may include a formal complaint filed to initiate a contested 
disciplinary proceeding. 

NPTE―the National Physical Therapy Examination 
administered by the FSBPT. 

On Premises―the Supervising PT of Record is 
personally present in the treating facility and immediately 
available to the treatment area. 

Participate―as used in R.S. 37:2418F(2)(b) means that 
a Supervising PT of Record assumes responsibility for the 
care which he and those under his supervision provide to 
patients, provides appropriate treatment, and that, at a 
minimum the PT will: 

a. perform the initial evaluation and document the 
patient’s plan of care; 

b. treat and reassess the patient at least every sixth 
treatment day or every 30 days, whichever occurs first; 

c. treat the patient for the final treatment session 
unless the patient is physically unavailable; and  

d. write the discharge summary. 
Passive Manipulation―manipulation or movement of 

muscular tissue or joints other than by the spontaneous 
function of the body or active effort on the part of a patient. 

Patient Care Conference―a meeting between a PTA 
who is providing patient care and the PT supervising that 
care to discuss the status of patients. This conference shall 
be conducted where the PT and PTA are both physically 
present at the same time and place.  

Per Diem―compensation to a board member or 
committee member for each day during which he is 
attending regular or called board meetings, attending to 
official business of the board, or attending a board related or 
board sanctioned conference or activity, including travel 
days to and from these meetings, conferences, and related 
board activities. 

Person―includes a natural person, partnership, 
corporation, association, or other entity having legal 
existence, unless the context requires a more limited 
meaning. 

Physical Therapist―a person licensed by the board who 
is a graduate of a CAPTE accredited program with a 
minimum of a bachelors degree or a foreign educated PT 
who has been granted a license pursuant to the Practice Act. 

Physical Therapist Assistant―a person licensed by the 
board who is a graduate of an associate degree program in 
physical therapist assisting accredited by CAPTE or who 
was granted licensure pursuant to the Practice Act. 

Physical Therapy Evaluation―the evaluation of a 
patient by a PT using physical and cognitive findings, 
objective tests and measurements, patient history, and their 
interpretation to determine musculoskeletal and 
biomechanical limitations, and the suitability for, and 
potential efficacy of, physical therapy and the establishment 
or modification of a physical therapy treatment program and 
goals. 

Physical Therapy Technician―a worker not licensed by 
the board who functions in a physical therapy clinic, 
department or business and assists with preparation of the 
patients for treatment and with limited patient care. 

Physiotherapy―physical therapy. 
Practice Setting―unless otherwise defined, the physical 

location where patient care is performed or client services 
provided. Practice setting may also refer to the type of 
organization which provides physical therapy services, such 
as an outpatient clinic, hospital, nursing home, rehab facility, 
school or the delivery of home healthcare. 

Prescription―a request for physical therapy evaluation 
or treatment made by a healthcare provider lawfully 
authorized to make such request. A referral. 

Preventive Services―the use of physical therapy 
knowledge and skills by a PT or PTA to provide education or 
activities in a wellness setting for the purpose of injury 
prevention, reduction of stress and/or the promotion of 
fitness. Does not include the administrations of physical 
therapy treatment and, therefore, can be performed without 
referral or prescription. 
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Progress Note―written documentation of the patient's 
subjective status, changes in objective findings, and 
progression to or regression from established goals.  

Provisional License―a license issued to a foreign 
graduate PT applicant pending completion of the supervised 
clinical practice required for licensure by these Rules. 

PT―physical therapist 
PTA―physical therapist assistant 
Reassessment or Reevaluation―written documentation 

which includes all elements of a progress note as well as the 
interpretation of objective findings compared to the previous 
evaluation with a revision of goals and treatment plans as 
indicated. 

Reciprocity―the acknowledgment and licensure by the 
board of a PT or PTA licensed by another state pursuant to 
procedures established by the board. 

Referral―a request for physical therapy evaluation or 
treatment made by a healthcare provider lawfully authorized 
to make such request. A prescription. 

Reprimand―a form of censure by the board of a 
licensee for violation of the Practice Act or Rules.  

Respondent―a licensee who is the subject of an 
informal complaint or an administrative complaint alleging 
violation of the Practice Act or board rules. 

Revocation―the withdrawal of a license issued by the 
board, terminating the right and privilege of practicing 
physical therapy in Louisiana.  

RPTP―recovering Physical Therapy Program adopted 
by the board. 

RPTP Agreement―a document approved by the board 
containing provisions which identify requirements for 
successful participation in the RPTP, including but not 
limited to evaluation, treatment, after care, testing, 
monitoring, supervision reports, meeting attendance, and 
practice restrictions.  

RPTP Compliance―conforming to the requirements of 
the Recovering Physical Therapist Program Agreement. 

State―Any state of the US, the District of Columbia 
and Puerto Rico. 

Student―a person who is pursuing a course of study 
leading to a degree in physical therapy or physical therapist 
assisting from a professional education program certified by 
CAPTE and approved by the board, and who is pursuing 
supervised clinical education requirements related to his 
physical therapy education. 

Summary Suspension―the suspension of a license by 
emergency board action which requires a licensee to 
immediately cease practice pending disciplinary proceedings 
provided by law. 

Supervising PT of Record―the PT who performs the 
initial evaluation and remains responsible for the provision 
of care to that patient for the entire course of their treatment. 
The supervision of the care for that patient remains the 
responsibility of the Supervising PT of Record unless it is 
documented that there is a new Supervising PT of Record. 

Suspended License―restricting the licensee’s privilege 
to practice physical therapy or physical therapist assisting 
for a specified period of time. 

Topical Agents/Aerosols―medications used in physical 
therapy treatment which are applied to the skin and obtained 
over–the–counter, by prescription or order, or from a 
licensed distributor. 

Treatment Record―the written documentation of each 
patient visit which includes specific treatment and/or any 
equipment provided which shall be signed or initialed by the 
Supervising PT of Record or PTA. 

When Feasible―as used in R.S. 37:2418F (2)(g), means 
whenever the patient is still physically available to receive 
treatment and assessment. 

Wound Care and Debridement―patient care provided 
by a PT, provisionally licensed PT, or student PT, which 
removes non–living tissue from pressure ulcers, burns and 
other wounds as part of wound management, including but 
not limited to, sharps debridement, debridement with other 
implements or agents, changing dry or wet dressings, and 
application of topical agents including enzymes, and 
hydrotherapy.  

Written Record of Physical Therapy―documentation 
including the prescription or referral (if it exists), the initial 
evaluation, treatment notes, notes of patient care 
conferences, progress notes, reevaluations or reassessments, 
and patient status at discharge documenting the complete 
course of patient care.  

Written Treatment Plan or Program―documentation 
created by a PT specifying the measurable goals, specific 
treatments to be used and the proposed duration and 
frequency of treatment; is an integral component of a PT 
evaluation and must be completed by the PT prior to 
delegating appropriate treatment to a PTA or PT technician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2407.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:662 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 15:389 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1448 
(July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§125. Additional Definitions [Formerly §306] 

A. As used in R.S. 37:2418 C. (1) (2) (3) (4) (5), the 
following words and phrases shall have the following 
meaning. 

Child or Children―an individual or individuals under 
the age of 21 years.  

Patient―An individual receiving treatment through 
physical therapy services for a diagnosed condition or 
conditions.  

Plan of Care―a Written Treatment Plan or Program as 
defined in §123, and incorporating the documentation 
standards provided for in §341.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
31:441 (February 2005), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Graduates of American Physical Therapy 

Schools and Colleges 
§127. Scope of Subchapter [Formerly §105] 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the licensing of 
PTs and PTAs who are graduates of physical therapy or 
physical therapist assistant schools located within any state 
or US territory. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2409 and Act 535 of 2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§129. Qualifications for License [Formerly §107] 

A. To be eligible for a license as a PT, an applicant shall: 
1. be at least 21 years of age; 
2. be of good moral character as defined in these 

rules; 
3. have paid all fees required by the board; 
4. be a citizen of the US or possess valid and current 

legal authority to reside and work in the US duly issued by 
the US immigration authorities under and pursuant to the 
Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat.163) and duly 
promulgated regulations; 

5. possess a minimum of a bachelor's of science 
degree in Physical Therapy and have completed an academic 
education from a school duly accredited by CAPTE; as set 
forth in §175. 

6. have achieved a passing score on the NPTE as set 
forth in §169; 

7. have paid all fees required by the board; and 
8. furnish the board with his social security number. 

B. To be eligible for a license as a PTA, an applicant 
shall: 

1. be at least 19 years of age; 
2. be of good moral character as defined in these 

rules; 
3. have paid all fees required by the board; 
4. have graduated from a physical therapist assistant 

program accredited by CAPTE; as set forth in §175; 
5. have achieved a passing score on the NPTE as set 

forth in §169; 
6. be a citizen of the US; and 
7. furnish the board with his social security number. 

C. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of an applicant for licensure is 
upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be deemed to 
possess such qualifications unless the applicant demonstrates 
and evidences such qualifications in the manner prescribed 
by and to the satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2409, R.S. 37:2411 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:662 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 22:284 (April 1996), LR 24:39 
(January 1998), LR 26:1443 (July 2000), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§131. Procedural Requirements [Formerly §109] 

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified 
in §129, to be eligible for a license, an applicant shall satisfy 
the procedures and requirements for application provided by 
§§149–153 of this Chapter and, if applicable, the procedures 
and requirements for examination approved by the board as 
set forth in §§155–161 of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2409 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 26:1444 (July 2000), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§133. Approved Schools of Physical Therapy or 

Physical Therapist Assisting [Formerly §111] 
A. Graduation from an approved school is among the 

qualifications requisite to physical therapy or physical 
therapist assistant licensure as provided by §129.A.5 for 
American graduates, and §129.B.4 and §145 for reciprocity 
applicants. This qualification is satisfied if the school from 
which the applicant graduated was approved by the board as 
of the date the applicant's degree was issued. 

B. A school of physical therapy or physical therapist 
assisting located in any state which is currently accredited by 
an accrediting agency recognized by the Council for Higher 
Education Accreditation, the US Department of Education, 
CAPTE, or their successors, shall be concurrently 
considered approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2411 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Graduates of Foreign Physical Therapy 

Schools 
§135. Scope of Subchapter: Definition [Formerly §113] 

A. The rules of this Subchapter specify additional 
qualifications, requirements and procedures for the licensing 
of PTs who are graduates of foreign physical therapy 
schools. 

B. As used in this Subchapter, the term foreign graduate 
means a person whose education in physical therapy was 
obtained outside the US in a program not accredited by 
CAPTE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§137. Qualification for License, Provisional License 

[Formerly §115] 
A. To be eligible for a license as a PT, a foreign graduate 

applicant shall: 
1. possess all of the substantive qualifications for 

license specified by §129 of this Chapter, except for 
§129.A.4; 

2. have successfully completed a physical therapy 
education curriculum that is substantially equivalent to the 
requirements for PTs educated in U.S. physical therapy 
schools. Using a course work evaluation tool approved by 
the board, as required by §139.D, an approved credentials 
evaluation service shall determine the substantial 
equivalence of the applicant’s education. Such education 
shall include no less than 150 total semester–hour credits 
including no less than 90 semester–hour credits of physical 
therapy education and no less than 60 semester–hour credits 
of general education; 
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3. have completed at least 6 months of approved 
supervised clinical practice as required in §331.E; 

4. have achieved passing scores on standardized 
English proficiency examinations as approved by the board 
if English is not the applicant's native language;  

5. have acceptable documentation, with notarized 
English translation, that he has met the requirements to 
practice physical therapy in the country of education and is 
in good standing with, the physical therapy licensing or 
certifying agency in his country of education;  

6. possess valid and current legal authority to reside 
and work in the US duly issued by US immigration 
authorities under and pursuant to the Immigration and 
Nationality Act (66 Stat.163) and duly promulgated 
regulations; and 

7. furnish the board with his/her social security 
number. A license to practice as a physical therapist in the 
State of Louisiana will not be issued until submission of a 
copy of the social security card. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board’s requirements and 
qualifications for licensure as a foreign graduate is upon the 
applicant. An applicant shall not be deemed to possess 
required qualifications unless the applicant demonstrates and 
evidences such qualifications in the manner satisfactory to 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:662 (July 1991), LR 18:962 (September 1992), 
LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 22:284 (April 1996), LR 24:39 
(January 1998), LR 26:1444 (July 2000), LR 28:1979 (September 
2002), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§139. Licensing Procedures for Foreign Educated 

Applicants 
A. A foreign educated PT applicant must complete the 

license application process set forth in §137 if applying for 
licensure by examination or, as set forth in §145, if applying 
for licensure by reciprocity. 

B. The board will issue a license only after the applicant 
is physically present in the US and has met all requirements 
for licensure. 

1. To meet the requirements of §137.A.6 the applicant 
shall obtain a work visa to reside and seek employment in 
the US issued by the federal immigration authorities, 
produce the original, and provide a copy of the work visa to 
the board. 

C. Designated Representative Letter 
1. An applicant may designate a person as a 

representative by providing a written authorization to the 
board which includes the name, telephone number, and 
address of the person stating that the person will be the 
designated representative for the applicant.  

2. This authorization must be notarized by a notary of 
the country in which the applicant resides and sent directly 
to the board. A copy of the notarized authorization shall be 
sent to the designated representative by the applicant.  

3. A designated representative may obtain confidential 
information regarding the application.  

4. The authorization to represent an applicant will be 
valid until the applicant receives his provisional license or 

the board is notified in writing by the applicant that the 
designated representative has been terminated or replaced. 
An applicant may have only one designated representative at 
any time. 

5. The designated representative is not required by the 
board to have power of attorney for the applicant. A 
designated representative or power of attorney for an 
applicant may not sign for the applicant any document 
requiring the notarized signature of the applicant. 
Documents submitted by a designated representative or 
power of attorney for the applicant must be submitted in 
accordance with the requirements set by the Practice Act and 
rules. Any falsification of, or misrepresentation in, 
documents required for licensing submitted by a designated 
representative or a person with power of attorney for the 
applicant may result in denial of license or other penalties to 
the applicant. 

D. Credentials Evaluation. A foreign graduate PT 
applicant must submit to the board a credentials evaluation 
of professional education and training prepared by a board–
approved credentialing entity using the Course Work Tool. 
The board will maintain a list of approved credentialing 
entities on its website. The credential report must have been 
prepared no more than eighteen months prior to the date of 
the application for licensure, and must be submitted to the 
board directly by the credential evaluation agency. The 
applicant is responsible for any expense associated with the 
credentials evaluation.  

1. The credentials evaluation must provide 
documentation that the applicant’s education from outside a 
state or territory of the US is substantially equivalent to the 
education of a PT who has graduated from a physical 
therapy education program accredited by CAPTE. The 
evaluation must also establish that the institution at which 
the applicant received his physical therapy education is 
recognized by the Ministry of Education or an equivalent 
agency in that country.  

2. To determine substantial equivalency, the 
credentialing evaluation entity shall use a Course Work Tool 
(CWT) adopted by the FSBPT and approved by the board.  

3. To determine substantial equivalency, the entity 
shall use the version of the CWT in place at the time of entry 
by the applicant into the US. 

4. To be considered substantially equivalent to the 
requirements established in this rule, the applicant’s foreign 
education must contain evidence of the content and 
distribution of coursework identified in the appropriate 
coursework evaluation tool identified in Paragraph D.3 of 
this rule. 

5. An evaluation prepared by a credentialing agency 
reflects only the findings and conclusion of that agency, and 
shall not bind the board. If the board determines that the 
applicant’s education is not substantially equivalent to an 
entry–level physical therapy program accredited by CAPTE, 
the board will notify the applicant in writing, identifying the 
deficiencies. 

E. If a document required by this title is in a language 
other than English, the applicant shall arrange for its 
translation into English by a translation service acceptable to 
the board and shall submit a translation signed by the 
translator attesting to its accuracy.  
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F. The board–approved clinical supervisor for a foreign 
PT graduate applicant shall attend with the applicant the 
personal interview scheduled with a member of the board, or 
its designee, as a condition for the board’s consideration of 
the license application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§141. Guidelines for Board–approved Education 

Credentialing Entities 
A. The credentialing entity will review all of an 

applicant's post–secondary education credentials earned 
outside of the US. The applicant must have completed, with 
a passing grade of A, B, C, Pass or Credit, 60 semester hours 
credit or the equivalent in general education courses from an 
accredited institution of higher learning. This general 
education requirement may be met by credits earned at U.S. 
colleges or universities, by College Level Examination 
Program (CLEP) credits, or Advanced Placement (AP) 
according to standards of the American Council on 
Education. The number of credits earned by CLEP or AP 
may not exceed 12 semester credits.  

B. The credentialing entity must attest that the institution 
attended by the applicant was accredited by the Ministry of 
Education or the equivalent in that country.  

C. All foreign PT applicants must demonstrate the ability 
to communicate in English by achieving no less than the 
minimum score accepted by the board on board–approved 
English proficiency tests. For graduates of entry–level 
physical therapy programs in other foreign countries, the 
board may grant an exception to the English Proficiency test 
if the applicant holds a current license in physical therapy in 
another state and has been licensed in the U.S. for no less 
than 10 years prior to application.  

D. The credentialing entity must attest that the applicant 
is, or was, licensed or authorized to practice in the country in 
which the entry–level degree in physical therapy was 
granted. If there is no licensure or official authorization in 
such country, the applicant must be eligible for unrestricted 
practice there. The board may waive this requirement for an 
applicant who is not licensed in the country of education due 
to a citizenship requirement of that country.  

1. If the application is for licensure by examination, 
the license or authorization in such country must be current 
and in good standing at the time of application.  

2. If the application is for licensure by reciprocity, and 
the applicant has passed the NPTE meeting Louisiana 
standards, the license or authorization to practice must have 
been in good standing at the time the license or authorization 
in such country expired. 

E. The credentialing entity must attest that the applicant 
has successfully completed an educational program 
substantially equivalent to U.S. programs accredited by 
CAPTE and has earned the equivalent of no less than 90 
semester hours of professional physical therapy education.  

F. If the degree awarded is substantially equivalent to a 
degree in physical therapy as awarded by CAPTE–
accredited programs in the US, the credentialing entity must 
use the Coursework Evaluation Tool for Foreign Educated 
PTs (CWT), as developed by the FSBPT when evaluating an 
applicant's credentials. The version of the tool used must 
correspond at minimum to the year the entry–level degree 

was awarded. Education deficiencies must be identified and 
must indicate the subjects and credit hours necessary to 
satisfy the requirements of the CWT. If the degree received 
by the applicant is from a CAPTE–accredited program 
located outside the U.S., the program is considered 
equivalent to a domestic CAPTE–accredited physical 
therapy program, and the applicant is exempt from meeting 
the requirements of the CWT.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§143. Procedural Requirements [Formerly §117] 

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified 
in §137, to be eligible for licensure, a foreign PT applicant 
shall satisfy the procedures and requirements for application 
provided by §§149–153 of this Chapter and, the procedures 
and requirements for examination administered by the board 
provided in §§155–161. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:662 (July 1991), LR 26:1444 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter E. Licensure by Reciprocity 
§145. Qualifications for Licensure by Reciprocity 

[Formerly §121] 
A. Application for licensure by reciprocity under 

Subchapter E may be made at any time. 
B. An applicant who possesses and meets all of the 

qualifications and requirements specified by §§129–133 of 
this Chapter, but who has taken the board approved licensing 
exam in another state, shall nonetheless be eligible for 
licensing if such applicant possesses, as of the time the 
application is filed and at the time the board passes upon 
such application, a current, unrestricted license or its 
equivalent issued by another state. 

C. A foreign PT graduate who meets the requirements of 
Subsections 137.A. and 145 and who has practiced as a 
licensed PT in another state for at least one year, may, with 
acceptable documentation of clinical experience, be eligible 
for licensure by reciprocity as a PT at the discretion of the 
board. Licensure under this Subsection waives the period of 
supervised clinical practice set forth in Paragraph §137.A.3 
of these rules. 

D. To be eligible for licensure under Subsections A and 
B, applicants shall have met the continuing education 
requirements contained in the Practice Act and/or board 
rules within the 24 months preceding their application. 

E. An applicant who has not practiced physical therapy 
for a period of three or more years shall be subject to these 
additional requirements. 

1. An applicant who has not practiced physical 
therapy for more than three years but less than ten years 
shall complete the following activities to bring the applicant 
to the current level of physical therapy practice: 

a. various education activities, which includes a 
review and discussion with a mentor in the appropriate 
practice setting of 25 physical therapy journal articles; 
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b. a remedial educational program approved by the 
board; and  

c. supervised clinical practice for a period 
designated by the board. 

2. An applicant who has not practiced physical 
therapy for more than ten years shall be subject to these 
additional requirements: 

a. supervised clinical practice for a period 
designated by the board of no less than three months under 
the direct, on–site supervision of a board approved PT who 
has practiced no less than three years with a Louisiana 
license in good standing; 

b. completion of the General Practice Review Tool 
offered by the FSBPT and satisfactory completion of 
continuing education courses to bring the applicant’s 
knowledge to current standards; 

c. a supervision agreement must be approved by the 
executive director before a provisional license will be issued. 
The supervision agreement shall be in force for the entire 
supervised clinical practice. The provisional licensee may 
only practice in those facilities and under the supervision of 
the PT named in the approved supervision agreement. Any 
changes in practice sites or supervisors must be submitted in 
a proposed revised supervision agreement and approved 
prior to the change taking place. At the end of the 
supervisory period, the Supervising PT of Record shall 
report to the board satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion 
of the supervision period. If an unsatisfactory supervision 
period is reported by the Supervising PT of Record, the 
Board, in its discretion, may require an additional three 
month supervisory period; and 

d. complete remedial courses which may be 
prescribed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2412 and (4) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 34:1906 (September 2008), amended 
by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§147. Temporary Reciprocal Provisional License 

[Formerly §151] 
A. The board may issue a provisional license for a 

limited time period to a PT licensed in another state, or a 
foreign educated PT credentialed in another country, to 
perform physical therapy services on a patient as part of an 
education seminar or athletic event recognized and approved 
by the board. A provisional license may not be issued to the 
same person for more than 60 days in a calendar year. Such 
provisional license holder shall be obligated to comply with 
the provisions of the Practice Act and the board’s rules 
regarding his practice of physical therapy in Louisiana. The 
provisional license holder shall obtain the provisional license 
prior to providing physical therapy services in the State of 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1445 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter F. License Application 
§149. Purpose and Scope [Formerly §123] 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the procedures 
and requirements for application to the board for licensing as 
a PT and PTA in the state of Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2413 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§151. Requirements [Formerly §125] 

A. Application for licensure shall be made upon forms 
supplied by the board. Application forms and instructions 
may be obtained from the board’s website. Upon written 
request, an application form shall be mailed to the applicant.  

B. An application for licensure under this Chapter shall 
include: 

1. a fully completed application using the form 
provided by the board; 

2. proof, documented in a form satisfactory to the 
board, that the applicant possesses the qualifications set forth 
in this Chapter; 

3. one recent passport size color photograph of the 
applicant taken within six months of the application date; 

4. such other information and documentation as the 
board may require to evidence qualification for licensure and 
completion of the requirements for licensure; and 

5. the application fees due from an applicant receiving 
a one year license shall be $200; application fee due from an 
applicant receiving a two–year license shall be $315. 

C. An applicant for whom clinical supervision is 
required must forward to the board for approval, on the 
required form, the name of the PT who will supervise his 
clinical practice. The supervisor must consent to the 
supervision and be approved by the board prior to issuance 
of a provisional license. 

D. After submission of a completed application, an 
applicant shall, by appointment, meet personally with a 
member of the board, or a designee of the board, as a 
prerequisite to completion of the application process. 

E. In addition to any other requirements established by 
regulation, the board may require an applicant, as a 
condition for eligibility for initial licensure:  

1. to submit a full set of fingerprints, in a form and 
manner prescribed by the board; 

2. to authorize the board to obtain state and national 
criminal history record information on the applicant; 

3. to collect from the applicant, in addition to all other 
applicable fees and costs, such amount as may be incurred 
by the board for state and national criminal history record 
information on the applicant.  

F. In accordance with the provisions and procedures 
prescribed by this Section, the board may request and obtain 
state and national criminal history record information from 
the Louisiana State Police and the FBI relative to any 
applicant for licensure whose fingerprints the board has 
obtained pursuant to this Section for the purpose of 
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determining the applicant’s suitability and eligibility for 
licensure.  

G. Upon request by the board and upon the board’s 
submission of an applicant’s fingerprints, and such other 
identifying information as may be required, the Louisiana 
State Police shall conduct a search of its criminal history 
record information relative to the applicant and report the 
results of its search to the board within 60 days from receipt 
of any such request. The board shall pay to the Louisiana 
State Police a processing fee pursuant to R.S. 15:587 for 
conducting and reporting on any such search.  

H. If the criminal history record information reported by 
the Louisiana State Police to the board does not provide 
grounds for disqualification of the applicant for licensure 
under the applicable law administered by the board, the 
board shall have the authority to forward the applicant’s 
fingerprints and such other identifying information as may 
be required to the FBI with a request for a search of national 
criminal history record information relative to the applicant.  

I. Any and all state or national criminal history record 
information obtained by the board from the bureau or FBI 
which is not already a matter of public record shall be 
deemed nonpublic and confidential information restricted to 
the exclusive use of the board, its members, investigators, 
agents, and attorneys in evaluating the applicant’s eligibility 
or qualification for licensure. No such information or records 
shall, except with the written consent of the applicant or by 
order of a court of competent jurisdiction, be released or 
otherwise disclosed by the board to any other person or 
agency. 

J. The board may refuse to consider any application 
which is not complete in every detail, including submission 
of every document required by the application form and 
instructions. The board may, in its discretion, require a more 
detailed or complete response to any request for information 
set forth in the application form as a condition for 
consideration of an application. 

K.  Each application submitted to the board shall be 
accompanied by the applicable fee, as provided in Chapter 5 
of these rules. 

L. To assure equal opportunity for all persons, and in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, Public 
Law 101–336, the board shall make reasonable 
accommodations for an applicant for licensure by 
examination if the applicant has a qualified disability 
pursuant to applicable law and is approved by the board. The 
board requires notification of an applicant's disability no 
later than receipt of a completed application form and fee. 
The notification by the applicant should include the type of 
accommodation required. A copy of the tests performed and 
the diagnosis made by a physician qualified to administer 
such tests must be submitted with objective documentation 
of the disability. Accommodations to be made by the board 
should be reasonable in that they should not impose undue 
hardship on the board. Accommodations for persons with 
disabilities may include accommodations that are reasonably 
appropriate for the disability and are not limited to extended 
time for the examination, a map of the examination facility 
indicating wheelchair accessible entrances, elevators, 
restrooms, and examination rooms.  

M. Every applicant shall personally complete, sign, and 
date his application for licensure and oath. The application 

must be notarized by a notary in the country in which the 
applicant resides and forwarded directly to the board. 

N. An application which is incomplete will be closed 
after one year of inactivity. At the end of this period, any 
application which is not completed will be considered 
abandoned and closed by the board and fees paid to the 
board will not be refunded. Should the applicant re–apply 
after his incomplete application is closed, he shall be 
required to begin the process anew, including the payment of 
the application fee to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2413 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1444 (July 2000), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§153. Effect of Application [Formerly §129] 

A. Submission to the board of an application for 
licensure constitutes authorization by the applicant to each 
educational institution at which the applicant has 
matriculated, each state or federal agency to which the 
applicant has applied for any license, permit, certificate or 
registration, each person, firm, corporation, clinic, office or 
institution by whom or with whom the applicant has been 
employed in the practice of physical therapy, each physician 
or other health care practitioner whom the applicant has 
consulted or seen for diagnosis or treatment, and each 
professional organization to which the applicant has applied 
for membership, to disclose and release to the board any and 
all information and documentation concerning the applicant 
which the board deems material to the application. With 
respect to such information or documentation, the 
submission of an application for licensure to the board 
constitutes consent by the applicant for disclosure and 
release of such information and documentation, and as a 
waiver by the applicant of any privilege or right of 
confidentiality which the applicant would otherwise be 
entitled to. 

B. By submission of an application to the board for 
licensure or renewal, an applicant agrees to submit to 
physical, mental, or substance abuse examinations or 
evaluations, if, when, and in the manner directed by the 
executive director, and waives all objections to the 
admissibility or disclosure of findings, reports or 
recommendations to the board on grounds of privacy or 
privileges provided by law. The expense of any such 
examination or evaluation shall be borne by the applicant. 

C. Submission of an application for licensure constitutes 
authorization by the applicant to the board to disclose and 
release any information or documentation set forth in or 
submitted with the applicant's application or obtained by the 
board from other persons, firms, corporations, associations 
or governmental entities pursuant to Subsections A or B of 
this Section to any person, firm, corporation, association or 
governmental entity having a lawful, legitimate, and 
reasonable need therefore including, without limitation, the 
physical therapy licensing authority of any state; the FSBPT, 
APTA and its state affiliates; federal, state, county, or parish 
and municipal health and law enforcement agencies, 
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including the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals; 
and the Armed Services. 

D. An applicant who submits false information may be 
denied licensure by the board.  

E. If the board rejects an application for licensure, the 
reasons for the rejection shall be provided to the applicant. 
The applicant may submit additional information and request 
reconsideration by the board. If the applicant remains 
dissatisfied, a formal hearing may be requested.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2413 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter G. Examination 
§155. Designation of Examination [Formerly §131] 

A. The examination approved by the board pursuant to 
R.S. 37:2414 shall be standardized and nationally accepted 
by FSBPT and/or APTA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
26:1445 (July 2000) amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
§157. Eligibility for Examination [Formerly §133] 

A. To be eligible for examination by the board, an 
applicant shall possess all qualifications for licensure 
prescribed by §129.A. However, an applicant who has 
completed, or will complete prior to examination, his 
physical therapy or physical therapist assistant education, 
but who does not yet posses a degree or certificate as 
required by §129.A.4 or §129.B.4, shall be deemed eligible 
for examination upon submission to the board of a letter 
subscribed by the authorized representative of an approved 
school certifying that the applicant has completed all 
academic education at such school or college, that a degree 
in physical therapy or physical therapist assisting will be 
conferred at the next scheduled convocation of such school, 
and specifying the date on which such degree will be 
awarded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§159. Dates, Places of Examination [Formerly §135] 

A. Once the application process is completed, including 
the payment of fees, the applicant will be notified of his 
eligibility to schedule the examination with any approved 
testing service. Within 60 days from the date specified in the 
eligibility letter, the applicant must sit for the examination. If 
the examination is not taken within the 60 days, the 
applicant shall be removed from the eligibility list and must 
begin the application process again including the payment of 

all required fees and charges. Failure to sit for the 
examination within the 60 days will be considered a failure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 23:1445 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§161. Administration of Examination [Formerly §137] 

A. The board's licensing examination is administered by 
an approved testing service and is computer based. The 
testing service is authorized and directed by the board to 
obtain positive photographic identification from all 
applicants appearing and properly registered for the 
examination; to establish and require examinees to observe 
an appropriate seating arrangement; to provide appropriate 
instructions for taking the examinations; to fix and signal the 
time for beginning and ending the examination; to prescribe 
such additional rules and requirements as are necessary or 
appropriate to the taking of the examination in the interest of 
the examinees; and to take all necessary and appropriate 
actions to secure the integrity of the examination process. 

B. An applicant for examination shall pay the site fee for 
the examination directly to the testing service at the time of 
scheduling with the testing service and in the amount and 
manner prescribed by the testing service. 

C. An applicant who appears for examination shall: 
1. present to the appropriate representative of the 

testing service positive personal photographic and other 
identification in the form prescribed; and 

2. fully and promptly comply with any and all rules, 
procedures, instructions, directions, or requests made or 
prescribed by the testing service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
26:1445 (July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
§163. Subversion of Examination Process  

[Formerly §139] 
A. An applicant who engages or attempts to engage in 

conduct which subverts or undermines the integrity of the 
examination process shall be subject to the sanctions 
specified in §167 of this Subchapter. 

B. Conduct which subverts or undermines the integrity 
of the examination process includes: 

1. refusing or failing to fully and promptly comply 
with any rules, procedures, instructions, directions, or 
requests made or prescribed by representatives of the testing 
service; 

2. removing from the examination room or rooms any 
of the examination materials; 

3. reproducing or reconstructing, by copying, 
duplication, written notes or electronic recording, any 
portion of the licensing examination; 

4. selling, distributing, buying, receiving, obtaining, 
or having unauthorized possession of current, future, or 
previously administered licensing examination; 
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5. communicating in any manner with any other 
examinee or any other person during the administration of 
the examination; 

6. copying answers from another examinee or 
permitting one's answers to be copied by another examinee 
during the administration of the examination; 

7. having in one's possession during the 
administration of the examination any materials or objects 
other than the examination materials distributed, including, 
without limitation, any books, notes, recording devices, or 
other written, printed or recorded materials or data of any 
kind; 

8. impersonating an examinee by appearing for an 
applicant and taking the examination for, and in the name of 
an applicant other than himself; 

9. permitting another person to appear for and take the 
examination on one's behalf and in one's name; or 

10. engaging in any conduct which disrupts the 
examination process for other examinees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 26:1445 (July 2000), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§165. Finding of Subversion [Formerly §141] 

A. When, during the administration of examination, there 
exists reasonable cause to believe that an applicant is 
engaging, or attempting to engage, in subversion of the exam 
process, appropriate action shall be taken to promptly 
terminate such conduct and to report such conduct to the 
board. 

B. In the event of suspected conduct described by 
§163.B.5 or 6, the suspect applicant shall be permitted to 
complete the examination, but shall be removed at the 
earliest practical opportunity to a location precluding such 
conduct. 

C. When the board has reasonable cause to believe that 
an applicant has engaged in or attempted to engage in 
conduct which subverts or undermines the integrity of the 
examination process, the board shall notify the applicant and 
provide him with an opportunity for a hearing pursuant to 
the Administrative Procedure Act and applicable board rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 26:1445 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§167. Sanctions for Subversion of Examination 

[Formerly §143] 
A. An applicant who is found by the board, prior to the 

administration of the examination, to have engaged in or 
attempted to engage in conduct which could subvert or 
undermine the integrity of the examination process may be 
permanently disqualified from taking the examination and 
from licensure as a PT or PTA in the State of Louisiana. 

B. An applicant who is found by the board to have 
engaged in or attempted to engage in conduct which subverts 

or undermines the integrity of the examination process shall 
be deemed to have failed the examination. Such failure shall 
be recorded in the official records of the board. 

C. In addition to the sanctions permitted or mandated by 
§167.A and B, as to an applicant found by the board to have 
engaged in or attempted to engage in conduct which subverts 
or undermines the integrity of the examination process, the 
board may: 

1. revoke, suspend, or impose probationary conditions 
on any license which has been issued to such applicant; 

2. disqualify the applicant, permanently or for a 
specific period of time from eligibility for licensure in the 
State of Louisiana; or 

3. disqualify the applicant, permanently from 
eligibility for examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§169. Passing Score [CGI]  

[Formerly §145] 
A. The board adopts a criterion–referenced passing point 

of 600 which is based on a scale ranging from 200 to 800.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2405.A. (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
21:1243 (November 1995), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 
§171. Restriction, Limitation on Examinations, 

Additional Requirements  
[Formerly §§147, 153, and 155] 

A. Applicants must successfully pass the examination to 
obtain a license to practice in Louisiana as a PT or PTA. 

B. An applicant, who has failed the examination for the 
first time, shall have no more than 2 years from the date of 
the first examination and no more than four attempts to 
successfully pass the examination. 

C. Applicants who have failed the examination on three 
occasions, shall, prior to re–application: 

1. develop and submit to the board a written 
remediation plan for additional preparation in areas of 
identified weakness which shall include two or more of the 
following: 

a. practice Exam and Assessment Tool (PEAT) 
offered by FSBPT; 

b. examination Performance Feedback report 
offered by FSBPT; 

c. take a commercial licensure review course; 
d. take a board approved continuing education 

course; 
e. work as a technician, either as paid staff or 

volunteer, under the supervision of a board approved 
licensed PT; 

f. other board approved remediation activity; 
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2. enter an agreement with the board for an acceptable 
time table for completion of an approved remediation plan; 

3. submit evidence to the board of successful 
completion of remediation activities with re–application and 
prior to the scheduling of the examination. 

D. No person may be licensed by the board who has 
failed the examination four or more times, whether or not the 
examination was taken in Louisiana. Applicants who fail the 
examination four or more times must repeat an accredited 
physical therapy or physical therapist assistant education 
program before reapplying to take the licensing examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A. (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387, 388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), 
LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1446 (July 2000), LR 34:1907 
(September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
Subchapter H. Provisional License 
§173. Foreign Graduate Provisional License  

[Formerly §159] 
A. A foreign PT graduate who possesses all of the 

qualifications for licensure prescribed by §137 of this 
Chapter, except for §137.A.3, shall be issued a provisional 
license to engage in supervised clinical practice under the 
requirements of §331 for the purpose of fulfilling in whole 
or part the requirement of §137.A.3. 

B. The holder of a provisional license issued under this 
Section shall not engage in the practice of physical therapy 
in any respect other than at the physical location for which 
he is approved by the board. 

C. A provisional license issued under this Section shall 
expire, and thereby become null and void and of no effect, 
on the date specified by such provisional license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 37: 
Subchapter I. License Issuance, Termination, Renewal, 

Reinstatement 
§175. Issuance of License [Formerly §161] 

A. If the qualifications, requirements and procedures 
prescribed by §129 are met, the executive director shall issue 
to the applicant a license to engage in the practice of 
physical therapy in the State of Louisiana. 

B. A license issued pursuant to examination shall be 
issued within seven days following the reporting of a passing 
licensing examination score to the board. A license issued 
pursuant to reciprocity under §145 shall be issued within 
seven days following satisfaction of all requirements of 
§145. 

C. A license issued to an applicant for the first time shall 
be for a term of one year or two years, to be determined by 
the birth year of the applicant. Thereafter, the term for 
license renewal shall be two years. Initial licenses issued in 
odd numbered years (2011, 2013, etc.) for applicants whose 

birth year is an odd–numbered year shall be issued for one 
year. Initial licenses issued in even–numbered years (2012, 
2014, etc.) for an applicant whose birth year is an even– 
numbered year shall be issued for two years.  

D. A licensee shall not copy or otherwise reproduce his 
license or allow another person to copy or otherwise 
reproduce his license. Evidence of license status may be 
verified from the board website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2415.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 
26:1446 (July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
§177. Replacement of License 

A. The board may issue a license to replace a lost or 
destroyed license upon receipt of a written request and the 
appropriate fee from the licensee. The board will issue a new 
original license after name change upon receipt of a name 
change form, the appropriate fee, and a copy of the legal 
document enacting the name change.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2415 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§179. Expiration of Licenses [Formerly §163] 

A. Licenses issued by the board shall expire, and thereby 
become void, on April 30 of the last year for which it is 
issued. 

B. The timely, acknowledged receipt of a complete 
application for license renewal, as provided by §181, or 
online verification of license renewal operates to continue 
licensure in full force and effect pending issuance of the 
renewal license document. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2417 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 37: 
§181. Renewal of License [Formerly §165] 

A. Standard procedure for license renewal and the 
payment of required fees is by online application through the 
board website.  

B. Renewal applications received by March 31 shall be 
assessed a renewal fee of $230. Renewal applications 
received after March 31 and before April 30 shall be 
assessed a renewal fee of $400, as provided by law. Renewal 
applications received after April 30 shall be deemed as 
applications for license reinstatement pursuant to §185. 

C. For transitional purposes, licenses issued for 2011 
shall expire on April 30, 2012. 

D. For transitional purposes, renewal licenses issued in 
2012 shall be for a term of one year or two years, to be 
determined by the birth year of the licensee. Thereafter, the 
term for license renewal shall be for two years. Licensees 
whose birth year ends in an odd number (2013, 2015 etc.) 
shall renew in odd–numbered years. Licensees whose birth–
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year ends in an even number (2014, 2016 etc.) shall renew in 
even–numbered years.  

E. Licensees shall be notified by the board of license 
renewal deadlines. Upon written request, a renewal 
application shall be mailed to the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2417 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§183. Restrictions on License Renewal; Restoration  

A. As required by R.S. 37:2951, the board will not renew 
a license if a licensee has defaulted on a loan from the 
Louisiana Office of Financial Assistance as per R.S. 
37:2951. Upon notice from the Louisiana Office of Financial 
Assistance that a repayment agreement has been established, 
the license shall be renewed.  

B. The board will not renew a license if a licensee has 
defaulted on court ordered or Attorney General's notice of 
child support arrearages. Upon receipt of notification that a 
repayment agreement has been established, the license shall 
be renewed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2417 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§185. Reinstatement of Suspended or Revoked License 

[Formerly §349] 
A. An application for reinstatement of a suspended 

license does not require satisfaction of the requirements for 
initial licensure. 

B. Application for reinstatement of a revoked license 
must be made in compliance with the requirements of initial 
licensure in Louisiana, and shall not be heard less than three 
years from the revocation decision. 

C. Prior to reinstatement of a license previously revoked, 
a hearing shall be held by the board to afford the Respondent 
an opportunity to present evidence that the cause for the 
revocation no longer exists and to provide an opportunity for 
the board to evaluate changes in the Respondent and/or the 
conditions which caused the revocation. 

D. After evaluation, the board may: 
1. deny reinstatement of a revoked license; 
2. reinstate a revoked license; 
3. require the satisfactory completion of a specific 

program or remedial education approved by the board; and 
4. require monitoring of the Respondent’s physical 

therapy practice as specified by the board.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§187. Reinstatement of Lapsed License  

[Formerly §167] 
A. An expired license may be reinstated pursuant to the 

requirements set forth below. 
B. A licensee who fails to timely renew his license as 

provided in §181 shall submit:  

1. a complete reinstatement application; 
2. the renewal fee of $400; 
3. the reinstatement fee of $75; and 
4. an explanation for the failure to timely renew his 

license. 
C. Reinstatement pursuant to this Section shall also 

require that applicant or his employer reimburse or reverse 
charges which have been made for patient treatment during 
the period for which the applicant did not have a current and 
valid license. 

D. Reinstatement pursuant to this Section does not 
insulate the applicant from disciplinary action which the 
board finds appropriate for practicing without a current 
license after April 30 to the date of reinstatement. 

E.A licensee who allows his license to lapse for reasons 
other than §187.B shall submit:  

1. a complete reinstatement application; 
2. the renewal fee of $230; 
3. the reinstatement fee of $75; 
4. pass the board’s online jurisprudence examination; 
5. an explanation for allowing his license to lapse; 
6. two letters of character recommendation from 

reputable currently licensed physical therapists, physicians, 
dentists, podiatrists, or chiropractors; and 

7. verification of licensure from all states in which the 
applicant has applied for or held a license/permit. 

F. To be eligible for license reinstatement under this 
Section, an applicant shall have met the continuing 
education requirements pursuant to §194 within the 24 
months preceding his application.  

G. Any person whose license has lapsed for more than 
five years may apply for reinstatement of licensure upon 
payment of the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee under 
the following conditions:  

1. licensee shall be subject to a three month period of 
supervised clinical practice;  

2. licensee may only practice under the direct on–site 
supervision of a board approved PT who has practiced no 
less than three years with a Louisiana license in good 
standing; 

3. completion of the General Practice Review Tool 
offered by the FSBPT and satisfactory completion of 
continuing education courses indicated by that tool to bring 
the Applicant’s knowledge to current standards. 

4. a supervision agreement must be approved by the 
executive director before a provisional license will be issued. 
The supervision agreement shall be in force for the entire 
three month supervisory period. This licensee may only 
practice in those facilities and under the supervision of the 
PT named in the approved supervision agreement. Any 
change in practice site or supervisor must be submitted in a 
revised supervision agreement prior to the change taking 
place. At the end of the supervisory period, the Supervising 
PT of Record shall report to the board the satisfactory or 
unsatisfactory completion of the supervision period. If an 
unsatisfactory supervision period is reported by the 
Supervising PT of Record, the board, in its discretion, may 
require an additional three month supervisory period; and 

5. completion of remedial courses which may be 
prescribed by the board. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 28:1979 (September 2002), 
LR 34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 
§189. Reinstatement after Military Service 

A. An applicant seeking reinstatement of a license which 
lapsed during active military service shall be required to pay 
a license renewal fee only, and that fee shall be proportional 
to the months remaining in his renewal cycle.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter J. Continuing Education 
§191. Purpose 

A. To be approved by the board, a continuing education 
course or activity as defined in §123, must contribute 
directly to the professional competence of the licensee and 
must directly relate to the skills and knowledge required to 
implement the principles and methods of physical therapy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§193. Course Approval [Formerly §169] 

A. Only courses and activities approved in advance by 
the board will generate acceptable continuing education 
credits for licensees. All proposed continuing education 
courses or activities shall be submitted in advance of 
presentation to the board for approval on a form provided on 
the board website. Sponsors of continuing education courses 
and activities or licensees seeking course approval should 
look to the board website for guidance on lead time required 
for review of submissions. Generally, courses or activities of 
longer duration will require more time for review than 
courses of short duration.  

B. Charges for course or activity review for possible 
approval shall be set forth on the board website. 

C. Course or activity sponsors may be required to submit 
to the board verified records of attendance and completion of 
the course or activity.  

D. Consideration of courses or activities for approval 
shall be based on the content criteria set forth in §197.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 
1995), LR 16:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 
§194. Biennial Requirements [Formerly §169] 

A. Unless exempted under §198, licensees shall 
successfully complete, document and report to the board at 
least 30 hours of board–approved continuing education 
courses or activities in the biennial renewal period. No 
carryover of continuing education hours from one renewal 
period to another shall be allowed. Continuing education 
will be granted in the reporting period in which the academic 

coursework, clinical instruction, tool, residency, or 
fellowship is completed. 

B. The four types of approved courses or activities and 
requirement for each are:  

1. jurisprudence―a minimum of 2 contact hours; 
2. ethics, professionalism or Practice Review Tool―a 

minimum of 2 contact hours; 
3. clinical/preventive―a minimum of 20 contact 

hours; 
4. administrative―a maximum of 6 contact hours. 

Additional clinical/preventive hours may be substituted for 
administrative. 

C. No more than 10 hours of continuing education 
submitted to the board shall be home study, internet or 
online courses or by other distance learning methods.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 
1995), LR 16:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37:  
§195. Content Criteria [Formerly §169] 

A. Course or activity content shall address physical 
therapy competence and practice and shall be designed to 
meet one of the following goals:  

1. update knowledge and skills required for competent 
performance beyond entry level of the PT or PTA at the time 
the licensee entered the profession; 

2. allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and 
skills;  

3. provide opportunities for inter–disciplinary 
learning; 

4. extend the limits of professional capabilities and 
opportunities; and 

5. facilitate personal contribution to the advancement 
of the profession. 

B. Required continuing education, as defined in §123, 
shall include the following: 

1. passage of the jurisprudence examination, which 
may be taken online, or attendance at a traditional board–
sponsored Jurisprudence course, either of which fulfills the 
two hour Jurisprudence requirement; 

2. a minimum of two contact hours related to ethics, 
professionalism, or use of the FSBPT Practice Review Tool; 

3. a minimum of 20 contact hours of 
clinical/preventive courses or activities in increments of no 
less than two contact hours, including:  

a. teaching an approved clinical/preventive course 
or activity. A licensee may receive two hours of credit for 
each contact hour approved for the course or activity, not to 
exceed 10 hours. This credit will be given only for the first 
time the course is presented; 

b. ten hours of credit for an initial certification by 
the American Board of Physical Therapy Clinical 
Specialties; 

c. one hour of credit for every two hours spent in an 
approved post–professional clinical residency or fellowship, 
not to exceed ten hours credit. 

4. licensees may obtain credit for no more than six 
contact hours for administrative courses or activities. 
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Administrative courses or activities may include any 
combination of the following: 

a. a course or activity designed to enhance skills in 
management of a physical therapy practice; 

b. a maximum of five hours credit for clinical 
instructors serving as the primary clinical instructor for PT 
and PTA students or provisional licensees. One hour credit 
may be earned per 120 hours of clinical instruction during 
the renewal period. Proof of clinical instruction is a 
certificate from the student’s school documenting the 
number of hours of clinical supervision completed; 

c. a maximum of five clinical hour credit during the 
renewal period for publication of scientific papers, abstracts, 
textbook chapters and poster or platform presentations at 
conferences relating to PT. Textbook chapter credit will be 
given only for the year of publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 
1995), LR 16:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 
§197. Reporting Requirements; Audit [Formerly §171] 

A. It is the responsibility of each licensee to assure that 
his continuing education hours are timely reported with his 
license renewal application. 

B. The reporting of continuing education hours by 
course or activity sponsors and by licensees shall be made 
only on forms approved by and available from the board 
website. Forms filed by course or activity sponsors or 
licensees shall be legibly printed or typewritten, and shall be 
completed and verified by the course or activity sponsor or 
licensee. 

C. Continuing education activities undertaken for the 
purpose of license renewal shall be maintained by the 
licensee in a file in which records of activities are kept, 
including dates, subjects, duration of the program, 
certificates of participation and completion, and any other 
appropriate documentation for a period of four years after 
the program date. Upon request, course or activity sponsors 
and licensees shall supply the board with such 
documentation.  

D. The board shall conduct an audit of the continuing 
education records of a number of the licensees to be 
determined by the board each renewal period. The board will 
notify licensees who are randomly selected for audit to 
determine compliance with the continuing education 
requirements. Licensees chosen for the audit shall submit to 
the board by the specified date copies of all records and 
documentation showing completion of the continuing 
education courses or activities previously submitted for 
fulfillment of continuing education requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
17:665 (July 1991), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 

§198. Exemptions from CE Requirements  
[Formerly §173] 

A. PTs or PTAs licensed in Louisiana are exempt from 
the Subchapter J continuing education requirements for the 
calendar year in which they graduate from an accredited 
physical therapy education program. For the remainder of 
the licensee’s renewal period, 15 contact hours must be 
completed and reported in keeping with the requirements of 
§194. 

B. Upon approval by the board of a written request made 
in compliance with Subsection C, the board may extend the 
period for compliance or exempt the following from 
compliance with the Subchapter J. continuing education 
requirements: 

1. licensees on extended active military service for a 
period in excess of three months during the applicable 
reporting period; or 

2. licensees who are unable to fulfill the requirement 
because of illness, natural disaster, or other personal 
hardship. 

C. Written requests for an exemption under Subsection 
B, including supporting documentation, must be received by 
the board at least 45 days prior to the end of the renewal 
period for which the exemption is sought, or immediately 
after the licensee becomes aware of the facts or 
circumstances upon which the exemption is sought, 
whichever is later.  

1. A licensee who is a member of the armed forces 
reserves and called to active military service will have his 
CEUs prorated in proportion to the number of months of 
documented active duty.  

2. A licensee whose license expires during a period of 
active military service will be given a complete waiver of 
continuing education requirements for the renewal period in 
which he is activated. Active duty military personnel shall be 
exempt proportionally for continuing education for months 
of documented active service in the renewal cycle during 
which active military service terminates.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:665 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 34:1908 (September 2008), amended 
by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§199. Noncompliance and Reinstatement  

[Formerly §175] 
A. Noncompliance. Noncompliance with continuing 

education requirements includes, but is not limited to, 
incomplete reports, unsigned reports, unsigned verification 
of course or activity completion, failure to report a sufficient 
number of approved continuing education hours as defined 
in §193, or any other matters considered to be 
noncompliance by the board. 

B. Notice. The board shall send written notice of 
noncompliance to a licensee stating that his license has 
lapsed for failure to renew pursuant to R.S. 37:2417. The 
notice shall request that the licensee furnish to the board 
within 30 days of receipt of the notice, the following: 

1. a written explanation for failure to complete 
required CE; or if applicable; 
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2. an affidavit with documentary proof that the 
licensee has complied with the continuing education 
requirements, or an affidavit setting forth the reasons for 
failure to comply with the continuing education 
requirements because of illness, natural disaster, other 
personal hardship or extended active military service during 
the reporting period and stating that he did not provide 
physical therapy services during that period. 

C. Finding. If the licensee: 
1. satisfactorily explains the failure to renew, his 

license may be reinstated upon payment of the renewal fee 
for the current renewal period and the reinstatement fee; or 

2. does not successfully establish compliance or 
acceptable exemption from compliance with continuing 
educational requirements, he may be required to take the 
licensing examination and pay the fees for examination and 
re–licensure. Passage of the examination fulfills the 
continuing education requirements for the year the 
noncompliance occurred, but shall not be applicable for 
subsequent reporting periods.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:665 (July 1991), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 

Subpart 2.  Practice 
Chapter 3. Practice 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§301. Scope of Chapter [Formerly §301] 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the practice of 
physical therapy in the State of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2407 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§303. Professional Standards  

[Formerly §§307, and 315]  
A. A licensed PT is authorized to engage in the practice 

of physical therapy as set forth in the Practice Act and the 
board's rules which includes, but is not limited to, the 
performance of physical therapy evaluations, consultative 
services, wound care and debridement, the storage and 
administration of aerosol and topical agents, the 
performance of passive manipulation, and preventive 
services all as more fully defined in §123.  

B. A PT is responsible for managing all aspects of the 
physical therapy care of each patient. 

C. A PT shall exercise sound professional judgment 
based upon his knowledge, skill, education, training, and 
experience, and shall perform only those procedures for 
which he is competent. If, during evaluation, reassessment or 
screening, the PT finds that treatment which is outside the 
scope of his knowledge, experience, or expertise is needed, 
the PT shall notify the patient or client and provide a referral 
to an appropriate healthcare practitioner. 

D. Before working in a school or home health setting, a 
PTA shall have one year of supervised work experience.  

E. A PTA may act as a Clinical Instructor for a PTA 
student, provided the PTA has one year of supervised work 

experience in the practice setting in which he will act as the 
Clinical Instructor for the PTA student. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13;749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 21:395 (April 1995), 
LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 34: 1909 
(September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
§305. Practice with Prescription or Referral 

A. Except as set forth in R.S. 37:2418.C and §307.C, 
physical therapy treatment shall be based on the prescription 
or referral of a person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, 
dentistry, podiatry, or chiropractic. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§307. Physical Therapy Services without Prescription 

or Referral [Formerly §306] 
A. These rules are intended to facilitate and implement 

the provisions of R.S. 37:2418.C through C(5). They are 
meant as practical guidelines, while maintaining flexibility 
in the rendering of physical therapy services, without 
eliminating the opportunity for oversight and supervision.  

B. As used in connection with providing wellness or 
preventive services referred to in R.S. 37:2418 C(4), the PT 
shall:  

1. perform a screening to determine whether treatment 
or wellness/preventive services are indicated. The therapist 
shall inform the individual of the screening results and make 
recommendations for follow–up with the appropriate health 
care provider if needed; 

2. assess the client’s wellness/preventive services 
needs, and, if such services are indicated and desired by the 
client, develop a written plan, which describes the services 
to be provided to the client. 

C. Regarding physical therapy treatment provided 
pursuant to R.S. 37:2418.C(5): 

1. physical therapy treatment for a diagnosed 
condition or conditions may be provided after the PT has 
determined that the condition has been diagnosed within the 
preceding 90 days by a health care provider authorized by 
law to make a diagnosis.  

2. the PT shall provide to the diagnosing healthcare 
provider, the plan of care for physical therapy services 
within 15 days of the physical therapy intervention, as set 
forth in R.S. 37:2418(C)(5).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 31:441 (February 2005), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§309. Early Childhood Services  

A. In the provision of early childhood services through 
the Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) program, the PT 
conducts appropriate screenings, evaluations, and 
assessments to determine needed services to fulfill family–
centered goals.  
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B. Subject to the provisions of this Section, the PT shall 
implement physical therapy services in accordance with the 
recommendations accepted by the Interdisciplinary Team, as 
stated in the Individual Family Service Plan.  

C. Evaluation and reevaluation in the educational setting 
will be conducted in accordance with federal mandates 
under Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. §1436, or when warranted by a 
change in the child's condition, and include onsite 
reexamination of the child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§311. Treatment with Dry Needling 

A. The purpose of this rule is to establish standards of 
practice, as authorized by R.S. 37:2405 A.(8), for the 
utilization of dry needling techniques, as defined in §123, in 
treating patients. 

B. Dry needling is a physical therapy treatment which 
requires specialized physical therapy education and training 
for the utilization of such techniques. Before undertaking dry 
needling education and training, a PT shall have no less than 
two years experience working as a licensed PT. Prior to 
utilizing dry needling techniques in patient treatment, a PT 
shall provide documentation to the executive director that he 
has successfully completed a board–approved course of 
study consisting of no fewer than 100 hours of face–to–face 
instruction in intramuscular dry needling treatment and 
safety. Online and other distance learning courses will not 
satisfy this requirement. Practicing dry needling without 
compliance with this requirement constitutes unprofessional 
conduct and subjects a licensee to appropriate discipline by 
the board. 

C. In order to obtain board approval for courses of 
instruction in dry needling, sponsors must document that 
instructors utilized have had no less than two years 
experience utilizing such techniques. Instructors need not be 
physical therapists, but should be licensed or certified as a 
healthcare provider in the state of their residence. 

D. A written informed consent form shall be presented to 
a patient for whom dry needling is being considered, telling 
the patient of the potential risks and benefits of dry needling. 
A copy of a completed form shall be preserved in the patient 
treatment record and another copy given to the patient. 

E. Dry needling treatment shall be performed in a 
manner consistent with generally accepted standards of 
practice, including sterile needle procedures and the 
standards of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention. Treatment notes shall document how the patient 
tolerated the technique and the outcome of treatments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (8) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§313. Transfer of Patient Care 

A. A PT shall transfer and document the continuum of 
care of the patient, as appropriate, to another health care 
provider in the event of elective termination of physical 
therapy services by the PT. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (8) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§315. Legend Drugs and Devices 

A. In providing physical therapy as authorized by law, 
PTs are authorized to procure from licensed distributors, 
store and utilize legend devices and topical legend drugs 
which are employed in the delivery of physical therapy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (8) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§317. Licensee Information 

A. Changes to licensee information. Applicants and 
licensees must notify the board in writing of any change in a 
residential or business address, telephone number or email 
address within 30 days that such change takes effect.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2415 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Prohibitions 
§321. Unauthorized Practice; Practice Restrictions 

[Formerly §307] 
A. No person shall engage in the practice of physical 

therapy in the State of Louisiana unless he has a current 
license or provisional license duly issued by the board under 
Chapter 1 of these rules. 

B. A licensed PTA shall not interpret referrals or 
prescriptions for physical therapy, perform evaluations, 
initiate or adjust treatment programs, or assume the 
responsibility for planning patient care. 

C. Roentgen rays, radium, isotopes, or ionizing radiation 
shall not be used or administered in physical therapy. 

D. A PT may not profess to provide "spinal 
manipulation" or "spinal adjustment" or use these terms for 
advertising purposes. However, this Chapter shall preclude 
other healthcare providers from professing the practice of 
physical therapy and from the use of the term "physical 
therapy", "P.T.", or "physiotherapy" for advertising purposes 
unless licensed under the Practice Act.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2423 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Examiners, 
LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 
(July 2000), LR 34:1909 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§323. Use of Titles and Terms; Restrictions  

[Formerly §307] 
A. A PT shall use the letters "P.T." in connection with his 

name or place of business to denote licensure. A PTA shall 
use the letters "P.T.A." in connection with his name to 
denote licensure. 

B. A PT student who is pursuing a course of study 
leading to a degree as a PT in a professional education 
program approved by the board and is satisfying supervised 
clinical education requirements related to his physical 
therapy education shall use the letters "S.P.T." in connection 
with his name while participating in this program. A PTA 
student who is pursuing a course of study leading to a degree 
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as a PTA in a professional education program approved by 
the board and is satisfying supervised clinical education 
requirements related to his physical therapist assisting 
education shall use the letters "S.P.T.A." in connection with 
his name while participating in this program. 

C. No person or business entity, its employees, agents, or 
representatives shall use in connection with that person’s 
name or the name or activity of the business, the words 
"physical therapy," "physical therapist," "physiotherapy," 
"physiotherapist," "registered physical therapist," "licensed 
physical therapist," "doctor of physical therapy," the letters 
"PT," "DPT," "LPT," "RPT," "physical therapist assistant," 
"P.T.A.," "physiotherapist assistant," or any other words, 
abbreviations, or insignia indicating or implying directly or 
indirectly that physical therapy is provided or supplied, 
unless such services are provided by or under the direction 
of a PT licensed pursuant to the Practice Act. 

D. No person or business entity shall advertise or 
otherwise promote another person as being a "physical 
therapist," "physiotherapist," "P.T.," "physical therapist 
assistant," "physiotherapist assistant," or "P.T.A." unless the 
individual so advertised or promoted is licensed as a PT or 
PTA under the Practice Act. No person or business entity 
shall offer, provide, or bill any person for "physical therapy" 
or "physiotherapy" unless the individual performing those 
services is licensed pursuant to the Practice Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2419 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Examiners, 
LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 
(July 2000), LR 34:1909 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§325. Exemptions [Formerly §309] 

A. The prohibitions of §321.A of this Chapter shall not 
apply to a person employed by any department, agency, or 
bureau of the US Government when acting within the course 
and scope of such employment, nor shall they prohibit a 
person from acting under and within the scope of a license 
issued by an agency of the State of Louisiana. 

B. A student shall be exempt from licensure when 
pursuing a course of study leading to a degree in physical 
therapy or physical therapist assisting in a physical therapy 
education program approved by the board and while 
satisfying a supervised clinical rotation related to his 
education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 34:1909 (September 
2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Supervised Practice 
§329. Scope of Chapter [Formerly §315] 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe certain 
restrictions and requirements for supervision of physical 
therapists assistants, provisional licensees, technicians and 
students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Examiners, 
LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§331. Foreign Graduate Supervised Clinical Practice 

with Provisional Licensees  
[Formerly §§317 and 319]  

A. The clinical supervisor must be an APTA certified 
clinical instructor or, within the three years prior to serving 
as a supervisor, have previously served as clinical instructor 
for a PT student as part of a CAPTE accredited program. To 
be approved as a clinical supervisor, a PT shall have at least 
three years of clinical experience with an unrestricted 
license. A clinical supervisor shall not supervise more than 
one provisional licensee at any given time. 

B. Before an individual is issued a provisional license, 
the applicant shall submit to the board: 

1. a signed Statement of Responsibility completed by 
the requesting clinical supervisor; 

2. a signed Statement of Placement completed by the 
director of physical therapy services at the practice site 
where the clinical supervised practice will take place which 
includes the name, address, and telephone number and email 
address for such person; and 

3. a description of the types of physical therapy 
services provided at the site. 

C. The executive director shall approve or deny a request 
made under §331 after assessing whether the facility 
provides the opportunity for a provisional license holder to 
attain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes to be evaluated 
according to the board’s Clinical Performance Evaluation; 
and determines if the site provides a broad base of clinical 
experience to the provisional licensee including a variety of 
physical agents, therapeutic exercises, evaluation 
procedures, and patient physical therapy diagnoses. 

1. Clinical sites are approved on a case–by–case basis. 
D. A provisional licensee shall not begin practicing 

physical therapy until the executive director has approved 
the clinical supervisor and the work site, and the provisional 
licensee has completed the personal interview with a board 
representative, and has received his provisional license. 

E. A provisional licensee shall complete a supervised 
clinical practice at a board–approved clinical site for a 
minimum of four hours per day, with direct supervision by a 
board–approved PT. 

1. The supervised clinical practice shall consist of no 
less than 1,000 hours and shall be accomplished at a rate of 
no more than 40 hours and no less than 20 hours per week. 

2. The approved clinical supervisor shall co–sign all 
of the provisional licensee’s treatment documentation within 
five days of treatment. 

F. Supervisor Absence. If, due to illness or continuing 
education, the board designated Supervising PT of Record 
cannot fulfill his supervisory obligations for a provisional 
licensee: 

1. if absent for five or fewer consecutive days, another 
PT in good standing may supervise in his place. In such 
case, the substitute PT is not required to be approved by the 
board; however, the board designated supervisor, the 
substitute supervisor, and the supervised individual, shall all 
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be held accountable for the care provided by those 
supervised; 

2. if absent for more than five consecutive days, the 
Supervising PT of Record shall send a written request to the 
executive director for approval of a substitute supervising PT 
during his period of absence. The substitution can only occur 
once written approval is provided by the executive director 
to the designated supervisor. 

G. Required supervised clinical practice shall be: 
1. no less than 333 hours in a hospital setting; 
2. no less than 333 hours in an out–patient clinic; and 
3. no less than 334 hours in one or more of these 

practice settings: home health, extended care, rehabilitation 
clinic, school system, or private practice. 

H. The approved clinical supervisor shall: 
1. observe, assist and support the provisional licensee 

during the supervised clinical practice;  
2. rate the provisional licensee’s performance during 

his clinical practice using criteria in the board’s Clinical 
Performance Evaluation, indicating the dates of observation, 
demonstration or discussion of each skill; 

3. assess skills required for success in such setting 
with recommendations for improvement upon completion of 
a supervised clinical practice site; 

4. submit the results of the supervised clinical practice 
to the board in a timely manner. Approval of the next clinical 
placement or granting of license, shall not take place until 
this report is received and evaluated by the executive 
director; and 

5. continue with clinical supervision until the 
supervised individual receives notice of termination of 
supervision by issuance of permanent license. 

I. A provisional licensee shall not supervise any 
personnel unless assistance is required to ensure the safety 
and welfare of the patient during ambulation, transfers, or 
functional activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2410.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Examiners, 
LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:667 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447  
(July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§333. Physical Therapist Responsibilities; Supervision 

of Physical Therapist Assistants [Formerly §321] 
A. A Supervising PT of Record is responsible for and 

shall participate in the patient's care. Such participation by 
the PT shall include, at a minimum:  

1. conducting the initial patient evaluation and 
documenting a plan of care for the patient;  

2. providing the entire treatment and reassessing the 
patient at least every sixth treatment day or every 30 days, 
whichever occurs first; 

3. treating the patient for the final treatment session 
unless the patient is physically unavailable; and 

4. writing the discharge summary.  
B. A Supervising PT of Record shall comply with the 

following requirements in providing patient care and in 
supervising PTAs. 

1. The level of responsibility assigned to a PTA 
pursuant to §333 is at the discretion of the Supervising PT of 

Record who is ultimately responsible for the care provided 
by this PTA. 

2. In all settings, the Supervising PT of Record shall: 
a. perform an evaluation and set up a written 

treatment plan on each patient prior to implementation of 
treatment; 

b. treat and reassess the patient at least every sixth 
treatment day or every 30 days, whichever occurs first; 

c. treat and assess the patient for his final treatment 
session when feasible, as defined in §123, and write a 
discharge summary; 

d. be readily accessible by beeper or telephone and 
available to the patient by the next scheduled treatment 
session upon request of the patient or PTA; and 

e. hold a patient care conference with a PTA 
regarding the patient. The PT is responsible for determining 
the frequency of the conferences consistent with accepted 
standards of practice; however, such conference shall occur 
at least every sixth treatment day or every 30 days, 
whichever occurs first. 

C. In a wellness setting, after conducting an appropriate 
screening as to suitability for wellness or preventive 
services, a PT may delegate the provision of client wellness 
or preventive services to a PTA or a technician to perform 
and/or assist in the implementation of wellness services.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418.F and Act 139 of 2010. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§335. Supervision of Physical Therapy Technicians 

[Formerly §321] 
A. The level of responsibility assigned to a PT technician 

is at the discretion of a Supervising PT of Record who is 
ultimately responsible for the care provided by the 
technician. Documentation of education or in–service 
training completed by the PT technician shall be maintained 
in the technician’s personnel file. 

B. The PT technician may: 
1. Perform non–treatment–related activities, such as 

reception, clerical and housekeeping duties without direct 
supervision; 

2. Perform patient assistance activities such as 
transporting patients, dressing or undressing patients, 
removing and applying assistive and supportive devices 
without direct supervision; 

3. Assist a PT or PTA when more than one individual 
is required to ensure the safety and welfare of the patient 
during ambulation, transfers, or functional activities. 

C. The Supervising PT of Record shall provide 
continuous, on–premise supervision of the technician while 
the technician is aiding with limited patient care. 

D. In a wellness setting, after conducting an appropriate 
screening as to suitability for wellness or preventive 
services, a PT may delegate the provision of specified client 
wellness or preventive services to a physical therapy 
technician who has appropriate education, training or 
experience to perform and/or assist in the implementation of 
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wellness or preventive services. The PT should be available 
to the technician by phone or other communications device 
when such assistance is being provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418.F and Act 139 of 2010. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§337. Clinical Instruction of Student PTs and PTAs 

[Formerly §321] 
A. A clinical instructor shall provide continuous 

supervision to a PT or PTA student in all practice settings. A 
PTA may act as a clinical instructor for a PTA student in all 
practice settings provided that the PT supervisor of the PTA 
is available by telephone or other communication device.  

B. A PTA can be a clinical instructor for the PTA student 
provided the PTA has one year of experience in that practice 
setting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418.F and Act 139 of 2010. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§339. Limitation on Supervision Ratios  

[Formerly §321] 
A. Supervision Ratio. It is the responsibility of each PT 

to determine the number of PTAs he can supervise safely; 
however, in no case shall the number of individuals 
supervised by a PT exceed five individuals, nor exceed the 
following limitations as to supervised personnel: 

1. no more than four PTAs or technicians or any 
combination thereof; 

2. no more than one provisional licensee; or 
3. no more than five students. 

B. The supervision ratio total is inclusive of all 
geographic locations or employing agencies. The 
Supervising PT of Record may temporarily delegate the 
supervision of PTAs to an alternate Supervising PT of 
Record who agrees to provide consultation to the PTA(s) for 
existing plans of care for up to seven days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418.F and Act 139 of 2010. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§341. Documentation Standards [Formerly §323] 

A. A written record of physical therapy treatment shall 
be maintained for each patient. A complete record shall 
include written documentation of prescription or referral, 
initial evaluation, treatment(s) provided, PT/PTA 

conferences, progress notes, re–evaluations or re–
assessments, and patient status at discharge all as defined in 
§123. 

1. A prescription or referral is a written request for 
physical therapy evaluation or treatment signed by a 
healthcare provider lawfully authorized to make such request 
which may initially be a verbal order but must be later 
confirmed in writing. The verbal order shall be documented 
by the PT in the patient's record. If the verbal order is not 
confirmed in writing, then the PT shall send a written 
communication requesting a written prescription or referral 
to the prescribing practitioner within 15 days of 
commencement of treatment or by the fifth treatment 
session, whichever occurs first. A copy of the written 
communication to the prescribing or referring practitioner 
must be maintained in the patient's record. 

2. An initial physical therapy evaluation is the written 
documentation using physical and cognitive findings, 
objective tests and measurements, patient history, pertinent 
medical diagnosis, signs, symptoms, and the PT's 
interpretation of such findings, as well as goals and a written 
treatment plan or program as defined in §123. The initial 
physical therapy evaluation shall be documented and signed 
by the PT performing the evaluation within seven days after 
performing the evaluation. An initial physical therapy 
evaluation shall not be documented or signed by a PTA or 
any other personnel. 

3. Progress note is the written documentation of the 
patient's subjective status, changes in objective findings, and 
progression or regression toward established goals. A 
progress note shall be written and signed only by the 
Supervising PT of Record or PTA and shall not be written or 
signed by a PT technician. A progress note shall be written a 
minimum of once per week, or if the patient is seen less 
frequently, then at every visit. 

4. Re–assessment or Re–evaluation is the written 
documentation which includes all elements of a progress 
note as well as the interpretation of objective findings 
compared to the previous evaluation with a revision of goals 
and treatment plans as indicated. A reassessment must be 
written at least once per month, or, if the patient is seen less 
frequently, then at every visit. A reassessment shall be 
written and signed by the Supervising PT of Record and 
shall not be written or signed by a PTA or other personnel. 

5. Treatment Record is the written documentation of 
each patient visit which includes specific treatment and/or 
any equipment provided which shall be signed or initialed by 
the Supervising PT of Record or PTA. A treatment record 
shall be maintained only if a progress note is not written for 
each patient visit. A treatment record may be in the form of a 
checklist, flow sheet, or narrative. 

6. Patient Care Conference is the written 
documentation of the face–to–face meeting held to discuss 
the status of a patient. A written record of the conference 
shall be signed and dated by the PT and PTA and shall be 
entered in the patient treatment record at the time of the 
conference, documenting treatment recommendations and 
decisions made. 

7. Discharge Summary is the written documentation 
of the reasons for discontinuation of care, degree of goal 
achievement and a discharge plan which shall be written and 
signed by the Supervising PT of Record. A discharge 
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summary shall not be written or signed by a PTA or other 
personnel. A discharge summary shall be written at the 
termination of physical therapy care. 

B. A licensee shall maintain accurate patient treatment 
and billing records and shall not falsify, alter, or destroy such 
records, the result of which would be to impede or evade 
investigation by the board or other lawful authorities. 

C. The documentation standards set forth above do not 
mandate a particular format; however, a complete physical 
therapy record must include these elements. 

D. A signature stamp shall not be used in lieu of a 
written signature on physical therapy patient records. Forms 
of electronic signatures, established pursuant to written 
policies and mechanisms to assure that only the author can 
authenticate his own entry, are acceptable. 

E. Documentation by a student must be co–signed by the 
Supervising PT of Record or supervising PTA. 

F. A written record of an initial screening for wellness or 
preventive services shall be kept along with plans for 
implementation of a wellness or preventive program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 
26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 
(September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37: 
Subchapter D. Disciplinary Proceedings 
§343. Sanctions in Disciplinary Proceedings  

[Formerly §325] 
A. The board, after due notice and hearing as set forth 

herein and in the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 and following, may refuse to issue a license or 
provisional license, or may suspend, revoke, or impose 
probationary conditions and/or restrictions on a licensee 
upon finding that the licensee has violated the Practice Act, 
or any of the Rules promulgated by the board. 

B. Board orders in disciplinary proceeding may require 
the Respondent to reimburse the board for travel, meals, per 
diem, the cost of investigators, stenographers, attorneys, and 
other reasonably associated costs. 

C. In placing a Respondent on probation, the board may 
impose such additional terms, conditions and restrictions as 
it deems appropriate for the period of probation. The board 
shall specify in its order the exact duration of the 
probationary period. Upon finding that a Respondent placed 
on probation has failed to comply with the terms and 
conditions of the board order, the board may take such 
additional disciplinary action as it deems appropriate, 
following notice and hearing.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§345. Unprofessional Conduct [Formerly §327] 

A. The board will consider any charge of conduct which 
fails to conform to the Practice Act, and board rules to carry 
out the provisions of the Act and will take appropriate action 

where violations are found. The rules of this Chapter 
complement the board’s authority to deny, suspend, revoke 
or take such other action against a licensee, as it deems 
appropriate. 

B. As used in R.S. 37:2420.A (7) of the Practice Act and 
in these Rules, the term unprofessional conduct includes but 
is not limited to: 

1. departure from, or failure to conform to, the 
minimal standards of acceptable and prevailing physical 
therapy practice in the State of Louisiana or the Code of 
Ethics and related documents of APTA, or the commission 
of any act contrary to honesty, justice, good morals, patient 
safety or the best interest of the patient, whether committed 
in the course of the licensees practice or otherwise, 
regardless of whether actual injury to a patient results 
therefrom, including, but not limited to: 

a. failure to use sound professional judgment; 
b. performing procedures for which the licensee 

lacks competence; or 
c. failure to inform and refer the patient or client to 

an appropriate practitioner, when the licensee becomes 
aware of findings and/or the need for treatment which are 
outside the scope of the PT’s competence; 

2. improperly delegating or supervising―a PT retains 
responsibility to his patient for the training, delivery and 
results of physical therapy services rendered to his patient. A 
PT shall not:  

a. delegate professional responsibilities to a person 
the PT knows, or has reason to know, is not qualified by 
education, training, experience or licensure to perform; or 

b. fail to exercise appropriate supervision over a 
person who is authorized to practice only under PT 
supervision; 

3. failing to create or maintain medical record―a 
licensee shall create and maintain adequate and legible 
patient records. In addition, a licensee shall: 

a. not falsely create or alter a medical record or 
destroy a medical record except as authorized by law; 

b. upon receipt of proper authorization, and in 
conformity with R.S. 40:1299.96, make patient medical 
records in the PT's possession available within a reasonable 
period of time to the patient, the patient's representative, or 
another physician or licensed health care provider; 

c. make arrangements for patient access to medical 
records created by the licensee after relocating or closing a 
physical therapy practice, retiring, or being prohibited from 
practice by order of the board; 

d. make arrangements, or assist another PT 
practicing in the same group to make arrangements, for 
access by a patient to his medical records after the PT has 
left a physical therapy practice, relocated a practice to a new 
location, closed a practice, or retired; 

e. insure proper destruction of medical records by 
methods approved by state or federal authorities; and 

f. not abandon or desert medical records; 
4. exercising undue influence―a PT shall exercise his 

professional judgment in the best interest of his patients. A 
licensee shall not:  

a. place his or her own financial gain over the 
interest and welfare of a patient in initiation or continuation 
of physical therapy services that are contraindicated or 
cannot reasonably result in a beneficial outcome; or 
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b. exercise influence over a patient in such a 
manner as to abuse or exploit the physical therapy 
provider/patient or client relationship for the purpose of 
securing personal compensation, gratification, gain or 
benefit of any kind or type, unrelated to the provision of 
physical therapy services; 

5. sexual misconduct―inappropriate sexual or 
intimate conduct, includes, but is not limited to sexual 
intimacy, contact, exposure, gratification, abuse, exploitation 
or other sexual behavior with or in the presence of a patient 
or any other individual in connection to the licensee's 
practice of physical therapy regardless of consent by the 
patient. Such conduct may be verbal, physical, visual, 
written or electronic, or it may consist of expressions of 
thoughts, feelings or gestures that are sexual or reasonably 
may be construed by a patient or other individual as sexual 
or which may reasonably be interpreted as intended for the 
sexual arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, 
or another individual. Sexual misconduct between a licensee 
and a former patient after termination of the therapist–
patient relationship may also constitute unprofessional 
conduct if the sexual misconduct is a result of the 
exploitation of trust, knowledge, influence or emotions 
derived from the professional relationship; 

6. disruptive behavior―aberrant behavior, including 
but not limited to harassment, sexual or otherwise, 
manifested through personal interaction with employees, co–
workers, hospital personnel, health care professionals, 
patients, family members or others, which interferes with 
patient care or could reasonably be expected to interfere with 
the process of delivering quality care or jeopardizing patient 
safety; 

7. conviction of any crime or entry of a plea of guilty 
or nolo contendere to any criminal charge arising out of or 
related to the practice of physical therapy; 

8. engaging in conduct which results in an arrest and 
the initiation of criminal prosecution, even if criminal 
charges are eventually lessened or dropped, when the 
conduct leading to the arrest can be verified and constitutes 
behavior which could put the person or property of patients 
at risk of harm from a treating licensee; 

9. utilizing dry needling techniques in patient 
treatment without first obtaining appropriate specialized 
training and education as required by §311 and providing 
acceptable documentation of such specialized education to 
the board. 

10. making or participating in any communication, 
advertisement, or solicitation which is false, fraudulent, 
deceptive, misleading or unfair in violation of board rules, or 
which contains a false, fraudulent, deceptive, misleading or 
unfair statement or claim; 

11. disclosure to a third party not involved in a patient's 
care, of information or records relating to the physical 
therapy provider–patient relationship, except when such 
disclosure is authorized by the patient or when required or 
permitted by law; 

12. failing to submit to physical or mental examination 
or for drug screening or testing at the time and place directed 
by the executive director pursuant to §373 or as otherwise 
provided in the rules; 

13. failing to timely notify the board of a name change, 
or change in business or home address, telephone numbers 
or email addresses as required by R.S. 37:2415.B. 

C. By implementing the meanings set forth in these 
rules, the board does not intend to restrict and reserves its 
authority and right to take action based upon R.S. 
37:2405(B)(10), in any instance in which the particular facts 
and circumstances of a complaint, investigation or 
adjudication rise to a level of conduct that the board may in 
its discretion, finds to be unprofessional conduct.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§347. Fraud or Misrepresentation [Formerly §327] 

A. A person who "attempts to or attains a license by 
fraud or misrepresentation," as used in R.S. 2420.A (2) of 
the Practice Act, includes a person who: 

l. makes any representation to the board, knowingly 
or unknowingly, which is in fact false or misleading as to a 
material fact or omits to state any fact or matter that is 
material to an application for a license under Chapter 1 of 
these rules; or 

2. makes any representation, or fails to make a 
representation or engages in any act or omission, the result 
of which is false, deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading in 
achieving or obtaining any of the qualifications for a license 
required by Chapter 1 of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§349. Commission of a Felony [Formerly §327] 

A. As used in R.S. 37:2420.A (4) of the Practice Act, a 
"felony" is a crime defined as such under the laws of the US, 
or of any state. The term "convicted", as applied to a 
licensed PT or PTA, or an applicant for such license is a 
judgment entered against such person by a court of 
competent jurisdiction on the basis of a finding or verdict of 
guilty or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. Such a 
judgment provides cause for administrative action by the 
board so long as it has not been reversed by an appellate 
court of competent jurisdiction, notwithstanding that an 
appeal or other application for relief from such judgment 
may be pending. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§351. Substance Abuse and Habitual Intemperance 

[Formerly §327] 
A. As used in R.S. 37:2420.A (5) of the Practice Act, 

"habitually intemperate" means: 
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1. repeated excessive use or abuse of alcohol; or 
2. the ingestion, self administration, or other use of 

legally controlled substances or medications which affect the 
central nervous system, other than pursuant to and used in 
accordance with a lawful prescription and/or medical advice. 

B. As used in R.S. 37:2420.A of the Practice Act, the 
phrase "abused controlled dangerous substances as defined 
by federal or Louisiana law" means physiological or 
psychological dependence on any legally controlled 
substance or medication with a potential for inducing 
physiological or psychological dependence or tolerance. 

C.  A Respondent shall appear for drug screening and 
testing at the facility designated by the executive director 
within six hours of initial contact by the board representative 
sent to the telephone number or email address designated for 
such purposes by Respondent pursuant to §355, or as 
otherwise provided in the rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§353. Alternative to Disciplinary Proceedings 

A. Under the provisions of R.S. 37:911 and following, 
the board has the authority to establish and implement 
Recovery programs for PTs and PTAs as an alternative to the 
disciplinary process. The RPTP is established to assist board 
licensees who have demonstrated actual or potential inability 
to practice physical therapy with reasonable skill and safety 
to patients because of the use of alcohol or drugs, because of 
illness, or as a result of any mental or physical condition. 
The goal of the RPTP is for PTs or PTAs to be treated and to 
return to practice in a manner which will not endanger 
public health, safety and welfare.  

B. The purpose of the RPTP is to encourage voluntary 
participation of PTs or PTAs in appropriate rehabilitative 
medical treatment and ongoing aftercare and monitoring. 
When disciplinary proceedings have been initiated or could 
be initiated against a licensee pursuant to R.S. 37:2401–
2424, such proceedings may be deferred or suspended to 
allow the licensee to participate in the RPTP. 

C. Upon receipt of a complaint which involves 
practitioner, the executive director shall refer the practitioner 
for participation in the RPTP. Only PTs or PTAs whose 
conditions have reliable indicators for return to safe practice 
will be eligible for participation in the RPTP. 

D. In addition to providing an alternative to discipline, 
the RPTP accepts licensees who have been diagnosed with a 
physical, and/or mental impairment, or substance abuse 
and/or dependency and are already subject to discipline 
ordered by the board. 

E. The RPTP may be administered by board staff 
directly or the board may delegate to a qualified outside 
contractor the administration and operation of all or part of 
RPTP on such terms as it deems prudent. Such contractor 
shall be charged with the powers and responsibilities set 
forth in these rules. 

F. The board shall cooperate with a contract operator of 
RPTP and shall act responsibly to meet its obligations under 
the Practice Act, board rules, RPTP agreements and 
contracts with outside contractors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§355. Objectives of RPTP  

A. The RPTP objectives are: 
1. to ensure the health, safety and welfare of the 

public through a program which closely monitors 
practitioners whose capacity to practice physical therapy 
with reasonable skill and safety to patients has been, or may 
potentially be, compromised because of the use of alcohol or 
drugs, because of illness, or as a result of any mental or 
physical condition; 

2. to promote safe physical therapy care by preventing 
and/or restricting the practice of the chemically, physically, 
and/or mentally impaired PT or PTA; and 

3. to provide a structured program for PTs and PTAs 
seeking recovery from the impairment through a non–
punitive process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§357. Admission to RPTP as an Alternative to 

Disciplinary Proceedings 
A. Participation in RPTP is voluntary and may be in 

place of formal disciplinary proceedings for licensees with 
no previous disciplinary action involving impairment by any 
licensing authority.  

1. Involvement by the licensee in the non–disciplinary 
alternative will remain confidential as long as the licensee 
complies with all stipulations of the RPTP agreement. 

2. Admission criteria include: 
a. a Louisiana licensed PT or PTA; 
b. a graduate of a school of physical therapy or 

physical therapist assisting eligible for licensure in 
Louisiana; 

c. a PT or PTA currently enrolled in a peer 
assistance/alternative program in another jurisdiction and 
requesting licensure in Louisiana; 

d. a voluntary request for admission to RPTP 
whether referred by self or other sources; 

e. addiction to or use of alcohol and/or other mood 
altering substances including prescription drugs, or has a 
physical or mental condition, which impairs or potentially 
impairs the ability of the practitioner to perform duties 
safely;  

f. has no criminal convictions or pending criminal 
charge that involves violence or danger to another person, or 
involves a crime which constitutes a threat to patient care; 

g. no diversion of chemicals for the purpose of sale 
or distribution; 

h. no dealing or selling of illicit drugs; 
i. no co–existing untreated physical, emotional or 

psychiatric problems which would impair physical therapy 
competency; 

j. no related practice problems involving death or 
significant harm to a patient; and  

k. agrees to comply with all RPTP requirements and 
signs the RPTP Agreement including a statement 
acknowledging chemical dependency or other impairment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§359. Discretionary Authority  

A. The board may order an individual with an active 
disciplinary order into the RPTP as stipulated in a board 
order. 

B. The board may cause to be made non–confidential the 
records, files and information related to a successfully 
completed RPTP in the event that a former participant 
becomes the subject of a subsequent disciplinary action for 
violation of the Practice Act or board rules related to 
substance abuse and/or chemical dependency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§361. RPTP Non–compliance 

A. When a licensee ceases to be in compliance with his 
RPTP Agreement, he shall be referred back to the board for 
regular disciplinary proceedings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§363. Licensees Leaving the State 

A. A RPTP participant who moves from Louisiana to 
another state with an alternative program shall have records 
transferred to that program. 

B. A RPTP participant who moves to a state where there 
is no alternative program shall have his records transferred 
to the licensing board in the receiving state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§365. Licensure of Persons with a History of 

Substance Abuse 
A. The board may deny a license to or discipline an 

applicant/respondent who has been found to have a history 
of substance abuse.  

B. In review of a complaint alleging intemperate use of 
drugs or alcohol by a respondent/applicant, the board shall 
consider the following evidence in determining the 
respondent's/applicant's present fitness to practice physical 
therapy:  

1. documentation demonstrating the degree of sobriety 
obtained;  

2. documentation showing completion of a drug or 
alcohol rehabilitation program;  

3. evidence of participation in board–accepted 
aftercare;  

4. a current status report from a drug/alcohol abuse 
counselor or board–accepted aftercare sponsor; and  

5. notarized letters of recommendation.  
C. The burden to provide the foregoing documentation to 

the board shall be solely at the expense of the 
respondent/applicant.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 

§367. Substance Abuse Recovery Program  
[Formerly §355] 

A. Licensees may be required to submit to medical 
evaluation by a board–approved medical professional to 
determine competence and possible impairment. 

B. In lieu of suspension or revocation of a license or the 
denial of an application for a license, to practice physical 
therapy or physical therapist assisting, the board may permit 
an applicant or licensee to actively participate in a board–
approved Substance Abuse Recovery Program (SARP) if: 

1. the board has evidence that the applicant or licensee 
is impaired, which includes substance abuse; 

2. the applicant or licensee has not been convicted of a 
felony relating to substance abuse, which includes alcohol or 
drug abuse, in a court of law of the US or a court of law of 
any state or territory, or another county; 

3. the applicant or licensee enters into a written 
Consent Order with the board for a license with appropriate 
restrictions and he timely complies with all the terms of the 
Consent Order, including maintaining satisfactory progress 
in the SARP and adhering to limitations on the licensee’s 
practice imposed by the board to protect the public; and 

4. as part of the Consent Order, the applicant or 
licensee shall sign a waiver allowing the SARP to release 
information to the board and to report to the board if the 
applicant or licensee does not comply with the requirements 
of the Consent Order or the SARP or is unable to practice or 
work with reasonable skill or safety. 

C. Failure to voluntarily enter into a Consent Order 
pursuant to this Rule shall precipitate the board’s right to 
pursue formal disciplinary action against the applicant or 
licensee which may result in denial, suspension, or 
revocation of a license to practice physical therapy or 
physical therapist assisting after due notice and hearing. 

D. Failure to comply with the requirements of the 
Consent Order, the SARP, or the inability to practice 
physical therapy competently and safely shall result in 
denial, suspension or revocation of a license to practice 
summarily or after due notice and hearing. 

E. The applicant or licensee shall be responsible for all 
costs associated with the Consent Order, evaluation, 
treatment, and monitoring of the SARP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37: 
§369. Abuse of Referrals [Formerly §327] 

A. Violation of R.S. 37:1745 will subject a PT to 
disciplinary action. R.S. 37:1745 provides, in pertinent part: 

"(2) Healthcare provider" means a person, partnership, 
or corporation licensed by the state to provide health care or 
professional services as a physician, chiropractor, dentist, 
dental hygienist, podiatrist, optometrist, physical therapist, 
psychologist, licensed professional counselor, registered or 
licensed practical nurse, pharmacist, and any officer, 
employee, or agent thereof acting in the course and scope of 
his employment. 

(B). No health care provider shall offer, make, solicit, or 
receive payment, directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, 
kind as or in–kind, for referring or soliciting patients. 
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Payments representing a return on investment based upon a 
percentage of ownership are not considered a direct or indirect 
payment for the purposes of this Section." 

B. As used in R.S. 2420 A.(8) of the Practice Act, the 
phrase "engages directly or indirectly in the division, 
transferring, assigning, rebating, or refunding of fees 
received for professional service with a referring practitioner 
or any relative or business associate of that referring 
practitioner" means the exploitation of the physical therapy 
referral mechanism so that a referring practitioner receives 
compensation, payment, or anything of value, including but 
not limited to rental fees in excess of fair market value, or 
any other unearned monies or value in kind, in return for a 
patient referral when the referring practitioner does not have 
an ownership interest in the physical therapy practice 
involved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 
1993), LR 28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 
2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§371. Cease and Desist Orders; Injunctive Relief 

[Formerly §353] 
A. The board may seek to issue in any competent court 

of law a writ of injunction enjoining any Respondent from 
unlawfully practicing physical therapy without a license 
issued pursuant to the provisions of the Practice Act, R.S. 
37:2401 and following, and/or any rules promulgated 
thereto. This injunction shall not be released upon the 
posting of a bond by the person. The provisions of R.S. 
37:2422 shall further govern the use and effect of this 
procedure. 

B. The board is empowered to issue an order to any 
person or entity engaged in any activity, conduct, or practice 
constituting a violation of the statute or the rules 
promulgated by the board, directing that person or entity to 
forthwith cease and desist from such activity, conduct, or 
practice. If the person alleged to have violated the Practice 
Act or the rules is licensed by another Louisiana healthcare 
provider licensing board, notification of suspected violations 
of the Practice Act or of board rules shall be sent to the 
executive director of the board which has issued a license to 
that healthcare provider for review and response by that 
board to the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board.  

C. If the person or entity to which the board directs a 
cease and desist order does not cease and desist the 
prohibited activity, conduct, or practice within the timeframe 
directed by said order, the board may seek, in any court of 
competent jurisdiction and proper venue, a writ of injunction 
enjoining such person or entity from engaging in such 
activity, conduct, or practice. 

D. Upon proper showing by the board that such person 
or facility has engaged in the prohibited activity, conduct, or 
practice, the court shall issue a temporary restraining order 
prohibiting the person or entity from engaging in the 
activity, conduct, or practices complained of, pending the 
hearing on a preliminary injunction, and in due course a 
permanent injunction shall be issued after a contradictory 
hearing, commanding the cessation of the activity, conduct, 
or practices determined to be unlawful by the court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2422 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 37: 
§373. Violations 

A. The following conduct shall also constitute violations 
the Practice Act and board rules:  

1. allowing another person to use a licensee’s wall 
certificate, pocket identification card, license number, or 
national provider identifier for any purpose other than to 
identify himself as the lawful holder of those credentials; 

2. practicing or enabling practice by an impaired 
provider―a licensee shall not: 

a. engage in the practice of physical therapy while 
under the influence of a mood–altering substance that 
compromises the professional judgment or practice or has 
the potential to compromise the medical judgment or 
practice. If the board receives apparently reliable 
information, including but not limited to reports made 
pursuant to R.S. 37:1745.14, which information or report 
puts in question a licensee’s or applicant’s current fitness and 
ability to practice physical therapy with reasonable skill and 
safety to patients, the licensee or applicant shall submit to 
such physical or mental examination, evaluation, test, or 
drug/alcohol screen as requested by the executive director to 
determine the licensee’s or applicant’s fitness and ability to 
practice physical therapy with reasonable skill and safety to 
patients. Records of such examinations, evaluations, tests 
and screens shall be maintained by the board in confidence 
unless such records are admitted into the record of any 
adjudication proceeding before the board or subpoenaed by 
court order; 

3. failing to assess and evaluate a patient’s status; 
4. performing or attempting to perform techniques or 

procedures for which the licensee is not qualified by 
education, experience, licensure or training; 

5. delegating physical therapy functions or 
responsibilities to an individual lacking the license ability or 
knowledge to perform the function or responsibility 
involved; 

6. causing, or permitting another person to cause, 
physical or emotional injury to the patient, or depriving the 
patient of his individual dignity; 

7. providing treatment interventions that are not 
warranted by the patient’s condition or continuing treatment 
beyond the point of reasonable benefit to the patient; 

8. practicing in a manner which evidences a failure to 
perform on a continuing basis in compliance with the 
standards and best practices of the physical therapy 
profession; 

9. providing substandard care as a PTA by exceeding 
the authority to perform components of physical therapy 
interventions selected by the Supervising PT of Record or 
through a deliberate or negligent act or failure to act, 
whether or not actual injury to any person occurred; 

10. abandoning a patient without documenting the 
transfer of care or by inappropriately terminating the 
patient/practitioner relationship; or 

11. documenting services provided which have not 
been provided as documented or billing for services which 
have not been provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2421 and Act 535 of 2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§375. Disciplinary Process and Procedures  

[Formerly §329] 
A. The purpose of the following rules is to supplement 

and effectuate the applicable provisions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 and following, 
regarding the disciplinary process and procedures. These 
rules are not intended to amend or repeal the provisions of 
the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, and, to the 
extent any of these rules are in conflict therewith, the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act 
shall govern. 

B. A disciplinary proceeding, including the formal 
hearing, is less formal than a judicial proceeding. It is not 
subject to strict rules and technicalities, but must be 
conducted in accordance with considerations of fair play and 
constitutional requirements of due process. 

C. The purpose of a disciplinary proceeding is to 
determine contested issues of law and fact; whether the 
Respondent did certain acts or omissions and, if he did, 
whether those acts or omissions violated the Practice Act or 
board rules; and to determine the appropriate disciplinary 
action. 

D. Pursuant to the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996, Public Law 104–191, the board 
is required to report certain information, including final 
adverse actions it has taken against its licensees, to the 
secretary of Health and Human Services of the US for 
recordation in the Health Integrity and Protection Data Bank. 
The board may designate an agent to act on its behalf to 
report information and submit queries to the Health Integrity 
and Protection Data Bank as required by Federal law, as may 
be amended from time to time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 
1993), LR 26:2792 (December 2000), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§377. Initiation of Complaints [Formerly §331] 

A. Complaints may be initiated by any person or by the 
board on its own initiative. A licensee is obligated to report 
to his supervisor or employer, and to the board, significant 
violations of the Practice Act, board rules or those set forth 
in the Code of Ethics and related documents of APTA. 
Failure by a licensee to report such violations to his 
supervisor or employer and to the board may subject the 
licensee to disciplinary action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 26:1448 (July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 37: 
§379. Emergency Action [Formerly §343] 

A. If the board finds that public health, safety, and 
welfare require emergency action and incorporates a finding 
to that effect in its order, a summary suspension of a license 
may be ordered pending proceedings for suspension, 
revocation or other action. Such proceedings shall be 
promptly instituted and determined. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§381. Disposition of Complaints  

[Formerly §§333 and 335] 
A. Some complaints may be settled informally by the 

board and the Respondent without a formal hearing. The 
following types of informal dispositions may be utilized: 

1. Disposition by Correspondence. For less serious 
complaints, the executive director or legal counsel may write 
to the Respondent explaining the nature of the complaint 
received. If the Respondent's subsequent response 
satisfactorily explains the situation, the matter may be 
dropped. If the situation is not satisfactorily explained, it 
may be scheduled for an Informal Conference. 

2. Informal Conference. An Investigative Committee 
of the board may conduct an Informal Conference with the 
Respondent. The Respondent shall be given reasonable 
notice to participate in the Informal Conference and 
provided with a description of the issues to be discussed, the 
possible violations of law or rules and whether admissions 
by Respondent in the Informal Conference may later be used 
in a formal hearing.  

3. Consent Order. If the Respondent and the board 
member participating in the Investigative Committee agree 
on the essential facts and law arising out of the complaint 
and on sanctions to be imposed on the Respondent, the 
complaint may be resolved by a Consent Order to be 
presented by the participating board member or by board 
legal counsel for approval, amendment or rejection. If 
accepted by the board and the Respondent, the Consent 
Order shall be finalized as a board order and shall be 
reported to the HIPDB and published as a disciplinary action 
of the board.  

B. An Agreement reached between a complainant and a 
Respondent shall not preclude disciplinary action by the 
board on the issues raised in the complaint brought to the 
board.  

C. A complaint may be dismissed for the following 
reasons:  

1. the absence of adequate, credible evidence; or 
2. other reasons which the Investigative Committee 

believes are justification for dismissal. 
D. When it is the decision of the Investigative 

Committee to dismiss a complaint, the complainant shall be 
provided with a letter explanation for dismissal of the 
complaint.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:390 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§383. Failure to Respond or Cooperate with the Board 

[Formerly §341] 
A. Licensees shall cooperate with and assist the board in 

carrying out its duties. A licensee shall, among other matters: 
1. respond or provide information or items requested, 

respond to a subpoena, or complete an evaluation within the 
time designated by the board or its staff;  
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2. not attempt to influence the board, its members, 
staff or agents by means of intimidation, falsehoods or other 
means prohibited by law;  

3. not contact members of the board directly or 
through others during the pendency of a complaint in an 
attempt to influence the outcome of an investigation or 
disciplinary proceeding; and 

4. not contact or attempt to contact a complainant or 
witness for purposes of intimidation or harassment regarding 
a complaint or an investigation by the board. 

B. If the Respondent does not respond to the original 
communication from the board within ten days of a request 
by the board, a second letter shall be sent to the Respondent 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, seeking a 
response by a specified date. 

C. If the Respondent fails to reply to the board's second 
request or otherwise fails to cooperate with the board, the 
board shall record the circumstances of the failure to 
cooperate and shall notify the Respondent of the date for an 
Informal Conference or Formal Hearing and that failure to 
appear and participate may result in action which could 
eventually lead to suspension or revocation of license, or 
other appropriate sanctions under the law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§385. Monitoring of Licensees 

A. A Respondent who is required by board order to 
provide information or perform certain acts will be 
monitored by a board representative to ensure that the 
requirements imposed by the board order are met.  

B. Respondents working under a board order resulting 
from disciplinary proceedings shall provide to the executive 
director their preferred telephone and/or email address for 
expedited communications regarding compliance with board 
orders. Once designated by the Respondent, all 
communication regarding compliance shall be directed by 
board representatives to that telephone number or email 
address and the Respondent shall be responsible for 
responding to such communications within four hours of the 
time the message was sent to the designated telephone 
number or email address. Failure of the Respondent to 
respond to the board representative within four hours shall 
be grounds for disciplinary action against the Respondent. If 
the Respondent desires to change the designated means of 
communication, they shall do so in writing sent to the 
executive director. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§387. Formal Hearings [Formerly §337] 

A. The board is authorized by R.S. 37:2420, to initiate 
administrative proceedings against persons to whom it has 
issued a license to practice as a PT or PTA or against any 
applicant requesting a license. The board and the 
Respondent accused of a violation are the parties to the 
proceeding. The person has the right to appear and be heard, 
either in person or through counsel; the right to notice, a 

statement of what accusations have been made; the right to 
present evidence and to cross examine; and the right to have 
witnesses subpoenaed. 

B. If the Respondent does not appear, either in person or 
through counsel, after proper notice has been given, the 
Respondent is deemed to have waived these rights and the 
board may proceed with the hearing without the presence of 
the Respondent. 

C. Disciplinary proceedings shall include certain steps, 
and may include other steps as follows. 

1. The board has received or originated a complaint 
alleging that a licensee or applicant has acted in violation of 
the Practice Act or board rules. The identity of a 
complaining party shall not be revealed to the Respondent 
except when such information is offered as evidence in a 
formal hearing, is subpoenaed by a court, or is necessary for 
due process purposes. 

2.a. The complaint is investigated by the board's staff or 
attorney to determine if there is sufficient evidence to 
warrant disciplinary proceedings. Once the complaint is 
under investigation, no board member (except board 
members serving as members of an Investigative 
Committee) shall receive or review any information relevant 
to the subject matter of the investigation or communicate 
with the Respondent or his legal representative, potential 
witnesses, or any member of the Investigative Committee 
concerning any issue of fact or law relevant to the 
investigation. A board member who has served on the 
Investigative Committee shall not serve as a member of a 
hearing panel of the board in the adjudication of a case 
previously investigated by the board member. 

b. A decision to initiate a formal complaint or 
charge is made if one or more of the following conditions 
exist: 
 i. the conduct complained of is sufficiently 
serious; 
 ii. the Respondent, through board 
correspondence, has been given an opportunity to show 
compliance with lawful requirements for the retention of his 
license without restriction as contemplated by R.S. 
49:961.C, but the Respondent fails to respond, affirmatively 
waives the opportunity or provides an unconvincing 
response to the board’s correspondence; or 
 iii. an Informal Conference is conducted, but fails 
to resolve all of the issues or reach a Consent Order 
acceptable to the board and the Respondent. 

3. A sworn complaint is filed, charging the violation 
of one or more of the provisions of the Practice Act and/or 
board rules and the specific violation thereof. 

4. A time and place for a hearing is fixed by the 
chairman or an agent of the board. 

5.a. At least 20 days prior to the date set for the hearing, 
a copy of the charges in the form of an Administrative 
Complaint shall be served on the Respondent by certified 
mail with return receipt as well as by regular first class mail 
at the most current address reflected in the official records of 
the board, or by personal service on the Respondent. 
Respondent is obligated to provide current contact 
information to the board as required by §317. If service by 
certified mail is not effective or is returned unclaimed, 
attempted personal service does not succeed and attempted 
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notice at Respondent’s email address and telephone number 
also are unsuccessful, the complaint may be adjudicated by 
default pursuant to R.S. 49:955.D. 

b. The content of the charges limits the scope of the 
hearing and the evidence which may be introduced. The 
charges may be amended at any time up to ten days prior to 
the date set for the hearing. 

c. If the board is unable to describe the matters 
involved in detail at the time the sworn complaint is filed, 
this complaint may be limited to a general statement of the 
issues involved. Thereafter, upon respondent’s request, the 
board shall provide a more definite and detailed statement. 

d. The respondent may file a written answer to the 
complaint within fifteen days of service, admitting or 
denying each of the separate allegations. Any matter 
admitted by the respondent shall be deemed proved and 
established for the purpose of adjudication. In the event the 
respondent does not answer the complaint, all allegations 
will be deemed denied.  

e. At any time after service of the administrative 
complaint, a respondent who chooses to be represented by 
legal counsel shall provide written notification to the board’s 
prosecuting attorney of the name, address and telephone 
number of such counsel. Following receipt of proper notice 
of representation, all further notices, correspondence, 
administrative complaints, subpoenas, orders or other 
process shall be served on Respondent through his counsel 
of record. 

6. Except for extreme emergencies, motions 
requesting a continuance of a hearing shall be filed no less 
than five days prior to the time set for the hearing. The 
motion shall contain the reason for the request, which reason 
must have relevance to due process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:205 B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§389. Issuance of Subpoenas [Formerly §337] 

A. The chairman, or an authorized agent of the board, 
shall issue subpoenas on behalf of the board for disciplinary 
proceedings and when requested to do so, may issue 
subpoenas for respondent. 

B. Subpoenas include: 
1. a subpoena requiring a person to appear and give 

testimony; and 
2. a subpoena duces tecum, which requires that a 

person produce books, records, correspondence, or other 
materials over which he has control. 

C. A subpoena requested by a respondent shall not be 
issued unless the respondent deposits with the board 
sufficient money to pay the fees and expenses to which a 
witness in a civil proceeding is entitled under R.S. 13:3671. 
In addition, the board shall set the amount of any additional 
compensation for a witness subpoenaed to testify as an 
expert based on the value of the time employed and the 
degree of skill and learning required to formulate and 
present an expert opinion, which additional compensation 
shall be paid in advance by the party requesting the 
subpoena for the attendance of such witness. 

D. A motion to limit or quash a subpoena may be filed 
with the board, but not less than 72 hours before the hour set 
for the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (4) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§391. Conduct of Hearing [Formerly §337] 

A. The hearing shall be convened by the board chair or 
acting board chair at the time, date and place provided in the 
notice to respondent, at which time the board's primary role 
is to receive evidence and argument, and to reach a decision. 
Any board member, who, because of bias or interest, is 
unable to provide a fair hearing, shall be recused from the 
particular proceeding. The reasons for the recusal are made 
part of the record. Should the majority of the board members 
be recused for a particular proceeding, the governor shall be 
requested to appoint a sufficient number of pro tem members 
to provide a quorum for the proceeding in accordance with 
R.S. 49:960B. 

B. Any objection to the composition of the hearing panel 
or the qualifications of any member of the hearing panel 
shall be made and ruled on by the chair before any evidence 
is received. 

C. The board shall be represented by its investigating 
board member who has conducted the investigation and by 
its prosecuting attorney who presents evidence to support the 
charges contained in the administrative complaint. 

D. Respondent may present evidence personally or 
through an attorney, and witnesses may testify on his behalf. 

E. Evidence includes the following: 
1. oral testimony given by witnesses at the hearing, 

except that, for good cause, testimony may be taken by 
deposition. The cost of such deposition shall be borne by the 
requesting party; 

2. documentary evidence, such as written or printed 
materials including public, business or institutional records, 
books and reports; 

3. visual, physical and illustrative evidence; 
4. admissions, which are written or oral statements of 

the respondent a party made either before or during the 
hearing; and 

5. facts officially noted into the record, usually readily 
determined facts making proof of such unnecessary. 

F. All testimony shall be received under oath. If the 
witness objects to swearing, the word "affirm" may be 
substituted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§392. Order of Hearing [Formerly §337] 

A. Unless respondent is notified otherwise no less than 
72 hours prior to the beginning of the hearing, the order of 
proceedings shall be as follows: 

1. the board's representative makes an opening 
statement of what he intends to prove, and what action is 
sought from the board; 
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2. the respondent or his attorney makes an opening 
statement, explaining why he believes that the charges 
against respondent are not legally founded; 

3. the board's representative presents the evidence 
against the respondent; 

4. the respondent or his attorney cross examines; 
5. the respondent presents evidence; 
6. the board's representative cross examines; 
7. the board's representative rebuts the respondent's 

evidence; 
8. the respondent surrebuts the evidence against him; 
9. each party makes closing statements. The board's 

representative makes the initial closing statement and the 
final statement; and 

10. motions may be made before, during, or after a 
hearing. All motions shall be made at an appropriate time, 
according to the nature of the request. Motions made before 
or after the hearing shall be in writing. Those made during 
the course of the hearing may be made orally since they 
become part of the record of the proceeding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§393. Decision of the Board [Formerly §337] 

A. The decision of the board shall be reached in the 
following manner: 

1. determine the facts established by the evidence 
presented in the hearing; 

2. determine whether the facts in the case support the 
charges brought against the respondent; and 

3. determine whether charges brought are a violation 
of the Practice Act or board rules. 

B. The vote of the board shall be recorded. A majority of 
the quorum of the board in attendance at the hearing shall be 
necessary to render a decision, unless otherwise agreed upon 
by the parties. Minority views may be made part of the 
record. 

C. Sanctions against the respondent shall be based upon 
the findings of fact and conclusions of law determined by 
the board. The respondent shall be notified by mail of the 
decision of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§395. Record of the Hearing [Formerly §337] 

A. The record of the hearing shall include: 
1. all papers filed and served in the proceeding; 
2. all documents and other materials accepted as 

evidence at the hearing; 
3. statements of matters officially noticed; 
4. notices required by the statutes or rules, including 

notice of the hearing; 
5. affidavits of service or receipts for mailing or 

process or other evidence of service; 
6. stipulations, settlement agreements or consent 

orders, if any; 

7. records of matters agreed upon at a prehearing 
conference; 

8. reports filed by the hearing officer, if one is used; 
9. orders of the board and its final decision; 
10. actions taken subsequent to the decision, including 

requests for reconsideration and rehearing; and 
11. a transcript of the proceedings, if one has been 

made, or a tape recording or stenographic record. 
B. The record of the proceeding shall be retained until 

the time for any appeal has expired, or until the appeal has 
been concluded. The record is not transcribed unless a party 
to the proceeding so requests, and the requesting party shall 
pay for the cost of the transcript. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
Subchapter E. Post–adjudication Remedies 
§396. Reconsideration of Decisions [Formerly §337] 

A. The board may reconsider a matter which it has 
decided. This may involve a rehearing of the case, or a 
reconsideration of the case based on the existing record. 
Such reconsideration may occur when a party who is 
dissatisfied with a decision of the board files a petition 
requesting that the decision be reconsidered by the board. 

B. A petition by a party seeking reconsideration or 
rehearing must be in proper form and filed within ten days 
after notification of the board's decision. The petition shall 
set forth the grounds for the rehearing, which shall include 
one or more of the following: 

1. the board's decision is clearly contrary to the law 
and evidence; 

2. there is newly discovered evidence by the party 
since the hearing which is important to the issues and which 
the party could not have discovered with due diligence 
before or during the hearing; 

3. there is a showing that issues not previously 
considered ought to be examined in order to dispose of the 
case properly; or 

4. it would be in the public interest to review and 
further consider the issues and the evidence. 

C. The board’s decision to grant or deny a requested 
reconsideration of its decision is final and not subject to 
review or appeal. 

D. The board shall reconsider a matter when ordered to 
do so when the case is remanded for reconsideration or 
rehearing by a court to which the board's decision has been 
appealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§397. Judicial Review of Adjudication [Formerly §345] 

A. Any respondent whose license has been revoked, 
suspended, denied or otherwise sanctioned by the board has 
the right to have the proceedings of the board reviewed by 
the state district court having jurisdiction over the board, 
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provided that such petition for judicial review is filed within 
30 days after receipt of the notice of the decision of the 
board. If judicial review is granted, the board's decision is 
enforceable in the interim unless the court orders a stay. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:392 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 
§399. Appeal [Formerly §347] 

A. A respondent aggrieved by any final judgment 
rendered by the state district court may obtain a review of 
said final judgment by appeal to the appropriate circuit court 
of appeal. Pursuant to the applicable Section of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:965, this 
appeal shall be taken as in any other civil case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:392 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37: 

Subpart 3.  Fees 
Chapter 5. Fees 
§501. Fees 

A. The board may collect the following fees: 
1. Application $200.00 
2. Re–instatement $75.00 
3. Renewal of License, per year $115.00 
4. License Verification $40.00 
5. Duplicate Wall License $50.00 
6. Duplicate Wallet License $20.00 

B. The biennial renewal fee provided in this Rule shall 
be received by the board office prior to May 1 of each 
period. 

C. If the biennial renewal fee is received by the board 
office on or subsequent to May 1, the applicant shall apply 
for reinstatement pursuant to §185 and shall pay the renewal 
fee and the reinstatement fee. 

D. The board may assess reasonable charges with regards 
to administrative business expenses and services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:392 (May 1989), LR 17:667 (July 1991), LR 
18:963 (September 1992), LR 21:396 (April 1995), LR 28:1982 
(September 2002), amended by the Physical Therapy Board,  
LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
rules on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
the proposed rules will have no impact on family, formation, 
stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed rules 
to Cheryl Gaudin, Executive Director, Louisiana Physical 

Therapy Board, at 104 Fairlane Drive, Lafayette, LA 70507. 
Written comments will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., January 
10, 2010. A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a 
public hearing must be made in writing and received by the 
board within 20 days of the date of this notice. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:9533(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. Should it become 
necessary to convene a public hearing to receive data, views, 
arguments, information or comments orally in accordance 
with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Ace, the 
hearing will be held on January 26, 2010 at 2 p.m. at the 
New Orleans Marriot, Mardi Gras Ballroom D, located at 
555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any person 
wishing to attend should call to confirm that a hearing is 
being held. 

 
Cheryl Gaudin 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Physical Therapy 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule is a comprehensive rule change that 

repeals the former rule and replaces it. As such, the Louisiana 
Physical Therapy Board (the board) will incur promulgation 
costs for publishing and mailing the revised Louisiana Physical 
Therapy Practice Act and the Rules and Regulations booklet. 
The cost involves reprinting the booklet to incorporate Act 535 
of the 2009 legislative session, which is a restatement of the 
Practice Act, Act 139 of the 2010 legislative session, which 
addressed regulation of physical therapist assistants; and the 
comprehensive rule changes that are being promulgated.  

The new booklets will be provided to the board's licensees 
and other interested parties. The net impact of promulgating the 
new rule is approximately $18,500 in additional costs in FY 11. 
This is primarily due to the costs of printing and mailing the 
new rule booklets to all licensees versus the costs of printing 
and mailing the current rule packets. It is anticipated that 
$14,500 in printing, $3,500 in mailing costs, and $2,500 in 
personal and professional services will be incurred with the 
publishing of the new booklets as a result of the proposed rules 
in FY 11 ($20,500 total). The current rule costs approximately 
$2,000 annually to mail and print in-house ($20,500 - $2000 = 
$18,500 net impact). In subsequent years, a copy of the revised 
Louisiana Physical Therapy Practice Act and Rules and 
Regulations will only be forwarded to each new licensee and to 
the public upon request. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The board anticipates some additional revenue from late 
fees collected ($170 per licensee) when licensees fail to renew 
biennially before the newly imposed grace period. Based on 
previous records of licensees failing to timely renew licenses, 
the board conservatively anticipates approximately $1,190 in 
additional revenue this fiscal year after the rule takes effect 
(based on 7 licensees paying late fee). 

Louisiana State Police's (LSP) revenues will increase as the 
board pays to utilize fingerprinting and state and federal 
background check services as per Act 535 of the 2009 
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legislative session. If the applicant undergoes fingerprinting 
with LSP, the cost for the service is $10; state and federal 
background checks through LSP are $45.25 ($26 for state and 
$19.25 for federal). LSP keeps $2 of the $19.25 paid for the 
FBI federal background check for the costs of processing. If the 
board applies the background check requirement uniformly, it 
estimates approximately 500 new applicants and licensees with 
disciplinary issues will undergo these services each year, 
bringing a minimum of $14,000 in additional revenue to LSP 
annually (excludes fingerprinting services and FBI fees). LSP 
will process the workload increase, stemming from the 
additional background checks and fingerprinting, with existing 
staff and resources. License applicants will directly reimburse 
the Board for any costs incurred for these services, and the 
Board will not gain any revenue.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

As per Act 535 of the 2009 Legislative Session 
Costs: 
Fees will be charged to applicants for licensure in 

Louisiana in order to reimburse the Board for the costs of 
fingerprinting (price varies by service provider; $10 through 
LSP) and state and federal background checks ($45.25 through 
LSP). These fees will be based on actual costs incurred.  

Some Licensees and employers may incur a small increase 
in costs for documenting supervision conferences in patient 
records since some offices have software that will need to be 
reprogrammed to allow for two authorized signatures. 

In addition, licensees will realize a slight cost increase due 
to the continuing education requirements changing from 12 
hours annually to 30 hours biennially. This requires them to 
incur the cost of 6 additional hours biennially in order to better 
align with national standards. 

Licensees who fail to renew biennially by the appointed 
deadline will pay an additional $170 in late fees to the board as 
a penalty and for the costs of expedited production and delivery 
of wallet cards to prove current licensed status. 

Savings: 
Foreign education students are expected to save money 

since they will be permitted to apply to several different 
credentialing agencies other than just the Foreign Credentialing 
Commission on Physical Therapy, and those already licensed in 
other jurisdictions in the United States will be allowed to base 
their certification on the Course Work Evaluation Tool (CWT) 
in use at the time of their initial accreditation in the United 
States rather than the current CWT. 

Furthermore, the rules will reduce the potential for 
noncompliance with the Practice Act by eliminating the 
temporary license and creating a grace period for license 
renewal, thereby, decreasing any potential expenses incurred by 
licensees due to disciplinary actions or loss of income as a 
result of such disciplinary actions. 

As per Act 139 of the 2010 Legislative Session 
The rule changes will eliminate the requirement for a 

physical therapist to be on-site supervising physical therapist 
assistants for half of the workweek, and will change the 
supervisory ratio for physical therapists (PTs) to physical 
therapist assistants (PTAs) from 1:3 to 1:4. The reduction in the 
on-site supervision requirement and the change in the 
supervisory ratio will result in cost savings to employers since 
fewer physical therapists will be needed to supervise and they 
are paid higher salaries. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Some physical therapists may be unemployed or shifted as 
a result of the change in the supervisory ratio since fewer are 

needed. Also, the new fingerprinting and background check 
requirements may disqualify some licensee applicants that 
would have previously been accepted. The proposed rules also 
limit the number of attempts applicants may sit for the national 
physical therapy examination prior to remediation, which may 
cause some applicants to be unable to qualify for licensure 
without undergoing the PT or PTA education program 
requirements again. 

 
Cheryl Gaudin Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1012#087 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

 Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Tuberculosis Control ProgramInmate Health 
(LAC 51:XVIII.301) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health, pursuant to the authority in R.S. 40:5, and based on 
the amendment and reenactment of R.S. 40:1156, intends to 
amend Part XVIII (Jails, Prisons and Other Institutions of 
Detention and Incarceration) of the Louisiana State Sanitary 
Code (LAC 51). This Rule adds the approved blood assay 
for Mycobacterium tuberculosis to the purified protein 
derivative skin test as an acceptable alternative screening 
test for tuberculosis among incarcerated persons in 
Louisiana jails or prisons. 

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part XVIII.  Jails, Prisons and Other Institutions of 
Detention and Incarceration 

Chapter 3. Health Requirements for Incarceration 
§301. Inmate Health  

A. … 
B. [Formerly paragraph 18:022] Any person entering any 

Louisiana parish jail as an inmate for 14 days or more shall 
be screened for tuberculosis, where funding is available, 
with a purified protein derivative skin test, five tuberculin 
unit strength, given by the Mantoux method, or by the blood 
assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis, and a chest x-ray if 
the skin test or the blood assay for Mycobacterium 
tuberculosis is positive. If the individual is known to be 
infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or 
has acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), he or she 
shall be required to have a chest x-ray in addition to a skin 
test for tuberculosis or in addition to a blood assay for 
Mycobacterium tuberculosis, regardless of the results. If an 
individual has a positive skin test or a positive result of a 
blood assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis or a positive x-
ray, he or she shall be evaluated by a physician to determine 
whether he or she should receive a course of chemotherapy 
for tuberculosis. If evaluation is desired before 14 days, a 
chest x-ray is acceptable for screening. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:301 (March 
1994), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. This 

proposed Rule will enhance the stability of the family in 
helping to provide for early detection of tuberculosis, if the 
disease is found in a family member incarcerated or detained 
in a Louisiana jail or prison. Testing of the persons 
incarcerated or detained is done only if funds are available 
for this purpose, however. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
This proposed Rule will enhance the effect of the authority 
and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision 
of their children in helping to provide for early detection of 
tuberculosis, if the disease is found in a family member 
incarcerated or detained in a Louisiana jail or prison. Testing 
of the persons incarcerated or detained is done only if funds 
are available for this purpose, however. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. This 
proposed Rule will enhance the functioning of the family in 
helping to provide for early detection of tuberculosis, if the 
disease is found in a family member incarcerated or detained 
in a Louisiana jail or prison. Testing of the persons 
incarcerated or detained is done only if funds are available 
for this purpose, however. 

4. The effect on the family earnings and family 
budget. This proposed Rule may save some families the cost 
of getting an unnecessary test for tuberculosis, because it 
eliminates the requirement of tuberculosis testing for 
employees or volunteers or patients at certain state licensed 
residential facilities. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. This proposed Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed rule. This 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the ability of the family 
or local government to perform the function as contained in 
the proposed Rule. Testing for tuberculosis on detained or 
incarcerated persons in any Louisiana jail or prison is 
dependent on the availability of funds for this purpose.  

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed Rule. Such comments must be 
received no later than Wednesday, January 5, 2010 at 4:30 
p.m., and should be sent to Dr. Louis Trachtman, Medical 
Director, TB Control Section, DHH-OPH, P.O. Box 60630, 
New Orleans, LA 70160-0630 or to fax (504) 599-0734. 
Copies of this proposed Rule can be obtained from the above 
referenced address. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Tuberculosis Control  
ProgramInmate Health 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule amends Part XVIII Section 301 (Health 

Requirements for Incarceration) of the State Sanitary Code 
(LAC 51). This rule change in Section 301 adds the approved 
blood assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis to the purified 
protein derivative skin test as an acceptable alternative 
screening test for tuberculosis among incarcerated persons in 
Louisiana jails or prisons.  

This rule is compatible with the acceptance of the blood 
assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis as an acceptable 
screening test for tuberculosis among incarcerated persons at 
hospitals and nursing homes in Louisiana, which was adopted 
as a Rule in Part II of the Sanitary Code in January 2007. 

The cost of the alternative blood assay test is approximately 
the same cost for the traditionally used tuberculin skin test. No 
new cost is expected to the Department of Corrections as a 
result of this proposed rule. Therefore, the only cost associated 
with this rule change is the $328.00 to publish the notice of 
intent and the final rule in the Louisiana Register. This is a one-
time cost that is included in the agency’s budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This rule change will have no effect on revenue collections 
or state or local governmental units because DHH/Office of 
Public Health’s laboratories do not offer testing to incarcerated 
persons of either state licensed hospitals or state licensed 
nursing homes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule change will not result in any additional costs 
and/or economic benefits to directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups. Tuberculosis testing has been required 
for the same groups of persons by DHH/OPH and the cost to 
those affected is approximately the same for the blood assay as 
for the traditionally used tuberculin skin test. This rule just 
provides an acceptable alternative to institutions required to 
perform tuberculosis testing. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment 
anticipated as a result of promulgation of this regulation. 

 
Clayton W. Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary  Staff Director 
1012#005 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Tuberculosis Control ProgramMandatory Testing  
(LAC 51:II.503) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
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Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health, pursuant to the authority in R.S. 40:5, and based on 
the amendment and reenactment of R.S. 40:1156, intends to 
amend Part II (Health Examinations of Employees, 
Volunteers and Patients at Certain Medical and Residential 
Facilities) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 51).  

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part II.  The Control of Diseases 
Chapter 5. Health Examinations for Employees, 

Volunteers and Patients at Certain 
Medical Facilities 

§503. Mandatory Tuberculosis Testing 
A. [Formerly paragraph 2:022] All persons prior to or at 

the time of employment at any hospital or nursing home (as 
defined in Chapters XIX and XX, respectively, herein, and 
including intermediate care facilities for the developmentally 
disabled) requiring licensing by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals or at any Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of Public Health parish health unit or Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health out-patient 
health care facility or any person prior to or at the time of 
commencing volunteer work involving direct patient care at 
any hospital or nursing home (as defined in Chapters XIX 
and XX, respectively, herein, and including intermediate 
care facilities for the developmentally disabled) requiring 
licensing by the Department of Health and Hospitals or at 
any Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health parish health unit or Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Public Health out-patient health care 
facility shall be free of tuberculosis in a communicable state 
as evidenced by either: 

A.1. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1220 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:98 (January 2006), LR 33:93 (January 
2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. This 

proposed Rule will no effect upon the stability of the family. 
2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
This proposed Rule will have no effect upon the authority of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. This 
proposed will have no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. The effect on the family earnings and family 
budget. This proposed Rule may save some families the cost 
of getting an unnecessary test for tuberculosis, because it 
eliminates the requirement of tuberculosis testing for 
employees or volunteers or patients at certain state licensed 
residential facilities. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. This proposed Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. This 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the ability of the family 

or local government to perform the function as contained in 
the proposed Rule. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed Rule. Such comments must be 
received no later than Wednesday, January 5, 2010 at 4:30 
p.m., and should be sent to Dr. Louis Trachtman, Medical 
Director, TB Control Section, DHH-OPH, P.O. Box 60630, 
New Orleans, LA 70160-0630 or to fax (504) 599-0734. 
Copies of this proposed Rule can be obtained from the above 
referenced address.  

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Tuberculosis Control 

ProgramMandatory Testing 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule amends Part II Section 503 A 
(Mandatory Tuberculosis Testing) of the State Sanitary Code 
(LAC 51) to provide clarity for mandatory tuberculosis testing 
by replacing the language “medical or 24-hour residential 
facility” with “hospital or nursing home (as defined in Chapters 
XIX and XX, respectively, herein, and including intermediate 
care facilities for the developmentally disabled).” The risk of 
TB infection in residential facilities is extremely low. 
Therefore, the requirement for mandatory tuberculosis testing 
in residential facilities is being removed. Whenever new active 
tuberculosis cases are found, the new cases are prevalent in 
nursing homes or hospitals and not residential facilities.  

The only cost associated with this rule change is the 
$328.00 to publish the notice of intent and the final rule in the 
Louisiana Register. This is a one-time cost that is included in 
the agency’s budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This rule change will have no effect on revenue collections 
of state or local governmental units because testing is not 
offered by DHH/Office of Public Health laboratories to 
employees, volunteers or patients of either state licensed 
hospitals or state licensed nursing homes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule will result in an economic benefit to potential 
employees and/or volunteers that are potential employees 
and/or volunteers of medical or 24-hour residential facilities 
licensed by the state of Louisiana, as they will no longer be 
required to be tested for tuberculosis.  

The cost of an approved tuberculosis test may vary from 
approximately $35.00 to $250.00 per person per test. This cost 
varies depending upon the volume of tests done at any one 
commercial laboratory. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment as a 
result of promulgation of this regulation. 

 
Clayton W. Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1012#006 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Labor 
State Plumbing Board 

Continuing Professional Education Programs 
(LAC 46:LV.1003 and 1005) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being printed in its 
entirety to correct an error upon submission. The original 
Notice of Intent may be viewed in the November 20, 2010 
edition of the Louisiana Register on pages 2725-2726. 

The Louisiana State Plumbing Board (board), pursuant to 
R.S. 37:1366(I), which authorizes the board to establish and 
determine by rule minimum requirements relative to 
continuing professional development for the renewal or 
reinstatement of any license or special endorsement issued 
by the board, proposes to amend plumbing regulations, LAC 
46:LV.1003 and 1005, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. The proposed Rule change allows the board 
to accept an endorsee’s attendance or participation in a board 
approved industry-related recertification programs in lieu of 
a Board-approved CPE class, effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

All currently stated rules of the board, unless amended 
herein, shall remain in full force and effect. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 
Programs 

§1003. Water Supply Protection Specialists 
A. CPE Requirement 

1. Effective January 1, 2011, in addition to the yearly 
renewal of their endorsement, every three years all persons 
holding a water supply protection specialist endorsement 
issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board are required 
to show proof of attendance at no less than six hours of a 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE training 
class in the prior three calendar years, as set out in this 
Section. In lieu of attendance at any such class, the Board 
may accept proof of the endorsee’s attendance or 
participation in board-approved industry-related 
recertification programs during the prior three calendar 
years. 

B. - E.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(I). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2074 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37: 
§1005. Medical Gas Piping Installers and Medical Gas 

Verifiers  
A. CPE Requirement 

1. Effective January 1, 2012, in addition to the yearly 
renewal of their endorsement, every three years all persons 
seeing to renew a medical gas piping installer or medical gas 
verifier license issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board are required to show proof of attendance at no less 
than four hours of a Louisiana State Plumbing Board-
approved CPE class in the prior three calendar years, as set 
out in this Section. In lieu of attendance at any such class, 

the board may accept proof of the endorsee’s attendance or 
participation in board approved industry-related 
recertification programs during the prior three calendar 
years. 

B. - E.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(I). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2074 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated effect on the stability of the family: 

There is no estimated effect on the stability of the family. 
2. Estimated effect on the authority and rights of 

parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children: There is no estimated effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. Estimated effect on the functioning of the family: 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated effect on family earnings and family 
budget: There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children: There is no estimated effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated effect on the ability of the family or a 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule: There is no estimated effect on the ability of 
the family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding the content of this proposed Rule change to John 
Barker, Executive Director, 12497 Airline Highway, Baton 
Rouge, LA, no later than 5 p.m., January 20, 2011. 

 
Louis L. Robein 
Board Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Continuing Professional  

Education Programs 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no implementation costs resulting from the 
proposed rule change. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Currently, the Board requires an annual renewal of 
endorsement by the Board and proof of attendance in at least 
six hours (water supply protection specialists) or at least four 
hours (medical gas piping installers and medical gas verifiers) 
of Certified Plumbing Education courses over the prior three 
years. The proposed rule maintains the annual renewal of 
endorsement requirement but allows the attendance or 
participation at any approved industry-related recertification 
programs during any three-year period in lieu of the current 
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attendance requirements. There will be no additional costs to 
any Board licensed individuals. The State Plumbing Board 
believes that the rule change will be more convenient for those 
licensed under the State Plumbing Board to maintain their 
licensed status. It will eliminate duplication of effort and 
expenses to those licensees who must maintain industry 
certifications in a specialized field. The proposed rule change 
does not increase the continuing professional education 
requirements. It simply allows the individual additional options 
for maintaining their licensed status. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on competition, but 
will continue to increase knowledge and skills of licensees due 
to regular training and updates on industry practices, health, 
conservation and environmental protection. 

 
Louis L. Robein H. Gordon Monk 
Board Attorney Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Water Wells (LAC 56:I.Chapters 1-7) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation proposes to amend 
LAC 56:I.Chapters 1, 3, 5 and 7 in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and pursuant to the power delegated under the laws 
of the state of Louisiana. The proposed amendment will 
address numerous typographical changes necessary as a 
result of Act 437 of 2009 which transferred the duties and 
responsibilities relative to ground water resources, water 
wells and drillers from the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works to the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation. 

Additionally this proposal amends the provision of LAC 
56:I, Sections 117 and 119 to re-define the phrase, “as 
accurately as possible,” to include providing specific 
latitudinal and longitudinal coordinates in addition to a 
general hand drawn location on the water well registration 
forms. 

Title 56 
PUBLIC WORKS 

Part I.  Water Wells 
Chapter 1. Registering Water Wells 
§101. Authorization 

A. … 
B. Effective January 1, 2010, in accordance with Act 437 

of 2009, The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, hereafter referred to as department, is 
responsible for registering water wells and holes in 
Louisiana. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:2091-38:3098.8. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:950 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 

§105. Registration of Water Wells and Holes 
Completed on or after November 1, 1985 

A. The contractor who drills or constructs a well or hole 
on or after November 1, 1985 shall be responsible for 
registering that well or hole by submitting to the department 
a completed Water Well Registration Form within  
30 calendar days after completing such well or hole. 
Registration requirements shall apply to all water wells, 
regardless of yield or use, including but not limited to, 
public supply, domestic, irrigation/agriculture, power 
generation, rig-supply, observation, dewatering, monitoring, 
and heat pump supply wells, as well as test holes, abandoned 
pilot holes, and heat pump holes. For glossary of terms, refer 
to §113 of this Chapter. 

B. - B.3. … 
C. Water Well Registration Long Form (DNR-GW-1). 

The Water Well Registration Long Form (DNR-GW-1) shall 
be used to register the following types of wells and holes: 

1. - 8. … 
For long form instructions see §117. 

D. Water Well Registration Short Form (DNR-GW-1S). 
The Water Well Registration Short Form (DNR-GW-1S) 
shall be used to register the following types of wells and 
holes: 

1. - 6. … 
For short form instructions see §119. 

E. Submission of Water Well Registration Forms 
1. … 
2. For registration purposes only, the department 

considers a well or hole completed when it is accepted by 
the owner or when the contractor has moved his equipment 
from the site, whichever comes first. Acceptance by the 
owner or removal of equipment from the site by the 
contractor does not imply, in any way, acceptance or 
approval by the state of Louisiana. The department, after 
reviewing applicable records and/or inspection of the well 
site, can cause the owner and/or the contractor to do 
whatever additional work is necessary to bring the well or 
hole up to standards. The expense for the additional work 
shall be borne by the owner/or the contractor, as the case 
may be. 

3. For the purpose of registering heat pump holes 
only, one form (DNR-GW-1S) Short Form per project (site) 
will suffice. Under item marked "remarks", materials and 
method used to seal the holes shall be indicated. Driller’s log 
description of cuttings should be the typical formations 
encountered at the site. 

4. Registration forms may be submitted to the 
department on a monthly basis as long as the 30-day 
limitation is not exceeded. Forms that are illegible, have 
incomplete items, lack a sketch or directions to the well, do 
not include latitudinal and longitudinal coordinates or have 
not been signed and dated will be rejected by the department 
and will be returned to the contractor for correction and 
resubmittal. It is the responsibility of the contractor to see to 
it that the submitted registration forms are actually received 
by the department. 

E.5. - G.1. … 
2. If an unregistered well is reworked, deepened or 

changed in any manner or if screen setting is altered, the 
proper registration form (DNR-GW-1 or DNR-GW-1S) shall 
be submitted to the department by the contractor no later 
than 30 calendar days after the work has been completed. 
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H. … 
1. the subcontractor who drills the well shall keep an 

accurate record of the pertinent data to be used in 
completing the registration form; however, the name and 
license number of the original contractor must be shown on 
the upper right-hand corner of the registration form, and it is 
the original contractor who is responsible for signing and 
transmitting the form to the department in accordance with 
the procedures outlined in §105.E. The subcontractor may 
write his or his company's name and license number at the 
space designated for "remarks." 

I. Registration of Rig-Supply Water Wells 
1. In order to register a rig-supply water well, each 

registration form must be accompanied by a copy of the 
"registered" permit plat reflecting the section, township, 
range and the distances from the section lines to the location 
of the well (oil, gas, injection, etc.). The plat will be used by 
the department to verify the latitude and longitude of the 
well. The water well contractor who drilled the water well 
shall obtain a copy of the plat from the company in charge of 
the drilling of the oil or gas well (lessee) or from the 
operator of the oil or gas drilling rig and shall attach it to the 
registration form for transmittal to the department. 
Alternatively, the water well contractor may send the 
registration form to the lessee with appropriate instructions 
for them to attach the plat to the registration form and 
transmit it to the department. 

2. … 
J. Registration of Monitoring Wells. Although 

construction of monitoring wells for facilities regulated by 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) requires 
approval from DEQ prior to construction, they shall be 
registered with the Office of Conservation, like all other 
water wells, as part of the state's effort to catalog well sites 
and to collect and provide data on the geohydrological 
system. In order to register a monitoring well, the drilling 
contractor, in addition to completing all items on the Water 
Well Registration Short Form (DNR-GW-1S), must also 
complete the spaces provided for the latitude and longitude 
of the well location, as well as the section, township and 
range.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:950 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§107. Registration of Water Wells Completed Prior to 

November 1, 1985 
A. - C. … 

1. All wells used to supply a public water system 
regardless of yield, and all other water wells capable of 
producing more than 50,000 gallons per day, which were 
constructed on or after July 1, 1975, shall be registered by 
the owner by completing a water well registration long form 
(DNR-GW-1) for each well and sending them to the 
department for verification and registration within 90 
calendar days after the effective date of these regulations. 

2. - 4. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:951 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§113. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Assistant Secretary―the assistant secretary of the 
Office of Conservation, Department of Natural Resources, or 
his designee. 

* * * 
Department―the Louisiana Department of Natural 

Resources, Office of Conservation. 
* * * 

Electrical Log―a record of the resistivity of the 
subsurface formations and the contained fluid and 
spontaneous potentials generated in the borehole, both 
plotted in terms of depth below some datum, such as land 
surface. Similar logs commonly made in boreholes are the 
induction logs. Other borehole geophysical logs that also 
may be available are the gamma ray, caliper and neutron 
logs. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:3098 -38:3098.8. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 1:969 
(May 1975), amended LR 11:969 (October 1985), repromulgated 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), amended Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 

§117. Water Well Registration (Long Form) 
A. The Water Well Registration Long Form (DNR-GW-

1) and detailed instructions for properly completing the form 
are available by contacting department staff at (225) 342-
8244 or by accessing the department’s website at 
www.dnr.louisiana.gov/gwater. The Long Form consists of a 
set of three copies. The first copy (marked DNR copy) is to 
be mailed by the water well contractor within 30 calendar 
days after the well has been completed to: 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275 
Baton Rouge, La 70804-9275 

B. The second copy of the form is to be retained by the 
water-well contractor for his files, and the third copy is to be 
given to the well owner immediately upon completion of the 
work. The commissioner will consider and encourages the 
electronic submission of registration, data or reports required 
under this Section. 

C. Although most of the information needed to complete 
the form is available to the water well contractor, the 
following explanation will provide clarification of intent for 
selected items and uniformity of reporting. 

D. Owner Information. List the name of the legal owner 
of the property on which the well is located or the person or 
company holding a long-term lease on the property. If the 
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owner or lessee is an individual, list first and last names and 
middle initial of individual. List area code and telephone 
number of owner in the spaces provided. 

1. Address. The address should be that of the owner. If 
the well is owned by an industry, the local address of the 
firm is preferred in order that additional data on the well 
may be easily obtained by the state or a regional water 
district or commission. 

2. Owner's Well Number. Many cities, institutions, 
industrial plants, and large farms have their own system of 
designating or identifying wells by number and/or name. 
This information is useful when locating the well and should 
be entered on the form. 

E. Well Location. List the parish where the well is 
located, including the nearest town, city, etc., and give 
directions to the well site. The location of the well should be 
described in detail and as accurately as possible so that the 
well can be easily located by the department's staff or field 
inspector. Please include a detailed map or sketch on the 
back of the original form, showing location of well with 
reference to roads, railroads, buildings, etc. Use an (X) to 
indicate location of the well. Show location of nearest 
existing well(s), if any nearby, by marking (0s), and 
approximate distance between wells. Determine the well’s 
Global Positioning System (GPS) location and record the 
GPS longitude and latitude coordinates onto the form.  

F. Well Information. Required data are available from 
water well contractor's and/or engineer's report. 

G. Casing and Screen Information. Required data are 
available from water well contractor's and/or engineer's 
report. By type of screen indicate whether it is "bar lug" rib 
type, slotted pipe, etc. State whether casing is plastic or 
metal. Indicate the depth to which the annular space was 
cemented and state method of cementing. 

H. Water Level and Yield Information. Most of the 
information entered on the form can usually be obtained 
from the water well contractor's or engineer's report. Except 
for "static water level," the terms need no explanation. Static 
water level is "the nonpumping water level in a well that has 
not been in operation for a period of time and is usually 
expressed in feet above or below a specified datum, such as 
land surface." The owner should be able to provide 
information on proposed use and pumping rate. 

I. Use of Well. The principal purpose for which water 
from the well is used should be indicated where appropriate 
on the form. If water is used for more than one purpose, only 
the principal or primary use should be shown. If the planned 
use of water is unknown or does not fit one of the specified 
uses, this should be noted in the space marked "other." 
Following are explanations of the terms used on the well 
registration form to indicate the principal use of water from 
a well. 

1. … 
2. Industrial. Includes plants that manufacture, process 

or fabricate a product. The water may or may not be 
incorporated into the product being manufactured. Industrial 
water may be used to cool machinery, to provide sanitary 
facilities for employees, to air-condition the plant, and water 
grounds at the plant. Water used for mining or to process ore 
such as gravel pits is included in the industrial category. 
Planning and water-use needs can be implemented by 
dividing this category into the following standard industrial 

categories that predominate in Louisiana. Indicate the 
principal category of industrial use on the form where 
appropriate. The categories are defined as follows: 

2.a. - 3.b. … 
c. Because public supply use includes many 

categories of use, requirements for planning and water-use 
surveys require a further break-down of this use; thus, public 
supply use is divided into the following categories: (A list is 
provided on the registration form (refer to §117) so that the 
user may select the appropriate category of public supply 
use.) 

3.d. - 7.  … 
8. Other. A well that is used for the purpose that does 

not fit into either the above categories or those listed on the 
short form (DNR-GW-1S). 

J. Available Information. Please indicate where 
appropriate on the form whether the specified logs or data 
were collected; if so, attach copies to the registration form 
for transmittal to the department. 

K. Abandonment Information. If the well is new, specify 
whether or not it replaces an existing well. The water well 
contractor is responsible for informing the owner of the well 
of state regulations requiring plugging of abandoned wells. 
This item is intended to serve as a reminder. 

L. Remarks. This space can be used for presenting any 
other pertinent information, such as name of consulting 
engineer, screen openings, pump information, name of 
subcontractor, etc. 

M. Driller's Log. Give a description of the materials 
encountered and depth. If space on front of the form is 
insufficient, continue driller's log on reverse side of original 
form or attach a copy of the driller's log to the original form 
to be transmitted to the department. 

1. After completing the form, list the name of the 
water well contracting company and the license number on 
the space provided. Sign and date the form and mail the 
original to the department at the address listed on the form 
within 30 calendar days after the well has been completed. 
The owner's copy shall be given to the owner immediately 
upon completion of the work. The contractor's copy shall be 
retained by the contractor for his files. 

2. If there are any questions, please call or write: 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-8244 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3098-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 1:249 
(May 1975), amended LR 11:971 (October 1985), repromulgated 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), amended Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§119. Water Well Registration (Short Form) 

A. The Water Well Registration Short Form (DNR-GW-
1S) and detailed instructions for properly completing the 
form are available by contacting department staff at 225-
342-8244 or by accessing the department’s website at 
www.dnr.louisiana.gov/gwater. The short form consists of a 
set of three copies. The first copy (marked DNR copy) is to 
be mailed by the water well contractor within 30 calendar 
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days after the well has been completed to: Louisiana 
Department of Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, 
P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275. 

B. The second copy of the form shall be retained by the 
water well contractor for his files and the third copy shall be 
given to the well owner immediately upon completion of the 
work. The commissioner will consider and encourages the 
electronic submission of registration, data or reports required 
under this section. 

C. Although most of the information needed to complete 
the form is available to the water well contractor, the 
following explanation will provide clarification of intent for 
selected items and uniformity of reporting: 

1. Use of Well. The principal purpose for which the 
well is used should be indicated by checking the appropriate 
box on the form. If the well is used for more than one 
purpose, only the principal or primary use should be shown. 

a. - f. … 
g. Other. A well used for a purpose that does not fit 

into either the above categories or those requiring a Long 
Form (DNR-GW-1). 

2. Owner Information. List the name of the legal 
owner of the property on which the well is located or the 
person or company holding a long-term lease on the 
property. If the owner or lessee is an individual, list first and 
last names and middle initial of individual. List area code 
and telephone number of owner in the spaces provided. 

3. Owner’s Address. List full and correct address of 
the owner. 

4. Owner's Well Number. List name or number the 
well owner has assigned to the well. 

5. Well Information. List in appropriate spaces, 
completion date of well, depth of hole, depth of well, static 
water level, casing type, size and length, screen size, type 
and length, the depth to which the casing was cemented, and 
cementing method used. 

6. Well Location. List the parish where the well is 
located, including the nearest town, city, etc., and give 
directions to the well site. The location of the well should be 
described in detail and as accurately as possible so that the 
well can be easily located by the department's staff or field 
inspector. Please include a detailed map or sketch on the 
back of the original form showing the location of the well 
with reference to roads, railroads, buildings, etc. Use an (X) 
to indicate location of the well. Show location of nearest 
existing well(s), if any nearby, by making (Os) and 
approximate distance between wells. Determine the well’s 
Global Positioning System (GPS) location and record the 
GPS longitude and latitude coordinates onto the form. For 
rig-supply wells, attach a "registered" permit plat (see 
§105.I) and for monitoring wells, complete spaces provided 
for the section, township and range (see §105.J). 

7. Remarks. This space can be used for presenting any 
other information, such as screen openings, pump 
information, problems encountered during drilling, name 
and license number of water-well subcontractors, method 
and materials used to seal heat pump hole, etc. 

8. Driller's Log. List in the space provided a 
description of the materials encountered and depth. If space 
on front of the form is insufficient, continue driller's log on 

reverse side of original form or attach a copy of the driller's 
log to the original form to be transmitted to the department. 

9. Heat Pump Holes. List average depth of holes and 
number of holes drilled at the site. Indicate type of tubing 
material used by checking appropriate box. Method and 
materials used to seal holes shall be stated under item 
marked "remarks." 

10. Abandonment Information. If the well is new, 
specify whether or not it replaces an existing well. The water 
well contractor is responsible for informing the owner of the 
well of state regulations requiring plugging of abandoned 
wells. 

D. After completing the form, list the name of the water 
well contracting company and the license number on the 
spaces provided. Sign and date the form and mail the 
original to the department at the address listed on the form 
within 30 calendar days after the well has been completed. 
The owner's copy shall be given to the owner immediately 
upon completion of the work. The contractor's copy shall be 
retained by the contractor for his files. 

E. If there are any questions or you need assistance, 
please call or write to: 

Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-8244 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3098-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:974 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
Chapter 3. Water Well Construction 
§301. Preamble 

A. As announced in the October 1985 issue of the 
Louisiana Register, the rules, regulations and standards for 
constructing water wells and holes were prepared by the 
Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development 
(DOTD), Office of Public Works, in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091 through 38:3098.8. Effective January 1, 2010, in 
accordance with Act 437 of 2009, The Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, hereafter 
referred to as department, is responsible for registering water 
wells and holes in Louisiana. The rules, regulations and 
standards stated herein became effective on November l, 
1985 and supersede the rules, regulations and standards for 
water well construction which had been in effect since 
December 20, 1975. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:952 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 3015 

§305. Approval of Plans and Specifications for Public 
Water Supply Systems 

A. - B. .. 
* * * 

C. In accordance with these legislative directives, the 
rules, regulations and standards governing construction of 
public supply water wells were prepared by the DOTD in 
close cooperation with the Louisiana Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, and they are intended to eliminate 
duplication of efforts and requirements by the two agencies, 
thereby minimizing cost and optimizing operating 
efficiencies. 

D. Chapter XII of the State Sanitary Code requires that 
no public water supply shall be constructed, operated or 
modified without review and approval of the state health 
officer. Detailed plans and specifications shall be submitted 
to the appropriate Department of Health and Hospitals 
regional office by the person having responsible charge for a 
municipally owned water supply or by the owner of a 
privately owned public water supply for review and approval 
before construction, modification, or operation of such 
system has commenced. 

E. The water well contractor shall construct the well in 
accordance with the applicable provisions of this Chapter 
and shall submit a Water Well Registration Long Form 
(DNR-GW-1) to the department within 30 calendar days 
after completing the well, as required by Subsection B of the 
rules, regulations and procedures for registering water wells 
and holes. 

F. All questions relating to the quality of water, as it 
pertains to its effect on human health, shall be referred by 
the owner, engineer or water well contractor to the 
following: 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health  
P. O. Box 4489 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4489 
Phone: (225) 342-7499 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:952 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§311. Variance Requests 

A. Requests to vary from the rules, regulations and 
standards for constructing water wells and holes shall be 
addressed to the department as follows: 

Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-8244 

B. … 
C. Requests to vary from the provisions of the State 

Sanitary Code relating to the sanitary features of the public 
supply water systems, and for questions related to the quality 
of water as it pertains to human health, shall be addressed to 
the following: 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health  
P. O. Box 4489 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4489 
Phone: (225) 342-7499 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:953 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§319. Location in Relation to Flood Water 

A. - C. … 
D. Flood information may be obtained from the U.S. 

Geological Survey or the administering agency of the 
Federal Insurance Program (i.e., municipality, police jury, 
regional planning authorities or the Department of Urban 
and Community Affairs). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:953 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§323. Drilling and Construction 

A. - B. … 
C. When drilling a hole the contractor shall: 

1. record the hole diameter and any changes in size of 
hole; 

C.2. - L.5 … 
6. Abandoned monitoring wells shall be plugged in 

accordance with requirements of §531. 
Note: Construction of Monitoring Wells for facilities 

regulated by the department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) require approval from DEQ prior to construction. 

M. - P. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:954 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§327. Screen 

A. - K.1. … 
2. If required, a properly graded gravel pack shall be 

selected based upon an evaluation of the sieve analysis for 
the sands in the formation. The uniformity coefficient (see 
§113 of this Chapter for glossary of terms) of the selected 
gravel pack material should be 2.5 or less. The gravel 
envelope, usually 3 to 8 inches thick, should consist of clean, 
well-rounded siliceous material that will permit the selection 
of screen openings that will retain 90 percent or more of the 
gravel pack material by size. Limestone and shale shall not 
be used as a gravel pack. 

L. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:956 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§331. Well Development and Disinfection 

A. - F.3. … 
4. Disinfection of Wells. All new wells and existing 

wells in which repair work has been done shall be 
disinfected before being put into use, in accordance with 
Chapter XII of the State Sanitary Code, if water is to be used 
for drinking, cooking or washing purposes. Negative 
bacteriological analysis of water, performed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) or by a 
laboratory certified by DHH, shall be required for all public 
supply and domestic water wells. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:958 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§333. Standards for Miscellaneous Appurtenances 

A. - B. … 
C. Concrete Slab 

1. When concrete slabs are placed around water wells 
at ground surface, they should be at least 4 inches thick and 
extending at least 2 1/2 feet from the well in all directions. 
The surface of the slab shall be sloped to drain away from 
the well. The top of the casing shall be at least 1 foot above 
the top of the slab. Prior to the slab installation, the 
contractor shall seal the annular space in accordance with 
§329. The placement of a slab shall not be considered a 
substitute for the placement of cement-bentonite slurry in the 
annular space between the hole and the casing. 

C.2. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:3091-R.S. 38:309.8. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:959 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Plugging and Sealing of Abandoned 

Water Wells and Holes 
§501. Organization 

A. As announced in the October 1985 issue of the 
Louisiana Register, the rules, regulations and standards, 
stated herein, were prepared by the Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, in 
accordance with R.S. 38:2091-38:3097. Effective January 1, 
2010, in accordance with Act 437 of 2009, The Department 
of Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, hereafter 
referred to as department, is responsible for registering water 
wells and holes in Louisiana. 

B. The rules, regulations and standards, stated herein, 
became effective on November 1, 1985 and supersede the 
rules, regulations, standards and methods for plugging and 
sealing of abandoned water wells and holes which had been 
in effect since September 1, 1975. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:959 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§505. General Rules and Regulations 

A. In 1972, the Louisiana Legislature enacted State Act 
535, which authorized the authorizing agency to promulgate 
reasonable rules and regulations relating to the plugging of 
abandoned water wells. Section A-6 of this Act (R.S. 
38:3094) states that the authorizing agency shall: 

* * * 
B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:960 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§511. Licensing Requirements 

A. - B.1. … 
2. In addition to the domestic wells referred to in 

§511.B.1, a person may plug an abandoned well or hole on 
his own or leased property provided that the person has the 
required equipment and knowledge for properly plugging the 
well or hole, in accordance with the rules, regulations, and 
standards stated herein, to the satisfaction of the department, 
and provided that the person has obtained departmental 
approval for plugging the well or hole himself, and provided 
that such approval is obtained prior to the beginning of the 
plugging operation. The owner shall complete and submit a 
Water Well Plugging and Abandonment Form (DNR-GW-2) 
to the department within 30 calendar days after completion 
of the plugging operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:960 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§513. Variance Requests 

A. … 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-5562 

B. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:960 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§515. Submission of Water Well Plugging and 

Abandonment Forms (DNR-GW-2) 
A. The contractor who plugs an abandoned well or hole 

shall complete and submit to the department the original 
copy of the Water Well Plugging and Abandonment Form 
(DNR-GW-2) within 30 calendar days after the completion 
of the work. The owner's copy shall be sent to the owner 
immediately after completion of the work, and the contractor 
shall retain the contractor's copy for his files. For reporting 
purposes only, the department considers the work completed 
when the work is accepted by the owner or when the 
contractor has moved his equipment from the site; 
whichever comes first. Acceptance by the owner or removal 
of equipment from the site by the contractor does not imply, 
in any way, acceptance or approval by the state of Louisiana. 
The department, after inspection of the site and records 
(refer to §523), can require the owner and/or the contractor 
to do whatever additional work is necessary to properly plug 
and seal a hole or well in accordance with the standards 
stated herein. The expense for the additional work shall be 
borne by the owner and/or the contractor, as the case may be. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:960 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§516. Water Well Plugging and Abandonment Form 

(DNR-GW-2) 
A. The Water Well Plugging and Abandonment form 

(DNR-GW-2) and detailed instructions for properly 
completing the form are available by contacting department 
staff at 225-342-8244 or by accessing the department’s 
website at www.dnr.louisiana.gov/gwater. Form DNR-GW-2 
consists of a set of three copies. 

1. The first copy (marked DNR copy) is to be mailed 
by whoever plugs the well or hole within 30 calendar days 
after plugging operations have been completed to: 

Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 

B. - B.2. … 
C. The commissioner will consider and encourages the 

electronic submission of registration, data or reports required 
under this Section. 

D. The following explanation will provide clarification 
of intent for selected items and uniformity of reporting. 

1. Owner Information. List the name of the legal 
owner of the property on which the well is located or the 
person or company holding a long-term lease on the 

property. If the owner or lessee is an individual, list first and 
last names and middle initial of individual. 

a. Address. The address should be that of the owner. 
If the well is owned by an industry, the local address of the 
firm is preferred in order that additional data on the well 
may be easily obtained by the state or a regional water 
district or commission. 

b. Owner's Well Number. Many cities, institutions, 
industrial plants, and large farms have their own systems of 
designating or identifying wells by numbers and/or name. 
This information is useful when locating the well and should 
be entered on the form. 

2. Well Location. List the parish where the well is 
located, including the nearest town, city, etc., and give 
directions to the well site. The location of the well should be 
described in detail and as accurately as possible so that the 
well can be easily located by the department's field 
inspector. Please include a detailed map or sketch on the 
back of the original form showing the location of the well 
with reference to roads, railroads, building, etc. Use an (X) 
to indicate location of the well. Show location of nearest 
existing well(s), if any nearby, by making (O's) and 
approximate distance between wells. Determine the well’s 
Global Positioning System (GPS) location and record the 
GPS longitude and latitude coordinates onto the form. For 
rig-supply wells, attach a "registered" permit plat (see 
§105.I) and for monitoring wells, complete spaces provided 
for the section, township and range (see §105.J). 

3. Well Information. Required data are available from 
water well contractor's or engineer's report. 

4. Plugging Procedure. Describe, in detail, the method 
and materials used to plug the well or hole. Give amount of 
cement, bentonite, and water used. Give any other useful 
information, such as name of cementing company used, if 
any, sounded depth, any obstructions or problems 
encountered during plugging, size and length of casing 
removed or left in hole, etc. If necessary, attach another 
sheet or use reverse side of form to give details. 

5. Remarks. Use this space to present any other 
pertinent information. For example, if the present owner is 
different than the person who had the well drilled, give the 
name of the initial owner. 

E. Certification that the work was performed in 
accordance with applicable rules and regulations must be 
signed and dated or the form will be returned for proper 
completion. 

F. If there are any questions, please call or write to: 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-5562 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
11:976 (October 1985), repromulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
31:942 (April 2005), amended Department of Natural Resources, 
Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§521. Responsibilities of the Contractor 

A. The contractor who agrees to plug an abandoned well 
or hole for the owner shall be fully responsible for plugging 
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the well or hole in accordance with the rules, regulations and 
standards stated herein. He is also responsible for 
completing and submitting a plugging and abandonment 
form (DNR-GW-2) to the department within 30 calendar 
days after completion of the plugging operation. The 
contractor shall also be responsible for informing the owner 
of the necessity of plugging and sealing any other water well 
or hole on the property that may have been previously 
abandoned or which may be abandoned in the future. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:961 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§523. Site Inspection by the Department 

Representatives 
A. The department may order, at any time, that the site of 

an abandoned water well or hole be inspected by department 
representatives to determine whether the work has been 
satisfactorily completed in accordance with the standards 
stated herein and as stated on the Water Well Plugging and 
Abandonment Form (DNR-GW-2). The owner and/or the 
contractor shall make all records available to the 
representatives of the department and the owner shall allow 
representatives to enter the property and visit the site(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:961 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§525. Availability of Water Well Data 

A. … 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275  
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 
Phone: (225) 342-8244 

or 
U.S. Geological Survey 
Water Resources Division 
Box 66492 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 

B. … 
Louisiana Geological Survey 
3097 Energy, Coastal and Environmental Bldg. 
Louisiana State University 
Baton Rouge, LA 70803 

C. … 
Department of Environmental Quality 
Galvez Bldg. 
602 North Fifth Street 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 

1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:961 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
§531. Methods and Standards for Plugging Abandoned 

Water Wells and Holes 
A. - L. … 

NOTE: Plugging of abandoned monitoring wells associated 
with facilities regulated by the Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) require approval from DEQ prior to actual 
plugging. 

M. - R.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:2091-R.S. 38:3097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:963 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Installing Control Devices on Free 

Flowing Water Wells 
§701. Authorization 

A. As announced in the October 1985 issue of the 
Louisiana Register, the rules and regulations, stated herein, 
were prepared by the Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, in 
accordance with R.S. 38:3094(7)(A). Effective January 1, 
2010, in accordance with Act 437 of 2009, The Department 
of Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, hereafter 
referred to as department, is responsible for registering water 
wells and holes in Louisiana. 

B. The rules and regulations, stated herein, became 
effective on November 1, 1985 and supersede the rules and 
regulations which had been in effect since June 1, 1977. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3094. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
11:964 (October 1985), repromulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
31:942 (April 2005), amended Department of Natural Resources, 
Office of Conservation, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with RS 49:972, the following statements 

are submitted after consideration of the impact of the 
proposed Rule amendments at LAC 56:I.Chapter 1 on family 
as defined therein. 

1. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the stability of the family. 

2. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the functioning of the family. 

4. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on family earnings and family budget. 

5. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Family or local government are not required to 
perform any function contained in the proposed Rule 
amendment. 
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Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Department of 

Natural Resouces, Office of Conservation has determined 
that these amendments will have no estimated effect on 
small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing at the 
public hearing in accordance with R.S. 49:953. Written 
comments will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., January 31, 
2011, at Office of Conservation, Environmental Division, 
P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-9275; or Office of 
Conservation, Environmental Division, 617 North Third St., 
Room 817, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Reference Docket No. 
ENV 2011-01 on all correspondence. All inquiries should be 
directed to John Adams at the above addresses or by phone 
to 225-342-7889. No preamble was prepared. 

Public Hearing 
The Commissioner of Conservation will conduct a public 

hearing at 9 a.m., January 25, 2011, in the LaBelle Room 
located on the first floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Water Wells 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No additional implementation costs (savings) to State or 

Local governmental units are anticipated to implement the 
proposed rule amendment. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no anticipated effect on revenue collections 
of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is the understanding of Office of Conservation staff that 
the majority of licensed water well contractors and drillers 
currently possess and regularly utilize off the shelf technology 
in the form of a global positioning system (GPS) device that 
would allow them to include the latitudinal and longitudinal 
coordinates of the completed water wells in the registration 
form in addition to providing a general location. For those that 
do not currently possess said technology, it is readily available 
for a one time cost of approximately one hundred dollars 
($100.00).  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

James H. Welsh Robert E. Hosse 
Commissioner Staff Director 
1012#084 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Storage and Handling of Liquefied Petroleum Gases  
(LAC 55:IX.181) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, in accordance with 
R.S. 40:1846 and with the Administrative Procedure Act., 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to 
amend Section 181, “National Fire Protection Association 
Pamphlet Numbers 54 and 58”. 

This text has been amended to update the standards 
adopted by the L.P. Gas Commission with regard to storage 
and handling of liquefied petroleum gases. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part IX.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Chapter 1. General Requirements 
Subchapter I. Adoption of Standards 
§181. National Fire Protection Association Pamphlet 

Numbers 54 and 58 
A. The Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission hereby 

adopts the National Fuel Gas Code, 2009 edition. The 
National Fire Protection Association designation is NFPA 
54-2009. The Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission also 
adopts the Standard for the Storage and Handling of 
Liquefied Petroleum Gases, 2008 edition. The National Fire 
Protection Association designation is NFPA 58-2008. 

B. - E.13.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 20:1404 
(December 1974), amended LR 24:470 (March 1998), LR 25:1263 
(July 1999), LR 25:2412 (December 1999), LR 27:2257 (December 
2001), LR 31:2568 (October 2005), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect of these Rules on the stability of the 

family? These Rules should not have any affect on the 
stability of the family.  

2. The effect of these Rules on the authority and rights 
of parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children? These Rules should not have any affect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children.  

3. The effect of these Rules on the functioning of the 
family? These Rules should not have any affect on the 
functioning of the family. 

4. The effect of these Rules on family earnings and 
family budget? These Rules should not have any affect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect of these Rules on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? These Rules should not 
have any effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children.  
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6. The effect of these Rules on the ability of the 
family or local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed Rules? These Rules should not 
have any effect on the ability of the family or local 
government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rules.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Department of Public Safety, Office of Legal Affairs, c/o 
Paul Schexnayder, Post Office Box 66614, Baton Rouge, La. 
70896. Written comments will be accepted through January 
15, 2010. 

John Alario 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Storage and Handling  

of Liquefied Petroleum Gases 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an increase in state 
expenditures totaling $148 for the purchase of new editions of 
the National Fire Protection Association code books. The rule 
regarding the storage and handling of liquefied petroleum gases 
is amended to reflect the updated standards adopted by the 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission. The National Fuel Gas 
Code is amended to reflect the standards of the 2009 edition. 
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) designation 
54-1996 is amended to 54-2009, and the NFPA designation 58-
1995 is amended to 58-2008. The Standard for the Storage and 
Handling of Liquefied Petroleum Gases is amended to reflect 
the updated standards of the 2008 edition. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections as a result 
of this rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will require the purchase price of 
new sections of the NFPA code books by entities regulated by 
the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission at a cost of $148.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change should have no impact on 
competition and employment. 

 
John Alario Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1012#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
State Uniform Construction Code Council 

State Uniform Construction Code (LAC 55:VI.Chapter 3) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 40:1730.26, 
relative to the authority of the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) to promulgate and 
enforce rules, the Office of State Fire Marshal hereby 

proposes to adopt the following Rule regarding the 
establishment of minimum standards. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 3. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 
§301. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

A. - A.1.a. … 
 i. repealed. 

1.a.ii. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34: 883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children. 
Local governmental entities have the ability to perform 

the enforcement of the action proposed in accordance with 
R.S. 40:1730.23.  

Small Business Impact Statement  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Interested Persons 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments 
should be submitted no later than December 16, 2010, at 
4:30 p.m. to Stephen A. Quidd, P.O. Box 66614, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70896. A public hearing is scheduled for 
December 20, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. at 8181 Independence 
Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. Please call in advance to 
confirm the time and place of meeting, as the meeting will 
be cancelled if the requisite number of comments is not 
received. 
 

Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  State Uniform Construction Code 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to result in 
additional state or local government costs or savings. The 
Uniform Construction Code Council is proposing to repeal a 
rule that deletes provisions from the International Building 
Code Chapter 4, Section 403.5.5, Luminous Egress Path 
Markings. It was not the Council’s intention to delete this 
section. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units as a result of this rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed changes will have no anticipated effect on 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups. The rule being replaced was not 
implemented. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes should not significantly affect 
competition or employment. 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1012#134 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Electronic Filing Mandate for Reports and Returns related 
to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund (LAC 61:III.1527) 

Under authority of R.S. 47:1520 and 1511 and in 
accordance with provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, proposes to adopt LAC 61:III.1527 to 
mandate the electronic filing of any report or return related 
to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION  

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payments 
§1527. Electronic Filing Mandate for Reports and 

Returns related to the Sports Facility Assistance 
Fund  

A. R.S. 47:1520(A)(1)(e) allows the secretary to require 
electronic filing of any return or report filed by a 
professional athletic team or a professional athlete which is 
required to be filed by the Department of Revenue for the 
administration of the Sports Facility Assistance Fund. 

B. Effective for the 2011 tax year filings and all other tax 
years thereafter, all reports and returns filed by a 
professional athletic team or a professional athlete shall be 
filed electronically with the Department of Revenue using 
the electronic format provided by the department. 

1. The returns and reports to be filed electronically 
include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. L-1 with the team roster attached;  
b. L-3 reconciliation with attached, completed W-2s 

containing all federal information; 
c. IT 540B-NRA for nonresident athletes; and 
d. IT 540 for resident athletes. 

2. The team rosters attached to the L-1 should include 
the following information: 

a. team or franchise name; 
b. team or franchise account number; 
c. type of game or sporting event; 
d. sporting game or event locations; 
e. practice date if applicable; 
f. sporting event or game date; 
g. the names of each player and staff member who 

traveled to the sporting game or event in Louisiana; 
h. the social security numbers of each player and 

staff member; 
i. the addresses of each player and staff member;  
j. the job description of each player and staff 

member; 
k. the quarterly salary of each player and staff 

member; 
l. total duty days as defined in LAC 

61:I.1304(I)(2); 
m. Louisiana duty days which includes days of all 

practices, meetings and games; 
n. the Louisiana wages of each athlete and staff 

member; 
o. the Louisiana withholding tax of each athlete and 

staff member; and  
p. the total roster Louisiana withholding tax. 

C. Failure to comply with this electronic filing 
requirement will result in the assessment of a penalty of 
$1,000 per failure. 

D. If it is determined that the failure to comply is 
attributable, not to the negligence of the taxpayer, but to 
other causes set forth in written form and considered 
reasonable by the secretary, the secretary may remit or waive 
payment of the whole or any part of the penalty. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1520 and 1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1527 should not 

have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Department of 

Revenue has conducted a regulatory flexibility analysis and 
found that the proposed adoption of this proposed Rule will 
have negligible impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written data, views, 

arguments or comments regarding this proposed Rule to 
Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary Office of Legal Affairs by 
mail to P.O. Box 44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098. All 
comments must be submitted no later than 4:30 p.m., 
Tuesday, January 25, 2011.  
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Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, January 26, 

2011, at 10 a.m. in the River Room located on the seventh 
floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Electronic Filing Mandate for  

Reports and Returns related to the  
Sports Facility Assistance Fund 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. 
This proposed rule requires the electronic filing of every report 
or return that a professional athletic team or a professional 
athlete is required to file with the Department of Revenue 
including those required for the administration of the Sports 
Facility Assistance Fund per Act 503 of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Legislature. According to the Department of 
Revenue, the forms required of professional athletic teams and 
nonresident athletes that provide information to ensure the 
proper deposits to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund are 
already available electronically and will require no additional 
resources to become operational. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on 
governmental revenues as a result of this measure. It is 
expected that taxpayers are ultimately paying what is owed, 
regardless of the filing mechanism, and the correct amounts are 
being deposited to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund, 
although some improved compliance and accounting is 
possible. The proposed rule also sets a penalty of $1,000 per 
failure to follow the electronic filing mandate, but income to 
the state is not anticipated from this penalty as full compliance 
is expected. The Department reports that there has been 
confusion about the appropriate form that nonresident 
professional athletes must file resulting in additional processing 
and penalty collection workload. The Department expects this 
measure will help alleviate that confusion and reduce the effort 
required to process and account for the collections that must 
flow to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund which may also 
reduce the collection of penalties which become self generated 
revenue for the Department of Revenue. An exact amount of 
penalties related to nonresident athletes is not known but is 
expected to be minimal. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Every professional athletic team or professional athlete that 
participates in an athletic event in Louisiana would be affected 
by this proposed rule. Since all professional athletic teams and 
professional athletes should already be filing these returns and 
reports with the Department, any additional costs should be 
minimal. Professional athletic teams or professional athletes 
who chose not to follow the electronic filing mandate will be 
subject to the noncompliance penalty of $1,000 per failure to 
file electronically. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule should not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1012#131 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

New Markets Tax Credit (LAC 61:I.1911) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:6016, R.S. 47:287.785, and 
R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes 
to adopt LAC 61.I.1911. 

The purpose of this notice is to provide guidance and to 
detail the process of applying for, claiming and transferring 
the Louisiana new markets tax credit.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, Credits 
and Deductions 

§1911. Louisiana New Markets Tax Credit 
A. Application Process for New Markets Tax Credits 

1. A taxpayer may apply for Louisiana new markets 
tax credits by submitting a new markets tax credit 
application to the Special Programs Division of the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue. The form R-10609 is 
available online on the department’s website. Applications 
for new markets tax credits will be processed in the order 
received.  

2. If a taxpayer is entitled to the credit, a new market 
tax credit summary sheet will be issued to the taxpayer. The 
summary sheet will contain a tracking number.  

3. The new market tax credit summary sheet will also 
contain a transfer section that must be updated each time the 
taxpayer transfers their credit. The taxpayer must send an 
updated new market tax credit summary sheet to notify the 
department of revenue of the sale within 30 days of the sale. 

4. The taxpayer must attach the new market tax credit 
summary sheet to their income or franchise tax return to 
claim the credit. 

B. Applying the New Markets Tax Credit 
1. New markets tax credits earned by a taxpayer or 

received by a taxpayer by flow-through from a partnership 
or LLC may be applied as detailed in Revenue Ruling 08-
011-A and as explained below. 

a. Credits may be applied to the tax year in which 
the credit allowance date occurred. 

b. Credits may not be applied to penalties and 
interest. 

c. Prior year returns that include the credit 
allowance date may be amended to apply credits earned that 
year. 
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d. Credits may be applied against taxes paid in a 
prior year and the taxes paid may be refunded. However, the 
new markets tax credit is nonrefundable and credits in 
excess of the tax paid in a prior year can only be carried 
forward in accordance with R.S. 47:6016(D). 

e. Credits from qualified equity investments made 
on or after April 1, 2008, cannot be claimed on any return or 
prior year return that was due before December 31, 2008. 

d. Credits from qualified equity investments made 
on or after December 1, 2009 cannot be claimed on any 
return or prior year return that was due before December 31, 
2010. 

2. New markets tax credits transferred by sale to a 
taxpayer may be applied as detailed in Revenue Ruling 08-
011-A and as explained below. 

a. Credits may be applied to a prior year’s 
outstanding tax liability, including penalties and interest, as 
provided by R.S. 47:1675(H)(1)(c). 

b. A taxpayer that purchases the credits may not 
amend their prior year returns to claim credits where no 
liability is currently outstanding and therefore trigger a 
refund. 

c. Credits purchased from qualified equity 
investments made on or after April 1, 2008, cannot be 
claimed on any return or prior year return that was due 
before December 31, 2008. 

d. Credits purchased from qualified equity 
investment made on or after December 1, 2009, cannot be 
claimed on any return or prior year return that was due 
before December 31, 2010. 

C. Limitations on the New Markets Tax Credit 
1. New markets tax credits earned from qualified 

equity investments issued prior to July 1, 2007, are subject 
to an annual $5,000,000 cap applicable to all new markets 
tax credits issued for that year by the department. Once the 
cap is reached, no other credits will be granted for that year. 

2. New markets tax credits from qualified equity 
investments issued after July 1, 2007, but before April 1, 
2008, are subject to a $50,000,000 cap on the entire new 
markets credit program. 

3. New markets tax credits from qualified equity 
investments issued after April 1, 2008, shall be allowed as 
follows: 

a. during the period beginning April 1, 2008, and 
ending December 31, 2008, $25,000,000; 

b. during the period beginning January 1, 2009, and 
ending November 30, 2009, $12,500,000 plus any unissued 
credits from the prior period; 

c. during the period beginning December 1, 2009 
and ending December 31, 2010, $12,500,000 plus any 
unissued credits from the prior periods; and 

d. during periods beginning January 1, 2011 and 
after, credits shall be limited to only unused credits from 
prior years. 

D. Additional Requirements and Limitations for Credits  
1. To be issued credits on qualified low-income 

investments that exceed seven million five hundred thousand 
dollars, the Department of Economic Development must 
certify that the qualified low-income investment was made 
to a business in a targeted industry. Request for new markets 
tax credits from qualified low-income investments 
exceeding seven million five hundred thousand dollars will 

be accepted by the department without certification from the 
Department of Economic Development if the taxpayer 
asserts in their application that certification has been 
requested. However, the new markets tax credit certification 
will not be issued to the taxpayer until the department 
receives the certification from the Department of Economic 
Development or the certification is not denied by the 
Department of Economic Development with 60 days of the 
request, whichever occurs first.  

E. New Markets Tax Credits Transfer Process 
1. Any new markets tax credits not previously claimed 

by a taxpayer against their income or franchise tax may be 
transferred or sold. 

2. The original investor that is transferring credits 
must send an updated new market tax credit summary sheet 
within 30 days of the sale. The original investor should also 
include a new markets transfer form R-10613 with closing 
documents to the transferee. The new markets transfer form 
is available from the department’s website. 

3. The transferee must submit the new markets 
transfer form with their income or franchise tax return to 
claim the credits. 

4. Any transferor, other than the original investor, 
should use a new markets transfer form to transfer credits to 
another Louisiana taxpayer and send a copy of the form to 
the department within 30 days of the sale. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.47:6016, R.S.47:287.785, and R.S.47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1527 should not 

have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Department of 

Revenue has conducted a regulatory flexibility analysis and 
found that the proposed adoption of this Rule will have 
negligible impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, or comments regarding this proposed rule to 
Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary Office of Legal Affairs by 
mail to P.O. Box 44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by 
fax to (225) 219-2759. All comments must be received no 
later than 5 p.m., Wednesday, January 26, 2011. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on Thursday, January 27, 

2010, at 1 p.m. in the River Room, on the seventh floor of 
the LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70802. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  New Markets Tax Credit 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed adoption of LAC 61:I.1911 is intended to 

provide guidance and to detail the process of applying for, 
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claiming and transferring the Louisiana New Markets Tax 
Credit. Act 4 of the 2008 2nd Extraordinary Session amended 
R.S. 47:6016 to add an additional $50 million in aggregate tax 
credit over the life of the New Markets Tax Credit program, but 
restricted the amounts to the following each calendar year: $25 
million through 2008, $12.5 million during 2009, and $12.5 
million during 2010. Current law provides that credits issued 
can only be taken against tax liabilities in the following 
percentages over three years:  10% 1st year, 10% 2nd year, and 
5% the 3rd year. The proposed adoption of LAC 61:I.1911 will 
result in no implementation costs to state or local governmental 
units as any administrative expenses are already included in the 
Departmental budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The New Market Tax Credit program is not currently 
issuing new credits but state revenue is still being impacted by 
the payout from credits already issued.  This proposed rule is 
being published to clarify the process for future appropriations 
and satisfy the statutory requirements of Act 4 of the 2008 2nd 
Extraordinary Session. Based on the fiscal note prepared for 
Act 4, state general fund revenues were expected to decline as a 
result of tax credits approximately by the following amounts: 
Fiscal Year 2010-11 ($15 million), Fiscal Year 2011-12 ($7.5 
million), and Fiscal Year 2012-13 ($2.5 million). The fiscal 
note assumed that all credits were claimed and represented the 
maximum exposure to the state by allowing the program cap to 
be reached each year. Actual claims have validated these 
estimates, and the payout schedule is proceeding as expected, 
barring any unforeseen recaptures. There have been no 
additional funds appropriated to this program since Act 4 of the 
2008 2nd Extraordinary Session. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The New Markets Tax Credit program is intended to 
stimulate investment into urban and rural low-income areas to 
assist in financing community development projects, stimulate 
economic growth and create jobs. Companies choosing to 
operate in these areas in accordance with NMTC program 
requirements will receive a subsidy in the form of a tax credit. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule may increase employment in the 
approved areas and will provide a competitive advantage to 
those obtaining the credits. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1012#132 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Lease Relocation (LAC 76:531) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to establish the following administrative 
rules for the efficient and effective relocation of oyster leases 
which were not renewed due to such leases being wholly 
contained within a public oyster seed ground. Authority to 
develop such rules for oyster lease relocation is vested in the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission by Act 265 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oysters 
§531. Oyster Lease Relocation for Leases Not 

Available for Renewal Due To Those Leases 
Being Wholly Contained Within a Public Oyster 
Seed Ground 

A. Eligibility. Those leases which are currently located 
wholly within a public oyster seed ground, and any former 
leases which were determined by the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries to have been non-renewed since 1998 due to 
the fact that such leases were wholly contained within a 
public oyster seed ground, shall be eligible for relocation. 

B. Area of Relocation. An area as determined by the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and approved by the 
Office of Coastal Protection and Restoration, in consultation 
with the Louisiana Oyster Task Force, shall be set aside from 
the Public Oyster Seed Grounds east of the Mississippi 
River, as described in LAC 76:VII.511. 

C. Amount Lease Acreage Available. Any new lease 
issued under this relocation program shall be for an amount 
of acreage not to exceed the acreage of the lease which is 
being relocated. 

D. Notification and Application Process. The Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries shall notify the leaseholder of an 
affected existing lease, or the leaseholder of record for a 
lease that was previously not renewed, of the option to 
relocate the lease. The affected leaseholder or leaseholder of 
record shall have 60 days from the date of notification to 
appear in person at the LDWF Oyster Lease Survey Section 
office to apply for a relocation lease. Applications shall be 
on application forms provided by the department and shall 
be processed by the department in the order in which they 
are received by the department. 

E. Issuance of Relocated Leases. Relocated leases shall 
be issued pursuant to LAC 76:VII.501 and 503. 

F. Expiration Date. This Rule shall expire on January 1, 
2013.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 265 
of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 37: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out in R.S. 
49:972(B). 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 12   December 20, 2010 3025 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative 

to the proposed rule until 4:30 p.m., February 4, 2011 to 
Patrick D. Banks, LDWF Fisheries Division, Box 98000, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000. 

 
Stephen W. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Oyster Lease Relocation 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will be carried out 
using existing staff and funding level. Due to the limited 
number of leases that are eligible to participate in this oyster 
lease relocation program, the increase in costs, workload and 
paperwork to the state associated with implementing the 
proposed rule is anticipated to be minimal. Local governmental 
units will not be impacted. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governmental units 
are not anticipated to be impacted by the proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Holders of oyster leases that are currently located within a 
public oyster seed ground and any former leases which were 
determined by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to have 
been non-renewed since 1998 due to the fact that such leases 
were located within a public oyster seed ground may benefit 
from the propose rule. They will be eligible to relocate or 
exchange their non-renewal lease acres with equal acres located 
in other designated areas of the state during the current lease 
moratorium. The economic benefit derived from the proposed 
rule cannot be determined at this time and will depend on the 
productivity of the new leased areas compared to the 
productivity of the non-renewal oyster lease areas. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to have little or no effect 
on competition or employment in the public or private sectors. 

 
Lois Azzarello Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1012#076 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Committee Reports 
 
 

COMMITTEE REPORT 

Senate Committe on Health and Welfare 

DHH Emergency Rules Adopted on November 22, 2010 

Editor’s Note: These Emergency Rules may be viewed in their 
entirety in this edition of the Louisiana Register in the 
Emergency Rule Section. 
 

Pursuant to La. R.S. 49:49:953(B)(4), the Senate 
Committee on Health and Welfare, at a duly called meeting 
on December 10, 2010, has made a finding that the 
following Emergency Rules adopted by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals on November 22, 2010 and captioned 
accordingly, are unacceptable: 

1. All Inclusive Care for the Elderly Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XXIII.1301) 

2. Ambulatory Surgical Centers Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XI.7503) 

3. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
TreatmentDental Program Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XV.6903) 

4. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
TreatmentHealth ServicesEarlySteps Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XV.7107) 

5. End Stage Renal Disease Facilities Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XI.6901 and 6903) 

6. Home Health ProgramExtended Nursing Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XIII.701) 

7. Inpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
Hospitals Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:V.953, 955, 
959 and 967) 

8. Inpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
HospitalsOutlier Payment Methodology (LAC 50:V.954) 

9. Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
Hospitals and Children’s Specialty Hospitals Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC:V.5313, 5317, 5513, 5517, 5713, 5719, 6115 and 
6119) 

10. Laboratory and Radiology Services Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4334-4337) 

11. Mental Health Rehabilitation Program Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.901) 

12. Multi-Systemic Therapy Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.25701) 

13. Personal Care ServicesLong-Term Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.12917) 

14. Pharmacy ProgramPrescription Limit Reduction (LAC 
50:XXIX.113) 

15. Pregnant Women Extended ServicesDental Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.16107) 

16. Medical Transportation ProgramEmergency 
Ambulance Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XXVII.325 and 353) 

17. Medical Transportation ProgramNon-Emergency 
Ambulance Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XXVII.571) 

18. Medical Transportation ProgramNon-Emergency 
Medical Transportation Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XXVII.573) 

Pursuant to La. R.S. 49:953(B)(4)(c), upon receipt by the 
agency of this report (December 13, 2010), the rules shall be 
nullified and shall be without effect.  

 
Senator Willie L. Mount 
Chairperson 

1012#000 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Judicial Interest Rate Determination for 2011 

R.S. 13:4202(B), as amended by Acts 2001, No. 841, 
requires the Louisiana Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions to determine the judicial interest rate for the 
calendar year following the calculation date. The 
commissioner has determined the judicial interest rate for 
the calendar year 2011 in accordance with R.S. 
13:4202(B)(1).  

The commissioner ascertained that on October 1, 2010 the 
approved discount rate of the Federal Reserve Board of 
Governors was three-quarters .75 percent. 

R.S. 13:4202(B)(1) mandates that on and after January 1, 
2002, the judicial interest rate shall be three and one-quarter 
percentage points above the Federal Reserve Board of 
Governors approved discount rate on October 1, 2010. Thus, 
the effective judicial interest rate for the calendar year 2011 
shall be 4.0 percent per annum. 

R.S. 13:4202(B)(2) provides that the publication of the 
commissioner’s determination in the Louisiana Register 
“shall not be considered rulemaking within the intendment 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
particularly R.S. 49:953.” Therefore, (1) a Fiscal Economic 
Impact Statement, (2) a Family Impact Statement, and (3) a 
Notice of Intent are not required to be filed with the 
Louisiana Register. 

 
John P. Ducrest, C.P.A. 
Commissioner 

1012#029 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Spring/Summer Examination Dates; 2011 Board Meeting 
Dates; Board Nominations 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine will 
administer the State Board Examination (SBE) for licensure 
to practice veterinary medicine on the first Tuesday of every 
month.  Deadline to apply for the SBE is the third Friday 
prior to the examination date desired.  SBE dates are subject 
to change due to office closure (i.e. holiday, weather). 

The board will accept applications to take the North 
American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) 
which will be administered through the National Board of 
Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME), formerly the 
National Board Examination Committee (NBEC), as 
follows: 

Test Window Date Deadline To Apply 
April 11 through Monday, January 3, 2011 
April 23, 2011  
 

The board will also accept applications for the Veterinary 
Technician National Examination (VTNE) for state 
registration of veterinary technicians which will be 
administered through the American Association of 
Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB), as follows: 
 

Test Date Deadline To Apply 
March 1 - 31, 2011 February 1, 2011 
 
July 15 through June 15, 2011 
August 15, 2011 
 
November 15 through October 15, 2011 
December 15, 2011 

 
Applications for all examinations must be received on or 

before the deadline.  No late application will be accepted.  
Requests for special accommodations must be made as early 
as possible for review and acceptance.  Applications and 
information may be obtained from the board office at 263 
Third Street, Suite 104, Baton Rouge, LA 70801 and by 
request via telephone at (225) 342-2176 or by e-mail at 
admin@lsbvm.org; application forms and information are 
also available on the website at www.lsbvm.org.  

Board Nominations 
The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine announces 

that nominations for the position of board member will be 
taken by the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association 
(LVMA) at the annual winter meeting to be held February 
2011. Interested persons should submit the names of 
nominees directly to the LVMA as per R.S. 37:1515. It is not 
necessary to be a member of the LVMA to be nominated.  
The LVMA may be contacted at (225) 928-5862. 
 

Wendy D. Parrish 
Executive Director 

1012#034 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 47Actuarial Opinion and Memorandum 

The Department of Insurance published a Notice of Intent 
for its Actuarial Division in the October 20, 2010 edition of 
the Louisiana Register (Volume 36, Number 10, page 2427). 
The Notice of Intent inadvertently set the public hearing on a 
holiday. In order to give the public additional access a 
second public hearing has been scheduled for Wednesday, 
December 22, 2010 beginning at 9:00 a.m., in the Poydras 
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Building’s Plaza Hearing Room located at 1702 North Third 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1012#077 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L Longbell 
LBR CO 

SWD 

003 56148 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L CF RA 
SUA; 

William N 
Cox 

001 234783 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L Richard E 
Doornbos 

Etal 

001 235009 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L Cf Ra 
Sue;Patsy 
Cox Etal 

001 235681 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L CF RA Sub; 
Patsy Cox 

Etal 

002 236153 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L Temple-
Inland 

001 236370 

Turnkey 
E&P 

Corporation 

Clear 
Creek 

L CF RA 
Sur;Bel 
Minerals 

LLC 

001 237054 

Branta 
Production 
Company 

LLC 

Oretta L Oretta SWD 001 209055 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Branta 
Production 
Company 

LLC 

Oretta L Vua;Musser
-Davis 

002 209431 

D. C. Carnes Caddo 
Pine 

Island 

S Gardner 001 43423 

Crescent 
Production 

Co Inc. 

Sicily 
Island 

M Tensas 
Delta 

003 44458 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1012#032 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Loran Coordinates 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et seq., 
notice is given that 3 claims in the amount of $12,499.81 
were received for payment during the period November 1, 
2010 - November 30, 2010  

There were 3 paid and 0 denied.  
Latitude/Longitude Coordinates of reported underwater 

obstructions are: 
 

2914.218 9033.085 Terrebonne 
2925.769 9001.156 Jefferson 
2933.284 9227.967 Vermilion 

 
A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 
Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804 or you can call (225) 342-0122.  

 
Scott A. Angelle 
Secretary 

1012#074 
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(Volume 36, Number 12) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2009-December 2009, 146 
January 2010-March 2010, 901 
January 2010-June 2010, 1659 
January 2010-September 2010, 2438 

 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Agricultural commodity dealer and warehouse law, 
2585N 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Agriculture chemistry lab fees, 2605N 
Giant salvinia, 1927ER, 2056N 
Labeling of coated seeds, 1587N 
Pesticide 2, 4-D, 914ER, 1036N, 1980R 
Seed certification standards and fees, 336N, 1220R 
ULV malathion/pyrethroid, 914ER, 1036N, 1980R 

Agricultural Finance Authority 
Farm and agribusiness recovery and loan program, 

442ER, 464R 
Agro-Consumer Services 

Agriculture commodities commission, 2456ER 
Animal Health, Board of 

Trichomoniasis, 1156ER, 1580N, 1925ER, 2518R 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Agriculture commodities commission, 1416ER  
Family farm credit, 231R 
Fees: amount, time of payment, 446ER 
Louisiana strawberries, 2057N 
Sweet potato yield adjustment, 445ER 

Feed, Fertilizer and Agriculture Commission 
Small package, 2604N 

Horticulture Commission 
Landscape architect registration exam, 161P, 425P, 

1906P, 2134P 
Landscape irrigation contractors insurance waiver, 

1585N, 2520R 
Retail floristry examination, 425P, 1143P, 1402P 

Seed Commission 
Labeling of coated seeds, 1587N 
Seed certification standards and fees, 336N 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Bait and baiting system requirements, 2456ER  
Rule revisions and technical corrections, 2060N 

 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
NOTE: Formerly Social Services. See Social Services section 
of this Index for prior subject listings of January through June. 

Child Welfare Section 
Daycare services—residential licensing, 1590N, 2521R 
Legal representation in child protection cases, 1587N, 

2522R 
Residential licensing 

Disqualification, 2838R 
Notice of revocation action, 1462R 

Division of Programs 
Child placing agencies, 2149ER 
Child support enforcement 

Securing and enforcing medical auppoer obligation, 
2878N 

Portability of criminal history, religious exemption, and 
sex offender rule, ER 2458, 2879N 

Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 
Child care assistance program, 1794N, 2523R 

Discontinuance of job search, 1767R 
Daycare services—residential licensing, 1590N, 2521R 
Family independence temporary assistance program 

(FITAP), 1673ER, 1794N, 2523R 
Family violence prevention and intervention program, 

1589N, 2236R 
Kinship care subsidy program (KCSP), 1673ER, 

1794N, 2523R 
Residential licensing 

Disqualification, 2838R 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), 

1673ER, 1794N, 2523R 
Iraqi, Afghani Immigrant—Qualified Alien, 1674ER 

Temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) 
Initiatives, 1676ER 

Licensing Section 
Child placing agencies, 2605N 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Civil Service Commission 

Exemption from testing requirements, 2293N 
Food and drink limit, 855N 
Performance adjustment, 343N 
Temporary suspension of merit increase authority, 

716ER, 855N 

2010 
Pages    Issue 
1-157 ................................................... January 
158-439 ............................................... February 
440-713 ............................................... March 
714-911 ............................................... April 
912-1153 ............................................. May 
1154-1411 ........................................... June 
1412-1670 ........................................... July 
1671-1919 ........................................... August 
1920-2146 ........................................... September 
2147-2453 ........................................... October 
2454-2758 ........................................... November 
2759-3040 ........................................... December 
 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
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CIVIL SERVICE (Continued) 
Ethics, Board of 

Financial disclosure forms, 232R 
Financial disclosures, 340N, 1463R 
Food and drink limit, 304R, 1466R 
Local government lobbying, 2648N 

 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
State Library of Louisiana 

State library, 2537R 
State library, name and procedural changes, 1592N 

Tourism, Office of 
Cultural districts, 469R 
State library, 1281N 
State parks, 558N, 1225R 
Welcome centers, 50R 

 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 

CDC Certification Program, 79N, 750R 
Enterprise Zone Program, 1808N 
Entertainment tax industry credit programs―digital 

media act, 425P, 1981R 
Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Program, 1818N 
Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit Program, 52R, 

1928ER 
Quality Jobs Program, 2293N 
Regional awards and matching grant awards programs, 

51R 
Research and development tax credits, 1768R 
Retention and Modernization Act, 474R, 2650N 
Small and Emerging Business Development Program, 

51R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 

programs, 304R, 2084N 
Technology Commercialization Credit and Jobs 

Program, 307R 
Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 

Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program, 2651N 
Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit Program, 52R, 

1928ER, 2654N 
Musical and theatrical production income tax credit, 

2236R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 

programs, 304R, 2084N 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 

Retention and modernization act, 474R, 2650N 
Secretary, Office of 

Ports of Louisiana Tax Credits; Investor Tax Credit 
Program, 1287N, 2543R  

Regional awards and matching grant awards programs, 
51R 

Retention and Modernization Act, 474R 
Veteran initiative, 471R 

 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 105—Louisiana Content Standards for 
Programs Serving Four-Year Old Children, 2303N 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 856N, 1037N, 1291N, 1299N, 
2885N, 1769R, 1987R, 1994R, 2241R, 2656N 

Graduation cohort, index and rate, 2841R 
Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 

Practices, 81N, 477R, 967R, 2657N 
Bulletin 119—Louisiana School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures, 567N, 1466R  

Bulletin 120—Adult Education Data Quality and 
Procedures, 310R 

Bulletin 125—Standards for Educational Leaders in 
Louisiana, 1302N, 2244R 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools—fourth year review of 
charter schools on contract probation, 1830N, 2661N, 
2842R 

Renewal process and timeliness, 478R 
Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District, 2085N, 
2671N 
Manner of operation of failed schools, 2887N 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 1045N, 1906P, 
2250R 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 588N, 1224R 
Administration of medication, 480R 
Agricultural education, 1071N, 1995R 
Assignment and transfer of students, 2888N 
Building and maintenance, 2891N 
Career options, 1072N, 1995R 
Carnegie credit for middle school students, 59R, 

344N, 1308N, 2260R 
Compulsory attendance, 481R 
Curriculum and instruction 590N, 1485R 
Curriculum instruction, 2335N  
Disciplinary regulations, 2896N, 2897N 
Dropout prevention and recovery, 2674N 
Electronic telecommunication devices, 2899N 
Elementary program of studies, 2900N 
Eligibility to participate in high school interscholastic 

athletics, 2901N 
Family and consumer sciences education, 2675N 
Foreign languages, 1073N, 1996R 
General career and technical education, 601N, 1074N, 

1496R, 1996R  
General powers of local educational governing 

authorities, 2902N 
Health education, 603N, 1497R  
Health occupations, 1309N 
High schools, 2903N 
Home study program, 2904N 
Individual graduation plan, 604N, 1497R  
Non-complex health procedures, 482R 
Physical abuse of teachers and school employees by 

students, 2905N 
Public comments, 59R 
Response to intervention, 346N 
Science education, 483R 
Staff misconduct, 2906N 
Student biometric information, 2908N 
Teachers’ retirement system―part-time, seasonal or 

temporary classroom teacher, 2909N 
Technology education, 1075N, 1997R 
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EDUCATION (Continued) 
Textbooks, 2910N 
Unsafe schools, 604N, 1498R  
Written policies and procedures, 2911N 

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 
Assessment requirements for a state diploma, 587N, 

1498R  
Definitions of schools and early childhood programs, 

1837N, 2847R 
Professional staff development, 1839N, 2849R 
Programs of study, 1840N 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 2337N 
ACT/SAT scores in lieu of PRAXIX I scores, 484R 
Adult education instructor, 485R 
Alternative path to certification, 1310N, 2261R 
Alternative teacher preparation programs, 1312N, 

2262R 
Application packet, 1831N, 2843R 
Certification appeal process, 486R 
CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 certificates, 1832N, 2843R 
Louisiana teacher assistance and assessment program 

(LaTAAP), 2344N 
Louisiana teacher preparation programs, 1833N, 

2843R 
Mental health professional counselors, 2676N 
Middle school specialty area endorsements, 2678N 
Out-of-state (OS) certificate, 2679N 
Out-of-state principal level 2 (OSP2), 2680N 
PRAXIS I scores, 487R 
Requirements to add early childhood, 2681N 
Requirements to add a non-NCLB secondary content 

area, 1598N, 2546R 
School nurse, 1076N, 1998R, 2682N 
School therapists, 2683N 
Standards certificates for teachers in 

nonpublic/charter schools, 751R 
Teaching certificate, 1077N, 1998R 
Temporary authority to teach (TAT), 1599N, 2547R 
VTIE, CTTIE and CTTIE-1 certificates, 1079N, 

2000R 
World language certificate, 486R 

Bulletin 996—Standards for approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs, 2347N 
Programmatic intervention and acronyms, 753R 

Bulletin 1179—Driver Education, Traffic Safety, and 
Administrative Guide for Louisiana Schools 
Driver education and training program for children, 

489R 
Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and Nutrition Programs, 
Policies of operation, 2354N 
Program operations, 2912N 

Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook for Students 
with Exceptionalities, 2684N, 2913N 

Bulletin 1566—Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures, 1081N, 2001R 

Bulletin 1706—Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act 
Regulations for gifted/talented students, 1091N, 

2011R 

Regulations for students with disabilities, 605N, 
1499R  

Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform 
Government Handbook, 612N, 1505R  

Membership Foundation Program—Student 
membership, 2915N 

Recovery School District 
Standing and executive committees and advisory 
councils, 1824N, 2850R 

State superintendent, 2686N 
Regents, Board of 

Registration and licensure, 2092N, 2839R 
Student Financial Assistance Commission 

Scholarship/grant programs―applications, federal grant 
aid and ACT test, 2190ER, 2376N 

Scholarship/grant programs―Early start program award 
amount, 2759ER 

Scholarship/grant programs―GO grant summer billing, 
2463ER 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
GO grant program changes, 1841N, 2852R 
Scholarship/grants program, 311R, 716ER, 1110N, 

2029R  
2010 legislation, 1843N, 2854R 
Chafee educational and training voucher, 1158ER, 

1600N, 1679ER, 2457R 
GO grant summer billing, 2463ER, 2687N 
Health care educator loan forgiveness, 1158ER, 

1603N 
Health care educator loan forgiveness program, 

eligible schools, 2550R 
John R. Justice grant program, 2759ER 
Louisiana GO grant, 1681ER 
Rockefeller state wildlife scholarship, 915ER, 

1316N, 2267R 
START savings program, 1111N, 2030R 
START savings program account 

deposits/documentations, 2550R 
TOPS, 917ER, 1319N, 1682ER, 2269R 

Intersession, 490R 
Tuition Trust Authority 

START Saving Program 
Account deposits/documentations, 1604N 
Educational savings account, 313R, 717ER, 1111N, 

1161ER, 2030R 
Miscellaneous provisions, 1111N, 2030 
Split investment, 492R 

 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Environmental Protection Agency 

Environmental Protection Agency 
EPA region 4 outer continental shelf (OCS) air quality 

permitting actions, 704P 
Environmental Services, Office of 

Permit Support Services Division 
Standard fees for solid waste transporters, 704P 

Secretary, Office of the 
Criteria Pollutant Emissions Inventory, 2688N 
Greenhouse Gas Tailoring, 2376N 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY (Continued) 
Legal Affairs Division 

Control of emissions of nitrogen oxides, 59R 
Control of emissions of smoke, 1321N 
DEQ notifications to state police, 348N, 1239R, 

1535R 
Emergency response for solid waste facilities, 2916N 
Exemption for tanks storing corrosive materials, 

1605N, 2270R 
Fee schedule, 432N 
Gasoline handling, 641N, 1534R  
HW tanks—secondary containment requirements and 

90 day turnover of hazardous waste, 643N, 1234R 
Incorporation by reference—2009, 1607N, 2271R, 

2551R 
Miscellaneous amendments and corrections, 1847N 
Miscellaneous amendments for NRC compatibility, 

1112N, 1771R 
Organic solvents and solvent degreasers, 649N, 

1773R, 2030R 
Prevention of significant deterioration, 1322N, 2556R 
Regulatory permits for cement and concrete facilities, 

350N, 1540R  
Removal of pesticide application exemption from 

LPDES permitting requirements, 2095N 
Reportable quantity for brine from solution mining, 

655N, 1241R 
Revisions of the drinking water source use, 1612N, 

2276R 
Spill prevention and control, 858N, 1778R 
Regulation of greenhouse gas emissions and title v 

applicability, 431P, 704P 
Technical review of working drafts of waste permits 

(100 Pot1), 161P 
Termination determination of CAAA §185 penalty 

fees―state implementation plan revision, 432P, 
705P 

Training requirements for underground storage tank 
system operators, 313R 

Miscellaneous amendments and corrections, 2552R 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
BJ 09-20 Bond Allocation―Jefferson Parish Finance 

Authority―Amend Executive Order BJ 09-18, 1EO 
BJ 09-21 Executive Branch―Expenditure Reduction, 

1EO 
BJ 10-01 Rescinding Executive Orders BJ 08-48 and BJ 

08-52, 2EO 
BJ 10-02 Support to Oklahoma, 169EO 
BJ 10-03 State of Emergency—Extension of Qualifying in 

the Parish of Desoto, 440EO 
BJ 10-04 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2009, 440EO 
BJ 10-05 Merit Increase Freeze, 714EO 
BJ 10-06 Expenditure Freeze, 714EO 
BJ 10-07 Flags at Half-Staff, 912EO 
BJ 10-08 Emergency Procedures for Conducting State 

Business, 912EO 
BJ 10-09 Emergency Partial Suspension of  

Certain EMT Licensing Laws, 1154EO 

BJ 10-10 Bond Allocation—Local Government 
Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority, 1155EO 

BJ 10-11 Property Use for Emergency Berm Project for 
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Response, 1412EO 

BJ 10-12 Executive Department―Limited Hiring Freeze, 
1413EO 

BJ 10-13 Louisiana Intrastate Rail Authority, 1414EO 
BJ 10-14 DOTD Guidelines for Vehicles, Trucks and 

Loads, 1671EO 
BJ 10-15 Offender Labor, 1920EO 
BJ 10-16 Small Purchase Orders, 1920EO 
BJ 10-17 Governor's Military Advisory Board—Amends 

and Supercedes Executive Order No. BJ 09-4, 1923EO 
BJ 10-18 In Memoriam, 1924EO 
BJ 10-19 Governor’s Advisory Council on Disability 

Affairs—Amended Executive Order No. BJ 08-74, 
2148EO 

BJ 10-20 Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction, 
2454EO 

 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit Program, 52R 
Patient’s compensation fund oversight board 

Actuary, annual actuarial study, risk rating, rates, 
surcharges, 1853N, 2556R 

Oversight board administrative role clarifications, 
355N 

Racing commission, 1323N 
Corrupt and prohibited practices, 2382N 
Mandatory health screening, 1931ER, 2383N 
Owners—partnerships, limited liability company, 
1323N, 2863R 
Stables, 1324N, 2864R 

Tax commission 
Ad valorem taxation, 2761ER, 2922N 

The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 
Architectural Examiners, Board of 

Admission renewal procedure, 353N, 1780R 
Auctioneers Licensing Board 

Licensing, examination procedure, fees, qualifications 
as apprentice, bonds, funds, advertising violations, 
continuing education, 1851N 

Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River, Board of 
General provisions, 493R,  
Public hearing―substantive changes, 161P 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
Boxing and wrestling standards, 108N, 354N, 756R, 

992R, 1242R 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Public hearing―state fiscal year 2011 draft annual  
plan, 164P 

Contractual Review, Office of 
The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 

Crime Victims Reparation Board 
Compensation to victims, 1614N, 2278R 
Eligibility for reparations, 919ER 
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GOVERNOR (Continued) 
Elderly Affairs, Office of 

State plan on aging, 1325N  
Facility Planning and Control, Office of 

Percent for universal design, 1542R  
Financial Institutions, Office of 

Expired license reinstatement procedure, 316R 
Judicial Interest Rate Determination for 2011, 3027P 
Non-depository records retention, 656N, 1243R 
Residential Mortgage Lending Program, 2700N 

Group Benefits, Office of 
PPO plan of benefits  

Continued coverage: Michelle’s law, 1615N, 2285R 
Mental health and substance abuse benefits, 1616N, 
2285R 
Prescription drug benefits: brand/generic, 1617N, 
2286R 
Wellness benefits, 1618N, 2287R 

PPO plan of benefits, eligibility, medical benefits, and 
schedule of benefits, 1162ER 

Home Inspectors, Board of 
Training, testing, and licensure, 2096N, 2857R 

Information Technology, Office of 
IT bulletins published, 705P, 2134P 
Office of electronic services abolition, 863N, 1544R  

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on 

Peace officer training, 355N, 992R, 2381N 
Louisiana River Pilot Review and Oversight, Board of 

General provisions, 99N, 984R 
Manufacturer termination of franchise; new vehicle 

liquidation; warranty work; exception, 1932ER 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

General provisions, 864N, 1545R  
Public Defender Board 

Capital Defense Guidelines, 111N, 993R 
Trial court performance standards for attorneys 

representing parents in child in need of care and 
termination of parental rights cases, 1857N 

Real Estate Appraisers Board 
Appraisers, 2384N 

Sheriffs’ Pension and Relief Fund 
Court order or judgment, 2290R 
Eligible rollover distribution, 1868N, 2865R 

Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners 
Fees, 1114N, 1780R, 1929ER 
General requirements for certified shorthand reporters, 

2379N 
State Military Department 

National guard death and disability benefits, 316R 
State Purchasing, Office of 

The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 
State Travel, Office of 

General travel PPM, 150PPM 
Statewide Uniform Payroll 

403(b) Tax Shelter Annuity Program, 1686ER 
Self directed payroll savings bond plan, 2191ER 

Used Motor Vehicle Commission 
Commission name change, 657N 
Licensure and established place of business, 2071N 
Recreational products regulation, 657N 
Transfer of licensing, 657N 
Used motor vehicles, 2287R 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Addictive Disorders, Office of 

Need and application reviews, 521R 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Adult protective services, 759R 
All inclusive care for the elderly, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 170ER, 1687ER, 2463ER, 2771ER,  
All inclusive care for the elderly, repeal of 

reimbursement rate reduction, 171ER 
Definitions of abuse and sexual abuse, 2426N 
Facility need review―relocation of nursing facility 

beds, 364N, 1009R 
Home and community based services waivers 

Adult day health care, reimbursement rate reduction, 
177ER, 2469ER 

Adult day health care, repeal of reimbursement rate 
reduction, 178ER 

Elderly and disabled adults, personal assistance 
services, 1183ER, 2217ER, 2415N 

Elderly and disabled adults, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 2470ER, 2935N 

Nursing facilities admissions, 365N, 737ER, 1010R 
Standards for payment level of care determinations, 

2419N 
Personal care services 

Long-term, policy clarifications, 1374N, 1749ER 
Long-term, reimbursement rate reduction, 215ER, 

673N, 1250R, 2509ER 
Long-term, repeal of reimbursement rate reduction, 

215ER 
Service limit reductions, 1749ER 

Adult Protective Services, Division of 
Definition of abuse and sexual abuse, 2426N 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office of 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Children’s choice, allocation of waiver opportunities, 
1954ER 

Children’s choice, family training services, 324R 
Children’s choice, reimbursement rate reduction, 

178ER, 927ER, 1696ER, 2280R 
Children’s choice, service cap and reimbursement rate 

reduction, 1696ER, 1955ER 
New opportunities waiver, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 662N, 719ER, 1247R, 2478ER, 2944N 
New opportunities waiver, resource allocation  

model, 65R 
Supports waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 

928ER, 179ER, 1630N, 1722ER, 1956ER, 2281R, 
2493ER, 2946N 

Dentistry, Board of 
General provisions, 63R 
Mobile dentistry; relicensure of dentists, hygienists, 

1115N, 2035R 
Licenses; authorized duties; nitrous oxide, 2702N 

Emergency Response Network Board 
Standard LERN entry and destination criteria, 2743P 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Adult dentures programs, replacement and reline limits, 

170ER, 920ER, 1327N, 2039R 
Adult residential care providers―minimum licensing 

standards―dementia training requirements, 362N, 
1008R 
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All inclusive care for the elderly, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 170ER, 171ER, 1687ER, 2463ER,  
2771 ER, 2925N 

Ambulatory surgical centers, minimum licensing 
standards, 2389N, 2742P 

Ambulatory surgical centers, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 172ER, 172ER, 921ER, 1621N, 1688ER, 
1933ER, 2278R, 2464ER, 2772ER, 2926N 

Clinic services 
End state renal disease facilities, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 175ER, 925ER 
CommunityCARE program 

Immunization, 173ER, 447ER, 1416ER 
Pay-for-performance initiative, 173ER, 447ER, 

1416ER, 1622N 
Payment levels, 173ER, 447ER, 1622N, 2279R 

Primary care providers  
Referral exemptions, 1417ER, 2212ER, 2411N, 

2742P 
Reimbursement rate adjustment, 1689ER, 2465ER 

Coordinated care network, 2192ER, 2465ER 
Demonstration waivers 

Family planning waiver, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 175ER, 926ER 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 4ER, 

921ER, 1690ER, 2773ER 
Mental health emergency room extensions, 717ER, 

1119N, 1418ER, 1781R  
Non-rural community hospitals, 4ER, 923ER, 

1418ER, 2213ER 
Pre-admission certification and length of stay 

assignment, 65R 
Radiology utilization management, 512R 

Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment 
Dental program and covered services, 1624N 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1691ER, 2466ER, 
2927N 

Dental program, reimbursement rate reduction, 
174ER, 924ER, 1329N, 2040R, 2775ER 

KIDMED services, claims filing, 128N, 759R 
Health Services—EarlySteps reimbursement rate 

reduction, 2776ER, 2929N 
Personal care services, 872N 

Reimbursement methodology, 1870N, 2561R 
Electronic health records incentive payment, 2108N, 

2865R 
End stage renal disease facilities, 925ER, 2777ER 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1330N, 1693ER, 
2040R, 2467ER, 2931N 

Estate recovery, 2412N, 2742P 
Facility need review 

Adult day health care providers, 322R 
Exception criteria for downsizing enrolled beds, 

1625N, 2279R 
Relocation of nursing facility beds, 364N, 1009R 

Family planning clinics, reimbursement rate reduction, 
1693ER, 2468ER 

Family planning waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 
926ER, 1626N, 1694ER, 1934ER, 2279R, 2468ER 

Federally qualified health centers 
Service limits and reimbursement rate reduction, 

176ER, 718ER, 1420ER  
Service limit reduction, 1627N, 2280R 

Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities minimum licensing standards, 1164ER, 
1935ER, 2778ER 

Greater New Orleans community health connection 
waiver, 2214ER 

Home and community based services waivers 
Adult day health care, 2797ER 
Adult day health care, reimbursement rate reduction, 

177ER, 1695ER, 2469ER, 2932N 
Adult day health care, repeal of reimbursement rate 

reduction, 178ER 
Children’s choice, allocation of waiver opportunities, 

1954ER, 2799ER 
Children’s choice, family training services, 324R 
Children’s choice, reimbursement rate reduction, 

178ER, 927ER, 1628N, 1696ER, 2280R 
Children’s choice, service cap and reimbursement rate 

reduction, 1696ER, 1955ER, 2800ER, 2933N 
Elderly and disabled adults, 

Personal assistance services, 1183ER, 2217ER, 
2415N 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1697ER, 2470ER, 
2935N 

Minimum licensing standards, 1331N 
New opportunities waiver reimbursement rate 

reduction, 662N, 719ER, 1247R, 1706ER, 2478ER, 
2944N 

New opportunities waiver resource allocation model, 
65R 

Residential options waiver, 720ER, 1706ER, 2479ER 
Service budget and reimbursement rate reduction, 

1721ER 
Supports waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 

928ER, 179ER, 1630N, 1722ER, 1956ER, 2281R, 
2493ER, 2946N 

Home health program 
Durable medical equipment, reimbursement 

reduction, 180ER, 181ER, 663N, 734ER, 1185ER, 
1247R, 1364N, 2041R 

Extended nursing services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 2801ER, 2947N 

Nursing and home health aide services,  
Reimbursement rate reduction, 182ER, 183ER, 

928ER, 1631N, 1957ER, 2281R 
Provider accreditation, 512R 
Provider accreditation requirements, repeal, 735ER, 

1420ER 
Hospital licensing standards 

Crisis receiving centers, 513R 
Inpatient hospital services 

Reimbursement methodology, 2494ER 
Small rural hospitals upper payment limit, 2497ER 
State hospitals supplement payments, 2498ER 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Children’s specialty hospitals, 929ER, 1723ER, 
2723N, 2801ER 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 1186ER, 
2223ER 
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Major teaching hospitals, 930ER, 1188ER, 

1724ER, 2802ER 
Outlier payment methodology, 2803ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 931ER, 1190ER, 

1552R, 1871N, 2561R, 2804ER, 2948N 
Major teaching hospitals 

Qualifying criteria, 2220ER 
Pre-admission certification, 197ER, 939ER, 1960ER 
Reimbursement methodology, 1725ER 
Small rural hospitals, upper payment limit, 1729ER 
Supplemental payments, 935ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 
Non-state facilities, reimbursement methodology, 

2499ER 
Non-state facilities, reimbursement rate reduction, 

1730ER 
Public facilities, reimbursement methodology, 

1731ER, 2499ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 1555R, 1732ER, 

2501ER, 2806ER, 2952N 
Laboratory and radiology services 

Radiology utilization management, 1120N, 1781R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 198ER, 665N, 939ER, 

1248R, 1733ER, 1874N, 1960ER, 2502ER, 2563R, 
2806ER, 2954N 

Long term care 
Intermediate care facilities for persons with 

development disabilities, 737ER, 881N 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 7ER, 
184ER 

Major teaching hospitals, 8ER 
Outlier payment methodology, 519R 
Pre-admission certificate, 66R 
Reimbursement, 448ER, 736ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 186ER, 190ER, 

877N 
Supplemental payments, 194ER 

Medicaid eligibility 
Express lane eligibility, 9ER, 882N, 941ER, 1555R  
Medicare savings programs, 11ER, 942ER, 1734ER, 

2110N, 2867R 
Medical necessity criteria, 1365N, 2563R 
Medical transportation program 

Emergency ambulance services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 199ER, 666N, 1193ER, 1194ER, 1248R, 
1875N, 1961ER, 2564R, 2808ER, 2956N 

Non-emergency ambulance services, reimbursement 
rate reduction, 200ER, 201ER, 944ER, 1877N, 
1962ER, 2564R, 2808ER, 2957N 

Non-emergency medical transportation, 
reimbursement rate reduction, 944ER, 1736ER, 
1878N, 1963ER, 2503ER, 2565R, 2809ER, 2958N 

Mental health rehabilitation program 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 202ER, 451ER, 668N, 

945ER, 1249R, 1879N, 1963ER, 2565R, 2810ER 
Service limitations, 451ER, 668N, 1249R 
Termination of parent/family intervention (intensive) 

services and continued treatment clarifications, 
1736ER, 2503ER,  

Termination of parent/family intervention (intensive) 
services and reimbursement rate reduction, 2960N 

Multi-systemic therapy 
Prior authorization and reimbursement rate reduction, 

202ER, 946ER, 1880N, 1964ER, 2565R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 453ER, 670N, 1250R, 

1738ER, 2505ER, 2811ER, 2962N 
Nursing facilities 

Admissions, 365N, 737ER, 1010R 
Emergency preparedness―electronic reporting 

requirements, 325R 
Minimum licensing standards―dementia training  

requirements, 368N, 1013R 
Minimum licensing standards―nurse aide training 

and competency evaluation program, 1422ER, 
1965ER  

Per diem rate reduction, 325R, 520R 
Reimbursement methodology, minimum data set 

assessments, 2225ER 
Reimbursement methodology, rate determination, 

203ER, 1121N, 1195ER, 1782R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 12ER, 204ER, 884N, 

947ER, 948ER, 1556R, 1421ER, 1882N, 1970ER, 
2224ER, 2566R, 2963N 

Standards for payment level of care determinations, 
2419N 

Transition of state-owned or operated nursing facility, 
2964N 

Outpatient hospital services 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 

hospitals, reimbursement rate reduction, 2966N 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1739ER, 2506ER, 
2812ER 

Children’s specialty hospitals, 1742ER 
reimbursement rate reduction, 205ER, 209ER, 
949ER, 950ER, 1366N, 1739ER, 2041R, 
2506ER 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 13ER, 
740ER, 1744ER 

Major teaching hospitals, 16ER, 954ER, 1747ER, 
2814ER 

Radiology utilization management, 67R, 1123N 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 454ER, 671N, 

950ER 
Supplemental payments, 213ER, 1196ER, 2111N, 

2867R 
Non-rural, non-state public hospitals—supplemental 

payments, 2227ER 
Small rural hospitals 

Upper payment limit, 1747ER, 2508ER 
Pediatric Day Health Care Program, 1557R  
Personal care services 

Long-term, policy clarifications, 1374N, 1749ER, 
2815ER 

Long-term, reimbursement rate reduction, 215ER, 
455ER, 673N, 1251R, 1752ER, 2509ER, 2819ER, 
2969N 

Long-term, repeal of reimbursement rate reduction, 
215ER 

Service limit reduction, 1749ER 
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Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 

Maximum allowable costs, 222ER, 456ER, 1198ER, 
2229ER 

Medication administration, H1N1 immunizations, 
22ER, 955ER, 1124N, 1782R 

Medication administration, influenza vaccinations, 
2811ER 

Methods of payment, 16ER, 457ER 
Prescription limit reduction, 2820ER, 2970N 
Restoration of the dispensing fee, 18ER, 887N, 

1558R 
Restoration of the dispensing fee repeal, 743ER 

Pregnant women extended services 
Dental services, reimbursement rate reduction, 

216ER, 955ER, 1370N, 1753ER, 2044R, 2509ER, 
2821ER, 2972N 

Professional services program 
Anesthesia services  

Reimbursement methodology, 956ER, 1251R, 
1632N, 1754ER, 2282R 
Supplemental payments, 1199ER, 2230ER 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 217ER, 459ER, 
674N, 956ER 

Family planning services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 219ER, 958ER, 1893N, 1971ER 

Inpatient physician services, 68R 
Physician services—obstetrics rate increase, 2822ER, 

2974N 
Physician services—reimbursement rate reduction, 

219ER, 460ER, 676N, 959ER, 1252R, 1372N, 
1755ER, 2282R 

Prosthetics and orthotics 
Provider accreditation, 520R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 221ER, 461ER, 521R, 

678N, 960ER, 1253R, 1756ER, 1883N, 2566R 
Rural health clinics, reimbursement rate reduction, 

223ER, 747ER 
Services for special populations 

Pediatric day health care program, 885N 
Targeted case management 

Nurse Family Partnership Program, reimbursement 
rate reduction, 223ER, 1125N, 1200ER, 1783R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Examiners, Board of 
Professional assistance program, 2422N 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Administrative provisions, licensure and certification, 

practice, 660N, 1243R 
Clinical laboratory personnel, licensure and 

certification, 2710N 
Enforcement terms; unprofessional conduct, 2103N 
Licensure and certification; reciprocity, 2105N 
Licensure exemptions; emergency transfer of patients, 

1869N, 2559R 
Medical psychologists, general licensure, certification 

and practice, 2711N 
Physician consultation of collaboration with medical 

psychologists, 2721N 
Nursing, Board of 

Administration of anesthetic agents, 2923N 

Alternative to disciplinary proceedings, 129N, 358N, 
1244R 

Definition of term—other causes, 1619N, 2278R 
Faculty, 130N, 360N, 1245R 
Fees for fingerprint imprint, 131N, 359N, 1245R 
Registered nurses 

Peripherally inserted central catheter, 64R 
Nursing Facility Administrators, Board of Examiners  

Nursing facility administrators, 2704N 
Pharmacy, Board of 

Digital imaging of prescriptions, 755R 
Pharmacy interns, 755R 
Prescription monitoring program, 755R 
Prescription transfers, 756R 

Physical Therapy Board 
Physical therapy, 2975N 

Practical Nurse Examiners 
Adjudication, definitions, licensure qualifications, and 

name change, 1887N, 2559R 
Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 

Authority, 124N, 1005R 
Continuing education, 124N, 1005R 
Credentials, 124N, 1005R 
Disciplinary action, 124N, 1005R 
Licensure, 124N, 1005R 
Supervised practice, 124N, 1005R 
Supervision of assistant psychologists, 659N, 1246R 
Supervision of unlicensed assistants, 124N 

Public Health, Office of 
2009 Louisiana annual beach report, 1143P 
Advanced notice of rulemaking, 164P 

Center for environmental health 
Request for comments―fish consumption advisory 
protocol, 165P 

Cooperative agreement budgetemergency 
preparedness, 2441P 

Disease reporting instructions; perinatal HIV exposure 
reporting, 370N, 1014R, 1253R 

Food processing plans, food recall plans and positive 
test result reporting, 1884N, 2283R 

Genetic diseases neonatal screening, 1661P 
Maternal and child health section 

Maternal and child (MCH) block grant federal 
funding, 1402P 

Pilot testing for severe combined Immunodeficiency 
syndrome, 1661P 

Preparation and handling of seafood for market, 373N, 
1016R 

Preventive health and health services block grant—
public hearing, 1143P 

Preventive health services 
Water supplies―fluoridation, 72R 

Sewage disposal program, 1633N 
Tuberculosis control program 

Inmate health, 3007N 
Mandatory testing, 3008N 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
Board meeting dates, 2742P 
Continuing veterinary medicine education, 319R 
Fall/winter exam dates, 1906P 
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Spring/summer examination dates; 2011 board meeting 

dates; board nominations, 3027P 
Temporary registration during a declared emergency, 

919ER, 1932ER 
Temporary registration during oil spill, license 

procedures, 2106N, 2388N 
Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of 

Enforcement action, 321R 
Fees, 158P 
General provisions, 321R 
Required information, 361N, 1246R 
Wholesale drug distribution—exemptions, 1620N, 

2560R, 2723N 
Wholesale drug or device distributors, 322R 

 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Regulation 47―Acturarial Opinion and Memorandum 
Regulation, 2427N, 3027P 

Regulation 99―Certificates of Insurance, 374N, 706P, 
2114N, 2869R 

Health, Office of 
HIPPA assessment rate, 1661P 

 
 

JUSTICE 
Attorney General, Office of the 

Certificates of public advantage, 376N, 1255R 
 
 

LABOR 
State Plumbing Board 

Continuing professional education programs, 2725N, 
3010N 

 
 

LEGISLATION 
Senate Committee on Health and Welfare 

DHH emergency rules adopted on November 22, 2010, 
3026CR 

Nurse aide training and competency evaluation 
program, 2437CR 

 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Environmental division 
Hearing—Docket No. ENV 2010-04, US liquids of 
La., 2135P  

Fees, 1889N, 2567R 
Groundwater evaluation, 132N 
Ground water management, 326R 
Manifest system―statewide order no. 29-B, 390N, 

1017R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 165P, 433P, 706P, 1144P, 1402P, 

1661P, 1910P, 2135P, 2441P, 2746P 
Pit closure techniques and onsite disposal of E and P 

waste, 679N, 1264R 
Public hearing—docket no. env. 2010-03, 1146P 
Solicitation of comments for rule-making, 1907P 
Statewide order no 29-B, 388N, 1562R, 1783R, 2117N, 

2570R 

Statewide orders no. 29-B and 29-B-a, 1427ER, 
1438ER, 2823ER 

Water well registration, construction and  
closure—advance notice of rulemaking and 
solicitation of comments, 2134P 

Water wells, 3011N 
Secretary, Office of the 

Fishermen's gear compensation fund 
Loran coordinates, 165P, 433P, 706P, 1144P, 1403P, 

1661P, 1910P, 2136P, 2747P, 2747P, 3028P 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 

Attorney visits, 1894N, 2572R 
Crime victim services bureau, 525R 
Death penalty, 525R, 2121N, 2873R 
Disciplinary rules and procedures for adult offenders, 

1449ER, 1636N, 1973ER, 2121N, 2289R, 2512ER, 
2873R 

Louisiana risk review panels, 528R 
Medical reimbursement plan, 1126N, 1784R 
Offender incentive pay and other wage 

compensation, 531R 
Parole board, 2119N, 2510ER, 2871R 
Public information program and media access, 681N, 

1265R 
Regulation of air traffic, 391N, 1017R 
Restoration of good time, 26ER, 533R 
Sex offender assessment panels, 23ER, 534R 
Telephone use and policy of monitoring of calls, 2726N 

Gaming Control Board 
Accounting regulations, 392N, 1018R 
Licensees, permittees, loans and restrictions, 684N, 

1268R  
Video draw poker, 1376N, 1636N, 2045R, 2874R 

Juvenile Justice, Office of 
Educational and work assignment experience incentive 

program, 1127N, 1784R 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Emergency powers of director, 1895N, 2571R 
Storage and handling of liquefied petroleum gases, 

3019N 
Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 

Mosquito bay natural gas condensate discharge  
final—settlement agreement, 2136P 

Deepwater horizon mobile offshore drilling unit and the 
Subsea Macondo well, 2441P 

Parole, Board of 
Amendments to board composition, meetings, hearings, 

2119N 
Composition, meetings, hearings, time served, 1972ER 

Private Security Examiners, Board of 
Licensing of journeyman, 134N, 764R 
Training, 72R 

State Police, Office of 
DNA samples, collection, submission, receipt, 

identification, storage, disposal, 1450ER  
Explosives code, 550R 
Motor carrier safety—hazardous materials, 1897N, 

2573 
Motor vehicle inspection, 1133N, 1789R 
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Motorcycle safety training program, 536R 
Preparedness and response act, 545R 
State uniform construction code, 1135N, 2574R 
Tow truck license plate, 462ER 
Towing, recovery and storage, 546R, 690N, 1270R, 

1898N, 2575R 
Transportation and environmental safety section 

Two year motor vehicle inspection sticker, 2429N 
State Fire Marshall, Office of the 

Code enforcement and building safety 
Fire protection, 687N, 1563R  
Industrialized buildings, 394N, 1020R 

Property protection licensing, 1379N 
Uniform construction code, 326R, 2428N 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 
Certification requirements, grandfathering, 690N, 

1271R 
Uniform construction code, 326R, 2428N, 2834ER, 

3020N 
 
 

REVENUE 
Policy Services Division 

Ad valorem taxation, 765R 
Application of net operating losses 

carryover to otherwise closed years, 1640N, 2290R 
Corporation income and franchise tax extensions 

payments, 2728N 
Corporation income and franchise tax filing  

extensions, 552R, 2729N 
Electronic filing mandate for reports and returns related 

to the sports facility assistance fund, 2513ER, 3021N 
Electronic filing requirements for oil or gas severance  

tax, 691N, 1271R 
Filing Extension, 329R 
Income tax credits for wind or solar energy systems, 

692N, 1394N, 2047R  
Income tax withholding on gaming winnings, 2122N, 

2877R 
Individual income tax extension payments, 2730N 
Individual income tax filing extensions, 72R, 2732N 
Limited local sales tax exemption for cancer and related 

chemotherapy prescription drugs, 1028R 
March meeting of Act 442 collaborative working group, 

706P 
National center for construction education and research 

apprentice tax credits, 1137N, 1790R 
Natural gas severance tax rate, 1147P 
New markets tax credit, 3022N 
Oil spill contingency fee, 1662P 
Sales and use tax exemptions, 404N, 1566R  
Waiver of interest, 329R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Act 442 collaborative working group meeting, 433P, 

1404P, 1910P, 2137P 
State central registry 

Criminal background and risk assessment  
evaluation, 45ER, 142N, 850R 

Tax Commission 
Public hearing―substantive changes to proposed rule 

valuation of oil, gas, and other wells, 434P 
 
 

SOCIAL SERVICES 
Community Services, Office of 

Foster care, 73R 
Guardianship subsidy program, 552R 
Legal representation in child protection cases, policies 

and procedures, 1453ER  
Residential licensing, 329R, 784R, 1029R,  

Adult residential care, disqualification, 831R 
Child residential care, 784R 
Disqualification, 27ER, 1272R 
Emergency shelter, required records, 227ER 
Notice of revocation action, 696N 
State central registry, 34ER, 135N, 838R, 1031R 

Social services block grant (SSBG) 
2010-2011 intended use report, 707P 

Temporary assistance to needy families (TANF) 
Caseload reduction report, 434P 

Family Support, Office of 
Adult residential care, disqualification, 831R 
Child Care Assistance Program 

Automated time and attendance 
Discontinuation of job search, 40ER, 698N, 747ER, 

1277R 
Military child care providers, 225ER, 555R 
State central registry, 137N 

Child care daycare services 
Child care quality rating system, 332R 

Child care licensing 
Disqualification, 1272R 
Revocation notice, 701N, 1279R 
State central registry, 41ER, 141N, 847R 

Supplemental nutritional assistance program (SNAP), 
Iraqi, Afghani immigrant—qualified alien, 961ER 
Family independence temporary assistance program 

(FITAP, kinship care subsidy program, 1201ER 
Support enforcement, 74R 
TANF initiatives, family violence prevention and 

intervention program, 1203ER, 1205ER 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Highway Construction 

Access connection permits and driveway permits, 
2123N 

Tourist oriented directional signs, 2738N  
Outdoor Advertising 

Outdoor advertising regulations, 892N, 2733N 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Re-examinations, experience, and licensure status, 
405N, 1033R 

Transportation Research Center 
LTRC transportation training and education fund, 

1904N 
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TREASURY 
State Employees' Retirement System 

DROP excess benefit arrangement, 1398N, 2050R 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Secretary, Office of the 

Shrimp packaging regulations, 1034R 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2010 spring inshore shrimp season, 963ER, 1757ER 
2010 waterfowl seasons, 2232ER 
Assignment of HINs to undocumented vessels 

manufactured in Louisiana, 2740N 
Bucks-only deer hunting, 48ER 
Carp, 145N 
Commercial spotted seatrout rod and reel fishery, 

1760ER 
Commission commercial and recreational fishing, 

1761 
Crab traps, 77R 
Elmer's island wildlife refuge, 463ER, 708P, 1280R 
Early migratory seasons, 1762ER 
Fishing closure, 963ER 

Commercial fisheries closure, 1758ER 
Commercial greater amberjack closure, 2515ER 
Portion of eastern Louisiana, 964ER 
Portion of territorial seas, 1206ER 

Barataria and Terrebonne basins and territorial 
seas, 1207ER 

Barataria to Caminada pass, 1207ER 
Bayou Lafourche and Terrebonne, reopen 

territorial seas, 1208ER 
Chaland pass to Barataria, west of Bayou 

Lafourche, 1208ER 
Commercial and recreational fisheries opening 

Fishing west of Bayou Lafourche, 2233ER 
Due to oil spill, 1208ER 
Portions of Plaquemines and St. Bernard 

Parishes, 1455ER  
Portions of Plaquemines, St. Bernard, Orleans 

and St. Tammany Parishes, 1455ER 
Portions of state inside and outside waters, 

1456ER  
Portions of zones 1 and 3 to shrimping, 1757ER 
St. Bernard Parish, 1456 
Outside waters 
From caminada pass to belle pass, 1209ER 
From chaland pass to red pass, 1209ER 
Portion of  
Barataria basin, 1210ER 
Inside waters within Barataria basin, 1210ER 
State inside and outside waters, Terrebonne 

Parish, 1211ER 
St. Bernard Parish, 1211ER 
Territorial seas near Marsh Island, 1211ER 
Vermillion Parish, 1212ER 
Vicinity of Marsh Island, 1212ER 
West of Mississippi River, Plaquemines Parish, 

1212ER 
Commercial fisheries opening, 1759ER 
Commercial fisheries opening in portions of the 

Mississippi River delta, 2515ER 
Commercial crab fishing opening, 2514ER  

East of the Mississippi River, Plaquemines, St. 
Bernard, and Orleans Parish, 1974ER 

West of the Mississippi River, 1975ER 
Opening and closing, portions of Barataria basin, 

1213ER 
Opening, inside waters near Cocodrie and 

portions of territorial seas, 1213ER 
Openings, portion of state outside and inside 

waters, zones 1 and 2, except shrimp in zone 1, 
1214ER 

Recreational angling and charter boat angling 
fisheries opening, 1977ER 

Recreational fishing opening, 1765ER 
Recreational fishing opens, 1758ER 
Reopening 

Recreational catch and release of finfish, 
1459ER  
Recreational fisheries closure and commercial 
fisheries opening, 1978ER 

Recreational and commercial fisheries 
East of Mississippi River, St. Bernard parish, 

1456ER  
Inside and outside waters east of the 

Mississippi River, 1457ER   
Inside waters south of Cocodrie, 1457ER  
Inside waters, territorial seas east of the 

Mississippi River, Plaquemines parish, 
1458ER  

Inside waters, western Terrebonne Parish, 
1214ER  

Recreational and commercial fisheries opening 
Barataria Basin, 2517ER 

Recreational and commercial fisheries opening 
Fishing east of Mississippi river, 2234ER 

Outside waters south of Marsh Island, 1215 ER 
Portion of inside and outside waters, 1215 ER 
Portion of state inside and outside waters, 

Terrebonne Parish, 1215ER  
Portion of state outside waters, 1216ER  
Portions of Lafourche and Terrebonne Parishes, 

1458ER  
Portions of Terrebonne, Lafourche, Jefferson and 

Plaquemines Parishes and closes in St. Bernard 
Parish, 1459ER  

State inside waters in portions of Bayou 
Lafourche and other Lafourche Parish inside 
waters, 1459ER  

St. Bernard Parish, 1216ER 
Recreational and commercial fisheries closure, 

1454ER, 1764ER, 1976ER, 2233ER, 2516ER 
Recreational red snapper season closure, 1216ER 
Recreational red snapper season reopening, 

2235ER 
Shrimp season changes, state outside waters, 

zones 2 and 3, 1217ER 
Shrimp seasons and fishing closures, 1217ER 
Spring shrimp season opening 
Portion of zone 1, 1218ER 
Remaining portion of zone 1, 1218ER 
General and wildlife management area hunting, 

406N, 1566R 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (Continued) 
General and WMA turkey hunting regulations, 

1641N, 2581R 
Hunting preserve regulations, 1399N, 2291R 
Hunting season, 49ER 
King mackerel, 47ER 
Large coastal shark, 229ER, 748ER 
Nuisance wildlife control operator program, 74R 
Physically challenged hunters permit, 1138N, 

2051R 
Recreational harvest 
Silver and Bighead Carp, 1280R 
Reef fish, 47ER, 48ER, 897N, 1791R 
Resident game hunting season, 421N 

Oyster lease relocation, 3024N 
Oyster leases, 2430N 
Oyster season, 1763ER 
Oyster season delay, 2516ER 
Resident game hunting season, 1580R  
Shrimp, 49ER, 143N, 230ER 

Closure, portion of zone 1, including Breton and 
Chandleur Sounds, 964ER 

Special bait dealer’s permit, 77R 

Special shrimp season 
Closure, remainder of Zone 1 and all of Zone 2, 

965ER  
Opening, portion of Breton and Chandleur Sounds, 

965ER 
Spotted seatrout management measures, 2132N 
Spring inshore shrimp season closure in Zone 2, 

1460ER  
Zone 2 and portion of Zone 1, 965ER 

Territorial sea shrimp 
Closure and portion of Zone 3 opening, 966ER 

Re-opening, 966ER 
Turkey seasons, 1644N, 2583R 
Use of yo-yo’s and trotlines in Lake Lafourche, 

2131N 
Wildlife rehabilitation program, 852R, 2433N 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Workers' Compensation Administration, Office of 

Average weekly wage rate, 1907P 
Weekly Compensation Benefits Limit, 1907P 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


