
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare 

State Central Registry 
(LAC 67.V.1103) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
has exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:962 to amend LAC 
67:V, Subpart 3, Chapter 11, Section 1103 State Central 
Registry. This emergency rule shall be effective July 1, 
2024, and shall remain in effect for a period of 180 days 
unless renewed by DCFS, or until promulgation of the final 
rule. 

Section 1103 is being amended to allow DCFS to disclose 
information regarding perpetrators of child abuse and/or 
neglect listed on the SCR involving any owner, operator, 
current or prospective employee or volunteer of a juvenile 
detention facility licensed by the OJJ to OJJ consistent with 
Act 445 of the 2023 Louisiana Legislative session. Section 
1103 is also being amended related to registered family child 
care providers and registered in-home child care providers to 
be consistent with BESE Bulletins 137 and 139. 

The department considers this Emergency Rule necessary 
to ensure that administrative rules are consistent with the law 
that takes effect on July 1, 2024, until the final rule is 
promulgated. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart 3.  Child Protective Services  

Chapter 11. Administration and Authority 
§1103. State Central Registry 

A. - F.2. ... 
G. DCFS is authorized to release information maintained 

on the SCR in limited circumstances. This information will 
be released according to the following provisions. 

1. - 8. ... 
9. DCFS will disclose information on perpetrators of 

child abuse and/or neglect who are:  
a. listed on the SCR involving any owner, operator, 

current or prospective employee or volunteer of a 
specialized provider licensed by DCFS to DCFS Licensing; 

b. listed on the SCR involving any owner, operator, 
current or prospective employee or volunteer of an early 
learning center licensed by the Louisiana Department of 
Education (LDOE) to LDOE; 

c. listed on the SCR involving any provider, current 
or prospective employee working in the residence or on the 
property where the care is provided, or resident on the 
property of a registered family child care provider or 
registered in-home child care provider registered by LDOE 
to LDOE; 

d. LDOE employees and potential employees 
responsible for the performance of licensing inspections to 
LDOE; and/or 

e. listed on the SCR involving an owner, operator, 
current or prospective employee or volunteer of a juvenile 
detention facility licensed by Office of Juvenile Justice (OJJ) 
to OJJ. 

10. LDOE is authorized to collect the $25 fee for the 
clearance on behalf of DCFS for requests from any owner, 

operator, current or prospective employee or volunteer of an 
early learning center licensed by the LDOE or for any 
provider, current or prospective employee, or resident of a 
registered family child care provider or registered in-home 
child care provider registered by LDOE. An owner, operator, 
current or prospective employee or volunteer of a 
specialized provider licensed by DCFS or juvenile detention 
facility licensed by Office of Juvenile Justice shall submit 
the $25 fee to DCFS with the written request which shall 
include the express consent of the applicant to the 
departments. DCFS will not disclose such information until 
there is confirmation of receipt of the $25 fee by LDOE or 
DCFS. 

11. - 15. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Children’s Code, title VI, articles 615 and 616 and title XII, article 
1173, R.S. 14:403(H), R.S. 46:51.2(A), R.S 46:56, R.S. 46:1414.1, 
42 USC 15601 et seq., 28 CFR 115.6., 42 USC 9858f and R.S. 
40:2008.10. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 18:79 (January 
1992), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:583 (June 
1995), LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 26:790 (April 2000), LR 
31:1609 (July 2005), LR 36:838 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Child Welfare Section, LR 42:862 (June 2016), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Child Welfare, LR 44:998 (June 2018), effective July 1, 2018, 
amended LR 45:217 (February 2019), amended LR 45:1053 
(August 2019), LR 46:14 (January 2020), effective February 1, 
2020, LR 49:1028 (June 2023), LR 50: 

 
David Matlock 
Secretary 
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