LOUISIANA PATIENTS COMPENSATION FUND DENTIST & ORAL SURGEON APPLICATION (FOR THOSE WITH PRIMARY INSURANCE)

PCF2

Your primary insurance policy provides CLAIMS MADE coverage for professional liability. Except to the extent as may otherwise be specifically provided in your policy, such primary coverage is limited to claims arising from medical incidents occurring on or after the initial effective date stated in the declarations (retroactive date? and first reported to your company while the policy is in force. HOWEVER, THE PCF RETROACTIVE DATE IS THE DATE OF YOUR QUALIFICATION WITH THE FUND, WHICH MAY OR MAY NOT MATCH THE RETROACTIVE DATE ESTABLISHED ON YOUR PRIMARY POLICY. Claims occurring prior to the qualification date with the Fund, REGARDLESS OF THEIR COVERAGE THROUGH YOUR PRIMARY POLICY, are not covered by the Fund.

It is further acknowledged that in the event of termination of policy herein, or any endorsed reduction of liability limits, such termination or change shall not be effective unless such notice of the same has been delivered to the Louisiana Patients?Compensation Fund not less than thirty (30) days prior to such change. Notice shall be considered to have been given upon placing same in the United States Mail by First Class Mail, a copy of which shall have been mailed to the Health Care Provider.

3: LOUISIANA PATIENTS COMPENSATION FUND

It is agreed that the insured under the above primary limits has been advised by the Company? Agent:

- (1) that he or she is eligible to qualify for coverage under the Louisiana Patients? Compensation Fund for the provisions of La. R.S.40:1231.1 et seq., as a Realth care provider? that is already carrying underlying malpractice liability coverage at limits of \$100,000/\$300,000 or more:
- (2) that to qualify, the insured undertakes to pay the required surcharge, and this surcharge will be collected by the Company? Agent if applicable, and remitted to the Fund on a calendar-year basis; and
- (3) that if qualified, the insured is entitled to a \$500,000 limitation of malpractice liability for death, or injury to any person and to coverage under that Fund for an excess liability (over the minimum underlying limits required by the Fund) up to a per claim limit of \$500,000.
- (4) CLAIMS MADE PRIMARY POLICIES ONLY: I understand that, regardless of the retroactive date established by my primary policy, I will only receive coverage through the Fund for claims which occur after my qualification with the Fund. For a claim to be covered by the Patients Compensation Fund, I must have been qualified with the Fund both at the time the medical incident occurred, and at the time the claim was filed with my primary carrier.

After form has been completed, printed and signed, please mail or fax to:

LOUISIANA PATIENTS COMPENSATION FUND P. O. BOX 3718 BATON ROUGE, LA 70821 FAX: (225) 342-5593

Date

Printed Name of Insured

Signature of Insured -- NOT VALID WITHOUT SIGNATURE

PCF coverage is subject to all agreements, conditions and exclusions of the underlying policy unless such agreements, conditions and exclusions are expressly prohibited by law.

Any questions regarding this form may be emailed to: pcf-surcharge@la.gov <u>A PRINTED, SIGNED COPY OF THIS FORM MUST BE MAILED/FAXED TO PCF.</u> PCF2